(2003) Calling all 2003 babies

Hi Serena

867173.jpg

I used fabric pens, stayed on pretty well, tested when Mel wet them after stepping on puddles.

K's mum...Pizza dough recipe is in our shared blog. Happy holidaying!

Ky...I have posted the swiss roll recipe in our shared blog. Does B's gym offered like a 3 months lessons? Was thinking of letting Kai go when we are back for 3 months early next year

Moshimoshi...the shoes are lovely...mel must love them.

Sheryln...hope your kids are recovering.

Moshi, shoes are cute! If you wash the shoes the paint may come off, so do be careful. I don't watch japanese DVD but I love korean shows and anything that's korean! When we smile for the camera, we don't say cheese, we say "Kimchi!!"

KY, BTW no need to make name tag for my hubby. He will probably not wear it so I don't want to waste your time. Thanks!

hi Pris, yap. B's gym offers 3 months lesson per term ... come come... En would love it!

Those with girls ... I'm very jealous. Such cute shoes. I wonder if I can cultivate my boys to understand the concept of cute ... heehee

how abt share abt our hubby's likes then we can cho-cho them to share on the common likes. ok, me first. My hubby's into hi-fi and fish-rearing and fixing computers and cooking...

moshi moshi, what lovely shoes! can share how to do it? what brand of fabric paint? i shall try one of these days. the shoes are just white marie janes from bata right?

btw pcf kindy only ~$80 per month. cheap cheap

Serena...what are your favourite Korean show? I completed "The Devil" sometimes ago, the story was great but the ending was kind of disappointing though.

I am currently watching Clouds Stairs when I take my breathe and also Coffee Prince 1st Shop.

KY...yeap...Kai will probably love it, will get the contact from you when we can confirm when we are returning and for how long.

Ky

So fortunate of you, your hubby loves cooking. My hubby only enjoys eating cooked food!! He's only into cars, bikes.. anything with engine and wheels attached to it. Not only the make and model but also ALL the spare parts.

I've always been jealous of mummies with pretty pretty little princess too..

Pris, may I have the pizza recipe too ? Can you email me? Also, I have watched da chang jin, princess hours, 18th year old bride, 200pounds beauty and some other shows which I have problem remembering the titles. The titles you are watching seems interesting, did you rent them in Canada?

Pris

my hubby don't help out in house chores. (typical "big man") He only washes his own cup when I don't have time to do it for him.. The only time when he washes his own clothes (throwing them into washing machine and hang them up when they're done) was during my confinement and when I'm in hospital with Benny.

serena
cute is the word but i wish for something more artistic like yours!

chloe
i got the fabric pens from ArtFriend at NgeeAnnCity, the brand is DYLON. They are easy to use, like magic pens but with brush-like nibs. Bearing in mind Serena's tips (she did two pairs!), i drew simple shapes and filled in the colours. Shoes are from the neighbourhood shoe shop, i first spotted a mary-jane at $5, but they don;t come in small sizes, so i had no choice but to buy the 'expensive' pair, they're soft n comfortable though.

Hi pris
what Japanese shows have u watched? could u recommend some that u like?

Joanne, usually when men knows they have a stay at home wife, they won't lift a finger to help in housework. But of course there are exception to this rule. The sensitive new age man are pretty rare. You can spot some characteristics when you're dating him. Ha.. anyway they say the man you marry is the one that you really like among your suitors. So, cannot help it loh...

Moshi, thanks but it's the interest that drives me. I made 1 pair for my girl, one pair for myself, 2 pairs for my friend's daughters and 1 pair for my mum. My interest has drifted elsewhere. I can tell we have something in common, that's craft work!!

Hi Joanne, maybe fortunate, maybe not, depends how you look at it, and whether it suits your own character. I agree with Serena that you can spot these characteristics during dating. Some gfs told me before that I couldn't take MCP guys, I'm too headstrong. But I find a lot of women have "strong" men in their lives and they are happy to serve them. For me, I find with parenting, both parents have to set good examples, if the son sees that the father does not help with housework, why should he help? I see that in my own brother, coz my father never helped in housework, he never did ... even to on a fan, he'll ask whoever that's sitting nearby, even any visitors who's sitting nearby. I guess I see too much MCP in my brother to tahan one ... amazingly though, my hubby grew up with his father not lifting a finger to help. My MIL and I when pregnant could be carry tons of stuff and he never helped. But my hubby can help out. I contribute that to my MIL being a good disciplinarian.

