(2003) Calling all 2003 babies

Hi Serena,
Yeah, I think you should teach your girl to play the piano. It's my greatest regret not being able to play musical instrument. Heehee...so I want H to be able to do so.
Not now, maybe when she's 5 or 6yrs old.

moshimoshi

I have the whole set of Ladybird Peter and Jane series. It's really good and Benny could recognise the new words easily thru repeatation with help of colourful pictures.

Apricot

Total 36 books. 12 for a, b and c each. Mine is passed down from my cousins and short of a few so I went popular bookshop thinking of buying them to save trouble but gosh! they're expensive! $4.95 per book so I ended up buying online in SMH marketplace. You can also try Yahoo Auction for a great deal.

I happened to watchlist this auction. Selling $1.90 per book but it's preowned and not complete set.

http://sg.auctions.yahoo.com/sg/i:Ladybird%20Children%20Books%20Key%20Words%201b%204a%204c%205b%205c%207a%2011a:254117548

hi moshi ... I totally agree with you abt running in the park as being an enriching experience. actually, with a helper, I try to make use of the limited time I have while I still have her. So perhaps that's why it seems I'm doing alot of stuff now, but I believe many of you are doing the same too, just each in our own different ways. I do not like to run out everyday actually but when I do, I like to do alot of things, sometimes too many things.

Serenade, don't have a chinese physician to recommend for adults. I'm down again with sorethroat.... I just try to eat home-cooked food as much as possible.

CMT, for volunteer (PV) work, u can check with the school that u r interested. Most schools would allow parents whose kids are registering next yr to PV now. For us, it'll be next yr.... possible after mid-yr. But there's no harm in trying to get the school to allow u to do earlier.

btw, anyone of u have got a set of readers but find that your kids are not keen in reading them? Mine have that problem so I don't wanna buy anymore readers.

.ky.

Apricot
It's not a bad idea for u to buy new books, u have 3 kids, if one doesn't read them, there's a high chance that one of the other 2 will want to.

I have to be v cautious with my purchases;)

Joanne
I got some of the ladybird from a friend but bought most of them, I didnt get the C books though, don't find them useful. With 10% discount at Pop, it's still a good buy considering the wonders it does;)

Hi Serenade,

ok.. will "miss" you for the gym lessons. Let's hope both our girls get accepted. I also like a smaller class, but like ky say, bedtime will be 10pm but i would like to let him sleep ard 930.

Alone bring my kids to the zoo is fine, cos they only interested in the tram .. so most of the time, we just hop from one station to another .. the last time i went, we only visited the fragile forest and the children playground. I am planning to go again before my mmship expire this end aug (ya got to miss a day of school if i really do that). I think it will be a big headache if i bring them for yum chai with you guys.

Hi ky,

Thanks for the note of reminder. I will be as glad if both my kids get accepted even if they are different classes. I am hoping to find enrichment classes that they both can attend at the same time so as to kill two bird with one stone.

*so i hope thou they are different classes, but both the girls and boys classes operate at the same timing*

ky, Ben do not take pm nap now ? If he doesnt, he can still attend gym and go for the national day party that day till 9 plus ah... did he sleep in the car that day?

oops Moshimoshi,

usually we go beach sat morning, only when saturday morning has programs like libbrary (cos of due date) or other appts, then maybe we will go sunday .. but no matter what .. will let u know when we go .. on the day morning can ? cos our trip affected by weather leh
if you there, we meet, if not there then nvm lor, always hv the chance. ;-)

so you working weekends, no wonder weekend times are so precious to you.

ky,

Currently my kids are ok with the berenstain bears readers that i borrow from the library (thanks for all of you who advise me to borrow from library first) ... infact, both my kids can read them, girl from memorisation, and boy I think he recognise a few words. They are so easy to read, always repeating hehe.

Sorry, sorry, very sorry .. cant remember who also needs to know abt the yamaha course (and lazy to check back).

Here's the update.

