(2003) Calling all 2003 babies

Hi Moshi,
Let Mel chose bw these three TONS ! Ha..ha..and let me know which one she chose..

Must date all 3 first mah, then choose the most caring, loving one. More importantly, must be super nice to MIL, keke.

Thanks for welcome me and I think I need some time to read the archives in order to noe more abt you all...hehe...pls bear wif me

Hi Apricot,
Your twins are so cute...

Hi Moo87,
I am so blessed ! Just very glad they took daddy's genes..big eyes & high forehead...my 3 boys have mummy's nose and mouth..so very fair to them.
We are very excited to see how will they look like when they are bit older, esp Charlton looks so so much like Aston.

Hi Joanne, great to hear that Benny is back home. You take care of yourself too. I'll let u know of recommendations for specialist to consider when my friend responds. He is a pediatric ENT doctor now in Cananda.

Hi Serena, gym is http://www.juniorgymclub.com/. contact : Helene Lim (8121 0859). very friendly lady, contact is different from that in website. a few timeslot for Level 1 but I think most parents do not like the timings provided.

Serenade, someone also puts her gal in Berries at Bukit Batok. Cos it's a small class, the attn is good. I'm doing chinese with B at home myself ... need to cutback on costs and reduce time running around for enrichment.

moshi, don't think there's any loud sound effects and lights out in baby love ... but some younger kids did cry from the very start when a toy dinasaur came up ... but it's generally very good for our kids, esp those with siblings, and I find that B can appreciate and respond better now n give his own viewpoint. I love Cynthia Lee who is the baby girl though I've never paid much attn to her, but I think she's really a "cute baby"

.ky.

Hi chloe, I was checking with yamaha last year but didn't join as it's more about music appreciation. I was thinking of letting my kids be exposed to musical instruments. Anyway, weekend schedule is abit tight already so drop the idea. Not sure if it's for 2003 agegroup, parent's participation is also required.

Enjoy your holiday! Went melbourne for my honeymoon...xiang dang nian...!
kao_love.gif

Hi Ky & Serena,

I am sending my girl to the ballet class. May I noe the reason why both of you chose gymnastic class instead of ballet?

Tks

Hi Apricot,

Full hands up! You are very blessed with 3 handsome and charming boys.

Hmm, plan to have #4? heeeee...

Welcome, CMT! Read the previous posts at your leisure. Have you seen our info table in the previous pages? Mind sharing your info so that worrymom can update the table? Thanks! Have fun chatting here

Hi ky,
Most likely I'll be enrolling Brandon in Berries Bt Batok. You are doing Chinese with Ben at home? Hehe, must bug you on how you do it :p. I'm thinking of doing a bit on my own too. Any good chinese software to recommend? I have problem printing the chinese characters in large format.

Hi Chloe,
Enjoy your trip! Yeah, let's meet the Sat after your trip. But most likely, it'll be either my hubby or me meeting up with you/your hubby. One of us need to sit through the class with Cheryl. Alternatively, we can have lunch together after class if you guys have nothing on...

B is attending the JMC course at Yamaha Music School in Plaza Singapura now. He seems to enjoy it. So far, he's been exposed to rhythm (actions with the music), notes reading, singing, keyboard hands-on etc. We are intending to let him continue the next term and enrol him for 1-1 piano at the same time.

Have you checked out other music schools? Are you considering to enrol both Cs together at the same time? If so, you might want to consider Sempi. They have classes for young tods.

Hi Moshimoshi,

ya I hv been there .. wao u stay so far u also know got Song n Song here .. i seldom go cos usually the open late and when the kids nap, i m either here, or with the housework .. unless i need new clothes, then i go jalan jalan. I usually do not buy alot of clothes cos we seldom go out. Weekends are taken by beach activities, and the kids do not allow shoppings .. thus no nid so many nice clothes, shoes bags etc .. till I meet with you guys :) (that also explain y its the same for me) ..

Now with more outings .. maybe i shd go buy more hehehehe ..

