(2003) Calling all 2003 babies

Jan, welcome.

Joanne, glad that everything is over. Rest well and be strong.

Kristin, offer for spa is still on. Will wait for you to be back. Don't know why I feel that you are someone with high EQ? Say, were you very popular in school? ha...

Apricot, I remembered Guo Mei Mei sang one song on cockroach too. Anyway, counting down? Remember to look at F4 more often!!

Hi Serena!

Sorry to disappoint you... eq not high lah. Talkative and kaypoh, yes, thus eq very very low... haha!

Anyway, let me know if nobody takes the spa offer.

Hi mommies in the west!

Anyone keen to meet up on weekday mornings/afternoons? First three weeks of Jul.

We'll be in Dover Park View. Within walking distance from MRT station. I think there's a children's pool. Not too sure if there's a wading pool just for chilling out. Let me find out first. Otherwise we can always meet elsewhere...

Or we can always go to IMM, Science Centre. Can also go shopping or makan together.

What do you think?

Hi mommies!

I am finally "connected"! Life is finally back to norm. Sorry for missing last fri date. Good news - my kids are well now. Bad news - mommy is down with blocked nose.

Hi Joanne,
Sorry to hear about Ben. But I'm sure he's recovering well now and will be running about in no time. Stay strong!

Hi Sarah,
Would like to second kristin's mom's (kind of funny, haha) suggestion.

How about meeting up this friday before the kids start school again? Promise I'll definitely attend, sick or no sick (Just joking) :p

Hi Ky,
Thanks for your info on the gym. Think I'll be signing Brandon up for that too since it's highly recommended by you
But he'll be starting on gym only next term, after this Edudrama class.

Hi Kristin's mom,
You can drop by my place anytime. We have enough pools to keep the kids entertained. But Brandon will be attending school in the afternoon. So, that will leave Cheryl with me only. Perhaps 4ChongChong can join us?

Hi 4ChongChong,
My house is still in a mess. Think it will be a while before we can get the place tidy up.

Actually, I wanted to pay you a visit but we were not feeling well since two Saturdays ago. Didn't want to pass the bug to your family. Both my kids love going downstairs to cycle. Maybe we should have cycling dates for them
For swimming, daddy needs to be around cos I'm a lousy swimmer :p

Hi Serenade, glad to know your kids are better. I have a dryer at home and had one for 5 years. I don't hang out my washing. Usually use dryer. Especially good for bedsheets and comforter. My washing machine is usually set to 60 degree c for bedlinens and then put in dryer. Under such "hot" conditions, dust mite cannot thrive! Also good during raining season. One thing to take note, your electricity bill goes up. My monthly PUB is $300++. I think my huge bill is caused by my dryer and refrigerator.

Serenade, forgot to add: if you don't mind the extra PUB bill then I think dryer is a good investment. The clothes are cleaner than you hang out in the sun!

Mummies, my girl is down with fever AGAIN. She is always down with fever or flu every month! I think it's because I put her in childcare for half a day. I think maybe a kindergarten would be a better bet. At least there's a break in June and Dec. For childcare centre, there's no school holidays and you're still expected to pay the fees. Any recommendations for a kindergarten in Bukit Panjang
Does any of your kids get sick every month? I give my girl scotts emulsion everyday. Anyone gives something different that's effective?

Serena,
Oh dear.. Adabel is sick again! My Benjamin is very prompt to flu too. However, lately my mum give him eating beef. I think it helps him to build up his immunity too.. try it out..

<font color="0000ff">Kristin's mom</font>
Hmm.. weekday ah.. All kids are schooling and most mummies are working.. All your weekend are fully booked?

<font color="ff6000">Priscilla</font>
Wow.. wow.. great cook! keep drooling leh.. how? Looking forward for your returns in Nov/Dec, think u must find some times to conduct class for our mummies here..

<font color="0077aa">Serena</font>
Ur monthly PUB bills $300++? wow.. that's very high.. How many ppl staying in your house? Aircon daily?

<font color="aa00aa">Sereneade</font>
Glad that you are connected back again! missing you..

Hi, Joanne

Glad to know that the ops went well. You're a strong mother and so is Benny. Pls rest well.

Hi K's mom, I haven't scrap in quite a few months. U looking at digital or paper SB? A mother I know via this forum has just started a SB biz and it seems biz pretty good. maybe can consider getting from her?

Serena, can I ask generally to dry a load of clothes, how long do you run the dryer for? I have a washer cum dryer but except for 1 time during my confinement moons ago, I've never used it. Took very long and yet clothes still damp, and crumpled. And anyway, we are pretty conscious about high electricity bills. our bills appr $150 since maid came on board.