The next course starts in Oct. Sunday class is full now. Wednesday will hv 2 classes, with one half filled, at 7 to 8pm. Saturday class is 4 to 5pm, also abt half filled. Max of 10 students per class, min 7 students.
No trial class unless there is a class of students all wanting a trial.
Registration fee is $21.40
First term is $240.75, 2nd $256.80, 3rd $272.85, 4th $288.90.
material fees $124.01 (inclusive of one textbook, workbook, CD, DVD, a kit set, percussion set)
Termination is one month notice before the 7th.

I hv yet to see the facilities, forget to ask if i can see them that morning. But i think can go checking it out when the class is going on by peeing through the tiny glass panel on the door.

HTHs

So, CMT, Serena, Meilan, fine with a 15th sat trial ?

If everyone is fine, then i will go ahead to call them. btw, i hv another frend wanting to trial it out too, she has a boy in end 02 and gal end 04. wow, with worry mum and me, there will be 5 new students gog for trial.

Must also bear in mind that there is currently 10 boys in the sat class liao... not sure if there is a max limit.

Serenade,

I guess you have secure a trial lesson with the gym liao .. what is the number you called? is it from the website?

Worry mum, I didn't pass Grade 8 remember?!! I don't want to short change parents.Ha..ha.. you can borrow my piano books to photocopy if you want.

Moshi, hands ready for piano?!! Kids should be able to stretch their fingers with the thumb touching the middle C and the last finger touching A note comfortably. If they can't because their fingers are short, there are ways to overcome this to play it perfectly. So, it's more of the kid's interest to play the piano and not whether when their fingers are ready. If your kids are ready, start off with a second hand piano first but if you're 100% sure of their interest then go for an acoustical piano that is at least above 121cm. The longer the strings the better it sound. Also, a electronic piano and an acoustical upright piano has a different feel to the keys. In the pass, pianist were not very keen to play the electronic piano for fear will spoil their "fingers"!! I'm serious. I thought it was very funny... my teacher was one of those people.

Sherlyn, I can't make it on Sat night for trial class. Is the trial class same time as actual class?

Serenade, why you need to see a chinese sinseh? Don't mind me asking because I don't understand what you mean by "tiao li"?

Jan, I'm also very poor in my chinese. Fancy my girl ask me how to read and I have to tell her I don't know. I prefer books with hanyupinyin too! I'm terrible in chinese writing too. For example the word "fall down" in chinese, so easy yet I can't write!!

Moshi, regarding my Japan trip, we are waiting for Natas Fair in Sept before deciding.

4chongchong, can you help me check on Pediasure 900g, how much you friend can get it for? I buy from NTUC for $26.40 per can. I'm not too sure about the cents behind but should be around 40cents. I'll need 4 cans to last me a month. Looked forward to a favourable reply??

ky, i do wish to get a maid, however i worry that i have to care for the maid instead and my hubby prefer privacy so maid option is not in favor . so at times i was so shy even inviting my good friends to my place as no time to tidy them. my house was in good shape during my maternity and my vaction otherwise it almost became like a store room. i envious those can drive their kids around, i have driving lisence but definitely cannot drive if my kids are in the car, they always will talk, argue and sometimes fight in the car, i am paranoid that i will be disturb by them therefore cannot concentrate. so even my hubby outstation my car will sit in the carpark and i spend money on taxi fare. having two boys of sixteen months are really a handful, i wonder how you cope with 3.
by the way , anyone heard mrs sam phonics, i saw their roadshow seem good but need to pay 2 k outfront for 4 months intensive training for the kids ..........
at times i really wish to meet uo the mummies here but very shy, esp now i had put on so much weight...time to go on dieting.................

Worry mum, thanks for mentioning abt Dumex offer. I intend to downgrade to Dugro so may not be getting more Mamil Gold.