Serenade .. y Yamaha in Plaza Sg? Is if diff Yamaha has diff course ? JMC .. i will remember, cos tmr morning will go chk out yamaha in clementi ...

Apricot,

Good for us that you had all boys .. cos there are so many girls in our group now .. so with additional 2 (handsome with big round eyes somemore), the girls need not fight liao :)

Hi Jan,
Brandon's class still needs parent involvement. The 1 hour class that he's attending requires the kids to be at least 4 years old. If you enquired last year, then the course recommended should be Music Wonderland. http://www.yamaha.com.sg/846.html . Have you checked other music schools like Cristofori, they do offer 1-1 coaching (piano/violin) for kids younger than 4 years old.

Hi Sheryln,
Reasonable parking rates? An excuse to eat out and shop? :p

I believe there's some differences b/w the branches. Another thing is the course materials might be different from school to school even they are all under Yamaha Music School.

Hi Apricot, I can imagine for your boys. When we look at pictures of my kids, do get confused who is who. Doesn't help that my gal is very botak and when she wears the korkor's handmedowns - 99% like brother. Only can tell v clearly when they are pics in their birthday suit...hhaaaaha!

Hi CMT, my kids attend gymnastics too. My gal is attending junior creative dance now and when she turn 5 next year, most likely will let her progress with Chinese dance instead of ballet. Though she prefers ballet becoz of the pretty dresses tutu skirt.
Will see how. I personally chose gymnastics as find it more active form of exercise and she's always swinging on the monkey bar at the playground as a toddler! In addition, my friends who are ballet trained from young feedback that their toes are 'tortured' and the muscles devpt are concentrated on the calves, legs. The poise and posture look nice but not as all rounded training as gymnastics. Just personal opinion, becoz I don't do either!

hi CMT, welcome! I have 2 BOYS, so no no ballet ... call me bias, but no ballet now, pls. And why gym? oh, the 2 boys have been climbing around like monkeys since young and I do promote them since physical play does enhance brain development, and also B, my #1 enjoys gym. He just told me he managed to do a forward turnover on the bar... I've to see to believe it coz he tends to over describe things.

a fren's boy is in Sempi. Sempi and Yamaha teach music differently. Sempi teaches CDE and Yamaha teaches do-re-mi. Some places in newly opened Yamaha classes in some estates are usually full very fast, eg CCK. the CC at my place here has a similar program to Yamaha's JMC; it's taught by Yamaha teacher and the kids use Yamaha Electone. Due to copyright, they can't call it JMC, hence the entire set of material is on its own. But like JMC, it's a 2-yr programme broken into 3-monthly terms and it's for 4-6 yr old and it's parent accompanied. Fees wise, it's roughly half of Yamaha JMC. It's recommended that the kids be 4 yr to start but u feel that your child is matured enough, they do take in, and some kids can be as young as 3yrs 9 mths when they start. The CC offer 1 free trial before the parents decide to enroll and an admin person from Yamaha would go through the details with the parents and parents can then decide if they wish to join. B was 4 yrs 2 mths old when he joined. My niece is a Nov 03 baby and was in the same trial but she was too sticky to the father and didn't wanna participate much, hence my brother didn't sign her up.... she's in ballet though.

Serenade, remember the chinese song I sang at the NDP party, that's from the chinese teacher that we used to go to. there's a free font that u can download and by selecting it, u get the "kai ti" font which shows the thicks and thins of the strokes. u can just use microsoft word and do not need special software. just have to turn on the chinese option on your laptop. I'll go dig out the link...

.ky.

Hi Jan
Nice to hear that someone's interested in Chinese Dance too. That's what i intend to enrol Melody in when she turns 5 or 6. Will probably try it out at the CC first to test her interest n aptitude.

Seems like almost every other girl does ballet, care to share the benefits of ballet dancing?

For music, i was told that it's better to learn the notes CDE, rather than listen and play (listen to the tune and repeat), which is very much the susuki method. Most musicians advocate the notes learning way.

