(2003) Calling all 2003 babies

Hi mummies, can I ask what table and chairs are your darlings using? My kids currently use the ikea children table for eating, writing, drawing and basically everything. The chairs are from another children's table & chair set which I bought years back from Robinson's. Both of them are sharing the table and I wanted to buy another one but the stock at ikea since this year is bright red colour which I find too 'glaring'. Any suggestions where I can find a good children's table?

Found this game, and thought it will work out great for the party ;)

Throwing the Smile
In this game, players are forbidden to smile, but trust us--giggling and laughing will abound.

WHAT YOU NEED:
A place where everyone can sit in a circle

HOW TO PLAY:
1. Players sit in a circle, making sure they can see everyone else. One player who is It starts the game by smiling widely, while all the other players are somber. It then uses his hand to wipe the smile off his face and throw it to another player who has to catch the smile with his hand and put it on.

2. This new It can then wipe off the smile to throw to someone else--though he will probably choose to mug wildly at everyone for a few minutes before relinquishing his happy role. Meanwhile, all other players must sit stone-faced. One smirk and they're out.

TIPS:
The youngest players are the least successful at winning this game (they simply can't stop themselves from laughing), but they also tend to enjoy it the most.

P/S. I started seeing Cheryl's cheeky grin after reading TIPS, haha

Hi Ky,
That's exactly what I was thinking of! Read it from a book.

Hi Sherlyn,
Like Ky, I would just grab anything presentable from wardrobe. And I'll target black clothings. Haha, black always does the trick. Know what I mean?
Play with accessories, bring a shawl with you. You'll look good. Have fun at the wedding!

Will see you another day.

Hi Sherlyn!

Since it's a day event, a simple dress will do. Or even smart pants and blouse.
actually, I've got some dresses! LOve them and think you'd fit in them coz those were bought when I weighed at least 10 kg less from now!
But really too bad I'm in Germany now.

Hi Moshi2!

Yeah, Allure's got pretty things. Apricot, the last time I was back in Sg, the boutique is still in Raffles City. Just on Level 2. Near the Espirit escalator.

Another place is Celia Loe. Used to be in Raffles City too. But am not sure where it is now.

I used to like to go to Arthur Yen in Novena Sq. Not so crowded and good place for pretty dresses and tops!

Think it shouldn't be a prob to find a dress under 200$ in these places.

But in general, I find it's easier to get pretty evening gowns here in Germany with Zara, Mango, Mexx etc esp during sales.

Sounds like I like shopping eh? Not anymore though!

Hi Kristin's mom,
Yeah, Allure is my fav cos I can fit into their dresses easily and I will look very nice
. Soon I will need to start my retail therapy cos need to buy new clothes..ha ha...

wow there are so many postings . been too busy with work and sending my second boy to pre school. The first few days my younger son cries a big time the minute he reached the school. actually he is the one who ask us to send him school.
increase good cholesterol is to take avocado , omega 3 and to reduce cholesterol is to make a cup of chinese tea like pu er or shan cha tea after meal, the TCM believe that it can wash the oil with a cup of chinese tea ( non caffein ) or shan cha tea after meal.

Moshimoshi, I also like to kaypoh in weddings, but i wouldnt want to volunteer my services cos i will be too busy kaypoh-ing ard to help them do work hahaha

i also want to see the mag .. if it is for 3 to 6 yrs old, can consider subscribing .. but i prefer the gift at the main website (maybe the US site ? where the gift is an inflatable globe).

Hi Jan,

Its call Yamaha Junior course. I think the weekend slots are pretty hot, but since i m so near i chose the weekday night slots. It says in brochure that it is a course for 4 - 6 yr old.

Its a 4 yr course. There is a reg fee of $21.40, and a booklist where items cost $124 and the course fees are different for the 4 terms where the first term cost $240.75.

I am not sure what other details you want. Do let me know if u want more.

