(2003) Calling all 2003 babies

hi serenade,
want to make a guess of my baby gender........finally i am going to have a little princess.
my hubby is very glad as he is been hoping after two boys to have a girl.
i am really seriously thinking to be SAHM now......so most probably after maternity leave i will quit.

must start learning from all SAHM here . how is the best of time management.
thanks ,
emily

Hi Emily!

Congratulations! Bet everyone in your family is excited about the princess! Boys are great but girls are different. They can you melt! You will know soon enough

Yes, just 2 posts per person per day pleaseeeee, i am lost lost and too lazy to read archive ;)
Ladies, i am not sure if i miss out any requests, i think i did, but don;t remember who asked me what now.

ky and all
I can make it for 23rd if the party is still on. My home party is brought forward.

I am game for new year party at joo chiat too!

Can we hear from all interested parties soon?

Hi moshimoshi!

This is probably the last post from Germany.

Yeah... we've got the serviced apartment.
But we've got to agree on a date.
Anyone keen on lunch on Jan 1st at Joo Chiat? I was thinking we could cater then if we all contribute our own share. That could save us all the trouble from potluck preparation.

Ok mommies, I shall chat with you again in SG time soon... when you see me posting at more decent hours of the day.

Lena, maybe you could pm me your contact no. Will get in touch with you when I'm back... but give me some time coz of wedding preparation. Didn't manage to get something to wear today... sad!!! It was so close... found something I like, skirt fits but not the top... and ran out of sizes!!!! How infuriating!!! So I need to dump my kids either with my parents or PILs to do last minute shopping next Thursday when I'm back.

Any idea where to find nice dresses / outfits for church wedding? You wanna come along? Sarah, you too? SOS!!!

Bad news.. Benny has a lump in his neck. Doc says it's harmless but will be safer to have it removed. Currently, he's on antibiotics. If it doesn't help to shrink the size of lump, will have to go thru surgery.. OMG!!

really don't know what to do to help him..

worry mum.
heard about Nam Seng in Beauty World? We went to that clinic and he has done ultrasound scanning on his neck.
Will bring him back to his baby doc if his medication doesn't works.. don't wish for him to undergo surgery at such young age.

Joanne, yes heard of that clinic. Is really painful when u see the little one undergo surgery. Benjamin had undergo an day surgery in June this year for his Eye lid - Chalazion, the procedure requires him to fast and put him on sleep, I feel so stressed
. Cant imagine, he almost fast for 24hrs!!! Hope Benny do not need to go thru this steps.

Kristin's_mom,
Just in case, you cannot resist logging on before you fly off, have a good trip back home.

Joanne,
Oh dear, poor Benny. How long it takes for the lump to shrink? Keep us posted, and youself, not to worry too much. Yeah, I know it's just unbearable to see our little ones in the hospital. Well, most impt, the lump is harmless.

Oh yes, mommies,
Is Xmas party still on at Ky's plc?

Thanks sarah, worry mum

Ya, i am glad that the lump is harmless.. everytime I apply cream on him, seeing the lump alone makes me feel like crying..

Will bring him back to doc after he finish his antibiotic..

Hi Joanne
Be strong and stay positive, more importantly, tender loving care needed from your son when he would probably be cranky or feeling uncomfortable.

Keep us posted.
kao_kiss.gif

Thx all mummies..

All I can do is make sure he take his medicine on time, apply cream on his neck and pray hard..

Benny is still active like before and attending school.. Just the thought of him under surgeon's knife saddens me.

I wud like to join u in this thread. I hv just PMed Serenade w some of my info, and just to share w you again...I am a SAHM and we have a 3yo boy born in Nov 2003.

I do not log on all the time, n if I do, u mummies wud probably be sleeping. So, i will post as n when i can..

Looking fwd to sharing our thots n experiences w one another

Blessings to All,

keith's not doing very well (got a huge ulcer that's just subsided after 2 days), work busy too hence never write, but read. keeping to my 1-post for today ....

congrats, emily!!

kristins_mom, on blog, i spend quite a bit of time on it ... hoping to continue to do it. I'm keeping the fanciful stuff to min so can't help w your qn. I do the fanciful stuff in scrapbooking.

serenade, yes, it's A Gift of Manners on Emily Post. I borrowed it from Lib to browse it briefly. Find it's good but have not have the time to read it in details after I bought it.