The gym ky recommends looks professional, pity it's not located near where i am.
Gymnast is good yeah, helps to build confidence and when yr kid is at the playground, u don;t have to watch him like a hawk.

gym : I hear prime gym's good as well, in Toa Payoh, but very popular (ie might not have vacancies) http://www.primegym.com

moshi, just watch the kids from the edge of your eye ... if they fall, it's ok. just make sure they don't do the dangerous stunts. there are somethings that cannot be attempted in the playground and the child has to know that. B got adventurous some weeks ago n I think he's more careful these days *hopefully*

music : there's a lot of discussion with wat should be the method to learn, etc etc everywhere. yamaha believe at this age, kids have very sensitve listening and hence can play by learning. yamaha does teach note learning, but I find they focus a lot on enhancing the listening, for eg they'll sing mi-re-do-re-mi-mi-mi rather than mary have a little lamb ... suzuki method doesn't have note reading but requires the parent to learn at the same time (those I hear of suzuki violin) n that's the reason for a high dropout - the parents cannot take it

.ky.

Hi serenade, yep - think music wonderland was the program. As only have time for enrichment on weekends and schedule is very packed oredi, so just kiv the 'musical development' portion...heheee. Didn't consider 1-1 lessons as just wanted kids to have exposure and appreciation. If they are interested in any particular instrument, will look into it more. I feel that playing an instrument is a lifelong discipline and besides interest, there's also talent so didn't want to start them too young on a particular instrument.

Hi ky,
Waiting for your link, thanks!

For the Yamaha Music School at Plaza Singapura, they are very strict abt the age. So, the youngest that can join the class must be 4 years old when the class starts. Just called them up cos I want to enrol Cheryl too for some of their courses. Brought up the Nov 2003 kid case, and the answer is a definite no. The lady said the Nov 2003 child can only attend the Jan class next year. Alternatively, he can do the Music Wonderland now. I guess, different branches operate differently. If I'm not wrong, there's no free trial at Plaza Singapura too

Hi Jan,
Agree with your view. That's why we enrol B for Music Appreciation. Reason we are enroling him for 1-1 lessons is b'cos he shows interest in playing on the keyboard.

Hi ky, my kids are with primegym. My gal was there from gymtots, when she's 2+. I just checked for a friend there are vacancies for weekdays sessions but weekends are full. If you can join the weekdays classes, will be better becoz smaller classes too.

Hi serenade, is the 1-1 class for keyboard also with yamaha and has your child started the lessons? Do you have to invest in one at home, for practice? Wonder if I can put both my kids together in one session and see how's their progress.

Hi Jan,
Nope, Yamaha allows 1-1 session only if the kid is at least 6 years old. We are looking at some place nearby for the 1-1 sessions. We have a keyboard at home and he would practice on it now and then. Will invest on a piano when we are confident that he enjoys piano. Wanted to enrol my younger gal in Yamaha too. But she can't attend the courses until she's at least 3.

Thanks Jan

We brought Benny to Dr SL Cheah at Gleneagles this morning. He explained in details on the nature of his cyst. It's troublesome and we need to have lots of patience. Surgeons will never put him in high risk op to remove every single bit of cyst as it will hurt and destroys structures and "spare parts" in his neck which will affect his growth in future.

His advise, to continue on antibiotics given so that his neck can heal and cyst more settled before going for another exploration and excision of cyst. He will recover fully someday, just a matter of time.

hi Serenade: sorry forgot to tell you last night, Motivate also has music appreciation for younger group , I think you may be able to enrol your little princess C.

alternative, you can check out Mac ( if I am not wrong ) at Forum. Think they are good as well.

Joanne: happy to hear that. At least you can convince your FIL you are doing the best for Benny.

Apricot: your twins look so cute... esp with the big eyes!

Hi Serenade,

I think i like the second reason best
but too bad, even after i told dh that the course that is conducted in Yew Tee CC is cheaper by half as KY said, he still thinks that it is more "economical" (ie less travelling, time , parking cost etc) to do it in clementi yamaha.

