(2003) Calling all 2003 babies

Hi moshi2!

Mel is so lucky... Baby Love - the one starting in Aug?

What is this Animal Resort? Where is it?

Not that I'm going into an enrichment-class-frenzy, just wanna let him have some fun in lessons too. I think so far school experience has always been fun for him. After too many days of break from school, B always asks to go back to school. He misses school and his friends sometimes. B is the talkative sort... so he misses talking/playing with his friends, or perhaps... sometimes bossing his friends around... haha!!! But don't worry. He won't boss Mel around. He needs some familiarity first.

I went along with my kids to Kids Kampong for their sch outing last year. It was quite fun and enjoyable. You will be given a packet of longkang fishes to bring home after the longkang fishing attempt. Didn't try the line fishing though.

kristin's mom,
yes. dd is born in 06/2003. just turned 4yo. yuh, many times i felt the same way too. usually, i'll handle #1 & #2 together & #3 separately. there's hardly any perfect or ideal situation, so hv learnt to make do wif whatever for the day & tmrw will be a new day. still trying to plan ahead for the next day for meals, activities/outing. a good start in the day will hopefully 'up' everyone's spirit.

sarah,
dh's frenz are gathering there in BG, so will be going if my kids r well.

sherlyn,
i agree wif all the mummies. the kids will enjoy the hotel room. my kids luv playing in the bathtub.

jan,
where's Kids Kampong? is it in anywhere near to Animal Resort? so can bring kids to 2 places in 1 go. ;P

Kristin's Mom

Animal resort is located @ Seletar West Farmway 5. You can purchase animal feedings and feed them and they have lokang fishing too. It is a dog training & grooming as well. I can't remember if is a Sat or Sun, you get to watch them train.

If you are looking for place to celebrate your kids bday, you can hold it @ the Animal Resort. That's where I celebrated my kids bdays. You can choose to do barbecue or catering. They will charge you for the rental of the place only.

Thanks ky for the lovely suggestion. I am one who love singing but now no time to sing and cant sing cos my vocal box is spoilt from all those shoutings all these 4 years. It will only be my girlfriend and me with her 2 kids and my 2 kids on the night where my hubby is working. Not quite sure if her kids sing .. else the kids would be bored inside the room.

Hi moshimoshi,

Ya, sounds fun by the thought of it, but when i m there, not too sure if it is still fun handling two kids alone the whole day.

Hotel cant choose, cos dh got to stay where his office dictates. Anyway i can make a trip to Sogo i think since it is walking distance .. will make my way back for their nap before i go out wif them to meet my x colleague. It is the toilet business outside that is threatening. Let's hope i can cope for that day.

Sarah and moshimoshi,

Wow, private kindy so fun ah .. my ds PCF kindy sounds kind of boring in comparison. I am hoping i can be more involved in his school .. and he fell sick with block nose just after 2 days of lesson. I think i will stop him from gog to school for the rest of the week since he is sick.

Hi serenade,

I also love just being inside hotel room cos I can sleep and laze in the bath tub (when i m single) .. but for my kids, unless i let them enjoy themselves in the bathtub .. else they would not be contented just to stay in the room.

I cant allow jumping on the bed cos the two of them will collide or start a fight .. wouldnt want any accident of kids falling off bed (I think my girl is not able to handle balancing act yet)

anyway i rather go out wif 2 kids, like toy r us , then stay indoor having to make sure they are not up to mischief.

Hi Kristin's mom,

What you said is correct. I hope there is a toy store like toy r us around so that i can hv them entertained .. and with kids around, definitely need to go easy.

oh, how i wish my kids love dim sum ..

Hi Jan,

Thanks for the tips. I am staying in causeway bay, so i think i will go sogo for a walk but not sure if i shd be getting more toys hehe ..

now you are getting me worried abt gog to disney with the kids. This is their first time gog to a theme park unless the one at pasir ris considered as one. I am also worried about my kids (er actually my girl of 2.5 yr definitely not gog to meet) not able to meet the height requirement of the rides.. :-(

Just drop by while do my final revision before exam later.

Sherlyn...dun worry too much, just go and enjoy yourself with your kids. Think some rides your girl might not meet the height requirement but other she can go with you.

Hi Moshi,
Ya, busy term for me..heehee. Not sure what's like for racial harmony. But Hannah is definitely more aware of the different ethnic groups. She used to differentiate by colors and now know that its not right to do so. Hmm, I don't think they are required to wear ethnic clothes; I certainly hope not.

Kids Kampong sounds fun! We should all visit it one day.

hey ladies
heard from a friend that kids kampong is in a sorry state,

Jan, what do u think of the place?

hi K's mom
After 2pm is melt-down time for Mel, please go ahead to meet the rest if it's the timing is better for u. We'll arrange again.

