(2003) Calling all 2003 babies

Hi ky!

Agree with Serenade on the video clips...

Hmm, maybe we'll go for some lessons when we are back. Does the gym offer lessons for only a couple of weeks?

I'm so thrilled when I saw how the coach was teaching the children the basics of a cartwheel... so that's how young children learn it. Bryan's been wanting to learn cartwheel.

So I'll just register for trial lesson, and the gym will contact me?

K's mum...Kai's school also has lots of break, I think it is basically American and Canada school and they do not learn much in school.

Aiya, Pris. I tear la when I watch/listen to this parent wish. I miss my late dad..well, his 1st yr anni is this sunday. I am very emotional type one. Am ok now.

Kristn's mom & Pris, Just a few months back there was this debate game on TV. The last 2 group that went in was United College and Hwa Chong. Who would have thought that United College actually won the championship. The next day, Straits Times starts to feature articles on the debate and parents starts to question whether our local school can really prepare our kids for the society? Or is it United World college with their more emphasis on questioning and less emphasis on academic that really clicks?!! So in conclusion, what the "ang moh" may have for their kids is not that bad after all. So, don't feel stress out. I find S'pore likes to emphasis so much on academic and does not encourage kids to think out of the box. Most parents get sucked into this culture.

Apricot...like you I still missed my dad after he passed on for more than a decade already.

Serena...over here the public school is not very well run, since they do not test the children and also heard from some parents who pull out their children and homeschool then that the kids are not learning anything. The private school are great, they do lots of thinking out of the box and also have a good curriculum but it is very costly and those that are topping the University are basically from the private school. Lots of dropout in Public Secondary school since the teacher could not discipline the students.

Serenade, K's mom, u from the same girls' school? Serenade, it's Mrs Seah (not Mrs Xia). And yes, though she's strict, she's actually a very nice teacher. U know Miss Lily Ong, the one who teach Geog ... she passed away a couple of wks ago. Oh, and the principal I had was Mrs Chee. Really very different from Miss Carmee Lim. The first time I hear her speak is in B's school ... she's really very charismatic. Is she like that as a principal? I remember a "Goofy" Goh who was super-solid in a-maths and could draw a perfect circle with his hand and a Anthony Tan, a nerdy chemistry teacher. one of the chinese male teacher married a student from my batch ....

Serena, u want to learn tuina? I did go for a 3-hr workshop... it's been really useful but you have to keep doing it. Know some mothers didn't do after the workshop.

K's mom, think your kids are doing great ... the gym needs a payment of 3 months in advance but u can kiv the course till couple of yrs (when ready) but there's no refund ... one trial is free btw.

ah ... Moshi2, would really need your advice on enrichment programmes then ... perhaps can discuss online since I never can find a good time to meetup with u gals ...

.ky.

Ky, I didn't know they teach tuina. Too lazy to pick it up. Actually I prefer my girl to go for gym instead.. I saw on TV some outdoor gym but I'm not sure where. If you know of any, pls let me know.

Pris, I thought in Europe education is free that's why you high taxes! I know in Copenhagen, people pay 64% taxes and they don't have much left for savings. But education and healthcare is free.

hi ky!

Potato head Tan wasn't really my teacher. But he was around then.
I remember goofy goh too.
And yes, Mrs Seah, every student had to kowtow to her... once she insisted my pvc shoes were leather shoes. and she went, "girl, you know what I think aout leather shoes. They will turn yellow. so don't let me see you wearing them again."

Yeah... Lily Ong was both my georg and eng teacher. So sad to hear about her passing away.

Mrs Chee was the p when i first started before she went into retirement? Was it? Then it was Carmee Lim. She had alot of goals for the school...

Oh.. then we can go for the trial lesson for the gym? actually I was hoping we could pay on each lesson for short term.

Hi Serena!

As in the case of US and Canada, to enjoy a good education here in a private school in europe requires one to pay through his nose.

public schools in germany are so lowly ranked in PISA that even Germans here take any opportunities to send their children to international schools, esp in cities with eng-speaking communities. german families try to send their children to a bilingual (german-eng) school where affordable.

