(2003) Calling all 2003 babies

Hi Meilan,
Oh yes, my helper is helping out those confinement tasks u mentioned. She is a very neat person and love to keep things very clean and neat, which impressed us so far. She look serious if she dun smile.

Day trip to Malaysia during the Sep term break?

Still on the topic on trips, just wondering if I can garner enough interest here to form a group for a day trip to Kukup or somewhere nearby during the Sep sch hols. Those organised by RC or CC are usually not child-friendly eg assembling at 6am, lots of shopping and arriving back past 10pm. A few years back, I organised one just for the family to Kukup and we still paid the normal fare as those by RC or CC but we were assigned an exclusive van and driver-cum-guide and we could alter the itinerary as we deemed fit.

If there is enough interest here, I will start to explore the possibility and costs. It would be fun to travel together and I could draw up an itinerary that is not too tiring. Eg, cover just a few key attractions, minimal shopping and to start later and end earlier.

Anyone interested?

Meilan: to be honest I was a bit disppointed with the room, may be only 3 stars standard! My friends said the room reminds them about NUS hostel life.. haha..

May be other club med will be better? initially we were considering Club Med Phuket or Bali but because we can only travel 4 days 3 nights, so had to choose the Bintan promotion.

The buffet has wide spread, and we don't have to worry about kids menu, which is really helpful, but the food standard is not very high. We avoided all seafood because they don't look very fresh, esp Sashimi is definitely a No- No!

Before we went on the trip, we were thinking to leave all the children to the MiniClub or the Petit Club, but after visiting the clubs and see how the staffs take care of the children, we were a but reluctant to throw all our kids under their care. I think for "ang-Moh" they are ok, but to us we think the standard is below our expectations.

I am not sure if any mummy been to Club Med before and if they had the same experience? Can share?

hi 4 chong chong,
how's the activities in club med? can charlene join in most of the activities?
i am hoping to get chloe into mgs, but i've no affiliation, so got to do PV and move house....

hi apricot,
looks like you have a good maid. how's your little ones? is gor gor having a fun time with them?

hi meilan,
i take my hat off your friend :p
actually i also have a keepsake box where i keep stuffs like hair from their first haircut, first drawings, clothes/shoes worn during first month etc...it will be part of their "jia(4) zhuang(1)" next time ha ha

wow all these talks about holiday are making me itching to go for one before i start on my new job

Hi 4chongchong,
Did you not enjoy the break, besides the room and food? Tried any water sports?
My sil been to Club Med Cherating, and full of praise. Went twice within 6mths, so I guess it must be fun.
Infact, I heard alot more abt Cherating rather than the rest, and Bali is a no-no.

hi serena,

you can also check out Hakone, which is near tokyo. my friend who stays in japan mentioned there are good Ryokans there.

4chongchon, I've been to Clubmed Bali. The food & activities were great. But the place was full of Ang Moh!! They are mostly French! Very snobbish. My husband was complaining to me that the Ang Moh are very racist! He doesn't want to go back that any more.

Sarah, I've really got problem uploading the photos from Sun & Moon that you have sent me. They were saved in Adobe Photoshot. However, I don't face any problem when my photos are saved in "my pictures". So, I've decided to contribute my own article to blog. Won't be doing the gathering photos. check out the blog!

Meilan, that sounds like an interesting idea. Won't mind to join you if it doesn't clash with my Japan trip! Btw, why kukup?

4chongchong, this will be the first trip without bringing my maid. So, I'm not sure if I could cope with my girl and shopping at the same time. Don't think can buy much! Sigh! I may end up bringing my maid again.

Chloe & Kristin mom, I'm going to start blogging soon! Very excited. Now that my girl is 4, shouldn't waste anymore time. They grow up real fast!! Btw, can the blog be saved in a CD? Incase, I need to stop blogging when she reached like 14 yrs old or something. What do people do when they feel like it's time to stop blogging? Am I asking a very silly question?

allo allo mommies
hope u had a good weekend, we finally got to do some outdoors after weeks of rain on sundays. went to our usual haunt, upper pierce reservoir, mel cycled and fished, daddy got her a personal rod, haha, but she was impatient so no catch to bring home.

hi meilan
ai yo, short trip. so very tempting, i really would love one in sep, but my hub will be overseas and i will have the car, so i am happy just going around Sin.
hey, how abt we hang out in Sentosa? one nite stay? anyone keen? i have a friend who might be able to book a room at staff rate.

hi chloe
mommies nite, catching up with sarah n serenade was great, dinner was tad salty though.u must join us the next round!

hi sarah
could u bring the 'fire' books on sat? thanks.

hi serenade
ray wants to go fishing on sat so it's just me and mel. Would need specific driving directions to get to ur place, i am coming from cte,pie jurong. appreciate if u could send a sms. also, i would need to refrigerate the cake, hope its convenient. arigato!

