(2003) Calling all 2003 babies

Civil defence in hill street, is that the same as the fire station?

oops .. for me, i prefer programs in the am, cos my dd2 need to nap.... anyway its ok lah, go with majority .. I go if i can.

Wish you all have an enjoyable Mothers' Day with your little ones, filled with lots of chocolates and flowers and most important of all, love!

Happy Mother's Day !!!

Emily, congrats !!! You know, Faith has the same birth date as Aston...19April..Faith is 4 yrs younger than Aston...

Me coming to 7 mths already, very heavy. Will not be able to join those activities you gals plan. So sad to miss out but I am sure you gals will update me here or in our blog.

Just thot of an idea .. any mommies here know how to fly a kite ? we prob can go marina south, let the kids fly kites there.

Also i remember some mothers from other forum ever organise gatherings like booking the whole gymboree and then just let the kids have fun ..

just wild ideas that came into mind.

sherlyn

today no where to go, so bring kids to science ctr .. aiyo right after entering the science ctr, we hit the area on electricity or whatever .. ds got scare and keep his hands on his ear wherever he went for that whole 2 hr inside .. (he start making request to go home after 1.5 hr!) .. I guess i would hv to give science ctr a miss if there is a gathering there ....

the family thingy every 2nd sunday at ACM looks interesting .. anyone been there can share with me, is the art and craft activity with parental involvment or just the kids ?

website says the activities are from 1pm - 4pm .. does it means that i hv to attend all, from story telling to arts to whatever ?

Please share as I hope to go for next month's art activity.

sherlyn

oops .. sorry for so many posts .. just wondering would it be possible to post the chart that details who is whose kids .. how old, how many etc in the blog ? Not as a regular posting thou, shd be a file or table that one can refer to anytime so that we need not refer to old posts in the forum.

mummies, the Civil Defence Visit at Hill Street should be similar to visit to Fire Station. However, the one in Hill Street (Central Fire Station) are comprises of Heritage Gallery Tour. Please refer this website for more details.

http://www.scdf.gov.sg/General/About_Us/CD_Heritage_Gallery/introduction.html

http://www.scdf.gov.sg/Job_Seekers/fire_station_open_house.html

K's Mom, I am afraid if we gotta organise for touring the "current" fire station (open house), the timing is limited from 9am to 11am only.

some ideas on blog labels:
-Great bites (food n recipes)
-Gallery of ______
-Get educated (tips on helping children)
-Good buys
-Games and Toys

Hi sarah
I get 5 mins more for PTC, haha, it's on next thurs and fri is holiday.

hi sherlyn
great idea on posting the table on the blog, i think worrymom has it, she was updating the last time, worrymom, could u do us this favor?

sherlyn, moshi2, and other mummies,
I need help. I tried to upload the table.. so as to have my "debt" for the month to be cleared. But failed. Paiseh.. this is my 1st time on blogger, I search up and down, it seems we cant attached a file is it? And it seems I got a problem in my setting, I see all the icons align on the left and not on the top of the msg post. Someone please enlighten me.. thanks.

worry mum,
you're not alone! i'm new to blogging too. as you can see, i have posted but with errors. and guess what? i'm experiencing the same as you, sort of funny characters right?

hi moshimoshi!

here's adding on to that list...

some ideas on blog labels:
-Great bites (food n recipes)
-Gallery of ______
-Get educated (tips on helping children)
-Good Buys and Great Bargains
-Games and Toys
-Get in shape (health/sports)
-Grab a book! (reading/children's literature/mommies' reading)
-Glorious Tributes to Parents (children's expression to parent's b'days or like)

hmm... think we shall add on along the way...

Just one week and the forum is overloaded again. I think I'll never be able to catch up apart from reading the nearby posts.

