(2003) Calling all 2003 babies

ky,

I know abt that PG group. Soo Mei is in it right ? my kids take nap leh, so they oni wake up at 4pm, thus i cant make it .. but the idea of opening my house to them did flash across my mind
got to consider first, cos will hv problem fixing dinner then, and i let kids hv early dinner at 530 so that they can hv early night snack and hit the bed ard 930 to 10pm.

you join that group too ?

Hi Moshimoshi,
Was tired after my dinner at my mum's place last nite so did not take the TTP items from Eve. Will take from her on Tue or arrange her to deliver on Mon.

Hi Minnie,

Enjoy yourself in HK..shop eat shop eat..

If you are going after Agnes B, the bags there are a bit cheaper than Sg and more designs there.
There is also a new shop called UNIGLO in Miramar shopping arcade in Kowloon or in Tai Koo Shing Shopping Mall. I like the kids clothings cos the prints are unique.

hi ky!

looks like you are my senior... so is serenade... maybe you girls were from the same batch?

yeah, parents' involvement does have an important role to play, but good peers are important too. And depending on kids' characters, challenging environment migt even make the kids soar in achievement.

dh and i always believe that we aren't smart enough to get anywhere, it's the challenging environment that made a difference. parental involvement? Our parents have always been supportive, but they could not help us as they would have wanted to. still my parents did their best to place me in good schools right from the start. so i subscribe to that thought too.

hi moshi2!

haha... now we really know your age! i'm not far behind from you! ;)

t-shirt painting? can we repeat that in july when we are back??? ppppppuuurrr-lease!!!!!

you are always filled with wonderful ideas with crafts... say, have you got right brain training since young??? hee!

hi meilan!

actually it's easier to handle kids in the open space.

getting around in germany is easy with the public transport. maybe that's why i'm not so put off going out with the kids now. but back in Sg is quite a headache, I agree. everything is so built up, very crowded everywhere, getting close to the nature is not possible unless you've got a car... sigh... I can totally understand. wonder if i'd be so gung-ho when in Sg to go out with kids.

yea, holing up in someone's place on a playdate is a great way to relax: kids play while mommies relax and chit-chat!

do rotation on play dates??? start a schedule?

hi sherlyn, meilan...

actually dh and i are simple when it comes to food. we just need our crunchy veg, that's all. and we all have food fads... we can eat something for some time without getting sick of it. but the headache comes when the craze changes....

sometimes, we wish we could just stuff our kids with salads and sandwiches. but they are not ready with that yet... now and then we will leave K with B's daycare and go out for a lunch that way we like it i.e. lots of salads!!!

so meilan, how about "tahan" your kids' perference and treat yourself to something occasionally?? it's always yum when it's a treat!

moshi ... hm, but I'm THAT old leh ... coz I know the old Anderson campus.... oh, I already guess that I'm the most senior person here .... *laughing bitterly*

I'd like to know where to find cheap white canvas shoes... the one I saw are for pri schools and they are too big.

K's mom, I know how old you are too, remember ... if i remember correctly ... remember I got bad memory. I sometimes forget how old i am coz btw the time I remember, the year's gone by ... hahaha

Sherlyn

U can mingle with grandparents too ... I also talk to grandmothers.... hm, maybe my age is not that far away from theirs (ok, enough jokes abt my age)

ya, So-Mei's place. why not skip the nap once a while ... unless u too treasure nap times. She borrowed one of my curriculum books and is quite enthusiastic abt it. I only joined 1 time but don't plan to join on a regular basis. I need to have a routine and there are only 5 days and I have 2 days with disruption, so try not to over-commit.

.ky.

Hi K's Mom,

My DH is quite punctual in fetching us to and fro to school (Aston) and me to work. But he is always late for work.

hello mommies

my girl is not 2003. I noticed a lot of SAHMs here so hope to join this thread to exchange pointers on homeschooling

I have 2 girls. Jan 2002 and Feb 2004. I'm a SAHM.

hehe, primary school is my favourite topic this year because I will be enrolling my elder girl in 2008 and am now working as a parent volunteer in her school

do your kids attend kindergarten? any plans for the coming June school holiday programme?

