(2003) Calling all 2003 babies

Hi Kristins_mom,

So I can try make myself a genius since i had choose to sleep less hahaha ....

Ya at times i relax, like weekend, its ok they dun nap .. but i really hate the mess up routine, the cranky kids and also have to put up with the angry father. It is really not easy *sigh*

on driving .. i only know i got to start .. but i really dun noe when .. cos my dh is always sleeping when the kids nap, and i really hate to go refresh driving with him and the kids behind.

Hi Sarah!

Looks like you've been bringing Hannah to lots of plays. If only we had plays here in English too... that would be an alternative to entertain the kids on a dreary weekend such as this one. Gone is the warm weather and the cold wintry days are back again... it's gonna be in the minus for the next few nights.

Hmm, I think I'm quite lucky there. My daddy has always been ever supportive of my driving. I actually started learning when I was 19. But stopped after the 7th lesson coz I reckoned it made so sense that the test date was too near my date of departure to Germany then for my studies. And then in between, many things came along the way and I never really went back to learn driving again until Bryan was almost a year old. I did try to start before Bryan was born, so I went for my ATT again. But right after I got my ATT results, I found out that I was pregnant with Bryan with morning sickness no end - even right till birth! So, Apricot, I really empathise your situation. Like Apricot, sour things only made me puke more.

So that was my last chance to learn driving... I told myself I need to make it before the second one comes along or before my husband's posting. And I had to do it fast. With my dad driving me around for my part time teaching, full time job and then driving class, I told myself I really had to pass coz of all the effort the people around me were putting in. e.g. mom babysat for me, dh dropped really early at 6.45am for the ciruit driving etc..

And yeah... like you said, with a lot of luck, I made it!

My daddy stamped his approval when he took me out for test drives after I got my license.
My dh doesn't nag at me. So it was just my children who would be screaming their heads off in the beginning. But now, they got used to Mommy driving them around. They no longer bully me anymore.

There was once I told them in a dead serious tone that I needed them to be very good children, all calm and quiet, coz we were gonna be driving home on a foggy night across all those country roads with no street lamps sort. I was in a panic as to whether I would make it home and was secretly admonishing myself for bringing the kids out to a friend's place till so late. My husband was travelling then... so he wouldn't be able to come and "save" us. That was the first time Bryan learnt about what fog was and he was very cooperative and reminded his meimei along the way to be still. But luckily for me, meimei fell asleep quickly not long after we were on the road. And we made it home alright... phew!

Yeah, parking is one big headache for me still... you know, my driving instructor is quite unconventional. He only taught me how to parallel park, never reverse park. And that came only when we were in the circuit. And he just sort of told me when I was in the car with him and that was all the parking lessons for me!!! He prefers road experience, and I was driving around the test routes again and again... no more than 1 hour coz he thinks anything more than 60 mins will be taxing to one's concentration in driving, esp for someone who's learning.

So different from my 1st instructor who made me drive him around to run his errands during my lesson time and scolded me no end when the engine stalled and made me learning parking for half the lesson time while he was out chit chatting with other instructors... I think I was have failed a couple of times, had I continued my lesson with him. Imagine he made me drive through South Buona Vista road and then Pasir Panjang Rd with the morning rush lorries and container trucks all over the place on my very first drive out!!!

Hee, good thing is that it's mainly parallel parking here... so I can still do it quickly... I think I'm gonna have problems with impatient Sg waiting for me to reverse park next time... haha!!! And at home it's basement parking with our very own assigned lot. So it's easy that way... But frankly speaking, the Germans here park very badly! And the frustrating thing is that there are usually no lines/drawn lots to show them how badly they park!

Hi Pris!

Thanks for sharing! Keep the posts coming with all your interesting lessons. They help alot too to inject some ideas into me.

I don't have structured things to showcase either. My supposed homeschooling method is rather accidental than planned. You know, I have no clue to teach veyr young children at all.