On Hill Street visit, although the gallery and the fire station are next to each other, please note that the fire station is only open to public on Sat from 9-11am. If it is a group visit, pre-booking is required but I've been told that it's booked all the way to Dec.

oh... regarding the visit...

hmmm.... think I'll have to do it on my own with the kids on a weekday then. Sunday AM programme is out for my family.

Meilan,
can still visit fire station on Sat morning right?

hi sarah! Hi worry mum!

no worries... practise makes perfect!

Just keep posting and blogging. You know, I still know nothing about blogging... have you seen professional bloggers' works? Astonishingly beautiful!

Here are some pictures from the fire station visit I did with ky and our playgroup.

This is JK with a fire engine cut and paste craft I prepared for the kids.
800575.jpg

And this is a group pic (JK and JC on the extreme left and Ben and Keith on the right)
800576.jpg

ky, please send me any nice group pics if you have managed to capture good ones. As you can see from above, can't expect too much from a phone camera.

Hi Cindy. So you are coming back in Jul instead of Aug? Yes, you can walk in to one of the fire stations on any Sat bet 9am-11am. Just need to check which do open houses (most do).

By the way, I have just posted on the blog heehee..

Lena and Sarah, I'm ok with outing on 1st week of Jun and prefer morning.

Does anyone know if it's at all possible to bake cookies or muffins using oven toaster? I do not have a conventional oven nor a microwave but would really like to try some very simple baking.

Worry_mum,

I am also newbie to blogging .. I only know that we can upload a file in yahoo groups. let me chk out other pp blog to see if they do attach files .. actually i m thinking of a post with that table, maybe like kristin's_mom mentioned, as an image ? then hv a category label just for that, then we just go into that label and look up the latest post, which would be the latest info .

Wow, if you are the one doing the job ... then you sure hit the quota of one post a month if every mth got some changes :)

Serenade, serious abt organising the visit to the airforce musuem? Will hold off till you are back if this is on. How is everything on your end now? Any tinge of reluctance to leave the apartment you've called home? I remember the intense feeling of loneliness when I emptied my room at my hall in NUS and the 2 times when I shifted out of my apartments in Japan. It's like the place is just an empty shell again with your personal belongings and decorations gone.

Hi Meilan,

Can't promise anything yet :p My hubby kept reiterating that there's nothing there except some old planes. Anyway, he'll run a check on the place and I'll let you gals know the outcome

I'm feeling great as I'm typing. Boxes have been shipped and "spring cleaning" is done. Hurray! Next, we'll enjoy the next few weeks before we fly off for Sg!

This part of France will definitely have a place in my heart. I did feel a tinge of sadness as we packed and prepare to leave. Afterall, four years is not a short time. But really, I look forward to my home in Sg. Somehow, this place here has always felt like a "stop" for me. A stop that has been filled with my kids' laughters, tears, etc... It will probably be one of my most memorable stops in life.

Hi Sherlyn,

Slim is an understatement. With the packing and spring cleaning, I need to put on a few kilos before qualifying as slim. Moshimoshi, remember what you said earlier on? I'll be dragging along for my eating spree

Hi ky,

Sorry if I have missed your earlier email. Can you please send me your bank account asap? I'll try to transfer the money for the books tomorrow. Otherwise, I can only pay you when I return to Sg.

Hi parents-like-us mommies,

Hehe, finally made my first post. Unfortunately, I lack the time to do a proper writeup. Hopefully, you gals don't mind a slideshow instead. Enjoy!

Am really glad to see active participation so soon. Keep up the good work!

Hi Joanne,

Regarding scar. Vit E oil is very good for scar healing. It must be pure Vit E oil, lotion/gel is not as effective as oil form. U can get it from most pharmacies.. For me, i use Jorubi brand but its gel form on insect bites and old scars.

thank you all the mummies. i am really exhausted for this confinement. i did not have confinement lady this time thinking i can handle myself, i am really wrong, i have to handle all the things myself. all the night feedings. did not ask my hubby to help much as he dun have AL he followed student's vacation , and the term just started for him. At this point of time , i really salute SAHM . how do you all make it. i am thinking twice of SAHM now dun know i have the calling or not. for these three weeks i have broke down twice already . must come in often to read forum to destress.

