(2003) Calling all 2003 babies

Moshi, sarah, kristin mom,
remember I told you girls about my year end trip. we decided to break up into 2 trips. We are going Japan in Sept and America in Dec.

One question, which part of Japan should I go?

kao_welcome2.gif
jpooh... included u in our data..

<table border=1><tr><td>FORUM NICK</TD><TD>Name / Gender</TD><TD>Mth of Birth</TD><TD>Name / Gender</TD><TD>Mth of Birth</TD><TD>Name / Gender</TD><TD>Home Sweet Home</TD><TD>Status </TD></TR><TR><TD>jpooh</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Jerald</font></TD><TD>Yr1999</TD><TD><font color="ff6000">Rachel</font></TD><TD>2003</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dover</TD><TD>PTWM </TD></TR><TR><TD>hippo2002</TD><TD><font color="ff6000">G (name?)</font></TD><TD>Jan.02</TD><TD><font color="ff6000">G (name?)</font></TD><TD>Feb.04</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Bedok</TD><TD>SAHM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ky</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Benedict</font></TD><TD>Feb.03</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Keith</font></TD><TD>Jan.06</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>CCK</TD><TD>SAHM </TD></TR><TR><TD>KeiKei</TD><TD><font color="ff6000">Rachel</font></TD><TD>Mar.03</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Sengkang</TD><TD>FTWM </TD></TR><TR><TD>4ChongChong</TD><TD><font color="ff6000">Charlene Chong</font></TD><TD>Mar.03</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Hillview</TD><TD>PTWM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Amum (Apricot)</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Aston</font></TD><TD>Apr.03</TD><TD> <font color="0000ff">Charlton & Ryan (Twins)</font></TD><TD>14.07.07</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Punggol</TD><TD>FTWM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Irene</TD><TD><font color="ff6000">G (name?)</font></TD><TD>Apr.03</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Bryan</font></TD><TD>May.05</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>SAHM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Joanne (jojoscs)</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Benny</font></TD><TD>Apr.03</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Bryan</font></TD><TD>Jan.05</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Bt Gombak</TD><TD>SAHM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sherlyn</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Tew Jing An</font></TD><TD>Apr.03</TD><TD><font color="ff6000">Tew YuXin (G)</font></TD><TD>Oct.04</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Clementi</TD><TD>SAHM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jan (icechoc)</TD><TD><font color="ff6000">Sonia</font></TD><TD>Apr.03</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Bt Batok</TD><TD>FTWM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sarah (densar)</TD><TD><font color="ff6000">Hannah</font></TD><TD>May.03</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Changi</TD><TD>SAHM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Serenade</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Brandon</font></TD><TD>May.03</TD><TD><font color="ff6000">Cheryl</font></TD><TD>Jun.05</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Hillview</TD><TD>SAHM </TD></TR><TR><TD>MH</TD><TD>Wei Shuen</TD><TD>Jun.03</TD><TD>Li Shuen</TD><TD>Jan.06</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Jurong East</TD><TD>FTWM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Serena Tay (aiken)</TD><TD><font color="ff6000">Adabel</font></TD><TD>13.06.03</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Bt Panjang</TD><TD>FTWM </TD></TR><TR><TD>alicia see may chan </TD><TD><font color="ff6000">G (name?)</font></TD><TD>Jun.03</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">B (Name?)</font></TD><TD>Oct.04</TD><TD>B (name?) Aug 06</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>BlurPooh</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Shawn</font></TD><TD>Jul.03</TD><TD><font color="ff6000">Shanon</font></TD><TD>May.05</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Joo Seng</TD><TD>FTWM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Emily</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">B (Name?)</font></TD><TD>Aug.03</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">B (Name?)</font></TD><TD>Mar.05</TD><TD>Faith (14.05.07)</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>FTWM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Kristins_mom</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Bryan</font></TD><TD>Aug.03</TD><TD><font color="ff6000">Kristin</font></TD><TD>Aug.05</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Tiong Bahru (Germany)</TD><TD>SAHM </TD></TR><TR><TD>hook</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">B (Name?)</font></TD><TD>Aug.03</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">B (Name?)</font></TD><TD>Mar.07</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>??