(2003) Calling all 2003 babies

took me quite a while to read the posts. whew.. mommies here very active..

re: Music
Zavier is attending Preschool Music Exploration @ Mandeville. Noted he can identify and read out the notes when i flipped to him. His memory is getting better. He can spell his full name, our mobile nos, 1-30. His coloring also improved tremendously with weekly worksheets.

re: Brain Training
Anyone hrd of bambino/miniLuk enrichment games? came across this product at United Sq. I have been trying to search for more informations on brain training.

Ky, pls link me to your blog. would love to read up...

re: Dentist
Zavier is due for his first dental visit. To be frank, I am very nervous of his first visit bcos of his heart murmur. PD has warned me to make sure dentist is aware of his heart condition.

re: Reading
I must admit I have been too lax on reading to Zavier. Any books/links to recommend?

Hi 4ChongChong, do you have the contact no. for your dentist? TIA. Sounds good and reasonable price. Brought my 5 yr old for his first visit few months back to this dentist at Ngee Ann city and costs me more than $200 (*faints*
), bust my dental exp claim for the year! No TV somemore. And that was just filling for ONE tooth, haven't done the general cleaning and according to the dentist, there's one more tooth that needs some work. So ex$, don't dare to bring him back yet though he's ok with the experience.

Hi moshimoshi, nah - wushu only as a CCA when the kids start P1, not now.

For me, enrichment only possible for weekends, mainly Saturday. Weekdays are mad rush - home, dinner, bath, bed! If I'm SAHM, weekdays would be much better.

Hi Jan
Did u got to Atria-city, Dr Ja at ngee ann?
That's the one my PD recommended.

Hi Moo
Eng books: If u are looking for readers, my pick is Ladybird Peter and Jane series, cleverly structured graded series that will bring the child up to P1/P2 proficiency.

Chinese: Wo Hui Du (I can read) by Mdm Soh, the author is a retired sch teacher who started the books because of her granddaughter. Only Han Zi, no han yu pin yin, that;s why i like them. Plus she lives in AMK so i pick up the books fr her. Send me SMS for details.

Science:
P3 Science textbook, publisher: My Pals are Here. This may sound crazy to some but Mel and I really enjoy lapping up the science facts in this bk, the info is easy to digest and illustrations colourful. Topics covered include Animals, Plants etc.

Fancy savouring organic fare at a tranquil park setting? Just minutes away from where i am is a green room cafe at bishan park. I have been telling myself to visit it one day, but haven't got a chance/occasion to do so. If travelling to the park is not too much trouble for u gals, we can have our mommies night there one day.

To be enticed, click here:
http://www.aramsaspas.com/greenroomcafe.html

Hi Moshi2,

Thanks for the info, will check out. its high time for me to check out..

wow p3 science with mel.. awesome..

Ballet:
Just found out that CCs provide FREE trial for ballet. I've put Mel's name down for one in Sep.
And it's cheap cheap cheap, only $85 for 11 lessons!
Sarah, tempted? check out your nearest CC for details ;)

Hi moshimoshi, went to TP Dental - it's at the penthouse. Guess that's why had to cover part of the rental cost!

Great stuff - thks for sharing the reading info! I will also go check out the science book. Had been trying to look for one of those encyclopedia books for scientific knowledge like 101 Answers but not comprehensive and interesting enough.

Hi moshimoshi,
Is My Pals the recommended series for primary school? My friends have been recommending My Pals too.

Interested to find out what our preschoolers need to know in P1, check out the My Pals series. There's a guide book for parents.

Hi moshimoshi, to add - for the chinese books, on the contrary I delibrately look for those with hanyu pinyin becoz I may not be able to read!!
That's also the reason I got a zidian - to check up on words which I have 'returned to the teachers'. kekekee

'My Pals Are Here' publishes Eng n Sci books for pri sch. They have been around for close to 10 yrs. All textbooks are available from Pop.

jan
The 'i can read' series have han yu pin yin and eng texts only at the back of each book, so the kid will not use it as a clutch when they flip through each page. Comes with flashcards also, but i dont use them, never like using flashcards. u can view books at Growing Fun.

hi serenade,
yap i am back at work ,actually has post my gal pic last week wonder did you see it. i am waiting till dec for bonus then quit be like most the mum here sahm. need to spend more time with older boy jayden as next yr he is K1. but wonder i can hang on for how long to be as sahm. i really envious of your gathering and coming duck tour, i hardly can afford the time, some days i dun even have any chance to chat with my two boys or carry my gal.

