(2003) Calling all 2003 babies

Hi Lena,
Aston cannot chose between Melody or Hannah and he just told me he like both them..ha ha..ask him chose one, he says cannot must love two...so funny..

Hi Serenade,
Thanks for CC titles. I am a book craze. I just love to buy books. I have not order from wonderbox and will do so one fine day. However now, I have another source. My sil works in a bookstore (called Pageone) and heard that she has staff discounts and I will wait til she is officially working in Vivo city before requesting her to help buy some CC titles.

Hi Serenade,

Just to share.. Yes, my son's school gives a report at the end of each term. We also have a meet the Parents session too and they will also return all the term's work. Hope this helps.

Which school is your kid attending?

how do u get ur dd/ds to have their hair cut...WS's haircut is quite bad cos she just refuse to do it in any kids salon...

Hi mommies. We bought the bikes yesterday while still figuring out where to park them. Probably have to be outside our flat and risk the thiefs. If any mums want to go cycling together in future, please drop me a note. I'm no expert but just want to have some basic fun

Thanks for the suggestions on hardcover books, books with flaps etc. Unfortunately, my kids are capable of destroying all types esp the flaps. My hubby has become an expert in repairing books! I feel like attending some reading workshop to see if there are other methods for unusual kids like mine. I know there is one by NLB soon. Anyone keen to join? I'll try some of the titles that worked on Cheryl in the meantime.

The kids here sound amazing and really funny I can't wait to meet them! Regarding funny conversations like Bryan's, kristin's mom, you may want to jot down these in a little book to show him one day

JK has been attending childcare for nearly a year but he seems to have picked up very little other than songs which he will hum out of nowhere. At the last parent-teacher review, we were shown a lot of work he has done in sch but he does not seem to have absorbed much from those. Plus I've been a lazy and impatient mum so he has also not learnt much from me. But since my hubby keeps saying to just let him be, I decided to relax till he's older.

Look forward to the next outing with you girls!

hi serenade, sad to say the 3yr little girl lost her toe.

hi sarah, love to join in for D n Daiso. Let me know of the time. It will be wonderful time without kid. hee...

Hi MH,

Ds cried like pig slaughtering in kids salon and adult salon whenever he has a haircut..after effects is nightmares and end up crying at night. Last resort, i bring him to my hairstylist who makes him so comfortable that we stick to him. costly for a kid cut at S$25 which last around 2mths.

mommies, like to chk if u hv started coloring with 3yr toddler? mine first attempt was real bad. he cried and has so many delay tatics.

Hi MH,

Aston also cried very loudly when he was 1yo plus have his haircut. I think it's ticklish so he feels irriated by it and he struggle. Mummy has to carry him in order to have the haircut. We trust the hairstylist cos she can hanlde kids. Still we bring him to the same hair salon (same hairstlylist used by daddy)til now. I rem that we give him sweets, read stories to him and play counting games during those difficul times. Gradually, he kind of know how is haircut like and I give him abt 1 week notice abt haircut and it's like going jalan jalan and his fear is reduced. Now, he is coping very very well. Usually he and daddy will have haircut together and he feel the fun.

It's still me, LENA! haha

i've changed it for fun and privacy. Thanks,AMum

I am Mel's hairstylist, and will be so until she knows how to go to the salon herself. sorry, MH, can;t help much.

Welcome, moshimoshi! :p

Hi Minnie, ky,
Thanks for the info. It's interesting to have a report on our kids are performing. Just curious, how's the reporting like? Do they just report on the academic progress? How many kids are there in the class? Just wondering how detailed the report can be.

Minnie, Brandon is not attending school yet. He's only attending one next year. Do you stay in the West? Any good preschool recommendation in the West?

Hi MH,
I used to cut Brandon's hair myself when he was young. So far, he had 3 haircuts at the hair salon and no problem with them. Always tell him that he will look handsome after the haircut and he will gladly go for it.

Hi aileen,
Some kids like coloring but some kids just dilike it. Brandon used to hate coloring too but now he doesn't mind doing it. Just be patient. Does your ds have any sibling? Brandon started to show interest in coloring after I let Cheryl scribble on a coloring book

ky,
Keep your blog up! I started one on my kids few months ago but laziness got the better of me. It's been two months since my last update.

