(2003) Calling all 2003 babies

hi hi all,
i'm back to the forum, been busy with work.

hi serena,
yeah, facebook allows others to see all the stuffs on your wall.

hi moshi,
i'm going sentosa on 22 dec, sat.
no leave already otherwise can join you ladies on weekdays

hey my co declared off on 21 dec, fri. any programmes then?

hi serenade,
good try for B, i'm sure he will master 2 wheeler soon

Hi Serena,
Am still around.. silent reader.. hahha.. rather busy with work lately, Haiz!

Jan, Sherlyn,
Still unsure for 21 Dec, will see how it goes, u gals go ahead.. me will be last minute decision, due to work.

I made this tomato and ham quiche. I was surprise how easy it is to make this and it taste really good close to Delifrance version. The first time I make it, it was quite a long process. I decided to have another go and this time it only took me 30mins in all. I tweaked the recipe a little. I really encourage all to try this if you have a oven at home.

Here's my version of the quiche!!

Ingredients:
Shortcrust pastry
250g plain flour, add a pinch of salt
125g unsalted butter, diced it
1 egg mixed with 1 teaspoon of plain yogurt, beaten.

Filling
2 tomatoes
125g mozzarella cheese
6 pcs of pinic ham, from NTUC
1 small can of button mushrooms.
large handfuls of fresh basil
3 eggs
150g plain yogurt
salt and pepper to taste.

Method:
Make the shortcrust pastry first.
1. Rub butter into flour till crumbs like with finger tips.
2. Add the egg and yogurt mixture gradually to the crumb mixture. You may not need to use all. Work the mixture together till you have a smooth dough ball shape. Place it in plastic bag and refrigerate for 30mins.

In the meantime, prepare the filling.
1. soften tomatoes in boiling water for 2mins. Drain and make a cross near the stem. Remove & discard skin and seeds. Diced it.
2. open the can of button mushrooms. Drain and slice all the button mushrooms. Set aside.
3. Chopped up the pinic ham. Set aside.
4. Diced the mozzarella cheese. Set aside.
5. Mixed the 3 eggs with 150g yogurt. Beaten and add salt and pepper to taste. Set aside.
6. Wash and tear the fresh basil leaves.

Now take out the dough from the fridge,
1. roll out the dough into a circle. Place a aluminium foil bigger than your round tin into the baking tin. This is to ease removing the quiche from the baking tin later. Line the dough into the baking tin (just like baking a pie). Prick the base with a fork.
2. Arrange the tomatoes into the pastry shell. Next add button mushrooms followed by the chopped ham. Finally add the cheese. Sprinkle with basil leaves and pour over the egg and yogurt mixture.
3. Baked in a preheated oven to 190dC for 40mins.
4. I baked mine for extra 10mins because my oven is alittle off in temperature.

1113083.jpg

Worrymum
Yr end now. Students will be enjoying their holiday while working adults will need to rush work esp all the reports. Working OT on Sat? Odd timing for you to come online lei.

Serena
wow wow.. delicious quiche!!! I don't have an oven (but I'm determined to get one secretly.. hehe and make a silent swop between my microwave oven) One of these days, I'm going to try with my stainless steel pot. Hopefully it'll work..

Jan, Sherlyn
Can't confirm gathering too. Have been extremely busy with Benny recently. Getting a little way out in disciplinary. me a little worried with bringing him out esp when Didi finds his behaviour funny and starting to imitate him. Got to correct Benny and at the same time emphasis to didi that what gorgor did is wrong. Grrr.. hopefully by January, he'll be able to behave well when he's back in school.

Hi Serena,
It's such a nice surprise to see u in Forum/Noddy show yesterday. You still look nice..yeah ! My forte is I have good memory so I can recognise you without any problem.

Hi Apricot, yeah what a surprise! Look nice??!! Ha... you really got kind words for me. I thought I looked terrible!! Thanks for comforting me though...ha..
Your twins are so cutee.......they're gorgeous!

Hi Joanne,
Yalor, doing no-pay OT! haiz!

