(2003) Calling all 2003 babies

hi jan
is that the prudential ladies plan? i had one too but i gave it up a few years back, the free health screening is a real bonus. i wouldnt be bothered to go for the screening if i had to pay for it.

Children's Day Party
Date: Sat, 29 Sep
Time: 6pm
Venue: Upp Changi

Games:
1. Lucky draw (gender free, <$5 gift)
2. Telematch
3. Spot-the-difference (Apricot, can u lead this?)
4. Treasure Hunt (Star, counting on u for this ;)
5. Hit the pinata! (any volunteer to buy it and stuff it with goodies?)

K's mom, welcome back! how's the trip back to hometown? Are u thoroughly rejuvenated and raring to go for more quasi-homeschooling? ;)

Has anyone tried reading National Geographic for Little Kids with your children before?

B was so amazed by all the beautiful pics he saw in the magazine once while we were waiting in the clinic for his dental appointment. I thought whilst the pictures in the adults' version are breathtaking, the contents are too heavy for little kids. But am just wondering how the little kids' version would be like. Unfortunately, we have no eng-speaking public library here.

Maybe Pris might have an idea?

Ai yo, K's mom. You've set on us many issues to ponder on. and some of which i've not sorted out myself and i really think it's good that u brought this up.
As our kids grow each day, they would have to learn to come to terms with the different emotions they experience, including the not so pleasant ones like losing in a game, being laughed at by friends... maybe we should look at how to help them develop their EQ more, not only interpersonal skills but intrapersonal (being able to recognise their own strengths and weaknesses and how to handle them). Something like that?

Hi moshi2!

Yeah... got back yesterday afternoon... tired - what with all the staying up late to talk?!

We were yakking away about our times in the little town, about who's married to whom, and who's got how many kids etc... and were in indulging in the reminiscence of our wild university/party days and discovered some scandalous truths about ourselves, which we aren't proud of and are certainly not gonna tell our children about them. Gee, pregnancies and childbirth had caused some serious memory blocks in me and I've been so busy being a parent that I can now hardly recall my past!

The kids took care of themselves. There were four of them altogether, 02,03,04,05 kids!
They were running up and down all three storeys plus the basement, with one dressed up as a cowboy, a knight, a witch and a wizard. It was great conversation: 50% German 50% English! Hilarious!

This is like the most german thing I've done since being back here for almost two years!

Me me! placed an order for nat georg after Serenade told me abt the promo they are having for toy r us members. about $50 for 10 issues (if i remember it right) plus free gifts like the Night Scop.
Serenade, i am getting the freebie 2mrw and i have to activate my a/c before i can get the first issue. have u done that?

Re health screening. To me, its just blood test which most clinics can do it at a lower price. Yes, tests like x-rays, may or may not be possible for some clinics. Some hospitals package it very nicely, with a little breakfast, ECG etc. Just my thoughts..

yeah... moshi2!

SOmetimes in the quest for knowledge and the academics, I've overlooked my children's social and emotional developments.

Yep, from now onwards, we've gotta be exploring more on EQ and intrapersonal skills.

Any idea where we should go from here now???

K's mom ... regarding competition and a must-win-or-tantrum phase, I've brought this up with B's teacher before ... she has advised me that this is not an age to introduce competitive games as they do not understand that it's ok to lose. She suggested that I do collaborative or games/activities that requires cooroperation.

.ky.

Wow!

Is it Nat Geo for Little Kids from 3-6 years?

50 SGD for 10 issues! What a steal! It's 28 USD for 6 issues subscription for overseas delivery!

Man, another reason to go back to Sg soon.

Hi ky!

that's an excellent idea!

sorry about the late user-warning for UNO. Mommies, watch out for the must-win-or-tantrum meltdowns.

now all the more I think about how important our sports days were in the past!

Hi moshi, it's some ladies plan from manulife. Got it years back and like you, I only go for the screening becoz it's "FOC"!

Jan, that's what I paid for my health screening $200. Check include stool, urine, liver, cholestrol, thyroid, glucose blah blah... also went for pap smear. Luckily, normal.

I've always thought high cholestrol only happens to people in their 40s!!! I'm so young, how can this happen to me. So naive.

Kristin mom, I bought UNO from Popular and it was fun playing with belle.

Regarding the gathering, since it's near lantern festival shouldn't we ask them to play with lanterns too?

Hi Serena!

High cholesterol can even happen to children... so it's not true that it only hits people in the 40s. So watching the diet is your safest bet to good health.

Glad you had fun playing UNO with Belle.
Gee, I really have no idea where this competitive streak B has stems from??? Dh thinks we've given him too much attention/encouragement whenever he completes a task quickly since young plus his grandparents adore him.

Anyway, he's beginning to distribute cards pretty well now.

Hi k's mom, for negative feelings, think it's important that we acknowledge them and explain to the kids it's ok and how to handle them. I think as younger generation especially Singaporeans, we are very fortunate, thus do not have much hardlife stories to share. My hubby who is non-local, on the other hand, loves to tell his "grandfather" stories about his younger days and his father's colourful adventures. Then he will go "in life, you will learn....". These made good bedtime tales and something to keep them occupied during car journeys.