Leaving the teaching to school & teachers will definitely give me less frustrations. But like you, can't drop everything too...

What's CATS?

Hi Meilan,
You mean that there's a book repairing course? Interesting. You are right abt the flaps. Some flaps are actually beyond repair. But it just holds her interest. Sometimes, she'll "read" herself while pulling the flaps. If you don't mind your gal learning "No", you can also try "Is an egg a square" series by DK and "No David!" by David Shannon. Whenever we read those books, Cheryl's NO will certainly make us laugh...

aileen: dd's childcare has started her colouring since Jan...she's now slightly better but she still colour out of the line...and use a lot of colours on the same area...can buy those cheap colouring book which cost abt $1. I got a Mickey Mouse and Barney book for WS.

would prefer Lunch/tea and Daiso if the rest of the mums are free..>I am on leave on 05/12..

Serenade: tell my gal she will be more pretty, she also dun want.

re:haircut...
she used to be ok at Fantastic Sam when I have not birthed her sister yet and I was carrying her...sigh...and her school concert is on 25 Nov.

moshimoshi,amum,
tried to email you the pics but files too big. will try again later in separate emails. hopefully, it goes thr.

mh,
you receive the photos? can't help you too. hannah has been cooperative in the salon. perhaps you can try having haircut together?

aileen,
wow! your kid's haircut sure is very expensive. i once brought hannah to the kids salon and it costs me $16 for a trim. these days, i just pop into any neighbourhood salon which is half the price, and looks equally good.

serenade,
i think most schools give progress report. details wise, depends alot on teacher/sch. hannah's previous sch (also kinderland) has a 'report book' which indicates the skills a kid should develop at the age, and a file which contains her artwork during the term. to me, this report was passable...i wasn't into details then as main reason for school was to socialise.

anyway, the current school was better. the teacher includes the theme for the term, songs, rhymes etc taught, in the communication book. i like it coz we can sing the songs together at home. once, hannah got angry with me when i could not sing the song her teacher taught (that was in previous kinderland).

Hi MH!

Bryan and Kristin both have problems getting their hair cut too.

Think they were afraid of all these "black things" (hair) falling all over them at first.

Now Bryan has progressed pretty well... He'll do it in a salon or daddy will do it for him. But we need to talk him into it. E.g. Daddy will promise to style his hair. And then Bryan will be very pleased after the haircut and goes around telling people not to mess up his hair.

Hi Meilan!

Here are some of the funny conversations we had with Bryan about 6 months ago:

1)small talk in the bathroom

Dad: What do you want to be when you grow up? (Guess all "big" people like to ask "small" people this question.)
Son: Errr... I want to be a bus driver! (Dad was disappointed, nothing close to a doctor!)
Son: I want to be an airport bus driver!
Dad: You want to be a bus driver who drives in the airport. (Daddy was trying to be as encouraging as he could.)
Son: Yes, and the bus is blue (in) colour!
Dad: Aha, you want to be a blue bus driver!

So there you have it, meet Bryan - the future blue bus driver!
Bryan is a 32+ months pre-schooler who thinks he wants to be a yellow bus driver the next day....

2) Cow-Man
When we brought him to an open-air concert in summer, he pointed to a man and went, "Look, Dad! It's a cow-man!" Hmmm, Daddy thought for a while, and then he laughed. Bryan was transferring the term cowboy to cowman for older man.

Yeah, thanks for the idea of jotting down these funny conversations. I'll do that!

Hi girls!

Yeah, Bryan is the Big brother of Ryan. Like that!

But will have to withold that info for my son coz I don't really wanna fire more verbal arguments between the two, funny conversations aside.

My husband and I are thinking of setting up play dates with Ryan, and maybe get them to team up to play some games. Hope to cut down a little on the competitive spirit. It's a tad too much. We are worried that we've turned him into a competitive monster.

Hi Serenade,

I use yahoo photos to upload the photos.
It works in this way :
Click on create new ablum.
You will need to have photos saved in a folder where you can retrieve.
You have to chose share publicly.