Hi, chloe2003,
what company u now working with? F&B? me also want to go there, so many yummy meals ... ahahha..

hey Joanne, at least you know how to suck blood :)

home survey, sounds good to earn some extra income ard the festive seasons haha .. but $50 for 50 minutes ? I want your $60 for 30 minutes leh hehehehe.

a pity I am all tied up in the day time. Do they do it after my kids sleep ? :)

Maybe next yr when I hv my kids separated by the different sessions of school then i get more free time :)

hi Chloe, ya ya got proposed program (by Jan), which is more convenient for the west mummies, ie to meet in IMM to let the kids enjoy the water playground .. but looking at the weather, I doubt so leh ..

Worrymum and Jan and Chloe,

Sorry ah, i forgot that my mother in law ask us to go back for Dong Zi (since dh is not working), which is on Sat 22nd Dec, which means my dh will hv to go bak msia on 21st Dec to avoid traffic jam on saturday, so I am not able to join the IMM gathering if it is 21st Dec. Jan, any other available dates ?

Thanks Serena for the delicious recipe. Not a lover for this kind of bakes, but will keep the recipe and do it when the mood comes hehehe. There is one ingredient that bothers me. The basil leaves. Never tried buying them fresh before.

anyway, your quiche looks real good. You are very pro in baking all kinds of stuff liao lor. You must quickly start a blog lah.

btw, you did your quiche in disposable alum "container" ?

regards IMM gathering, I don't think I'll be able to join in. The moment we were near IMM, Boys will be shouting "water playground" regardless of the weather so we've stopped shopping in IMM completely.

Sherlyn
the 30 mins survey that I've done was actually a 60mins. Initially, I was told to cook something with their soy sauce but when they came, they did not ask for it so it ended early. 50mins was estimated, chances are.. session might end early.
During the survey, I placed Benny and Bryan in front of the pc with Dora's pc game and immediately after the survey was done. I told them "time to let yr eyes rest!!"

sherlyn, considering they make home visit, it's quite good money. I was attending such surveys a few years ago, when money was good. Money range from $80 to $100 quite easily, and once hubby and I went to one and we pretended we didn't know each other. I started off quite chatty and realize for such surveys, the more u talk, the longer u hang ard coz they must ask all the questions and get their money worth, so eventually, we ended up not talking at lot, coz they don't pay u more for talking more. Ha, those were the days. Nowadays, u can't even get anything near that, and some really pay peanuts, and these places are usually downtown which means u'll spend a lot of time travelling to-and-fro just to spend 30 mins (eg) to get $50 (eg), it's not worth it. So, hey, can get home surveys not bad already ...

btw, a lot of milk powder always doing surveys, and they pay well, just that my kids on zero milk powder and I don't like to lie thru' my teeth ...

.ky.

Jo & Sherlyn, Basil leaves eh.. hmmm...small green leaves? Aren't all plants like that!! Ha... sorry don't how to describe. You can get it from big NTUC like the one in Bukit Timah Plaza or in Carrefour. Yes and I use alum container which I can throw after that.

Wa survey!! Never done one before. I used to think it's just some kind of gimmick. Didn't know they actually pay that well.

Hi Joanne!

Maybe you could check this up:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Basil

It's got a wonderful write up on basil.

Hard to describe the taste, but basil generally goes very well with tomato based dishes. Or in salads, add a little to give your greens a litte perk.

In Europe, people love to buy a pot and grow it in the kitchen. In that way, there'll be no lack of fresh basil leaves, guaranteed!

HI Serenade!

Yep, we're back from Prague. And next destination is NYC.
Don't think anyone is allowed up the Statue of Liberty these days. Or has that been changed again? The last I checked is a cruise that would take people closer to the green lady. And I'm not too sure it's a good idea since it's winter and weather is unpredictable.

FYI. I'm not sure of target group's age, please call to find out if you're interested.

