(2003) Calling all 2003 babies

Yes, I think a couple in fact. JK went to the mint one at Seah Street. I think there is another on old Shanghainese toys. Check out the nhb website where they have a link to all the govt + private museums in S'pore. But I think JK did not find it very intersting cos cannot touch.

Here's some sharing of food we have this week but not all. And also the three different tarts that I bake today.

Sushi - a couple day ago
796545.jpg

Tonight's dinner
796546.jpg

Egg Tart from scratch for both pastry crust and filling without using custard powder but using eggs, milk etc
796547.jpg

Lemon Tart using Jello Lemon tart filling by adding sugar, egg yolks and beating the egg white till fluffy and place on top of the filling.
796548.jpg

Estella Nuts tarts - Everything from scratch
796549.jpg

All these will done with one of Kai's friend mummy while the boys play with each other. As we have made too much pastry crust dough, we thought we can make three different types of tarts and finished the dough but each of us still have a big ball of dough left which I have freeze it up for future use.

Pris, why you always like that, post food pics before lunch? Cannot tahan...

But your Kai is a damn lucky boy, just wondering how can he didn't get fat from all the good food?

Parents-Teachers meet : I usually exceeded my allocation. teachers shouldn't and didn't complaint ... in fact, they welcome participative parents. For Ben's school, the teachers are supposed to put write in the coom book what's been done on a weekly basis. I know the teachers pretty well by now as I appear in school to fetch him everyday and we chat a fair bit including knowing their background... that's one of the reasons why I choose to fetch him and not put him on schoolbus. Yes, more admin work for teachers but from this, I can see the good work a teacher has put in from what's written. oh, his fees are definitely more ex than what sarah/moshi/meilan are paying ...

re vivo, meilan, hubby said nothing much there leh? he said playground is small and ben was bored after 1/2 hr.

I've free corporate passes to quite a number of places ... the ones which I've got usually are for zoo & bird park. Museum wise ... I've yet to venture much. Probably a mindset coz we are used to an open space and going to the city is a consideration when it comes to traffic and parking.

.ky.

Meilan, I am still in the process of making my Japan video and have yet to clear all the photos from my system which I could not upload all the photos from my current trip so was thinking the food photos were quite small so I share some.

Well, Kai and my dh are rather active so they do not put on much weight haahaa.

Kai has a monthly review report from preschool and the teacher also call to review about his progress and if he is doing fine, they will just inform us they are doing well unless they give some problem in school.

I might be sending Kai for some testing on his IQ as one of my neighbour asked me to do it since she thinks that Kai is very advanced for his age and to check out whether he is gifted which I might have to check out where I can get it done. As far I am concerned, I know that he is slightly advanced in some areas but my neighbours felt that he is way too advanced that she insisted that I should send him for some testing. Just checking whether anyone has done that before?

hurray, sarah! stick with us la, aust no fun (what am i saying har?)

been to a small toys museum once, can;t remember it's name and the toys on display, we finished it in less than 30mins!

hey lemme go check out those musuems u mentioned, the animals festival thing sounds gd but it;s ending so soon?

Hunt down bronze rubbings of animals, create your own safari on paper and sign up for a variety of workshops. Learn the art of sock puppets as you chomp on free popcorn.

Recommended for ages 3 - 12.

For enquiries, please call 6332 3220.
Schedule: 27 May 2007
27 May 2007 10:00AM - 5:00PM @ Singapore Art Museum, 71 Bras Basah Road, Singapore 189555

hi Moshimoshi,

I do not think my kids appreciate musuems but the one with antique fire engine maybe can consider since my boy likes fire engine. Going to toy musuem and they cant touch the toys .. do you think kids can stand it ? hehehe

Am thinking of a healthzone visit with the kids thou ..

I m also worried abt making 2 kids sitting down on a cafe .. I will not be able to "rest" in peace and my eyes will keep wander over to them, so would not be able to concentrate on chatting .. so hv to pardon me on that.

Will be MIA for a couple of days, need something to complete the making of DVD for Japan Trip and also to created the subtitle for it.

And also to update my blog, been very lay back for the past few months and also to change the wall display for home schooling.

Hi Pris,

As I told you, trying to bake .. so have been baking muffin none stop since it is the easiest and after all the munching, i m now a few KG heavier and waist a few inches bigger. *sob sob* . but i still hv to bake ah, practice make perfect mah.

aiyo, can imagine a panda eye, yellow face, hagged looking creature like me going outdoors ?