Hi Serenade!

Brandon... wow! That was awesome! Take away F and then that's lunch! You have taught him well, my friend! It's a good thing he's not going to school anymore.

Isn't it exciting now that you can play word games with him?

Bryan's teacher just did a very detailed evaluation with us. She had forms to show us what Bryan could/couldn't do. All these were divided into language/logic/maths skills (phonics, counting, shapes, colours - which by the way, we didn't know he's picked up some names of colours in German too. That's a bonus for us, I guess) , social skills, gross-motor skills (skipping, bouncing balls, standing on one leg etc) and fine-motor skills (using of scissors, colouring etc), self-help skills (e.g. Bryan can put on his socks and shoes but is often lazy to do it himself/ so is feeding etc). Really appreciate what the teacher did. Imagine she took an hour to go through the results with each set of parents, how much more time she would have invested running the assessments on the kids?

After the hour of evaluation, we were told that we could push Bryan a bit harder, e.g. be very serious about all polygons, haha! Hmm, have we been too laid back? Imagine that: we're out of SG to get out of the competitive stress and now we're told to be kiasu! Haha! But we were very happy that he's all rounded in most areas and we just want him to have a happy childhood and fun learning journey.

Yeah, think evaluation report is going to be a major consideration I'll have when we're back and are looking for a preschool for Kristin. Bryan might have finished his preschool then.

Hi Serenade,

His teachers will have a chat w us abt his progress and behaviour in school. They will ask if we have any concerns to address and vice-versa. In addition, they will return his term's work/projects. His class has 15 students to 3 teachers.

Me stay in the East.
In the West, I know St James kindy and Maris Stella kindy is good. But that is around Holland area....

Serenade,
Brandon looks tall, and Cheryl big. 18mths? I presume they look like daddy & mommy respectively.

Is it some museum you visited? Looks very interesting.

Btw, that's a huge pumpkin.

Hi Minnie,
Your ds class ratio is very good. Is it a childcare or 3 hourly class?

I heard about Maris Stella too. Will try to find out more on it. Thanks.

Looks like most mummies are staying in the East?

Hi Lena,
I'm bookmarking the website for future reference. Think it will be very handy...

Hi kristins_mom,
Bryan is definitely endowed with the gift of gab. I bet there's never a dull moment when he's around.

That's really a comprehensive evaluation from Bryan's teacher. Unfortunately, Brandon's school doesn't provide such evaluation. Just got some feedback from his teacher thru the interpreter. Apparently, Brandon is doing well in school. According to the teacher, she finds that he enjoys the class a lot. And they did keep an eye on him after I wrote in. She admitted indirectly that there was some pushings (apparently, the school condone pushings), but Brandon was able to defend himself (by pushing back). She feels that it will be beneficial for Brandon to attend school. Frankly, I'm tempted to let him continue. But there are other considerations too. We are worried that the pushings might lead to accidents. Secondly, the weather is turning real cold now. My husband has to scrape ice off his car every morning. So, we are afraid the kids' health (esp Cheryl) may suffer as a result of the chilly morning walks. We have the "sleeping bags", snow suit etc, but the pavement isn't really conducive for the stroller/pram. So far, I have been using a simple lightweight stroller to bring Cheryl along. Haiz, if only I can drive...

About the daylight savings, it has no effect on my kids. Our daily activities continue as per normal. Is the sun brightr than usual these few days over there? I have to lower the blinds and switch on the lights cos it's too bright.

Hi Sarah,
Cheryl is turning 17 months old today. Not sure if she's considered big, but definitely nowhere near 17 mths old Brandon. Hannah looks pretty chubby too, hehe... Yup, they took after us in terms of looks. Guess we didn't pick up the wrong babies. Btw, Hannah is also a May baby, right? Where was she delivered? Mine was in KKH.

It's something like the Science Discovery Centre. A lot of Imax stuff. Unfortunately, Brandon was frightened by most cos they were so real. Once when we were watching a segment shot from the cliff, he kept screaming,"We are falling! We are falling!" We are thinking of revisiting the place when he's older. Surprisingly, Cheryl was fine with it.

