(2003) Calling all 2003 babies

moshi,
oh dear, hannah is a tv addict too! worse, we subscribe to playhouse disney. hey, i enjoy jojo circus!

so mommies,
when's our lunch or dinner & shopping?

Any mommies a nov "baby" ? am one !!!
Tomorow my bday and daddy is bringing me and Aston to Genting highlands tomorow for a weekend escapade. It was a real surprise from me and I was so moved. We will enjoy it cos it's our 1st family outside Spore !!

YEAH.. AMum..HAPPY BIRTHDAY and enjoy ur trip..

Hi Moshi2!

Think Mel will have lots more things to occupy her once she starts school next year.

Last winter, VCDs were a great help to keep Bryan entertained at home.

Now, he'd rather play with his toys and he seldom asks for TV. It's me who will switch it on willingly coz I need the time to cook in the late afternoon.

Thanks for your compliments on my kiddos. Guess their eyes are the main contributory factor to their japanese/korean look. All along, I have hope my kids would have big, round eyes with double eyelids. Guess it's not possible with parents who are not endowed with such eyes :p

Hi Emily,
Guess we must be on the same frequency! I was wondering how you are getting on and here you are today.

How's your pregnancy getting on? So, is it gonna be a princess or another prince? It's hols now, so workload must be lighter, isn't it?

Wish there's some jap blood in me. haha... both my hubby and I are pure chinese. But I have been mistaken for jap/korean on a few occasions. A chinese waitress actually spoke to me in korean recently.

Those titles are from the CC books. Are there many CC VCDs? Only knew of 2 CC DVD titles available currently. One's a new release while the other was from ages ago.

Take care and join in when you have the time!

Hi Blur2 Pooh,
Do take good care of yourself and your darlings. It's the school break, so your music school must be offering more courses for kids now, right? Have fun reading and join in if you can steal some time!

To mommies who blog,
Please pm me your blogs too if you don't mind. Thanks!

Dear Kristin's mom, for your info, Jk once wanted to be a bus-driver as well. In fact his first word was "bus". So I hope they meet up one day to "discuss" their common interest. I was hoping there were a bus museum here to bring him.

Serenade, thanks for more suggestions on books. I don't mean book reparing course lah. What I mentioned was a reading and learning forum to provide tools and ideas for parents to cultivate an interest in reading to their children. BTW, how come I need a login to see your pics so how come the rest can access?

MH, haircut used to be a nightmare for my JK too. Now I bring him to a HDB salon in AMK where the aunty hairdressers there will entertain and chat with him and give him lots of biscuits while one of them trim his hair super-fast skillfully. The cost? Just $6 with free biscuits
I feel so bad I bring along my own supplies but he prefers theirs and I don't care if he eats his biscuits with some hair as long as he sits still and is not upset.

Happy birthday AMum! I hope you enjoy your 1st family overseas trip. Will you be driving up or taking the coach?

Hi Moshimoshi,
You have got mail!

So Mel is holding the pencil correctly? Hurray!

There are some preschools that segregate the younger and older kids. But those schools are not within walking distance. There's another preschool (this school doesn't segregate the children too) that I can enrol Brandon in but we are worried b'cos the school includes primary school kids too.

Maybe I'll get a chance to see your cool books next year?

Hi Sarah,
Your niece is really cool. I hope my kids will grow to be assertive but not aggresive. But sometimes, it's hard to tell little kids the difference...

Hi ky,
Thanks for the recommendation. We are considering JG at Evans Rd. But the queue thingy puts me off. So, I'm considering somewhere near. My friend heard good reviews abt Learning Ladder too. So, Learning Ladder is also under consideration. Have you heard abt Cornerstone in Hillview?

Hi kristins_mom,
How do you manage to get up so early every morning? It's so cold nowadays that all we want to do is snuggle up in the cosy warm bed. Too lazy to get up...

By sending Brandon to school, I was hoping he would get to enjoy learning with other kids, especially the art & crafts. This mommy here isn't very good with crafts. Also, I would think he'll enjoy drawing and colouring more with other kids. And after reading abt Bryan's good friend (quite envious), I was hoping he could find some friendship there too. But looks like all these have to be put on hold. Anyway, I'll guess we'll just enjoy the cold days for now.

Hi Meilan,
Think I accidentally set it to private. Can try viewing it now.

Remembered you mentioned something abt pple commenting on SAHM. Well, I always tell pple that I'm doing a PHD in Managing Household. :p

Hi Blurblur_Pooh!

