(2003) Calling all 2003 babies

Hi K's mom,

yes, the whole series. We love it. We love Friends too. Tried to follow Grey's Anatomy for a few weeks but gave up. There were plenty of talking and no sub-titles and we had to down the volume of the TV as the kids were sleeping then and so we actually rely a lot on subtitles. We are now subscribing to a DVD rental program ... pls keep the series stuff off me, I get addicted very easily....

Hi Meilan
I sense a certain level of hyeractiveness in JK. Actually I could have notice more during our lessons together but recently I'm occupied with plenty on my mind.... you can clearly see how "awake" I am in WI. I did notice that he has a very strong mind and like a lot of kids, he loves to be able to do rather than wait and listen for instruction. I remember that he just wanna hold the scissors and cut and despite not able to do it properly, still try and try. The kids in the group all bought scissors some time ago and they were all the same initially, unable to do it. Practise with JK. Give him space to do things he like. I find it's very difficult to tell the child that what he's doing is wrong and JK doesn't seem to like that, but I can see he's very enthusiastic abt a lot of things. turn that into your strength. By doing more and getting him to love doing things with you, you have a better chance of sharing more with him. Don't go too strong on him by trying to change him if you notice that he just switch off. btw, Ben does that too; when I tried to tell him abt something that he shouldn't be doing, his eyes went roaming too. Or he'll say he understood but a few days later, he'll say he can't remember. Actually there are times that we forgot that they are still a 3/4 yr old kid as they start to show that they understand more, don't you think?

You have to accept JK for some of these behaviour traits and slowly mould it so that it's not against him. I'm seeing that Ben's has a soft character and I realize caning would not ever work on him but reward scheme works well. For our fren, CE, timeout works for Adriel. Wat's JK's?

As for time for JC, I'm also guilty of that with Keith. So there are times that I'll request my helper or daddy spend time with Ben while I can spend time with Keith. Talk to your hubby and see what arrangement u can have. As for the school, I think JK has start to dislike the teacher and that would not help him. Like Serenade, I'd consider a change of school, or perhaps a change of teacher. Perhaps you can talk to the principal and express your concern abt the hitting?

Don't give up on being a SAHM. I always tell frens to approach the SAHM mode with care. Do it because you want to do it and not because u wanna run away from a stressful work environment. Same here. If you are running back to a "safer" environment , would u be happier with the childcaring arrangements? There must be a reason why u have chosen to become a SAHM ... go back to that. I know there are times that one SAHM wonders why she's chosen this path esp when she's down. Go and hug your kids and hear them tell u they love to have u at home... it works for me.

.ky.

meilan
i wouldn't say my every single day of being a SAHM is fun n smooth sailing but i am happy to be the one to attend to her needs, to share her happiness, to listen to her silly stories, and her 1st chinese songs, to enjoy her silly antics, to take care of her when she's unwell, to be the first to witness every milestone, every achievement, every improvement. All these to me is a privilege, i am thankful to be able to stay at home!

Tell JK u love him every day, it works wonders!

serenade, K's mom
ok ok i am thinking too far and too much abt p1 and naps, this is bcos' i am a strict enforcer of naps, mel MUST nap every day! for her own good and my sanity, i must start sieving out all the single session schools soon haha

Pris
DHL some snow!

Serenade
you tube to learn math?? interesting, i must check it out, this probably beats her watching those cats videos every night with daddy.

anyone tried Goggle Earth, a very powerful tool to locate places, we spotted our flat and even the basketball court in front of it.
hey serenade, pris and k's mom, i should start getting your street names to spy on where u live ;) free download for now

moshimoshi
By the time I DHL snow to you....they would become water haahaa....maybe we create a brand new water in Supermarket from melted snow...haaahaaa

Wow, heard about goggle earth but have to using other programme to locate places in Vancouver, Japan and Singapore. Haahaa...you sounded like an undercover, spy on Serenade, K's mom and me haahaa...no need to spy haahaa....I am leaving on a mountain haahaa

enchantedlearning has very interesting ideas, no need to subscribe though, some are free, as for the rest, look at the pix and we can sort of figure out what's in the lesson.

serenade
just went to the youtube site, the concepts are too abstract, i haven;t introduced the plus and minus symbols to mel yet.

