(2003) Calling all 2003 babies

Hello all
Mel was hospitalised for 4 days, attacked by Salmonella bacteria, excessive diarrhoea (24 times a day!!)and high fever. she was put on drip to prevent dehydration and as flat as a pancake now. Thank God she is home now. but diarrhoea will take a while to be completely clear, this has to be the most stressful period of my life!

Include me for the outing.

Won't log on much this week, keep me posted of anything interesting, can send me a PM. treasure ur healthy little ones, nothing really is more important than their health ;)

Hi Lena, I'm so sorry to hear that Mel has fallen sick. Do take good care of her and yourself. I'll pray for her speedy recovery.

Lena, oh dear..
so sorry to hear that.Melody is sick... Dont worry, she will be recovering soon with your care.
U must take good care of urself too..

Hi Lena,
Let Melody knows auntie Prisline, uncle Lawrence and Aston Ge ge sends warmest regards to her and Get well soon !!!! You must take care too !

Yap, will include for the outing..

Botanical Garden outing on 5 Nov @ 10am
1. Apricot (2 adults & 1 boy)
2. Blurblur_Pooh (2 adults, 1 boy & 1 baby girl)
3. MH (2 adults, 1 girl, 1 baby)
4. Aileen (2 adults & 1 boy)
5. Lena (2 adults & I girl)

Hi Serenade!

The Billy Bear website looks great! Lots of worksheets for downloading! Thanks!

Actually, I don't do much with Bryan at home nowadays. He's been doing lots of stuffs in school, from painting to writing, craftwork, baking, cooking, and stuffs.

I've done a bit of numbers with him already. And he can count pretty well. Just have to ensure that he doesn't count things twice. But I haven't tried doing sums with him yet. Is he too young to start on sums?

On another note, how's the weather like on your side?
Ours was cold last week and it suddenly got warmer on Monday. It's yet another change of season. Need to combat the flubug again! Sigh!

Thanks ky and kristin's mom for your encouragement. Actually I already have a regular part-time cleaner, my elder boy continues to attend full-day childcare and my parents have been helping out here and there but I still find myself struggling. I'm seriously considering transferring my boy from childcare to a nursery now that I've become a SAHM but am filled with uncertainty abt him having to go thro another round of adjustment and whether I can manage having more of him at home.

ky, I may be able to help you with the Japanese translation but need to have a look first.

Wonder how the rest of you cope so well being on the forum so regularly. As you can see from my late re-appearance, I can hardly keep up with who's who and the discussion topics though I'd very much like to be much of the community.

I'm staying in Sengkang. Is there someone nearby?

Meilan

Hello Meilan,
I stay in Punggol. So we are very near ! Which childcare is your boy in ? My boy is attending full day childcare at Windsor Playskool located at Punggol End.

Hi Lena

oh dear, no wonder you've been quiet the past few days ... hope that Melody recovers soon.

Serenade/Meilan,
nope, I'm still trying to do the translation. maanaged to do a little bit for the puzzles only. can help? here they are ... many thanks!

542998.jpg
542999.jpg
543000.jpg

Wow! So many postings to read...pc was down for the past few days.

Lena,
Oh dear...I hope Mel is much better now. U take care too!

Serenade,
Hannah is in Kinderland. Half day programme.

Kristin's_mom,
Hope your story telling session went well.

Apricot,
Botanical Garden outing on 5 Nov @ 10am
1. Apricot (2 adults & 1 boy)
2. Blurblur_Pooh (2 adults, 1 boy & 1 baby girl)
3. MH (2 adults, 1 girl, 1 baby)
4. Aileen (2 adults & 1 boy)
5. Lena (2 adults & 1 girl)
6. Sarah (2 adults & 1 girl)

Hi Meilan!

My parents are in the States now!
No grandparents around for the kids and no grandparents to depend on for help. No relatives to help at all coz home is faraway for us.

This is the 4th day already and I must say we have done pretty well. We could have done better. But I was sick, and now my children are sick. Just keeping tab on their temperature now and then.

Next week my husband will be away from home on business. So it will be just me and the kids at home for 1 day and 1 night-thingy. Looks exciting... I think I'll still survive.

