(2003) Calling all 2003 babies

Hi ky,
Ben managed a forward turnover on the bar? Wow, that's impressive! You just gave me a good reason to enrol the kids for the gym. Do you have any idea if they accept kids younger than 3 years old? I'm keen to enrol Cheryl too. Am hoping to enrol them for some activities together...

Hi Kristin's mom,
How's your trip? Haven't heard from you for quite a while. Drop a few lines when you are free

Hi Chloe2003, I've posted the details of the cc program here, what do u wish to know? If you want to find out the dates, it's best to call the cc.

Chloe2003, have a good trip!

Only the CC provides the free trial, not Yamaha.

Serenade/Sherlyn, u might wanna consider 1-1 piano@CC and there's no parental involvement, take a look at my blog ... there's a little girl who plays excellently on a keyboard. That's JPooh's dd.

Serenade, not sure if they'll take in 3 yr old. can call to check but I think min requirement would be child is toilet-trained and can take instructions well. I've seen a young boy tagged along a girl's group; think the sister is in the group and he just tagged along.

.ky.

Hi Serena,CMT,
Re ballet. H attended Crestar's Bebe Ballet for a year, just 'graduated' in June. Reason for bebe ballet? H likes dancing, and the class is quite fun. Its just actions & movement to the nursery rhymes, definitely less 'serious' compared to classical ballet. Will sign up for classical only if H is keen.

Hi Serena,
400ml at night? Does she pee at night?
H was on Grow when she was abt 2years old or so. But she was often constipated and got mommy really worried. I have since switched her to fresh milk. She's drinking Meiji, not as sweet as compared to the rest, and fats content not that high too.

As for piano teacher, its BlurPooh and not Emily. Don't see her online anymore.

Hi serena
Milk? Wrong person to ask, Mel hates powdered milk, she only takes COLD strawberry UHT milk and sometimes fresh milk, that explains why her weight is 25 percentile. i remember u wanted a height n weight chart some time ago, still want it? i picked up one recently from the PD, it's a chart specifically for Singapore Girls. I can fax it to u. Otherwise, u can tell me her weight, i will check the chart for u.

Pediasure is targeted as a meal supplement, good for 'underweight' kids or fussy eaters. GROW tastes ok, vanilla flavored one is on the sweet side though. Ask for a sample from Abbott?
If only Mel is easy to feed like Adabel, 400ml of milk? I wish!

wow, so much talk on the various enrichment programmes, and many have tried the more popular schools/courses. Great, next time i can get advice easily;)

Serenade
I think Cindy will be back on 16 Aug, if I remember it right.

WOW.. so many postings..

Welcome.. CMT
Mind to let me have ur infor.. Where do you putting up?

Chloe,
Yeah, think u r already on ur way to Melbourne,
Enjoy...

BTW, have u all tried Lot 1 Yamaha? Am still under waiting list for both yamaha and YTCC..

Hi Sarah,

My girl also attend bebe ballet at crestar started early this year. Might consider to let her continue for abt 1 yr then c first. She also enjoyed very much in the class same as wat u mentioned its just an actions & movement to the nursery rhymes.

Hi Chloe,
Hehe..I will try my best to read a few previous posts only lah...it really needs to take very long time for reading....

Hi Jan & Moshimoshi,
I am also consider for sending my girl to either chinese dance class or gym. I will let her try first and c her interest then decide whether to continue ballet or chinese dance or gym. Wow, so kiasu...

Serena,
Missing you..on msn chat.

Wow, amazing!! Adabel can finished 400ml of milk before bedtime!! That's almost my Benjamin whole day consumption nowadays..

Joanne,
Missing you too!!! Please take care urself and Benny. Keep us posted.

Wanna share with u gals a brand new website forum which launches just yesterday. Is done up by the tokomama - sally which we bought the cheering hampers for Benny. The moderator have get permission from Joanne, to use Benny's photos for 1 of the posting. Do give Benny ur support over there.. Sorry as I cant paste the direct link here.. so do please replaced xxxxxxxx to tokomama. http://www.xxxxxxxx.com/smforum/index.php Benny's thread is under photo gallery - special moments. see u there.. hehe

Hi CMT, not kiasu la. If the kids enjoy, just let them try. It'll be tough to afford the time when they start primary school. Will definitely have to cutback when the time comes.