Just read about your concern about your daughter's appetite.

Is this a girl thing? My daughter has to be distracted so that I can feed her. If you let her take the lead, she'll shake her head and tell you she has no appetite at all. If she's stuffed too much or force-fed, she'll throw up. She's definitely too young to know the term anorexia, but she sure is showing signs for that.

Anyway, I have been giving her Appelin B12 supplement for about a month now. This was recommended when my boy went on his strike on all cooked meals just two months before he turned two. It helped.

Hi Serenade!

My husband loves to sleep, nap, sleep in, sleep late etc... So do I. But the sad thing for us is that our children don't have our sleep genes. They both seem to have inherited our extra-light-sleepers' gene and my MIL's gene of waking up early! And then, that's it. Like it or not, I need to drag myself out of the bed. It isn't very nice esp when it's cold and you just wanna snuggle up under your thick covers. Sigh!!! What to do???? But the morning walk to the bus-stop and then to school sure wakes me up.

Yeah, friendship came as a surprise. We didn't expect him to make friends so easily.

It's sad to hear about the school situation now for Brandon. I hope you can still find a regular playgroup for him for now. Or are there like some weekly art classes or music classes kind of things that he can attend?

Two questions:

Moms with two kids:
1) Anyone still sterilising milk bottles for kids/toddlers? e.

2) Has anyone gone on a regional train ride with kids? Please feed me with some horror stories so that I can be prepared for some sticky scenarios.
We're thinking of taking a train to the town where I studied this Sat. The kids are always more excited by any other mode of transport, as long as it isn't car. Train ride's about two hours.

Hi Meilan!

Yeah... let's meet up when we are back in SG. I'm sure they'll be good buddies.

There is a museum on the different modes of public transport available in this region. I've been saving it as an option on a cold winter day. I guess the time has come! Thanks for the reminder.

hi kristin's_mom,
got your blog add. tks. i was wondering why the address...very innovative! whatever gives you the idea? read some of your previous postings...i have to say, it's very interesting and entertaining. you should keep it updated, but like you said, with 2 kids around, some things are just impossible.

Hey, Kristin looks chubby too, and very cute. Can't wait to see her in Dec!

Hi Serenade
Nope, Mel is not holding the pencil correctly yet, still the 'baby' way haha and she is using her left hand to write. I will wait for her teacher to change her next yr.

Hi Meilan
Did u mention hairdresser at AMK? Do u live in AMK? I do!

Mommies
I have my very own STORYLAND photo album to share, send me a PM!

HAVE A GREAT WEEKEND! we are picking cherries at changi!

Moshi,
Good try by Mel. Haha...

Just saw some performances of Hannah's sch full dress rehearsal for its graduation ceremony. The concert is tomorrow. It is quite exciting. It's always nice to watch little children perform. Everything is so impromptu.

Hannah loves music & movement. So, she is enjoying herself. Mommy glad that she is. We dance alot at home even in the car. Her current favourit hits are 'Let's twist again' and "Ketchup Song'. Haha...these days, children songs are lullabys.

I'll be going to concert alone, hb not in town. Wanted to bring grandparents along, but need tickets, so forget it. She's still young, wait till she goes to K2. This is one cheapo mommy... you have to pay for tix, video, costume etc. Hey, in our times, it's just the graduation photo...

Hi Sarah!

Think you're gonna be disappointed when you meet Kristin in Dec. She's lost the chubby cheeks ever since she started walking. Now she's an "anorexic" girl who throws up food when she thinks she's had enough. Ok lah, not so bad, guess Mommy tends to exaggerate problems a bit.

Will update a more recent photo of her and you tell me lor.

Hey, don't you feel like blogging too?
Let Hannah's concert be the pilot post. Share your excitement with us. ;)

Moshi2, hi!

Thumbs up for Mel!!! This is a good sign for a bilingual child. And the fact that she paused showed that her brain was processing/retrieving information...
There will always be an interim period where both languages are mixed and a predominant language will always exist. I like twenty-ba! Both the Eng and Chinese structures are there.

Yeah... share your Storyland album, please!
Will pm you shortly on my blog address.

did I leave any request out? Let me know.

Hi Lena. I live in Sengkang but my parents live in AMK, so I seek refuge a lot there until I become more independent coping with 2 kids on my own. And talk abt mixing Chinese with English, JK sometimes even adds in Hokkien on top of the 2! His broken language really makes us try harder to speak better in whatever language but we are still trying...