Inspired by ky's craft, we did the Jack O'Lantern. Boy, it was really tough to cut open the pumpkin.

Serenade,
I think it's a pity to pull Brandon out from school. Seems like he has learnt from school how to protect himself which is good, and having fun same time. Rough play is unavoidable among kids especially ang moh kids...do you agree? They tend to be rougher, daring...Perhaps he can learn from there to 'solve' children's problems, fights?

Will more layers of clothes help? Yeah, I guess the kids tend to fall sick when the weather change. Dilemma isn't it?

Hey, seems like sister is braver...Bet Hannah will frightened by the displays too.

Haha...you should see Hannah's younger photos...more chubby then. I was concerned when she loses the fleshiness...have to remind myself she's growing taller etc. These days, I gave her cod liver oil to start the day. Learnt it from one school I visited.

Yep, she is a May baby, in Gleneagles.

Hi Sarah,
Yes, it's indeed a relief to know that Brandon has no problems with social interaction and is able to fend for himself. Rough play is fine among children of the same age. But those kids he's dealing with are two years older than him. Not only that, we think he has developed a "phobia" for big kids. Last Friday, we told him that school would be starting on Monday. Guess what happened? While we were out during the weekends, he screamed and shouted at those bigger kids who came near him to keep away. That's what prompts us made the decision. Before he started school, he loved playing with bigger kids whom he didn't know. It's rather sad to see how rude he has become.

Don't we just love those chubby cheeks? Brandon has lost a fair bit of his chubbiness too. Haiz, on one hand, I was worried abt him being fat. On the other hand, I feel the pinch when he's no longer that chubby. Does cod liver oil help? I'm giving the two kids the scotts emulsion with orange. Can the kids have it everyday?

Hi Sarah,

Aston was also chubby when he was younger. So cute and I rem that til now I still pinch his cheeks and last nite he complained to daddy that why mummy always pinch me...ha ha...
I love to kiss him also !!!!

Hi Sarah and Serenade,
Abt Cod liver oil, I also give Aston every day either morning or night. Yap, I give him orange flavor cos scared if he dislikes the original taste then it will be wasted cos nobody dares to take the original taste.

hi serenade ... thot I can see a mother face somewhere .... only saw a back and a half-back. perhaps we need to move to a secured yahoo group so that we can share more
. I've not shared my blog URL u realized coz this is an open forum.

Anyway, your kids look so japanese... cheeks are so red and chubby. which part of the west are u looking at for kindergarden? Any budget? CreativeO is very good but queue is a year long .... there's st joseph along upper bukit timah that's quite good if you are into church kinddies

Good try on the pumpkin ... I don't think I'll carve a pumpkin ... it looks so thick. here's one which Ben's teacher did

570078.jpg

AMum,
We've been told never to pinch baby's cheek coz they'll grow up doing it to others ... so we always 'stare' at friends who do it to Ben.

anyway, here's my first scrapbook attempt. I think I can do better but like to keep it simple ...
570079.jpg

Hi ky,
Haha, that's a french girl playing with Cheryl...

Actually was thinking abt setting a blog for our 2003 kids. In that way, we can share more abt our kids, for instance, their funny questions or responses, quotes of the day, funny antics etc...

Well, I have strangers mistaking us for japanese, korean, taiwanese and chinese. Guess their fair skins and rosy cheeks give that impression.

Hi ky,

That pumpkin looks great. Actually the carving part is ok. But I tried cutting the top so as to let Brandon "play" with the "interior". We had some fun trying to count the seeds. Too bad we are leaving next year, otherwise Brandon may get to see how the pumpkin grows.

That's fabulous attempt! Did Ben help you with it? Hmm, so does Ben take after you or his dad in terms of look?

So I am not the only one uncomfortable with people "pinching" baby's cheeks.

Hi all mommies,

sori sori.... i MIA for almost more than a week and I missed the Sun outing.

AMum, Lena, MH, Sarah, ky, Aileen,
Pls accept my sincere apologies for not informing you guys earlier that i could not mk it. As not only Shawn & mei mei were not well, mummy oso fell sick for the entire week. Sigh, virus is in the air......

you guys are reali active, took me quite a while to catch up all these mails and even the archive ones !!

yeh, Dec D & D for mummies without kids is a brilliant idea !! pls let me know when.

