(2003) Calling all 2003 babies

Wow...K'smum...you are going back to visit Singapore too.

Serenade...welcome back.

I should be back in Dec 2007 or Jan 2008. No sure whether we be back for good yet or will be heading down south. If we do move down south will be back till March 2008.

Keikei....your nephew will be healed and cure completed by the Lord. Will be praying for him too.

Apricot...I am getting very excited for you. Your princes will be arriving next month. Remember to show us their pic.

Hi Apricot! Are you getting an indonesian maid or filip maid? I heard filip maid salary is now US400 and indo maid, I think is S$300. I was telling the maid agency that US400 is okay provided that most Singaporean's salary also increased, then there's a balance off. But if there'no increase on our side, how do they expect us to pay? Hong Kong is paying that kind of salary to their filip maids but that's because the people there generally enjoy higher salary when you compare the same job scope and position.

Hi mummies, recently my girl has been picking up Singlish in school. Quote an example, one dinner time I asked this picky eater to finish her food if not I will do something to her. She turn around and tell me "Sure or not?"
"I want to open the T.V", "don't want lah" " I only put my hand here, what?" Sigh! I guess it's very hard to put a complete stop to this. Singlish is our culture.

Hi Serena...we have to keep on correcting them so that they will have good English. Anywhere they go, they will pick up habits and it is our duties to collect them.

I have been correcting some of the habits that Kai picked up from preschool.

Wow...for Filip maid US$400, that's alot, well, I hope that I do not need a maid when I return home just get a p/t helper to come in to clean the house once or twice a week will do.

BBQ : I'm voting for 6pm as I'll need to leave Sarah's at 8.30pm if it's at her place as I need to get back for my younger son ... but not sure if the FTWMs can get to the place at that time... for my place, I'm more flexible and my maid can help clean up :> ...

Keikei, don't think we have to chase the kids around if they are involved in interesting activities. Certainly they'll be eager to cook their own food ... right? my son has no school hols as he's in 1/2 day childcare but this week is a whacky week theme for him so each day, he has to dressed up to go to school ... checkout the NLB activities.

Serena, don't think Fil maids would be getting US$400 ... that's their govt's wish but not ours. Some maids have requested for that from their employers and want to terminate to go home to get a new contract on that pay but they soon realize there's no such employers (or perhaps not that many). Maid agencies are not obliged to follow and who wants to offer expensive maids when Singaporeans can just get 2 Indo maids for the same price? That's what my agency told me. So this news of USD$400 is not much impact to the agencies, it's biz as usual. They'll signon only those who are willing to come here to work for the same amt. For HK it's different working conditions, there's no loan and only 1 contract allowed, so pretty high risk only there. yes, pay is better there but so is standard of living.

4ChongChong, thanks for the info on medication. We used to give Ben (my older son) Rhinathol (with Promethazine) for phlegmy cough or if there's running nose, Actified. Now he's periodically gone for TCM tuina and his body immunity seemed to be better. In the past, when his phlegmy cough starts, it'll take more than 2 weeks to 4 weeks to recover before he gets hit again. Now, he has not really have since this year. My younger son was prescribed Bricanyl when he was less than 1. He was given Zytec once before, and Polaramine and Rhinathol (the red solution). Ya, seems like the medication is quite restrictive for under 2... we are more worried as he has a BIG problem taking medicine.

Pris ... ya, think I was wrong about Rachel. Knew Judy changed school for her from one to another along the stretch of Holland rd. btw, you should get a new camera since you are in a beautiful country with great scenery. Not sure if cameras are cheaper in Canada but someone told me it's more so in Japan

.ky.

Hi 4chongchong,
Greatly appreciated for your inputs abt cough and phlegm topics here. We have some discussion here before abt Fluimicil.

you quoted "If it's with phlegm, usually I will give the fluimicil 100mg sachet, you can buy from pharmacy, dissolve in water and let her drink."

Please advise how long can this be taken? meaning for max 1 week or? 1 pack for 3 times or?

Hi Sherlyn,
Like you, Moshi & I are very 'on' with naptime.
We usually meet early then leave about 2ish-3.

Moshi,Serenade,Sherlyn,
How about 10.30am? Venue? You ladies decide. I'm cool.

Hi Keikei,
Yeah, I agree with Ky. Based on our past gatherings, we have yet run after the kids. It will be good that the daddies can make it - they can be incharge of food and kids while the mommies chat.

Hi all. Sorry for missing in action since the sch hols started. I am really struggling with JK at home the whole day. Contrary to my wishful thinking, going out to meet friends is just not possible. That's why I haven't been in touch with Sarah and Lena to arrange for outings. I simply can't manage bringing both JK and JC along. Luckily, some friends have been taking turns to visit me at home and provided the kids with some entertainment.