Thanks Serenade. Your kids look very much alike and I esp love your girl who's so fair & chubby. How old is she now? I'm really sorry to read abt Brandon's unpleasant experience in sch. To rebuild his confidence, perhaps you have to start with some playgroups where parents get to sit in? When you come back to S'pore, you may want to seek out Actphabets at Esplanade (which JK used to attend) for a start. I'm not sure if they allow parents to sit in for kids above 3 but I just love the lively classes and the teachers.

kristin's mom, check out the fire engine museum at Hill St when you are back in S'pore if Bryan is also into other big vehicles. On sterilising bottles, I've become rather low in hygiene standard since JC turned 6 months (which was also the time I converted to SAHM) so as to reduce stress and work for myself.

Sarah, how much is the concert ticket? JK is performing in early Dec and I plan to take the whole family includ grandparents & aunties though we have not been told the cost of tickets. I hope I don't break down at the concert cos he will be saying goodbye to his teachers and friends the same day as he will be transferred to a nursery nearer to Sengkang.

Hi Meilan!

Thanks for the suggestion. He'll love to be there esp the fire prevention week he had in school. He still remembers his "stop, drop, roll"-drill.

And also, the beach, zoo, bird-park just anything we can't do here...
I think he might be ready for museum already. Didn't think so when we were in London. It's funny how quickly a child grows once he crosses the third b'day. Suddenly, he's keen to logical reasoning and is eager to please with good behaviour... or is this another phase??

Hi Mommies!

This new Vivo City sounds like a happening shopping mall. Tell me more about it!

so much to catch up ...

cod liver oil : Ben loves his OIL - he must take 3 tsp each night, original. Max we read from instructions is 15ml; 400ml is ard $5.

letter tracing : Ben's school doesn't do it. I try to do with him at home but he doesn't really fancy it, even when he's using transparency pens.

Serenade : hm, not sure who Ben takes after ... some said he looks more like me now, but I can't see where....
nope, have not heard of Cornerstone in Hillview. I was focusing on montessori schools beyond CCK. Zapped my energy looking at just 2 and when TLL came along, the decision came quite quickly.
On Brandon's school situation, I'll think

Kristin's mum : Ben's school fees is considered on the high side - $534 after subsidy.

sterilising milk bottles : nope, I've stopped doing that when Keith's 6 months old.

Worry_mum : thanks for info on BP on 1000pcs A5 picture cards. nope, I didn't join in in coz I think price is not suited for me :-/

happy birthday, amum! enjoy! huh, think u r there now ... hope u did have fun

Concert : Ben's having his next friday. It's fortunately free so the whole family is going, no need to pay for costume cos the kids would just need to be dressed in yellow and black

Blurblur_Pooh ... take care. haze seems to be over too.

blog : yes, it takes a fair bit of energy to start and maintain ... I used to do photo webpage for Ben and stopped when he's 2 yrs old. Thereafter I've been jotting down notes all over (coz I realize my memory's getting worse... anyone has that problem?). Eventually decided to start it when I read a fren over couple of months as well a group of mummies' blogs and realize it's a good practise (personally) to jot down daily events, and esp with going thru' it again with Keith, I realize some matters which I thot could be easily remembered took some effort to recall. I'm also not very good at continuity so now have to keep reminding myself to set time aside for it.

.ky.

Have been busy trying to "catch up" with my blog. Sometimes, I just can't recall their milestones, the cute things they do etc. But after a while, just got lazy to blog. Btw, I'm trying to backdate what happened since Brandon's birth. Will let you gals know when I'm finished. Am thinking of shifting my blog from the msn live space. Any good recommendations? blogspot.com? shoutzblog?

I was suggesting to Kristins_mom on setting up a blog for all the activities happending here, e.g. the outings, special events etc? What do you gals think?

Ooops, I must have exaggerated Brandon's situation. :p Actually the teacher thinks it's just Brandon's way of manipulating me. He didn't like the idea of Cheryl staying at home with me very much. Playgroup is a good idea but may lead to problems since the fathers are working together.

I can guess social interaction can start next year. In any case, he already has a bunch of good friends from this forum!

Hi Moshimoshi,
That's a really smart way to tell mommy that she knows both languages! I doubt Brandon knows "ba" is the number eight yet.

Seems like Mel maybe a leftie. Well, we can always sit Mel and Brandon together. That way, they won't get into other pple's way at the dinning table

Hi Kristins_mom,
We stopped sterilising the bottles rigorously when Cheryl turned one year old. But my hubby still sterilise them occasionally (when he remembers).