Hi Ku, I've used Ventolin before too ... that's the western medication. Hao Zou San is from Yu Ren Sheng ... but the kid can't take it when he's having fever and if she has phlegm, ventolin is better.

Joanne, the TCM @ Teck Whye ... what's the TCM methodology? just "ba mai" (feel the pulse) and prescribe chinese medicine? chinese herbs or bottled medication? I go to this place call Shan Dong in Jurong East for the Tuina. pay about $28 each time for the medication (3 packets of chinese herbs) + tuina ($15)... thinking of trying this one if it's good.

I too think you should seek a 2nd opinion. why don't you find out the how the surgery work before you decide your next move. If it's harmless and no pain, why don't u take a wait and see if the lump'll reduce? My mum had a small lump on the arm, she went for day surgery. after a while, the lump came back.

I've dig up the archives and try to put it together. Seems like 17 dec is a better date than 23 dec... or can you mummies add on and we probably need to finalize this if it's 17 dec ... any idea where to meet if it's 17 dec?? ideas needed, pls

X'mas gathering

1) 17dec dinner - Amum (can't meet for lunch)
2) 17dec lunch - Moshi
3) 17dec lunch - Sarah
4) 17dec lunch - ky
5) 17 Dec lunch - Meilan

X'mas gathering on 23 Dec morning till 1pm@ function room at ky's place
1) ky
2) Meilan
3) Kristin's mom (2A & 2C), tbc asap, ok?

can't make it - Moshimoshi

Or would it be New Year gathering @ Joo Chiat??
I don't mind Joo Chiat.

.ky.

Hi Joanne!

Please stay strong. We'll be praying with you too.

Hi Sarah!

You're right! I can't resist logging on.

This is gonna be a big battle from now till we land. The plane will be taking off in 25 hrs' time. My house is a big mess and we haven't packed a single bit. The children have been sleeping later these past few nights. Trying to keep them up a little longer coz of the late flight out. Don't want them to knock out too soon. I've got all the drugs that will keep them sleepy, including herbal tea. Maybe I;ll take them all and sleep myself and let my husband handle the kids... haha!!!

See you soon!

Hi ky!

Thanks for digging out the lists. Really appreciate that.

Here's the list again:

X'mas gathering

2) 17dec lunch - Moshi
3) 17dec lunch - Sarah
4) 17dec lunch - ky
5) 17 Dec lunch - Meilan

1) ky
2) Meilan

Sorry, can't make it coz we'll still be in M'sia.

I shall get in touch with you girls quickly once the wedding is over this weekend. Then let's start planning for the New Year's gathering at Joo Chiat, ok?

Hi miracle_bebe!

Welcome! Are you outside SG too? I also post mainly when the mommies back home are asleep... but I shall join them more often now without the time difference coz we'll be back in SG for holiday and work.

ky
the TCM @ Teck Whye prescribe bottled medication. I've tried other TCM which prescribed powdered medication, although they works but it is quite difficult to get children to drink it. Smell too strong and sometimes they fell like vomiting after drinking. I find powdered medi abit too strong for young children.. Prefer bottled type..

Thanks Kristin mum

After taking antibiotics for 3 days, the lump doesn't seems to shrink. Have decided to bring him back to his baby doctor to seek 2nd opinion. If she advise for surgery, think I'll go ahead with it. Size of lump is bigger than 50cts coin and it's in the middle of his neck. I have thought of waiting to see if the lump shrinks but mind is full of "what if". so i think i better listen to what the doc says..

hi ky,

thanks for the digging up. here's muine

Here's the list again:

X'mas gathering

2) 17dec lunch - Moshi
3) 17dec lunch - Sarah
4) 17dec lunch - ky
5) 17 Dec lunch - Meilan
6) 17 Dec lunch -MH

1) ky
2) Meilan

can't make it cos Wei Shuen had swimming lesson in the morning

btw, I'm went to Shan Dong last Sat cos Li Shuen down with runny and blocked nose...she's better now..think the inhaling mist machine quite good. Cost me $23 cos hers is powder one.

Hi Joanne

thanks for the info on TCM. guess I'll stick to mine for now.

MH, the breakdown is as follows : tuina ($15) + powder ($4) + machine ($4). Does the brand of the machine sounds familar to you? the lady would arrange the TCM course for us before went to Shan Dong b4 too.