.ky.

moshi moshi
thanks for the tips on the shoes. i will try it.

serena
btw, how did you stick the beads etc onto the shoes? wont drop out?

Re: hubby helping with housework, mine does cos we r both working.
i guess most man dont appreciate that sahm still need help with housework, until they experience staying at home to look after the kids themselves and then they know it is a 24 x 7 job!

heez, guess when it comes to housework, i am pretty lucky, hub does most things, i just do laundry n cook for Mel.
The reason being he likes to do things his way n moi don't want to get in his way so moi just sit n watch haha

Thanks for responding to my poll on naps. Seems like most of the kids here do not have that much difficulty napping. My problem with JK is that I have to spend a looonnnng time to make him fall asleep and after that, he usually sleeps very deeply and gets cranky when he wakes up
I know I should stop the habit of lying down with him but since he takes so long, I may as well rest lying down right?

Moshi, I'm not into Jap drama but have watched a number of good Jap movies. A few memorable ones are "Love Letter", "The Rainy Season" and the Korean version of "Lake House."

ky, I read your email and suddenly felt very enlightened. Indeed, sometimes I could do things on my own without involving hubby and JC all the time, though that has always been our family policy. So I think I will come along to the BBQ with just JK, but would be after 7pm as I need to wait for hubby to pass me the car after work. JK will have his dinner at home first. I love BBQ food so will go on an empty stomach. Please let me know how much I can contribute for my share.

But I will tell hubby that some of the men here share his interests in cars, hi-fi and photography, in case he changes his mind ;)

chloe, the beads are glued on. You can buy super glue or fabric glue used for craft work. It will drop off if you wash the shoes or some force has been applied to it.

Moshi, wow! you've got yourself a SNAG! Lucky you! I know my girlfriend's hubby who's very particular about cleaniness and wants everything in order in the house. If you mess up anything, the hubby will turn purple with rage. So, she decided there and then to let him do the housework!

ky,

got a problem posting last night. so this post is late!

It is ok to be frank to me. Infact, i love frank remarks, rather then me having to interpret cos interpretation may be wrong at times. I am indeed quite a negative person and have not been able to overcome it. Thanks for the sharing and the gym info.

Brought the kids to Giant IMM alone just now. Kids are naturally curious, so their hands are all over the products that are nearest to them. For me, it is alright that my kids bring the products up and have a look. It is also alright that they put it bak at the wrong place cos i can correct it for them or teach them the right place. But just now, i have been scolding them from started queuing till payment. They run towards those coin operated machine to turn the knobs, hanging like monkey on the handrails etc etc. When i reach home, I am still scolding them for being mischevious as I am rushing through the night snacks and wash up. But when i tuck them in bed, sat besides them, i suddenly feel that I may have been a little too strict, that I may hv been a nuisance to the people around me who are listening to my nagging and scolding.

it is definitely true that I am worrying abt my kids being a nuisance to others. I really love to hv my kids running ard (but not in the library which they do alot unfortunately), but I have heard of mothers talking abt sales staffs complaining abt kids running ard in shopping ctr etc so I thot I shd stop them from running since in general the sales staffs do not like it.

it is so true that the kids only think of fun and wouldnt really know that some of the things are not appropriate .. but then there are really people outside that give negative remarks when kids behave like mine (thou I haven recv any yet) so like you say i m really concious on my kids being a nuisance to others .. however, I am a mother now, so whenever I saw other kids behaving like mine, i understand (not sure if i m so when i m single thou)

I really love to hv my kids having the freedom to do what they want as long as it is not dangerous or very extreme .. but shd i not take other people's opinion or feeling into consideration? Or maybe I hv overdone it?

Sorry for such long post.

Moshimoshi,

Someone already helpped me on this :). Got problem posting last night leh.

$80 is deducted monthly from the giro account. Next yr K1, it will be $100. Got $150 meh? is it he include the admin fee, misc fee etc?

It seems most men are interested in cars. My hubby likes car and fishing. I don't really like this 2 hobby of his because it's and expensive hobby. I wished he would choose something more economical. Ya, I know it's not my money he's using but I still feel the pinch!

Re housework. Hb used to do housework for his mom during our dating days...hmm, what happen along the way?? Think I complain too often the way he cleans the house...now I have to suffer the consequences..

Sherlyn, I share your difficulties in a heartfelt way. We are indeed alike in many ways including having very trying kids, hyper-stressed out and being negative as a result. But actually, I am also very thankful for what I have. I think I will try posting more positive aspects of my kids for a change. Like to thank some of you for the encouraging comments re my post in our shared blog abt my experience as a SAHM.

ky,

my kids only slightly flu, so i am bringing them there to the bbq latest 8pm I think. We will hv our dinner first but I think the kids may snack on some food esp their fav sausages. Not sure if dh is coming thou.