3 Sure-Fire Ways to Raise a Successful Child by Marion Neubronner
Date: 15 and 16 Dec 07
Time: 2-3pm, 330-430pm
Venue: Timmy's Discovery Club / Impact Education Centre, Blk 437 Hougang Ave 8 B1-1521 Singapore 530437
Tel: 6387 5815
Cost: FREE! (normal: $35 per head)
Free Gift for 1st 10 child visitors each day.

Some insights on Marion:
Marion Neubronner, Principal of Timmy's Discovery Club and Impact Education Centre, has a Masters (Human Development & Psychology) from Harvard , NIE (Distinction) , and a Diploma in Counselling. She has worked with thousands of youths and her insights will change the way you see your child!

hi jan,
err...seems like no one else can make it for 21 Nov huh? aiyah, this is my only day off this year leah

oh btw, i'm off to hk for a short work trip next wk. c has been telling everyone she's going hk disneyland, altho i've repeatedly told her that i'm going there for work and she is not going with me. i'm so amused by her self denial.

hi kristin's mom,
how's your trip? i love Prague! always remembered the tower clock & charles bridge :p

yeah think cant go up statute of liberty anymore. keep your iterary, i'll get from you next year, or the the year after =)

Thanks Serena, received it;) it's such a sweet gesture;)

u saw that head turning dress? does it look as good as on print? Got a black bustier instead, with make up, i should turn heads too haha (truth is i haven't got a budget for the former)

u must be having fun baking now, care to bake a log and DHL to us?;) my aunt's baking a lot too, her specialty is the to-die-for melt in your mouth pineapple tarts. so ladies, if you don;t mind picking up those goodies from AMK, i am at your service to take orders ;)

Helen
Chloe's antics are so cute!

Joanne
that's good money for us SAHMs,but i am v wary of strangers having my contact details and hounding me later for something else ;)

Movies:
Chipmunks! i am catching it next week at cathay, moms n tots special. $13.80 for two to enter, a kid;s meal and a zoo pass (valid till mar'08)!

Hi k's mom,
Oops, didn't know that Statue of Liberty is out of bounds. But anyway, it'll be fun just walking the NY streets (though I'm not so sure how it would be with 2 kids in winter :p).

I'm really bad at growing herbs. Tried growing basil, sage, rosemary etc but no success. Wonder if it could be the hot weather in Singapore...

Hi Chloe,
Maybe Chloe is trying her luck? Maybe daddy will be giving mommy a surprise? *wink*

Hi Serenade!

Actually, herbs thrive in hot humid weather, just like the Italian weather. Ok, admittedly, Sg is a tad too hot. Try shady places, or maybe just morning sun only spots, and don't give too much water. Best test is to feel the soil and determine how much more water to give. Also, I think the often rain is not good for herbs. So avoid places that will be directly exposed to heavy downpour.

Rosemary and basil are quite easy to grow, esp rosemary. It's quite a hardy plant.

here's how a basil plant looks like

1122252.jpg

and here's how fresh basil looks like
1122253.jpg

got these from a fren blog and she's into cooking, and recently she started growing her onw herbs

.ky.

Hi sherlyn, only left 21 dec for me as their school is closed 2 days - that day and 19th. Got pass to go birdpark on 19th though subject to weather. It's ok, next time! So you bought the keyboard?

Hi chloe, I should still be going IMM since the kids haven't been to the wet playground.

Hi K's mom,

Looks like I'm really bad at growing herbs. Mint and rosemary seeds were the only ones that ever managed to germinate. But even then, they didn't thrive well. Hmm, maybe I should try again. Like you mentioned, I may have watered the seeds a little too much :p

Now that I've grown mint, I promise myself to never grow it again.

It grows like weeds and it started murdering/overcrowding my other plants. E.g. my sage got suffocated, my roses, and lavender too!
So if you wanna grow mint, make sure it has that only one pot space.

generally herbs are easy things to grow. but the climate in Sg might be tricky to handle.

try again. but really, rain kills herbs quickly, from experience.

Hi Jan,

I hv not buy it yet, but target to get it before the sales end ... but then again .. another mother in the same class told me she got the keyboard that came with a free stand .. so i m waiting for nex wed to ask her what model and where she bought it. The stand alone cost $40.