Hi Lena!

Hey, spy on me? Gosh, then I must be more dressy from now onwards... aiyoh, don't stress me, ok? :p

It wasn't me who found those websites. Got it from m4m forum. But your suggestion sounds good, I should also google youtube for more stuff... hehe...

Hi sarah,
When are you setting off for Aust? And return date? I bet Hannah can't wait to go.

Hi Apricot,
Just realise I'll be back in time for the book exhibition! That'll be my first time attending a book exhibition. Feeling so excited about it :p

Hi moshi2!

Had a great time in school with the kids today.
Told the children that they were all born the year of the goat... so that makes them all kids! haha!!!

We didn't do the paper dragon thing that you suggested coz the teacher already did it with them while we were absent from school two Fridays ago.

But we stuck up a Chinese character of ang paos on the door to ward off the monster "nian" so that it would not come into the classroom.

Wanna see the photos... come into my blog...
The video is too long however... file is too big so we need to compress that one first before we can even upload it onto multiply...

Daddy came in with us today too. So he was the camera man. We left after the kids had their snacks. We brought in some love letters and kueh bangkit. The boys love the love letters. No idea why.

Hi moshi2!

Thanks for the tip on enchantedlearning.com.

The place looks so good with print-ready ws. Then again, Bryan isn't into worksheets. So it will be a waste of money to subscribe at all.
BUt they do have really nice ideas for teaching.

I'm getting stiff shoulders too... you think it could be that i'm carrying Kristin too much on one arm why working with the other? It's so painful on my left side that whenever i lift my arm, i get a click sound coming from my shoulder. wonder if i can get ko-yok here in German pharmacies.

Hey mommies!

Ever thought of giving our kids lessons on our own instead of sending them to expensive enrichment classes on weekends?

There are so many talented parents here and maybe once a month can round up a few families and do something together. e.g. sports, crafts, language, math/science or even an excursion to the Science Centre, Bird Park or the Zoo or a baking session. Or just cycling lessons/field trips at East Coast Park or whatever.

Seriously, I'm very keen to do this when I come back to Sg... any interested parties?

Thanks for all your encouragement, empathy and sharing. Joanne, sounds like Benny is similar to JK. In fact, threats or counting down will set off his tantrum quicker than anything else.

I guess I was at a low point when I last posted but I've since bounced back. The last few days have been blissful as I kept my cool and JK had zero tantrums more than 3 days in a row! To some of you, this may be no big deal but to me, the rare tantrum-free period is really a cause for celebration.

Thanks for all your concern abt his teacher's treatment as well. Actually I never mentioned caning lah. I don't have a clear picture from JK's bits and pieces description so I prefer not to jump to conclusions. In fact, I can't even be sure if she really did hit him though she admitted hitting children sometimes. JK resisted going for the excursion on Wed and we had to drag him there in his pyjamas! But the moment the principal greeted him and asked him to get changed into his uniform, he complied immediately and happily called out to his teacher the moment he saw her. The same teacher who supposedly scolded him / hit him! I was contemplating talking to the principal that same day but since he's ok, I guess I will not pursue and continue to monitor in the meantime.

On 2nd baby, I continue to be plagued by guilt. Sometimes I regret not staying home from the start with JK. With 2 kids, life as a SAHM is more functional than educational and it's really not a luxury. I think Joanne, Serenade, ky and Cindy will be able identify with me on my limitations. But Serenade puts it well indeed that meimei has the extra attention from gor gor, maybe to make up for mine.

Moshi2!

Can't be serious? You wanna spy on us??? No need to... just read our blogs lah.