My older boy is in P1 now. So I can share with you something about P1 education. Personally, I think if your kids have a proper preschool education, P1 will be quite simple. In fact Semester 1 can be quite boring for them if they are already familiar with Phonics, Hanyu Pinyin and Maths Number Bonds because these are basically what they do for the first 6 months. It will be good if your child reads frequently so that they have a good vocabulary. The other thing is to train them to be able to sit still and do work for 1 to 1.5hours at one go. They should also learn to take care of their own belongings.

I have been following this thread as my younger boy is also 4 years old this year. I think most of yours kids seem to be very well-trained from young, so no worries.

Moshi, my hubby wants to get a boat soon. At the moment he rents the entire boat from Raffles Marina because we are member there. I think he gets a better rate. So,he's bringing the boat out with his friends this Friday. He's just got his licence. Frankly, I don't think I dare to go with him for boating. He's so new in it. Scary...man... I think my hubby would love to meet your hubby because he's also into fishing and boats. Something in common.

Pris, your boy drinks 900ml of milk everyday? Wow, that's quite a feat too!!

Whoever going for the gym trial class recommended by KY, please count me in to.

Actually, I can teach piano to my girl. I had piano lessons when I was 12 but stop short at passing grade 8. I was damn lazy to continue. My mum gave up on me. Ha.. anyway, the truth is one-to-one teaching is better. Piano is something that you need to practise and practise. To do well, one is required to keep nails short and practise daily for 3 hours. 1 hour to brush up on scales and 2 hours on music. I remembered when I was at grade 5. My teacher force me to practise 5 hours everyday.

moshi, I like the idea of organic food in a park. Sounds interesting.

On the topic of Enrichment:
Actually, come to think of it, sometimes I looked back and I feel regretful of my decision. I found my mum too lax with me. If she has been more forceful and stricter with me, then I probably would have passed my grade 8 piano exams. Gone to Australia for studies. I turn all these down and my mum just let it be. So, now with my own kid, even if my kid doesn't want to continue with certain enrichment, I may force it on them because I don't want them to have regrets like me in future. I'm not sure if mummies here can identify with that.

ky, not sure if we are talking abt the same place. Finna introduced me in fact. It's HPB School Dental. It will be JK's first visit. I've just oriented him to what a dental visit is like when I went for a check up at NTUCDenticare recently. Too bad I had a lousy guy who simply ignored JK, so have written that clinic off. Will bring JC who loves to imitate JK along as she may be keen if she sees her gor gor getting a check-up. My appt is on 31 Aug morning.

As for passport thing, I may go next Tue or Wed morning. Want to meet up?

Sherlyn, I can only bring JK for the trial sometime in Sep. I'd probably sign up for the Sat evening class if the trial is good as I don't have access to the car on weekdays. So even though I'm a SAHM, I have not been able to start any enrichment classes for JK on weekdays as I will always need to bring JC and the helper along and that's really a hassle without private transport. Have always admired Serenade for being able to do so much all on her own.

Moshi, I happened to see the cafe at Bishan Park featured in Zaobao the other day, among other interesting eateries in the heartland. Will be keen to check out the place.

Serena, I too used to feel that way abt some of the opportunities I have passed up before. But it's interesting how in life everything seems to happen for a certain reason which we may not know till later. For me, some of those opportunities came knocking a 2nd time which I felt I was in a better position to evaluate while others had been passed up perhaps for the better. As for enrichment for our kids, I still believe that it's important for them to have an interest. Once they enter formal schooling, they will have a lot of things forced down their throats whether they like it or not. So I don't really feel that anxious to give them the early start. Maybe I'm just a bit lazy...

ky,

Thanks for the info on gym. Ok, so now will gather Serenade, Worry mum, me and meilan for the trial.

Serenade, Weird that friday lesson only 1hr, since it is the last day of the week .. mon and wed till 9pm .. then reach home still need to bath and night snacks, a bit of rush there. boy wakes at 7 the next day leh. Good to hear that if girl can take instructions they also can join .. so maybe both kids do together in one class, save time
If take weekday class, 730, yr dh can drive u there ah ? driving there or take cab at that timing may hit jam at bukit timah rite ?

