(2003) Calling all 2003 babies

Anyone keen?? I just called. tickets are limited... the last time I went to a chinese orchestra, ben wasn't exactly that keen .... hm, I'm still thinking

---------------------

Let your Child be captivated by an hour of fun melodies!

There's a Young Children's Concert by the Singapore Chinese
Orchestra(SCO) the Friday after this on the 18th May.
It's in the morning 11am to 12noon, and is suitable for young
children 3 to 6 years old.

Ticket S$10 per person.
Tel: 65574037 or Email: [email protected] to book.

The SCO brings back the ever popular and fun Young Children's Concert
for our little ones! Fusing education and entertainment, this concert
embarks in cultivating the appreciation towards Chinee orchestral
music for the very young while introducing them to the tempo and
musical terms like Allegro and Adagio. The well-mixed repertoire of
fast and slow melodies include children's favourite Doraemon as well
as popular local harmonies like Chan Mali Chan and Singapura.

ky,

I am also thinking abt it .... but noon time leh .. also my gal oni 2.5 yr old ... maybe nex yr, both my kids can go ...

Hi Sherlyn
If I go, I'll only bring Ben and we are ok to eat out. But decided not to go. He doesn't fancy Chinese Orchestra and going to Tanjong Pagar (where it's held) is far in this context.

.ky.

hi, I've just privatized my blog after reading this morning's digital section. I tend to put in a number of info on my kids and hence to protect them, I've chosen to privatize it. Have added whoever I know of ... pm me if you wish to get invited ... thanks!

ps. K's mum, can't find your email ID in my mailbox (it's too messy) ...

I've been a silent reader.. too busy to post..

K's mum..
I agree on parents-like-us and blogspot too. But I may not have much contributions to blog as my Eng is so so and don't have too much time for it.

ky,
may I have the honour to access your blog???

Mother's Day Gift We Made for Grandmas

792417.jpg

moshi,
doesn't matter if it's tasty, most important someone appreciates and eat it.
that's a good start for someone who seldom cook. don't you think so?

I will be updating my blog these few days if time permit, if you need access, please email me and let me know who you are since I will be adding you into my email as well.

KY and a few other who have email me, will add you in when I update!

Hi Joanne!

PLease blog... don't care about Eng grammar lah... no English teacher here, right? Moshi2... you keep quiet,ok?

Besides, will privatise the blog too so no other moms but ourselves will read it.

It's a staying in touch thingy. an extension to the forum to document gatherings and outings and things we enjoy with our children. No need paiseh... all are welcome to blog!

hi all mommies!

our blog's been created!

it's http://parents-like-us.blogspot.com

Setting is done such that only the authors can read the blog. So don't worry about freaks spying on our lives.

So far, I've added these moms for co-authoring rights:
serenade
Moshi2
Sarah
Meilan
Worry-Mum
Apricot
Priscilla
ky

sorry... that's about all the email add that I have.

Interested moms, please pm me.
Wait a sec... I've added you too, Joanne!

Hi Kristin's mom,

Realised need to sign in using google ac. But I do not have google ac. Can you pls advise how to access our blog ?? Thank-you !

Thanks, Kristin's mom!

Apricot,
Click on the email link that Cindy sent you. You should see something like "no google account, create here".

Thanks for adding me! still trying to catch up after MIA for a while.

Will try to contribution as much as I can, yeap, no english teacher here haahaa...we can use singlish too. I am more a double math teacher and also science but need to teach English in primary school but I did physics, chem and maths when i was teaching secondary school.

Thanks, Sarah for clarifying the matter for me.

Apricot, you must need to create an account with google. You can use your existing email addy. No need to have a completely new add with gmail.

Happy Blogging!

Remember to write about the recent gathering and filled it with photos...

Hee... am still sorting out things here...
Unpacking is done. But have been busy these two weeks. It's Teachers Appreciation Day tomorrow at Bryan's school and I promised them to make some makis.

