(2003) Calling all 2003 babies

Hi Hi,

I also have a song of Brother John to share.
This was created by me when DH was away for 1st time busines trip two years back. After singing, it makes us yearn for his return that year.

Where is Daddy ? Where is Daddy ?
Where are you ? Where are you ?
Mummy Aston miss you, Mummy Aston miss you
Quick come back

Then we teared the moment we sang the song..

Hi Kristins_mom,

We have almost the entire range by Julia Donaldson :p

Try looking for this book - The Pumpkin Soup by Helen Cooper. One of Brandon's many favourites

I don't get to shop at bookstores here. Only shop online and the books arrived in parcels. So my hubby's usual comment - "A lot of presents, huh?"

Hey, Bryan is really good at rhyming!

Hi K's Mom,
Thanks for the website abt baby names.
Too bad, my nephew is named Ethan...so we cannot use his.
Therefore we may not use C or E.
But jus now, I thot of Clifford but Aston says this name is not nice..aiyo I wonder how young can he understand naming.

Hi Apricot,

Wow, you are really sentimental! Perhaps I'm so used to my husband's frequent trips, not much special feelings. Actually, sometimes I'll feel more relieved when he's not around, hehe...

Hi Serenade,

That was the 1st time feeling only which cannot part with him. Subsequently he travels 2-3 times and everytime we long for his return becos we wanted to see what presents he buy for us. Most of the time, he did not disappointed us. Then now, he no longer travel that much. But soon he will travel to Bangkok or India.

Hi Apricot,

Talking about presents, I have this joke to share. Whenever pple asked Brandon if he missed his daddy (daddy was back in Sg), he would answer, "No. Daddy is in Singapore buying presents for me!" ...

Hi Serenade!

Rhyming is one thing I don't complain about Bryan.

His favourite would be:
What a beautiful day!
Let's go out and play!

I love reading Dr Seuss with him and leave out the last word of every other line for him to fill out. He can always do it...
Laura Numeroff is one of his favourite authors, esp her Chimps don't wear glasses. I wonder what he sees in the Magic School Bus series. No rhymes at all. And he can't read. He depends on Mommy to read out to him. So it must be the colourful pictures.

ANyway, my dh stopped me from getting the book yesterday coz we didn't want to buy it before the kids. We'd still love to go back to the bookstore to hang out without having a nice evening out to escalate into a power-struggle of "to-get-or-not-to-get-a-book"-situation.

Hi Apricot!

Sorry there... can't help you any further with "Ethan". Pity, isn't it? It's a nice name.

You are one lucky woman... you see, whenever we zero names down... I always ended up with two... and to pick one out of the two was a tough call for me, e.g. with Bryan was Bryan or Ryan. (heehee, if only he knew he was almost named Ryan...) and with Kristin was Kristin or Kyra. But you can always use both your favourite names!!! Isn't it great to have twins?

Congrats again!

Hi Serenade!

How do you come across such a brilliant writer like Julia Donaldson? You should be doing more book reviews for us on the forum here. ;)
If it hadn't been for the browsing at the bookstore here, I would not have come across her Gruffalo.

Now, am so impressed with www.gruffalo.com that i've signed up my son to be a member of the Gruffalo Gang... haha!

Mommies who enjoy reading to your children,
dig out Julia Donaldson and have some fun! Look out for the name at the book fair in Expo, ok?

I feel like buying her whole collection now... maybe tomorrow is a good day. Daddy is travelling. Heehee... spare me those i-know-you'll-get-them-all-looks!

But the thing is... we're really gonna be book-crazy for some time... two more outstanding orders from amazon, one fat one from scholastic and currently, three more from the bookstore... oops!!! Have gone a bit haywire there!

Yap, Helen Cooper's Pumpkin Soup should be ready for collection at the bookstore tomorrow afternoon. Placed an order for it after having heard how much you and Brandon raved about it.

Hi Kristins_mom,

Like what I said earlier, Byran has the gift of gab!

Brandon has no problem filling up the last word too. But when I started him officially on rhyming lessons, it took him a while (like 2 lessons) to understand what rhyming is all about. Still, he's no where like Bryan, able to sprout rhyming sentences.

Hi mommies!

Have you ever thought of making a time capsule together with your children? SOmething you'll all open up like say in 25 years' time. Btw, that's the recommended period.