Warauku ECP is in the park itself. u can check their webby for details.

hey sherlyn
Sogo? gee, kinda of miss it here, when are u leaving for HK? Jing An will have to skip sch for a few days? Feeling excited for u guys.
Don;t forget to buy things for myself, u deserve a few bags, shoes, new wardrobe, hee hee, i am sure we supermommies can handle the kids and shop at the same time. Are u a fast shopper? I am!

hi sarah
i am gona ask the P why the sch ain't doing anything for racial day. no plans according to the calendar given to parents.

hi moshi,
you were given a calendar for the term? how nice! i believe this month is different coz there were quite a few activities going on, else it's just a little note c/o hannah.

Hi K's mom,
How about this? Go ahead and meet up with moshimoshi and sarah for lunch and I'll meet up with your family for dinner? But be prepared for Brandon's grouchiness during the evening. He's still trying to adjust to school.

Hi sarah, moshimoshi,
Brandon's school does give us s booklet on what they will be covering this term. In fact, there's 2 booklets - one for English lessons and another for Chinese. I'm not sure if it is common for preschools to perform reading assessment. Brandon just had his assessment done two days ago. And we have a communication book for any concerns. And I like his teachers. They are willing to spend time discussing about the kids.

Hi Serenade,
Wow! Reading assessment? CH is certainly different.

I think that's the difference between CC and kindy. I remembered there were much more communication between me and teachers during her Kinderland days. Mainly becos class size smaller too. Topics for the term will be printed on communication book at start of term, and along the way, both verbal and written communication. In a way, I miss those updates..Teachers? I prefer her current ones.

let me start something here. We spoke of a bbq that never happens. I've checked my side for pit availability. All Sats are booked till 28 Jul. So anyone keen? Or if you ladies are ok with Friday evening, we can do it on 6th Jul.

fyi, my place is 10 mins walk away from Yew Tee MRT. And hope those in east/middle part of sgp can come ... it's just a 20-25 mins drive away (TPE/SLE/KJE) :>

K's mom, hope you can join ... then some of those who have yet to meet u can meet u :>

Meilan, hope you have settled down and can come too.

no time to check if the date clashes with other meetups, just shout if it does...

I'll need to know by Monday if it's for 6th Jul. If not, it's ok... hubby's been wanting to do one for ourselves :>

6th Jul

28th Jul

Hi mums,
My pc is alive again but I'll be busy installing programmes as PC was formatted to resume business.

Thank you for the prayers for Benny, he's off dressing now and wound has already closed up. We'll be meeting his surgeon tomorrow for medical review.. If everything's ok, then he'll be back to school next week.

Bryan is still with my in laws as we don't want Benny to jump and play around too much. Just receive call from MIL that Bryan is running a temperature and they're bringing him to PD. Aiyo, wanted to see him but afraid that he might cry for me again after I left.. Then my MIL will have a hard time handling him.

Hi Sherlyn, are u staying at the Excelsior - if yes, sogo is just behind the hotel. hahaa, no intention to buy but ended up like a toys spree as the prices are v attractive esp those Bandai robots which my son loves. Guess it's cos they are made in HK. The polly pocket sets (for girls) are less than half of the price in sp. Public transport is a breeze even with kids in tow - we took everything from mtr, cabs, trams, ferry and buses depending on the destinations. ya, we brought pullups along for emergencies for the younger ones. I use this website (http://www.tripadvisor.com/) to research for places to visit, hotels to stay, etc. They have v candid reviews which gave u a real picture and useful tips. There is a Toys Rus in one of the malls at causeway bay....Windsor place I think.

Same as Sherlyn, my boy is in PCF, is really boring if gotta compare with u gals private kindy.. For Outings With School, the teacher prefers no parents involvment as to train them to be independent. Of course, we can still communicate with the Teacher via communication book, but sometimes find that very paiseh.. as keep asking how's our little one doing in school.

Hi sarah, great idea! I saw kids kampong has discount prices for groups so if someone organises, then we save money for the kids to have fun. Moshi, I was there more than a year ago and it was ok then. Limited animals but we enjoy the longkang fishing and feeding the koi.

<font color="ff6000">yippie..</font> <font color="0000ff">Joanne, Finally see your posting here.. take good care yourself.. Dont worry too much, I'm sure your PIL will take good care of Bryan at this moment.</font>

worry mum..
yeah, you're right, they will take good care of him.. just that I'm missing him alot..the last time I saw him was on Sunday.. know what I mean?

hehe.. thanks for the hug..