Sherlyn, I'm ok with 15 Sep. A friend may join but I will leave her to call up since she can't confirm yet. From what I understand, there are many parellel classes so as long as there are sufficient coaches, vacancies should not be an issue.

moshimoshi
I bought only 1c from popular bookstore which cost me nearly 5 bucks. Others I bought it online, thou 2nd hand but condition 9/10 and some looks brand new. Guess price?? 4 of them for 6 bucks!! Think I had a good catch.. hehe

For those whose kids are taking more than 250ml of milk.. I can only envy. Benny used to drink 300ml every morning and night but now, he can hardly finish 200ml. Antibiotics is affecting his appetite and I guess multiple fastings (for surgery and scans) had shrink his stomach.. He can't finish a standard size hotdog bun by himself! what do you think? Possible?

Serena,
You mention Grow in earlier posting right? Both my boys are on grow now. Bryan supposed to start next Jan but since he's starting to reject Gain IQ due to the "milk taste", I started him on Grow Vanilla earlier and he likes the vanilla taste.

Both my kids can't take Dumex. Benny will develop rash and Bryan, constipation. Otherwise we'll be more than happy to stick to lower cost milk.

Wow.. your hubby buying a boat! Think the only chance we can get board on a boat is during lunar 9th month.. to Kusu Island. Haha..

Hi Emily. I too struggled with the idea of having a maid for a long time before taking the plunge. I used to think it's a commitment for at least 2 years but in actual fact, you have options to terminate her anytime if you really think she's not what you want. Also, if you can afford to take your time to screen out a good one and/or are willing to pay a premium for a better one, she can take a lot of chores-related stress out of being a sahm. I would have done without one if I were still working full-time by putting my kids in a childcare centre and getting a weekly cleaner but having tried being a sahm with 2 young kids for a year, like what ky said, the helper will buy you precious time which in my case is otherwise wasted on chores.

On Mrs Sam, I went for their so-called parent seminar cum trial for kids and was thoroughly disappointed. I was told they needed 2 hour to explain the wonders of Mrs Sam phonics but the operations manager just kept repeating the same script abt their secret recipe had been successful with so many kids (but when someone asked, she could not say how they were differentiated from other phonics schools) and why we should take up the one-day offer to pay 2k upfront for a course we had little idea abt. As for JK, he joined me after 20min to show me his writing of a single letter which turned out to be their assessment test and trial. The teacher congratulated me that JK was eligible for the preparatory course which made me really confused cos that was the most basic level which anyone could join! We left in less than 1 hour when the manager repeated her script for the 3rd time. I felt it was a total waste of our time.

Hi Joanne. Good to catch you here. I've only sent out the amulet for Benny today as I could not find a post box when out during the weekends and have not stepped out of the house till today! Hope he's recovering well and you have been resting sufficiently.

Serena,

I suppose the trial and the actual lessons are the same ... if you cant make it for sat evening trials, i suppose u mean for all sat evening .. then do u want to do the trial yourself or with Serenade ?

since u mention pediasure .. May i ask what is the difference between the $26 and the $29 pediasure .. its the probiotics and some new ingredients right? my kids only taking the chocolate ones.

Currently there is a promo for Pediasure in NTUC, from $29.45 to $28.20. The pediasure even comes with a set of kids size cutlery.

Emily,
we're gathered together to learn from each other and to let the kids have fun so mummies' size is not a factor.. so don't have to worry on that. In fact, I'm on the "big" side!!

Hi Meilan
I was a little worried that it'll be lost in mail when I didn't receive anything today.. hehe.. will open my mailbox again day after tomorrow to check it out. Thanks again for the trouble.

I've been resting well but still feeling very exhausted. As long as the cyst thing has not been resolved, I'll never be able to rest my mind with ease. We'll be back for review tomorrow, hopefully surgeon will find something in yesterday's scanning report.

Emily .. my house is always in a mess too .. I only tidy when i hv to receive guests and it depends on how close is the guest to me .. if very close friend, i dont even bother to tidy ..

like what Joanne said, we gathered to learn from each other and for me, to make friends (Dont hv much after staying at home for so long).. and now I am still growing in size even though my 2nd kid is 3 yrs old liao .. all cos of the cakes and biscuits i m baking!

haha.. messy house? don't think your house can be more messy than mine. My hubby has been bringing home all kinds of 2nd hand car parts and they're flooding into my living room. With 2 guys (hubby and BIL) and 2 forever active boys.. I will never be able to clean up after them no matter how fast I am. Therefore, I've given up on "showroom" flat and concentrate on happy kids!