Will not be able to join the BBQ on 22 Jun as hubby won't be home so early to send us there. But if you want me to check out the pit next to my precinct I can call the town council. It is a very ideal place to meet up as the large field next to the pit will be great for the kids to fly kites, play balls or just run around. And it's very windy in the evening but the problem is there are no toilets there and my house is a 10min walk away.

Welcome to all the new mummies here. Need some time to catch up with the past postings when I have the time to logon again. Otherwise, will come in to chat again after sch reopens and as I get adjusted to some changes.

hi meilan
was just thinkg abt u, glad that u had some friends over to babysit a little.

how abt joining us for 15june brunch? we can park ourselves at globetrotters.

hi serena
indeed, singlish is contagious, i have this problem with mel too, the la the loh pops out of her mouth very often now, how irritating, and she has the cheek to catch me with my la and loh, she will go "don't say la".

i guess we parents are the best role models, at least for now, so let's all try to speak properly, no need to use queen's eng (la) but eng without the la hor loh is good enough ;)

Brunch Out
15 june Friday
1030am
Globetrotters @ United Sq

Pl enrol here:
1. sarah
2. moshi
3. serenade
4. sherlyn

BBQ
Date: Fri, 22 Jun
Venue: ky's (Choa Chu Kang) or Sarah's (Upper Changi) or Meilan's (Sengkang)
Time: 6pm / 7pm?

Interested mommies, please sign up.

1. moshi
2. sarah
3. serenade
4. ky

Hi mummies, just went to see gynae. He says can leave the cyst alone! If I conceive, he will remove it during childbirth. I forgot to ask what happens if I don't get pregg? I'm not exactly young...
Btw forgot which mummy wanted some company for exercise. Well, I want to go fitness class like yoga, body jam or latino jam and cardio dance. Any mummies interested? I need some company! I can feel my love handles! And of course, to build up my stamina.

Hey Moshi, miss you leh. oops!! Sorry, no Singlish!! Wish I can join you guys for the brunch. Let me guess! Mel is napping so you have some time to do posting?

serena
fyi, window shopping is great exercise haha
since u work, u can claim me-time anytime, hopping into the gym after work, how nice.

okie catch u next week, gtg

Hi mummies...how's the GSS in Singapore?

Serena...too bad I am in Vancouver. I go to the GYM 3 times a week and each time 45min to an hour on cardio exercise. It is difficult to start but once you started it, you will not want to stop. I am trying to build up my stamina again so that I could go for 10km run again.

I suppose all the mummies here are about the same age, I am not that young either haahaa.

KY...electronics are not really cheap in Japan but they do have alot of models that are solely found in Japan only. And stuff like MP3 are quite cheap though. Not sure which model dh is looking at though, think he is looking for a professional camera and he is planning to buy a couple of lens to go with it. He was into photography when he was in college. He preferred the camera to the video-cam that we had.

Ha..Ha... really Sarah? I haven't met you gals yet. I'm looking forward to meeting you.

Pris, wish you were in S'pore. But you are coming back, right? Anyway, if you are in town pls let me know. Would luvvvvvvvvvvv to meet you!

Moshi, forgot to tell you. Window shopping is not exercise. My GP says if it doesn't get you panting and sweating, cannot be considered exercise. Hmm....the "other" type of exercise, I wouldn't know if it will burn off anything .ha...ha... But I think should be good for the soul?!!

Serena,
Well, at least compared to me!
Would love to join you for exercise, but you're in the West, and I'm East leh.

hi all, i am on line now, anyone wants to chat?

Serenade: where are you? still trying to settle down? no reply from you... which block are you staying, very curious to find out, so which school are you kids attending when school reopens?

worry mum and ky: no mention about my advice, but to be honest, I may not be the best person to give advice since me and my husband quite "ang-moh" don't believe in Chinese med, and don't believe in fruits can induce phlegm , cannot bathe when sick / rainy days etc, so sometimes my friends think I am " crazy " daughter just wake up I can give her cold drinks, daughter coughing I give her fresh orange juice etc! Me and my husband will not give her any runny nose or cough med unless the symptoms really bothering her! But of course if patients come to me in Pharmacy, and they request something, I will give lah.. haha..
Fluimicil I usually recommend 1 to 2 sachet three times a day, and of course you will need to observe the phlegm colour, if turn green or yellowish, or with fever, should see doc because may need antibiotic! hope this answer helps?

Yes.. will love to have some companies for exercise too.. I put on so much weight since last year! and my damn lousy excuse : NO TIME!

Oh Sarah, wish we were staying nearer. Mmnn... do you drive? Maybe we can meet in between.