Hi Serenade, good to hear from u... if time and place is appropriate for me this friday, I don't mind meeting up. I had a bad start this week and some retail therapy would be good for me .... hahaha

Hi Serenade, I'm superstituous, hence I don't comment abt my kids' health when they are well.... but currently, B's having a phlegmy cough. He was last down in Jan. I let him exercise a lot and do TCM tuina, and when he's down, we try to keep a positive mind. In the past, when he's ill, we'll say "why can't u cough and spit out the phlegm. why do u keep coughing? where and did u catch the bug from, etc." ... it's pretty negative comments. Now we'll always encourage him to cough it out and praise him when he does that and keeps reminding him that his cough is recovering and he's doing well.

.ky.

Hi K's mom,

I always need to re-create account to sign in to blog. Is this the correct method?

and when i tried to re-sign in with user id and password, thereafter.. click to continue nothing happen. I'm a flop to blog... sorry to bother you..

Hi Serenade,
Good to see you online again.

I think dryer is a good investment. Especially on rainy days. One advantage, you don't have to iron the clothes if you remove them from dryer immediately. I used mine for bedlinens and on rainy days. Personally, I like clothes with the sun smell.

Hi Serena,
Your PUB bill very shocking! Refrigerator should not be more than $50. Cook every meals? If not, it has to be your aircon. I was told aircon's temp should be 24-26, it helps to reduce bills.

We shall stick to potluck.

Gathering
Date: Sat, 7 Jul
Time: ??
Venue: ??

Interested mommies, please sign up:
1. kristin's mom
2. serenade
3. sarah

Any mommy wants to host? Sorry, my function room is not available that day - the management occupying it for family day event. Unless you do not mind outdoor.

Hi Kristin's mom,
I clicked on [new post] and starts typing. Then I clicked [publish] when done. That's all right? But somehow, the [edit post] icon always appear on my post. Just wondering why.

Hi all ,

i m looking for this doctor , Dr Lee Seow Lang , from CHYE CHILDREN CLINIC ... previous add of her clinic is at Toa payoh Blk 54 , but she moved already ... any one know where is she now ? pls email / PM me : [email protected]

thank

Hi serenade
great to be connected isn't it, hope to chat online with u soon.

hi serena
i second your opinion abt k's mom high EQ, no doubt abt it!
how's adabel today? yeh, probably going to a kindy is a better bet if there's no necessity for child care. then again, if she's happy with the current sch, keeping her there is good too, unless she adapts quickly to new env.

hi pris
u know what, u should start ur own food blog, thousands of hits per day guaranteed!

hi k's mom
abt 7 jul, i can only make it for dinner, i have class till 4p.m.

Brunch Out
22 June Friday
Venue: ??? Town? (Centralised spot for all)
Time: 1030am

1. sarah
2. serenade
3. ky
4. moshimoshi

Brunch Out
How abt Great World City, i like this new restaurant Say Cheesecake, they serve to-die-for, well, cheesecakes! 30 varieties!

Hi 2003 kids mum,

Anyone send your kids for music class and dance class?

My girls like dancing and wondering if anyonne can recommend me a school? Any opinion about dancepoint or forms at bukit timah plaza?

I would love to join the brunch, but I have promised to host the southwest playgroup this friday as the main host could not host it. So count me out this friday.

Remember my boy attend class from 8am to 1030pm? so i guess I would still be able to attend brunch when school reopens. hehehe. okie, joking. I know you all have kids attending classes at other timings.

As for venue, last nite "on the beat" prog at channel U recommended a place where kids can play (like in safra or explorakid in pasir ris) in dempsy road or something like that, near botanic garden. Not sure if that is a good place. It has the playground, a manicure salon, a eating cafe facing the playground too.

The gathering on 7th Jul, can it be a morning thing so that the kids can still go back for nap ? Currently I am available :)

Hi Kristin's mom,

I am thinking abt starting to digi scrap too, so tat my fotos would not just lie there sitting in the PC serving no purpose. So I will try to start reading from the internet .. but it sure doesnt look easy.

Hi Serenade, I've been using a dryer for 5 yrs. Can't live without it - panick when it broke down beginning of this year. Was pleasantly surprised when my power bill decreased after using the dryer.
Think reason is cos without dryer, need to run the washer more frequently else not enuf space to hangdry. With a dryer, can wait till the washer is full load. Thus, save on water & elect?? Moral of story - I love the dryer!

Sorry, ladies, have to count me out for brunch. I gotta fetch B from school each day at noon and don't think I'll pull him out from school just to go makan.

7th Jul : I can't commit too. Most likely is no coz B's got gym in evening and we've got something on in the morning.

do go ahead and plan without me... enjoy!

K's mom, I'll catch u when u r back in Sg another time ...

Pris, I've found a community of bakers/cooks and wow, the food they can dish up are fantastic... u should do one too since u already doing this in a sort of a way ...

.ky.

