(2003) Calling all 2003 babies

Need some advice from mommies here esp those whose kids can trace/write numbers relatively well. JK is still at the pre-writing stage but he does not like tracing dots. I think his sch has finally covered most of the capital letters as well as the numbers 1 to 3. From his 1st semester worksheets that the teachers have returned to us, I find that his tracing is bearable if the characters consist of lines eg "A" "T" "L" but he can't keep to the dots when there are curves eg "B" "O" "S" and numbers "2" and "3" have been a great challenge to him. I can see that he gets frustrated abt having to follow the dots closely but without them, he's totally lost, so he simply hates writing. Just wondering if any of you have tried methods other than tracing dots.

Also, do you know whether your kid's sch teachers actually guide each child's writing individually or just leave them to practise on their own?

Hi Ky,
I have given your mobile to the jelly delivery man, incase he can't find your place. Delivery time abt 4pm. Thanks!
Oh yes, no peeping on the jelly.

On fish tank, we have a square fibre tank at home that doubles up as a water fountain. I will take a picture and upload here sometime. Hubby and I bought everything including bricks and plants fr Nature Company at Thomson (before the kids' days obviously) and lugged them home in a cab. We went for very simple stuff and set it up at below $120.

It has always been the centre of attention in our home since, esp with kids visitors. We have tried rearing different kinds of fishes but since the main objective is to keep away mosquitoes, we now go for goldfish which is the easiest to maintain.

We have been so used to the soothing effect from the sounds of trickling water that we had difficulty sleeping one night during a black-out when the filter stopped.

The weekly cleaning is back-breaking and everyone has chided us for not keeping away the harzard even after the kids came on by one but we just can't live without it now

Ky, Serena

Me too agree that characteristics of the new age men can be spotted during courtship but I've just walked out of my teenage yrs when were dating and which girl of my age would consider all these? Back then, feeling is the most important thing.. the rest can wait. What to do? HB chosen by me, will have to accept the consequences. Anyway, I cant stand the way he do house chores so I'll better take all the dirty job with Benny and Bryan's help. I'll train them to be the future new age men

Sarah, no peeping doesn't mean no eating... :>

Meilan, my water fountain's sitting in my storeroom since B came along.... it's still sitting there. K's more curious than B and we are still waiting for my water fountain to see daylight again. yes... we miss the sounds of water *sob sob*

I'm a bit dazed coz had a loonnnng morning. imagine feeding pancake to a 18-month old who just simply refuse to open his mouth... never heard of!

.ky.

Meilan

My BIL bought a "thick" book on joining dots in number sequence for Benny. He would flip to a page that interest him and asked me what the dots will turn out to be. Thou I can see from the pictures but I'll ask him to find out himself.. Initially, he started with pencil and ruler but now he's able to do it freehand without the ruler. it helps to build his writing skills through curiousity and learning numbers. He's able to count 1 to 100 now. Maybe you'll wanna try..

Joanne, what kind of "thick" book? Adabel has problem counting the next number when she reached the end of each sets of 10s. Like 49, 69, 99 then she don't know what's next.

Serena

The book itself was quite thick.. My first impression was.. when is he ever going to finish it. But seems like thick book has alot of pages where he could flip and search for a page where pictures interest him so much.. he had to finish joining up the dots before he can discover what the outcome will be.

hi all, sorry i won't be coming tonight because my girl started to have slight fever last night, although now alright, but I think it's still better to keep away from all the kids. Serenade: thanks for offering a ride.

serenade: you are most welcome, you can come to my place anytime you like as long as i am not working. Sometimes neighbour friend's kids will be at my place to play with my girl too.

Looks like tonight the BBQ will be a fun one, and hope i can join the next time.

meilian...I also have a koi pond with a water fountain from Nature Company in my toh guan house, all the set up and plants are taken care by then but no more koi since we left for Vancouver. It used to be Kai's favourite spot, he loves all the fish in there and would ask us to buy more or get from my cousin's place at Yarrow Garden in East Coast. Have you tried getting wave and water sound CDs?