Me not impulsive buyer. I take a long long time to decide if i shd buy smthg, irregardless of price (but of cost the price is a considering factor too) cos i really do not want to buy smthg i do not use and regret later. Anyway you are working right, so u hv the right to buy and the need too

Ky, ya lor, just sitting down most of the time but must make sure once i reach there i quickly go sit down and "hide" haha .. but i m afraid the only easy matchable black pants cant fit me now, so whatever top i hv also got problem so thinking of getting a normal black pants from This fashion. Anyway, i hate to attend functions that are formal. Hope there will be a time where all functions can be attended in jeans/casual attire.

Infact, i used to go wedding dinners with my working attire .. how i wish i m a man now, just shirt and pants and nothing else.

haha, nowadays i also worry more on how to dress my kids. well those kids are nephews of the bride, so naturally they need to dress up, so i guess also no need so fret bah.

Jan, my current kid table also a red table (its an old table model LACK i think) so i buy wood grain laminate paper (not sure what is the proper name) to stick over it. Prior to this wood grain paper, i wrap it up i majong paper then cover with plastic sheet. But this is a temp solution since i hv not decide what proper kids table I shd get for them.

Sarah, know wat u mean, a pity i dun hv black top, cos i m worried pp would mind if i turn up in black top over a black pants. I used to hv all the dark color tops, grey, brown, black, navy blue ..

K's mom,

maybe when u want to dispose them for new clothes, can pass to me lor ;-) but i am afraid i'll be too big to fit into them then.

HI Sherlyn!

The globe is a free gift for NG Explorers (for kids from 6 - 14). No free gift for NG for Little Kids leh...

Tried to subscribe but the electronic form didn't recognise our application. So am waiting for the customer service to get back to me on how I can key in an American state when I actually live in Europe and that the magazines will still be sent to the correct address.

Hi Apricot n K's mom
Hm... Allure does sound alluring, if i get a chance to go to RafflesCity, will check it out.
Do u usu alter dresses u buy off the shelf?

Actually, i like to go to small shops to suss out those imported 1 or 2 piece dresses. Less chance of seeing your 'twin' at the function.
My bro's having his wedding dinner in Jan,08.

From Mind Your Body:
A recent study shows food additives and colourings increase hyperactivity and decrease attention span in kids.
Colorings in candies, cakes, etc. For food addictive, watch out for sodium benzoate which is a preservative.
I have decided Mel will stop her SMOO strawberry milk, the pink in the milk is a coloring.
The vanilla pack does not list coloring as an ingredient though. More fresh milk for her from now on.

Hi Apricot n K's mom
Hm... Allure does sound alluring, if i get a chance to go to RafflesCity, will check it out.
Do u alter dresses u buy off the shelf?

Actually, i like to go to small shops to suss out those imported 1 or 2 piece dresses. Less chance of seeing your 'twin' at the function.
My bro's having his wedding dinner in Jan,08.

From Mind Your Body:
A recent study shows food additives and colourings increase hyperactivity and decrease attention span in kids.
Colorings in candies, cakes, etc. For food addictive, watch out for sodium benzoate which is a preservative.
I have decided Mel will stop her SMOO strawberry milk, the pink in the milk is a coloring.
The vanilla pack does not list coloring as an ingredient though. More fresh milk for her from now on.

Serenade
I got the night scope yesterday. It does not look like good quality stuff, yet to try it, no batteries.
I was told first issue comes in Oct.

K's mom
Know of someone who has the Toys R us card? The NG promo ends end of dec if i am not wrong. Get them to mail the mags to your mom's?

Hi moshimoshi,

Yeah, agree quality is not very good. But the night scope is selling for $14-15 in the Science Centre. So, can't complain much since it's free :p

No papers here. Will get hubby to get today's papers later. What did Ms JG say about raising kids? Enlighten me lah.

serenade
4 tips to help children express themselves and talents fully:
1. stimulation
2. motivation
3. being free from pressure and
4. having good role models.

