(2003) Calling all 2003 babies

Order with NG website only has 6 issues for a year's subscription... no meh?

Don't know leh... think the offer at Toys R Us is better. Why don't you get someone with a Toys R Us card to order it for you?

NG for Little Kids looks pretty fun on the website.

Jan,

ya, me gog to clementi branch. i did not think that far as to sit in 2 yrs with him, who noes he dun like it? if he like it then i think it is fine for me to sit 2 yrs, since i like music too (can say so now cos i had no chance to learn it last time haha)

Jan, mine is the 7 - 8 pm wed class. Weekend slot for clementi also out. I was the 2nd last for the wed class. But i understand they have 2 classes leh. So now so sure abt the vacancy of the other.

ya they dun hv trial class. They told me , unless got 10 pupils want a trial class then they will hold it. Anyway my son pester me to sign, so i sign first lor. Will c how he goes. He likes playing with the keyboard but for fun oni.

oh .. so the kids mag is not the one advertise there .. so is the promo for the Toys r us card the 3-6 yr old mag or the 6 - 14 yr old mag. Can Moshimoshi or Serenade help me out? If it is 3 - 6, i think i will jump into the subscription haha.

What's the fascination with the inflated globe? I have one from a global conference I attended in US some years back and every friend who saw it commented it was a very good toy to teach their kids abt the world and asked me where to get it. Actually I saw a similar one at Isetan last year and it was just $2 or something, among the swimming stuff like arm floats.

K's mom, the kids' lunch boxes look really yummy - makes me hungry at this hour. Lucky kids!

Mine will have to make do with bear rice - the moulds I got from Daiso. On days JK doesn't want to eat his carbohydrates, I will stuff the rice into the mould for him so that it looks more interesting and also much less than the reality.

Blur pooh, welcome back. I just posted for advice on sibling rivalry not too long ago. I'm still learning not to jump to conclusions and also start being more firm with the younger one. Having been wronged a few times, he will quickly declare "It's not me" whenever meimei starts to cry which makes me feel a little heartache for my past wrongs. On the other hand, I'm finding it increasingly possible to talk sense to JC thesedays despite my usual thought that she's still too young (21 months). Still when they fight, I care less abt who is right or wrong but try to focus more on how to make them reconcile.

On this aspect, I think I'm still too involved. Should learn from Serenade who lets her boy handle his own problems. He seems rather mature in this aspect. You may want to scroll through the archive to look at how she has trained him. Thanks Serenade.

Worry mum, on the gym, maybe can let B try again after a few weeks. I found it really helpful to let JK go with a friend. He's never been this cooperative without having to have me stick by him, not even at storytelling sessions conducted by the library which I have given up.

I have yet to sign up for the gym tho JK enjoyed himself very much cos I'm trying out another one at Bishan which is much nearer for us.

Just shared this with ky and think those of you who are still toilet-training your kids may be interested too. I found waterproof mattress protector at Courts at $19.90. It looks exactly like the usual except that the underside is waterproof which helps to protect the mattress from getting wet.

Anyone ever gone thru lift upgrading in your estate? My blk is undergoing upgrade and I can see puddles of water in the construction site since Monday's heavy rain. Benny, Bryan and myself have been victims of mozzies. Bryan has 10 bites on his face and Benny has 6 on his legs. Any effective ways to drive the mozzies out? I've tried kids safe repellent, johnson's repellent, insecticide and even mosquito coils but none of them works. I'm actually typing and scratching at the same time... Help!!

4Chongchong
Take yr time with the toy.. Benny has completed all cards and he's actually teaching Bryan from card 1 till 5. no hurry.

Meilan

Which courts selling the waterproof protector? Thou Benny is fully trained but Bryan is still on diaper. Wanted to start training him on diaperless night. I hate removing smelly diaper every morning

Hi Sherlyn!

Thanks for the mail!

So what sort of juicer did you get in the end? Now I'm itching to get one for the yummy drinks! I wished I could just order them right out of the page now! ;)

Thanks K's mom
u have some very valid points, can't agree more that Malay's an easier lang tp pick up for our kids here. i just checked Ai Tong's webby and guess what, they don't even offer Malay as a second lang! Would Mel grow up thinking that the world is made of only Chinese???

2 schools of thought on lang acquisiton, one is that kids pick up lang the fastest in toddler years and the other, teenage years when they can understand better and have more motivation??