Hi moshimoshi, I prefer Chinese dance for my gal but will still have to depend on her. When we saw the performances by the different CCA groups at a school's open house, she said when she wants to learn wushu and....Indian dance!

Hi ky,
Impressive indeed! That's why we are considering 1-1 lessons. 4ChongChong was sharing with me that Charlene can play on the piano with 2 hands in less than 6 months. Think 1-1 attention is better if we really want the kids to pick up an instrument.

My friend actually advised me that it's best to start the kids around 5-6 years old cos they'll pick up real fast.

Hi jan, sarah,

After hearing such rave reviews on Bebe Ballet, I wanted to enrol Cheryl too. Checked the website and realised it's for 3 years old and above. Any idea if they offer classes for young tods?

Hi 4ChongChong,
Thanks, I'll go check out Motivate and Mac.

Finally received the calls from Act3 today. They confirmed that their programmes are based on age. But lessons are conducted by locals. After chatting with you, I'm leaning more towards LW. But I'm still hesitating cos JG also offers 1 hour Speech & Drama too, i.e no craft work, just purely speech & drama. Perhaps, it's better that I bring B down for a trial.

Hi jan
indian dance? wushu? why not? for all u know, she has the aptitude for dance, a potential professional in the making;)
in fact, martial arts' good for gals, self-defence skills come into use when they grow up into pretty babes. haha

mommies
where do your kids go to get their teeth checked? i am planning a visit to the dentist during the Sep holidays. Prefer a friendly doc with friendly nurses and a clinic with piped-in music, soft colours, toys to distract, u know, the works to make a child at ease;)

Hi Moshi,
Wow, it sure sounds the clinic at Camden.
Try those neighbourhood clinics, they can be quite good too. You can watch TV while the dentist checks on your teeth. Cheap and good.

Hi Moshi,
Wow, it sure sounds like the clinic at Camden.
Try those neighbourhood clinics, they can be quite good too. You can watch TV while the dentist checks on your teeth. Cheap and good.

Sarah, this Friday, I can't make it. My hubby is out boating and my maid needs to help my mum in those hungry ghost festival stuff. I'm left to fend for myself and my girl. Btw, your crunchy roll turn me into pandan bear the next morning. Ha..great fun catching on those I have missed out.

Worry mum, I missed those times at msn too!! What to do? I thought my girl was taking too little milk. Her full day consumption is about 700ml of milk, starting from the moment she wakes to the moment she sleeps at night. How come Ben still looks bigger than her hah?! Not fair leh!! Haha... What about Ben's other meals? Besides the milk, my girl takes 1 bowl of oats, half bowl of noodles for lunch and 3/4bowl of rice for dinner. In between, she may ask for cheese, oreo biscuits, cake, rasins. All these not counted right?

Moshi, if you can find such dental clinic, let me know too! I feel so sad. I weigh my girl just now using your chart. She's only at the 10% range!! Urgh... Alot of people will say "like mother like daughter mah" I don't think I was that skinny.

serenade, actually you can start 1-1 piano for your son. i have put my older son jayden in yamaha before but nothing compare to one to one as now not only playing on piano but also giving theory lesson. my son is preparing to do grade one next yr. and one to one give more attention to one playing technique too . just my two cents worth. monthly i pay $140 per month for four lesson. the other place my colleague recommend is sempi music school

Dental check-up, I asked so long ago and still have not gone. Have made appt at Sch of Dental Health in SGH on some friends' recommendation. Think it costs less than $10 and will be bring both JK and JC.

As for the type of clinic moshi mentioned, the one I used to go under my ex-employer's coverage is like that. Can't remember the name but can dig out the card if anyone is interested. My dentist was Dr Eileen Neo and I think she'll very good with kids too. It's at Wisma Atria. Be expected to pay $70 onwards for a routine check-up even for the kids though.

Sarah, like to meet up with you girls soon but nights out not possible until Sep cos hubby still in camp

Has anyone updated passport photos for your kids? I dread the long wait but don't think I want to pay for biometric passports. Does anyone know the procedure? Take picture beforehand then just go down?

Sarah, like to meet up with you girls soon but nights out not possible until Sep cos hubby still in camp

Has anyone updated passport photos for your kids? I dread the long wait but don't think I want to pay for biometric passports. Does anyone know the procedure? Take picture beforehand then just go down?