Abt regional train ride, we haven't done any yet. Perhaps this year end to Mount Montblanc. But do be careful of pickpockets. They usually target those with kids. One family lost their camera during a train ride to Paris.

Hi Meilan,
Cheryl is 17 mths old. She's more chubby since she decided to increase her daily milk intake. Previously, I was having problem on fattening her up. What do they do in Actphabets? Speech and Drama? I sure hope he'll get over his "fear" for big kids soon.

Hi Ky,
My friend just recommendeded Little Wonder at Hillview Crescent. Guess I'll visit the preschools with Brandon to make a decision. Do the kids attend classes in June? We are thinking of starting Brandon in May next year.

Have a great weekend!

Hi Serenade!

Remember your anecdote on turning into a bird and flying away.

I told Bryan that I was gonna turn into one this evening coz I wanted to fly away from naughty and noisy children like himself and his sister.

He told me I couldn't coz I hadn't got wings.

Daddy laughed - obviously he wasn't working on his computer, was he?

By the way, I'm really impressed at how you recounted diligently on the "First's" for every child. I have forgotten my children's. I used to keep a log for Bryan until he was almost 2. BUt with Kristin, I stopped even before she turned one.

Maybe I'll rethink the Firsts of my children, lest I'd feel guilty later on in life when they ask me when they first walked, first waved bye-bye, clap hands etc...

hi serenade,
thanks for the concern, basically my pregnancy is fine just very tired and this pregnancy is kind of different, i loves to eat alot of green now and the green must be raw like lettuce, tomatoes but not the one need to be cook. i do not fancy meat..........my hubby was joking saying that this is monk or nun to be .......vegetarian........
btw any mummies send they DS, DD to kinderland..........i am scouting around for my younger son to kinderland childcare........a bit ex which is about 700 per month after subsidy but i am more concern of ciriculum.....
i want something diff from montessori teaching method ,so to see any diff on children with or without montessori background. any suggestion of childcare from any mommies..........thanks

I want to write (!!!) but trying hard with a struggling baby.... last night, wrote and did not have time to vett coz baby vomitted and I had to spend time cleaning. And argued with my closest sil ... about work. quite upsetting. will write soon :<

.ky.

Hi ky!

Would love to read your blog! Pm me. Thanks!

O, I'm really not a perfectionist when it comes to writing/keeping a log. To me, it's not like an accurate and precise medical report of sorts. I usually read my mistakes much later, hehe, as you might have realised on this forum by now.

Hope things go well again for you and your SIL.

Hi! Moshimoshi!

Wow... your Storyland album is so pretty and unique. I'm really envious of Mel that she has a mom like you!

I can never be that patient to do anything with Bryan. Being a boy, he'll mess up everything in no time... and his own interpretation of art isn't exactly my taste - so abstract, or some people might call it messy.

btw, speaking about mess, recently I made up a song that goes like this:
It's a mess, mess, mess!
It's a mighty mess!
It's so messy and
I can't get rest... as I sing along to when I order Bryan to pick up his toys. Now, he seems to enjoy singing along too, i.e. he will mess up the place and then start singing the song with me. It's a variation from his usual Barney's Clean-up song.

Another title to read to your little one:
The Magic School Bus series

I love the cartoon series. I got Bryan some books in March but didn't think he was gonna enjoy science then. But it looks like he's ready for it now. It's a wonderful science adventure to embark on together with the little one. And I learned something new today too, e.g. did you know that the first birds that flew were dinosaurs? And did you know that most dinosaurs fossils were discovered in China? Dinos were never my cup of tea - who likes such hideous creatures with names that are almost impossible to pronounce? Certainly not me, until today.

ky, Serenade,

thanks for reinforcing my decision to give up sterilising bottles.

Kristin was on breastmilk until I introduced the bottle when she was nine months old. So I was feeling a bit guilty for not sterilising bottles as often as I did/still do for Bryan. Well, since I sterilise Kristin's, I might as well do Bryan's, right?

Anyway, I won't exactly give up completely, but at least cut down the daily sterilising ritual and keep it to just a week's affair. That should look right and fit in my already very packed cleaning schedule.

