(2003) Calling all 2003 babies

hi apricot
GSS? wow, time flies, u better do all the shopping u want.
does aston like pancakes? coffee club at ngee ann city serves very good ones, soft fresh fluffy, maybe u can take him there for brunch.

1 june? sure thing, is there anywhere u like to visit before u are 'confined'?

hi serena
welcome! some of us here are working moms but the majority SAHMs, work part-time or work at home.

have u approached the P to investigate? sometimes, kids say things out of their imagination or pretend that something that happened to a friend happened on them. Then again, if it's a case of punishment by teacher or bullying, it's well worth probing to find out the truth. 'No smoke without fire'.

Welcome, Serena! Hope to see you often.

There are both SAHMs and FTWMs. I'm a SAHM. I suggest you speak to the teacher first. It could be a little nudge but using the leg instead??

Hi Serena,
There is a good mix of mummies here SAHM or working mum. I am a working mum. My son sometimes did not pay attention, disturbs other kids or move around, the teacher will ask him sit in one corner and let him join the class after he cool down. Standing outside is only when they become very naughty, violet, whine non stop or shoutings or there is injuries.
Ya, u shld talk to the principle to find out more.

Aiyoh, Apricot,
So big already still want to squeeze with people in Orchard Road. Stay home la!

Havent been here in a while cos so busy wif work. :p

Moshi,

Happy belated bday to you.

Apricot,

Eh, your twins' names reminds me of like soccer clubs. Kekekeke... But both are v unique though.

Yalor, your tum so big.. stay at home and shop online loh..

Hi Sarah,

How are you? Josh still asks abt Hannah. Asks me when he can go Hannah's house to color wif her again.... hah.

Hi hi

Apricot ... have you done research on caregiving to twins? I just found out that a good friend of mine who is expecting child #4 is also expecting twins ... so she's asking for twins support group in singapore. not sure if you do need, but it's http://www.twinsplussing.com

I'm thinking of going to the book fair at suntec this Friday but it starts at 2pm. anyone keen?

I'd like to do a simple survey...
Would you buy chinese parenting books, eg on Right Brain, and activity books that are cheaper than what you can find in the market, but all is written in chinese? Do you know what's right brain training and are you doing it?

.ky.

Hi Sarah,

I very flower leg (it's direct translation from Hokkien) so I still enjoy shopping. Can't shop for long now cos get tired easily. This Sat is shop at Taka for baby stuffs and then Sun at Suntec for world book fair.
Same like Joshua..ha..Aston is also asking when can meet Hannah and Melody, so each boy can "date" one gal la...

Hi Minnie,
Aston was named after Aston Villa, which is soccer club name. Hubby watch soccer so may got influence from there. Charlton is also a English Premier League Soccer CLub name & it is also a road name of Aston's CC. But jus yesterday, Aston requests to name Clinton and Eton cos he says Charlton not nice name. We are still considering..so means 3 tons in my home...also means heavy burden for the family. Like very no good meaning but I dun care le..will still name them ending with ton..

Hi Ky,
Will look at the twins support gp website later. Thanks.

Abt your survey, I prefer English cos I am getting rusty on Chinese words. But as u know, it seems like we can only find right brain activity books in Chinese and they are cheaper than English. I will buy the Chinese ones becos of price factor and try my best to read the Chinese instructions. I hardly see any English activity books so Chinese ones serve good substitudes. To what I know, Right Brain training is abt training analytical, logical thinking and photographics memory. Currently, I have maze books, puzzels, memory game cards, logico set in Chinese and many word cards in English and Chinese for Aston. Just like to share something la..he surprised us few days back by completing 96pcs puzzels..

Hi minnie
how are you and joshua?
will u be taking leave to spend time with him during the june hols?

hi ky
I can;t read chinese well so likelihood of me getting a parenting book in chinese is almost nil. i don;t even buy eng parentg books, get tips mostly from the papers, mags or online or from u guys!
i personally feel all those talk on right brain is just marketing gimmicks for today's parents who are more educated and have stronger spending power. a happy brain is good brain la, the heck with all those 'trainings'.

Hi moshi2!

Missing moi????