The Magna Doodle board is one thing I've used to do maths with Bryan. But till now we are still at linear counting. No even at addition, much less to talk about subtraction now.

Lessons are usually in the supermarkets/parks or during our walks. eg during one of our walks the other day, we met a postman. So I seized the opportunity to talk to him what a postman does, where do letters go etc... And the postman was very helpful, he didn't find us a nuisance at all.. haha!

I wish I could be more disciplined like you or Serenade. The school here doesn't really stress much on academic learning as much as one would in Sg. E.g. Bryan already knew his alphabet, his numbers, shapes, colours, directions etc... and I seriously don't think he's progressed much further from what I left him a year ago... of course, there's a bit of phonics now that he knows and a great deal of vocab for socialising with mainly monolingual American kids.

Hi Serenade!

After having read your blog this week, wow!
Cheryl is talking fast now!

Guess you can now safely say she starts talking earlier than Brandon.
Girls do tend to be fast, don't they? Though our sons did surprise us with their complete sentences too, haha!

Kristin picked up a book today and went to her Daddy, "Daddy, daddy, please read the book!" For a moment we thought, wow, is that a premature end of a much misunderstood toddlerhood? No, then it quickly went back to the whining and no-more-words-but-frustrating-tantrums! Really can't wait for her to start talking more sense.

Sorry to read about your downswings.
I think I can share your apprehension on going back to Sg. One thing is for sure, you've gotta be sharing your children with a lot more adults, i.e. the grandparents. But the good thing is that you still have them for the large part of the week and the grandparents don't live with you. So your children will still be sticking to you like glue... haha! Don't worry about them hijacking your joy in childcare.

Count it a blessing that you've been able to enjoy the first few years with your children quietly in a more rural setting. I think you've already fostered a strong relationship with them there. So now enjoy your other phase of life and help them to explore the hustle and bustle of a city. Your children will astound you with their inquisitive minds when you bring them to the zoo, bird park, science centre etc. Of course, you will no longer be confined to weather conditions in the ever sunny Sg. Swimming can be an everyday affair now!
So look on the bright side! Also not forgetting about going back to a place where people the children meet speak a language that they understand! Also the plays you can take them to... I think the kids will adjust quickly, while the parents would be the ones still feeling nostalgic about their life overseas.

By the way, remind me about what I tell you now sometime next year... when I start to feel the apprehension as real as you do right now.

Hi Serenade!

I tried to encourage Bryan to learn reading.

I told him about Brandon, whom Bryan remembers now most vividly coz Brandon's daddy is a pilot. Haha!
I went on about telling how great it is that Brandon can read on his own and discover new things and keep himself happliy entertained when his mommy is busy with other things.

And you know what?
My son had this to say:
But Mommy, I don't want to be like Brandon. I want to be like Bryan. Like me! I want you to read to me. I like you to read to me.

Oops... I think I'm really pushing my luck too far there...
Ok, I'm really not comparing... I only wanted him to read independently for selfish reason that I don't have to read to him on days when I'm tired or like this one: having a sore throat.

Here's another joke of the week.
It's "e" for "igloo"! Of course, not the phonetic "e".
What a mixed up now!!

Hi Sherlyn!

Can totally understand the confused routine on weekends for the kids.

Is there something the whole family could do together on a weekend, e.g. swimming or cycling? So it will give you a breather bringing the kids out with your husband and he can do better with some sports and not be so lethargic. ;)

Yeah, I understand... sometimes daddy is really very tired out with work too...

Luckily, there are only 2 days in a week with this messed up schedule, right?

Sherlyn, try asking ur frds to bring u out for refresh course. It wrks better than getting nagged @ by hubby. alternatively, get an instructor.

Kristin's mom, parallel parking is definitely a headache. I wld rather give up that parallel lot and wait for a vertical lot.