Regarding the regional train ride, we survived fine for the first time with the kids. It was easy with Bryan, esp since he has become very much a book worm these days. Just give him a few books, he'll quietly sit there all by himself. And the two hours became really short. We hardly felt it. But on our way back, Kristin was quite a nuisance coz she couldn't keep still. She wanted to walk up and down the aisle!!!! Goodness, what are we gonna do when we fly back to SG in four weeks' time? I think sedatives will be the answer. I wonder if the German PD will prescribe it just for air travel.

Ok... gtg! MOre stories on train ride in the blog after some decent sleep/rest.

Serenade,check out http://www.actphabets.com/abtus.html. I should mention that it offers a 1-time free trial so you may want to bring Bryan there to try when you're back. They also do holiday programmes where you can sign up for a single session.

kristin's mom, thanks for more book recommendations. Really can't keep up with what you people are doing - art &amp; craft, blogs, gardening etc esp when some of you are not even SAHM. I can't even keep up with cooking at least a meal a day!

Anyway, we got our bikes and went cycling to a nearby mall today. Somehow, I got off the bike too quickly and lost balance, causing JK to fall, luckily on the grass patch. So much for our first outing with bikes! Thank goodness he was not hurt and he bravely told me not to cry cos I lmust have looked really miserable. Pai seh!

By the way, whose 2nd baby here is around 1 year old? I realised that I'm always thinking of JK first I should be checking up more on JC as well by comparing notes with other mums with kids around her age.

Hi Meilan!

Kristin is turning 15 months on the 22nd. Close enough? I suppose JC is also a girl.

We should meet up come Dec.
Then our boys and girls can play together and the parents can relax!

O

Bryan and Kristin are my children.

Serenade's children are Brandon and Cheryl.

We were just talking about how close our children's names would have been, esp if Kristin was spelled with a "c".

I think all our kids are about the same age, also same genders and birth orders. What a pleasant coincidence!

Sorry slip of tongue there. Yes it's Brandon I was talking abt.

And yes, would love to meet up in Dec. My girl JC will have turned 1 by then

Hi Lena!

Richard Scarry's Funniest STorybook Ever arrived today.

I ordered it from Amazon with the book addressed to Bryan. So you can imagine his face when he read his own name on the parcel - a broad grin!

He's very excited about it and kept bugging his dad to read to him while dad was still having his dinner. "Hey, Dad, I like this funny book!"

But the not so funny part was that daddy fell asleep while reading to him, straight after dinner! Bryan: Open your eyes, Daddy! Don't sleep!" Hahaha!!!!

But it was still Magic School Bus for bedtime coz Bryan won't stop at one story... he'll want to finish the whole book... and we'd like to keep the bedtime reading short.

Hi Emily,
You have got two ds just like ky, haven't you? Sarah has just placed Hannah in Kinderland in Changi (if I remember correctly). Heard from her that the school is pretty good.

Hi Meilan,
Thanks for the website. Will check it out.

Hi Lena,
Your storyland is simply impressive! If you are setting up a class, please let me know.

I'm still migrating my blog. Once done, I'll let you know. Mommies, if you are interested in my blog, pls PM me.

Hi Kristins_mom,
Looking forward to read abt your train ride.

I was deciding b/w The Magic School Bus and The Magic Tree. Guess I'll give The MSB a try since you highly recommend it.

Talk abt TV addicts, I have two at home. By the way, any horror fans here? Just watched Silent Hill yesterday and now feel like playing the PS2 Silent Hill games again...

Keeping this short cos busy these few days.

great time at changi point boardwalk on sunday. picked cherries looked at sails and crabs and got plenty of kisses from mozzies, legs now badly disfigured. I have the pix ready, send pm if u wana see them.

Serenade,
Pl send me ur blog addy. What's the magic tree?

K's mom
i just got a bookshelf, now have more space for more books, can;t wait to check out Magic schooolbus. glad bryan likes richard scarry's.

Mommies
do u have any non-fiction books, or encyclopedias to suggest? dunno if those expensive ones are worth investing in.

Hey AMum!!
Are u still holidaying??

Hi Lena,
Can I see the pics, please? Didn't know there's berries in Singapore. It must have been a fun day!

Am also looking for bookshelf. Can share more on the bookshelf that you got?

Oops, sorry, I mean The Magic Tree House. On books, have you tried The Let's Read and Find Out About Series. It's pretty interesting. For encyclopedia, Brandon is using Childcraft http://www.worldbookonline.com/sales/in/products?id=20156. Cost around S$800 for the entire set. Are you still interested in the Math Start series? Sept21 is offering a good price on that.

Will send you an invitation to my humble blog when I'm done with migrating.