Moshi

I did some canvas shoes painting myself. want to see my creation? I have some paint left over in my house. You guys can use it if you like. I let my girl draw on her white tee but the paint came off after one wash eventhough it was supposed to be fabric paint!!
I think there should be a way to retain the colour but how?!! Why don't we post our child's photo here?

Hey Serena,
Post your creation here!

Moshi,
I saw those Mary Jane white shoes about $9-$10 in Bedok central. If you are interested, I can buy for you.

Zoo outing dates:
4(mon) or 5 June (tue)
Meet 9am at the entrance
Enrol here:

1. moshimoshi n melody
2. sarah & hannah

Hi Hippo2002,
Welcome! I read your Bedok mommies thread. I'm at Upper Changi, SAHM too. Maybe we can arrange to meet up.

My dd is attending a church kindy. As you can see, some of the mommies are arranging to meet up. Join us if you can.

Btw, which school are you PV?

Hi Minnie,
Enjoy your holiday in HK.

Btw, I think Josh left his shoe sharpener at my place. Return to you when we next meet.

Moshi,
T-shirt painting? Wonderful. I was tempted to buy the Crayola ones. How about glass painting too? You organize, I'll sign up!

sure Meilan, will let u know when i m settle after back from the 3 day trip .. but must let u know that my mother is ard at home lor .. so smtimes certain topics will not be so convenient to chat

argh .. missed the navy open house! I even miss the event involving all the musuems (just got to know from the papers today) .. so sad

moshimoshi,

i got another SAHM fren taking care of 2 gals (02 and 05) on her own. Her dh can get her pass to zoo, so we are planning to go on 6th june if her dh manage to get the pass.

do you guys mind to join us if she can make it ? she also proposed other dates if 6 june she cant hv the pass .. but i cant remember wat are they liao ..

no idea abt designated kite flying area .. just keen to try since i hv not done that with the kids .. i just want to expose them to as many thgs as possible ..

i like the idea of t shirt painting .. i think daiso may have the plain white t shirts .. as for white shoes, maybe try stores in wet markets ?

wao minnie, gog to HK disney as well ? tell us abt it okie ? enjoy yr trip.

too bad HK disney no mcqueen, else i sure go, cos boy likes it.

Hi Kristin's mom,

Thou me not a fan of salad .. but i also hope my kids will settle with a salad meal, easy and healthy

ky,

I don't think i m any younger then you (thou i cant guess the ages of all of you even if you talk abt this school and tat and wat yr graduate hehe) .. i m a cow (to be direct) .

i do talk to the grandparents if they do open up. some of them only stand there and give the "do not disturb me" look .. and for one of them, i do not understand her mandarin (cos mix with dialect and using dialect accent) .. but the topics me and the grandparents chat are certainly different .. cos they are not the decision makers of the kids

I cant let the kids skip nap .. cos they will get cranky ard dinner time, and if i let them sleep early they wake up early too like 6am (and i only sleep at 2am) .. my kids very funny one .. they take a long time to sleep, but then they also complain they are tired if i wake them up after 1.5 hrs of nap, and similarly, they dun get to sleep easily at night *sigh*.

hopping in for a while, trying to arrange the photos of our trip so that I can share with all. All arranged on my pc but when I upload to the photohosting side, all mixed up again, would be due to the different cameras we used so will have to rearrange again before sharing in the blog we are co-authoring. And sorry for no be active lately, too much things on my hands and mind.

Sherlyn, enjoyed your weekend.

Hi K's mum,

Re : punctuality.
Mine is quite punctual. In fact, I'm the one that's not so, usually cannot leave when I die die tell him so. He knows liao ... our arrangements is via sms rather than sticking to an agreed time.

Sherlyn
You are not just 1 yr younger than me :> Have a great weekend!

Hi Serena
How about ironing the done work before the first wash? We have a blog ... if you wish, you can post your kid's work there.

Moshi, would love to join u in the zoo visit, but I'm planning it to be a family visit just the weekend.... have a good time!

Hi Pris ... mind to share what's on your mind? Take it easy. I too am troubled by something. If you read my blog, you'll know this stupid-little-complicated matter which I'm telling myself it doesn't matter ... take care!

.ky.

KY, thanks. I am not sure whether the course that I am doing and also trying to spend quality time with Kai is affecting Kai. I am doing a 3 months course on Kinesiology.