All other mommies, anyone object, pls pm me at [email protected].

otherwise, anythg i can contribute ? Its so last minute.

so good to hv a SNAG hehe .. after i turn SAHM and have kids, i think my dh not doing alot of hsework. He helps out at washing the dishes, folding of clothes, bathing kids occassionally.. but the heavy duty ones like mopping .. never cos weekend he always nap wif the kids.

Sarah, my hubby does the housework too when we were dating. After we got married, Viola!! it didn't quite work out as I thought!

Joanne...my dh helps in all the household chores be it cleaning or cooking. An agreement we have before we are married and even when we were courting, he helps out at my place when he came like keeping clothing when it rained etc. And since we are uncomfortable with live-in maid, he volunteer with all the household chores. Dh loves cars and hi-fi too but he is not as crazy as before haahaa.

Serena...I watch them on cable as well as online TV through subscription here. Will email you the recipe tomorrow when I have time, just came back from picking raspberries and strawberries. Will be going to pick prunes and blue berries soon as they are not ripe yet. I am excited that we will be picking apples in October too. Hello! Miss is a rather cute one (something similar to my girl), the great inheritance is okay, the prince's first love is nice too, full house is nice, the devil special way of filming but ending is disappointing. I am watching Coffee Prince's first shop now. I adore goong.

moshimoshi...depend on what genre that you are looking at. I watch them on subscription here but not so much now as I am busy with assignments and homeschooling since it's holiday for Kai. One litre of tears is a must watch but you will probably needs lots of tissue. I know of a couple more but will need to find out the title for you.

Sarah and sheryln, then I must say that I am pretty lucky that dh does the mopping once in the weekday and once on weekend as well as washing the toilet. I usually do not complain when he does the housework, I just let him and I take my time to relax, read with Kai and even Kai helps both of us out on household chores.

Yippie.. Sherlyn.. u finally decided to come.. haha. Can't wait to see you and the rest of mummies..

Attendance - BBQ 6 July

1. ky (2a1c) - #2 not taking bbq food
2. serena (2a1c) - fruit salad. Belle not eating. 7+
3. kristin's mom (2a2c) - Bratwurst and Frankfurters. 7+
4. sarah (2a1c) - jelly
5. serenade (2a2c) - I think the timing ok for u right? <tba>
6. worrymum (2a1c)
7. meilan (???) - <tba>
8. apricot (2a1c)
9. Joanne (?a2c)
10. Sherlyn (?a2c)

Okay...i need to go complete my assignment since we are thinking of another weekend away with some friends. See all! Have fun at the BBQ on Friday.

Ops.. sorry meilan..

Attendance - BBQ 6 July

4. sarah (2a1c) - jelly
6. worrymum (2a1c)
7. meilan (?a1c)
8. apricot (2a1c)
9. Joanne (?a2c)
10. Sherlyn (?a2c)

wow wow ... going to be a happening pit tomorrow. Meilan, Sherlyn, I'll email you details later (pls read your mails hor) ... the pit next to us is not booked yet so hopefully we get the entire place to ourselves. Moshi, u sure u not tempted to just pop by?? Think we are missing only u now ....

I think it's good for men to have hobbies. My hubby actually halted his hobby when B came along and between the 2 of us, our time was devoted to B. So, I think it's good that we can have our own personal interest. Meilan, if your hubby is into hifi, he'll want to come along ... I told my cousin and he brought one day armed with his own collection of disc.

My hubby too mops the floor. He feels that to mop a floor properly, one needs to use strength and he always feels that he does a good job. So he cleans the floor. For me, I'll clean the windows coz I think I do a better (& faster) job.

.ky.

It's really exciting to meet up with all of you tomorrow. Really looking forward to it! Ky, thanks for organising this BBQ!