Anyway, if you do spot me, don't forget to drop me an sms... haha!

hi meilan!

glad to hear you're feeling a lot better these days... yeah, i guess that's part of being a SAHM... there are always ups and downs... haha, sometimes so worrying like the share prices when we go too down...

on spending less time with no. 2, well, actually nope... i was looking at my blog and i thought about the no. of entries i made about kristin... i've been noticing so many little whims and fancies of hers lately that i think i'm probably the only person who understands her most right now... so look back at the end of the day, i'm sure you'll find precious moments you've spent with jc, even with jk around.

Hi mummies...

Could not share about having 2 kids since I have only one at the moment haahaa...will need all your advise then when I have #2 haahaa.

Anyway, here's some sharing of Kai and his invited korean friend from preschool baking session

Kai kneading the dough
709885.jpg

Kai lending his rolling pin to friend
709886.jpg

Kai's preschool friend, Tae Woong and his mum
709887.jpg

Kai spreading the sauce before adding sausage to the dough
709888.jpg

Here's some of the buns they have made, in total they made 1 dozen of sausage and another dozen of tuna buns.
709889.jpg

And as you would have guessed it, they eat some of the buns right from the oven steaming hot. And the boys had fun making them.

Hi meilan!

just thought of something:

whenever Bryan whines, i usually get him to repeat sentences after me:
No whining. No crying... etc I will listen to Mommy. I will calm myself down... etc...whatever I can think of.

I try as far as possible to get him to verbalise after me what I want him to do. It sort of helps him to calm himself down, while it also helps me not to blow my top.

And usually when he calms down, it's easy to talk to him again.

Dear all 2003 mommies,

I am new here in SG Motherhood Forum. I'm a FTWM with a daughter born in Mar 2003. My daughter spends most of her time in front of the TV and PC (TV-holic and PC-holic).

Hi Pris!

Wow! Are you opening a new bakery shop for children??? Are you also looking for little bakers??? I will send you Bryan and Kristin!

Hi Keikei!
Welcome!! Your daughter's turning four this month! Must be exciting planning a birthday party for her.

Just sharing this ... A friend is hosting this and her place. Facilitator is a homeschooling mother... this is not the first time this course is runned ... Am thinking of going too

Parenting with confidence for 0-5yrs
Saturday afternoons (2.30 - 4.30pm)
March (2007) 17, 24, 31 & April 7, 14, 21 Venue:
Blk 700C Ang Mo Kio Central 1 (Walk from AMK MRT Station, just behind newly open AMK Hub)

Session One: What is a Parent?
- Parent types - Family patterns of parenting - Parent care

Session Two: Know your Pre-Schooler
- Physical and emotional needs - Shaping your child's view of themselves - Developmental stages

Session Three: Bringing your Kids on Board
- Tools for encouraging co-operation - Family rules and reasons
- Family mission statement

Session Four: Expressing Love through Discipline
- Tools for handling difficult behaviour - Appropriate discipline strategies

Session Five: Creating a Childhood to Remember
- Five love languages - Creating fun and memories

Session Six: Putting It All Together
- Sleeping, eating and toilet-training problems - Back-bone parent-coach' s tools

Fees : $45 per person / $75 per couple (inclusive of participant' s kit valued at $20)

By the way, KY...this programme is under the Focus on the Family (A christian organisation.)

K's mum, I have been doing art classes for Kai and his friends and baking is another area that we do. Will be organising another of each session at another of Kai's classmate place as another mum has invited us over for craft and baking during the spring break in March. It is fun to watch the young children work haahaa, basically I am the facilitator that I just provide simple instructions and the children do everything on their own. I am planning to go for professional baking session to get certified haahaa....maybe to start a cooking cum baking classes in my house in future or run courses in CC haahaaa.

In fact in Singapore, I was running the art-craft for Joy Club monthly for church as well as some simple baking classes to help the Sunday School children in their fund raising for a good cause yearly and we also help to tend a cafe during outreach to provide gourmet coffee, tea and home baked pie, pizza, cakes, cookies during special church events.

Got go, I am checking email to see how many ladies will be at the baking sharing session tomorrow since I need to prepare some materials for them. We are baking and also preparing to a feast tomorrow evening to celebrate "yuan xiao" festival.