Funny thing is I suddenly feel that I'm being put to test with all kinds of situations now that my parents are away...

In a weird way, I'm kind of glad that I can be on my own and do things my way.

In fact, there are really much less for me to take care of... I don't mean to sound unappreciative, but there had been lots of cooking, cleaning and laundry to do too when there are more people visiting/staying at your home.

You know, the most rewarding part is your kids. They are happy with just you around them. They feel secured. They'll feel there's nothing more important than you in this whole wide world.

Tell yourself you have no deadlines. Tell yourself your expectations are healthy and happy family... You can do it, Meilan!

Hi kristins_mom,
How did your Mooncake Festival Celebration go? We didn't have one this year cos the boss didn't budget for it. Luckily, my hubby will be bringing home some mooncakes from his sg trip next week.

The weather is getting colder here too. What's your ave temp in the mornings? Over here, the morning temp hovers around 12 degrees. This morning, it was 9 degrees - the lowest so far. Both my kids were down with bronchitis last week, coughing and phlegm etc... Nothing serious though.

Bryan's school certainly sounds interesting. I think Brandon's school is doing similar stuff except for baking and writing. Writing is only taught when they are 5 years old. It's very good that Bryan can count well. Since Bryan understands numbers, you may want to introduce him the addition and subtraction concepts. Are the kids this age too young to learn the concepts? Well, I have known kids who can do simple sums around 3.5 years old (no GD or SM). So, I would say let Bryan guide you.

Hi Meilan,

Welcome! Meant to share abt my SAHM life but been too busy. Will write when I'm free, Brandon's calling me again...

Kristins_mom,
Just saw your post and know that you and the kids are sick. Take good care. gtg...

Quite upset over some thing. Maybe am too sensitive. Hope someone can correct me to view differently. Just now we are inside the lift and soneone was in the lift already and he is going 12th floor. Then Aston says uncle why you did not press 6th floor for us ? This uncle says wah you so outspoken (at this time his face is very sulking, not happy type or he feel comical or funny or interesting)and when aston continue wan to talk to him, he say ok ok ok you have reached your floor. Haiz...this is why now I cannot understand that uncle's comments.

Hi apricot!

That's certainly not the way to talk to a young boy!!! I feel fed up for you too.

Surely he must have some young children himself, if not, nieces or nephews.

But on the other hand, it's also good to let Aston know that not everyone in this world is friendly.

Hi Mommies!

Thanks to apricot for bringing up this subject.

Actually, I've been wondering for weeks now how I should instil an awareness of strange people to my children. e.g. not to talk to strangers, not to take things offered by strangers, not to follow strangers etc.

Kids are curious by nature and they are generally friendly to all people. I think they just assume everyone is as trusting as a family member.

But some people are just not too okay to talk to...

Over here in Germany, children get alot of attention wherever they go. Sometimes they even get a little something, e.g. candies at the pharmacy, some sausages at the butcher or bread at the bakery, lollipops at restaurant, offered to them free! I do hope that Bryan doesn't go around thinking that all adults are nice. I wonder how my mom used to teach me not to take things from people I don't know. Somehow, I'm not doing enough...

Bryan goes around saying hello to others too...

I guess this is a display of child's innocence, just like Aston's incident in the lift. But sometimes, this innocence can be abused. And what if we can't be there to protect them from harm of any sort?

Hi Serenade!

It's cold here too in the morning. Temp. thereabout, I think.

I've been giving them cough syrup, nose drops and paracetamol. They have pretty slight fever this afternoon. Now, I'm pretty used to the "sick"-routine. We don't rush to the PD straight anymore. Coz the German doctors will say, cough syrup, nose drop, lots of fresh air and let the kids play... fever, paracetamol. Anyway, I've been getting them to rest quite abit this week.

O yes, the MAF celebration went well. The story was good... and you know the children... when I said: When Chang'e saw the handsome Hou Yi and they fell in love... and the kids interrupted me, telling me their version where they thought the protagonists would kiss... haha!!! Where have these kids been, man?!