This two weeks, noticed that Kai is not behaving himself and have spoken to his teachers today, he is imitiating the wrong behaviours of the older kids from his preschool and I am trying to correct him daily now and it is rather frustrating.

And also dh might be travelling to Japan again to do a couple more experiments on his subjects for 1-2 weeks.

Why don't we organise a gathering for all mummies in Botanical Gardens? We can have a picnic and pot luck to share. I guess time and date may be tricky because we have some SAHM and FTWM.

Ky, how do I assess the blog?

Nice weekend everyone!!

I just realised that you guys had a gathering in Botanica before. Never mind if still keen then let me know.

Ky, I did try to iron the shoes abit but cannot work because shoes difficult to iron. After the shoes got dirty, I washed them and repaint again. Good as new but more work!

Priscilla, what is Kinesiology?

By the way, My girl's teacher told me that all the 2003 kids in her class can write. I wonder if that's true because my girl still has problem in writing. She can only write 1 or 10. I wonder if that's normal or is she really lagging behind?!

k's mom
u must be holiday by now, u are simply the luckiest mommy around when it comes to doing fun things!

poll: dh is pretty punctual, else he gets endless beeps on his phone, i hate to wait, that's why i like to drive myself around, hm... unless i need strong arms to lug things haha

serena
wow! i wanna see the tee ur gal painted. pl upload it here.

classmates write? well, they do more, some use scissors like a pro i was told, some colour like artists. i felt anxious like u when teacher told me that my daughter needs to improve on those areas. but hallo, she just started to pick up pencil this year and teachers are not even correcting her grip plus she's not even 4 years old. so i tell myself relax relax, what's more important is that she enjoys school and comes home with a smile every time, what;s the fuss and hurry. i tell myself to take pride on what she CAN do and let her take her time with what she cannot do yet. Childhood is very short, kids nust be given time to progress at their own rate. in our local kindys, teachers sometimes don;t teach and give time but expect the child to already know this that before they attend school.
Continue to encourage ur gal, and never compare her with her peers. This is what i am trying to do myself.

ky
what can i say? we definitely don;t look our age ;)

sarah
thanks for the offer to buy the shoes, lemme check the stores in AMK first, thanks;)

glass painting is fun too, lets check out the paints at artfriend.

sherlyn
zoo: i have a friend who may join us but she prefers 4june mon. let;s see how it goes with your friend. keep us updated.

Zoo outing dates:
4(mon) or 5 June (tue) or 6 june (wed)
Meet 9am at the entrance
Enrol here:

1. moshimoshi n melody
2. sarah & hannah
3. sherlyn
4. sherlyn's friend
5. moshi's friend

Moshi, you are right. It's better just to see her happy. I would love to post my girl's painting here but it was gone after one wash! I PM earlier that the fabric paint can't stay. Don't know why. Ironing first doesn't work either. Maybe my detergent is too strong!!?? HA...

hi Serene, which month is your girl birthdya? it depends for those born in first half of the year, they are very advance in motor skill compare to those born in year end. because they are already 4 yo plus but second half still not yet 4.

Dear Sahm888

I'm quite shocked then! Because my girl is born in June. She's 4 in 2weeks time! But I believe she is slow in this area. Do you regard writing as motor skill? Other areas like hopping on one leg and jumping across drain and walking down the stairs without help seems a breeze to her. I just thought maybe I can help her but she doesn't even want to try.

Dear Mummies

I'm trying to post my shoes photos here but I was told to shrink it. I'm not sure how to do it. Can anybody teach me how?

"By the way, My girl's teacher told me that all the 2003 kids in her class can write. I wonder if that's true because my girl still has problem in writing. She can only write 1 or 10. I wonder if that's normal or is she really lagging behind?!"

Hi Serena
If so, then I'll really be concerned, But I'm not. What's the teacher's definition of can write? Does she show you your girl's writing work and describe to you how your girl is NOT doing it? Can you ask her to sit down with your girl and have her handle your girl by getting her to write and thereafter discuss with you on improvement?