Moshi & Serena: my girl has been going to Smile Inc at forum since last year, she has her yearly check up there. Her dentist is Dr AndrewLui, a young man with strong Aussie accent. I recommend him to this other girl friend, and she thinks he is cute

If normal consult without doing any filling, or polishing, it's about $35 , and if you show your Toysrus card, they will give 10 to 15 % discount I think.
I like the service and the friendly environment, C likes it too because they have TV on the ceiling, and the doc is very child friendly.
Before I brought her there the first time, was thinking to bring her to NUH or SGH dental clinic, but I think i made the right decision, because I don't have to wait for long before my turn, and the friendly environment really makes a BIG difference!
Our last visit there was this June, and C went with her friend Matthew, poor Matthew had 2 fillings done, but he is so brave, didn't even cry, so my girl friend also very impressed with Dr A Lui.

hi meilan, I just called up ica this afternoon after reading chloe2003's posting. they should send u a letter/form and on it, it states down the documents to bring to do the photo update ... a photo, original bc ... can't remember much liao. I need to go do it too ... ya, dread the long wait. told to go down b4 10am to avoid crowd and 100% no-no on Sat. to avoid mon/fri too.

dental@SGH : ML, when u going down? I'm bringing B for a review in Nov. We paid $10.50 for a small filling. not bad for a first visit ... actually that was his 2nd visit to dentist, but 1st @SGH's. should I bring K too? how to get him to open his mouth to do the full checkup ... hm

worry_mum, why r u on waitlist @ YTCC? remember to call them nearer the trial date

sarah, sorry, I tried to avoid late nights in lunar 7th month, so can't meet for dinner.

.ky.

Hi ky,

I want something with parental involvement cos i want to learn also hahaha

1 to 1, i also wish, i even wish that he will hv his lessons at home, so the teacher can teach 2 together hehe

For the gym .. I believe there is age limitation ... don't tell me my girl can attend the same class as my boy ...

Meilan and Serenade, if interested in the gym ky's Ben is attending .. shd we go for a trial together?

Serenade .. it seems that you are looking into a few enrichment programs currently .. got time meh? It is only weekends that my dh can bring us out, so the morning we usually go library, beach, nature walk, at times, shopping centres, so if I really gog to sign up music and gym .. and if dance class for my girl(thinking abt jitterbugs) .. wonder if I am still able to commit the time for their beach activities.

Serena,

700ml a day .. i also wish my kids can drink that much. My boy at one go, at most manage ard 100ml. They usually only drink at most twice a day.

Now my kids asking for Chocolate milk .. and i thot giving them the cold fresh milk all the time is not a good idea so i bought pediasure (since my boy is quite skinny). In my opinion, all milk from Abbott are pretty sweet. It is expensive .. so I am wondering if it makes a difference to drink the less branded like dumex, nespray etc.

Wow...so many post on these thread already. I am been very lazy these few days.

And so many enrichment courses, hope all of you mummies cope by bringing them? Must be tiring.

Kai has lots of play-dates during these summer break that I am feeling exhausted bringing him to them and also his swimming class.

Kudos to all of you, how you do that, please share.

hi sherlyn, for gym, best u call up to ask. a fren has recommended to another fren b4 me and she still hasn't done anything abt it ... don't procrastinate if you feel it's a good programme

hi sherlyn/pris ... ya, I too have concerns on running to too many enrichments. Hence, I've sort of imposed a limit on how many to go to. I think music is good as I've never have the chance to take up, and that's just nearby. Gym is what hubby likes n that's on a weekend evening, n hubby get some personal free time while waiting for him. I've recently enrolled B in a total-brain training programme coz I think the teacher is good n it promotes brain development. This is by far the most ex and furthest to run too .. if anyone realize, I tend to focus on activities that promote brain development :>

ya, to me, cost and distance and appropriate timing play a very impt part. I try to keep the weekends free of enrichment and I do find good mgt of time and prioritization does play a part. There is swimming, tennis, art, wushu to consider but like many many enrichments, u can't possibly do all. I recently overheard some conversation btw some mothers that they have to have a schedule on which day is for what enrichment and the kids have asked to not go for any.

.ky.