When Kai first started to learn to write, he write 2 letters a day and each like 9 of it. And when he completed I usually give him a star on his sticker book.

Guess all mummies still busy bathing and tugging kiddies in bed.. Benny and I really had a wonderful time. Thanks ky for organising this BBQ. *hug*

ky

I was telling Benny Auntie ky gave him a hug cause he had been very brave. He let out a smile and asked me "why didn't the other aunties hug me???" Haha..

mummies who had taken pics during BBQ, please post pics in blog or email me cause I didn't bring my digicam along.. Thanks ya.

Kristin mom

Thank you for the "strawberry straw". I thought it was biscuit but when we opened up, we're figuring out how to eat the "sweet" and it's written in german.. Finally, from pic we managed to figure out that it's a straw. haha.. so do I just put it in a cup of plain water or milk? it taste nice with plain water thou.. and Benny like it very much.

Thanks ky for organising. I think my kids have a very fun time .. and thks for helping me in making An An a better boy. Paiseh to be the first one to leave, but gal is tired .. i wouldnt want her to doze off in the car.

Kristin mom, Thanks for the flavoured straw. It made me want to try too ..

now i cant wait for the next one to come soon. how?

Still waiting for hair to dry so not sleeping yet. Thanks ky for taking the trouble to organise the gathering. Really enjoyed myself despite the stressful driving to get there. Luckily Moshi didn't come along else would have wasted so much of her time with me.

Serenande, really sorry abt JK's conduct towards Brandon esp when I remember the boy already had bad experience of being bulllied. To be honest, I have stopped keeping an eye on JK very closely thesedays cos I get very exasperated saying don't do this and don't do that every few minutes. But I feel very bad each time he gets into trouble and in fact, very sad for him when kids say things like "I don't want to play with JK. He's naughty" I know kids tend to get over such things quickly but on my part, I find it very hard to get JK to understand why people are affected/disturbed by his behaviour. He's always in a hurry to say sorry and get it done and over with to really bother to listen. If anyone knows of story books along this theme, please recommend it to me.

Hi ky,
Thanks for organising the BBQ. Both my kids enjoy themselves very much
Sorry that I couldn't help you pack up. Brandon was getting grouchy and sleepy, and we have to go.

But it had been a really enjoyable night. We should have such gatherings more often.

Hi Meilan,
Don't fret over it. Brandon has totally forgotten abt it. In fact, he was telling me in the car that he enjoyed himself very much playing with the kids. Hope you don't mind that he came up to you. I have been trying to teach him to deal with his problems himself.:p

Hi ky!

Thanks for hosting! We had a blast at your place... it was a great evening despite the outdoor sauna... we are not quite acclimatised to the weather here yet. Guess everyone could see the beads of perspiration running down my kids' heads.

Please thank your dh again for doing all the grilling. He really fed us all well!

Bryan had such a wonderful time that he couldn't stop telling his grandparents where he was, what he had to eat and with whom he played. Now I regret taking so few pictures... hee, just busy chatting away.

Let's catch up again during one of the weekday afternoons, yah?

Hi Jo!

Sorry that we didn't give clear instructions... but you figured it out! Just another gimmick to get children to drink milk. And since you said choc was no good right now, I reckon drinking more milk will be fine.

Oops... Benny! Forgot to give you a hug, Aunty was busy talking... But *hug* here! I will hug you the next time we meet again, ok?

Hi worrymum,
Thanks for the gifts! It really cheers the kids up. And mine, I'm really gonna leech on you tight! You are really good with kids

Hi Sheryln,
Your kids are just as normal as any of the kids there tonight. So, stop worrying so much

Hi Joanne,
Benny is really a strong boy. I wouldn't know that he has gone through a trying time if you haven't told us about it. Tell him to keep it up!

Hi Serena,
Nice meeting you. And thanks for your salad, it is great! My two kids can attest to that

Hi Sarah,
I love that lamb jelly! Where did you get it?

Hi Kristins_mom,
It's great meeting with you guys again! Am really surprised that Kristin could still remember Brandon. Yes, let's meet up one of these afternoons during the weekdays!