My son is probably the oldest here at Feb 03. My son is only starting to write now... and he definitely can't write beyond 3 ... Writing is a form of fine-motor skill and to me if a child can't write now it's ok ... I still do pre-writing activities with him, coloring, cutting, threading and other stuff to improve this area. These are to strengthen his gripe for better writng. Anyone, do jump in to correct my understanding. I've seen how different kids color and do cuttting and some have poor skills ... all these are 3-yr-olds-going-to-4-yr olds. I've seen a Nov-03 girl drawing very marvellous pictures and 3 boys who are older than her (one of them being my son) just scribbling away or not interested. I do think age does play a part but various other factors are involved and we just have to cultivate the environment to coach the child if we find that he/she is lacking in a particular area. And btw, my teacher does comment that my son is academically strong (but he can't write very well ...) but he's lacking in imagination. In fact, she did comment that singaporean children is weak in that area as compared to children in the western countries.

Hi Pris
Try to take it easy on Kai ... perhaps due to the travelling, he's not settled down back home yet. And yes, peer pressure seem to be coming in quite strong now. I've overheard 2 kids who are classmates saying stuff that I've not heard before ... perhaps you need to work with the teacher and have her to help in the correction as well, since your can correct Kai but you can't the rest of the kids that he meets everyday?

.ky.

Hi Mommies
Just found this thread
I have a girl (dec01) and a boy (Dec03). Noticed that some of you talking abt P1 registration and I'm going thru that right now! It is is better to start volunteer work or join clan now, unlike me, too late for any of these. I just hope my girl can go the school that is within walking distance from our home and unfortunately, that is a branded school.

KY
Sorry to be a kaypoh
When my boy started in the new school this yr, he can't write at all. Now, he is able to write his name, class etc.. Probably he has been practicing everyday. He remembers what the teacher has told him, must control your movements. Perhaps the teacher plays a part too, to encourage him but not to compare him. Different child progress at a different level.

wow.. welcome all new mummies..
sahm888, hippo2002, Vicval, Sj Ong.
kao_welcome2.gif

Hope to see more of your posting here..

<table border=1><tr><td>FORUM NICK</TD><TD>Name / Gender</TD><TD>Mth of Birth</TD><TD>Name / Gender</TD><TD>Mth of Birth</TD><TD>Home Sweet Home</TD><TD>Status </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ky</TD><TD>Benedict</TD><TD>Feb.03</TD><TD>Keith</TD><TD>Jan.06</TD><TD>CCK</TD><TD>SAHM </TD></TR><TR><TD>KeiKei</TD><TD>Rachel</TD><TD>Mar.03</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Sengkang</TD><TD>FTWM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Amum (Apricot)</TD><TD>Aston</TD><TD>Apr.03</TD><TD>Princes (Twins)</TD><TD>EDD late 07'07</TD><TD>Punggol</TD><TD>FTWM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Irene</TD><TD>G</TD><TD>Apr.03</TD><TD>Bryan</TD><TD>May.05</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>SAHM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Joanne (jojoscs)</TD><TD>Benny</TD><TD>Apr.03</TD><TD>Bryan</TD><TD>Jan.05</TD><TD>Bt Gombak</TD><TD>SAHM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sherlyn</TD><TD>Tew Jing An (B)</TD><TD>Apr.03</TD><TD>Tew Yu Xin (G)</TD><TD>Oct.04</TD><TD>Clementi</TD><TD>SAHM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sarah (densar)</TD><TD>Hannah</TD><TD>May.03</TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD>Changi</TD><TD>SAHM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Serenade</TD><TD>Brandon</TD><TD>May.03</TD><TD>Cheryl</TD><TD>Jun.05</TD><TD>Hillview (France)</TD><TD>SAHM </TD></TR><TR><TD>MH</TD><TD>Wei Shuen</TD><TD>Jun.03</TD><TD>Li Shuen</TD><TD>Jan.06</TD><TD>Jurong East</TD><TD>FTWM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Serena Tay (aiken)</TD><TD>Adabel</TD><TD>13 Jun 2003</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Bukit Panjang</TD><TD>FTWM </TD></TR><TR><TD>BlurPooh</TD><TD>Shawn</TD><TD>Jul.03</TD><TD>Shanon</TD><TD>May.05</TD><TD>Joo Seng</TD><TD>FTWM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Emily</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>Aug.03</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>Mar.05</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>FTWM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Kristins_mom</TD><TD>Bryan</TD><TD>Aug.03</TD><TD>Kristin</TD><TD>Aug.05</TD><TD>Tiong Bahru (Germany)</TD><TD>SAHM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Moshimoshi</TD><TD>Melody</TD><TD>Sep.03</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Ang Mo Kio</TD><TD>SAHM </TD></TR><TR><TD>WorryMum</TD><TD>Benjamin</TD><TD>Sep.03</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Bt Gombak</TD><TD>FTWM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ku</TD><TD>G </TD><TD>Sep.03</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>EDD May07</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>FTWM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Priscilla Neo</TD><TD>Kai En</TD><TD>Sep.03</TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD>Toh Guan (Vancouver)</TD><TD>SAHM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Yasmine</TD><TD>Zo En (G)</TD><TD>Sep.03</TD><TD>Zo Ze (B)</TD><TD>Sep.06</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>? </TD></TR><TR><TD>Meilan</TD><TD>Jay Kai</TD><TD>Oct.03</TD><TD>Jay Cin</TD><TD>Dec.05</TD><TD>Sengkang</TD><TD>SAHM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Pooh</TD><TD>G</TD><TD>Oct.03</TD><TD>G</TD><TD>May.06</TD><TD>Joo Seng</TD><TD>SAHM </TD></TR><TR><TD>moo87</TD><TD>Zavier</TD><TD>Oct.03</TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD>Hougang</TD><TD>FTWM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Minnie (minnie_gal16)</TD><TD>Joshua</TD><TD>Oct.03</TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD>East</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sunflower</TD><TD>Cedric</TD><TD>Nov.03</TD><TD>Denzyl</TD><TD>Dec.05</TD><TD>Punggol</TD><TD>SAHM </TD></TR><TR><TD>miracle_bebe</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>Nov.03</TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD>Henderson Crescent</TD><TD>SAHM </TD></TR><TR><TD>JessChan</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>Dec.03</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>Yr '2000</TD><TD>??</TD><TD>FTWM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sj Ong</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>Dec.03</TD><TD>G</TD><TD>Dec.01</TD><TD>??</TD><TD>?? </TD></TR><TR><TD>Vicval</TD><TD>G</TD><TD>Yr 2003</TD><TD>G</TD><TD>Yr 2005</TD><TD>Sengkang</TD><TD>?? </TD></TR><TR><TD>hippo2002</TD><TD>G</TD><TD>Jan.02</TD><TD>G</TD><TD>Feb.04</TD><TD>Bedok</TD><TD>SAHM </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Me me!