I think for now, most of the kids here are covered for all the above, for myself, i need to work on No.4 ;)

Hi moshimoshi,

Thanks! For me, I have to work harder on all 4 areas. Always room for more improvement :p Read your article on your blog, very interesting and true. Thanks again ;)

Helo Sarah / Apricot/ Ky / Serenade and all the other mommies here in this thread,

I noe i MIA for quite a long time, hope those still rem me !! : )

extremely bz with work and the 2 kids at home. i do surf the thread but read it silently.\

u al sure hv very good time mgt as i noe knkow most of the mommies are working also.

ya, Sarah, noticed that there is this children day party on 29th sept at your place, is it closed oredi ?

i m interested lei.. : )

right now my girl is in sch n i'm home with the younger one.
my girl, ning has been v jealous of the new addition.
eveything kai does she'll duly follow.
on top of that is her tantrum throwing...
any1 going through that?

Hi Sarah,

So Happy that u still rem me ! Yeh! me coming, (2a2c), anything I have to bring? may be i buy ice-cream ? : ) my fav !

Pls PM me your address. c u all there !

Hi Catherine,
I am going thru this every day, my boy 4+ and my girl 2+, sometime can be so close and keep hugging each other but most of the time fighting for things.... sigh..

Any mommies can share on sibling rivalry ?

Ya, Sarah, I am actually oso quite sceptical in bring them together to your place as esp when there are more children, they fight among themselves even more(not with other kids,
strange...strange...)

if that happen on that day, forgive me if i hv to immediately evacuate them.. : ) don't know how to handle this situations... sigh

Hi blurpooh
ya she pulls at his hair,which is already v scarce, shouts at him when i'm nursing him
It's touh for her cos he's only10mth v hard to play with her...

Hi Catherine, oh dear. For me it's the other way round. My younger girl is the 'abusive' one who pulls korkor's hair, pinch him since she was young. Korkor is always the one crying for help and he never retaliates.

Thanks sherlyn. I checked the yamaha website for the junior course u mentioned. So you will need to sit in with your child for 2 years of the course? wow, that's commitment..Will call and check for weekend vacancies and see if I can slot in for next year. Did you go to the clementi branch?

Hey K's mom
i know B doesn't learn German now bcos of some reasons. care to elaborate and enlighten me?
I am thinking of a third language for Mel, thing is, when to start and how possible given the lack of context here.

setting table : can I ask if your kids help you to set the table? And what do is their role when they do? It's easier in the western countries but in our chinese environment, how to?

folding clothes : do they also fold their own clothes? on the floor? can share on the steps to do that for a child?

.ky.

Hi K's mom
I'm impress by B's progress in reading. Incidentaly, i was getting worrid when Ning doesn't want to read on her own. She loves being read to.
I sounded out the consonants n vowels
I used kidzone.com ws to play with her.
whenever she's not keen we move on to something.
then one day she read!!!! from some picture cards with words at the back. she tried and I was over the moon!!

Hi ky,

I get Bryan to help lay the table. He's really careful when it comes to handling glassware.

He loves it when we have guests and we have tea and he gets to lay the little coffee table.

Chinese dinner - He will help me get the chopsticks and spoons out. Then I'll ask him to place a bowl of rice each for Mom and Dad. He and his sister get special children bowls (plastic) with food all tossed and snipped out in the bite size for them.

You can also try breakfast table which has mainly plates and cups?

Folding clothes:
I got him to sort his own underwear out by colour on my bed. He stands by the side of my bed and fold. And sort socks out for the whole family. And then I get him to put away his clothes into his own cupboard.

anyone tried teaching time?
I'm trying now cos ning asked me. I started with a timer to let her know relative time. She used to tell me wait for 100min. So i set timer at 15min when she showers.
Then I have a clock face which she hangs over her bed.
I'll show 11 o'clock and tell her that's her lunch time.
She has been asking me the time and try to adjust the clock face to real time.
I find it rather effective.

Hi ky,

I get Bryan to help lay the table. He's really careful when it comes to handling glassware.

He loves it when we have guests and we have tea and he gets to lay the little coffee table.