Hi ky and Kristin's mom,

Think Lily Ong was my geography teacher too. Is she the one with a round face? Sad to know that she has passed away.

Mrs Chee was the P for the first 3 three years until Carmee Lim took over. I always felt that Mrs Chee has a more serious and quiet disposition but yet motherly. Whereas Carmee Lim is fun and animated.

Serena...even with the high tax in Vancouver too, the public education is consider free but there is not standard and to get a really good education, it is through the private school like what K's mum has mentioned to pay through the nose.

I have a friend in England now, she is married to a Briton told me that the free healthcare is very bad and there is a lack of doctors and it is costly to go to private healthcare and they do not have ob/gyn for delivery for public healthcare so only midwife.

hi all... sorry for missing in action for a while..
for those who like to go West Coast park, think safely to avoid that area first since it has high dengue cases!
Serenade: think we are playing hide and seek.. haha.. my hubby told me he saw your & hubby just came back , and I was just few mins earlier and was rushing home first to feed my girl lunch, otherwise I would see you in car park too!
Just now came back from dinner, again saw this guy throwing boxes at basement car park, again my hubby told me it's your hubby.. is it him??
I don't work on Friday, so usually less time to go on line..

so when is the next outing again? is the potluck still on?

Serena: were you the one talking about Balik Kampung promo? i took my friend there as well, good deal, but i was told i can only bring 1 new friend to entitle that promo lei.. !

Hi 4ChongChong,
Saw your hubby a couple of times - yesterday and today. Yup, that was my husband

Serenade: so you are SAHM right? is your hubby back to work? when I dont see you car, I always think you guys are out, so dare not sms you or give you a surprise by knocking on your door!

haha, luckily u didn't. we were out most of the times. Otherwise, busy cleaning up :p. And most nights, we were downstairs with the kids cycling

stress ah.. tomorrow school starts.. back to usual morning rush again... !

anyone had problem asking the kids to go to bed earlier tonight? I am sure my girl cannot wake up tomorrow morning.. for the past month, she has been waking up late at about 9+am!

oh.. then we cannot meet in the pm?

usually I can meet in the afternoon on wed, thurs since work half day.

ok.. going to sleep now... tomorrow long day for me.. sigh..

to all mummies, hope tomorrow all kids will go back to school happily ok

Hi 4ChongChong,
How about we set up a date and bring the kids downstairs one day? We aren't exactly comfortable with visits yet. House is still in a mess. Hope you understand

hello mommies
i am free again in the mornings! yeah yeah yeah, can't wait to visit the hairdresser, to breakfast at leisurely pace and to just daydream! heehee

hi sherlyn
thanks for the reminder abt the youth day holiday, i just have to confirm with the sch that kids are getting a day off on 2 jul.

hi k's mom
hope 2 jul mon is good for u too. brunch will be good. sarah and serenade can join too, i believe.

hey serenade and 4chongchong,
how fun and convenient to live so close to each other! with the facilities at ur place, there are a lot to do together!

i have this idea for a National Day Party in August.
The Theme: Happy Birthday Singapore!
The guests: All dressed in red and white
The goodies: Anything we can eat in red and white
The deorations: red n white balloons, red/white table cloth, chairs, cutleries? ....

hee, excuse me if this sounds too crazy, but i think it will be fun!

Serenade: no problem, fully understand , how about wed evening? or you want to come to my place? i am ok.
heh.. your 10 floor neighbour husband also a pilot, now posted in US, coming back in August! then we will have more kaki!
Moshi: your idea sounds good! think the kids will love it!
yes.. it's good to have good neighbours and I must say I am very lucky, have quite a few good friends nearby and we get together for the kids to play and the mummies to chat and eat!

Hi moshi2!

really love your idea of national day party, if only Bryan would be around... sigh!

We'll be back in Frankfurt then. Bryan isn't gonna have a big birthday bash. In fact he hasn't after we came here. As for Kristin, none at all so far. Celebration is only a quiet family affair. No extended family and cousins around, sigh!

In fact, we used to make use of the PH in Aug to celebrate Bryan's birthday since it's so near National Day anyway.