Hi moo87!

You will need an invitation to join the blog as an author-cum-reader at the same time.

So if you would pm me or Moshi2, we can send you an invite.

Hi Emily!

Take it easy.
Best thing about SAHM is Own Time, Own Target... no need to be stressed about getting things done.

You are one brave mom - During my confinement, I had my mom to help as well as a maid. Still I was forever lack of sleep coz of 2 hourly bfg and the drink-poo-routine of a newborn.

The first time was terrible coz my episiotomy wound took 8 weeks to heal. But the second time was good, only 3 weeks.

Yap, I agree... the forum does help one to keep one's mind sane. Drop by whenever you can afford the time. But you do need a lot of rest now too. Do you have anyone who can come in to help during the day? Your mom or MIL perhaps? It will help you catch some rest during the day so that you can cope with the night feeds.

Hi Emily,

It is never easy being a SAHM, and it is also not easy being WOHM or whatever role anyone assumes. In short, life is never a bed of roses hehehe

However, i guess if you can, get some help somewhere so that you can rest.

take care

sherlyn

hi mommies .. need some advices.

ds went for his 4 yr old assessment in polyclinic and his vision is not perfect but doesnt warrant referal to specialist yet. Nurse say will review in 6 mth time and if it worsens then refer. Meantime, she ask me to get him to have nap, and to sleep at 9pm. Also to get him a table lamp if he does reading etc.

Does your kids use table lamps ? most light in my house are warm light (yellowish light) .. am wondering if yellowish light is better or the white lights are better ?

Any comments appreciated.

For some strange reasons, i couldn;t access this thread yesterday, anyway, glad to be back 2day.

Moo, Pl send me an email, ur address is missing from my contacts,i'll invite u to the blog.

Meilan ... that's a nice shot of the kids at the fire station. u know i don't have that shot... will email u the pictures soon, esp with u & the kids up in the sky... hubby was holding onto the camera most of the time and fyi, he's quite a *ahem* "wonderful" photographer ... sorry, have not sort them out nor post in my blog yet.

Sarah, yes, my family was in red. I had to force it onto the "eldest" male species though... haha, we had fun.

Worry mum, I don't think you can post an attachment in the blog. It's html, so you can post in the table and it'll be displayed like text. If you have problems doing that, email to me and I'll do the first posting for you.

this morning, I drove ben to school and on my way out, saw this korean mother who was fetching her son to the same school. I offered her a ride, without knowing that her son was eating choc-coated titbits... and he's dirtied the car quite a bit. Not that I mind the cleaning but food is not allowed in the car as it'll attract cockcroaches. Hubby has already spotted 2 while driving ... ohoh, how do you pre-empt or tell someone politely esp a 4-yr old? I've told a mother to seat-belt her 4-yr old times before but he's still not each time he's in the car. I saw the eating but kept quiet.... hm.

.ky.

meilan
remember to post the pic. of the fireboys and firegirls on the blog, do they give out helmets to every visitor or only to those who did group booking?

abt cookies in toaster, tried once, turned out charred cos' i didn't open the toaster door to cool the coookies. i also tried baking 'play dough' we made, er... top part was charred and bottom still 'soggy', not sure if it's because i lined the tray with aluminium foil.

ky
seat belt: just say u spotted a traffic police approaching and hope she gets the hint.
food: Display 'No food allowed' sign on windscreen.

June hols:
28 May (mon) or 29 May (tue)
1. Kinokuniya cum lunch
2. Fly paper aeroplanes at airport, followed by lunch at Swensons, ice cream on me (i have vouchers to use).
3. Zoo
4. Or???

Hi moshimoshi,
Abt seat belt, my mum's maid also do not belt it & I will use your method. Said ample of times must belt and she must be reminded to belt it.