Thanks Sherlyn for the info, I finally found the garden plaza in IMM. Just to let you know better to go IMM on weekdays or in the morning on weekends. When I was about to leave IMM, it was around 2pm and the whole car park was swarming with cars! Luckily I was there early today. 2 car drivers were giving each other the evil stare as they were eyeing on my lot. One was a local woman driver and the other one was Johore-plate man driver. Both drivers were making rude gesture at each other while I was stucked unable to drive off because of them. Exasperated, I wanted to step out and intervene. At this moment, the Johore-plate driver drove and blocked the woman's car and I was home free meaning there was space for me to drive off. Sigh!! See what I mean when I say be there early on weekends?!!

Dun mention Serena. If must thank, then it will be my dh, cos me very direction blind.

It is absolutely very true to only visit IMM in weekend mornings and maybe also avoid the lunch hours on the weekday. The carpark is full till level 6 on the friday lunch hour when we wanted to eat lunch there too. I guess those working nearby go IMM for lunch since it is free parking.

Hi k's mom
prague and passports. u aroused my curiosity too! up on blog already?
read that snow in manhantan might reach 10cm high, u all prepared, gear, contingencies and all?

hi helen
enjoy sentosa!

moi catching chipmunks tomorrow, review akan datang. think the CD would be nice cheery music to ring in the new year

Hi moshi2!

Haven't had a chance to do any blog update. Just came back from the Swiss Alps, Davos last night. I'm exhausted, and my dh is truly an hero. 5 hours there on Sat and 5 hours back on Sun. And today he's gone work again... flying, driving... Poor him, must be completely exhausted too.

Davos was -17 deg C. Lowest I've experienced so far. My dh and I are all fine, but my parents and kids might not have enough winter gears for 10 cm of snow in NYC. Here in Frankfurt, still no sign of snow... just a sad 0 deg C by day.

Ok... will chat later.

Hey K's mom,
Come on and pass your travel bug to us! Don't forget your mommies friends in this part of the world.

Btw, not sure if you are aware. Some Singaporeans were rejected entry in the US due to non-biometric passports. I think you may require tourist visa if yours is non-biometric even though your stay may be less than 14days. You may want to check with your local US embassy. Hope this is not too late for you..you heading for NYC this weekend right?

Dont forget Times Square on 31Dec!! Forget about bringing kids there. Saw from Discovery Channel that its the top 5 happening party on new year's eve.

Have a safe trip, and enjoy yourself. Merry Xmas and Happy New Year to you & family!!

Chipmunks rock! Awesome entertainment from the squirrels. My fave has to theodore, his cuteness kills man!

Need i say that i am getting the CD?

Cathay promo, mom n tot special $7 for 2 tix, every tue before 1pm.

What are you waiting for!! heehee

ha, k's mom, men can drive, work, fly, work again non stop, they just look rugged when their eyebags show but not us!!

you'll get heaps of snow in NY, i shiver just looking at the pix on papers.

have a blessed trip!

Moshi, where did you find out such good deals?? $7 is really worth it. If you spot any other cinema offering the same, do let us know!!

I just bought the chingay parade 2008 tickets. Anyone else bought it?

Kristin mom, wow the packing and unpacking and packing again! Then the washing and folding and washing folding again! Sounds tiring and fun. Ha!! When are you leaving for NY?

No biometric passport, no visa = No entry into US?

SINGAPOREANS still holding non-biometric passports and who do not have a valid visa may find themselves barred from boarding a plane bound for the United States - if they do not satisfy all the US' stricter entry criteria.

The Immigration & Checkpoints Authority (ICA) released a statement on Wednesday addressing this issue, after checking with the US embassy on visa requirements for entry into the States.

The US Embassy has clarified that under the Visa Waiver Programme (VWP) requirements, passports issued or extended after Oct 26 last year are required to be biometric passports (BioPass) in order for the holder to enjoy visa waiver entry into the US.

This requirement was conveyed to all travel agencies and airlines recently.