We had lots of food, mooncakes (though I don't crave for them), karaoke! It was a fun night for the kids. Too bad that we couldn't have an outdoor celebration with lanterns coz it was pretty windy and cold that day.

I shall try with some pasta adding and subtracting when they are well again and I'm less tired. Actually, I did a sorting exercise with him once with different types of pasta. He gave up after 5 mins. I thought sorting/grouping is a good logical concept to begin with if I'm even thinking any mathematics.

Writing - they don't write every day. But now and then, you see them write/trace the dotted letters, or their names. The class has just completed the first group of sounds (s,a,t,i,p,n). There should be a revision coming up next week. Each week is themed with a letter. And every day the kids can bring a new item that begins with that letter (in this case, sound). I don't know how much he's retained so far.
I'm quite happy with his school till now. It's small and everyone knows everybody. But at the same time, it's big enough to have different classes.

Hello all
Mel is on the road to full recovery, but mummy has to work v hard to fatten her up. she can't have milk yet. thank u for your well-wishes. thanks, K's mom, it;s very nice of u to drop me a mail. Sorry to hear abt your kids, but as long as u have paracetemol and fever doesn't shoot to dangerous level, things will be fine. i am quite an 'expert' in 'fever and diarrhoea' dept now.haha.

Hello Meilan
Drop by often, our thread has been pretty exciting lately with many sharings and experts offering advices and listening ears ;)
Actually, i noticed we became very active after K's mum joined, she shared a lot and this prompted us to do likewise ;)

There is a cookies baking workshop on 30 Nov and 1 Dec for children under 4 years. www.kookyart.com.sg

Apricot
that uncle, to me, has no sense of humor, does not like children and has low EQ. my frank opinion. anyway, don;t let it upset u, in fact u should be happy that aston knows how to use the lift and can find his way home himself!

Hi Lena!
Glad to hear that Mel is getting better. It must have been a rough week for you. Thanks for offering your "warehouse"
. I'll certainly take a look at the BP. Any good recommendations to begin with?

And yes, I agree with you totally that this thread has become more alive since Kristins_mom joined us. Her bubbly and sharing nature has "warmed up" most of us here. And not forgetting apricot's contribution too, I would say.

apricot,
Just shrug it off. No point getting upset over such a kid-unfriendly person. You should applaud Aston's effort to strike a conversation with pple. Not all kids can do that.

worrymum,
My boy used to throw tantrums and (literary) "mop" the floors in public too. Even my mum shook her head when she visited us. Perhaps it's easier in a foreign country, we just let him be until he's ready to listen. After every dramatic episode, I made an effort to tell him how embarrassing and what the little boys and girls might think of him. And that did the trick.

Aston's mum, don't get upset.. just that this uncle do not know how smart is Aston..

Serenade, thanks for your advise..Will try to work out that..

Thanks for your comforting words and I feel better now. Catch a movie with HB just now and it's Jacky Chan's movie and it's very nice.

Hi Meilan,

We are currently residing in France. Over here, most of sg mummies are SAHMs without help. So, it's not really a choice for most of us.

I never imagined that I could handle two kids alone (with my hubby, of course)in a foreign country. But somehow, being a mother gives me the strength to overcome the situation. It's not easy but not impossible too. Believing in myself that I can provide my kids the best care simply moves me on.
So, don't ever doubt your ability.

A few things that I have learned along the way;

Firstly, it's crucial to instil some forms of strict discipline with the kids. That helps me to retain my sanity. For instance, meal times means having meals at the table and on the chair. Nothing else.

Establishing a routine (not a timetable) for meal times, nap, TV etc... At least, I can steal some free time and chill down when they are having naps or watching TV.

Kids come before housework for me. It's more important for me to play with the kids than maintaining a "showroom" house. So, you can imagine how messy my house is, hehe..,

Without my hubby's support, I'll unlikely have an easy time being a SAHM. He will bathe the kids and help out with some housework. So, no complaints there...

As for preparing meals, I always go for minimum preparation styles - steaming or broiling. Simple yet healthy. Fortunately for me, none of us are fussy eaters. My kids don't mind having porridge everyday. But I'm planning to start them on rice for dinner soon. more hassle...