I got my driving licence a few years ago but I hardly drive because I have no confidence in my own driving. I think I got scared out of my wits while filtering lanes on busy expressway when I just got my driving licence. And it certainly doesn't help with my hubby sitting next to me. So I gave up driving when we move from Pasir Ris to Balestier where public transport is much more convenient.

I guess there are always pros and cons. Driving is more convenient when it rains or when in a hurry. But if the weather is fine, I don't mind taking the public transport. Anyway I grew up taking public transport as my parents don't drive. I think it is also good for my kids to get used to using public transport because I don't want them to be too pampered and being sheltered everywhere by us all the time. In fact, I would like my boys to be able to take the public transport on their own by P4 so that they can be more independent.

Wow..mummies here are mostly with licence ya. Paiseh me dont have one, due to very high power of my eyesight, so dare not to try taking up the course.. Really regret sometimes.. cos it really make me suffered with the public tpt.

Pris, me too.. dont have any specific schedule. As a 5 1/2 day FTWM, daily reached home already 8pm-9pm, and DS want to sleep early in order to wake up around 6.45am to goes to school. Can only do a bedtime story with him sometimes. Weekend is the time for us to catch up with some worksheets with him. Though he has no problems in Alphabets and numbers, but he lack of patience kind, can only do not more then 5 worksheets with him. There are total 5 disc on Leapfrog's DVD, Benjamin loves them most! He can continue watching for 3x - 5x non-stop.

Keikei, wow.. time spend on journey from SK to BB is no joke!

Sherlyn, me too.
. Am not an creative mummies at all!
The mummies here are great! Thanks all mummies too!
kao_kiss2.gif

I'm not the creative sort too that's why I depend on books and internet. And it's great to know you mommies and tap on your ideas. Thanks for sharing!

I too, do not plan or organize lessons with Hannah, as much as I wish to stick to my 'timetable'. We probably play more than we do worksheets. Alot of singing, making up silly songs, pretend play etc. The usual stuffs.

She's still unsure of some alphabets in small letters such as n, q. Writes better in capitals too. Colours well.

Hannah will ask me about the words that we see on the road, malls, how to read, its meanings. Like K's mom, I very much wish she can read on her own. Sigh...can't push her, just have to be patient. But I'm happy to see progress in word recognition. Oh yes, it just so happen that reading is reserved for quiet time.

I think Hannah speaks rather well, there's some lah, lor, huh here and there. She's very happy whenever she catches me saying these words, and demand apology from me.

Re discipline, recently we adopted 'star system'. She gets certain number of stars for good behaviour. Say 2 stars for clearing toys at the end of the day without mommy prompting. When she accumulates say, 20 stars, she can get a gift below $2. I have emphasized that mommy is not working, so no money for expensive items. And she can't touch her savings coz it's meant for her education. And of course, timeout for bad behaviour.

I guess that's about it.

Hi Kristin's mom,
Do take care with the weather changes, again. Well, at least it changes, better than Sg, same throughout 365days. I wonder why there's any weather forecast for Sg...

Heehee...you're right, plays can entertain the kids, and I find it easier to impart certain values to Hannah that way. I'm giving some serious thoughts to speech & drama after you & Serenade highlighted that I should send Hannah to one.

Btw, Bryan has Annabelle, Hannah has Baby Alisha. Try this book William's Doll by Charlotte Zolotow. Think both of you will enjoy it. One day he'll make a good father.

You lucky woman! But it sure feels good to hear from other mommies that most of their spouse complain our driving. I'm not alone
Hey, at least the Germans are gracious drivers than Sg. Are they?

hi sarah!
we hardly fight over driving, when he drives i shut up unless need be, when i drive, it;s just me alone or with mel only, those are the days when i drive to work or when he's out of town. i enjoy driving.Driving gives me the freedom to go anywhere and buy as much as i want without having to worry abt torturing those aching shoulders w shopping bags, and i hate having to wait for pick up, having to hurry the man and remind him to be on time, it just upsets everyone, in fact, i used to own a car myself before mel, then i became poor SAHM, so bye bye dear car, bye bye freedom sob sob...