How abt the Airforce Museum? Kristins_mom was suggesting that my DH can give a guided tour to the kids, hehe... DH said he would find out more abt it. He kept saying there's nothing interesting there except for some very old planes. Let's see how it goes...

Hi Pris,
Invite sent! Looking forward to read your blog soon

Hi Sherlyn,
If you are panda, then I must be the bamboo lor...

I'm going to the zoo prob on 31 May ... public holiday ... anyone wanna join me? Serenade, I'm (me me, not just my kids) keen on the airforce museum ... hehehe.

can someone share what's to explore at healthzone? It's at HPB building right? I was there earlier this week but had to rush off to somewhere else so didn't explore.

Sherlyn, a good place came to my mind. U know Explorer kids at Downtown East. There's a similar one at Safra Toa Payoh and I hear recently from another group of mums, there's one at Redhill... it might be good for your kids to release their energy

.ky.

Pris
your mouth watering food sure makes me hungry..

Ky
Explorer kids at Downtown East.. Benny wishes to play but I don't think I can manage alone with two kids.. so we gave that a miss the last time we were there.. If both of them run in different directions, I'll not know who to run after first.

I have received mother day's present from Benny which he has made with the help of teachers in school. A flower attached to a packet of cookies.. As he gave it to me, his eyes never leaves the cookies and immediately told me he wanna try them.. haha.. think I'll only get to keep the flower.. Cookies are mend for the kiddos..

moshi
would really love to join you all to the zoo on 29th May as it's my BD but Benny has to attend school so unless activities are planned on Sat, I'll not be able to join in. Sun are fully booked by grandpa and Great grandmother.

congrats, Emily!

What a beautiful name, Faith!
Can't wait to see her cute little face too.

Hope this post finds you and your family well!
Drink lots of soup!

Serenade,

completed my target for this month's contribution to parents-like-us... hehee! Stressful, man! :p

I'm sure you'll join me to tell the rest more about Paris.

We are so looking forward to the Airforce Museum. Hope this will be our first gathering with the rest of the parents and children represented here on the forum. So moms... mark your calendar in July, ok?

So i'm proposing Jul 7/8 weekend. Coz we've already been invited to a wedding on Jul 14. Otherwise we can always go visit the Civil Defence Museum at Hill Street. WHat do you think?

Hi Pris!

Invite to blog has been sent!
I, too, am trying to catch up on my blog. Really, blogging is gratifying... otherwise, my temper will be quick again. The kids do get on my nerves sometimes.

Yeah... great minds think alike... I also did some maki rolls this week for Bryan's teachers appreciation luncheon. All the parents came together to pull food, drinks, and also presents for the teachers just to say Thank You. DOn't you think we went through great lengths? Why no parents did that for me when I was still teaching? SIgh!

But it was fun preparing Bryan for the day and got him to do cards too...

Can't wait to see those beautiful pics from your trips... work hard to get them posted, ok?

Any mommies staying in the West, other than Sherlyn, ky and Serenade?

We're in the process of booking an apartment in Buona Vista area for our three weeks in Sg in July. Maybe we can meet up often then... for a swim, or coffee or chit chat or craft.. errm no, unless Moshi wants to come teach!

Am quite happy this time coz the location is more accessible than the Joo Chiat place we were at... also it's nearer to my parents' home... babysitting logistics, hee! Anyway, the grandparents and grandkids do miss one another a great deal.

Hi moshi2!

As you can see, am still trying to keep the categories to the beginning letter "G"... hee! Let's see how far this letter takes us...

I'm attaching a copy of the initial categories we thought of, so we have a rough idea of what labels we want. <center><table border=1><tr><td>
mime_msword.gif
blog labels
blog names.doc (21.0 k)</td></tr></table></center>

err .. serenade .. sorry leh, my english is quite bad .. so how shd i b interpretating your statement of you being the bamboo when i m the panda ? the only explaination is you must be slim like the bamboo ? :)

ky,

31st i m gog for a musical call little red hen (i think) so cant join you.

something similar to explorer kids in redhill .. that is near and sounds great but like joanne says, it will be difficult for me if my kids decide to run different directions. unless it is weekend and my dh go with us.....

Hi Kristin's mom,

I am fine with the airforce musuem .. but not sure abt the kids. Will give it a try if i m not travelling bak to my in laws in malaysia.

Hi Moshimoshi,

both 29 and 30th is out for us. we will be in my in laws place in malaysia from 26 till 28, so when i m bak, i will hv clothes to wash and other hsehold stuff to do. on 30th, i will not want to tired out my kids so hopefully they have less tantrum on 31st when i watch a musical with them.