Anyway the physican would tailor the medication for Ben by mixing the appropriate amount of herbs. We used to get bottled and powdered medication but when she knows that I'm a SAHM, she encouraged me to do the brewing way as the result is better though more work. My cost can range from $28 - $32 ... gave up on finding out how the cost is computed coz sometimes the medication is more and sometimes less, and I already know them pretty well ... they usually use the machine if the kid has sign of running nose, but if the lungs not cleared, they will also stick herbal stickys on the chest and back.

.ky.

Hi Miracle_Bebe,
Welcome! Please join us in the Xmas gathering if you can make it.

Kristin's_mom,
Heehee...thought so too that you just have to logon, reading and not writing is good enough...
. Hey, did your hubby ask you to forget the house cleaning till you return? But you just want and have to do it, isn't it? Perhaps you should just leave it, and not stress yourself further.

Yes, yes...good idea! Take all the sleeping drugs and get your hubby to handle B&K. See you soon.

MH,
Like to get Hannah to learn swimming too. Can PM me the coach's contact? Tks.

X'mas gathering
2) 17dec lunch - Moshi
3) 17dec lunch - Sarah
4) 17dec lunch - ky
5) 17 Dec lunch - Meilan
6) 17 Dec lunch -MH

1) ky
2) Meilan
3) Sarah (may leave early coz girl has lessons)

Moshi - you can make it on 23rd right?

Hi all. I've been so out of touch I don't know what to say now. Just like to welcome emily. To Joanne, please update us on the second opinion. Hope everything goes well.

Re the gathering, it's strange that most of you have not specifically said yes or no abt 23 Dec. Maybe you all can respond so that we can really tell if 17 or 23 is preferable?

On Happy Feet, I think the offer is only for the first movie every Tue ie 10.30am. I'm planning to bring JK on 26 Dec. Anyone who's interested to join, please pm me.

Will re-join the forum when things are more settled at home. Managing 2 kids at home is really a struggle <pant>.

Hi, Serenade, unable to "open" the file u posted.

Here is the latest update..

<table border=1><tr><td>FORUM NICK</TD><TD>Name / Gender</TD><TD>Mth of Birth</TD><TD>Name / Gender</TD><TD>Mth of Birth</TD><TD>Home Sweet Home</TD><TD>Status </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ky</TD><TD>Benedict</TD><TD>Feb.03</TD><TD>Keith</TD><TD>Jan.06</TD><TD>CCK</TD><TD>SAHM </TD></TR><TR><TD>AMum</TD><TD>Aston</TD><TD>Apr.03</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Punggol</TD><TD>FTWM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Irene</TD><TD>G</TD><TD>Apr.03</TD><TD>Bryan</TD><TD>May.05</TD><TD></TD><TD>SAHM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Joanne (jojoscs)</TD><TD>Benny</TD><TD>Apr.03</TD><TD>Bryan</TD><TD>Jan.05</TD><TD>Bt Gombak</TD><TD>SAHM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sarah (densar)</TD><TD>Hannah</TD><TD>May.03</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Changi</TD><TD>SAHM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Serenade</TD><TD>Brandon</TD><TD>May.03</TD><TD>Cheryl</TD><TD>Jun.05</TD><TD>Hillview (France)</TD><TD>SAHM </TD></TR><TR><TD>MH</TD><TD>Wei Shuen</TD><TD>Jun.03</TD><TD>Li Shuen</TD><TD>Jan.06</TD><TD>Jurong East</TD><TD>FTWM </TD></TR><TR><TD>BlurPooh</TD><TD>Shawn</TD><TD>Jul.03</TD><TD>Shanon</TD><TD>May.05</TD><TD>Joo Seng</TD><TD>FTWM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Emily</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>Aug.03</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>Mar.05</TD><TD></TD><TD>FTWM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Kristins_mom</TD><TD>Bryan</TD><TD>Aug.03</TD><TD>Kristin</TD><TD>Aug.05</TD><TD>Tiong Bahru (Germany)</TD><TD>SAHM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Moshimoshi</TD><TD>Melody</TD><TD>Sep.03</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Ang Mo Kio</TD><TD>SAHM </TD></TR><TR><TD>WorryMum</TD><TD>Benjamin</TD><TD>Sep.03</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Bt Gombak</TD><TD>FTWM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ku</TD><TD>G </TD><TD>Sep.03</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>EDD May07</TD><TD></TD><TD>FTWM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Meilan</TD><TD>Jay Kai</TD><TD>Oct.03</TD><TD>Jay Cin</TD><TD>Dec.05</TD><TD>Sengkang</TD><TD>SAHM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Pooh</TD><TD>G</TD><TD>Oct.03</TD><TD>G</TD><TD>May.06</TD><TD>Joo Seng</TD><TD>SAHM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Aileen (simal)</TD><TD>Zavier</TD><TD>Oct.03</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Hougang</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sunflower</TD><TD>Cedric</TD><TD>Nov.03</TD><TD>Denzyl</TD><TD>Dec.05</TD><TD>Punggol</TD><TD>SAHM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Minnie</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>East</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