reward system, i did the star thing long ago and didn't persevere, that's why my mel is a lazy bum bum now, with mommy maid picking up her toys. trying time out with her, just explained to her how it works and it aleady kind of backfires even without execution, she kept nodding her head, giving me the silly, i am game for it grin as if she can't wait to try it out to see if it will be fun. maybe i should have explained it in a more serious tone! (I told her she will sit inside a hula hoop for 3 min)

hi k's mom
like u, i am more into accidental learning these days, since mel started sch, i find v little left to do stuff with her, time spent at home is for eating, napping and 'TVing'. actually accidental learning works better because most of the time we are tapping on the kid;s interest and when we bring it further, there is the motivation to learn so real learning takes place ! hurray to impromptu mommies! keke

hi serenade
mel is not into addition per se, but she knows the meaning of 1 more, 2 more, 2 less etc. haven't gone into plus n minus symbols. i recently bought a math game set which helps in introduing those symbols, am quite pleased with it. actually, i feel that it;s important for kids to build a firm foundation in number concepts. they should do mental counting, estimation and number sequencing well b4 formal addition n subtraction. and when they start addition, focus should be on +1 first.
e.g. 2+1. 3+1, 5+1 etc. they should master these , then go on to +2, +3, ... these are what i learn form kumon and could agree with ;)

That's a lot of posts over the weekend! Have been reading silently but no time to post. Er, not with the kids running wild behind me...

Moi just woke up not long ago and expecting the kids to be waking up anytime soon. So, pardon me if I didn't reply everyone...

mel's kindy is working on the food theme this term, so we did these at home:

730281.jpg

730282.jpg

i got her to identify some fruit and veg, she could do self checking by opening the cards and read the word on the reverse side, after that we discussed the properties of some fruits, if they have smooth/rough skin, 1 or many seeds etc. then we sorted the bulk into 2 groups, fruits vs veg.

Hi moshimoshi,
Exactly my thoughts on Math :p I feel that getting the concepts right is more important now. Once they have the concepts right and foundation is bulit, the rest is just practice and more practice (or should I say drilling?) which can come later.

Again, I must say that we share the same thought! That's how I'm approaching addition and subtraction too - +1, +2,... and -1, -2 etc... For me, it's more important to learn to see a pattern like 2 is one more than 3.

Hi moshimoshi,
Those cards are lovely! Where did you get them from? That will save me a lot of time on researching and printing...

On fruits and vegetables, how would you classify tomato? Do you consider it a fruit or vegetable and why?

Hi Moshi,
Day 1 was smooth. I left after speaking to her teachers. Oh yes, nicer uniform.

Like you, I got sick of clearing her mess, that's why. Never ending chores waiting for me..

Hey, I think you're right in teaching 1+1=,2+1= thingy. Saw this wooden toy (similar to abacus) from Popular sale, and I tried that on Hannah. So far so good.

Hi Sarah,
I was also very strict with Aston speaking lah, lor, meh, mah, huh and just like Hannah, he's very happy whenever he catches me saying these words, and demand apology from me. So cute of them...at least I know he listen & rem what I emphasis on him these are rude words or very singlish.

Hi worrymum,

Thanks for your encouragement! You are doing a great job too despite being a FTWM on a tight working schedule. 5.5 days week? I thought it's a 5-days week in Sg now, regardless govt or private sector...

HI Sarah,
Which nursery is Hannah attending now?

Hi Apricot,
You wrote second ones in one of your posts. Are you having twins?

Thanks for sharing on driving. Now I know I'm not the only one taking up driving for the sake of chauffeuring kids... tough job being a mother nowadays.

Hi Pris,
Thanks for your sharing! It's interesting to see things from a teacher's point of view on teaching kids.

Care to share where you got the alphabet blocks? I saw some in September21, but it was pretty expensive...

Hi Sarah,
So I am spot on? Hehe...

