(2003) Calling all 2003 babies

Hi Apricot,

Its ok, no worries. I will have a lookout for curious george vcds. Its me who is more curious of the contents. Zavier is hooked to Cable TV playhouse disney. He seen them at my mum's place. thank goodness, i did not subscribe, else his eyes will be glued to TV. heee...

Day 1 went on well, without hiccups. I was giggling my way to the carpark as i watched mel walk in her oversized uniform dress and long socks which i pulled all the way to the knees, the 'sillycute' look.
Kids were made to line up at the assembly area and given name tags. They basically played in the classroom today. The eng teacher is new to the school, but speaks well and is gentle in manner.

Thanks Sarah, will look out for curious george. Mel would be happy to see the book characters come alive.
Not washing hands after toileting is totally unacceptable! You must be assertive on this and make hannah report to u if the teachers make them wash hands. Thought the teachers were silly to have admitted that, how did u find out?

Hi Joanne
Understand how u felt abt the drawing blood thing, when mel was hospitalised, they had to poke her vein to insert drip tube, very heartbreaking. You hang on there.

Thanks, worry mum. Will go take a look.

Just curious,
did u mommies limit the time for TV programmes or computer games?

DS is very into computer games (thanks to DH), but I'm trying to limit to 2 x 15 mins a day, feel that its very bad for the eyes and hands (controlling the mouse).

DH and I cannot agree on this TV and computer thingy ... anyone got this problem at home? Any suggestions?

Care to share ... thanks ...

Hi aa
just a quick note on tv before i log off. Mel is not allowed to watch tv at night, limiting her once a day 30min. she used to be a tv addict but got kind of sick of her old vcds, she doesn't watch shows from channels. my hub and i don;t watch tv until she's asleep. (2x15min a day) is pretty reasonable, just have to get cooperation from your hub ;)
I have a girlfriend whose son doesn't watch tv at all, not at all. They have a no tv rule at home and my galfriend is extremely strict on that. Her son is doing fine enjoying books and toys.

hi aa

I don't have a limit on tv time. Ben is not addicted to TV, we are :>

If we watch TV, then he'll watch. Yes, there are times that he wants to watch TV and we allow him to. I've a seies of chinese children shows on art and craft and science and I sometimes suggest that he watches. At any time when we want, we'll just off the TV and spend some time doing things together. if your hubby wants to watch TV but u do not, then u may wanna engage your ds in an activity yourself or just outright request that he switches it off and the family do an activity together.

.ky.

Moshi,
Good to hear Mel doing well on 1st day. How big is the class? I was told 2003 has the lowest birth rate, so most kindy has rather small class.

Re toileting issues. Her undies were soiled and smelly! Pardon me for being yucky. So I asked Hannah, and that's it...Going to review the CC and if such practices are not reinforced, I will pull her out, and perhaps report to MOH. Can you imagine the kids playing together and passing virus around? I can't imagine having to look around for schools again, but I rather do so than putting her in a school that couldn't be bothered with hygiene.

Oh yes, it was the principal who told me so.

Hi Joanne,

Is it possible to distract Ben while they draw his blood? It would be less painful for him if he does not see it. And I suggest, if possible, that you try to look away too. I can understand your pain and heartache. When my kids take jabs, I don't even have the courage to look at it. My hubby is always the one holding them when they have jabs.

Do be strong. Ben needs your courage and encouragement.

Hi all. Happy New Year to all of you. I did not have time to log on with all the partying and outings over the holidays.

Joanne, JK went through a similar type of blood test through his vein when he had persistent jaundice as an infant. The Dr told us to wait outside the room as this sort of thing is usually more traumatic for the parents than the child. It was easier cos he was still a baby but next time, you have to be strong for Benny as kids feel even more insecure when they see the weaker side of us.

Sarah, what is the name of the ccc? I have never heard of one that does not enforce washing of hands after toilets.

On white shoes, I had a hard time hunting down a size small enough for JK. Could not find them in Bata, Sportslink etc but managed to get something at a shoe shop at Punggol Plaza.