Hi Apricot,
Finally got to thank you in person! Talking abt the logico set, think I need to bring them out again... they have been collecting dust for a while. But glad to know that Aston enjoys doing it!

Hi Serenade!

You should have seen Kristin running after Brandon in the field.
She'd rather play with Cheryl's korkor anytime. Sigh, wonder when these girls will start to bond. Maybe next year?

Hi worry-mum!

Thanks for the goodies bags for the kids. The activity sets sure keep the kids busy in this rented apartment. We really don't have much to entertain them here. No dvds... but it's also good too that they don't have to spend time in front of the box.

Hi apricot!

Yeah.. we finally met.
Sorry about the T-shirt thingy. Feel really goofy about it. I should have packed it into my bag this morning when I still remembered it.

Let me know when it's convenient time to pass it to you.

Hi Serena!

Yeah... we met too!
Yeah, yummy salad! Sorry about the wine thing. It's really too hot for us here. We really need to get used to this heat coz I grew up in this tropical heat! Gee, my body seems to have forgotten about that.

Will pm you again re the appt. Let me check my dh's calendar.

Hi Sarah!

Let's catch up again...
Trust that you've had a safe drive back.
Ermmm, no need to smile at the camera if it flashes hor... :p

Yeah... thanks to you, we had jelly mutton!

Hi Meilan!

Trust me, Bryan was just as rowdy, if not worse. I'm pretty surprised that I didn't hear any complaints tonight. Or maybe I'd been really deaf and blind to all his crimes.

Anyway, it's just normal kids playing. I don't expect kids this age to be docile and sitting down next to the parents all the time.

One thing is for sure: They enjoy running around together.

Let's meet again, if you are not too tied down with work.

Hi Sarah,
Please give a hug to Hannah on my behalf. My hubby was telling me how Hannah was looking after Cheryl in the field. She's such a sweet and sensible girl. She will make a very good jie jie

KY,
Thanks for hosting the BBQ. Thanks WC for preparing the Yummy food. He's indeed a "patient" great Chef. Benedict.. is a lovely boy.. He just come towards and leech on me.. he got no stranger anxiety at all! thumbs up!

Serena,
Thanks for your Yummy Fruits Salad, Me and my Benjamin.. simply loves it and had 2 big bowls.

Ur Adebel is a lovely girl. Guess, she is not used to this kind of environment. I simply loved to play with her. No worries.. OK

K's mom,
Thanks for the Yummy Bratwurst and Frankfurters. They are juicy and nice. Also.. thanks for the flavoured straw. Will tried it out later.. after work.

Sarah..
Not forgetting your yummy jelly jelly too.. yeah!! Thumbs up.

Apricot,
Thanks for the worksheets, but oh no.. Benjamin lost it.. wonder is it at KY's place..

Sherlyn,
See.. no worries right??? your kids are well behaved.. so bring them out more often.

Serenade..
Yeah yeah yeah.. No problem for the leech..all are welcomed..

<font color="ff0000">Mummies,
Nice meeting all of u. All kids are so lovely. Can't wait to see the photos.. please please.. upload asap okie?

BTW, no worries for the goodies bag.. Glad that all kids loves it.</font>

HI Serenade!

Slept already, that was my last post...

So, does Brandon enjoy his edudrama class?

What is this superkids programme that you talk about in St James Church? Is St James Church still off Holland Road?

Anyway, I was thinking if you wanted to check out some church programmes for kids, why not join us at ours these two Sundays while we are still around in Sg?

At our church, there's a pretty nice Sunday school for kids Bryan's age. And since y2001/2, our church has been enjoying a biological growth. Many kids and many young parents.

No pressure, just let me know if you are comfortable.

By the way, we worship at Queenstown Baptist Church, along Margaret Drive, right between the Remand Prison and the Rainbow Special School.

Thanks KY for the BBQ and also extend my thanks to your hubby. So nice of him to barbercue for us, I hope my maid has help him a little because she's never babercue before, no experience.

Worrymum, you have such a nice personality that most children love you.