Kristin mum
nearly forgot to reply u. Like what worry mum said.. we try not to give Benny heaty stuffs.. so no chocolates yet. By next week, Benny should be back to school so most likely you'll be only seeing me and Bryan unless it's a weekend.

hi ky
6 jul is not good for us cos; mel will be visiting the Animal Resort and i would think she will be napping longer that day. And there's a BBQ to attend the next day, it will be too much BBQ for the week;)

hey, can i suggest u host the National Day party? u know, the red and white themed party i mentioned?

hi K's mom
I thought we aren't meeting so i've invited a friend over to my pl, so can't meet u on 2 jul.

Hm... how abt 13 jul? or 20 jul? Lunch at abt 1230pm?

hi joanne
nice to hear from u again!

I'll need to know by Monday if it's for 6th Jul. If not, it's ok... hubby's been wanting to do one for ourselves :> From: KY

6th Jul
1. Serena & belle

I'm ok with this date KY.

Hi Joanne, welcome back. Don't know you well but had heard alot from Worry mum. I think Worry mum is truly a good friend of yours. She updates us all the time about your status.
Good friends are really hard to come by and when we spot one, we leech on them for life lah! Haha.... anyway hope everything is okay now with Benny. Is Bryan your elder boy?

Hi ky!

If you are hosting the bbq on Jul 6, we'll be there. Fri evening is good time.

Should I bring a dish too?

Jul 6 BBQ:
1) kristins_mom (2A 2C)

Hi moshi2!

Looks like Jul 2 will be quite tough...

When's a good time to meet for you?
Too bad that school hols are over. It does make things a lot easier.

But the brighter side is that we don't see crowds everywhere when we go back.

Looks like we need to meet up during weekends...
but I've only got two weekends available. Tentatively, my dh has in mind a short getaway for some couple time during the second weekend. Leaving the kids behind with the grandparents would be ideal! But we haven't booked anything yet.

O yes, you were saying that Mel's school is near Bishan.
Is that restaurant in Bishan Park still there?? Now I can't really remember the name of the place. Maybe we could arrange to meet there for lunch one of the days. Then perhaps, Meilan and Sarah can join us too.

Meilan and Sarah, are you reading this???
Can?

Hi Ky, like what kristin mom says, let us know what you want us to bring. I can prepare fruit salad. That's my most confident dish. Ha.. will try to think of something else. My hubby probably will not be able to make it.

HI Serenade!

Wow... CH is really good!!!
Reading assessment for 4-year-olds! Nothing for my son, but I'm sure Brandon will do very well. In fact, aren't the teachers at CH surprised that he's so advanced in his speech? ;)

We'll try to catch you one of the weekday evenings and do dinner together. Maybe Jul2 is too early a date... a bit rush. I still have to see if the kids settle well back into the routine.

Yes, I'm gonna sedate them. Coz it's better that they get rest and get over with the jet lag quickly than being cranky all day. Maybe piriton might work this time

O, meant to ask you the last time: Did you fly back to Sg in the new airbus? SQ? If yes, how's the seat arrangements for your family? Coz it's all 3-3-3 in a row.

B will absolutely enjoy the inflight entertainment. It's K that I'm worried about. She was the one creating trouble during our short flight to London recently. I'd rather sit with B anytime!

Think I'd have to wear brown paper bag over my head... this is gonna be one long embarassing flight with my screaming K!!!

Hi moshi2!

We can also meet in the evening for dinner too, weekday? That way we won't have to cook!
How about Waraku in ECP then??

Now that it's summer here, I've been letting my children sleep a little later. Besides, with the often travelling, they've been quite alright now with longer nights.

Is the West Coast area still being blacklisted as a dengue-zone?

Was hoping to revisit the playgrounds there. Also love the outdoor area of Mac's there. So convenient to have brunch there right after some outdoor play in the morning.

Will be upset if we can't do West Coast Park at least once when we are back.

Hi moshi2!

Any commitments early on Sat morning? If Mel is an early riser, we could meet for breakfast. Just an idea..

We are definitely going to do dim sum when we are back. You can watch B gobble down Char Siew Pao. He calls himself the Char-Pao-Boy. No idea why he leaves out the word "Siew" though.

Serena,

Bryan is my younger boy. He's 2yo

You're right, must leech on to worry mum.. "Si also mai pang" hehe.. Thou we just sms, she did remind me to be strong and fight on with Benny as I was feeling quite down before the surgery.. same goes to all forum mates in this thread, guess the prayers and words of encouragement did works!!

