(2003) Calling all 2003 babies

hi meilan
how's ur work getting along? hope to see u at sarah's

hi worrymum
prayed for lil girl, wondering if she's alright. heart wrenching piece of news.

hi serenade
moi suffering from stiff shoulders AGAIN, so didn't visit teachersthemepark. willrevert soon.
what does WINK have?

potluck, any pot that will bring luck, haha, don;t think anyone wants to eat what i cook, i bring what others cook, heehee

hey am so envious of ur disneyland trip with cindy, don;t forget to have fun yourselves!

Abt potluck on 29April...me no time to cook so intend to buy otah from famous stall at Jalan Kayu..I will pack non spicy ones for lil ones.
Is this dish acceptable ? I ask is becos some people I know do not take this.

Hi apricot!

Was browsing on ASton's blog again...
Only one conclusion: you should make Aston a child model. He looks so dashing and is so expressive on the photos.

Also, he reminded me of all the fun childhood rides in Genting.

Hi Serenade!

Box of books arrived today... yippee, lots of presents! Me, happily reading Shel Silverstein's Poems... way cool! Thanks for the recommendation!

Also, dh is not around... so went shopping yesterday... haha, boosted the German economy! Anyway, daddy forgot to get mommy anything for b'day, so i conveniently got some myself more outfits when i was in town yesterday afternoon. :p Ok, told myself to exercise self-control coz we'll be in Paris next weekend...hee!

Thinking of leaving Paris on Tuesday either before lunch or after lunch.

hmmm, hopefully we don't have to drive through Brussels. At the moment, the exec doesn't want to meet dh's boss. But boss still wants to meet. Otherwise it will be a terribly long drive.

Did you take photos of the wall paintings/drawings before you scrubbed them off? They are precious memory!

Bryan likes the songs on the Gruffalo website. And he will go, "Mommy, is that Julia Donaldson? That is really Julia DOnaldson!" Now he's hooked onto the Electric Company's website and finds the silent "e" song very amusing. Haven't ordered the DVDs yet. Maybe I'll do it just before we leave for Paris next week.

Hey moshi2!

Soon Serenade will be back in Sg... and you'll be making trips around Sg or even outside Sg with her family too.... no need to be envious

hmmm, just an idea... it could be quite fun to take a holiday together with another family, esp when the kids have company, parents also can have company. Our Playmobil weekend was a good testimony. Just a thought: Maybe you Moms could take off from the gatherings and plan some family holiday together... e.g. Desaru weekend or KL/Genting weekend kind of thing.

Hi Kristin's mom,
Thanks for the compliments on Aston...we really also think he is very handsome...ha ha...thick skinned we...

Hi Moo, I had not tried the nice choc cakes but I swear that it's super nice !!!...my friend bot before & they commmented good good good !!

Kristin mom,

Sabie left us this morning about 4hrs ago. I was with Benny at KKH for medical appointment and tried my luck looking for her parents at Children's ICU. Yeah, I managed to find them and gave her mummy, Patsy a hug. I saw her broke in tears yet don't know what to say.. was speechless and tearing when I left the ICU waiting lounge.

I'm now having a terrible headache.. Think most of the tears went up to my head instead of out from my eyes..

Regardless of religion, may lord whom Sabie is with now bring her joy and free of pain.

I saw Sabie's photo in the thread, beautiful child, i can't imagine the trauma the family went through, but as what my sis always reminds, God has a purpose for everything, may Sabie rest in peace...

I have been following Sabie's thread closely the last few days. Each time I turned on the laptop, I can't help but hope that there would be good news. But yesterday, I have been feeling so sad and terrible after reading the upate @11pm. Yes, Sabie is beautiful and her eyes look so wise... I hope the parents will be able to find new hope and strength after the grieving...

Yap, Sadie's such a pretty girl. I would not have thought anything was amiss in that photo.

Am saddened by the news. On the other hand, am glad now that she's safe in Jesus' hands for eternity.
May the Lord's grace abound in Sadie's family and help her parents to carry on till they reunite in heaven.

Yap, I went thru Sabie's photos from birth till recent.. She's such an adorable girl.. Can't help tears from rolling. Everytime I think of her, I'll turn to Benny and Bryan and plant them with a kiss.
I'm very depressed over her departure esp after having to experience anxiety waiting for more than 3 hours while Benny is having op in OT.

This morning, while searching aimlessly for Sabie's parents, I approached a nurse and asked for Samantha Beatrice Wong.. When she told me bed 13 I was hoping for a miscommunication.. hoping she'll be still fighting. But when I met Sarah, she confirmed the news and broke down with tears.. My heart simply broke!