Hi Sherlyn,
Glad that you are able to join us
Well, if you must know, my two kids can be nuisance sometimes. When I brought them to Popular Bookshop, they would be running around having their own fun. I don't really fault them for doing so cos shopping is BORING for them. As long as they don't hurt themselves or others, I won't be too harsh on them. Occasionally, I'll just tell them off. But I guess that's part and parcel of raising children :p Kids may behave wild at times but I think it's forgiveable and most pple will forget their acts soon. What I find intolerable is adults who can't behave themselves. And trust me, there are many out there. So, relax and have fun. What I usually do is prep my kids before the event, tell them what to expect and what I expect of them etc... I can be a very naggy mum at times

Hi 4ChongChong,
Thanks for inviting me over! Love your muffins though I can't take more (you know the reason why :p) Finally we have met formally! Glad that Charlene and Cheryl can play well together. Now, Cheryl has a pretty big jie jie to play with

Guess what? We received a call from CH that they have a morning class for Brandon starting 1 Aug. In a dilema now cos Brandon is pretty settled with his afternoon class now. But I thought morning class would be better as he has the afternoon free. But he doesn't want to make the switch, so think we'll stay with the afternoon class for now. Still deciding if we should switch him to St James Kindy next year...

Hi Serenade,

I do prep my kids too, but all gone with the wind when they are there.

I hope to learn to relax and have fun, and may that starts tmr at the BBQ

c u tmr.

Hi mommie,

Previously here (or was it elsewhere), there is this discussion on Edudrama class from JG. If here, may I know y is it that the chinese class is chosen rather then the english class? How much is the cost of this class?

btw, anyone sign up for trial of the gym class that ky's son is attending? Am thinking of signing up.

Wanted to sleep but have not slept at this late hrs. You know why ? My tummy is so big that I can hardly sleep properly. Sleeping sideway makes the sides numb the next day. It's so contradicting to say I hate the sleeping hrs out of the 24 hrs.

Abt housework, my hub has been doing the housework eversince I was pregnant. He did not complain & I really appreciate his hard work. He never do it during our courtship days. We used to share housework when we are married but it's hard pain to see him do all housework by himself now. So, this is why he is looking forward for our maid to come next week.

My hub is a computer person..he plays computer games in most of his free time. Anyone's hub play computer games ?

I mentioned my hub likes to play computer games when actually he has other hobbies too. He like fish rearing too eg.. Guppies and Discus.

ooo apricot, then do u noe anythg abt fish rearing ? am thinking if it is good to hv a little fish tank and hv a few small fishes for the kids to take care (more like to "play with")

heard the fishes will die very soon in these kind of environment.

Sorry worry_mum. Here is my update.

Attendance - BBQ 6 July

4. sarah (2a1c) - jelly
6. worrymum (2a1c)
7. meilan (1a1c) 7+
8. apricot (2a1c)
9. Joanne (?a2c)
10. Sherlyn (?a2c)

Looking forward to seeing all of you esp those I have not met before

Attendance - BBQ 6 July

4. sarah (2a1c) - jelly
6. worrymum (2a1c)
7. meilan (?a1c)
8. apricot (2a1c)
9. Joanne (?a1c)
10. Sherlyn (?a2c)

Thought Bryan might be better today but he's still having bad cough so will have to exclude him. So sad that he'll have to miss all the fun..

As for my HB, he's not working regular hours therefore I can't confirm his attendance yet. Will see if he has the time.

Hi Apricot, I don't recall seeing a fishtank at your place ... is your maid coming in soon? shouldn't u be starting to train her already? who's doing confinement for u?

Sherlyn, small tank with few fishes. good idea but wouldn't work. there'll be lack of oxygen and if you change water everyday, the fishes would last a week at most. if u think the fish can auto-survive, it'll die the next day. Our fishtank is just over 1 feet. Really small but hubby's hold off upgrading as it's really a lot of work plus space constraint, but a bigger tank would be easier to manage as the plants would have more space to grow and easier to manage. Plants are more challenging than fishes actually. There's also the superstituous talk abt feng-shui as tank has water and the tank should be placed in an appropriate place. Actually I wanted to rear a dog before coz I simple adore one, but hubby also warned against the effort to maintain one... already an effort to maintain 2 ... so on second thots, we just go downstairs if we need to play with one.

.ky.

Hi Sherlyn, we used to have koi - ya, make a guess whose hobby that is!
Now for the kids, we have guppies and turtles. These are hardy and easy to maintain as pets. Just need to change water and feed them. For the guppies, if you have male and female ones, the female could get pregnant and there will be many babies. Nice and a good way to teach life cycle.

Here's my update

Attendance - BBQ 6 July

4. sarah (2a1c) - jelly
5. serenade (2a2c) - 7+
6. worrymum (2a1c)
7. meilan (?a1c)
8. apricot (2a1c)
9. Joanne (?a1c)
10. Sherlyn (?a2c)

What a coincidence! We are thinking of a fish tank too, a manageable size of course :p