Sherlyn,
I see you from top to bottom, left to right.. still can't figure out where the fats you mentioned are?? You're considered M size lah.. you should see me after I gave birth to Benny.. not L size, it's "GIANT" size!

Jo, you tall leh .. for a short woman like me .. 33 inch waist shd be consider fat bah. weight climbing to 55kg soon if i keep eating my experimental cakes and biscuits.

I am always short of clothes too cos size keep growing leh .. now all my bottoms tight tight one hhahaha and i dare not buy new clothes leh

huh.. 55kg and complaining?? My pregnant free record is close to 80kg leh and I was NEVER below 65kg. *sigh* ya.. maybe before my teenage years. I started to "swell up" during my Pri school days and the air inside me never seems to leave me.

Jo,

I think i must use this qi gong (if i master it) to transfer the fats to my breast first .. got remainder then give serenade haha

also, u oni see top to bottom, left to right from the outside .. wait till u see inside hahahahahahahaha

anyway i m wearing L sizes now, M just dun fit. And when i sit infront of the computer table .. i feel a small ring of tyre around my waist hahaha

Hey ladies!

We are back from our summer vacation!
Tuscany is beautiful! More on that later in my blog when I'm done with laundry and a more settled life back home.

Hi Moshi2!
Thank you for the b'day card for Bryan! He's so thrilled when I handed it to him.
Thank you to all the children who helped make the card.

On dental care, we go to Aaron Seow's clinic coz my friend works there. She's a lady, Dr Sheat Yew Meng, very petite and nice... so I guess that's why Bryan is very comfortable with her. She told me their latest branch in Holland V has all the things that you want. We recently went to the one at Holland Drive. But will visit her in the Holland V's branch for K's sake. She refused to open her mouth the last time we were there. The website is http://www.aarondental.com/.

Hi Serenade!
You've got a bug in my home? Yeah, we were home on the 15th. Cut short one day and drove all the way back from Milan to Frankfurt coz we couldn't decide where to stop in between and didn't book any accomodation.

Hi apricot!
You've got cute twins! And you are doing extremely well bf them?

Hi Meilan!
Hope you are all better now and less tired.

Hi Joanne!
Cheah Siew Leng from GH? A pretty highly recommended surgeon, isn't he?
His advice sounds quite reassuring.
Hope the antibiotics work well on Benny.

HI Serena and Pris!

Wow... your children drink so much milk! B drinks about 580ml of milk a day, and I think it's too much for him already. I've been weaning him off his bottle to cup at night now. I find he guzzles down much less from a cup.

Hi ky!

Seems like you are doing alot of homeschooling these days. Tiring?

Hi CMT!
Welcome!

Hi emily!

Faith is a pretty babe! You must be one happy mom!

Hi Sarah!
How's your stiff neck and shoulders??
Mine are giving me so much headaches these days... can't wait for both kids to start school so that I can go to the gym everyday to exercise away those pain!

Hi moo87!
Have you got your access to the blog yet? Otherwise, Will try to look into it next week.

Hi Serena! Thanks for thinking about K when you saw your OskKosh outfit. Yeah, will gladly pick it up from you... she probably can still fit... she still wears clothes meant for 18 months... very small size!

all mommies,
regards! will chat more another day.

ok... ladies... gotta go zzzzz... it's really late now... talk to you another time...

Hi Kristin's mom,
Great to have you back! Think you'll be busy with unpacking and household chores the next few days. Don't forget to upload the photos on your blog. Waiting to read about your trip and beautiful pictures.

Hi Sherlyn,
The only place I want more fats on is my face. Hehe, pretty happy with the rest except for the fats and loose skin around the tummy area. My weight seldom exceed 50kg :p If I do, my hubby will hint to me that it's time for exercises

If you succeed with qigong, pls pls pls teach me, ok?