I just wanna advise that virus is very strong these days & hit lil ones easily. My nephew & some children I know are having fever for around 4-5days and did not get well, when slowing getting well, there come running nose and cough.
Let's take good good care of ourselves and lil ones.

Joanne, dun be too sad. Pat.. Pat..

Thanks Apricot, It's a fact we have to accept.. have been tossing on bed like roti prata. Can't sleep!

Talking about virus, Benny has slight fever last week which worries me cos fever is one of the symptom of his cyst's recurrence but lucky it was just a common flu.. Now it's Bryan's turn!

It is sad that sabbie has passed away... so healthy looking in those pictures .. may i ask, wat leads to her death ?

My boy also had fever from saturday and only recovers on wednesday then it is my girl's turn .. what's happening around ?

*sigh*

Hi sherlyn,
Haven't 'spoke' to you before.. Welcome!!! I have been too busy with Benny and his neck..

If I'm not wrong, Sabie has congenital heart problem which requires surgery as she's turning darker each day.. I saw pic sent to me by worry mum.. her right thigh has big dark patch on it.. very poor thing

mommies with kids who are unwell, take care of yourselves too, get enough rest and drink lotsa water, weather's not too kind.

This is being archived, so i thought i should post again.

Mother's Day gathering:
Date: 29 April
Day: Sunday
Place: Upper changi, near EXPO
Time: 11am
Lunch: Potluck

Confirmed:
1. sarah
2. moshi
3. apricot
4. moo
5. minnie

Anyone else?

Recently if you notice, TV has been advertisting the Pneumococoal disease more often. Pls vaccine your lil ones if you have not done so.
One of the symtoms is also fever. Our lil ones only need one doasge at their age now. Charges is around $160 at PD , unsure abt normal GP.

Hi Joanne,

Me too, I was tossing last night..one reason is I think of Sabie and the other reason is my boys are kicking me madly. I realised I had a depressing sleep last nite and now feeling very sleepy.

Will you be able to join us for Mother's day gathering on 29April ?

Apricot,
You still co sleep with your boys? Looks like we're having the same problem.. Benny refused to sleep alone. I tried carrying him to his own "Di Lum" after he fell asleep, but funny.. when I'm awake, he'll be right beside me. He is the main cause of my morning sickness (body-ache).

As for gathering.. I don't think I'll be able to make it.. Upper Changi too far for me. I'll be alone with two hyper active boys plus Benny hasn't fully recover yet. Was squeezing out pus from his neck when I fetch him back for lunch just now.. He was crying like mad!

Is it necessary to have pneumococoal jab at their age? I thought they're at the "safe" age range?

One child $160, two children will cost $320!! *faint*

Joanne, I mean my boys inside my womb kicking me madly..they are so active now...
For Aston, he is still sleeping with us...haiz...have been trying hard to ask him sleep alone and he will have funny excuses like scared of ghosts, am still a baby...
I heard pneumococoal will affect up to age 7..

my 2 girls took the Pneumococoal jab last year
so little publicity last year. when I called up some clinics, they either told me need to order in advance or never even heard of that jab!
ended up we went to a pediatrician for the jab. I think I paid $185 each

hehe.. sorry Apricot.
Forgoten that you're carrying twins!!! I used to have 2 legs kicking inside keeping me awake. Imagine you have 4. Is the feeling the same? Or is it like they're having disco time inside? just curious..

hippo2002
I wish I could just bring the boys to PD for jab.. But Benny's medical fee has punched a big hole in our saving passbook.. so maybe after he recover fully then I'll decide whether to go ahead with vaccination.

Hope all of you are well.

So sad over Baby Sabie case too and have been following the thread there. Would not sleep well too when I know that she passed away. I supposed God has his purpose and His way is higher than our ways.

We just returned from Seattle and went to the tulip festivals, lots of breed of tulip.

Will be leaving to Calgary to see Rocky Mountain next Wednesday.

As for Pneumococoal jab, Kai took it when he was 18 months after recommendations from my friends and his pd.

Before I forget, Happy Mothers' Day to all in case I did not have time to log on.

Hi Joanne,
The feeling of them kicking is like many movements around the tummy. They kick most during the night time and I have started to tell them to sleep as this is not play time. They can kick til tummy turn hard...wow the feeling is so bloated..

Hi Priscilla,
TULIP is my fav flower. Send some photos and let me see

Apricot
Actually I enjoy feeling of foetus kicking inside me..but of course not the painful type. FYI, Bryan burst my waterbag with his powerful kick..