Hi Meilan ... keen on kukup but do provide more details when appropriate. K doesn't have a passport n I don't think I'll bring him. I share not dwell on the maid issue with u ... u know my viewpoint :>

btw, talkng abt superstituous, just after I posted the other day, K didn't wanna eat lunch. So I shall zip shut abt his eating habit for a while. Let's just say that I'm pleasantly surprised and happy with his appetite and eating for the past few days.

I believe more in creating memories rather than safekeeping them. My blog is a way of safekeep memories; I wanted to scrapbook some of it but realize it's a bigger effort. Would rather spend that effort on making the memories. :> oh, I do take lotsa and lotsa photos though, nothing unusual though

4ChongChong, do u know that Nanyang primary requires 80 hrs of PV... I vaguely know 1 who had done more than 100 hrs of it. btw, can u let me know the size of the turning plate in your oven? Just so I know how big the pizza would be (for this coming weekend).

foodedge gourmet : we went on Sat. Saw a long queue typically singaporean. But I don't see a fuss. I have a sweet tooth but find that the food offering is too sweet even for me. Would like to get the breads though but not prepared to queue for them. anyone can tell me wat's so fantastic abt the food there? maybe I didn't watch the show so I couldn't appreciate it

.ky.

hi serena,
i'm also trying to find out how to save the blog, what if livejournal decides to shut down one of these days??? anyone knows how to do a backup?

so far what i do is to periodically do a copy and paste onto word.doc - silly but safe

i took leave to attend racial harmony day at chloe's school this morning. i never knew such a day existed until now. the children put up song and dance and there was a fancy dress catwalk, kinda fun to watch.

hi chloe
racial harmony cele, how nice, mel's sch did not have one, and i have hoped for one, haha.

for blogs, i think if the host decides to shut down, it will offer alternatives for its members and help to transfer to the new site?
but saving it somewhere is better than relying entirely on the blog.

hi meilan
what can we do at kukup?
what dates are u looking at?

sarah and i are thinking of the hippo duck tour, details from sarah soon.

Hi Cloe,

Aston blend in well with this bros. He sayang them regularly and will help me pat pat them if they are crying softly. I feel so touched when I see this

hi moshi,
hee hee i had to crack my brains what to let chloe wear for racial harmony day cos the school encouraged cross cultural dressing. in the end got my dh to buy the singapore girl sarong kebaya

the school is also having an excursion this fri to visit temples and mosque in relation to the racial harmony day, i signed up too since i've not gone into a mosque or indian temple before.

yes, i'm for duck tour!

hi apricot,
aww Aston's so sweet, he must be looking forward to play with them

Hi Pris!
for K, we are more or less back to her eat-sleep-play-routine already but for B, it's much more difficult this time.
Apparently, he still misses his grandparents so much that he's wrecking havoc in summer camp. He attends summer camp for these two weeks. After that, we'll be on our own summer vacation. Like yours, school only begins in September.
Think I made a mistake of signing him up for summer camp at all this year since we've been travelling so much.
Sigh... every night he'll ask to fly back to Sg the next day. Any idea how I can get him less grandparents-sick?
The parting at the airport was tearless and the flight back with him was without hiccups. But this whole first week has been sooo long... and he's still doing his crying drama every night. Night visits, or whinning at night or waking up real early... He's fine with his runny nose now though. I guess it's not easy with the runny nose and jet lag and at the same time deal with separation from grandparents.
for k, her runny nose has become more of a runny nose plus cough. Also I discovered that she's growing a premolar. so eating wasn't easy for the first half of the week. doing a bit better now with porridge though... so after three weeks of a break, am really cooking a great deal now! back to SAHM full time with no opportunities to skive now, sigh!

Hi Serena!

Yeah... this time round, I think we are doing a lake/mountain road trip before we reach Tuscany, hoping to check in to some vineyard for a couple of nights' stay.
So it will be Frankfurt-Lucerne-Lake Como-Florence-Pisa-Milan-Basel-Frankfurt... Wondering how the kids can take such long drives this time round. Fingers crossed on the weather.