</TD><TD>SAHM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Moshimoshi</TD><TD><font color="ff6000">Melody</font></TD><TD>Sep.03</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Ang Mo Kio</TD><TD>SAHM </TD></TR><TR><TD>WorryMum</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Benjamin</font></TD><TD>26.09.03</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Bt Gombak</TD><TD>FTWM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ku</TD><TD><font color="ff6000">G (name?)</font></TD><TD>Sep.03</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">B (Name?)</font></TD><TD>EDD May07</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>FTWM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Priscilla Neo</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Kai En</font></TD><TD>Sep.03</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Toh Guan (Vancouver)</TD><TD>SAHM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Yasmine</TD><TD><font color="ff6000">Zo En</font></TD><TD>Sep.03</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Zo Ze (B)</font></TD><TD>Sep.06</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>? </TD></TR><TR><TD>Chloe2003</TD><TD><font color="ff6000">chloe</font></TD><TD>15.09.03</TD><TD><font color="ff6000">charlene</font></TD><TD>Mar.06</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>CCK</TD><TD>FTWM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Meilan</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Jay Kai</font></TD><TD>Oct.03</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Jay Cin</font></TD><TD>Dec.05</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Sengkang</TD><TD>SAHM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Pooh</TD><TD><font color="ff6000">G (name?)</font></TD><TD>Oct.03</TD><TD><font color="ff6000">G (name?)</font></TD><TD>May.06</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Joo Seng</TD><TD>SAHM </TD></TR><TR><TD>moo87</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Zavier</font></TD><TD>Oct.03</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Hougang</TD><TD>FTWM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Minnie (minnie_gal16)</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Joshua</font></TD><TD>Oct.03</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>East</TD><TD>?? </TD></TR><TR><TD>sahm888</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">B (Name?)</font></TD><TD>Oct.03</TD><TD><font color="ff6000">G (name?)</font></TD><TD>Jul.05</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Sembawang</TD><TD>FTWM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sunflower</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Cedric</font></TD><TD>Nov.03</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Denzyl</font></TD><TD>Dec.05</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Punggol</TD><TD>SAHM </TD></TR><TR><TD>miracle_bebe</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">B (Name?)</font></TD><TD>Nov.03</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Henderson Crescent</TD><TD>SAHM </TD></TR><TR><TD>ling23 (lynn_eer023)</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Nathanael Chua</font></TD><TD>05.11.03</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Elisha Chua</font></TD><TD>30.05.06</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Hougang</TD><TD>SAHM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Shannen Lim</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Howie</font></TD><TD>09.11.03</TD><TD><font color="ff6000">Reanne</font></TD><TD>19.06.07</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Bt Batok</TD><TD>PTWM </TD></TR><TR><TD>JessChan</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">B (Name?)</font></TD><TD>Dec.03</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">B (Name?)</font></TD><TD>Yr '2000</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>??</TD><TD>FTWM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sj Ong</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Z (B)</font></TD><TD>Dec.03</TD><TD><font color="ff6000">L (G)</font></TD><TD>Dec.01</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>East</TD><TD>SAHM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Vicval</TD><TD><font color="ff6000">Victoria</font></TD><TD>25.12.03</TD><TD><font color="ff6000">Vallerose</font></TD><TD>01.05.05</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Sengkang</TD><TD>FTWM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Hollie Go</TD><TD><font color="ff6000">G (name?)</font></TD><TD>Yr 2003</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">B (Name?)</font></TD><TD>Yr 2006</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>???</TD><TD>??</td></tr></table>

Hi Serena,
Wow, you are going to Japan and America !! I love these two places alot. Never been to Japan but heard alot and seen alot of pics and make me wanted to go next time. You know brands ? Wonder if you know Burberry Blue Label ? Is only avail for sale in JAPAN only and the prices are cheaper in Spore. Have fun shopping there. America's factory outlets will simply burn your pockets as their prices are much cheaper than Spore too !!!