Hi Serena,
Thinking of taking some chinese herbs to "bu" my body. I have always envy those with boundless amount of energy. My friend of 3 kids takes care of her semi-d house alone (no maid), gives tuition at home and her brother's tuition centre and even promotes stuff for some companies in her leisure hours. Really makes me wonder where her energy comes from. Heard that chinese herbs can help in blood circulation etc, so thinking of giving it a try. If only I have half her energy level...

Interested in joining us for trial on Monday evening?

Hi CMT,
Thanks for the contact. Any idea if they treat sprained ankles? My husband just sprained his few weeks ago. Till now, it's still not totally recovered.

Hi Serenade,

How about trying DOM? its relatively good. I hv hrd many gd comments abt consuming DOM every nite b4 sleep. Good for blood circulation, no menses abd pain, rosy appearance. Next alternative, ginseng & paosheng powder. But this is relatively high $ if you compared to DOM.

I hv a contact located @ bukit merah gd for sprained ankles but need to pre-warn. very very painful during initial rub..

Hi Kristin's mom,
Welcome back! Isn't it great to break free from housework and yet same time, happy to return to routine?

Yeah, neck, shoulder ache never seems to go away. That's why I have to refrain from being online too often.

Hi Serena,
Oh yes, I can't agree more with you on Chinese writing...It's easier to read than write. Think we should all brush up our Chinese.

Hi Emily,
Hmm, which mommy is not 'fat' after giving birth? It's only a few months since you delivered, so take it easy.

Hi Emily, I've successful "converted" ML, so now it's your turn :> ... just joking. But getting a maid is a family's decision so can only offer you advices and the various viewpoints of it. Getting a maid is luck as well as how you manage the expectation of the entire matter. When I first got mine, I was preggie with K, and I blew my top almost everyday with her after 3 months. I too wondered why I have to pay for someone but ended up she caused me extra work and like another child to me. Frens told me to change her, find another option, etc. It took me a long time to change my expectation but I finally did. Everyone can only give u advices on what can be done but it's up to you on what you want to be done.

My SIL too do not drive after having a minor accident 2 yrs ago. She'll rather take cabs and let the car sit idle. I tried telling her but she still did not. btw, I got horned badly by a driver yesterday coz I nearly drove into his lane ... that's not going to stop me from driving, but to be more careful.

btw, I've 2 boys, not 3 :> ... why I choose to keep my helper for another year is to allow me to wait till my #2 is older and he can be more independent in his learning. I'm focusing my "teaching" time with B while I'll delegate stuff for K to my helper. Serenade, if you notice why I take more photos, it's bcos I want to capture new moments I've seen with K recently. It's just 15 mins perhaps, not homeschooling more but trying to get them to sit down together to do things together. And Emily, to me, having a helper helps in this as she can jaga my 19-mth esp when he's pretty messy when it comes to painting. Yes, we did worry abt privacy being invaded but eventually we got over it ... for me, I bf and I used to cover up in initial months, now I can't be bothered. I've sort of treat my helper like my family and my helper does know that she needs to "disappear" when she has to and "appear" when she's needed. It doesn't happen overnight ... it takes time to understand and back to what I said initially, luck. My family (or rather my hubby) focus a lot on eating good home-cooked food and that's the reason why a helper really provides us that option.

I don't always sound so positive ... but I read that when a mother's positive, it reflects onto the children and that boost their positiveness abt life. So, if you think that you have no choice but to cope with this alone, do think positive abt it and manage the best of it. I think you do have your parents who pop in once a while to help right?

On terminating the helper before 2 yrs, ML perhaps is talking abt her case where she directly engage hers. I did think of that before, just get a helper for a yr and thereafter I manage on my own. But sending a maid back after 1 yr may mean that the maid has to re-start a 2-yr bond, and perhaps an additional month of salary penalty (depending on agency) and that to me was not very ethical, so I kept her for the full contract.

Don't worry abt showing us your "fat" self. I'm in shorts and t-shirts almost since goodness knows when ... and after 4 yrs of nursing tops, I realize there's nothing much decent in my wardrobe.

.ky.