P1. reg, to find out abt the allocation statistics for each phrase, visit the websites of the schools u are keen on.

hi K'smom
my posting was unsuccessful yesterday
Just to check with you:

your girl is almost 2? is korkor still jealous?
ning will dramatise everything, from a fall to a cut to a misplaced toy...
It's trying. it's irritating but I don't blame her in a way.
she was allalone for more than 3 yrs
then came didi...
before that we used to take walks in the park, splash ard in puddles dance in the rain(with plastic basin over our heads), catch caterpillars to rear them,tadpoles(to be murdered!)...
Kai is too young to really play with her.
went to sandpit yesterday n he was crawling on all 4s on the sand with her commanding him, sigh...

Moshi,
I was told all the schools under the Hokkien association do not offer Malay as 2nd language, they used to, but stopped few years ago.

hi moshimoshi
my girl goes to a chinese kindergarten
one day tr said people, colour them yellow.
she came back bewildered.
i told her ask tr what's the colour of your newborn didi? 1st few days pink, then yellow, and had to rush him to hospita, for jaundice!! haha
what ask africans, swedes, sri lankans, indonesians...

one day she went to a playroom and told her there's an indian girl playing there. told her great! play with her. Ning told me she doesn't understand the language.
I look in and saw a french girl! Haha

sometimes we really need to help explain things and not leave it to the sch ya

but what makes you worry your child will think only chinese?

Hi Catherine
On teaching time, would u teach concepts of 'quarter to 4'? or wait till child knows fraction concepts of halves n quarters?

i teach half 1st and leave it at that for a while.
she gets excited when i show her half past 9 is halfway past 9 and halfway to 10.

keep at that then go to quarter.

Cattherine, good analogy there, Mel goes to a church kindy, so the bulk is chinese and if she moves on to ai tong, again swarmed by chinese, just thinking it would be good if there is a better racial mix in the school, at least there is a ready environment to interact with the different races. What is Racial Harmony Day like with just chinese? and chinese kids wearing sari and baju kurung on stage? and no malay/indian friends to interview for projects purposes? ;)

hi moshi

ning gets excited when i showed her on the clock face half past 9 and told her it's halfway past 9 and halfway going to 10. surprising when she manouvre the short hand, she follows the same concept, halfway past 9 going to 10 and put it between 9 and 10!!!
leave it at half for a while then move to quarter

Incidentally, i haven't covered fraction formally and we play lots of shape games and she knows semi circle, etc... The concept is there so i think it's easy for her to easy when goes to quarter.

play some shape games then go back to the clock

it's also good to use sqaures and not just circles. some clocks comes in squares.

moshimoshi

i bring her out to meet my non chinese friends!!

malay with headdress etc

now she won't exclaim "why the lady wears that" in public!!!

she did when she was very young. granny told her hush hush.
i told her no no it's ok to ask and i'll explain.
then went to tell her some even covered up faces in middle east, for religion and practicality(sand storm?)

Hi sherlyn, I signed up for the wed 8pm class, after yours. Can only manage 8pm which is already a mad rush - becoz got to pick them up from school after work, have a quick bite (macdonalds...) and then speed to clementi. Think parking will be a challenge there also... The lady told me some children just withdraw from sat 11am class so the slot is not on the website but I can't make it. If you prefer weekend, can try calling today and ask. Ya, me too just try out for 1 term and see how they go since no exposure to music so far. When I told them last nite, my son ask "music class is singing?"

Jan,
So good, u got ur term real fast. Me still under waiting list in CCK Lot 1 Branch.

Catherine,
Mind to provide me ..where u putting up? Also, from your post.. I guess u r a Stay At Home Mum (SAHM) right?

Hi meilan / ky, I use those disposable mattress protector sheets instead for 'accidents'. Reason is it's like a routine - if wet, will be consecutive 2/3 days! Usually get from Unity pharmacy which costs $7+ for 10 sheets. This is for my son. My girl is still on night diapers becoz she refuses to stop milk before bedtime. sigh...

wow, a lot of discussions going on.

Joanne, for upgrading, there'll be an mobile office stationed somewhere nearby ... pop in to tell them. Dengue being something that everyone's wary about, they would take stagnant water puddles seriously.

On globes, I've actually got 2 globes from popular a while back to teach on montessori geog, but have never got the time to paint them ... they come in the usual colouring to represent the various countries and it's just over $10 for each.