Hi Serena,
Just curious. Do you bring your maid along for your these 2 trips ? Do you pay for her or she pay for herself if she wan go ? Else, who will she be with while your whole family is away ? Need to know cos we may plan for a trip next yrend too.

hi serena,
wow, nice choices for holiday! are you bringing your girl along to japan? we went tokyo in oct last year, disneyland is a must go for kids. agree with apricot, burberry blue label are good buys (i lug home 4 bags ha ha)...

serena dear
with adabel, go tokyo disneyland or osaka's universal studio or DisneySea, i enjoyed disneyland tremendously! went during winter, and the whole place was adorned with x'mas decor, it makes the feeling extra magical!
ah, the japanese, i just admire their civic consciousness, they are polite to the extreme, a stark contrast to the general public here.
Hey, good idea to break up the trip this way, there's so much to cover in these 2 very different countries, what can i say? u are one lucky woman! Start planning now!

serena
just realised that u will be visiting the 2 countries which offer both disneyland and universal studio!my personal preference, tokyo's disneyland and hollywood universal studio. there's also knotts berry farm (think it's still operating), u see Snoopy and gang there. for thrill rides, Six Flags magic mountain, ok, i better stop, i can go on and on when it comes to holidaying.

Hi chloe, hub and I are thinking of tokyo next yr. Besides disneyland, any other places for kids? Am considering free and easy but worried abt getting around on our own.

Serena ... u r so lucky, pls pass some of that luck here. I'm still waiting to go to Japan since goodness know years ago... which part of US r u planning to go to. oh, it'll be so fun to go with a 4-yr old. I need to wait 2 more yrs *yawn*

ya, it's a bit too early to PV. try to see if can. now i have more time or 2 yrs later, I'm not sure how to do it if I've to bring K along ... btw, on the hyatt 50% discount, wat card is that?

Chloe, just eyeing SVPS. Not top school but hoping to get a better chance coz I'm outside 1 km. Anyway, I'm hoping to know the school better that way too. The Openhouse was really an eye-opener for; maybe I'm too suaku

jPooh, would we see u on 4 Aug?? come come. we'll have fun (if I turn up :>).

btw, does anyone know on the giro application for the use of baby bonus. With the inclusion of medical instituion, do we submit the GIRO application forms in advance in anticipation that we may need their service in future? For eg, submit for KKH though we have no current use now but we may if need? Anyone's done this already?

and thanks to everyone who's asked abt K ... I'm too superstituous to share too much now, but I'm not as stressed as before.

.ky.

Hi mummies, since u all talk abt pv, if u are looking at the popular schools, better go check out and apply to be the pv now. When I started calling the schools for my ds beginning of this year, most are already closed for child born in 2002 and are taking in applns for those born in 2003. Thought I was early but door closed!!

jan
my hub and i went ard on our own, the subway system is complicated and even the locals could not direct us well, probably because we don;t speak Jap. good thing is the katakana(jap characters) helped a lot since they resemble the chinese characters and have similar meaning. Taxis are expensive. So take the subway but avoid the peak hours, because they r 'door guards' stationed along the tracks to push passengers in so that the doors can close properly.

food wise, try the small local ramen eateries, piping hot ramen at affordable prices or wait for 2 hours before the supermart closing time to grab bento sets at half price.
oh yes, please eat the ice cream too! heavenly smooth!

i love japan, my retirement haven, hokkaido to be specific, heehee

sarah n serenade n mommies who are considering to join us,

shall we dine at Tonkichi? Jap pl which serves great Katsu (no one's having sore throat right?)
if ok, i will make reservation.