Once things are more settled, will get down to blogging and uploading the photos in Paris.

Yipee! The birth of our blog before Mother's Day, what a timely prezie, thanks Cindy!

moi eng teacher but eng also sub-standard la, no stress ok everyone, let's blog!

Hi Lena!

Am still going to add in the labels.

but seems like the lables will only appear when people sort their posts according to them. When you write an entry, there will be a space at the bottom of the window that says "Labels for this post". You can add in the categories. Usually there's an automation complete command, so if the label already exists, you can just key in "enter".

Continue to play around with the functions.

HAve fun!

Wonderful blog description - nice housewarming to our virtual space!

Hi Lena!

Can't do up the categories for now. Coz not enough posts.

So just post to your heart's content first.

I shall manually label them at a later stage.

Hi moshimoshi!
I like what you wrote! Very heartwarming

Hi Kristins_mom,
Working on the Paris Trip now. Hopefully I'll be able to post something up soon

Will MIA for a while since I am compiling our Japan trip into DVD first so that I can clear all the photo files from my computer and upload our alberta trip.

Will see all of you soon!

Hi Sherlyn,

Sent you the invitation! One request though - silent reading isn't really encouraged, Contribution is strongly advocated!
It's a private blog, so we can showcase our adorable kids or air our grouses etc... Of course we'll still continue to contribute to the traffic here, but for more private stuffs, the blog would be a better place ;)

Hi parents-like-us mommies,

Just wondering if we should set some common rules? Eg. criteria for joining the blog or do we simply allow access to all requests? To encourage active participation, minmum one post/comment per month to keep "membership" active? Also, do we allow foreign "readers" (as in not authors) in our blog? Afterall, this is our common private blog, need to safeguard ourselves a little :p Any comments?

Hi Serenade,

Thanks for the invite. Understand that silent reading is not encouraged .. but if i m to post, i m always one with many grouses leh. I am worried I will overload the blog with my grouses.
I do not hv many friends who are stay at home, so usually forum are places where i get my answers to my thousands and one questions on any topic under the sun.

No promises, i will try to contribute (more likely to be comments). If I have caused any inconveniences, maybe you can request that I withdraw (err ..simply kick me out!

I feel that criteria for joining the blog is essential .. we already have alot of mothers privatising their personal blog, so we shd also be "privatising" our blog lor. However i m not sure wat criteria shoud be in place.

Hi Serenade!

I think we shall keep the membership to only the mommies here. and of course, only those who come here often will know about the blog anyway.

Haha... die die must write one post a month!!! You're trying to stress us out or what??? :p
But am sure the mothers here have no problems to meet that criterion!

Hmmm... as to whether we should allow other readers, i.e. non-authors, i think if we did that, then it would run contradictory as we also do want to encourage silent reading. So to be fair, readership should belong exclusively to the authors. What do you think?

Hi Sherlyn,

all grumbles and grouses are welcome! don't worry about boring us... i'm sure we can also match up to that :p

in fact we are thinking of making a category out of that... when we have enough posts on the blog, i will start labelling them and all mommies can sort posts according to the labels then. And if you have the most no. of posts in the complaint column, you will be given an award. :p

Hi Moshi,
Me too, like what you wrote!

We went to Sentosa yesterday coz no school. Took the monorail (or Sentosa express) from Vivo City, visited Underwater World and Butterfly Park. Sigh... could not visit Dolphin Lagoon due to bad weather. Two stops only but we had fun. I have not stepped into Sentosa for many years, and wow!, there's so much changes. Think I have to go again...

serenade & k's mom
only 'authorised dealers' and 1 post per month to keep memebership. yes, we'll stick to those .

sarah
while u were having fun, i was busy nursing mel back to health, down with runny nose, skipped sch for a few days. thank God she's ok now, back to sch 2mrw.
seems like hannah's sch is like mel's, excursion for 1 day and no sch the next. the same teachers have to take the P.M. session kids to the same place, that's why. is it the same at hannah's?