Sarah/Worrymum, want to apologise for my girl's rude behaviour last night. She gets a little uptight sometimes and takes a while to join in activity and actually prefers adults than children company.

Kristin mom, let me know when you can make it for the massage. I'll email you the address when I get back office on Monday. Hope we can all gather one more time before you go off.

Joanne, tell Benny I owe him one hug!

Serenade, nice meeting you too.

Serena

Most of the kids present are boys. The other girls would be too young to chat with her about princess thingy. I don't think she likes to run hysterically and ruin her nice hair style with the boys so can't really blame her for that.

Apricot

The worksheets you printed are the ones I mentioned earlier. They're Benny's favourites. not forgeting worry mum's disney clubhouse, he loves the programme as well.

Serena

your fruit salad taste great. Do you use fresh fruit or canned fruits? what cheese do you add in? Can you share the receipe in blog? I think Bryan will love it as much as we do since fruits and cheese are his favourite.

*sob sob*
Benjamin lost his worksheet right after the BBQ..

Joanne,
me too.. I owe Benny a big HUG too.. hehe

Serena,
remember... no worries ok.. Is very common lah.. hehe

Oh my, you gals are owls?

Hannah dozed off on our way home. Now I have to wash the bedsheets..Oh yes, there's a massive jam at PIE and we had to make a detour to ECP.
So mommies, our next gathering, it has to be town or North-East.
I'm sure no objections from Meilan, Moshi & Apricot. Oops, sorry, Apricot, I forgot you will be 'locked up' from now.

Joanne, you offer very kind words. Thank you. My fruit salad consists of canned fruit, rasins, dry apricot, nestle cream, mayonnaise and cheddar cheese bar. Discard the syrup in canned fruit. Then just mix everything together. Very easy to do. You can also use fresh fruits but somehow canned fruit taste nicer. Thanks for the support.

Hi Ky,
Thanks for hosting. Hope you did not get complaints from mgt for dirtying the place.

Hi Joanne,
I forget to give Benny a hug too. Next time we meet, ok?

Hi Serena,
Don't worry about that. Belle & Worry Mum sure hit it off!

The salad was yummy. Oops, I thought Ky prepared it; please share your recipe.

Worry Mum,
Thanks for the Disney gift. You are good with the kids. How about babysitting one of these days?
Me & hb can go watch Transformers.
(Moshi, Mel's gift is with me.)

Kristin's mom,
Oh yes, we must meet again! This time, we'll go to an aircon place for lunch. Let us know when's a good time for you.

to those who turn up for the bbq ... thanks for making time to come. I know it's a working day and many of u came all the way from other parts of the island, waiting for hubbies and dragging some reluctant hubbies over ... thanks for making the event fun. We had lotsa fun too! I hardly ever do organize bbq so pardon me if anything is missed out. I think the food I ordered was ok except perhaps a little too much MSG was involved? And you guys are so easy to feed ... I do hope all of you are not too shy to eat... or is it bcos the mummies are too busy chatting, the kids are too busy playing and the daddies busy watching the kids ...

Joanne, Selena, nice to finally be able to put the names and faces together.

Joanne, Benny's really a brave boy. I wouldn't have figure ... tell him the other aunties are too excited about chatting, like how excited he was playing with the rest ...

Sherlyn, don't say paisay ... u were just a few mins before some others leave too. your kids are ok ...

Meilan, practise makes perfect. Good thing is JK could sat through the "looping" car journey with you.

Serenade, no prob abt packing up. Time was late, we understand. Anyway, luckily I had my helper ... u notice I also didn't help pack up :>. sorry, no time to chat much with you but it's really nice to meet Brandon in person finally.

K's mom, we felt hot ourselves... the weather forecast did say heavy rain, so I was a little bit worried. I also didn't take much photos, but I saw at least 3 other cameras (so you all know what to do right?) ... n really thanks for the yummy straws! yes, yes, let's meet up one of the afternoons ... FTWM, anyone taking leave?