Ngee Ann City
Tower A Level 4
7pm?

hi jan,
we spent 3 days in disneyland & disneysea, also checked out Shinagawa Aquarium and Odaiba area (toyota car showroom, amusement park, giant sky wheels). you must check out their toy shops & supermarkets, the food and toys are just soooo pretty.
it's not difficult to move around free & easy. people are very helpful & polite generally. the trains can take you to most places.

hi ky,
SVPS is pretty good according to my friend's sis who is a teacher there. or you can consider de la salle too? you can look at the vacancies & balleting info in this year's registration as a gauge. saw your blog on the open house, it is an eye opener for me too

yo ky, serenade, cindy
i get this mesg when i tried to access ur blog:

"It doesn't look like you have been invited to read this blog. If you think this is a mistake, you might want to contact the blog author and request an invitation. "

Can u invite me?

Hi moshimoshi,

Okie, Tonkichi's perfect for me

Did you receive an email invite from mygems or mycosyabode? I have just sent an invite to your yahoo account. Let me know if you still encounter problem.

Hi Serena,

Which travel ageny or tour package are you considering? We are thinking of a Japan getaway this Dec too. Hubby is keen but I'm still hesitating. Not sure if I can shop in peace with the two around...

What is my mum unhappy with the maid abt? I also do not know the trigger points but I guess first impressions last. She was talking on the handphone for a long time while ironing when my mum was here the first time. My mum is also unhappy that we pay a higher-than-usual salary and offer her every Sun off. We felt it was worth getting an experienced and smart helper and saved ourselves from the pains of training a newly arrived maid. Though smartness also comes with things like she will always take care of her own welfare eg she helped herself to the fresh loaf of bread and gave me the left-over from the old loaf which I discovered by accident or serve us the breast meat and leave the thigh for herself. These things I don't even tell my mum and actually I also don't know how to handle this. So I just try not to buy breast meat as I find it hard to tell her to eat the things we don't want.

I know I should have just acknowledged my mum's concerns but I'm very bad at pretending. Some things don't matter much to me like letting the helper eat the same food as us as I feel this is part of making her feel appreciated and then doing her best for us. As for days off, we don't really mind as it gives all of us some privacy and a break. And I appreciate that she takes a lot of initiative and picks things up fast so I hardly need to train her but overall I do not trust her well enough to leave my kids alone with her yet. Afterall, the maid option is a short-term solution for me and I keep telling myself the kids will grow up and I will be able to manage better then. That's what I keep telling my mum.

Apricot, how is your helper? I hope you are coping well with things.

ky, I sense good news abt K since you say you are too superstitious

Re baby bonus, I've just applied at our family clinic. This will take at least 1 month so I'm still paying cash in the meantime. Not sure if this applies across the board but the clinic told me that once approved, I'll have to park a sum of money with them for use and if this runs out during one of the visits, I will need to top up in cash cos the additional top-up from baby bonus takes time to process. If this applies to all the clinics, I don't think you would want to park money at a place you don't even know for sure you will be using.

Serena, wow 2 long trips in a year sounds really extravagant. I doubt I will have that luxury for years to come unless I return to full-time work.

Anyway, for Japan, I used to check out the less touristy places and actually avoid Tokyo at all costs. Which part are you planning to go and is it free and easy or joining a tour? Unless you do your research really well, a tour package is actually more value for money.

Either way, be sure to dip into an onsen (hot spring). Sep is a down season if I remember correctly so accommodation prices could be quite attractive.

Moshi, you are really well-informed. How did you find out abt the supermarket mark-down near closing time? When I was living there, I used to wait around like a cheapskate for the staff to stick those discount stickers before picking up my groceries :p

Rachel till now still has the same problem. FIL just mentioned she looked better and the following day she started puking for the whole week there went the little fat cheeks.... how not to be superstitious. She is already 4, just wondering when will this go away?

ky, 4 Aug still not sure lah cos got problem with hubby...

Hi chloe and moshi, thks for the tips! Have a few mths to do research if we are going f&e. It's different when travelling with kids in tow so has to be mindful abt where to go, what to do BUT not too much and stress everyone up.

Hi serena, plse let me know abt your trip and any gd recommendations too!