Thanks mommies, think i am tempted by meeting that cute 'Aussie' dentist at forum, will check it out.
PD recommeneds one at Ngee Ann City which i will pass for now, $35 to see cute doc and watch TV sounds a good deal haha

Hi Sherlyn
Which beach do u frequent, we used to hang out at ECP sandcastle area, Mel likes to sit on the sand and dig dig dig. Yep, time during the weekends is oh-so-precious, Sun morning is outdoor n sometimes sun sch day for Mel. The rest of the time i have to work so no extra classes for her.
We will keep the 'education' fund for holiday trips ;)

Hey serena
does your hub own a yacht? Mine likes to boat and fish too, he goes on his bro's yacht.

KY,
Please share which total brain training programme is Benedict attending now? He no longer in that China Teacher (CL) class right?

Yes, I am in the waiting list on YTCC, when I call them up last time when I got the info from you, their trial have been filled long time ago.. as according to the CC person, she will pass my name to the teacher.. till now, no news, hope they did not throw away my contact.

Sherlyn,
Me too interested for the gym.. hehe.. count me in.. thanks. (Btw, still waiting for their email
) If you organise.. then will be great!!

Serena,
Beside total abt 500ml milk intake per day, he takes bread in the morning in school, then reach home 1 intake porridge (pork or beef), sometimes 2x. Rice for Dinner. That's about all. He seldom takes biscuits and sweets. He dont love sweety stuff..

worry_mum, new term would start in Oct, so trial should be in Sep ... call up YTCC then. There's 1 lady that is in charge ... Kim Heok, speak to her. Keep calling her to find out, esp on which day the lesson would be on. B's session is on Tue night and the current new session is on Sun afternoon.

yap, B's no longer in the chinese lesson. I can't afford to take the car so often and I'll prefer to have more home time with B. Pretty tiring for me too. The total brain training is with E&P (see my blog for link). It's conducted by the taiwanese teacher (she just wrote an article in the latest popular newsletter); 1.5 hrs with no parents involvement except for last 15 mins where the parents are called in for updates. She could accurately describe B's learning ability, and so far we've done activities to promote memory and concentration. The kids also do brain gym, for eg, crossing arms and legs and doing circles with the fingers ... u know the tricks that some folks can do, using left hand to draw a circle and right hand to draw a square ... it's similar brain gym techniques as such. Place is at Delfi Orchard and it goes by per term of 12 wks, each lesson roughly $21.

.ky.

Hi Sherlyn,
My B (wow, a lot of Bs) is currently attending 2 classes - Music and Speech & Drama. Still assessing the rest :p We try to schedule the classes during the weekdays. He's usually tired after school but if there's any activities, he would forget any tiredness. In fact, he still insists on swimming/cycling straight after school.

Just called up the Gym. Mr Lim recommended going down for a free trial. If Cheryl can follow instructions, he has no problem letting her join the class
When are you intending to go for the trial? I'm thinking of weekday nights. Dates available are Mon, Wed & Fri at 7.30pm. For Sat, trials available at around 5.30pm. For me, I'll be enrolling the kids for weekday nights. Weekends are too precious

Hi Emily,
Back to work yet?

Preparing for Grade 1 Exam? That's fast! Yup, we are interested to enrol him for 1-1 classes. Our original intention was to withdraw him from Yamaha but he insisted he would like to continue with it. So, we'll let him try both this term. Hopefully, he can make a decision between the two. S$140 4x sounds reasonable. Unfortunately, we don't have a piano at home. Will have to source for a music school. Don't intend to invest in one yet cos we are interested in letting him try violin. Again, will let him decide which instrument to pick up.

Hi moshimoshi, yes wushu is fine. It's a good form of discipline and non-contact sport. Just find it funny becoz I was 'selling' chinese dance to her - look at the gracefulness, the costumes, etc but she was not impressed. hahaa..

Hi ky,
The E&P class sounds so interesting. Keke, now you have whetted my appetite. Haiz, so many interesting enrichment classes available...

Hi Jan,
Wanted to enrol B for Wushu too. Think it's pretty cool and good for self discipline too. But B prefers gym. So, we are giving it a miss at this moment.

Serenade, fyi, Fri is only an hr. Too short. Go for Mon or Wed, which would end at 9pm. Sat is at 5pm, not 5.30.

.ky.