Congrats! Emily.

K's mum...think I was very fortunate that when I taught in both sec and pri, my kids has done that for me.

I give them a party for youth and children day too from my own packet but of course got P's permission each day and P and VP are invited.

I stayed in the west too near IMM but now in Vancouver.

Emily
Congrats! Nice name for your baby.

K's mum
Worri mum and me are staying in west area too, Bukit Gombak. Actually we're staying only a street apart but haven't got a chance to meetup yet.

Mission accomplished! Have contributed to blog.. hehe..

Oh yes, We went for another medical review yesterday and surgeon was very pleased with Benny's progress. I don't have to squeeze his wound for pus anymore and it's starting to dry up. But his scar very obvious..(Benny is very fair) wonder if colour of scar will fade. Parents have been asking me what happen to his neck and I'm kind of tired answering this question. Anything I can apply to fade away scar???

He's not taking seafood for the time being but should I continue to ban him from chicken till after 4 months like what my MIL told me? He's having an outing to Bird Park on 25 May and he'll be served fast food..

sigh.. decision again. *faint*

Hi Joanne and Worry Mum!

It will be great to meet up with you moms too.

Maybe in the afternoons during the weekdays or on weekends. But we don't have that many weekends in Sg. And already quite torn between friends and relatives.

Hi Pris!

Kai really is quite advanced for his age. An IQ test might be good for your info so that appropriate action can follow.

But expectations of a kid in the Asian context are often far more demanding than what the Western culture here propagates. Maybe we are just born kia-su... haha!

K's mum...will only back in either end Dec or end Jan depending on dh's work and his defence for his thesis.

And we might be heading down south, if Dh is continuing his research for Ph.D, waiting for the outcome of his application and if not we will be back for good next year.

I think Kai is normal and maybe advanced in certain areas but since my neighbour kept bugging me to bring him for a IQ test, thought no harm doing it. But will need to find out more before bringing him.

***TO ALL GREAT MUMMIES IN THIS FORUM**
YIPPIE
HAPPY MOTHER'S DAY...

Joanne,
Yippie. Glad that Benny is on the recovering stage, and credits goes to you for his smooth recovery.
Meet up - No problem, Once Benny is better, we shall meet up then. Me actually wanted to call you few times, but scare that it might worsen Benny's Condition.
As for Benny's Bird Park Trip, my personal opinion is, if you can tag along, then is alright. If you can't is better for you to give it a miss.. as he is still not fully discharged yet. Anyway, the CCs will be organising it again and again..

Emily,
Congrats to you and Welcome to the world..Baby Faith.
kao_welcome2.gif

Serenade,
Airforce Museum - Yippie, hopefully ur DH can give us an guided tour not only to the kids but for us the adults too.

K's Mom,
Yeah, U will be back too in July. Great! Yippie, Bouna Vista is nearer.. hehe.. hopefully we can meet this time.

The ideas for the Civil Defence Museum at Hill Street trip is great. Count me in ya. Let's plan it on 8 July Sunday can??

KY, Sherlyn, Moshimoshi, Sarah, Meilan
Thanks for allowing us (ME) to know so many activities. Didnt even noted there are so many activities in Spore too..
kao_shy.gif

Mummies, anyone interested on this activity?
Civil Defence at Hill Street outing on
8 July 2007 Sunday @ 9am?
**Attendance**
1) Kristin's Mom = 2 Adults, 2 Kids.
2) Worry Mum = 2 Adults, 1 kid.

Hi Kristin's mom,
I just paid my 'due'. Still figuring out how blogspot works. I cant do a preview, and did not label it. Sorry!

what's happening here har? info overload again, but thriving business is good, more man!

hey ladies
the zoo dates are not confirmed, probably mid june when serenade is more settled to join us.
sheryln, u have fun in msia, we'll see u during the 2nd week of june then.

meilan n sarah, it's just us now, shall we fix the date n activity for the 1st week?

k's mom, worrymom
what's the hill st musuem thing abt?
would love to join u gals.

i attended the most beautiful garden wedding at mandai orchid gardens this afternoon, the weather was perfect and ambience, romantic. My dear brother is married today, he's one lucky chap, the bride was simply AWESOME.

Hi Worry Mum!

Oops... Sunday's programme is preferrably in the afternoon, otherwise our family will have to give it a miss. Coz we'll be going to Sunday Service in the morning.

Programme in pm, can?