Hi Meilan,
My helper so far is ok, she also takes the initiative to pack my things and to my shock when I return from hosp, my things in the house are all rearranged. I am quite pissed off and could not care much cos I need to nurse my health and wound. These days when I got better, I start to seach my things and get her to show where she keeps. She also hang clothes anyhow she wans and I show her so she is learning. We have decided to have my hubby to tell her off if she had done things in the wrong way. I cannot tell her off cos I cannot stand to see helper's innocent look when they have done things wrong already.

hi jan
you are right, dont try to do too much cos kids get cranky when tired. my girl cant do without naps, so we chose to stay near disneyland so that we can return to the hotel for a good rest in the afternoon and then stay up late to watch fireworks. yeah must do research if f&e, if possible grab some maps before you go. have fun planning

Hi Moshi,
FInally I can turn on PC! Keep having problems shutting down properly. And once that happens, I have to power off the plug and will not be able to switch on for hours.

Hi Serena,
Wow, envy...Went Tokyo last May, free & easy. We stopover in Bangkok, and the airfare was cheaper too. Disneyland is for H, while daddy, mommy prefer the historical,cultural stuffs. Forget about Yasukuni shrine, not many English translations. But we just had to see what's the big hoo-haa
The fish market is a must-go, and of course, Harajuku.
Oh yes, like Moshi said, taxis are really expensive. Take the coach from airport to your hotel, its cheaper.
Think I still have the subway map. Let me search for it and make a copy for you.

To all mummies asking about my trip, first of all I don't have any idea where to go in Tokyo and my hubby wants to go on our own! But will take note of things you mummies mentioned. I know the things in Japan are costly so I may be a cheapskate too going near closing time of supermarkets. My hubby doesn't like to travel with tour package. Early morning call will probably make my girl cranky. I'm not worried about US because I've been there before. We will rent a car in US. In Japan, it may be a little tricky.

Meilan, about the hot spring. So embarrassing isn't it!!?? Naked leh!! My figure is like bamboo, you know?!!

Moshi, sarah, serenade. For mommies night out, be sure to check out toys sale at Taka events hall!!

Worry mum, don't think will have the time to go Popular sale. Also, I don't like crowds and long snaking queues! And don't envy me, you can go to Japan & America too. Just take leave lah!

Apricot, I won't be bringing my maid for these 2 trips. I used to bring my old filipino maid for trips to Australia, Hongkong, Thailand. We paid for her expenses including one room to herself. Gave her some pocket money to spend as well. She was there to help look after my kid so that hubby and me can sneak out at night. It will be good if your maid goes with you because she can help you with the luggage as well, besides taking care of your children.

Sarah, the map would be a great help!! Did you travel by TG, surprisely my hubby ask me want to stop over at Bangkok too! Maybe we are taking the route.

Serena...we were outstationed in Japan from Sep 2006 to Jan 2007 last yr. If you are in Tokyo alone, there is also Thomas the Tank Engine Park, Hello Kitty Park (Sanrios Park - not sure about the spelling), lots of galleries, musemums, a couple of very famous shrines and temples, also do a nice trip to Mt Fuji if condition permit.

We were stationed in Kyoto but make the trip to Tokyo via the Shinkansen for DS's sake since he did not have the grand birthday party that he supposed to have in Singapore as my fil was in and out of hospital due to strokes. DS had lots of fun in Disneyland and DisneySea.

Osaka has the Universal Studios, according to my nephews and niece who went this year after see ds's photos, they preferred the Universal Studio as it is not as crowded as Disneyland & DisneySea, for early ticketing, you can get from their disneyland japan website so that you do not need to queue up to buy tickets. And also there is a Fast-ticket for both Disneyland & DisneySea since you do not need to queue for the ride but return at the time indicated on the fast-ticket for the ride with no much waiting time like maybe 5 minutes instead of queuing for hours for a ride.