Things that one could include... suggestions from the website I was looking at:
copies of birth certificates, marriage certificates, driver's licenses, diplomas, report cards, Social Security cards, college ID's, passports, deeds, mortgage papers, awards, certificates, military papers and other official documents
cards, letters postcards, telegrams, stamps, envelopes and printed email
pressed flowers, leaves, feathers and locks of hair
ticket stubs, travel itineraries and hotel stationery
wallpaper or fabric swatches
menus, wine labels, matchbook covers and business cards
favorite quotes, song lyrics, poems and prayers
heirloom recipes
children's drawings and other family artwork
tags, ribbons and wrappings from gifts
maps and house plans
photocopies of your hand or a group of hands
thumbprints or handprints
political or current-events memorabilia, such as newspaper clippings
professional and candid portraits, vacation photos, photos of the inside and outside of your home and your family members' homes, reproductions of antique photos and school or team photos
jewelry and other small items or family heirlooms
personal items that individuals might have carried with them, such as a wallet, medallion, religious object, key or key chain, lucky coin
household items such as pipe, pen, paperweight
small articles of clothing such as a scarf, tie or handkerchief
items that document an era, such as fax, a computer mouse, train schedule, advertisements for clothes, computers or cars, the cover of a contemporary magazine, paper money or coins (which some experts feel will be obsolete in the future)

SOunds interesting... but am wondering if Bryan would be pestering me to open it up once it's done.

But I think I will certainly make one before we go back to Sg to mark our stay here... and maybe have it opened in 5 years' time. And perhaps add more stuffs in there???

Hi Worry_mum,

Thanks for the offer .. We don't like package tour cos it is difficult to rush with kids around. Furthermore, we are afraid that my gal who is only 80plus cm will not be able to take much rides in the theme park .. so we are just looking for letting kids play sand haha

Hi Serenade ..

Ya I knew a couple of you stay in the west, but still not quite near like jurong east or dover etc
unless like you they dun mind travelling ..

err .. they can jump on sofa even if they watch TV cos they may be imitating Hi 5 dancing haha .. anyway, they had their regular dose of TV after lunch since the programs in channel 33 are pretty educational from 12 - 2 .. so other times, usually i try to avoid using TV as the baby sitter.

*sigh* so I guess I will still have to be shouting away ..

intend to visit the bookfair on thursday after kids nap ... but wondering if it is only for members on the first day ?

Hi Kristin's mom,
Your time capsule sounds interesting! Don't think I have the energy to keep all these things. Hannah has a treaure box though. I kept her umbilical cord, a lock of hair (when we shaved her on 1st month), baby socks, blanket sewn by grandma, cards given to her on birthdays etc, some pictures.

Hey Kristin's mom,
I suggested Ethan to Apricot too. Arrgh...Ethan Hawke, Johnny Depp...delicious men.

Apricot,
Aston is right lah. Clifford, reminds me of the BIG RED DOG. Heehee...

hi cindy
both our kids are worksheets haters, we shall pray for use of the PC tablet from P1, haha, in our dreams, no way in our worksheets intensive schools!
excercise books? good idea!

hi serenade
i bought the calender from teachersthemepark, it comes with detachable dates, months so we change in monthly and math comes in when mel arranges and sticks the numbers from 1 to 30 on. looks lovely on the wall, best investment for me

a few of us were discussing abt mother's day gathering in may.
probably a picnic, the men will do all the work, the kids will present flowers and the mommies will all look pretty and wait to be served!

we'll discuss when May comes.

Looks like we're having quite a few new members.. Welcome!!

I'll probably be MIA for another two weeks as Benny is still not well.

After his surgery on 7th Mar, he was discharged on 11th Mar. But redness and swelling occur therefore admitted again on 22nd Mar for 5days of antibiotics by drip. Poor him, the antibiotic is kind of strong so his vein will be harden and painful by 2nd day and need to reset plug so you can imagine how many holes and bruise he have caused by IV plugs on both his little hands.

On 30th, his surgeon op on him AGAIN to drain pus with open wound(unstitched) so I'm busy with his daily changing of dressing in polyclinic again.. During his last admission, he had IV plug set on his feet as ALL veins in his hands are bruised. Still, that doesn't stop him from wandering around in hospital.. He has mastered the skills of moving around in a wheelchair by himself...

Hopefully, his op site will recover well and resume his daily, school life as he sure miss school alot. He has not been to school for more than 2 months..

Have to go.. will pop by once in a while when I'm free or 2 weeks later..

One last thing.. Congrats Apricot!!

WOW..Twins!!! Not an easy task ya. Take extra good care of yourself and rest well while you can as by the time your babies greet you, you'll be double exhausted. Being mummy of one baby is tiring enough, not to mention 2.

Of course when it comes to joy.. it's double happiness for you!! So nice..

Thanks Worry_mum, I understand it is for public but I remember one of the book fair, it is for member on the first day but it is not written in expo website. Thanks again.

ky, I will be gog to expo by train. If you are wondering, my mother is gog with me, thus i will not have any problem. I hope the kids will nap early .. If they dun sleep by 2pm, i will just bring them out without nap. However, i will not be going if it rains.