Hi Apricot,
Double congratulations! No wonder you having such a harder time. Having princesses or princes? Or "long feng tai"? Do take good care of yourself. Such a coincidence, my sis and neighbour are also delivering in June.

Hi Emily,
You should be due soon, right?

serenade
telepathy, i was thinking abt sep21 and if i should go take a look at their stuff, keen to get some math manipulatives. may just do that since they are near where i am

tomato is a fruit but can be classified as a veg also. i have issues with ginger, cucumber etc.
i decided not to confuse mel till later when she learns abt undergrd roots, stems etc so i picked only those 'clear cut'items

cards are from popular, u could cut out pictures from magazines.

Apricot!!
U having twins???? Come one, fill us in!

serenade
forgot to add why, tomato is a fruit that's used as a veg, botanically classified as a fruit because it has seeds.

Can't remember where I saw this great idea. Fill a latex glove with diluted milk, and pretend that you are milking the cow. Going to try but must first buy the gloves.

September 21? now u ladies give me an idea where to drive the car too tomorrow morning :> been wanting to take a look at the place ...

Moshi, u might wanna consider bringing Mel to see real veg/fruit trees. We made a discovery yesterday ... went to Hay Diaries and went to the dragonfruit farm just next door ... and they have some veg/fruit plants there ... spotted tomato, chilli, pineapple, long bean, kang kong ... actually my helper spotted them and told us what's what .... another place is Bollywood ... but for that, you'll have to pay $2 to visit if you are not eating at the place ...

Apricot, twins???!!!???!!! no wonder u look big then. hey, do make sure you rest well ... still running around heh?!

.ky.

Serenade, wow u r sharp yeah!

Apricot, wow.. twins??? yeah!! double congratulations to you.. Take good care of yourself..

Sarah.. great idea for the meet up.. hopefully I can meet u gals up this time round.. so sorry.. always no chance..haiz..

Joanne, how's Benny??

Yes, I am having twins..! Now pretty stable to reveal it's twin identical princes.
Serenade, you are very sharp !!! The last CT scan showed one of them look quite alike Aston. SO I will have 3 handsome princes...ha ha ha...anyone wan to book them as boyfriends ????

This was why we are more decided to move back to inlaws place so tat more people to take care them.

I am also happy I had my chicken wings at IKEA last Sat after Nemo concert....the wings just taste so nice.

I am keen to meet up before I deliver.

Hi Apricot!

Congrats x2!! So? Do you know the gender already? Wow, it must be fun thinking of names now, isn't it?

Yeah, sweet stuffs work better than sour ones, right? Try glucose sweets and honey. I survived on them to curb my nausea during both pregnancies. My mom said I shouldn't have too many children coz my pregnant pattern no good - throw up all the time and the babies always like to come early, though I really did carry Kristin to just 3 days before EDD. But my cervix was opening up fast and the doc didn't want to take chances and induced her out. Sigh... actually don't like all this induction business coz it's very stressful for the baby.

I remember looking at Kristin for the very frist time. Her eyes were wide open, it was as if they were telling me, "Mommmy, I'm so tired..."

Ok, you take good care of yourself x2! ;)

Apricot, so when are u due? hmm.. think we better goes to places near to you ya..
wow.. so happy for you..! pass some baby dust
kao_babydust2.gif
to this thread, please..

someone mentioned abt the world book fair in june.. think is the best time yeah.. can?

Apricot,
We will order and deliver Ikea chicken wings to you after your delivery.
kiss.gif

Have you thought of names yet? Hey, most of our mommies friends have boys. So you mommies with boys should be booking our little girls.

Hi Sarah,
So nice of you.

Abt names, we have initial thot to name them C and E then my three boys are ACE to me !!!!!!
Exact names unsure yet cos still searching hard.

Hi WorryMum,
I like the baby dust ...! Thanks

Hi Apricot!

So Aston has two little handsome brothers following him around soon.

Take care and feast whenever your babies want chicken wings again!!!