The train is pretty easy to use in Japan - either JR or Kinsetsu, if you know how many days you will be there, you can get the unlimited pass for the couples of day from your airlines agent before you leave which is cheaper than when you buy over there.

Meilan...if you are happy with your maid and knowing that it is a short-term help till your kids are older than just don't bother about your family or relative nagging.

In fact, when I was alone in Singapore doing housework and taking care of ds, my mil insisted that I get a p/t maid to help me once a week but when I got one, she came down to oversee her work and critisize about every single thing that the maid did which was so stressful to me, that I told her off instead that I was coping pretty well without the maid and not for her continuous nagging, we will still do well without the maid. And I told her that I am pretty happy with what the p/t maid can accomplish in the 4-5 hours at my place which I am playing $10 per hours which I got her breakfast and lunch as well since I prepared meals for Kai and myself. I even told her that if I would not be able to go on my knees to mop the house, I do not expect my helper to do it and that I will only demand her to mop it twice even though I am using a biogradable cleaner for my whole place and it is definitely tiring to go on knee doing a two-storey manisonsette.

And over here, I do not have a maid but as Kai grows, I have been training him to clean up the house, clean up his mess and he has been helping around the house like vacuuming, laundry, baking, etc.

Chloe, yep, Kai was borned on that day and he was one month premature. However, he was pretty big and my gynae thought I was working too hard in school which cause the early arrival since I was still in meeting and on course through the holiday. I delivered in Mt E.

He will probably have a birthday party in school and another one with some of his playmates in our neighbourhood. He will probably think and about and decide.

Last year, due to fil in and out of hospital, we cancel his birthday party in MacDonald (King Albert Park) which we have booked when we were in Vancouver. And he has just two simple celebration, one in my in-laws and one with my family. My bro brought him to the waterpark at Downtown East (NTUC chalets).

Wow... mommies... very happening here... too happening for me to even catch up... what a read after two days.

dh took 1.5 days of leave and had a peek into what my days are like... and he concluded... what that's it ah! Morning wake up drop one kid off and come home hang around another kid, run some errands, rush home do lunch feed kid and then rush off pick up other kid from school again, then rush home, shower both put them to nap, then sneak some time off at the computer (he was trying to sell off something on ebay here), then it's dinner time, cook dinner, feed kids, play with kids, bedtime routine, put kids to sleep... wow... leave gone liao!!!

And I told him, he didn't even have to cook today! Yeah... sad story of my life, but that's what my day looks like.

so three weeks back in Sg with all grandparents chipping in to help, even if it means to spoil the kids, I just took it all. A break from my daily routine is also good...

Thanks, Sarah!

You mean that was Season 7 of CSI LV I was watching in Sg? Not Season 6?

Will check out the sites soon.

I wonder if back/shoulders replacement is available... ouch, ouch + time of the month, really not very nice! I'm sure you know what I mean. Sigh!

Hi Serenade!

Actually, I, too, got my WMF's in Sg. From Taka actually. Great deal, but can't remember exact price now, some couple of years back already.

Sarah,
expensive pots but I reckon i don't always buy pots. And they really last.

hi serena!

you are one lucky woman!!!
Errmm... have not been to either countries to comment. But if you want recommendations for Europe next year, I can share with you

We are thinking of driving down to Tuscany during the National Day week. Somewhere I've always wanted to be when I was a student here, but could never do it without a car. AS a student, E M Forster painted a lovely picture of Florence in my mind which I cannot forget. But we gotta see if we can still book accomodations for our long road trip.

K's mum...back to routine in Germany. Hope your kids have recovery from the flu. Your boy started school already? Kai still has a month to go before term start in September.

Hi Serena,
You sure are lucky!! HOw i wish i could be like you..but it'll definitely burn a hole in DH n my pockets if i bring both ds overseas..

By the way all mummies,
just posting on my friend's behalf- her mission team in china is setting up a craft biz n they're making all kinds of crafts. Asking any interested mummies who wants to order handmade crafts eg. bags,pencil cases etc which can be personalized with your name etc..? Could make a nice gifts for the little ones..or friens?