Will drop by when I have the time as dh will be going to conference this month to present his research paper and finding.

hi ky
the workshop venue is just a couple of minutes from my place. $45 for all 6 sessions?
contents covered seem interesting, but it's gona be mad rush for him, cos; i stop work at 230pm, by the time i get there, would be abt 3pm.
have u signed up?

k's mom
congrats, u finally did the sharing, thot the angbao sticking on door was a fantastic idea, easy yet educational! whats ur blog? btw, i am also on messenger, chatted a few times with serenade already, catch u online!

ur idea abt us pooling together to 'enrich' our kids is what i always think abt too. when ya' returning? shall appoint u as the manager of our enrichment centre.

ky
typo error, i meant mad rush for myself to get there, but since it;s home based, won't be too bad if i get in late, keep me posted yah

Priscilla, thanks.

Kristin's mum, ya, daughter turning 4 yrs O nxt week. She'll b celebrating in school and will be bringing Bday cake, party hat & goodie bag (stationary set instead of titbits).

710860.jpg

k's mom
abt those shoulders, don't carry weights, try to make kristin walk. i recently read that we should sit with legs firmly planted to the floor and back upright when we type at the desk, this prob explains why i get stiff shoulders so often, i slouch!

HI moshimoshi!

Just pm'ed you.

Chat with you soon...

good that it's chat over MSN coz I've totally lost my voice again... the once-a-year-lost-voice-cough is back and i always fall victim to it.

ouch, i slouch alot too...am wondering if there's any problem with my neck... coz sometimes i get numbness with my left arm and leg too...

or maybe childcare is just too stressful... we'll see if this problem still persists after Kristin goes to school in fall...

Hi Keikei,
Welcome!

Hi K's mom,
Can tell you working hard on your blog. Hey, Kristin has such big eyes! And she looks lovely in the little cheogsam.

No 'Bones' in Sg leh. Hopefully, it will be shown on cable soon.

Moshi, K's mom,
Me suffering from neck shoulder ache too. It can be so bad that I'll end up with migraine. Worse, I tried to flip my mattress on Fri, and now, I feel really terrible. Hmm, could it our bones are degenerating??

Anyway, I'm going to try tuina coming week. Heard it helps to relax muscle. Hopefully it works.

Some shocking news to share. My dad told me that the Chinese papers reported that a 9year old girl was pregnant. Culprit was from same school. This is really scary. What has the world become?

Moshi,
Yes, let's arrange something during the March hols. Thinking of watching Ugly Duckling (13-18 Mar), $18 for weekdays, $20 for weekends. Any mommies keen?

Serenade,
I wished I have half your guts. I freaked out when I see spiders, millipedes, earthworms etc. I once stepped on a slug in my bedroom. It was at night, and I thought it was a mushroom, and Hannah has been eating in the room. So the brave mommy just flushed it down. No sweat. I practically 'detox' my hands upon realizing it. I very 'kua zhang' hor. Anyway, I gladly leave the catching spiders activity to daddy.

Btw, how do you get rid of weeds permanently? If you have snails and snugs in your yard, give them some beer and it's gonna 'kill' them. We caught 10 slugs during the raining season. Hannah was so excited seeing them 'drinking' beer.

Hi Sarah!

You are torturing little garden creatures!
Leave them there lah... Btw, isn't beer expensive shower for them?

Actually I left lots of my creepy crawlies where they are... as long as they don't come into the house. My mom says they are good for the plants.
And she's right. We had a beautiful balcony last year... Now the sowing season has started again... am wondering what I'm gonna do this time round. Maybe capsicum this time round instead of tomatoes.

hmmm... i think we are all need chiropractic therapy... like the whole body is falling apart... ouch!

yeah, i have been a tad diligent to jot down some snap shots of the kids these days. actually, i have been backdating too, some older entries for last year... coz you see, i've finally downloaded the photos from my phone... and lots of pretty interesting stuffs were taken with my camera phone... so sometimes, quality doesn't turn out too well.