Blogging is fun but can get very addictive.
I've been thinking about doing a scrapbook with Bryan on our trips this year... but have yet to embark on the big project. Am hoping to get to see some samples first before I waste the expensive papers.

HI Meilan!

Wow... does your friend do it for others as a business too???

Impressive!!

Would love to join if we had been back. Sigh!
Count me in the next time.

Hi Apricot!

Awwww........ Aston's so sweet! He really is a wonderful big brother!

Wonder when my B will start looking out for K and not bully her and vice-versa... sigh!

Sarah: i guess besides food and the room, the other reason why I was not enjoying my trip is because i worry about my dad at home , and my little princess was having fever as well the first day!
I didn't join any water sport but my hubby did. Overall I find that quite crowded as well, considering this is not public holidays/ school holidays, can you imagine if we go during National day long weekend!

Serena: I know wat you mean, actually during our Club Med trip, a few mummies also said they regretted for not bringing at least one or two maids to help us to look after the kids, then at least we adults can have some fun!
My husband and i drive up to KL quite often, may be 3 or 4 times a year, and usually we will stay at KL Hilton executive room, and we usually will bring our maid so that she can look after C and two of us can have some nice romantic dinner.
So you may want to consider to bring your maid to Japan so that you can have some time to do shopping!

Ky: I have those oven toaster, will that help? I don't have those round bulky type but I think my friend may have one, need to check with her.

KY & Kristin's mom: as for PV, Iknow NY needs more hours, but I don't mind to do it if can get into the school. I was told by my friend who is a staff at NY, it's no gurantee lah... so still thinking if I should write in.
Kristin's mom: if we are going PV, most likely will be doing some health related thingy lah, like wat my friend suggested, they need people to do sick bay, so may be i will volunteer to look after the sick kids etc.

Hi I am back. Am down with serious flu and my kids are still having theirs too, with my gal fevering just now (gone after 1 dose of medication but am still monitoring) .. Not sure if you guys mind with 3 flu bugs in the function room haha, but i hope we recover on time, else i think i will give this gathering a miss (ooo sooo sad)

Been reading the posts since 930pm, since the kids and the daddy slept at 9 (boy refuse to nap in PM). The holiday chatting sure make me "gian" for some nearby one too. So I am for Meilan's suggestion and also for Moshimoshi one .. been wanting to let kids do a whole day sand play event. Even got a 2 (or 4, cant remember) men tent that has been collecting dust since day 1 that i bought.

Serena .. two places in half a yr span, and big, far places too .. envy envy .. esp these 2 places are the ones i like too .. not sure when will i able to visit them .. The recent HK trip already burned a hole in dh pocket .. even thou the air fares were claimed from mileage and hotel in causeway bay is more then half paid for.

Glad Apricot and Kristin's mom is settling down fine. Happy to see Meilan posting more often too. :)

ok .. time to catch up with the blogs .. how i wish i did something for the kids too :-(

To those having WMF or AMC or stainless steel pots ..

I have considered getting a set too, but the weight puts me off a little cos besides cooking, there is the washing to be done.

Also, wouldnt the food stick onto the pot ? Then hv to use alot of oil right? I am so used to non stick woks and pots, but am still toying with the idea of changing them to stainless steel for healthy reasons

Please help convert me hehehehehehe

Worry_mum,

You sure need to release the title and let me claim it :)

Btw, can i in anyway help to update the mothers/children data into our share blog ? The one not updated liao lor .. (unless it is updated in my absence this weekend cos i hv not check)

Wow, popular book fair with free shuttle bus .. can consider.
By the way, I borrowed a book titled "Big Egg" from the library some time back. I think it shd be considered a reader. It has very simple sentences and keeps repeating and my boy seem to enjoy it.

Can I ask, do we usually buy reader in sets or book by book ? Which "brand" of reader is better ? I have seen some that are quite wordy even if they say it is for level 1 or 0. This book that i mentioned just has sentences like "Hen has some eggs. Some are big and the rest are small."

I have seen "Dora" reader books in Times. Are there Maisy's or Thomas's ?

Please help. Want to help built their reading interest (even thou it is alittle late)

Day trip to M'sia

Date: TBC but will be Sep and preferably a weekday or Sat to avoid traffic jam.

Destination: (A)Kukup or (B)Desaru

Called up the agent I used before. Here are the details.