Does this mean all non-biometric passport-holders are not allowed to enter? Technically, no.

Under the VWP, only those holding older non-biometric passports issued, renewed or extended before Oct 26, 2005 are able to enter the US, visa-free.

For all remaining Singaporeans holding non-biometric passports that do not meet the above criteria, the ICA is advising them to check directly with the US Embassy on their entry or visa requirements.

All Singapore passports issued from Aug 15, 2006 are biometric passports, and holders can continue to travel to the US under the VWP.

Alternatively, ICA explained, affected Singapore passport holders may consider applying for and switching to biometric passports to enjoy visa-free entry to the US.

moshi, cathy promo used to be for POSB card harder (or some other bank), so it's now open to whoever? but cathy cinemas are all downtown, n it's for the first show of the day, right? I tried to make use of it for some promo, but the counter staff make some mistakes which they make peace by offering me some free tickets.

.ky.

Good morning everyone. Cant use the PC at night leh, so happen to wake up thus drag myself up to chk email.

moshi, $7 mum and tot ticket sounds real good. How abt Dad and tot ? hehehe

K's mom, enjoy yr numerous holidays.

My boy now skips nap, and we still hv to force him to sleep else he can play till 11 then sleep and still wakes up at 7 plus am!

ok go prepare breakie liao, its 715 am now. Think he is gog to wake soon.

merry merry xmas everyone!

hi serena,
thanks for posting it here, cos i'll prob be going US in jan, it'll be terrible if i cant get in at immigration!

hmmm....so does it means non biometric passports issued between oct 2005 to oct 2006 NEED to apply for visa? while non biometric passports issued prior to oct2005 DONT need visa?

hi moshi,
moi not staying at sentosa anymore, cos old granny's very ill.

hi helen
sorry to hear about your gran. take care.

ky, serena n sherlyn
Cathay's mom n tot promo is open to everyone, every tue, morning shows. Ask for the couple seat which makes the deal even better.
dad n tot? why not? mommy=daddy, daddy= mommy!
(actually not, mommy is greater!!!)

Hi! Chloe, well there are some who tells me there's a window period which you require visa. Then there are some who says only applicable if you're travelling to Washington. Very confusing, right? It's best to contact the U.S embassy direct on the status of your passport. I think you shouldn't take any advice from anyone except the U.S embassy because you don't want to end up stranded in the airport unable to enter U.S. I have called up and they gave me the green light for mine. I'm still not convinced and will be writing them an email. Then I will print out their reply and bring along with me. If they ever refuse my entry then I will show them what their embassy told me in black and white!! By the way, your company is a U.S company right? Your business counterpart should be able to tell you more. Then there are also people who tell me that the luggage must be of certain lock because they will open luggage to check in random. AND if you are wearing boots, make sure you wear one without the laces. Need to go bare feet at the customs too!!

Chloe, just checked with ICA. I think it's better to apply for biometric passports which cost around $80? Than to apply for visa which cost around $200!! The rates went up in Jan 2008. How timely! However if your company is paying for your VISA then I guess it's okay. ICA says if you apply for the passport online, takes 4 working days to be ready. Hope the info is useful for you. Think I will get the new passport.

hi serena,
thanks for the info. yeah, i think it makes more sense to apply for new biometric passport. now, need to search for nice photo first!

Hi moshi, went to watch the chipmunks on Sunday and had good fun! My son saw this 'Mr something and his emporium' poster with dinosaur and wants to watch that next. For us, usually redeem credit card points for movie tickets becoz only watch on weekends.

Thanks Moshi for the clarification. I wonder will my gal be able to sit thru .. so far, the movies we watch at home, she is not interested, err I think accept CARS. The rest we watch are usually shown in Disney channel , like the recent mermaid II and Aladin and 40 thieves. :-(

Sherlyn

my younger boy was not able to sit thru movie too. Most of the time, he'll be sleeping during showtime thou he really enjoyed the starting of the show. All I have to do is cover his ears tight so that he won't get started by the loud volume. (I brought him to every single show we watch since he doesn't have to pay.. thanks to his small built and height)