I attended Sabie's memorial service this afternoon and signed guest book indicated 2003 mummies. Knew some of you really wished to be there..

Sarah told me memorial svc is not to mourn lost of Sabie but to celebrate Sabie's life. I really salute Sarah and James. They're just like fighter Sabie.. So strong! Void deck was filled with beautiful flowers and balloons around Sabie's pictures. Sabie likes pretty pretty things and flowers.. and also elephant. (Mummy Sarah placed a cute elephant soft toy in front of Sabie's pic). I'll miss her alot..

Thanks, Joanne to attend the memorial service.

Sleepless nite again...haiz...the two boys are playing madly inside and kicking so enjoyably...my pelvic area is so so painful now..nearly cannot walk..nearly thot need to go hospital..But I am ok now after taking breakfast.

Hi Joanne,

I join this forum not too long ago but not a frequent "post-er" cos i usually only read. Also sometimes scare say wrong things offend pp lah .. so read and just post questions that i need an answer hehe.

aiyo, so sad after reading abt her memorial svc. She is still so young hor... smtimes i worry my kids leave me ... esp fever time, i usually wake up every hr to chk on them throughout the nite.

I myself very scare of needle, so is not ready to let my kids go thru the process since they are pretty old now. But am getting worried with all these posts. Is there oral way of administering the vaccine ?

The kids now get sick more frequent after boy attend N2. I think my boy is weak .. must build up his immunity with soups!

mommies out there .. anyone can help with the following ?

- those reddish cabbage used in salad, can they be steam ? How does it taste ?

- do you give medicine for the dose in the middle of the night?

- found those drying agent device, with crystal tat indicate if is pink or blue, and pink means go charge with AC to "dispose" off the moisture and to be used again. Are these useful ?

Thanks for helping

Hi Sherlyn!

The red cabbage itself tastes a little bitter when it's eaten raw. I don't know how it tastes when it's steamed though. Your children like it? It will be a miracle to get my kids to eat them.

Hi Joanne!

Thanks for representing us at the memorial serv.

If you do go down again, please give Sarah and James a hug from me too. Let them know Sabie's a beautiful child and she's very blessed with parents like them. Thanks!

Sheryln

Think it's not easy to buy red cabbage from market right? Getting my son to eat cabbage is already a miracle.. not to mention red cabbage. But boths DS loves carrot. esp when Benny is having constipation.

Soup to build up immunity? Any receipes to share?
Have been giving them corn soup and vegie soup due to Benny's food restriction. running out of ideas.

Hi Sheryln,
Me too, I also scared of Aston having fever...cos he will immediately hit 38degree on the very 1st check with thermometer. Therefore, we wakes up at night feed me med and tell him we are feeding him med though he may be still sleeping. So far he is very co-operative with us.

Ya...I also need soup receipes ..Aston simply love soup but poor mummy do not how to cook nice soup and very often will rely on MIL cook soup then he gets to drink it.

Sherlyn
Those crystals are silica gel and they change colour when it is damped. Usually, there will be a packet or two that comes with shoes or handbags.
I think cordyceps are good for strengthening the immunity system. You may want to let your kids take them occasionally.

Joanne, thanks for representing us. I've been following the thread and very saddened about the passing away. I'm still reading the thread and am heartened about how strong Sarah & the family is...

Sherlyn, I do give fever medicine at nights if the fever persists.... being super pantang, I don't discuss about how often they fall sick or not ... know what I mean? I do bring Ben to TCM Tuina occassionally.

Have brought Keith for his review on kidney today (his left kidney's been diagnosed as bigger than normal since birth). Thot we can get discharge today but doc told us got an significant increase and hence we've to go for Mag3 (a type of scan to see if there's any obstruction in the kidney system).

Oh, btw, the scholastic bookclub order list is here again. hm, should I email to those who have ordered the last time (very tempting book list once again)... on 2nd thot, I think I'd better not. do pm me if you want to see/order. I'll close this by this Friday (28 Apr). btw, most if not all the books are paperbacks.

.ky.

Fever..
whenever anyone of them gets fever.. I'll be prepared to stay thru the night. Fever will go away after medi but usually comes back after 4 or 5 hours. That's when the sponge bathing comes in.. till 6th hour then I'll force them with medi again.

Ky

You mean Keith has been hospitalised?

my MIL also pantang type. We don't discuss about Benny's neck in front of him. Whatever she says.. I'll follow. Better be safe then sorry!

what scholastic bookclub order list? Can email me? [email protected].. Thanks