Hi moshimoshi,
Still waiting for mine to show up. The lady told me it would take another 4-6 weeks after activation. Think I'll give them a call tomorrow. Have fun with the free gifts. Be careful of the night telescope. B dropped it a couple of times and it's not working anymore

Hi Kristin's mom,
B used to throw tantrum if he were to lose a game. But I guess he has "grown" up since then. Now, if he loses, he'll smile and say,"It's ok. It's just a game." And if he wins, he'll give me that same advice too.
So, again, lead by adopting a positive attitude. It may not show immediately. But over time, kids do learn.

Hi Jan and Serenade!

Yeah... sometimes things are easier said than done in my case.

Trust me, my dh and I keep going on about "it's ok, it's just a game. Or maybe better luck next time etc..." since we've started playing the game. But it seems like it's instinct that B enjoys winning! Or maybe it's just too early to tell? I don't know.

I've always suspected that my kids are mirco-rebellious. Terribly stubborn. When told not to do something, their knee-jerk response will be " but why not?". Just over the weekend, we've seen children again, told the same thing and not even a question asked!

I don't think we are any stricter nor more lenient than any parents i know, but we certainly do not have average children here to deal with.

Dear Sarah and all mommies,

So sorry. I forgot that I have a wedding lunch on 29th Sept at hyatt so i will not be attending the children's day gathering. I know it is lunch and the gathering is in the evening .. but i dare not ask my driver to stick ard at the gathering incase he foul mood due to not enuf sleep (since he will be missing his nap).

You guys enjoy yrselves.

1. sarah (1a1c)
2. moshi (1a1c)
3. serenade (2a2c)
4. apricot (2a1c)
5. serena (?a1c)
6. moo87 (?a1c)
7. minnie (1a1c)
8. star (?a1c)
9. worry mum?
10. chloe?

p/s : this time i m attending the lunch without my kids! hiak hiak hiak.

Hi Catherine!

Welcome to our forum!

Great to have another teacher among us! Please share your ideas with us

And if you'd pm worry_mum, she'd be more than glad to update your details among a list that she's been keeping. (Right, worry_mum? Please help us, please please please! ;) ) Then it'll be easy for you to know who's who in the forum and what our kids' names are. As you can see here, we've been using lots of initiatials lately.

HI Sherlyn!

I can sense your excitement about the wedding reception

Enjoy yourself! Isn't it wonderful when you can tell your "driver/babysitter" that children are not invited, unfortunately. :eek:)

moshi moshi,

Thanks for trying to arrange on how i can view the booklist. Ky show me when i went for the gym trial on 15th sept. Sorry for any inconvenience caused.

hee hee ya k's mom, certainly quite excited. Children is welcome in this case, but i don't think it is economical to bring 2 young kids to a hyatt wedding lunch .. haha .. so i hv to entrust them to my mother and my brother ..

this time, wedding is my secondary class monitor, and my dh is same class as i m, so we both attending together .. now i m vexing (got such word?) over what to wear cos i have not attended any wedding dinner for years and also do not hv any working attire, not to mention i hv outgrown all of the old ones.

anyone want to loan me?

Welcome Catherine.

and to all the rest, thanks for sharing EQ (and other then academic aspects) development .. so many thgs to digest (but i soon will forget even thou i read it *sigh*) ..

shd i compile them and put them up in the knowledge section of parents like us ? hehe

Hi Sherlyn!

Don't be vexed!!! Yes, there is such a word!

Just take the opportunity and go get a pretty dress for the occasion! Great to have couple time in this way. Attending a wedding together with hubby... hmm, it's like renewing your own marriage vows in a way. Inhale some matrimonial bliss from the newly-weds! And just for a fleeting moment (2 hours or more?) feeling liberated and childless again... haha!

The Pinata is very popular here in Canada during birthday. Dh and mine own concern is that it teaches violent as the young children has to use a stick to beat the Pinata till all the items like little toys, sweet that the parents has stuffed inside fall out when the pinata break. Unless what is used is like a ball such as baseball, rugby ball etc.

All the America stalls should carry them but can be make. We saw it in Preschool Power to, will ask Kai under which VCD #.

K's mom .. feeling the pinch just to get a pretty dress for the occasion leh. furthermore, i dun dress up and also dun wear dresses haha ... i m more of a pants person.

usually in wedding (before we had kids), i always feel romantic while in the environment .. but too bad, dh is those down to earth kind .. so its just another meal for him!

Sheryln, go pamper yourself a little, get a dress. or even another nice blouse and pants.

Got some interesting books when we went books hunting at the bookstore yesterday, will share one of them when I have the time to take photos.

K's mom,
Yeah, of course, It's my pleasure to keep updating the list..

Sherlyn,
Think u worried too much liao.. Is so easy for your size to get pretty dress.. but not for me.. sobsob.. Ur hb looks friendly leh..must make him shake hand with my hb next time..

So sorry I left early for the Gym. So both your kids and Meilan's + Friend's Kids do sign up after the trial? My B really make me faint...