thanks all the mummies for the congrats, really glad to have little princess after two rascals...daddy will definitely pamper her. when i heard it is a girl i could not believe my ears, i hope the next scan will not change the gender, nowsdays whenever i am out doing grocery shopping in parkway, i am sure look out for little dresses........usually i heard from colleagues how dear a daughter to the mum...thank God for granting my wish.
how is everybody planning for christmas......i have not done christmas shopping yet , the two boys keep asking me where are their christmas present, as no prsents at all under christmas tree. Now i still in school marking exam paper..........my vacation will start officially next week.......sigh...
My older son is in MRC learning chinese, one a week programme........i did not monitor how much he has been learning as we dun really speak mandarine at home, last sunday he impressed me that he can recognise some mandarine words from the chinese story book.......and learn some chinese poems, i give credit to MRC though he is there for like three months only......maybe the mummies can give a try.

ky,

yah, the cost breakdown is the same. My elder gal is ok with bottled med but she hates those brewed one. The younger one is taking powdered one now.

hahah..I saw lily abt 2 months ago, she was there to collect medicine though she had tuina by the lecturer. I could recognise her curly hair.

sarah:pm u the contact.

Hello all!
Thanks ky for collating.
As mentioned earlier, i brought forward my home party and what coincidence, it's to 17dec, and on 23dec, i have to work in the day.
I am hence now only available for joo chiat party on new year's day.

It appears that most are ok with 17dec, if so, please proceed, otherwise, let's plan for 1st jan.

Today is my wedding anniversary, as usual, no flowers from Mr Scrooge but we are dining out tonight, well, we better, or he would get hell from me haha

Catch u 2mrw!

moshi2, have not received flowerd from my dh for very long time too...but he's a practical man, he does most of the hpusework and cooking at home...

MIA in singaporemotherhood for a long time. I stay in Toh Guan but currently outstationed with dh in Kyoto and will be heading back to Vancouver come January. I am sahm with a 3 yr old boy.

I simply have too much things on 17Dec, firstly may go to Shichida brain fair in the morn, follwed by KTV in the afternoon then lastly couson's house warming at night. So, I cant meet you gals if finally decided on 17Dec. You have fun then !

I guess I'll have to give a miss on 17 Dec lunch. Given another group a commitment as they needed some help.

Apricot ... u change name again har? your books how? Ben's been asking me to open them for him ... one day I will ... hahaha (just joking)

.ky.

Thought I'll be lost for being absent for so many days but that's not the case.. 1 post per day rule??

Brought Benny to the pediatric, she advised to let doc from KKH to examine him since tumor has not shrink in size. Will have to do serveral test by inserting needle thru his neck into the tumor then will the doc decide whether or not to go for surgery. Heartache!!! So will have to wait till 22nd Dec for his appt in KKH..

Joanne, where exactly is the tumor? Will pray for your little boy and your family as well. Be positive and calm as baby needs your support.

Hi. The forum has been quiet of late, guess everyone is busy with X'mas preps.

Joanne, how are things?

By the way, ky, are you still able to host the gathering on 23 Dec? If so, maybe we can have a quick round-up of who can still make it before the date becomes unavailable to more people? I'm still keen to meet up since I've yet to meet any of you.

1) ky
2) Meilan
3) Sarah (may leave early coz girl has lessons)
4) Moshimoshi (available right?)

In fact, if there are at least 20 of us including spouse/maid, we can cater for a nasi lemak buffet at only $2.50 per person instead of doing potluck.

Hi kristin's mom
No, we don't live outside SG. Our home is located in the estate called Henderson Crescent. I normally hv time to check my Inbox n stuff only after mid-nite.