Those are my secrets on how I managed to survive through so far
I think it's a good idea to transfer your son into a half day nursery. At this age, if possible, I believe it's better that the child spends more time with the parents. Instead of rushing into it, can you try having him at home for two days for a start? When you are more comfortable with handling the two kids on your own, then make the complete transfer.

I happen to read this thread and realised that I have the CDs (1-10) of these 1000 words and picture flashcards.
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/449156/482530.html?1160753367

These CD can be played on computer only and I have not thot of ways or send them for reprogramming to be played onto VCD/DVD players or ways of printing them.

I bot them from a friend's friend many many mths ago and they happen to have ONE SET to sell at $15. Just one set only. Let me know if you are keen. Fist come first serve.

ky, sorry. my friend couldn't help you on the Japanese translation.

Sarah, is Hannah attending the Kinderland in Jurong East? How's the curriculum like? Do we have to place on waiting list if interested?

Hi Kristins_mom,
Like you, I'm pretty seasoned with the "sick" routine too. But I will still bring them to the PD if the fever hits 38 degrees, just in case of ear infections or throat inflammations. Fortunately we are covered by insurance, so doc's consultations and (most) medicine are free. In fact, consultations for my entire pregnancy and delivery were free too, all covered by insurance. I would think it's the same for your case, right? In any case, we have to take good care of ourselves. It would be terrible if we fall sick.

Sorting is a great start on mathematical concepts too. We just did patterning and now moving on to sequencing at a real slow pace. In fact, we have not done much academic stuff these few weeks. Guess what we did? We grew some bean sprouts and made a bird feeder! But too bad, the birds have gone into hiding from the cold weather. Brandon was pretty disappointed when no birds came to his bird feeder. He actually called out to the birds telling them it was meal time.

Let me guess, Bryan's school is using Jolly phonics, right? His school should be teaching the kids to blend those letters into words soon. So, be prepared that your boy will be reading to you anytime. :p

My husband left for Sg on Sat morning and will be back next Sat. So, it's only the kids and me now. Somehow, I felt more "relaxed" when he's away. Weird, isn't it?

Sarah,
I meant to ask if Kinderland accepts immediate registration any time, or do we have to be placed on a waiting list to attend the class?

Hi Lena
Do share wat's useful in the BP. I did look at it a couple of months ago but can't find anything useful for myself. I simply have no idea what to do with a bulletin board.

Hi Apricot,
This world has many different people .... and sometimes they come in different mood. Some people are probably tired at the end of a day and just wanna rest. I've seen parents with young kids who are very entertained by Ben and also some parents with young kids who choose to ignore him.

kristin's mom, I also have the same concern as u on being too friendly with strangers. Yesterday, we were at a condo to meet some of hubby's ex-uni friends at a bbq. It's the first time Ben sees them ... he actually ran away two times from me (I'm practically invisible) because (1)he was sure where he's going and (2)he was excited because the group was going upstairs to play toys.

I'm picking up Scrapbooking ... will be more busy now. Anyone keen to start that?

.ky.

Hi Ky,

CDs (1-10) of these 1000 words and picture flashcards reserved for you already. Let you know once the CD are passed to me and you can prob take from me when you come my area for Ben's playgroup session.

Hi Ky,
Blur leh.. confused also..what's Scrapbooking about ?

Hi Lena,
Same as Ky, I do not know what to do with bulletin board set.

Rushing to watch my korean vcd now..

Hi Serenade,
Hannah is attending Kinderland at Changi. This is her 2nd time at Kinderland but different centres. It was immediate opening for us in both cases, probably there are still vacancies. Not sure abt other centres' practice. I have viewed quite a few CCs and kindergartens and none told me that I have to be waitlisted.

Currently, her class is a mixture of 2003/04 students, total 16 students with 2 teachers. Out of it, 5 are born in 2004. From Jan 07, the class will split accordingly to age.

As for curriculum, I think it's pretty much the same everywhere. A typical day usually starts with music & movement, followed by literacy activities, outdoor play etc. Every Tue & Thu is Chinese class. The centre has a sand bunker, mini pool which attracts me. Unfortunately, outdoor play has been 'freezed' due to haze.