Am thinking abt letting my gal joins too, she will be 3 in Oct .. but i think yamaha classes starts jan and july .. will chk it out tmr .. hope i dun drag, else they will never get to sign for any classes haha

Cmt, welcome to this thread. I did send my girl for ballet for 2 lessons but stop after that. I asked myself, what was the real reason that I send her for ballet. To encourage her to become a professional ballerina in future? Or simply just so she can stretch, bend and have fun and keep fit at the same time. So, I decided on gym instead.

Apricot, your twins looks like Aston. When will you be going back to work? I guess your mother-in-law will be helping you to handle the kids when you're at work.

Mothers, I think one of us here is a piano teacher! Should consult her instead. If I'm not wrong, could be Emily. I remember reading it somewhere?

Moshi dear, sorry miss your post earlier on. My girl got over her flu. Can I know what brand of milk powder you use for Mel? I'm thinking of switching brands. I'm using Pediasure now. Getting expensive especially now she drinks 400ml of milk every night!

wow the thread's so active today! now that i'm jobless and laptop-less, got to wait till this late hour to access dh's laptop.

hi cmt,
welcome welcome! you intend to read the previous posts?? it will take a long, long time
i attempted, but failed miserably hee hee

hi serenade,
yeah maybe we can do lunch
but my gals need their beauty sleep by 12+ otherwise they start to get cranky (cos they wake up at 6+). alternatively we can go for breakfast? typically we drop chloe off & head for holland v or botanic gardens to eat. ok, let's arrange again when i'm back.

hi sherlyn,
you are checking out the yamaha at clementi branch? let me know whether it's good. I am contemplating either plaza sing (so that i can shop & eat), clementi (quite nearby) or thomson...

hi apricot,
love your boys' eyes! my gals got big eyes too but they tend to get eyebags. hope it will not get worse when they grow up!

the pic of your babies hands is soooo nice.

hi moshi,
you are right, almost all girls i know are doing ballet. chloe's started since beg this year with crestar. benefits? dun know, but she enjoys it very much and i like to see her in a tutu hee hee.

hi ky,
hey, the program in the cc sounds good. can pm me the details please? TIA! my friend's children attended sempi but was not impressed, they have since switched back to yamaha. my sis's children attend cristofori, she mentioned that the teacher sometimes expects the parent to cover topics not taught in class. since i dont have musical background, thought it might make better sense to learn together with chloe.

hi joanne,
hope benny will fully recover real soon! both mummy & son are brave warriors.

hi jan,
you can always go for 2nd or more honeymoons

we plan to go mt buller to ski, cruise along great ocean road and spend a few days in melbourne city. doing last min packing (chloe's stuffs take up a full luggage!) & i havent book all the accomodation yet (we are flying off tomorrow), stressed! but this is good stress lah :p

ok "see" you all when i'm back next week!

I'm thinking of "Grow". My girl can't take dumex. She can't pass out when she take this brand. I'm not sure if "Grow" is good.

Hi Chloe,

sure do, will update you when i chk out tmr. But i guess, must really attend then will get a better picture, hope the facilities are not old.

Enjoy yr holiday. *OZ .. one of my fav!*

hi sherlyn,
yes yes one of my criteria is that the facilities must not be too old. they have just sent me the timeslot for the new term. perhaps can ask if they offer trial lesson? thanks!

btw, if you are thinking of updating your kiddo's passport photo, do so before 1 sep. there will be no more updating after that, ie have to apply for a new biometric passport if the child looks different from his/her photo.

we just went today, very very long queue. reached there at 3+ (last queue no is at 430pm), there were 60+ pax before us! waited till 5pm for our turn, afterwhich have to wait another hour for the passport with the new photo to be ready.

Hi Jan,
Your kids are very close in age. Yes, can enrol them together and I think they will have much fun learning together
How I wish I can do that for my 2 kids...