Do PM me if anyone's interested n i'll send you the details..thanks.

Serena...about 8-8.30 all the food stuff will be marked down in the supermarket and also there is a particular day in the web where all the cakes, some of the food stuff going at a special rates.

When we were in Kyoto, it was all the Tuesday, and the supermarket is usually crowded with shoppers as it is a special price marks down day and the cakes and pastries are a good buy at a fraction of the usual price. Not too sure about the other province in Japan though.

Ling, we try to save for trips. We cut down on enrichment for my girl. Must sacrifice certain things.

Pris, will take note. Thks!

Kristin mom, I've been to Florence. It's beautiful!

Chloe, I read your blog. At first was wondering who is Helen? I thought it was a good idea to pen your thoughts like having a conversation with your girls. I supposed you have the intention to show your girls when they grow up? It got be interested to blog too. Btw is live journal and blog the same? How do I go & create one? Sorry my computer skills is not that good. All the mummies here can attest to that!

hi serena,

yes u r right
my blog are "letters" to my girls. hope they will enjoy reading it in future. it will also be nice to read my own postings when i'm old and toothless. kids grow up amazingly fast and i really want to remember the good (& not so good times) that we have shared.

it's easy to create. just go to live journal to create an id and they will guide you step by step. it's similar to blogger. give it a try

Hi Chloe. I also write letters to my children esp during special occasions like their birthdays, X'mas etc. In fact hubby even posted one to JK using a stamp. Isn't it interesting that different people adopt different ways of keeping memories for our children?

A friend of mine was ultimate. She self-designed and printed 500 copies of a magazine on her daughter's 1st birthday to friends and relatives. She started the project soon after the baby was born. We were really "wowed" by her efforts.

Anyone else doing unsual things for making memories?

hi all.. wow.. so happening here...

Just came back from Club Med Bintan, a bit disappointed actually.. the room is not as nice as I expected, and 4 days 3 nights a bit too long for me, so sick of the food there liao..
The only good thing is the drinks are free, so we have been drinking lots of magarita , blue hawaii etc...

Meilan: hope you settle your maid issue by now, don't care wat other people say, as long as you think she is reliable, honest and have good attitude. My mother in law is quite modern, and also very well educated, but when come to maid, she also picks on many things, so usually I don't care what she says, as long as I think my maid is doing the right thing.

Serena: which part of US will you be going? Will you be going to Canada as well? we travelled LA, LV, San Fransico, Seattles, then all the way to Vancouver then to Canadian rockies, took us 3 weeks plus but it's really worth it. We went in Dec as well and the weather was really cold when we were at teh Rockies.

Another conference trip was to Boston, and that time we travelled to Toronto , Montreal and Quebec and it's really nice too...

how long will you be in US? must bring one or two empty bags for the factory outlet sprees!

As for PV, I was thinking to send my girl to MGS actually, but now considering Nanyang primary... not sure which one actually...

how's the mummies night out??

Hi Pris & 4ChongChong. Don't think my family will be happy with my helper anytime soon but you are right. I must keep things in perspective and it helps to think that the maid is a short-term option. It's great that Kai is involved in a lot of housework. Actually another good thing abt my helper is that she is not afraid of re-doing her tasks, so she will allow JK to "help" with some househld chores if he wants to and then straighten things up after he has played enough.

Apricot, I believe your mum and mum-in-law are helping to cook confinement meals for you. Is your helper involved in helping out with other confinement tasks eg bathing the babies, boiling water for you to bathe, cooking red dates tea for you?

4ChongChong, so Club Med Bintan is no big deal? I've been thinking whether to go. So was Charlene fine during the trip?

Serena, don't miss out on the shiokness of hotsprings just because you are shy abt being naked. People are very discreet and unless you behave overly self-conscious, no one will pay any attention to you. Hotspring + a stay in a traditional Japanese inn ie ryokan is highly recommended. If you are going to Tokyo, you can consider an overnight trip to Nikko.