Estimated cost: (A) $50-$55 ; (B) from $60 depending on total pax

Itinerary (A) Kukup 9am - 8.30pm
- kelong & seafood lunch
- animal resort & small Buddhist shrine set up by Xie Shaoguang
- organic vegetable farm (can see long beans, lady's fingers etc)
- shopping and dinner

Itinerary (B) Desaru 8.30am - 10.30pm
- Ostrich farm
- seafood lunch with baby lobster
- Desaru fruit farm
- Seafood dinner
- Firefly boat tour (water will be very calm and safe for kids)

Actual cost depends on total no of pax and the assigned vehicles are as follows:
8-9pax - mini van
20-25 - mini bus
30 onwards - coach
* Adults and children are charged the same unless the child is expected to sit on laps during the journey and meals.

Other notes:
Final costs, itinerary and start/end time can be further discussed once we have a better idea of the confirmed pax. My preference is 20-25pax as frm my experience, the mini van was rather uncomfortable and the mini-bus should be nice and safe (for the kids) enough. We can open this up to our own friends or even relatives to make up the number.

Sep is a good timing for those hoping to stock up on cheaper mooncakes across the causeway. As for day of the week, weekdays are strongly recommended for obvious reasons while 2 and 9 Sep are fully booked.

Taking the above details into consideration, please re-indicate your interest here:

1) Meilan - 3A 2C

Sherlyn, looks like there is s strong flu bug going around as many people seem to be taking at least 2 weeks to recover this time. Please take care.

I'm also very sian today cos JK has been skipping his nap again. Now 4 days out of a week, he will not be able to get into a nap and as a result, JC is also affected. We tried to put both to bed earlier but being over-tired, they started a crying contest for 45mins and ended up sleeping even later than usual. If JK continues to show signs of rejecting sleep, should I give in or press on? I think my helper feels really sorry for me cos I seem more occupied than her all day compared to her previous employer who is my friend who used to wake up at 9am and took 2 naps a day as her children were willing to stick with the helper. Tong2 ren2 bu4 tong2 ming4!

By the way, I also have a tent (coleman one some more, bought at $79.90 after discount!) that's become a white elephant. Now I feel so stupid seeing the tents all so cheap.

Apricot, good to know Aston is taking it well. JK used to be so sweet to JC too, until she grew older and they started to fight over toys, attention etc. But overall, JC adores him and gives in most of the time while JK now treats her like dirt. Sigh! The only time he misses her is when she is out of sight.

Anyone going to watch the play "Baby Love"? I plan to go on 21 Aug, another of JK's many off days in Aug. ky, when are you going?

Like to seek advice from those with girls. How do you toilet train girls? Poo or pee first? I think boys are easier, can use a cup to follow them everywhere. I'm not ready to toilet-train JC whom I feel is still very young at 20 months but she has been pulling off her diapers and indicating an interest to sit on the toilet seat or worse, stand at the toilet bowl and attempt to urinate like JK! Yet when I put her, there's nothing and next thing you know, she would pass urine on the floor!

One other question to those who have successfully toilet trained their kids off night diapers. I have been training JK for months without a night diaper and waking up 2 or 3 times a night to catch his urine but there are still wet incidents every week. I can't do away with the last milk feed as that is his cue to bed time but can't believe he just has sOOOO much urine. I do put an incontinence sheet underneath his bum but the problem is he tosses and turns a lot. Last night, he was on JC's mattress with his bum right next to JC's head (JC ends up on the floor as usual), and he's so wet that it seeps right through JC's mattress to the floor!!! Should I put the diaper back?

Meilan,

ya, that flu bug has been with my kids since last week and it shows no sign of retreating yet.

For me, i will give in depending on circumstances. If he doesnt want to nap after 30 mins, and if i feel that he is not tired (like he has good naps/sleeps for previous days), i will give in. Will push him to sleep at 9 or 9 plus latest since he has school and has to wake at 7am the next day. If I know he is tired (like no nap and late night the previous night) I will force/threaten/coax him to sleep.

Now that he is much older, i really cant force much as it will make my blood boil to think that i waste the time forcing him to sleep. Anyway, if he skips naps, he usually would be tired by 9 or 9 plus and he just sleeps within 15 minutes.

Lucky for me, my girl will nap/sleep when she is tired even thou my boy is not sleeping/napping. I just hv to make sure my boy lies down quietly while i m trying to pat my girl to sleep, after she sleeps/nap then i will focus on forcing him to nap/sleep.

My tent also coleman, bought last yr, cant rem how much, but really wish to make use of it since i coax dh into buying hahaha.