JK's experience at his new sch was fine so far, compared to his traumatic experience when we first sent him to a childcare centre. I really regretted not easing him into the new environment gradually then and just left him there all alone on the first day. This time, hubby and I accompanied him for two days, shortening our presence each day and I think he is taking it so much better. We are not Christians but I hope the Christian environment he is now in will help rein his strong character and obstinate ways. The sch's approach seems very gentle and loving.

Oh oh, we are the opposites. .we are TV craze and Aston is also. I am so shy now. Do admit watching is no good and it's worse if become addicted. Oh, headache now, must tink of creative ideas to wean Aston from TV or limit him to certain his time to watch.

Also, I am very happy now that Aston eats more kinds of fruits in school. There are water melon, papaya and pears. At home, he only likes to eat banana and apples and nothing else.

Hi Mommies!

I spoke to a few moms and we were thinking of meeting up.

Anyone keen to meet up for lunch on Sunday? 1pm?

Or any SAHM keen to meet up on weekday mornings or afternoons? You can always drop by at Joo Chiat.

SUN 7-07-07
1) Kristin's family, 2A & 2C, 1pm for lunch or 7pm for dinner.

MON - FRI, Morning/afternoon tea at Joo Chiat
1) Kristin's Mommy, 1A &2C

Or I can visit you too.
Or you are brave enough to meet up shopping with kids on tow.

PM me or KY or moshimoshi or meilan for my hp no.

Sorry, internet access is not very convenient at Joo Chiat, unfortunately.

Hi Kritins_mom,

Guess I'll get to read your posts only after your return to Germany then. Enjoy the gatherings!

Glad that all your kids are adapting well to their schools. Hmm, on one hand, I look forward to enrolling them in schools. On the other hand, I know I will feel kind of "lost" when they are in schools. Wonder if the SAHMs feel the same way?

Hi Lena & Sarah,

This is the first time I spent so much money on a pair of shoes. I'm not a shoe lover. A pair of shoes usually can serve me a long time. And after having kids, my favourites are flats and running shoes.

Talk abt bags. Sarah, do you like Gucci bags? Just heard from my hubby's colleague that Gucci is cheap in Italy. And during sales, there's still 50% discount on some items. So, if you do visit Italy, do keep a lookout.

Abt the hygiene, what kind of standard would you expect from teachers? Brandon pooed once in his school. His teacher did clean him but there was still tiny streaks of poopoo on his underpants. Is it too much to expect the teacher to do a more proper job? What type of toilet paper does the school use? Over here in France, the parents are to provide a packet of wet toilet tissue when school starts.

I am just curious abt what Singapore preschools are teaching. Just thought if they don't teach nursery rhymes, then what would they be teaching for English.

Hi ky,

Initially, I didn't take to Letterland too. But the revised (2005) version proves to have improved greatly. Personal feel is that Jolly is good for the beginning stage. But for intermediate and advanced stages, Letterland may be more effective. However, prior to using Letterland, I would recommend that the kids to be introduced to letters in their plain form first.

Hi aa,

I do limit their DVDs/VCDs viewings in terms of time and genre, b/w 0-2hours a day. As for ourselves, we try to keep watching to minimal when the kids are awake.

So far, the computer stuff Brandon has been doing are mostly academics related, i.e phonics, reading. Even, he hardly spends more than 2 hours a week on computer.

I'm not sure how true this is, but a mother once told me that kids would have bad handwriting if they learn to use the mouse too early. Of course,it is also subject to long term usage. Has anybody heard of this?

Thanks mommies for all your posts.

Will try to engage him with other activities instead.

Actually I don't mind him watching the Discovery channel (the most 1 hour show), but not things like Pokoyo (something like that) from Preschool Disney channel. DS is the super mischievious type, he'll copy all the actions he saw from TV.

Other than reading and drawing, what other activities do you do with your kids?

Hi Kristin's mom,
the outing date should be Jan 7 (Sun) right?
Where to?

Hi Apricot,
Do envy you that Aston is eating all kinds of fruits. DS is not into vegie at all. He can chew anything crispy and crunchy, but he'll choke on things like vegie and fruits :-(
Guess its my fault for letting him "avoid" vegie and fruits since young. Now its kind of difficult to get him to eat.