Cannot make it for 22Jun brunch cos I am working. Cannot make it on 7Jul morning time cos I have gynae morning checkup on 7Jul and also need to attend Aston's 2nd Sem Parent-Teacher discussion in the afternoon.
Hence, do enjoy yourselves !

Brunch Out
22 June Friday
Venue: Say Cheesecake, Great World City (next to MacDonald's)
Time: 1030am

1. sarah
2. serenade
3. moshimoshi

Ky? Any more mommies?

Hi moo87!

Hmmm... why do you have to re-create account to log in?

Your account has already been created using your hotmail address, I suppose?

The blog recognises your hotmail address as authorised author. So I'm afraid you need to always sign in with your hotmail address.

Try again, and let me know if you still need help.

Hi Worry-Mum!

We only have two full weekends 7&8 and 14&15, then we'll be flying off on the 21st already.

So the perhaps potluck thingy I suggested is still on a weekend.

Generally weekends are pretty impt for dh too since he'll be working all three weeks/ not on vacation, sigh.

HI Sarah!

I don't know if i can book the function room at such a short notice. Only checking in on Jul 1.

Hmmm, was thinking: if the group is gonna remain small, maybe we could meet to makan also.
Or we can start like tenish for dim sum... hee, we love dim sum!!!

So far, we're flexi: Morning/afternoon/evening

Not so worried about their nap. Coz they'll resist it anyway, since it's not their usual environment.

My nephew has discharged from hospital after his Chemotherapy. His adnormal cells are gone but his immunity is low because Chemo killed some of his normal cells. Thanks for praying...

Hi all mummies

I am a lazy mummy when it comes to updating my blog, hardly have time to do it and so do very little. I do have a food blog attached to my blog though.

KY, care to show your community of bakers/cooks? Hope B is well now, over here summer lots of pollen so lots of children and adults are coughing.

Serena, as the child get older, immunity will improve. Kai went for Tuina when he was young from a chinese physician and it was helpful to him and since he is a active boy, we find that running also helps to strengthen his immunity. We are taking quite a bit of beef and also herbal soup at home and daily, I would tuina him according to what the chinese physician has taught me.

Keikei...Glad to know that your nephew is discharged from the hospital and that the abnormal cells are gone. Usually Chemo will reduce the immunity, just make sure he rests well and try not to let him go near any unwell people as he can easily catch the bug.

Oh, I love cheesecake le..I will sure miss you gals having fun there. Again, I am planting the naughty idea to take leave....let's see how..<font color="aa00aa">I am the famous flower leg..</font>

Apricot, i think you got the "right reason" to be on leave bah.

during my preggy days, i hv heard alot abt preggy woman taking MC, leave due to preggy reason :) too bad, i m seldom fall sick with or without pregnancy .. so seldom take MC.

Hi Keikei,

Great to hear your nephew is ok now. As long as he is healthy, low immunity for a while doesnt matter liao. ;-)

Hi ky!

Am thinking of hardcopy SB.
But so far, still haven't got time to take things out to do it with Bryan.

Am thinking of getting an album back in Sg. Albums here cost at least 50 SGD!

Worry mum, I believe my high PUB bill is due largely to my American size refrigerator and dryer. Only 3 adults and 1 child in my house. As the weather turns hotter, I have used the dryer less and I noticed my bill drop to $200++.

Thanks for the feedback on dryers. We have just placed an order for one after reading all your positive feedback.
Serena, thanks for sharing on the electric bills. I'll watch out for that.

Hi Kristin's mom,
Yup, Kit Chan was from my batch. Her singing is simply awesome, even when she was younger. I heard her sing "You Light Up My Life" during one school concert and it really impressed me a great deal. Somehow, I prefer her singing then than now :p.

Hi Jan, Welcome!

Hi Apricot,
Go on and take the day off! Otherwise when the babies arrive, you might hardly get the chance to take the day off and hang out with us :p.

Hi moshimoshi, sarah,
I'm fine with Great World City. And cheesecakes, yummy, yummy, yummy! But I'll have to watch out my weight. Think I have put on a kg or two since I return to Sg. Gosh, that's a lot! Now I can see my tummy bulging! Oops, must visit the gym soon to burn calories. Anybody else interested in joining us for a cheesecake feast this Friday? Serena? moo87? 4ChongChong? Other mommies? Ky, hope to meet you in person soon

Hi Ky,
Thanks for your advice. Guess I was just too overjoyed that everything is back to normal. Btw, thanks for sharing the tips on catching bugs. They are very helpful. Thanks!

Have you gals thought of going for the tuina course? A friend of mine attended the course and she does it for her kids nowadays. I might consider attending it too.

hi k's mom
we can probably meet u on a fri when the gals, mel and hannah are off from sch, say 12ish for lunch.
as for 7 jul, i was just informed of a BBQ to attend, so moi won't be free.

we'll see how it goes, keep in touch.