Hi Serenade!

I was thinking about science lessons.

1) Have you tried doing shadow puppets with Brandon and Cheryl? Playing with light and shadow is quite fun.

2) Magnets! And get him to guess what material will be attracted, and what not.

3) What floats? e.g. cut fruits or other food and throw them into a big bowl of water.

4) Mixing colours. Start with the water colour?

5) Water: like freeze it, melt it, or boil it (make sure the children just watch you doing it.)

hi sarah!

this 9 yr old pregnant girl - same story as what Serenade mentioned last night?

Pray tell. What happened?

Or any newspaper archive to refer to?

Haiz... am wondering how to tell the children about the birds and the bees...

You know, my brother was playing a game with Bryan when we were back in Sg. Everyone was supposed to touch the body part the leader shouted.
And in the end, a suggestion from my son sent his uncle into shock. Bryan said, "Shall we touch the penis now?" Actually, it was an innocent question, coz that's how we've been teaching him the human anatomy.

My brother was amazed coz he said at Bryan's age then, he could only say at most "my bird". Anyway, mommies with sons, I'm sure you do have times when your sons begin to be curious about their body parts. And my husband and i thought the best way is to deal with these questions strictly like how doctors do it, i.e. in the right anatomic terms.

But I certainly dread the day when I have to be confronted with THE question: How do babies come about?

When I was in London, I saw a marvellous children's book written to answer that question. Then I thought I should have waited some time before getting that book. Now I regret not having bought it coz 1)i have clean forgotten what the name of the author is, 2) i could have read it like a normal story to my children, since I really shouldn't treat it as a taboo topic.

Hi sarah!

You think Kristin's got big eyes? My husband and I just think coz she looks small everywhere else in relation... so her eyes look unusually big.

But her eyes sometimes do tell me lots of things, e.g. when she was very sick then, you could tell there was absolutely no sparkle in them. Or when she's up to something cheeky, her eyes will always give her plan away... haha!

So pros and cons of having big eyes.

Hi moshi2!

Let's enrich our children when I'm back.

I can even teach them guzheng... haha! No lah, I haven't played for years now... at least 15 years??!!!

Pris, do u happen to know the website? want to find out if it's worth attending but the mummies I know are busy handling 2 kids so quite paisay to call to ask. I'm more concerned if the time is worth it.

Hi moshi, nope, have not sign up yet. want to see if faciliator can hold one near my place and she's back only yesterday ... heard that 6 parents are signed up and limit to 10 places ...

sarah, no deadline, but once full, then she would take in anymore...

K's mum, hey, I've done a few of the science experiments that you've stated ... do it, your kids would be very intrigued by them. Ben's is always asking me to do experiments all the time.

.ky.

sarah
u feeling better, can totally understand the shoudlerache then headache thing, u get it sometimes. where do u go for tuina? do they open in the mornings?
will give the play a miss, mel is scared of sudden loud sound effects, plays usu start with a bang.
she has this new phobia about moons, yes, moon from the night sky, told me she didn't like the moon from a book , then decided she hates real moons too, won't go near the balcony where she could see the moon, and when she catches a glimpse of it by accident, there goes, big fuss, as if monster gona swallow her.
mommies, do ur kids react in such ways? any irrational fears?

k's mom
so what other hidden talents do u have? roll them all out man!
we did color mixing, was fun, we follwed the curious george book and mixed col a/c to what the monkey did.
for shadows, try night camping, throw a blankie over some chairs , hide in 'tent' and play with hand shadows using torchlight. can have supper inside too. for idea from book also.
for magnets, can try pushing those tiny cars with a small bar magnet, have a race.

ky
shall give those sessions a miss, have to commit for too many days, do share if you are attending, the topic abt discipline should interest most of us.

i bought a math game set yesterday, published by DK, Farm Counting Fun, teaches addition and subtraction, numbers up to 12, basic concepts, very managable for our kids. avail frpm pop, abt $15 if u are a member.