Hi Serenade,

Never hear of the bad handwriting thing.

More worried is the damaged to the nerves (sounds serious!!!) if used the mouse for too long, esp he's so young!

Don't know about you guys, but I'll get cramps around the wrists or fingers if used the mouse too long. According to docs, its the position and pressure we're putting onto the wrists while navigating the mouse.

I hv a qn to ask u mummies...nothing related to what is currently discussed here..

What do u think of buyers looking for 2nd hand goods, coz not willing to pay full price or are cash-strap, yet asking seller many questions as if scrutinising the item frm top to toe?

Let's put down the names so that we can arrange something ...

SUN 7-07-07
1) Kristin's family, 2A & 2C, 1pm for lunch or 7pm for dinner.
2) Benedict & KY, 1pm for lunch (will leave the daddy and baby at home ... daddy would be nagging that it's time to leave!)

Potential place to eat?
1) V'llage (@China Sqr) - this is near Shenton way area (a small indoor playground), highchairs, meal setting similar to Marche, no crowd
2) ???

MON - FRI, Morning/afternoon tea at Joo Chiat
1) Kristin's Mommy, 1A &2C
2) Benedict & KY, afternoons are fine

Hi Serenade
The comment abt Letterland comes from the teachers ... I had a conversation with 1 of the N2 teachers and she felt that the characters in Letterland is too strong that a kid would associate "a" with "Annie Apple" and not "a". I see Ben does associate some letters with a char. For Jolly Phonics, there's an action associated with it more like Zoophonics ... I'm not quite sure how these would impact Ben... but he doesn't know all his alphabets, and I know he has a good memory but I think he just hates the alphabets, so we are trying to teach him little by little the characters in its original form.

About feeling "lost" when your kid goes to school, I felt slightly that way when Ben first went to school, but now with Keith and work, time flies till I realize I've to go pick him up. In fact, I felt less stressed-up for time when Ben was home the past few days and I really enjoyed his laughter and talking at home ... kinda miss it now but finally there's peace in the house :>

Hi miracle_bebe

I buy 2nd hand goods all the time, more so than 1st hand. learn by experience that u need not buy expensive toys for kids ... these are not intention buys are see by chance, eg at garage sale or at some selling corners in forums ... I'll pay if I find the item is worth of the price asked for. I also sell my stuff and yes, I do get a lot of questions as well ... of course, I feel happy when a buyer comes over readily to pay for an item and not ask so many questions, but you can't stop people from asking ... and I do have some buyers who came back to ask for my advices after they bought my items ... same here when I make my purchases, I love going to garage sale esp those by expats, the ladies make you feel very welcome and will share their experiences with u ... but if the person is not willing to answer your questions n u r not comffy, then don't get lor

I've got a question here too ... do your kids understand what the adults are talking? Eg, when they are watching TV, or when mummy is talking to daddy, or when another adult is talking? Ben doesn't understand sometimes and would ask us to explain to him. I realize that when we (or an adult) talk to him, we tune our way of talking to suit him ... just thinking if it's common

.ky.

Blood test..
I did inform him beforehand that it will hurt alittle just like big ants bite and turn his face away from his wrist. I didn't want to look but was afraid that he might struggle and break the needle. when doc poke needle thru his veins, he let out loud cry.. my heart really shattered and tears just flow without control.. 12 Jan happens to be bryan's birthday and have to bring him along to hospital for gor gor's checkup.

sarah,
which CC is Hannah attending? Benny's CC emphasis on hygiene, they washed their hands after taking off shoes, before/ after meals and before/ after wee wee/poo poo and for Benny's case, before sleep as he sucks his thumb to sleep. They set the rules clear from day 1 in N1. Now, the rules are like stuck in his brain so he practised it at home too. same with brushing of teeth after meal.

ky,
Benny has got powerful language skills and learn new words through our conversation faster than we ever imagined.(mandarin) He likes to listen to our conversation and he understand every single words.. so usually, I'll try to restrain my topics in front of him. esp naggings about someone else..

aa
both ds are tv addicts. They love to watch Barney, Hi-5 VCDs and documentary shows on animals. Wanted to limit their TV watching but sometimes when they fight, both will starts to fight n scream till the loser cry for help and cling on to my thighs.. Then when I on either Barney or Hi-5, immediately, crying and fighting will stop and they'll hold each other's hands, sit side by side to watch.