Yeah, we were in Berlin over last weekend. So no time for surfing.
Then when we got home, our wireless modem was reset. Didn't bother to investigate coz lots of laundry to clear until dh fixed it again for me last night. Besides, I "swiped" my friend's CSI LV dvds.... so you can imagine what I've been busy with lately :p

Tomorrow is Bryan's last day of school... official. Then next week is summer camp. We'll be travelling again this Friday to Legoland. Still haven't quite finished our theme parks tour this year yet.

Hi ky!
Care to elaborate more on the right brain training stuffs?
I thought the right brain governs our creativity and spatial thinking. Nothing so much with regards to logical and analytical skills. That should be the left brain business. Correct me if I'm wrong.

Hi apricot!

Haha... I thought Aston was also funny during the check up. It must exciting right now for you, awaiting delivery.

Yeah... the -ton's boys!
Nice names!
Clinton... nah, I think Charlton is nicer!

Take care... don't walk too much already... I was "punished" for walking/standing too much during my first pregnancy that my bp was high and waters broke 4 weeks early.

my turn to poll u guys,
after reading the straits times supplement on P1 registration, i am in this ponder over schools mood.

Would u choose register with a SAP school (15 mins drive) under phase 2A(old boy),
P1 n P2 in afternoon session (means no nap for mel but chances of her dozing off in class)
OR
a neighbourhood school within reach in minutes, and operating only in single session (mommies who know me know how much i value mel's nap time)?

Both offer ok-looking uniform, those that won;t make a kid look silly type.

Hi Serena!

Welcome to our thread! Do come in and chat often!

I'm actually a FTWM on NPL but now trying hard to enjoy my stint as a SAHM, accompanying spouse on overseas posting. I've got two little rascals, a boy (aug03) and a girl (aug05).

Your girl's case is definitely an investigation worthy. Kicking??? What kind of punishment is that? This is degradation to me. But like
Moshi2 mentioned, in a way, you would also be able to check the accuracy of what your girl said.

Hi Apricot,

Ahh.. ok. Watever Ton also can lah, as long as its not BUTTON. Haahaha....

Hi Kristin,

Where are you based? Legoland sounds so fun!!

Hi Moshi,

Yup, I should be taking leave to bring Josh out. Not sure when yet. We will be gg Genting w the extended family in the middle of June.

Hahaha... I have the same dilemna as you!! But most prolly, I will visit both schools during their open houses, if any, and let the child decide. Afterall, the child will be there for 6 years so I feel he/she should have a say in his school.

re : right brain ... yes, it's more of what K's mum said. Right brain is more the creative brain and left brain is more the logical brain. I'm more left-brain so I'm good at puzzles but when it comes to memory, I'm very bad. I think through a "if ... then ... else" process. For right brain training, a lot of focus I find is based on generating brain power via memory games .... hence the expensive Shichida programme which can boasts of young kids memorizing over 50 cards of items.

I'm asking bcos I find there are many books on right brain worksheet books in China. Perhaps China being the most populated and most inventive folks, it's not surprising to find this in volumes. I'm starting to read a few of these Right Brain development books but these are in chinese... I can't find these in english. And looking at the market in Singapore, this is quite untapped and even if so, the price is much higher than the prices that one can get in China ... A china teacher has shared with me quite a fair bit and it's really difficult for me to convey the exact message here ...

Moshimoshi
I also pm with someone on Tue on the same topic - pri school. I've yet to narrow down my priorities, but is this all for you? That should be easy ... if you value nap time so much and you are ok with the neighbourhood school, then I'll say the neighbourhood school.

I do wish for mine to go to a more "branded" school with good focus on morals but apparently it's quite homework intensive ... and hubby's old school is in bkt batok and there's mixed review of how the school is ...

.ky.

Hi Moshimoshi,

I was quite influenced by hubby to enrol Aston into good primary school cos he believes in laying good strong foundation in primary education so that he will excel when he goes on for higher level education. Thus, good schools will mean need balloting like MeeToh, Nan Chiau or Rosyth.

Actually, will Mel wean off nap time by the time she reach P1 ? Most kids nap when they are in CC & I start to wonder how do they cope when they are in P1 ? Interesting topic that I can chat with principal later.
Neighborhood sch are just as good. I come from neighborhood and I think I am living well..hee hee..
I can understand how troubled you are..

Am troubled with toilet training on pass motion with Aston. It's jus so ashamed to wear pampers for him each time he wan to poo. He simply refuse go toilet. Mummies with boys, pls share your valuable experiences.