I want to go for the play too .. besides meilan and ky, who else gog ? I have not bought the ticket yet, wonder if it is too late. my boy only off on the day after national day and i m planning to bring him to zoo since my membership ends this aug. Wouldnt want to renew just for the tram.nex yr also no chance to go weekday (where tram is free)

Is it free seating? Is the threater big or small ? What number is a better seat ? if the seats are no good now, then i will give it a miss.

Meilan,

My mother and me toilet train my gal since she is pretty young, both poo and pee. We just bring her at regular timings, like after meals for poo, and for pee, some time after a drink.

When she is older, we use cloth diaper. When she pee she will just stand there and wouldnt move, so we tell her next time pee pee tell us, and after some time (not sure how long) she can indicate liao (with accidents still). For pooing, we still do after meals (but she still go poo-less for some days).

For night traning, i did not really train my boy. His diaper is dry for a few months (with little accidents) before we took him off diapers. Was told that dry diaper means he is ready, so we give a try and we use a water proof sheet under his bed. Currently he will wake up if he need to pee (did not train him, not sure why he can wake up too) with occasional accidents when he is very tired.

We did cut down on fluid at night (they not keen on water anyway) accept the milk with reason same as yours, but both my kids are not so much into milk at night feed now (thus need the flavoured straws).

Serena...I believe you with the blog. I just did not have time to sign in for the last few days.

K's mum...yep, blogging is addictive but I hardly have time to do it since exams is on 10 Aug so during free time I am studying.

1) Meilan - 3A 2C
2) ky - 1A 1C (I prefer Itinerary (B) Desaru)

- Where to meet btw?
- For those who bring maids along M'sia (ML, I believe u r intending to), do they need visa?

4 Aug ND party
Who has the total # of pax attending?

4ChongChong, oven toaster cannot do. It needs to be a proper oven (multifunction type also can). Will be baking from raw dough onwards. Hubby not willing to bring ours over.

Napping: wat I used to do is take a pile of stuff I'm doing and sit there while B lies in his bed. And I'll tell him to close his eyes and I don't want to see him opening his eyes and I'll do my stuff. The stuff are pretty boring stuff like reading so after a while of looking at me, he'll fall asleep. ML, A has a good life ... 2 naps a day?!?!?!

BabyLove, my date is 11 Aug... most likely daddy going with B.

.ky.

Ky, Filipino maids do not need visa to enter Malaysia. Indonesia maids not too sure, never have one before.

Meilan, I think night training needs a little more patience and also whether your child is ready to start with. What Sherlyn says is true, if diaper is quite dry is an indication that the child is ready. Even say so, there might still be accident here and there which I think is pretty normal.

Moshi, you can use the strawberries for decoration.

Meilan, our tent has also become white elephant. But we got it free using our petrol points to change for it. Still not so bad!

Ky, mayb you can check with Serenade whether she has an oven in her home. Bake it there before bringing it to the clubhouse?? Or you bake it first before bringing it over? Ha... just a suggestion.

Pris, know you are busy. Reply me when you are taking a break from your studies. My question, different cakes receipes requires different kind of ingredients and flour type. What happens when you use only 120g of self-raising flour and you're left with 500g? Another receipe would call for cake flour and you're left the remaining again. How do you deal with this problem? Find receipes using only the type of flour you have in stock?

hi meilan,

opps i am a lazy mom when it comes to toilet training.

only started to train chloe when she was about 2.5 yr old. start by putting a potty in a conspicuous place (eg in the living room near where she is playing her toys) and remind her to pee every 15min. after a few days she was able to go on her own. after a few weeks we then shifted the potty to the toilet. she hardly has "accidents", perhaps she was old enough by then.

she's still on diaper at night cos she cant do without her milk and i am too tired (& lazy) to wake up to bring her to the toilet.

Hi Ky,
Re pizza. How abt using ready-made pizza base, pitta bread? The oven toaster or microwave should work. Not sure if flaky pastry can be done using above appliances. Just a thought.

Hi Serena, Serenade posted before that she doesn't have one. I have a prior engagement before that, so don't think can bake before coming ... will be coming really late if I bake at home. Anyway, the entire idea is for the kids to decorate.

Sarah, hubby will be the one preparing all these. Will ask him if mind getting ready-made pizza base... or mind if we do something else then if this doesn't work out?

.ky.

Duck tours
adult: $33
child: $17 (4-12yrs old)
FOC for kids up to 3yrs

It's a 60mins tour ride. We can meet in the morning then head for brunch/lunch at Suntec, Marina Sq. Oh yes, we can charter the whole duck for $550 if we can get 31pax (max duckies allowed) which works out to be abt $18 per pax. Any one keen?