Hi moshi2, Sarah, Serenade, Sherlyn, ky!

Am not sure if Jul 2 will be a school hol for the kindies.
If it is, we might be able to meet you for lunch. Am expecting the kids to wake up late coz they won't be sleeping early for the first night. Besides, dh and I will be scooting off to attend a wedding dinner right after we land, so children will be too excited playing with grandparents without us around.

Let me know if you have any locations in mind.
Holland V is definitely not children-friendly.
We can always go downtown or IMM.

Or if you wanna visit us??? Can...

Hi 4chongchong!

Where do you work?

Can I pay you a visit while you are working?

I need to get all the medication that I can get over the counter to treat common colds, cough, diarrhea. Easier that way coz doctors over here do not give anything like piriton for runny nose. In fact, I had to get a bottle while I was in London recently. Travelling and shopping for medication - terrible, right? If my MIL knew about this... pantang pantang!!!!

Also, I need to get my supply of Lemsip. The equivalent of Lemsip here costs almost 9 Euros, i.e. 18 SGD for only 6 sachets!!! So ex!

Weather here's been weird. Frequent downpour now. Temp still hovers around 20 deg. I think summer is already over. I've been hearing cases of stomach flu now... am praying the kids will be fine till we get back to Sg. At least the grandparents should see that they've been really putting on weight first.

Sigh... am sure you know, nothing beats good health for little children.

Hi 4ChongChong,
How abt tomorrow afternoon around 5pm? Planning to bring Cheryl down for some fun. Otherwise, she will be cooped up whole day at home.

Haha, there's more than one other pilot family in our condo. Not sure if you know the previous family on 7th floor. The husband is now a SIA pilot, but was formerly from RSAF too. Believe that there's still at least 2 other pilot families in other blocks. The other family on 10th floor is from SAF if I'm not wrong. Also, there are other pilots living in nearby housing too. :p

Hi Serenade!

How's Brandon's first day at school? Did you snap photos?

How's the ferrying part? O yes, forgot to ask you if Cheryl is also attending too.

Kristin is following whatever her brother does now every day. She must have a bag to take along with her to school. And then she'll try to remove her jacket and hang it and her bag in the cubby. SHe is absolutely ready for school now. But she still has to wait till fall this year to start officially.

Hi Lena,
That's what we have been doing every year on National day - Red & White dressing. No problem on meeting the attire suggestion :p Food wise, any good suggestion?

Hi Serenade!

I meant I did remember a shy, timid Sec 1 girl who sang "You Light up My Life". She's Emma Yong.

No lah... never sang... but did performances with the Chinese Orchestra all the time. Never really got to watch a real school concert. Only rehearsals. And anything from backstage... deprived right???
So when I was in JC, I vowed not to join any performing clubs... but the CO there still hounded me.

Vivian, which school your children attending? childcare or kindergarten? Any good? Do you mind if I call you Vivan here? I like this name better? Ha..

Ky, I lost your email. Wanted to tell you that no wonder I was surprise to find Meilan and your name in WI. Why are you not going to Snow Dragon with your child? I want to join you mummies. Wait till I submit my resignation first..
Lena, great idea! But the red food abit tricky. White should be quite easy to find.

Hi kristin's mom,

Your kids are napping now, aren't they?

How's your preparation for the home trip? Intend to "sedate" the kids on the airplane?

Everything went well on the first day. No separation anxiety at home. In fact, he told me that I could go home
. No official ferrying yet until next week. My hubby's the chauffer for the week, hehe... Glad that Brandon enjoys his school and friends very much. He is able to repeat some parts of the chinese song he learned today. And he's very proud of his "cooking". Made some soup in school and fed us his "good" cooking :p

Kristin looks ready to attend school! I bet she'll enjoy school just like her brother. And Bryan will take good care of her too. That's the good thing of having siblings in the same school.

Hey, how about putting some ideas here?

Red Food : strawberries, ang ku kwei?, jelly, agar agar, sorbet, red dragon fruit

White Food : vanilla ice cream, finger sandwiches, mashmallows,