(2003) Calling all 2003 babies

Those who have watched Chipmunks, is it worth it to watch it in theatre? Or should I just wait for the VCD to be out? Was in Westmall with my boys today and so tempted to just buy tickets and storm in but shows are getting real costly especially after getting to know the cheap tickets from Moshi..

Joanne, why not watch it on Tuesday like what moshi did? Save a bundle! Hey maybe we should watch it together since I have to clear 1 leave because of Hari Raya by 13th Jan deadline!

Sher, here's my logcake. Will be contributing this for a party tonight. Won't be telling them I made this incase not nice!! Haa...
1156398.jpg

I use 1 bottle of nutella to mix with the whipped cream. The cake smell of nutella hazenut spread!! I sandwiched my swiss roll with whipped cream and plum inside. I can't slice the cake, if not I will show you how it look inside.

Wa so pretty. So pro. Looks big, how much ingredient did u use ? I only hv 8 by 8 inch cake pan, and with a small oven how to bake big roll. Are those snow on top whipped cream? Make for nex yr christmas party ? :)

Alternatives to 'No'!
What to do:
Rephrase. Put a positive spin on your request, and your kindergartner — who really does want to please you — is more likely to respond in kind. Instead of saying no, clearly state what he can do instead. Rather than barking, "No! Don't throw the ball in the living room," for instance, try "Let's go outside to play ball." If he's in the middle of an art project and is getting glue all over the floor, ask him to put newspaper down under his work. This gives him something to do rather than something to stop doing.

Offer options — and explanations. Anyone — but especially a kindergartner desperately seeking independence and self-control — would rather be given a choice than an order. So instead of issuing a flat-out denial when he begs for a piece of candy before lunch, have him choose between grapes and an apple. Or let him pick which kind of candy he'd like to eat — after lunch. Though he may not be thrilled with the choices you offer him, your kindergartner will eventually learn to accept them. He's old enough now to understand explanations, too, so tell him why it's important that he eat nourishing food before empty calories.

Drive him to distraction.
You can't really pull a fast one on a 5-year-old, but you can often strike a compromise with him. If he sees a huge construction site that he wants to investigate, for instance, don't say "no." Instead, point him toward the cranes and bulldozers down the block, which you can safely view from the park across the street.

Avoid the issue.
Whenever you can, keep your kindergartner out of situations where you'll have to say no. Continue to keep dangerous and valuable items at home out of his reach, and don't put him in situations that are consistently too trying for him. If he always struggles with visiting playmates over his dinosaur collection, for instance, help him put it away before they arrive. And don't take him to Great-Grandma Jenny's antique-filled home if he has to sit on his hands the whole time he's there. You can't isolate your child from all situations where you'll have to say no, of course, but life will be easier for both of you — and you'll be able to say "yes" more often — if you limit them.

Ignore minor infractions. Chances are, your kindergartner is easier to discipline now than he was a year ago, but you'll still have plenty of opportunities to tell him no. Don't take them all. If he wants a cheese sandwich instead of a cheese omelet for breakfast, why not? If he insists on wearing purple socks with red shorts, what's the harm? Remember this parenting mantra: Choose your battles. If he's safe and you don't have to say no, let it slide.

Say it like you mean it. Of course, when his behavior does matter, and alternatives to no just won't cut it, don't waffle. Say it firmly (but calmly), with conviction — "No. You may not cross a busy street by yourself." An amused "No, no, sweetie" sends your kindergartner mixed messages and certainly won't discourage him. When he responds, give him a smile or a hug and follow up with something affirmative — "Thanks. You're very good at listening!"

I learnt a tip or two from this, hope u did too;)

wow serena, makes my mouth water esp the nutella since I'm a chocoholic! For a xmas eve gathering, I've ordered a gingerbread house as we think that the kids don't really eat logcake since there's too much cream. But with ONE bottle of nutella...be gone in a flash!

Merry xmas to all mummies and kids!

Hi sherlyn / Joanne, think your gal should be able to sit through chipmunks as it's entertaining enough and not too long. Joanne, your boy is so cute?! Did you watch movies when you are pregnant with him so it reminds him of sleeping in mummy's womb.

Jan

I don't have a chance to catch a movie during pregnancy. Sitting thru show is painful for my back. I'll rather watch VCD at home. Some of the nights, they'll take turn to sleep on my body instead of soft comforting bed.. Very funny right?? They felt safe and secure perhaps but poor mummy will have to stay still for almost half an hour.

Merry Merry Christmas to all too

Serena

WOW! Impressive.. I don't usually like cake but I loooooove log cake.. don't know why.. maybe you won't get to eat it all yr round, only when christmas is approaching. I had one from one of the hotels yrs back and the creamy, chocolate taste is still lingering in my mind... Mind if you DHL one to me??
(joking lah)

Hi Serena!

Wow... beautiful cake...

hee.. no time for baking now. YOu gotta DHL cake over! Just kidding.