K's mom, what is it you wish to know abt P1 registration? I just taken a look at the info in MOE... it only shows schools which needed balloting and availability at the end of the exercise, so you'll not see all the schools. Perhaps sometime later they'll put in all the schools, like last year. Or like Moshi says, check the school's website that you are keen ... but you may not find what you want. I did capture the status info after each phase ... just let me know which school u r keen and I'll see what I can do.

Moshi, r u thinking of signing Mel for Malay as a 2nd lang? Since you do know Japanese, you can start incorporating this into your daily life... just like how we intro chinese to the kids. for me, I'll personally want B to be good in chinese ... I think it's a lang that has always been neglected by the younger generation, and also my father's a chinese teacher and I would like B to make his grandfather proud

On sibling rivalry, Catherine, r u a sahm? r u in AP btw coz I find your name very familiar. give your gal time ... it's been barely a few months since she has a new companion, and like u said, she's not used to sharing. for me, my challenge comes from #2 as he's more aggressive and as he comes into the terrific twos, he's asserting himself more upon others.

re : Yamaha
Jan/Sherlyn, Serenade's B is in the branch at PS and he's doing great. Yamaha has a good reputation at introducing music to the youngster so don't worry too much. The course is to be signed on a term basis, so if you feel that your child is not able to cope, you can always drop out at the end of the term (3-months). Don't see it as a 2-year commitment ... actually it's quite fun for us and I realize that B's doing better than me now after almost 6 months (I'm with the community centre) ... why so? he practises a lot and he likes what the class's doing. I'm basically facilitating the practice sessions now

On setting tables ... thx for the advices ... last nite, B helped me to carry bowls of rices to the table :> I'll probably put that into a routine for him

ML, thx for the info on the protective sheets. B refuses to go to bed without diaper and I must wake him up at around 12 midnight to go to the toilet if I want a dry diaper, so I don't think I'll get the protective sheet yet.

btw, just to find out if any of your kids are sleeping on double-decker beds? I've always wanted that but am told it's only appropriate for the kids at min of 5 yrs old to sleep on top ... where's a good place to find an affordable one and what's the price like?

.ky.

Hi worry mum, if you don't mind going to clementi branch during the weekends, they have vacancies for sat 11am, 4pm and sunday 11am when I checked yesterday. I wanted the sunday's but the latter 2 slots has only 1 vacancy each for these classes. I had to start for this Oct class since Jalen doesn't 'qualify' for the age group if I wait till next year.

Jan
Thanks for the info on Yamaha Clementi. Sonia not attending?

KY, Joanne, Jan, mummies
Lotsa Lift upgrading in our area/precinct (Gombak). That also explained why our area is the Dengue Hotspot these few weeks. Just gotta be extra careful.. especially Jan, cos her's is more nearer to hotspot.. at least Joanne and mine is a street away from the hotspot. These mozzie really make us scare and headache..
Jan, Jo, I even avoid going to the central market these few weeks.
Take Care .. everyone..

Hi Meilan,
Think you have overrated Brandon's maturity. He's still very much a kiddo. If you see him playing, you'll faint
kao_drool.gif

Hi ky,
You flattered Brandon. Ben is the one doing great! He's performing soon! You must be feeling so excited about it

Saw some double decker beds in Ikea. Tempted to get one too. But I'm worried my kids might jump from the top bed to the bottom one. So, idea is being shelved currently.

Hi Joanne,
Oh mine, so that's what contributing to the escalating dengue cases. Isn't the town council doing anything? More fogging?

Hi worry mum, yes - Sonia is attending. That's why I need 2 vacancies but the sunday class which I wanted only has 1 vacancy. Go call and check!

Hi worry mum, hahaaa - ya lor. My street address is the # 1 'hot' spot, in the news for the wrong reason! When out at the park, will stick on anti-mozzies patch for the kids.

hi worry mom

ya i'm staying at home look aft the 2 rascals!

Ning is march 03
Kai is nov 06

i'm staying at yio chu kang

was a teacher before being a SAHM

hi jan

what i did was i let my girl wear her diaper.
then i observe dry n praise her.
when she wanted to go without i told her to 'prove herself' by keeping dry for 10 days.
then she's without diapers.
but on days she got real tired n fell asleep without going to toilet, i put on diaper for her, in her sleep.

Town Council do fog area every Fri. I'm staying on Level 2 and everytime they do, I'll wonder whether should I leave my windows open to allow fog in as to chase away all mozzies or to close it as I really don't like the smell.

I've taken pictures of puddles of water in the construction site and emailing Town council. They've been trying hard to fill puddles with soil and thanks to the glaring sun, most of them are gone. Still a few puddles are still lying around.