Serenade & Kristine Mum, you 2 coming back to singapore this Dec ?? Hope to mit up with you gals.

office oso bzz lke hell! looks like nowadays i will be a more like a silent reader of this thread. : )

Hi Blurpooh

Good to hear from u again, pl stay in touch even if it's silent reading ;) and have more of ur mommy's aloe vera dessert for good health ;)
You're right, this thread is moving real fast, even a regular like me have to play catch-up!

Serenade
Yep, ur kids sure look like japanese/koreans, hey, was expecting to see u, where are u har? the one back facing the camera??? Maybe u can send me an email, confidentiality assured ;)
Do all schools group the kids the same way i.e. small with big? Any other options in the vicinity? If u discontinue for winter, can u restart in the same school next yr?

Mommies
Abt cod liver oil, how true that it helps in boosting the immunity system? feel like trying the orange one, besides Scotts, any other gd brands? How much is a bottle of Scotts?

Something for the coming sch hols, pottery class for toddlers:
www.claycove.com

Hi ky!

You blog too?

I used to do some just to update family and friends back home. But couldn't keep up with it.

Maybe we can pm each other and exchange blog address.
Yeah not comfortable to share the address on an open forum.

Ben's school looks really fun. Are the fees high? How much do you have to pay to have him there every day?

Serenade,

yeah, blogging together is a good idea. that way we can also keep in touch. Anyone else interested? Let's pm each other on that.

Moshimoshi! Hi!

Thread is moving so fast... *pant *pant cannot catch up already!!!

I give my children Scott's Cod liver oil too. The orange flavour one
Think we were all once victims to the horrible original taste, haha!

I always get visitors to buy our rations from SG. Gripe water is another thing on my list.

It's good. It does boost the immunity and the children seldom fall sick.

I think once a day should be enough for Mel now.

Hi ky!

Your scrapbook makes me want to do scrapbooking too. Very impressive! But I know I can't sustain a project like this... will get lazy very quickly.

O, i realised Ben's teacher used various shapes for the eyes/nose. She did a great job carving a Jack O'Lantern. I also left the carving to the school... really thick the pumpkin!

Mommies
Do ur kids do letter tracing a lot? Mel hates it. I think i read that Montessori discourages it and homeschooling mommies call schools who does lotsa worksheets/letter tracing 'sink holes'???? But many schools are still doing letter tracing! Will kids know how to write if they don;t trace???????

Oh yes, gripe water...I gave it to Hannah every now & then. She's taking the orange flavour, I have never take a single drop of cod liver oil. The thot of it just 'yucks' me.

Abt blogging, think Amum has one too.

Serenade,
Agree with you...it's sad that Brandon has a phobia for big kids...Pulling him out from sch maybe one option...then again, such things happen in Sg too. My niece was bullied by older girls when she was in P1. Good thing she's fierce...she sprayed water at them. What happened in the end, I could not remember.

Ky,
Nice work! Email me your blog address.

Pooh,
Hope you feel better. Me having migraine attack , feels better after nap, woke up and back to square one. Sigh...getting old la

Moshimoshi,
I bought a small bottle to try out...can't remember how much it costs. Maybe $5+ for a big bottle. And yes, once a day. Hannah takes it in the morning.

Hi Serenade!

Your children look so cute, definitely Japanese! ;) I like the giraffe a lot. Did the children love it? Hmmm, mommy is always behind the camera, isn't it? But with the dark circles and those stubborn post pregnancy weight... sigh, I still prefer to be the camera-man.

Hmmm, yeah, sitting on a stroller can get really chilly. We walk, but Cheryl just sits in the cold wind. I've seen people lining their prams/srtollers with lamb skin/wool. Will that help a little, and with a thick layer of blanket on top? Also, there are outdoor pants... outer layer is Teflon and inner layer is fleece. Really keeps warm. I was crazy giving Bryan normal jeans last year until my husband finally invested in a 25 euros pair, and it was at a discounted price! WE just couldn't find cheaper ones, but this year I've got lots from H&M, Woolworth at 10 Euros each. Or give her a layer of tights under her jeans.