Hi Sherlyn,

Don't get me wrong. I don't mean shouting is a good thing but occasional shouting to catch their attention should do no harm. Btw, I have always like this book - The Secret of Happy Children by Steve Bidduph. It talks abt being an assertive parent to make life easier. Here are some of the pointers -

- makes clear firm requests and demands
- sets rules and carries out the consequences
- negotiates more as children become older and more capable

I'm a pretty strict mommy. So when I raise my voice, I would expect them to cooperate or face the consequences. I have no qualms on using the "cane" (with measured strength) if they intentionally misbehaved after warnings. (Ok, that must have made me sound like a devil mommy.) But I guess you'll have to work a way to let your kids know what's expected of them. Perhaps setting rules and taking away privileges if they don't obey the rules?

Hi Kristins_mom,

We love almost every book - either for the story, the illustrations or simply the language. So, it will be really tiring for me to do book reviews. Have you ever tried books by these authors Audrey and Don Wood? Some of their books have beautiful illustrations. "The Napping House", "The Little Mouse, the Red Ripe Strawberry and the Big Hungry Bear" and "Merry Christmas Big Hungry Bear!" are my kids' favourites.

Another favourite title is Bear Snores On by Karma Wilson. And Brandon simply adores "Who Moved My Cheese? For Kids" by Spencer Johnson. It's worn and torn now, so you can guess how much he loves that book. And in this book "Our Cat Cuddles" by Gervase Phinn, the "cat" was named "Brian". Perhaps, Bryan will find it cool. Moshimoshi, think Mel will like the book too. It has great descriptions of all kinds of cats -

We've got white cats, night cats,
Dancing cats, prancing cats,
Slim cats, trim cats,
Lanky cats, swanky cats,
Frizzy cats, dizzy cats,
Moody cats, broody cats,
Lean cats, mean cats,
Very, very clean cats.

If you want some book reviews, try Angie's website. I got some books based on her reviews and they are great hits with my kids. One example is The Bears on Hemlock Mountain by Alice Dalgliesh.

For books that have fun and rhyming verses , try the Frances series.

Two other books I would highly recommend include Voices in the Park & The Tunnel by Anthony Browne. "Knock Knock Who's There?" by Sally Grindley & Anthony Browne is Cheryl's current favourite.

Hi moshimoshi,

Great minds think alike! We have something similar from Growing Fun.

Every morning, Brandon will change the day and date. And I get him to tell me the day and date i.e Today is Wednesday and the date is 4th April 2007. At the beginning of every month, we'll do a song on the Month and I will tell him some facts about it. E.g February has 28 days but every 4 year, it will have 29 days etc... Find this is a effective way to introduce days and months. Now he has a pretty good idea with days, not just by memory. And Cheryl gets to learn about the animals too

However, the days are in abbreviated form. But it's fine cos he already knows the words.

Here's the pic.

749817.jpg

Hi Kristins_mom,

Just realised I have been rattling on the book titles without providing any sypnosis. You can find reviews on them via amazon.com. Too busy lately and probably I'll bore the others with my reviews...:p

Hi Sherlyn,
As far as I remember, book fair by Times and MPH does not have MEMBERS ONLY on first day. Coz I'm always there on first day and a non-member. Popular do conduct random checks on their first day of sale.

Hello all mummies,
Jus a quick note before I am on the air later. I am in Spore airport travelling to HK for 5days.
So excited cos this is 1st time Aston took plane..!
See you again next Wed !
Happy Easter !

Thanks Sarah .. I was there at 5pm on thursday and when it is time for dinner i still haven finish the children's section! Anyway there will be another one again later on this year ...

;-)

dear sarah, thanks alot. i had received the application form already. thank you very much for your help, really appreciate it. God bless. take care.

Hi Serenade,

For me, shouting is never a good thing .. but then if i m not with the kids, i would be doing some chores and my kids are mostly fighting or misbehaving .. so since i cant be running to them everytime to speak softly, i will be raising my voice most of the time .. which i really hate.

I think i may not hv been firm in terms of requests and demands .. and probably didnt follow the consequences for the rules i have set out .. *sigh* but sometimes it really not easy to be firm and also to carry out the appropriate consequences when my mother practice otherwise .

You definitely do not sound like a devil mother .. i m one instead .. using the cane liberally for even misbehaviours that may be allow by other parents (talk abt being strict) ..

just hv to control my anger and learn to improve myself as first priority.

Are all of you busy too? It's been so quiet!

Great news! I will be meeting up with Kristins_mom in May! Thought I will be meeting her family last, but who knows, she's now first in line :p

The packing has really kept me busy and tired. Current box count - about 20 small boxes and 10 big boxes. Believe it all or not, mostly are kids' stuff - books, clothes and toys.

And soon we'll be cleaning the house, ouch! another big headache...