<table border=1><tr><td>FORUM NICK</TD><TD>Name / Gender</TD><TD>Mth of Birth</TD><TD>Name / Gender</TD><TD>Mth of Birth</TD><TD>Home Sweet Home</TD><TD>Status </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ky</TD><TD>Benedict</TD><TD>Feb.03</TD><TD>Keith</TD><TD>Jan.06</TD><TD>CCK</TD><TD>SAHM </TD></TR><TR><TD>KeiKei</TD><TD>G</TD><TD>Mar.03</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>?</TD><TD>FTWM </TD></TR><TR><TD>AMum</TD><TD>Aston</TD><TD>Apr.03</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Punggol</TD><TD>FTWM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Irene</TD><TD>G</TD><TD>Apr.03</TD><TD>Bryan</TD><TD>May.05</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>SAHM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Joanne (jojoscs)</TD><TD>Benny</TD><TD>Apr.03</TD><TD>Bryan</TD><TD>Jan.05</TD><TD>Bt Gombak</TD><TD>SAHM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sarah (densar)</TD><TD>Hannah</TD><TD>May.03</TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD>Changi</TD><TD>SAHM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Serenade</TD><TD>Brandon</TD><TD>May.03</TD><TD>Cheryl</TD><TD>Jun.05</TD><TD>Hillview (France)</TD><TD>SAHM </TD></TR><TR><TD>MH</TD><TD>Wei Shuen</TD><TD>Jun.03</TD><TD>Li Shuen</TD><TD>Jan.06</TD><TD>Jurong East</TD><TD>FTWM </TD></TR><TR><TD>BlurPooh</TD><TD>Shawn</TD><TD>Jul.03</TD><TD>Shanon</TD><TD>May.05</TD><TD>Joo Seng</TD><TD>FTWM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Emily</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>Aug.03</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>Mar.05</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>FTWM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Kristins_mom</TD><TD>Bryan</TD><TD>Aug.03</TD><TD>Kristin</TD><TD>Aug.05</TD><TD>Tiong Bahru (Germany)</TD><TD>SAHM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Moshimoshi</TD><TD>Melody</TD><TD>Sep.03</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Ang Mo Kio</TD><TD>SAHM </TD></TR><TR><TD>WorryMum</TD><TD>Benjamin</TD><TD>Sep.03</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Bt Gombak</TD><TD>FTWM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ku</TD><TD>G </TD><TD>Sep.03</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>EDD May07</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>FTWM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Priscilla Neo</TD><TD>Kai En</TD><TD>Sep.03</TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD>Toh Guan (Vancouver)</TD><TD>SAHM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Yasmine</TD><TD>Zo En (G)</TD><TD>Sep.03</TD><TD>Zo Ze (B)</TD><TD>Sep.06</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>? </TD></TR><TR><TD>Meilan</TD><TD>Jay Kai</TD><TD>Oct.03</TD><TD>Jay Cin</TD><TD>Dec.05</TD><TD>Sengkang</TD><TD>SAHM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Pooh</TD><TD>G</TD><TD>Oct.03</TD><TD>G</TD><TD>May.06</TD><TD>Joo Seng</TD><TD>SAHM </TD></TR><TR><TD>moo87</TD><TD>Zavier</TD><TD>Oct.03</TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD>Hougang</TD><TD>FTWM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sunflower</TD><TD>Cedric</TD><TD>Nov.03</TD><TD>Denzyl</TD><TD>Dec.05</TD><TD>Punggol</TD><TD>SAHM </TD></TR><TR><TD>miracle_bebe</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>Nov.03</TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD>Henderson Crescent</TD><TD>SAHM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Minnie</TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD>East</td></tr></table>

kao_welcome2.gif

Yasmine and Keikei. hope to see more posting from both of you..

Hello.. mummies, sorry MIA for a few weeks.. cos busy packing and unpack from holidays..

Wah..Priscilla, Thumbs up for you.. all restaurant style of cooking yeah.. Think we all can start register for your class when u r back.

Joanne, how's Benny?

Sarah.. please take care!