Serena, thanks for loaning your maid to us ... she's quite pretty also, but you are definitely prettier (and younger than your actual age)! Sorry about the wine and beer. Forgetful me forgot to bring the opener down... hubby later said if opened, he'll drink. That gives us an excuse next time to meet :> Btw my maid and my hubby, they decipher some of the ingredients in your salad. hm, but I don't know :<

Sarah, sorry never got a chance to chat much with you. But Hannah is a very lovely girl. She's just observing diligently while we are playing the games. Yes, can share where to get the lamb jelly? I thot it's so so appropriate when I first checked the goods; ahem, the delivery uncle said better check ... I didn't peep.

Worry_mum, thanks for the goodies bag. B was so happy to see the coloring sheets ... he even sat down quietly to colour it while we are outside in a mall this morning (which he never did before). oh, he knows you can be leeched on to! Yes, Apicot's worksheets to B are with me ...

Apricot, haha, we were also joking abt you missing some action next month too! And thanks for providing the worksheets ... btw, don't worry abt how the helper thing would go. you've make the choice, so now is down to luck.

I enjoyed playing the games with them and have them sing happy birthday song... that was kinda gimmick to get them to sing but wow! I love it! You can really see the enthusiasm when they are singing the song! btw, I think the kids are all just happy to have an open space to run ... and even if they are unhappy with another kid, it'll be forgotten quite quicktly. It's us adults that tend to think and look more into things ... right?

Maybe next time we should just get a room and throw all the kids and daddies in and we can go somewhere for a good chat. hm, or maybe throw them into a pool since weather is so hot these days. But actually I prefer a ladies night out with no kids. B's was complaining last night (I never know why boys are so possessive with balls
) but when I asked him if he did enjoy himself and want to do it again, he said yes sheepishly; ya, I know he did enjoy the company/

So who's going to start the ball rolling on the next gathering? I need time to recuperate from last night...
yawn.gif

.ky.

I got the jelly contact from Apricot. Thought this is a good chance to try it out. Will email you gals pictures of the jelly.
Wanted something that brings us all together..but jelly man can't do wordings - Parents Like Us, so have to made do with the lamb, representing our 2003 babies!

Oh, Apricot, before you get "locked up", remember to scan in the 2-page article u showed us yesterday ... post in the blog, can? tx!

.ky.

ok ok, i sure miss out on a lot of fun, so when's the next round? national day party? any volunteer host?

ky
Hosting for a big group and for people whom u have not even met is quite a feat and u have proven u can do it and well! ;)

k's mom
what's that strawberry straw thing? any extras? ;)

worry mom
thanks for preparing the goodie bag for mel too, arigato! now we know who to ask to help entertain d kids the next time ;)

ok, i can't wait to see the pictures, pl state like in the class photo, who's who from bottom left and so on

I will never regret turning up last nite. I am so happy to meet so many mummies and Aston really enjoy himself so much.
Though hubby curfew me cannot go out in July and we are there last nite...so happpy !! Thanks ky to host it. It's been a long long time I tasted BBQ foods..they are so yummy...but I did not try the beef steak cos I was busy talking...

I am pretty pleased with Aston's behaviour last nite..he usually do not wan to leave the place til very very late. Last nite, he follow our instructions & leave & did not make noise or whine.

No mention abt the worksheets..
Hope the kids enjoy doing them.

Hi moshi2, Mel's worksheets are with me and let's see how to pass to you

Class photo may not have Aston cos he was drinking milk in daddy's car

Hi Ky,
Sure, will ask hubby scan for me and post in our blog next week. Meilan shld be ok we post it there, right ?

Hi moshimoshi,

Probably you didn't read my post earlier on. I can always get the function room. Just give me a date and I'll check if the function room is available.

After last night, I must confess I do not have the capibility to do something similar. (Ky, last night was really a huge success! And as what moshimoshi, it was no easy task but you and your family are great hosts!) So, I would like to suggest potluck. How abt that? Counter proposals are welcomed!

Hi Sherlyn and Joanne,

Let me know if you want my guppies. No pai sey abt it becos we have plenty of them. You can chose between local breed (colorful ones) or overseas breed (pure red).
I will be in Bukit Timah area next Sat and that'll be chance for me to pass to you..no trouble at all cos that's west area already.