I have to inform my gynae to chose C-Section date, though I still hope I can have natural birth. He encourages C-section to protect the 2nd baby cos he has to come out in the few 5 mins and natural birth cannot guranteed that. Thus, we are looking at this nice date..20.07.2007 !!!
after seeking advice from experienced "geomacy or fungshui or fortune teller" person.

Hi Ky,
My guess is if I go balloting , sure cannot get the seats cos these schools are so so popular. Will join Hokkien clan to increase chance get into Nan Chiau and waiting for hubby's green light. We only have spare time during weekends so we tink we cannot clock the 40hrs as PV.

Hi. Looks like I have missed many posts again. First of all, Lena and Sarah, I'll still be going to the concert on 29 May. Sorry to hear that you have changed plans to Art Friend. Since my kids are not into arts and crafts, I will not be joining you then.

However, will be keen on 8 Jun programme in Toa Payoh. Pls sms me to confirm as I do not log on often.

Just an update abt the issue of being forced to purchase JK's artwork in sch. Hubby called up principal who claimed it never crossed her mind that she shouldn't be selling the children's work cos they don't belong to the sch. As she was willing to listen and accept feedback, hubby closed the issue really lightly. In fact hubby thought the sch was really creative in raising funds and insisted it was better than having them raise other costs subsequently (altho they already did with the sch fees). And guess what? On the parent-teacher meeting day, we were just told to pay up at the counter. It was not even a choice! Well, so much for money-mindedness in a church sch.

Welcome Serena. Worrymum has the list of who's who here. You might want to pm her for the list while you tell us more abt you and your kid.

Moshi, I share your sentiments abt the mel's nap cos it's the same with JK. I make him nap at ALL costs, even if it means I have to stress myself near death as I lose time in preparing for dinner. But frankly, I'm not even sure if he will continue his nap next year, not to mention P1!

Which part of Bishan are you in and which is the neigbourhood sch you are looking at? If it's Kuo Chuan, I can link you up with my friend who is a teacher there for her feedback. But if I were you, I would go for the alumni connection not so much because it's a SAP sch, but more because it will ensure your enrolment in an earlier phase. For us, hubby and my pri schs were in Bedok and AMK respectively so that option is out of the question.

Apricot, will you need to deliver earlier since you are carrying twins? My ex-manager delivered abt 1.5mth earlier by C-section. By the way, what is Aston's Chinese name? Since you are a believer in geomancy and fortune-telling, just wonder if his name has any special meaning...

Apricot, I have just joined Hokkien Huay Kuan, thanks to a senior's contact who provided me with the 2 required recommendations. Frankly, I'm not even sure if I am going for Nan Chiau as I know it is not on par with other Hokkien Huay Kuan schs like Ai Tong, Kong Hwa and Tao Nan or even some neighbourhood schs. But it's the only Chinese sch in Sengkang and I believe in the moral values and environment offered by Chinese schs. Actually I am looking at Rivervale Pri as they have many interesting special programmes and it's within 1km and I can cycle JK to sch. But it being a very popular sch in SK, I will have to be a PV but I don't like the idea of PV cos even my teacher-friend was forced to do menial tasks like photocopying and ushering to clock her hrs. My sure bet is North Spring which my neighbour told me it's full of little Ah Bengs hence I have to do more than rely on being allocated the nearest...

Hi Meilan,
Yes, I am expected to deliver earlier. Actually I am not quite a believer in geomancy and fortune-telling. It's really pressure from family to have the delivery date check properly for the benefit of the twins and total well-being or harmony in the family. Aston's chinese name (Llm)is named by DH who read up several chinese naming books called ming4 ming2 shu1. In fact, he also used the same way to name the chinese names for our twins (Lm and Lm). We like them alot alot. We do not plan to let geomancy check if the names are ok cos they are already checked by DH that the names meanings are overall good. We will end up have nothing of our choice if our decisions are overridden by geomancy ; so just let him check on C-section date.

Apricot, JK used to need diapers before he would poo, else he would choose to remain constipated. We just kept putting him on the toilet bowl in the morning as a routine until he got it. By the way, we have never used a potty with him cos he was more interested in using what we use. So we bought a child toilet seat which thrilled him at first. Now he even refused the child seat and insisted on just sitting on the oversized toilet bowl. I have to keep reminding him not to fall over as I will not help him clean up if he gets shit all over himself.