I'm okay with the centre except the horrible uniform. Green.

Hi Ky, Apricot, Serenade
I got the bear calendar set to teach the months and days. The dates are removable so we peel pff each day as it passes, also good for highlighting any important or special dates and counting down to them. we enjoy using it. I also got lots of stickers for craftwork, card making, or u can try the Mini Accents for patterning and sequencing.

It's been so hazy, we hide in the room with the air-con on most of the time, sigh...

Serenade
Like u, sometimes i feel more relaxed when my hub is not in town, no one to nag at me abt wet floors, messy books etc. haha. Are u returning for X'mas or CNY?

I'm hiding in aircon now.... not just the haze, but it's terribly hot for me too ...

Lena, will give that BP a miss ... been spending tons recently and prob more ...

Apricot, Scrapbooking, check this out http://www.twopeasinabucket.com/pg.asp ... this is just but one example.... I saw my fren's work and that's what got me started ...

thanks for the keeping the cd for me :>

.ky.

Hi ky,
Just wonder if you are in Punggol this sunday ?
Wonder if you can bring out your scrapbook and let me see. Thanks in advance.

Me too been hiding in aircon...the heat is more unbearable than the haze.

Hey Lena,
I just realized that both of us are the only ones with girls...So slow, hor? What sort of TV programmes does Mel watch/like? Hannah especially likes Hi5 which I dislike...the way they dress, behave etc. Here's one mommy who is very 'traditional', prefers more child-like programmes. Any DVDs to recommend? Besides the usual ones like Barney.

AstonMom,
A movie night out with your hb alone? Sigh...Haven't gone on date with hb for quite a while. Used to go out on Fri nite every fortnight, but didn't quite stick to plan. Hmm, maybe should start again. But when we were out, I'll wonder has she eaten, bathe etc...separation anxiety, but I don't have this problem when packed her to school. Hahaha...

By the way, what do you do/say to your kids when they say 'I want this....'? I'm kindof running out of reasons, execuses or whatsoever...

Hi KY, u remember u mentioned that u done the SM home practice... Do u know a lady call MS LEE staying at Bukit Gombak Blk 330+ ? She also conduct SM home base training.. at a fees of $50..so much cheaper then the original SM class lah.. so excited..heihei.. how about urself.. think u can conduct too..??

Hi Sarah,
Did you try let Hannah watch Strawberry Shortcake ? I find that girls will like more than boys.
Aston also say "I want this..for eg, I want this sweet and I will say eat too many sweets will have tooth decay, then I will pose him a qn, what will happen if aston eat too much sweets , he will reply all my teeth will drop. Now, he usually have 1-2 sweets & he stops and I am hoping he will maintain. I continue this process with others things he want. Hard work and sometimes very tiring. But must perservere cos I dun like to use cane. But still has not master a way to handle when he becomes notti, cranky and starts to cry louldy. Ever use punishment like face the wall he cries even louder and hail and shouts. So this method do not work for me so now no ideas at all.

Hey sarah
'so slow' as in we are not having a 2nd one yet? haha i am happy with mel and she's gona be my one and only. I think i will be the odd one out in time to come.
Try Kipper VCDs, it's about a dog and his adventures with his doggy friends, the characters are cute and endearing and they speak British accented english which i like. Mel speaks like them sometimes haha. I don;t like Hi5 and Mel too, in fact, she's scared of the characters.

When Mel wants something that i won;t give, i usu answer her question with a question. eg. she says i want to watch TV, try saying, " Have u brushed your teeth? have u...? So are u ready to watch TV?" Or draw up a timetable for activities, eg. 10 o'clock TV time, 3 o'clock nap time etc. I have one drawn on a long strip of paper and pasted on the wall, with this, i find her sometimes asking for the time and if it;s time to do something, quite a cool way to teach time concepts.

Hey any sharings abt hannah's school? How long did she take to get into routine? what phonics prog do they use?