I am getting some cartoons on buddhist studies for them. Need to neutralise them a little..

Back in Vancouver, lots of packing and stuff to do.

Will log on when I have more time after clearing all the boxes.

Kai is starting school coming Monday.

Hi Serenade. I must admit that I miss JK now that he has started sch again. In fact, much more than when he was in childcare cos after being a SAHM, I got so much more attached to my children. But as ky said, the peace and quiet is also much appreciated and I do treasure the time freed up to catch up with my younger one who tends to be more neglected.

Joanne, what buddhist cartoons have you introduced to the children? I have a vcd abt how to behave like a good child but not really related to the religion though it's distributed by a buddhist org. Although JK speaks more Mandarin than English, whenit comes to cartoons, he is more interested in English ones like Richard Scarry or Bob the Builder etc. so quite difficult to get him to watch how this one on how to be a good child (which he needs to)...

On picking up adult talk, I think we should be very careful with the way we speak. Somehow, JK picks up all the negative stuff eg "stupid", "fei4hua4", "shut up" almost immediately but will repeat niceties only after a long long time.

Regarding the outing, we may not be able to make it this Sun for lunch but I will confirm again with kristin's mom directly. May join the wkday one if it's a lunch towards the latter part of the week cos JK's session is bet 11.30am to 2.30pm. Can only confirm after settling into the new routine as I find it more hectic preparing him for sch and then tending to his needs after sch compared to when he's at home all the time.

hi ky!

Am back at my parents' place with internet again!!

hmm, if majority can't make it for this Sun lunch, how about just your family and mine? Get your hubby and the little one to come along lah.

Are you people still having the class on Sunday? Think I'll give GN a call too and ask her to join us.

Not been to the place you suggested. But let's go for it since there's no crowd.

By the way, we're in business again! The Starhub people just came in this morning @ Joo Chiat to install an ADSL modem... Unfortunate thing is that it is not wireless and we can only have internet access in the study room, where Kristin's sleeping in... hopefully she won't fuss too much.

hi mommies!

i sure miss talking to you all...

it's anarchy in SG!!! Just my household lah... the kids have no routine and they don't seem to miss it... but my husband and i sure do! sigh! and there's no school to tire Bryan out... he's really iritating everyone and i just realised how going to school has also been a pacemaker for Kristin's routine too.

i'll certainly post more when i get back to germany, where i can be in my own SAHM routine again... too much distractions here, so i don't expect my kids to keep to their routines either

i'll get back to the circumcision topic to you, Ashton's mom. But the decision is still purely for hygiene's sake and as preventive against future UTI. At the moment, we've decided to push it back another year. Still crossing our fingers that we don't have to go through it. More on that later...

Hi Kristin's mom. I can't join you tomorrow but if you are coming for the playgroup ky mentioned, I'll be seeing you there

By the way, can you pls sms me your no again? My hp is spoilt again and sent for servicing the 2nd time in 2 weeks
I'm using an old phone with some of my contacts gone!

K's mum, just relax ... holidays are meant to be fun for kids and troubles for parents ... I'll probably not see u this afternoon ... spoke to Meilan on the meetup and we can meet for lunch since ML would prefer to bring her girl along while the brother's in school. what time would be most convenient for you and Meilan? Wat place is good for a weekday lunch?

Anyone else keen to meetup? pls add to list

1) Kristin's family, 2A & 2C (?)
2) Meilan, 1A & 1C (later part of week)
3) KY, 1A & 1C

Apricot, u collect the books already? I'm still waiting for the disc ... maybe I'll get it from u the next time I go over to punggol ... Ben's losing interest in GD liao, so I better buck up on this to-do thing.

.ky.