It's cold now, isn't it? Lowest at 2 and if the sun is out, it'll be 10. So the Sun is on your side all this while! I was wondering where he's been hiding! It's grey here. Sigh!

The German kindergartens are also renowned for all the pushing/snatching/hitting/bullying/swearing etc. Think the ang-mohs are alike. Brandon is smart, he learns self-defence too. I think that's instinct. He'll still learn more from you at home, although you wanted him there for the social interaction. Are there playgroups in your area you can explore?

Otherwise, actually it's quite good to keep him with you since you'll be back in SG in about half a year's time. By then Brandon will be in a kindergarten. It's not too late either for the social interaction. You can also seize the opportunity to do enjoy the last winter/spring months in France with him and Cheryl.

Bryan's school first suspended his classmate. This boy was biting and hitting other students. And finally, when it didn't work out after all the talks with the parents and suspension, the kid was asked to leave and return when he's more ready for school. It was difficult for all parties too, esp when the kid couldn't communicate in English.

Hi Amum!

You blog too???

Let's share... pm me.

But bear with me... coz my last update was in May, haha! Anyway, you know of the recent happenings on this forum.

hi, I got a livejournal too...seldom updat e now but most of it is locked, let me know if anyone wish to see mine...

moshi:my gal ok with tracing, do some everyday...since she is slow in speech, we hope to see whether she's ok with writing...

hi mommies , wow it been a long time since i write however occassionally i still read the forum. i was been so busy and tired with work and today i declare MC to rest at home, having back aches................
serenade.........your children are so handsome and pretty...... you mean you are not a chinese...........
i recently bought a VCD on curious george and older son jayden must at least watch it for half an hour each day before he willingly going to bed......serenade the above titles of curious geoge are they animation or cartoons or puppet show.........

any recommendation to Chinese / English phonics enrichment classes? I am putting up at hougang area. I saw one at Sengkang CC, Beijing xxx. cant remember that. Has any mommies sent their dd/ds there?

Hi all mommies,

abt the cod liver oil, Shawn has no problem taking the original, my MIL gave it to him for a while then now stop oredi. don't know why thanks for highlighting and i shall start him again.

Any mommies knows whether we can give the cod liver oil to 18 months old ? : ) my girl is feather weight and hope this will increase her appetite and put on some weight.

Hi moshimoshi,

no wory abt letter tracing, Shawn doesn't quite like as well but he can write now the alpha A - Z and all numbers.

Mommies, care to share how to "teach" your kids to do colouring ? Shawn can't draw and colour very well. He tends to draw straight lines back & forth instead of colouring. : ( sigh....

Hi emily, where to get the curious george's vcd ? heard so much of thie CG but hv not seen one ? the book can get from popular ??

Me too just like emily.. became an silent reader..cos rather busy in work. and back home already dead tired... haha.

Emily, my son was addicted to Leapfrog DVD instead..He every night must see few times before he sleep.. faintz..

Moshimoshi, ya.. dont worry abt letter tracing.. my son too..did not go thru that.. am holding his hand to write.. so he can write very well now.

Aileen, think AMum ever mentioned one in the east. http://www.icanreadsystem.com

KY, did u join the previous BP on 1000pcs A5 picture cards? there's a 2nd part now.. check it out.

Botanic Garden Outing.
Wow.. thanks for sharing the photos.. Couldn't join cos too many activities these few mths... mainly from wedding dinner, baby shower, house warming, birthdays parties etc.. A big hole in pocket liao.. cos every week also got either of the function.. and worst already 2 weeks crash.. wtih 2 functions together.

Me too no blog to share.. but am interested to read others when free.. Can PM me too?

Take Care mummies

Blurpooh
CG is avail at Kinokuniya, n maybe Times n Borders, i have many, real cool books! But don;t think i will start the VCD thing, Mel is already a TV addict. Now, she's banned from night TV, only 2 hours in the day, max!

Hi worry mum
haven;t heard fr u for a while, join us for dinner n daiso if u can ;)