Hi sarah
Thank you for welcoming me into this thread.
Sorry! I won't be able to join u gals for Xmas gathering, as my cousin from KL who last visited 10years ago, will be in town. On Xmas eve, we have our yearly family dinner at my sis's place.
Do enjoy yourself w the wonderful conversation and yummy food.

Blessings!

Priscilla--- Thank you. the tumor is in his neck.. at the front.

I was busy asking around for identical cases n ways of treatment for the last few days. Lucky to know tt my cousin had lump in his neck many yrs back. my aunt recommend TCM herbs but most chinese medi store dun hv so was busy searching yest. was lucky 2 find it in Sims Ave.. It requires duck egg so going JB 2 buy later. Wasn't aware tt duck eggs were not allowed in S'pore, went around searching for it yest. *phew*

Thank you all for yr prayers.. I will defer his KKH appt. Will let him try TCM before making next decision. the thought of needle poking his neck really upset me. Will pray hard that TCM works.

thanks MH n all.

at least I'm not so lost now. Really appreciate mummies' moral support..

THANK YOU!!!

Will keep you all updated.

Morning, mommies. Oh yes, the thread been so quiet.

Agreed to to Meilan's suggestion on catering if we are still meeting up on 23rd. Assuming if no mommies respond, shall we confirm gathering at Joo Chiat on 1 Jan then?

Jan 1 gathering @ Joo Chiat:
1. Kristin's_mom
2. Moshi
3. Ky
4. Sarah

Joanne,
So you have to cook the duck eggs with the herbs and eat it? Oh yes, I didn't know duck eggs are forbidden in SIN too. I understand that it takes time for TCM to show results, so got to be patient. Good thing that Benny is active as ever, a great relief. You take care.

sarah
Duck eggs are to cook with herb and rub on his neck. My cousin's lump is about size of ping pong ball and he recovers after two dosage of herbs.
So I die die also must find a few duck eggs back.

Joanne, be strong and courageous. Benny needs your support. Yes, try TCM and it might take a while to show results.

Sorry ladies, we are outstationed so could not join all of you but nevertheless, have a great christmas gathering and celebration.

Joanne, I understand frm a lady who sells clothes at our mkt that these duck eggs can be found at the Chinatown mkt. But must go very early in the morning.. Several mths back, I had a bump protruding at the side of my neck n GP said it was a lymph node. There may be many causes for it, but he said only anti-biotics wl help reduce the lump. Well, I didn't go buy duck eggs, but I drank that cooling gassy transparent drink sold in glass/can called sir chao sui (direct translation in English is snake grass water), which was also recommended by this lady. She said Chinese believe it's due to heatiness. It took sometime for the lump to disappear n eventually it did. This drink is suitable for chdn too, but I dunno from what age grp.
hth
May the good Lord bless you w strength this time and season!

miracle bebe
my aunt too told me it's due to heatiness. 3 weeks ago, Ben was running high fever for a week. He took 2 bottles of antibiotics. Last week he took another bottle for the lump but still size didn't shrink. GP define it as thyroid tumor and told me it is not common in children which scares me out of my wits.

I tried giving him se chao sui a few months ago but seems too cooling for him. was having dry cough throughout night sleep then I stop. Have been boiling chyrsanthumun tea for him every alternate day. Hopes it'll help a little.

Joanne,
apologies for not flwg this thread accdgly, so got to ask u how old is your son?
did u tell ur aunty that u gave the snake grass water n that ur son ended having dry cough?
the TCM instructions of rubbing w duck eggs is correct, coz that's what that lady told me too. She is also our advisor for our son's policy. Did u happen to ask TCM about the se chai sui water, what sort of effect wil it give?
think maybe u gave too much issit? i also dunno much about this sort of thing, that's y didn't make suggestn or share earlier..

miracle bebe
Benny is 3 yrs old. I didn't told my aunt about the dry cough.. she heard about his tumor from another aunt of mine and suggested TCM.
From what my mum told me, snake grass water has got cooling effect but not advisable to young children. my cousin only started drinking when she's about 7 yrs old. BTW, most of my cousins are between age 0 to 10. only a few coming 20.

Joanne, heatiness can also cause it. Try giving barley water weekly too. So must always help to cool down their body. ds also takes grass jelly drink.

Priscilla,
my MIL doesn't allow me to give them grass jelly drink. They hv never drank it before. Only China Barley with rock sugar or chrysant. tea