Hi miracle_bebe,
I have yet to sell anything on the forum. But I do have experience with selling my flat. Many came to, literally, view the flat. Even though they knew the asking price beforehand, they would still try to negotiate for much lower price. Can be tiresome but no choice, still have to entertain such potential buyers. Main thing is to stand firm with your asking price and explain why your ware deserves the asking price. If the buyer is sincere, then I suppose there's room for negotiation.

Hi ky,
Yes, Brandon does request us to explain things when he is clueless on what we are talking. For instance today, we were discussing abt the property prices in Singapore in front of him. He stopped us and asked what we were talking about. I'm glad that he does that all the time cos I can seize the opportunity to share with him more stuff.

Regarding adult talk. Those words that Meilan mentioned are forbidden in the house and considered as bad words. Hannah knows this since young. She once told her yeye off that 'ben dan' is a bad word when she heard him saying that.

Anyway, she recently said this to me -'You're a loser.' Gosh, wherever did she learn that from?? I told her off immediately. Heehee...but she used it rather good context.

TV time - Hannah watches about 2hrs TV daily. The TV will be on when I start cooking dinner, and sometimes off during dinner time. She gets distracted and forgets about eating. It can take her more than an hr just to finish dinner. And I hate it...

Re adult talk ...
noticed that DS pick up words used by us very fast, so now everyone at home are more careful with the words we used.

Re TV times ...
managed to cut down DS's tv time, by giving him more books to read and more toys to play.
Told my mom not to on the TV unless she's really busy and has no time to keep an eye on him.

Can your kids play on their own? How to get him to play on his own? Do not know whether its loneliness or what, DS always make sure someone is 'watching' him play or playing with him.

My ds picks up words from conversation or from TV very fast.

He is on TV for preschool power, Gogo's adventures of English and Chinese Vocabulary Builder. And other like Thomas the Tank Engine and friends, Jayjay the Jet plane and Bob the builder etc. He loves books too.

My ds will play on his own while I am cooking but most of the time, he will help out if I am doing laundry, cleaning the house so that we can do it faster so that we can have time to read, write, draw and prevent play etc.

Priscilla,

Helping out during laundry? Train since young?

Think DS is very spoilt by the grandparents, when I ask him to keep his toys. He'll actually turn around and say "pa-pa, keep the toys. Don't be so messy!!!!" Previously, the dutiful father will help him to keep, but now I insists that he must keep, else I will just take a plastic bag, to help his toys into the dustbin!

This will works if my parents or in-laws not around :-(

aa
you are not alone. Last night when we're at their grandparent's house, he wanted to play with the umbrella which I disallow and hang it high beyond his reach and guess what he told me? He picked up the phone and wanted to call his grandpa on his mobile asking him to come home and give him the umbrella to play.. *faint*

Serenade,
I love bags especially Gucci!! Their bags, wallets, shades etc., anything. Ufortunately, no such splurge anymore...
These days, big bags, light and flat shoes.

Just realized you will be returning to SIN soon. Have you start packing yet? Heehee...guess you must have accumulated lots of things while in France, and not realizing it. Have fun packing!
Hey, don't forget to stock up children's clothes before you return. I find the clothes here so boring and if nice, not worth the price.

Btw, is Brandon back to playschool? Well, I'm sure he's gonna to enjoy time with mommy & little sister till you guys return.

hi hi sarah

join us if u can ...

likely to be fri, or thu lunch ... at Plaza Sing ... someone needs Daiso therapy :>

.ky.

Hi sarah,

I'm still waiting for my boxes to arrive. Over here, there's no such thing as immediate. My husband requested for the boxes in mid Dec and they are only able to send us the boxes on 19 Jan. So, that gives you an idea how "fast" the french works.

Haha, you bet! I have been stocking clothes during all the soldes (sales). Can you believe that a Polo Ralph kids shirt costs only 9,99 euros (approx S$20)? Not forgetting to mention Elle, Burberry, Kenzo, Lulu (for the kids) etc? The discounts can go as low as 70%! We are now waiting for the winter sales to do one last stockup. Guess we need not buy clothes for a long long time...