Hello Mum22boys
Welcome! I presume u have boys? 2 boys? Among our active members' kids, there seems to be more boys than girls! We have an outing on 5 nov at botanic gardens, u can scroll to the top or archive for more info.

Mommies
Abt VCDs, any chinese ones that u like? those music and movement type. Oh yes, we also need to think of Plan B in case it's still unhealthy to breathe.

Hi Apricot ... yes, I'll be in Punggol this sunday ... u come lah ... me doing the leading that day :> ... now busy preparing.

scrapbooking : I just printed my photos last night ... so u think I'll have anything for you to see ... I don't think so. here's an absolutely fantastic website to view works of others : http://www.memorymakersmagazine.com/page_ideas.aspx

Worry Mum, don't know a Ms Lee. I'm more of GD rather than SD ... recently been pretty slack on doing this. And nope, I can't conduct. There's a fren who's started her own school (in CCK) and she's pretty good in flashing ... u may wanna check that out. fyi, she's been to the GD workshop conducted in Philadelphia. Check out how good the trainers are in their area of work if u intend to go for such home trainings ... I know Catherine has send the kids to Shichida for 3 yrs (so prob she's learnt a fair bit there too) ... http://www.mylittleintellects.com/

hi mum22boys ... me also mum 2 2 boys :>

sarah,
I counterattack with "why" .. "why u want xxx. isn't yyyy better" ... I'm always using distraction which sometimes actually isn't very good. try to keep to logic reasoning.

.ky.

Apricot,
Tks for the suggestion. As for the misbehaving,I think facing the wall is a good way to punish. You must be able to tolerate the crying. It's very hard when we first started. I gave Hannah 3 chances to 'repent', nothing happens, she has to stand in her naughty corner for 3minutes. It's timeout for both of us, especially me before I blowup. There are times when she cries nonstop, and tell me she couldn't stop crying, and I'll just tell her to go to her room. I do not understand crying, and she can come out when she is ready, I'll be outside waiting for her. She has gotten used to this punishment, and we do it even at restaurants. I have to learnt to ignore stares.

Lena,
Hahaha...so slow as in just realized we are the only ones with girls...Hey, we too have a timetable, never did really followed except mealtimes, nap. Activities are impromptu. That'a a good way to teach time concepts indeed!

Kinderland using both their own internal phonics program as well as Letterland. Were you the one using Letterland? Is it good? Seems very popular. Thot it was quite interesting too.

I have to say it's relatively easy getting Hannah to sch. Hahaha...takes a week to fit into class. I was with her for the first 2days and left after an hr. It helps to know her little friends' name. And yes, she came home with little bruises on her legs. She can be a 'complain queen' so I do not have to worry her being bullied.

Mum22boys,
Welcome! How old are your boys?

Hey ky,
What 'leading' are you preparing for?

Hi Mommies!

Will keep this short... coz we are still down with cold. Got to bring Kris to the doc coz she's been running a temp for three days at 39deg.

Hi Apricot!

Bryan loves candy too. He will tell me that he's a good boy and he wants a treat. I will say yes if he agrees to brush his teeth 40 times before he sleeps. And when he wants more, I will say 60 times! Etc... And he usually stops after three candies.

How about taking away a privilege - something your child likes, e.g. no sweets, no favourite VCD show - as punishment if you find cane, facing the wall, naughty chair not effective?

Bryan's school uses a traffic light behaviour - green, amber, red for various degrees of misbehaviour. I have yet to make a traffic light to hang at home. But I talk to him about his teacher not being happy and that his name would be on whatever light if his teacher were here.

Hmmm... if your child is going to school already, sometimes talk about what the teachers and his friends might think when they knew he misbehaved at home. It helps alot for me and I find that I don't always have to take out the cane that much. Besides, not every crime warrants caning.

Hi Serenade!

Yes, Bryan is using Jolly Phonics in school. But I doubt they'll come to blending so soon. They are doing revision for this week.

I really like the alphabet table that they have where the kids bring one thing from home to show and talk about the letter of the day.

Hi Mum22boys!