Hi Meilan,
Aston is entirely opposite. He is not thrilled with the child toilet seat. Potty does not work on him at all. He is scared to sit on the oversized toilet bowl cos he scared he will be stuck inside. So we assured him with the child toilet seat but it failed times after times. The next is I have to use rewarding system to encourage him. He is jus testing my patience, really....

Apricot, cannot read the Chinese characters so will ask you next time we meet. Just find that nowadays the kids' names are very profound and elegant, not like our time eg mine!

I paid $500 + yearly subscription of $24. I went for orientation for new members last week and it's clear the young mums make up the bulk for obvious reasons. Do you have anyone to recommend you? I have never met the 2 persons who recommended me cos they did it only as a favour to my senior. From what I know, both are council members. I don't know if I'm qualified being a brand new member myself but let me know if I can be of help.

Hi Apricot
I rarely contribute to this thread but read the posts regularly as my younger boy is also born in Y2003.

He was fully toilet trained since 2.5yrs old. Initially, he also had the same problem as yours. It took us quite a while to coax him to use a child toilet seat (those that is placed on the toilet bowl). But we had to wean him off that because we couldn't possibly bring that when we go out. So when we planned to go overseas, we told him that we would not be bringing it along and he had to learn to use an adult toilet bowl or else he couldn't come with us. That really did the trick and he overcome his fear overnight!

Meilan, u openly write here abt joining the hokkien clan, I'll bet u'll get a lot of PMs soon ... hahaha. nope, I don't think I need to join ... there's non-related near my place :>

Abt pri school, I'm hoping to continue to motivate Ben to love learning ... somehow my fren's situation is such that one son is care less and another one's weak in writing. So, my personal simple opinion is if a child has an inner need to learn, that's one notch up. And looking at schools around, I guess I'll probably PV in a good neigbourhood (coz I do not want to blame myself for not doing something if ballot and can't get in, so might as well do more).

Apricot, can't help much coz Ben toilet trained himself in this area when he was younger say about 2+... Like JK, Ben insisted on sitting on the adult-sized toilet bowl and we had to hold him when he does his biz. He's just learn how to sit on it himself early this month. Perhaps he wants attn esp with you being pregnant?

.ky.

Meilian, wow you join the Hokkien clan. I was from Nan Chiau and it was a great school during our time but it is too far for Kai to travel from the west to the east. If I am not wrong, it cost more than a couple of hundreds to join and need two members for recommendations. And even now Tao Nan's standard has dropped quite a bit, my nephew and niece where from there and the only one that still producing great result is Ai Tong.

Apricot, just don't rush him, it will come naturally. Kai was toilet-trained in Singapore when he is with me but when my in-laws came for visit, they insisted he wear diapers which reverse the whole progress. I was quite glad that when we came over to Canada, it took him just about 3 weeks to decide that he did not need diapers (less than 2.5 year old then) and he could go to the toilet to pee and clear his own bowel without the training seat, he just used the adult toilet-bowl all by himself by holding on the seat and shouted for us when he needed us to clean his butt. And now he is at the stage where he is learning to clean his butt. By pushing a child could make them more anxious and it might not work out.

KY, the right brain training kit are pretty good, I have one that I used with Kai. It works on his memory power.

Just to check, can Scott Emission Oil (Cod liver Oil) still available on the shelf in Singapore and other places? Our favourite and I am not sure what I learn from the stores is true. I was running low of my supply and when I went to the Chinese Medical Store as well as the pharmacy and health product store to try to get them, I was told that It cannot be important as it did not pass the test since it might have some chemical in it that fail the test. So Kai is now taking a Japanese Cod Liver Oil Jelly and have just gotten the Nordic Cod Liver Oil after many searches around the stores.

Meilian, it is quite normal over here too, that parents help to raise funds for the preschools and also the school fees increases.

I supposed it is not a church based preschool, I know of other school does that too. And every month here, I have children from the neighbours asking us to donate money for the school as well as when we are out, some as young as 6-7 yr old and they have a envelope that explained why they are doing it printed on it.

joanne...yummy egg tarts.