show us your sentosa pix at the blog, entice me a bit la, i always find it expensive to have fun there.

sherlym
don;t worry, u can have exclusive rights to Complaints Department, listening ears will be stationed there. Cya!

moshi,
good to hear mel feeling better. hannah has been coughing for some time. night cough seems to have gone down after trying the vapour rub remedy. but daytime...arrgh, don't want to talk about it.

yep, same practice at hannah's sch. when is mel's parents-teachers' meeting? hers on 21st, restricted to 10mins. i wonder how much can you discuss?

no photos la, have yet send camera for repair. oh yes, it's very expensive! just the tickets to underwater world costs me more than 50 bucks!

moshi and sarah

Can sign up for the family membership for Sentosa, I remember I have a yearly membership which I used to bring Kai there on my own to the beach or even weekend with dh and maybe a couple of his friends and their families. And the entry to sentosa is free and other benefits too.

Hi Kristin's Mom and moshimoshi,

thanks for the go ahead sign
and the support. Actually been wanting to start a blog for some time, but certainly think that i hv no time for tat .. now good lor, it is like able to own something but to pay instalment for it

Cindy, cannot access leh. Created google acct and presume user name is the email I typed in but could not get in. My hubby just shook his head saying there must be something abt me with the frequent cyber sabotage I face!

sarah
10 mins? really the parents' meet is just a formality, it's better to get regular updates from the teacher, some schools provide feedback thru' communication booklets.mel's sch doesn't offer that and i don't think it will work out well even if they do, they are too many kids and teachers will frown at the idea of having extra admin work, also, wording the remarks alone is a headache.
the approach at her sch is 'if u don;t ask, i don;t say, if i say, then it's something not good.' still very 'old school'.

Moshi and Sarah, so Jk's sch is not the only one with off days after outing days? He has monthly outings so you can imagine how many more holidays he gets on top of the term ones. By the way, how much is the sch fees per term? Still quite peeved that they are increasing from $480 to $570 next year citing GST, increase in operating costs etc and having deliberated on this after much prayers!!!

meilan, sherlyn
shall we take the kids to the museum for the first gathering? any idea which is good and has a nearby cafe for a cuppa n chit chat?

By the way, would like to recommend VivoCity if you guys haven't been esp on a wkday. They have a playcourt on L2 which is like a big playground. On L3, the shallow pools are good for waterplay tho I read that it was not built for that purpose. Being quite deserted relative to the size of the mall, I find it a stress-free venue for young families. There are also many restaurants offering good set-meal deals.

meilan
monthly outings? so fun! i don;t mind her going out more. where do they go?
i pay only $450 per term, cheap cheap, do u pay extra for the outings?

Hi Moshi,
Count me in for Jun holiday outings. Australia trip cancelled - sis & family will come instead.

1. Singapore Arts Museum
Animals Festival on May 15, 16, 22, 24 and 27. Dome cafe.

2. Asian Civilisations Museum
Mothers go in free on Mother's Day. Storytelling etc activities going on. Note that every 2nd Sunday of the month is Sunday Family Fun. www.acm.org.sg

Moshi, Meilan,
I agree with you. How nice to have monthly outings. I pay $510 per term. Outings are included in the miscellaneous fees, prepare own snack though.

Museum is a good idea and I'm comfortable with the Art Museum and Stamps Museum but not the National Museum for its sheer size. Haven't been to ACM for a long time. Another possibility is the Civil Defence Heritage gallery at Hill Street where they will get to see antique fire engines.

Ya, hubby said he wished he had gone to a sch like that when young. Monthly outings are fun indeed but I don't appreciate the extra off days cos a bit stress for me with both monkeys at home all day long lah. We pay extra for each outing depending on the venue. Eg. for toys museum and health zone, we paid $6 but the trip to Sentosa was $16.