Chinese dinner - He will help me get the chopsticks and spoons out. Then I'll ask him to place a bowl of rice each for Mom and Dad. He and his sister get special children bowls (plastic) with food all tossed and snipped out in the bite size for them.

You can also try breakfast table which has mainly plates and cups?

Folding clothes:
I got him to sort his own underwear out by colour on my bed. He stands by the side of my bed and fold. And sort socks out for the whole family. And then I get him to put away his clothes into his own cupboard.

Hi Catherine!

My boy was exactly like that when he's little sister was born.

I think some just love babies, and some don't. B is one of those who don't. It's still a long way before he starts realising he's the korkor and that he should set a good example for his sister to follow. In the meanwhile, they scream and fight and he behaves like he barely knows speech!

Well done, Ning! Now you can proceed to reading her books with pictures that replace some words within the sentence so that she can read out loud together with you.

Hee... am doing a little test with B tonight if the mood is right for learning. Check out my blog!

Hi sherlyn, when's your son's class? I've reserved for the wed evening class at yamaha clementi. They don't have any trial class. Wanted to go plz singapura but Sunday classes are full and have to waitlist for Jan 2008 (which I don't mind), but my son exceeds their age limit in Jan as their cutoff is this year for 5 yrs old

Hi moshi2!

Not all children are like my B. So my concerns for him might not apply for Mel.

The reasons why I hesitate to let B learn German are:
1) At two/three (when we first came), he still needed to develop his vocab in one language. Throwing in another language might just confuse him. And it's never gonna be a bilingual concept for long term to yield any benefits, i.e. Eng/German. Besides, I'd prefer Eng/Chinese any day since we'll eventually go back to Sg.
2) He had no same age group in his class. That made learning not fun for him. Not fun = no motivation = why waste time? I don't want him to grow up hating German.

That was last year.

But if another learning opportunity presents itself this year, I might try him out again.

Now Mel has always showed flair for language learning. Eng is definitely the predominant lang for her now that she can speak, read and write it. And she's also doing Chinese in school.
Maybe it's a good time to start her with another lang if she's the sort who picks things up quickly. But context is a great problem. You see, French and German - unless you have a group of people you meet regularly enough for Mel to use the language. Jap... might be possible since there are lots of Jap people around. but you might want to consider: it will not be easy to read and write the lang.

Malay might be quite a good choice. It's phonetic and you've got TV programmes for her to watch - the next best thing coz you don't speak it at home. Malay neighbours - easy to find!
Malay - easy to write for Mel!

WIth all that's said, I still think no rush there... just as I concluded in my first paper at uni years ago. Throw a 12-13 year old into a new language class, he'll learn just as well as one who has started at 4. Plus point for a teenager - he understands and thus learns more than a 4 year-old child. Of course, alot of people will argue a young child learns effortlessly.
Another important thing to note: Does your child show a flair for language learning?
Anyway, I still insist that when I started my third language learning at 13, it was a painless experience with minimal effort. So this brings us back to motivation level again...

hmmm... sigh! Complicated huh?

Oh Oh, something wrong with this forum..cos I saw quite a no of double postings. Earlier on I cannot access forum and now I am able to come in after waiting for abt few mins. I think the forum traffic is congested so it takes a while to access it.

Hi BlurPooh,
Yeah, see you on 29Dec !

Hi BlurPooh,
Yeah, see you !!

1. sarah (1a1c)
2. moshi (1a1c)
3. serenade (2a2c)
4. apricot (1a1c)
5. serena (?a1c)
6. moo87 (?a1c)
7. minnie (1a1c)
8. star (?a1c)
9. worry mum?
10. chloe?
11. Blurpooh (2a2c)

hi! i should be able to come with chloe (& maybe charlene too!)

1. sarah (1a1c)
2. moshi (1a1c)
3. serenade (2a2c)
4. apricot (1a1c)
5. serena (?a1c)
6. moo87 (?a1c)
7. minnie (1a1c)
8. star (?a1c)
9. worry mum?
10. chloe (1a1/2c)
11. Blurpooh (2a2c)