Brandon is staying at home now. It's winter and I really hate the idea of them walking to school in the icy cold mornings. So back to homeschooling again ...

How's Hannah doing with her school? Are you enrolling her for some enrichment programmes?

Would love to meet K's mom and also catch up with u guys, but Daddy is leaving for Germany on fri, and Mel needs her beauty nap to stay good for the send-off at the airport. Will give this round a miss, but am thinking of a ladies night for CNY shopping. Sometime in late Jan or early Feb, anyone keen? I usu. claim a day/nite off after his overseas work trip ;)

Hi Serenade
Brands for less, u lucky woman!

Mel did not to sch yesterday n today, the other half of the class went. Tomorrow is the day when all 16 attends, i am goin to hang around a bit to see how the teachers handle full size. As suggested by K's mom, m bringing a camera to take pix of the teachers, friends and school. Will post them on yahoo for ya' viewing.

Its been hectic and tiring past week for me. Zavier has chesty cough initially and developed fever on friday. did not get well after Fri pd's consulation. brought him to pd again yesterday. viral infection on ear and lungs. pd prescrible antibiotics with nebuliser. This early morn, spotted right ear with dried blood. Sent him to PD again. His right ear drum ruptured. PD prescribled ear drops this time. Need to closely monitor him these few days at home. Got to go for a review next tue.

He did not attend school since Fri.

Hi Sarah, I love Gucci bags too & their prices have shoot up crazy. But i give them a miss these days.

Hi Serenade, sounds like you hv enjoyed your shopping.. Remember to buy UP sizes for yr kids. they outgrow so fast that sometimes we cant catch up. The prices you are getting are so much cheaper as compared to Sin. You can do some selling here..

Gtg now, zavier is up from his nap.

aa...from young whether the grands are around or not, I insist that he keeps his toys so it is a routine. He started to help with housework from pretty young too since we have not intention to have a helper at home as dh and I are not comfortable to have a stranger in the house so we train him from young to help out. And preschool powers also are of a great help, he watches how the children help at home too.

Was very thankful today that ds have a great time at his first day of preschool and he happily went to class and I got permission to take 2 photos of him in class with other kiddos and one teacher and leave before class started. No crying at all, it was great as I was able to go for some shopping as well as to the library to read before picking him up.

Serenade...wow...you must have gotten alot of clothing for your family.

We stock up on winter wear in Japan as the pricing was unbelievable so mucher cheaper than in Singapore and Vancouver.

Over here, Gap, Old Navy and the children place as well as other brand are quite reasonable too compare to Singapore. And if we cross the border to Seattles, it is even cheaper there at their store outlet.

Hi moshimoshi!

Why didn't Mel attend school for the last 2 days? And only half the class attended school?

Yes, do bring along a camera! I regretted not bringing the cameras along. And do post those pics when you are already.

Hi moo87!

Poor Zavier! I hope he will have a speedy recovery. Does he miss school?

Think we bought too many kids' clothes. For Brandon, we even have size 10 and Cheryl, size 8 clothes. My husband keeps reminding me not to buy too much clothes for the same age. When I was packing through, then I realised some of clothes can last him till 10 years old...

Stock up and sell? Doubt so, hubby says too much trouble...

Hi pris!

How nice to shop and read in peace!

Looks like you got a good bumper "harvest" too in Japan. Do you travel to Seattle often? Are there any factory outlets there?

Hi Pris
U are another lucky woman, if i were u, i would buy in bulk and enjoy bumper sales here!

Hi Serenade
Mel did not have to attend sch as the class was split into 2 groups, half to stay home and half to attend, then finally all attends. Pretty neat, gave the teachers opportunity to know each kid and to sieve out those who need more attention, for e.g. my melody haha. But really must give her credit today for crying for a while only. I left her after 3 mins in class as agreed and as expected she wailed her heart out. But surprise surprise when i peeped an hour later, i caught her smiling ;) I must say i am happy with how things went, hopefully next week, i can zoom off to a nearby mall for some retail therapy n ME time;)

Hi Moo
Hope Xavier is better today. Keep us posted.