Thanks for sharing on the biometric passport issue. Ours were all issued before Oct 2005, while my dh is holding a brandnew biometric passport, applied just last week and couriered over this week. So let's see who gets into the US this time ;)

Anyway, we've got the number of the First Secretary of the Singapore Embassy with us... so we'll see how long it takes for us to clear immigration this time.

STill no time to update you guys on our little hiccup at the Czech immigration two weeks ago.

Chat another time...

K's mom,
Enjoy ur holiday.

Serena,
WOWOWOW... agreed with the rest! DHL over ya.. hahaha

Joanne,
hi5! My B too.. will chose my tummy instead of the bed. whahaha..

Mummies..
MERRY CHRISTMAS.. TO ALL..

Dear mummies and kiddos,

I will be gog msia tmr till wednesday, so Merry Christmas and Happy 2008 (just incase i get stuck inside if there is serious flood).

bye for now.

Jan,

Yuxin sat thru the movie "the wild" shown in starhub disney channel y'day .. maybe its all animals that she is familar with .. so chipmunks .. not too sure since the show is not just cartoon chipmunks. But let them watch the trailer and clips from internet and they do giggle and say they wanted to watch hahahahaha .. we'll see.

Thanks everyone for the compliments on my cake. Unfortunately, I didn't get to taste it because the host decided to keep it for herself. I thought she will serve it on that day despite our many hints!! I must say I felt the pressure because the host is such a good cook!! We had a good time, she had a beautiful christmas tree this year.

jan, gingerbread house!! Now that will be my project next year. I will bake one next christmas!

Hi Serena, how come like that?? No hinting required, just order host when it's logcake time!

Everyone was bowled over but when it comes to eating, it was tearing the "house" down with kids picking the candies and chocs on the roof. The adults were busy breaking the gingerbread pieces and trying to feed the kids. Of course, the sugar fix was more attractive and now we know why they were so hyper and could last till midnite. I prefer the logcake we had last year from Awfully chocolate...yummy! Hubby wanted to rest at home on xmas day and so occupied kids with painting woodcraft, opening more presents and going to the pool. Enjoyable but tired and really had to drag myself to work today. Was off for past 2 weeks so suffering from hangover! Help!

Everyone is still in holiday mood ?

Just wanna ask you guys, what is the brand of toothpaste your children are using. I hv been using Darlie, but it always attracts lots of ants (ya in the toilet too) so wondering if other brand of toothpaste is not as sweet? There is Kodomo brand but it seems to hv a gel toothpaste and another packaging that doesnt says gel toothpaste, so wondering what is the difference.

Any comments ?

Sherlyn,
Am using Darlie... so far ok leh, no ants..

Hello MUMMIES....
WISHING YOU AND FAMILY

HAPPY NEW YEAR

MAY this coming year bring us
good health, good wealth, and
all the best to whatever u do..

Hi Sherlyn,
Using Darlie and Colgate, no problem too. According to Moshi, its ants season, and the ants are 'invading' M's toothpaste too...Personal opinion, Kodomo is yucky, like you said, gel like. HTH.

Thanks Sarah and Worry mum. I shall stick to Darlie.

A very Happy 2008 to all of you too. School is reopening soon. Yuxin will be in morning and Jing An will be in afternoon ... and from 1 to 5pm somemore .. i am planning some personal shopping on some afternoons hehehe. However, still abit sad that both kids gog to school .. like see them less *sigh* what happen when they go primary, secondary and further .. but I guess it is better for me to experience the separation anxiety then for the kids to hv it ...

Happy New year to everyone! So quiet, I guess everyone's out enjoying the last bit of the holidays? Anyone has any reflection or resolution to share?

Moshi, I finally went to the Changi Boardwalk, but I don't see any cherry trees ... are they cherry trees or shrubs? are the pictures them?
1172940.jpg

.ky.

Hi Sher
Ants going for darlie? this sounds too familar, haha. it's not the toothpaste la, it's still the ants season! (i've learnt to live with them in harmony if they promise not to bite)

u must be excited that yun xin's schooling too, with the new schedule, u have more time for yourself, enjoy!

hi ky
like the place? haven't been there for a while. the cherry trees we saw are the ones along the first boardwalk, somewhere midway. they bear mostly green cherries, so u have to look v hard. my friend's son just pop them into the mouth unwashed;)
the next time u go there, try the restaurant, the palms, at changi beach club, read that they serve v good black pepper crab;)

still on crabs and seafood, long beach at dempsey hill's pretty cool. dine alfresco at night, there's also a big area next to the restaurant that's good for the kids to expend their energy. just next to it is a boutique which sells branded wear at marked down prices.

still on food, pasta de waraku @ Square2 serves mediocre pasta but the service is commendable. my mom complained that her pasta was too salty, they gladly replaced it. another manager came by to check on us again, told her my beef was not well cooked, she went into the kitchen and whipped out ice cream desserts for us. mel went home with a jig saw puzzle and packets of crackers.
waraku never fails when it comes to service!