FYI, worry mum's residence and mine are just a street apart. So when Benny has fully recovered.. I'll be pestering her for swimming session during the weekends.. worry mum, right?

worry mum

I saw the leap frog writing pad.. very ex leh.
Is it worth to invest in a set? You mention VCD during your visit.. but I don't see any in store?

Kristin's mum, my ex boss told me to try seatguru.com and you can see which is the best seat for your flight, then you can request for that particular seat. He told me during their recent trip to US, they got the most comfortable seat! Try it out and let me know if it's good ok?

Serenade: I did go down to swim this evening, but only for a short while because had to visit a friend at KK. By the way, I wanted to pass you some muffins too.. may be next time when we arranged to meet ok.

wow.. reading assessment for 4 yo kid.. wow stress me liao ah... actually I met up with my girl's teachers today because I was away when they had the Teacher-parents conference day, and i realised that they gave out hol work and project to do during school holidays! I saw a completed project , but mostly done by mother i think, very impressive but to me.. stress again... hahaha...

Joanne: good to hear that Benny is doing well. Praise the Lord!
Yes.. Leap frog is good, I bought one from amazon.com and it's very cheap cf Singapore. But you need to have someone to bring it back for you otherwise the shipping can be ex too.

Worry mum,

your boy's PCF still hv communication book and outing ? my boy's PCF no outing so far (already half yr) and also no book .. only had a parent teacher meet where they let me see some worksheets that my boy has done, and show me a few photo and a book that records where he stand in terms of some skill sets tat i need to sign and return the next day.

Moshimoshi,

I am never a fast shopper. I am rather "moneyminded" and would be very afraid to buy things without going through much thinking cos if i do not use that item that i bought, then it would sit in the "whatever" place to collect dust and keep reminding me what a "bad investment" that I hv made. hehe

ya JA will skip school for a few days, makes not much a deal in terms of money (see money minded) cos it is oni $4 a day. Moreover, he is often sick (not gog to school these 2 days cos flu after 2 days in school) during sch term but holiday one mth, no sick leh.

haha, u also think i need a few new bags, a few new shoes and a new wardrobe rite? truely i needed all these, but i dun dress up when i go out wif kids (as you all hv seen), and i need a big bag that can accomodate changes of clothes, 2 water bottles, and other stuff so usually dun buy bags .. and i seriously need shoes, but only like flats and not "banana style" (ie flip flop like), easy to match (ie black in color), so really hard for me to buy shoes (been looking for new shoes on and off for months liao) .. and new wardrobe .. i m always getting fatter by days, unless i buy bigger size to accomodate growth (like kids hehe) .. else i stick to the normal t-shirt jeans match.

sound like picky person hor ..

5 yrs ago when i m in HK during the sales , suppose alot of pp say can buy alot of things in HK sales, but i oni end up with a bag, 1 top, 3 skirts.

you need me to get u anythg ? no promise, but i can buy if i come across while walking ard.

Hi Jan,

Ya that is the hotel .. oh sogo just behind ? my hubby still say a short walk away, then look like i m gog to idle my time away there plus the toy r us u mention. my kids are not trained to do shopping wif me, so it is really difficult to go shopping with 2 in tow, even in the toys section, cos they will only choose to stick to the section of toys they like and play away. my gal esp, likes to wander off after shaking my hands off her hands.

Too bad my kids (ya girl too!) are very much into cars ..

you need anymore toys ?

Yesterday exam went on Ok I think. Another 2 assignment and one more final exam and I am done with my 3 month course. It was hard to study with a child.

Wow...lots of gatherings...do enjoy yourselves ladies. How I wish I am home too.

Welcome back Joanne. Glad to know that Benny is recovering very well.
Leapfrog are very good, Kai has one too.
The 5 DVD are very good, Kai loves them. 3 of them focus on phonics, one on I can read and the other on Maths.

Serenade, wow....CH test the children for reading ...Brandon should do very well. And he adapted so well that you should not have any worry.

Got to go and homeschool Kai now and also do some planning for the long weekend, probably go to fruit picking in a farm.

Hi Sarah,

I think that's very true. The small class size allows the teachers to know the kids better. In fact, I "briefed" the teachers on my worries on the first day of school. And yesterday, the teacher feedback on the communication book that Brandon is mingling well with the other kids. And for chinese, the chinese teacher reassured me that it's fine even though Brandon understands no chinese. She didn't urge me to send him for extra classes which made me very relieved. Guess I'll just follow the school syllabus and coach him accordingly.

And thanks for the advice on school bus :p Will be taking the school bus with him on Monday, to & fro school. Cheryl will be taking the ride too

Hi ky,

Just checked with Brandon and he would love to attend the BBQ. What time will the BBQ be starting? If it ends early, we might not be able to join you gals.