Welcome!
I almost thought I'd be like you until the moment Kris was born. We couldn't tell if she was a girl from all the scans I had when I was pregnant.
Now that I have a girl and a boy, I often compare them both alot... Oh, this is a boy thing, this is a girl thing etc. And unfortunately for me, Kris is quite a drama queen. She's more daring... yet she'll cry when there is a little bump and knock here and there...

Anyway, gtg... till the next!

Welcome mum22boys!

kristins_mom, did Kristin just have her jabs? Do take care of yourself and rest well.

Sarah, I checked out Kinderland too but I doubt I can bear with seeing Brandon in the green uniform everyday :p

Have you tried those Barbie movies? Both my kids are enthralled by them! Cheryl even learns to "dance" after watching them. Not sure if the shows are gender specific, but Cheryl also enjoys watching Bob the Builder with the brother. Peter rabbit is great too. Brandon could just sit down and watch all day (if I allow him to). I have just ordered the

Lena, I won't be coming back for the festivals. The air tickets alone cost a bomb. I like the stuff from the teacher themes park. Just realised that it's a local store, so probably I'll hold on the buying urge till I return next year. You made those stuff sound so interesting! I'll really wish I could buy and have fun with them now, hehe...

Does your hubby travel frequent too?

Like you, I was more than happy with just Brandon. And then Cheryl decides to come along...

apricot, when it comes to discipline, I think we have to be firm with it. Otherwise, it will get harder to discipline them as they grow older. Usually I'll just ignore them if they cry. When they finally calmed down, then I'll explain to them why they were punished. For good behaviours, I'll indulge them with lots of praises, hugs and kisses.

Wow, ky, looks like you can set up a centre or homebased programme soon. Recently, I noticed quite a number of GD/SM mothers (fathers?) setting up centres or homebased programme. Looks that this is the new trend...

Hi Serenade!

Not the jab. The kids are due for a flujab next week actually. But they can't wait out long enough to stay healthy till then. Sigh!

But good news is the fever is gone... the covering PD checked her this noon and confirmed that there wasn't any ear infection and the lungs were clear. (The kids have to choose this time to be sick. My PD's practice is just next block but she's on holiday.)

Btw, SAF is covering you guys well with full insurance. We are under co-payment scheme, meaning the company will reimburse all medical costs in Euros in full while we pay a token amount in S$. Not exactly free, but I can't complain either.

Sob... we are just too tired/not well enough to go along with Bryan's class to the fire station tomorrow. Bryan's been having Fire Prevention as theme this week. He's all excited and even dressed up as a firefighter to go to school this morning with his make-shift fire coat (rain coat) and his wellingtons as fire boots and his firefighter helmet.

And one of the things they did in class today was: Stop, drop and roll... haha! That was so fun to repeat at home with him.

O drats... can't be there to ride on a fire truck...

hi serenade
the owners of teachersthemepark are very nice people, young and humble. products are from the states, i particularly like those apple accented stickers, when u press on them, u smell apples, i am really stickers crazy and always rationed the pretty ones i have, and use them as brides as last resort haha
My hub travels abt 5 times a year, seasonal, so i get to use the car abt 5 weeks a year how pathetic.

hi K's mom
good to hear that ur kids are recovering. Mel is too but lactose intolerant now, gave her a scoop of milk powder and she starts purging again. that bacteria is real nasty. gona try soymilk, hope it works. Feeling uneasy that she's not drinking milk and that she's missing out on all the nutrients. doesn;t help that she's not a big flabby kid.
The fire station trip is cool, young kids going to see firemen is unheard of here (i think), closest is Road Safety Park. I think the 'overseas' curriculum covers alomst every theme possible. We can;t even do weather/seasons, but i just did 'haze' with mel haha

hi sarah
Hope mel will be a complaint queen like hannah, then mummy can protect her better haha. lucky u that u only need a week, wish me luck!
I bought a few letterland activity books, the home series, and she;s enjoying them. yep, the characters are cleverly created and interesting but once the child gets the basics right, i thought using the 'normal' letters to make words would be clearer. Btw, i chanced upon the letterland characters magnets at Cold Storage (baby's products section), abt $10. Quite pretty to stick on white board/fridge.