On milk, I have been giving my kids Mamil Gold but now that they have increased the prices by adding another of those "wonder" ingredients, I'm thinking of downgrading to its cheaper cousin - Dumex Dugro though no smaple is available. My cousin has 3 very intelligent kids who grew up on Nestle (other than breastmilk) so I'm quite sure the cheaper range will not have any detrimental effects. Hubby has been urging me to switch since JK turned 2 but somehow I've been quite brand loyal when it comes to milk.

Moshimoshi .. we go ECP. We do cycling, play with sand there but sometimes West Coast however WC got dengue now ..

We hv no fix area , really depends on carpark, toilet location, and shade. I only come across the sand castle area one time, so cant recall where it is now, but that time that area is pretty sunny.

We also do not hv fix time, but as early as possible (usually driver wakes up latest) and leaves by lunch time like 11 plus.. so maybe nex time when we are there, i give u an sms hehe

You work on weekends ?

Jan: the dentist is Dr Andrew Lui and tel no is 67331622 at Smile Inc , Forum.
For filling, I think he charges $70 if I am not wrong, please show them your Toysrus card to get discount.

ok, for the gym trial.

I am for a saturday evening trial (then class if trial is fine) since i am always trying to find "program" for saturday evening.

1st sept i hv a old classmates gathering, 8th sept i may not be in SG. So my next available saturday in sept is 15th Sept. Is 15th Sept ok for all ?

How abt serenade (fine with saturday trial?), worry mum and meilan ? Anyone else ?

Serena: My girl also drinks alot , sometimes she can drink 500mls of milk at one go when my maid tries to put her to sleep! Till now her milk intake per day is easily close to 1L, but we add in the fresh milk.

Moshi: yes will like to try the Bishan Park spa . Heard its quite good.
Have you tried the Andana spa at Paragon? I been there once and it's really good. But I heard recently they have changed to Helioasia, and the standard is not so great! otherwise we can organise a spa and chit-chatting session there!

Meilan, yes, same dental place, coz same person who recommend :>. I'm going tomorrow to get it done. remember I only have transport on Thu?

just a note on gym class, the girls and boys are split up, and on Sat, there's over 10 boys in B's group now. For a weekday class, the group size is smaller.

.ky.

Hi Meilan,
Huh? You mean ky, right? The Duck tour will be the second time I'm handling the kids all by myself. Crossing my fingers that everything will be fine :p Sherlyn is pretty good too. She alone brings her two kids to the zoo. I'm quite lucky that my husband is supportive of all the activities. He does all the ferrying work. Like you, I dare not really venture without a car. Starting my driving lesson this Sat. Hoping I'll get my driving license soon.

Hi Sheryln,
Won't be joining you gals for the Sat gym trial. Intending to go next Monday evening. If Cheryl gets accepted, we'll be withdrawing her from Bilingual Play. Yup, it'd be great for the siblings to monkey around with permission, hehe... The kids will most likely attend either Mon or Wed class. Like the idea of a smaller class. Ky, is Ben also attending the weekday class?

Hi Emily,
This thread is moving very fast. Faith is a pretty baby. Hang on for a while more and you will be able to enjoy the joy (and hardship) of being a SAHM

Milk intake, think my pocket burns the most. Both my kids are still taking the Enfa series, 2-3 times a day, abt 330ml (4 scoops) each feed. On top of that, they are also taking fresh milk every morning.

Hi 4ChongChong,
Still awake? Thank you. I hope so too.

How's this Friday Coffee? Will it be too rush for you? We can always have it next Wednesday.

ya.. dont feel like sleeping

yes, was going to tell you, may be too rush for me, unless I go to your place after i drop C at Berries? ie about 4.15? or do you want to go NTUC ? we can go marketing together?

Hi Serenade,
Saw how supportive your hubby is ... good for u. I don't wanna depend on mine too much though he's pretty supportive. Got my driving license in 1995 but only managed to start driving with auto car when B's almost 2. I don't think I can ever handle 2 kids on my own, so I'm pretty sure ML's not referring to me. And btw, I've seen how ML handle 2 kids in class ... I don't think I can do that.

B attends Sat evening class. He sleeps at 9+ and so unless it's for replacement, we try not to do on weekday, it'll be past 10 after shower when he hits the bed if we do that.

Hi Emily,
Perhaps u can consider getting a helper? That was why I've opted for 1. It does buy my family valuable time as I can then spend time with either one with more ease.

.ky.