And those irritating mosquitoes.. Believe me, they're having great immunity now. I've tried spraying the whole living room with insecticide, human beings are fainting but they are still around.

i noticed c has been grinding her teeth at night pretty often these days, is it common in children? should i take her to the dentist or something?

Hi chloe, my 5 yr old son grinds his teeth too. It was a concern from the dental point of view for him as his bite is not proper in that his upper teeth bites over his lower teeth completely. So there is stress on the lower gum from the upper teeth edge. The dentist advised me to get a sort of gadget for him to wear to correct his bite but that costs more than $1k! Because of the costs I haven't got that done and wants another opinion. Coincidentally, got appt to visit another dentist this saturday.

moshi, I share your concerns abt the kids' sheltered view of the real world outside. I was from a Chinese sch until Pri 2 before transferring to a mixed sch when I moved to AMK. I was shocked to have to mingle with Malays and Indians at the very beginning.

Luckily, JK's kindergarten now has some Indians and even Japanese. And it helps that we have Malay neighbours whom we interact very well with. In fact we have been to 2 Malay weddings which JK really enjoyed.

I got the waterproof mattress protector from Courts Tampines next to IKEA. Jan, I bought lots of the disposable incontinence sheets but when JK wetted himself, it always happened when he had rolled himself out of the "catchment area". I thought the mattress protector was a great idea cos we use protectors for all our mattresses anyway.

Joanne, great to see you back. How is Benny doing now?

Regarding insect repellent, my hubby said the army provides a type which can last 48 hours and after 8 washes or something like that. You are supposed to soak your clothes in the repellent before use. Apparently this is meant for jungle use when they face the commando mosquitoes.

Hi Joanne, at my old place which we stay on the lower floor, I used to switch on this electronic mosquito repellent at night, which is odourless and harmless to humans. Do you want to try, instead of insecticide? I have the plug still but don't use it now as I'm staying high floor and doesn't seem to have that many mozzies. I can pass you the plug but you will need to get the refill though. It's war against the andes!

Hi Catherine, my girl is very...mmmm...let me be positive, I'll say that she has mind of her own. There were days when she got up in the nite to pee, but most of the time the diaper is soaked to max capacity. So I told her (as what my elder son did) if she doesn't drink the milk before her bedtime, she will most likely be dry. The new "timeline" I gave her is when Oct comes, training starts - no milk, then dry for 2 weeks, then no diaper like korkor. We will see....

Hi Cat
Great to find someone near me, i am your 'neighbour' at AMK.
No real interaction with the other races here, so i am truly concerned abt the chinese thing in ai tong!
Are u a chinese muslim?

Hi Joanne
i have a feel that if u call the Dengue hotline, the people will respond faster than the town coucil, esp since your area is a hot spot.

Hi ky
wish i am proficient in jap, always my dream, i only know the basics so sometimes i teach mel how to say 'bye bye', 'let's go', 'wait a minute' etc to inject some fun into our daily conversations.
Malay is a lang that i find practical here and easier to learn since the phonics part is very similar to Eng.

Hi meilan
still on japanese, do u have JLPT 4 or above?

mommies
Still on foreign lang, do u hope your child to pick up one? If so, which lang and why?
Which lang in your opinion will give the child an edge in terms of clinching jobs and career advancement. i.e. french? spanish? german? or ??
european languages are more versatile? or middle east lang like arabic?

moshi
haha of cos i'm not a chinese muslim! I love my ba kuah! haha
no offence but i always tell my muslim frens i'm haram!!!
well... when i was in primary sch hardly any malays.
then i went to a sap sch. no malays
then jc and few malays
and as we get older we choose our friends so not much interaction

when i started teaching... let's just say i was in for a shock.
then came the home visit...

my girl attends sunday sch.
now her kindergarten is chinese... so i bring her out with ex colleagues, friends who are non chinese...

moshi

personally i believe in chinese.
don't look too far.
just look at china and it's really made-in-china everywhere.

remember that guy who lost his job cos of his chinese?

also, it was raise as an issue recently that it only makes sense to learn malay as we as surrounded by nations who speak bahasa.

that explains why ning is in a chinese kindergarten now. they teach everything in chinese. next yr her class will have 50% of curriculum in eng

cat
i have a chinese muslim friend who eats bak kwa too when she was studying in australia.

hi jan
i duno if this is feasible for u, but i bring the potty to Mel an hour after she falls asleep, and she stays dry after that one nite pee.