4chongchong, how about you? keen? since you mentioned about losing weight. Are you staying very far?

I've just made yam cake. Doesn't look like one and the texture seems funny too. Taste a little bland & pulpy. I think I've added too much water and yam?! First attempt and a failure! sigh... I will post my yam cake photo tomorrow to show you mummies.

Look like we have quite a number of mum staying in the west.

Serena, you want my recipe for yam cake? I have been making yam cake and carrot cake since the one here does not have so much ingredients and not as tasty as homemake and buying one, I can make 3 with more ingredients so dh always ask me to me when he has the craving for carrot or yam cake. You can check it at my blog under recipe.

Pris, I brought some to the office for them to try. One of the guy laugh and said "this yam cake cannot make it" I'm so embarrassed. Can you tell me what do I do with the remaining yam cake? Also, I would love to have your recipe for yam cake.

Exercise? Go have another kid :> ... seems like most of you have only 1 child. No plans for more? For me, I'm thinner than what I used to be, and all thanks to my #2 for causing my sleepless nights *yak*

Pris, you got a good receipe for Swiss Roll? I've failed time and again... any advice?

.ky.

KY...I have some swiss roll recipes but I will have to look for them first then can share with you. Use to make them before Kai came along haahaa.

Serena, pm me your email and I will send to you.

I need some advice. What mattress size (single/super single/queen) would you reccommend for our growing up kids?

Hi moo87, my girl is using single. But I think super single would be more comfortable. What I don't quite understand is why you are thinking of even Queen size? Unless you are staying in a big house with huge rooms.

Oops sorry moo87, it cross my mind that maybe you do have big rooms.Ha..ha..

Ky, exercise is not just about losing weight. Of course some may have that in mind. I just want to keep fit. You want to join us?

Pris, PM-ed you.

KY, if BBQ is in your place, I think I can make it because near my house. So, you want to join us for exercise? ha...ha..

Hi Serena,

Oops.. i dun hv superb big rooms, ds'room has enough space for q size n he tends to shift ard much during sleeping...

<font color="ff0000">Maids</font>
I am considering Phil maid cos they can speak Eng & can take care babies better than Indonesia maids. Actually this is our 1st time employing maid, we gather this fact from friends and relatives. Currently the pay is S$350 without day off. We have to decide one very quickly to ger her familarise with the environment here.
HK can pay them much more as I heard it's becos maids have to pay for own meals and accomodations.

<font color="aa00aa">15June Brunch</font>
Aston is not attending sch on this day cos it's his CC staff retreat day. I plan to go on leave but now cannot cos I need to be around to train my replacement when I am away for 3mths maternity. Otherwise I will surely join you gals !!!!!!!........

<font color="0000ff">22June BBQ</font>
Maybe I will go cos been a long time did not have BBQ foods. Let's see after my checkup tomorrow. Gynae plan to give me premature injection or medicines so I am unsure what I need to do afterthat.

<font color="119911">C-section date</font>
We have expert check the date. Not the 20.07.2007 I wanted. It's one day earlier 19.07.2007. So close u know. Since he check, we better follow and not chose 20.07.2007.

<font color="ff6000">Twins' name</font>
Tentatively, still Charlton and Eton. May change Eton cos too afraid people make fun his name cos it's sounded too much like eaten, have you eaten..ha..
I like their chinese names alot..they are Jun4Chen2 & Jun4Xu4.

Recently Aston also learn to say huh. We quickly corrected him to say I beg your pardon or yes, wat did you say jus now. It's so contradicting that we parents say them and wan our kids to say properly. We need to improve also and be role examples..

Apricot, I like your boys chinese name too. Sounds like names from F4. As my husband family name is Yan, I thought if I have a boy, I might just call him Yan Chen Xu!

Hi Serena,
Whoa..! You are sharp !!! I am so shy to admit you noe. Pls dun laugh at me , ok.
Since u mention F4, I might as well admit to you I was once F4 fan and still like them til now. I supported Jerry the most. When I was preggie with Aston, instead of bb photos, I pin their poster in my room and in the end Aston has big round eyes just like Yan Chen Xu !!! When DH started to name the twins, he did not delibrately name them chen and xu. So happen the strokes match. Of course, the chen2 is not the chen that Jerry has. But the thot of Chen Xu jus make me so happy and which is why I say I like the names so much. They also sounded very korean too
Therefore do not plan to let expert name them.

<font color="aa00aa">Thanks for everyone concern on my twin pregnancy.</font>
I was so nervous today. They are both fine. Gynae check their hearts today and they are functioning well. I again lose some weights and thankfully they each gain 400g over the last two weeks so each weighs around 1.8kg now.