Serenade and all other mummies: I used to ask my friend to order milk powder for me, she is working at Guardian, can get about 10 to 15 % discount, i am more than happy to do it for all of you if you keen, let me know the brand and the selling price at NTUC or cold storage then I can check out the price for you. Usually I order in bulk, and I think it's almost time for me to order again...

Any idea if there's still vaccancy in C's Berries class? Let's have it next Wed? I can never find what I need at the Bt Batok NTUC. Has it been expanded?

I will check out for you this Friday.

ok, next wed should be ok. This pm i was going to ask if you keen to join us for swimming.

Nowadays I go to Bukit Timah Plaza NTUC, recently renovated.

Hi ky,
Still awake too?

Supportive is one thing. He's been bugging me to go for my driving licence since we came back. Guess it'll be good cos then I'll be able to bring the kids to the various attractions during the daytime. Now, we have to arrange everything on weekends when it's most crowded.

You are too modest. Your blog documented all the trips that you did with your kids. Very impressive. I hope I can find the energy to do so. Was telling my hubby that I need to visit a Chinese Physician soon to "tiao li". Can recommend any?

Like Serenade, Kai is reading more than 2 bottles of fresh milk weekly, dh was complaining that he should take more solid. Think he is more into dairy products.

I must kudos to all of you again, all of you manage to keep your blogs updates, source for enrichment lessons and all. I think I am quite lazy these few weeks and have to find time to update blog soon.

Hope to join in the gym too when we are back in Singapore.

KY, the brain-training class sounds very interesting, but I think when we are back for holiday, it might be too short a time for Kai to join. Do share more about what Benedict learnt in the class.

Good morning all mommies,

Just a day only so many postings liao.

Hi sherlyn,
I am interested in the gym trial lesson too, do keep me in the loop.

Hi worrymum,
Fyi, I am a working mum wif one girl born on Nov 03. Btw, wat's "FTWM"? Any info i missed out do let me noe k..

Hi 4ChongChong,
Thanks for the offer too. My girl is having Enfakid now..

Hi Serenade,

I have one Chinese Physician to recommend you. She is quite famous and you need to make appointment b4 you go down..a lot of pple looking 4 her. Her name tan Bee Gawh. Tel: 62568774.

Hi Moshi2,
I oso bought Wo Hui Du (I can read) by Mdm Soh (5 sets). I like it very much and my girl enjoy reading it too..any idea when is the new series coming up...

Btw, any mummy start doing volunteer work since our kids born in yr 2003..need to register soon rite...

Knowing tat some of u have blog, may i have the access? I am quite new to tis might need to study a bit...Tks

Hi CMT
Looking at the number, the chinese physician seems to be near where i am, Bishan/Toa payoh? i need to fix my shoulders, always aching, too much online time.

Wo Hui Du, I am keen to get level 5, will call Mdm Soh one day, will keep u posted. We can buy together and ask for a discount ;)

Hi serena
How's the planning of ur Japan trip coming along? I just read Tuesday's travel feature on Osaka, Kobe and Kyoto, it has some good tips for first-time visitors, chk it out.

Enrichment, i give the excuse that i have no time during the weekends, actually the other reason is that i am lazy to take her to classes, it's already a rush to get to sch on time during the weekdays so during the weekends, we prefer to take it slow and enjoy outdoors, nature. To me, running in the park looking at plants and caterpillars is enriching in itself.

Hi sheryln
yep, moi work on sat morn and sun afternn.
hey, sounds like our timing at the beach will click, we go on sun mornings and leave 11ish too. Call me the night before and we can arrange to meet ;)

Green room cafe at Bishan Park, i am taking my mom there on sun, will do a food/ambience review after that
If pass with flying colours, then we can meet there ;) haha

CMT,
FTWM = Full time working mum, SAHM = Stay at home mum
BTW, still need to know where u putting up.. so as for me to complete the table..

JessChan,
Long time never see u in our thread.. how have u been??

Meilan,
R u memeber of Dumex?? can order each step in bulks too.

Sherlyn,
No problem.. for the sat gym. Will wait for ur arrangement. Thanks. BTW, think Serena also mentioned above she's interested.

Serenade,
Good luck to you.. and hope u can get your DL very soon.

Serena,
So you wanna consider teaching our kids for Piano at a discounted rates??

CMT
Just realised that u bought the full set, i am not sure if they have level 6. Btw, how do u go abt using the books? we didn;t follow the suggested method but read the stories randomly at our whim and fancy ;)