1.Go to Adobe
2. Then image, resize
3. Adjust document size to about 5-10cm in width.
4. SAVE
5. Check size is less than 50k before posting

Just beep me again if u need help, i will be online for the next hour or so.

Hi SJ

no kaypoh people here ... just curious people :> ... like u said, each person progress differently. Mine can write 3 characters of his name but can't do for his full name. His name is Benedict. what's your children's name?

what branded school is that? I know someone who also told me this. Ai Tong is JUST next door and she's the sahm to 1 girl but unfortunately, without PV, her girl didn't get into that school and she regretted that she did nothing ...

Mummies with young kids .... my #2 is getting on my nerves, and I'm wondering if I should be. He's at the "notorious" 16-month and loves to flip books - and tear them in the process... he's damaged a few good expensive books. And he loves to pull the toys down and yah, damages some in the process. I've kept all the toys and books at reachable open shelves and now I'm thinking what to do ... my #2 is quite a persistant explorer ... help help!

.ky.

Hi, My boy is a Oct 2003 baby, recently I also follow P1 thread and luckily I read more and called up the school that i plan to register for my boy because this school have already gave out all the voluntery forms for 2002.So, I quickly got the form for 2003

as for writing, my boy could write numbers 0-9, a-z when was 3yo. however he couldn't write his chinese name yet, only simple chinese characters like peole, big, small, mouth,etc. before he turned 3 yo, i taught him to write 0-9 but he was not ready so i didn't force him.can let them use scissors and chopstick more often to train their motor skill.

and I'm FTWM , staying at sembawang. i have another bb girl born in July 05 who starts to talk n sing so much everyday, her favourite song is twinkle twinkle little star, she could sing 4-5 times at one ago, repeat n repeat, n getting louder n louder with actions

Hi Serena,
My boy likes chicken but never like green leafy vege(only brocolli) but my girl likes all kinds of vege, you name it!she took vege since she started her solid even those bitter taste vege, she also like it!

both of them likes black mushroom too!