On weddings and evening gowns, where do you shop for a under $200 gown?

hey Star
Any idea how we can go about the treasure hunt? We do it together? ;)

Hi Sarah
U want to make the pinata? Mwah! my friend told me she used cardboard for the inside and ribbon paper on the outside. Don't really get what she means but you can always make your own version!

I received some KFC home delivery coupons in the mailbox:
8pcs of chic + large whip potato + coleslaw + drumlets @$19.20.

Hi Serenade
ok ok i will supervise the use of the night scop. hope yours will function again after some 'rest'.

Hi K's mom
Will show u a few pages of the kids nat geo after i received them.
Have u got the package for K?

Hi jan
thanks for letting us know about the pinata at spotlight.
Aren't u joining us on 29 Sep?

Hi Sherlyn
grab the chance to volunteer your service at the wedding. i love being a kaypoh at weddings, especially sitting pretty at the reception table haha

i'm back! new workplace's open concept, so looks like i will hang out less often here

anyway, thanks for the birthday wishes for chloe. she had a good time (more in my blog).

hi moshi,
happy belated birthday mel!

on monday i told chloe that it was mel's birthday. she promptly ask if she could attend her party ha ha.

hi sarah,
if all fails, just stuff sweets in balloons & blow them up as pinata. i made one during chloe's party. sure work!

Hi Moshi moshi,
Try looking for dresses from Allure Boutique. The shop used to be in RafflesCity SC but you can also find their dresses in CK Tangs. Well, CK Tangs has other beautiful dresses from other brands. That's all I can think of

Hi Sherlyn,
Haiz..if only you live near my area, I can lend you my dresses. Wear them with a simple choker or dangling necklace...whoa, you will look very nice. If you are keen, I can meet you somewhere central..let me know.

Hi Chloe,
Gee.. you can secretively type us a msg so means there is a will there is a way..

Hi sherlyn, ya ya good excuse to buy new clothes. hehee! For a certain period of time, so many weddings to attend, then baby showers, then now it's children's parties....milestones of the aging process? Next, will be friend's children's weddings and we will qualify to be in the elderly groups of 'san gu liu po'.

Hi Chloe,
Dun miss us too much
. Work is more impt. I will be like you when I return to work in Mid Oct. Co's also open concept so cannot surf the net anyhow I wan becos I am just behind directors' offices..tao3 yan4 !

Worry mum, not that it is difficult to get a dress, but i only wear it this time if i do get, cos i seldom attend weddings or formal functions. Wouldnt it be a waste of money cos my waistline is still expanding like that of a growing child ? hahaha

my dh is ok person ... used to be worst (meaning more anti social) but after his job that requires him to do presentation on stage, he is able to mix ard more accept he would still choose not to attend social gatherings if he can.

so is Benjamin gog to join too ? we will start in oct cos this weekend gog bak msia and nex weekend got wedding lunch.

my boy used to be like Benjamin, rejecting any courses that i propose even if i bring him there to see. But after schooling, he is better liao. that day bring him to see yamaha lesson he even bug me to start him right away .. (ya i signed him up for that too, starting in oct too

Apricot, thanks for the offer. What a pity i dun stay your area .. anyway i think u are a little too tall for me hehe but where got perfect match one rite? haha unless go for rental

Jan, ya good excuse but it pains to see all the new clothes that i outgrow so fast hanging around in the wardrobe taking up spaces. I really hate to buy things and just "put there" (was telling KY abt it during the gym trial haha). Furthermore, i really do not hv much wedding and baby showers to attend ..(but luckily also since i dun like dressing up)

Hi sherlyn, is the yamaha a music appreciation course which requires parental participation? Can share the details. I'm now scheduling the kids' classes for next year and considering if should add some music course in. But it's tough becoz only can afford time during weekends.

Hi sherlyn, me very guilty - sometimes an impulsive shopper. Did abit of springcleaning to clear some stuff for salvation army collection next week. Just 5 mins and I've filled up a big bag of "old" clothes. So one day when I stare at the wardrobe, can really say "I've nothing to wear!". Ooops!

Sarah

Blow a balloon up and do a paper-marche followed by layer colourful crepe papers outside. then pop the balloon and fill up with sweets. Concourse selling at $25 and I think likewise at spotlight ... I think it's too wasteful to spend money that way.

Sherlyn
Just dig whatever that's most presentable from your wardrobe. For me, when I last attended a wedding last year, I just pulled out whatever I had hanging in my wardrabe. Most of my stuff are in zipped-bags ... and honestly, I can't really be that bothered coz like u, it's not a once-in-a-lifetime thing for me too, and I don't think people would judge you by your appearance ... or these are frens u'd rather do without. and actually for chinese dinners, u r seated most of the time (quite anti-social kind of event), so how to show off what u wear? And all the guests were dressed up so nicely coz many are indians, so u know the sarees and accessories they have ... wow! I spend more time thinking over whatever B should wear ... the 4-yr and 3-yr nephews of the bride were wearing tuxedoes ... so how to beat that?

.ky.