Moshi, try adult stocking. Just cut off the top part that covers the adult's thigh area. After that you can trim further down by measuring her legs. I once let Bel wear it and it fit her like a glove doesn't slip down at all. Not very expensive too!! Concealed the the part where you cut by sewing it. I didn't bother to conceal mine because her dress was long enough to cover it.

hi moshi ... thx for the info... midway meaning I've to walk to the sailing club? We started on the other end, at the govt chalets, and went past the kelong walk and cliff walk ... prefer that end. didn't really walk, just stood at the jetty coz was too hot then. ok, will ask abt the restaurant next time. not into travelling all the way there for makan. was there in the morning.

nylon ... try masar malam?

.ky.

ya Moshi, live with ants .. must learn that cos in my mother in law's place, more of them (plus different kinds of other insects!)

food .. you are very resourceful in good dining places .. your dh must be very romantic

New year, new schedule .. will need to take some time to adjust. Now already missing my gal haha .. but really love the extra time I will hv (provided I still outsource my dinner cooking to my mother) .. but got tons of house cleaning to do before CNY leh ..

Happy New year to all!

Hi sherlyn, using pureen toothpaste as it's flouride free. Used colgate kids' before which is more for the fruity taste. I can imagine how much you will miss your kids. It was very rejuvenating for me to spend time with the kids during my yearend leave. Yep, separation anxiety applies for mummies as much as for the kids! Music lesson today - You got the keyboard?

serena, thanks for the idea, lemme experiment with it;)

how's Day 1 for the kids?

i think i like her Eng teacher better this year, seems the caring motherly sort. Chinese teacher is from china, cheerful lady.

helen, i presume chloe is still in the same sch?

hi mummies ... anyone has any good recommendations of Speech & Drama Class in the west ... don't intend to travel to town for any enrichment lessons

tx!

.ky.

Happy new yr to all..

Bryan and Benny are back in school! Sherlyn, I'm experiencing seperation anxiety from the kids too. Bryan love his 1st day of school life but I brought him back early since it's only day 1 for him in CC, wanted to put on his uniform when we're fetching Benny.

I'm doing spring cleaning and searching for job. Hopefully, I'll be able to get one and start after CNY. Good luck to all!!

hi moshi,
yeah c's still in the same school, i tried looking around a few schools but the morning session's full.

black stockings, hmmm haven't seen. i only bought white ones before.

Hi Jan,

Ya I finally got the keyboard. Its $350, model 313, the silver one , displayed in the centre at CL yamaha. Bought it from Ngee Ann Best outlet, cos this promo price comes with a stand.

So my kids now play with it all the time, play not practice .. *sigh*. I am even thinking of taking up piano lesson myself so that i can mimic the teacher and "replay" the lessons at home (actually i gian to learn lah).

Moshi, day 1 and 2 is alright for both my kids. My girl has seen all the teachers for a year since she has been following me to fetch the brother during his N2 days.

Today during that 1pm to 5pm "break" I even went library! (ya outsource my girl and the dinner cooking to my mother) :p

Jo, you are looking for job? How i wish i can earn some money while staying at home too.... *sigh* if only i can bake as well as the rest of the mummies here ..

and you are right, got to spend time doing spring cleaning .. but we are not suppose to celebrate CNY leh (hehehehe finding excuse not to do housework)

Zavier has been grouchy in the morning since sch resumed. Refused to brush teeth, superb long time to finish off his bread. He's been a handful at home only. But once he stepped into sch, he is fine.

Hi Sherlyn, ds will be attending his first keyboard lesson this sat @ United Sq. I hv tot and wanted to learn piano so that I can guide him during weekdays. Make sure he practises correctly and not hitting keys hard. Will checkout the slot tomor.

Hv a wonderful day ahead. Yipee.. TGIF!

Hi sherlyn, yeh why not if you have the interest. If I can afford the time, would love to learn too!

Your gal is such a good sport - I remember her star performance during the gathering! She will definitely adapt to school and enjoy herself.

hi moo
mel's like that too, taking her own sweet time with breakfast, the long break turned them into laidbackers, haha.

hi sher
1 to 5pm's a great time to do a lot of things. for one, the malls are open, you can high tea, venture into town, check out the new shops, do ur hair, catch up with friends, wow, the possibilities are endless.
my me-time is in the mornings, so i can only contend with breakfast n supermart shopping.

hi joanne
good luck with your job search, hurray to new found freedom;)

Hi Moo, I hv to be with my boy during his lessons so if I am to learn, i hv to find time.

Jan, afford the time must still be able to afford the money. I enquire from boy's teacher. Her solo lesson at her place in bukit batok cost $100 for a month of 4 30 minutes lessons. I told her it is not quite worth it for me to travel 30 minutes there just to learn 30 minutes, then she told me it is not easy to finish what she want to teach me during that 30 minutes. $25 for 30 minutes, must consider leh, since now no income.

Moshi, I must be bak by 5 to fetch boy .. then minus the travelling time, i guess not much time left. y'day went library, at 230 lah, cos some delay, but i have not even finish the recipes section and I hv to rush bak to fetch boy liao so feeling not enough time .. but if stay at home ... will feel that there is lots of time. However, it would not be the case when my mother doesnt help out.