Sarah, is Hannah still taking ballet? Any idea what's the minimum age that a kid can "join" ballet? Thinking of letting Cheryl take up ballet. Hubby was commenting she's pretty rough :p

Moshimoshi, do you need anything from teachers theme park? I will be getting some items from the website. Any craft lately? I desperately need some inspiration to keep my little ones occupied leh... With all the books packed up, I am intending to do as much craft as I can with them during the next few weeks.

MH - was it your gal who needs to undergo GA? Read it in another forum. How is she now?

Kristins_mom, how was Playmobil? Any pics to share? Hey, miss your chirpy voice here!

Sheryln, take it easy. We are all learning to be parents

Joanne, thanks for your sharing. How's Benny doing now?

Ky, read about your blog on the mushroom farm. Reminded me of the trip I took when I was in primary school... And Ben is doing great, incoporating what he learnt in his pretend play!

Meilan, how's your situation? Have the kids come to terms with your working hours? Do keep us updated.

Apricot, how was the trip? Better travel while you still can. When the babies arrive, it's gonna be a while before you can think of any travelling :p

Hi Hi,

I am back to Spore. But I have fallen sick...coughing and sore throat with dry flem..oh mine, it's very very xin ku ! Visiting GP later get med & rest tomorrow....yeah, no need to work tomorrow !

Missing lots of post and also lots of emails to catch up. Internet now very slow and just got back the connection. There was a broken fibre connection causing all the internet in the apartment blocks that we were staying to be down.

Will still be MIA as we are planning for a trip to Seattle as well as another to Alberta cum Calgery. Will chat more when I have more time and hope to get back the full force of connection by then.

Playmobil Park was fun, fun, fun!
Why wasn't I a three year old again??? We spent one day at the outdoor area and another day at the indoor area.

Bryan was happily tumbling around. It was an enormous playground for him. He had no qualms going through the obstacles before he went down the slides. It was tougher for Daddy and Mommy coz we had to do the same with Kristin in one arm...

But our little boy was quite apprehensive of the water play around the pirate ship. He didn't want to cross the bridge. He told Daddy that he saw a shark - well, he imagined there was one.

Will be sorting out the pictures soon for the blog. There will be more on the blog of course.
And here's one for your preview:
758324.jpg

But I need to survive the next two days without dh first. It's the end of vacation for him and he has to travel for the next two days and Bryan has no school
So both kids will be wanting lots of attention.

hello all!
yeah, really quiet this week, c'mon let;s start business again ;)

hi twins mommy
u take care, catch up with rest, show us pix of ur trip, did u guys enjoy disneyland?

hi serenade
don;t tempt me with teachersthemepark ;) essentially nothing to buy but... haha are u getting them to deliver to ur place in june. the learning charts are not too bad, may get a couple on plants. only abt $5 each.
the last time, i bought lotsa stickers. scented ones, picnic stickers complete with ants on the mat, they are so precious that Mel can only smell them haha. just give me a deadline for submitting my order ;)

hi cindy
playmobil is a theme park? sweetie kristin looks a lil tired, nap deprived? tis' a beautiful family photo otherwise, show us more!

Today in school is a little different, i play 'teacher'. i was there to demo a fruit salad to the nusery kids in Mel's sch. My, the kids were so enthusiastic, hands shooting up to volunteer to pour the fruits in. Mel got a surprise when she saw me, only told her it's salad making day but didn't reveal that mommy is the salad maker haha, she was thrilled.

759059.jpg

used rock melon, grapes, apricot (sorry apricot haha), raisins and cherry tomatoes with honey stars toppings, no dressing

MOTHER'S DAY

We are gathering at Sarah;s lovely nest again, thanks sarah!

Date: 29 April or 6 May
Day: Sunday
Place: Upper changi, near EXPO
Time: 11am
Lunch: Potluck

1. sarah
2. moshi
3. apricot
4. moo?

Sarah will confirm availability of the function room, hear from u soon!

Hi moshi2,
U are starting the teacherthemepark spree or Serenade ? I may have things to buy too. Pls include me if the spree is on.

Hi Sarah,

Thanks thanks !! Aston will be thrilled with the pool again and daddy will be the crocodile again..hope daddy won't faint this time..

Hi Minnie, mine is an oct'03 boy too..

Hi Moshi2, i want to be there. sarah knows about it. oh... its been a terrible busy week working late and sloughing my heart at work... system migration... nasty customer....

Hi Apricot, hope u recover soon, and do take lots of water... ;)

Hi Apricot,
Hope you are feeling better now. Spree? No lah... I'm getting something for myself. If you gals want something, just add on your orders.

Hi moshimoshi,
Any idea if there's discount if one orders above certain amount?

Will check the website again and let you know the closing date for placing orders

Hi Kristins_mom,
That looks so much fun! Wish I have planned for such a trip earlier on.