Apricot, it is like rush hours which I have it and Kai and myself will try to work out, it is fun.

Okay ladies, have to go, still lots of sorting of photos to do, thought just drop in to ask about the fish oil but curiosity got the better of me. And if I missed out answering anyone, please forgive me.

Dear mommies,

Not sure what I am busy with .. and no mood to post anything but am reading all posts as long as i hv my PC on.

Apricot, i really cant remember how i train ds on poo poo .. me hv quite bad memory power so sorry cant help u here .. maybe those right brain left brain books are good for me too. But i like your kids' names :)

moshimoshi .. me also worrying abt ds's P1 .. seem so far away leh, in yr 2010 but i think it is time to do PV rite? hv no mood to write the letter to nanhua leh *sigh* (actually don't know how to write lah)

Pris, no idea abt the cod liver oil cos we not taking it. But am wondering abt the AVENT recall thing that is posted in AP earlier .. no follow up and i cant even find anythg on AVENT website ..

ok .. and heres a Happy Birthday to the May babies ..

will be away with mil in kuantan this weekend (sat and sun) will oni be back monday. suppose to be a short getaway but i think it wil certainly be a very rush one.

*sigh* not too sure y i no mood leh .. i gog off liao lah .. also forgive me if i m not that participative okie ? (still haven clock the 1 post in blog ..hope can do so with updates from the kuantan getaway) ..

Hi Minnie!

We live in Germany right now. And we've been doing quite a bit of travelling around this spring/early summer, taking advantage of the long weekends - many public holidays in the month of May usually.

Will tell you more about the Legoland after this weekend...

we were at the Lego Discovery Centre in Berlin last weekend. It was a blast with the kids. My son didn't want to leave until Daddy had to let the cat of the bag, about our travel plan this coming weekend.

Hi moshi2!

Had no idea that we were both posting at the same time... :p GUess my MSN wasn't on.

Ok... will work hard on the pix. But that will probably have to wait till I'm back from Legoland.

We went strawberry picking today. After 30 mins, my ds and dh declared strike. Daddy said it's hard work picking strawberries... first time toiling for his food in the field.

Here's a pic of K biting into a farm-fresh strawberry:
811611.jpg

She was the only one who's eating all the time, while the rest of the family worked hard picking strawberries in the field!

Hi moshi2!

Thinking of P1 registration already??? So soon ah??? Man, I'm really missing the stress back home.

A Taiwanese mom was just suggesting to me that I should let B skip the 4's class and let him go straight into the 5's class. Hmmm, am wondering if I'd be kiasu enough to heed that advice.
Errm, I still think B needs to develop his social skills among children his age first.

Hi apricot!

20-07-2007 looks like a good date.

If my memory doesn't fail me, I think the first man landed on the moon on the 20-07-1969!

Maybe you'll get little astronauts too.

Anyway, like you, I'm not into superstition.
Don't anything about twin births, but I suppose your gynae will offer you the best the advice.
20-07-2007 will mean you'll be at least 36 weeks?

Hi apricot!

on toilet training...
B was toilet trained (pee-pee)just one month before he turned two. But poo-poo trained happened a bit later. I remember my mom had to carry him over the normal toilet we use, then later on we had to half support him while he rested his hands on the sides of the toilet seat. Today, he can actually climb onto the seat safely with the help of stool. He still supports himself by resting his hands on the toilet seat. Potty didn't work for him, and child seat on the toilet seat didn't work either. B was horrified to see his poo poo in the beginning, in the potty. And then we kept showing him that the poo poo had to go down the toilet bowl. So he stood there and saw how we emptied the stool into the toilet bowl.

By 27 months, he was both pee-pee and poo-poo trained. That was a great advantage coz I could always include that when we searched for a school for him then.

hmmm... i was just thinking... don't relent. no diaper, just do it the hard way and place him on the normal toilet seat. i think that will probably be the quickest way.

Thanks mommies for the concern. I have checked it out with the teacher. She told me my girl like to run about in class and totally disinterested in chinese. She said she couldn't remember exactly what happen during that day. So, that wasn't much I could do. I told her that I hope it will be the first and last time. She just say thank you and went off.?!? I let it go because my girl wasn't bruise or anything. I told my girl to stay focus. Don't know if it will help in future!?!! sigh!
Kristin, legoland is at Denmark right?