(2002) Any 2002 babies?

Bebe
I got my usual nail those mcq, teacher at work process skills. For the later, if you have not got the lower block,you can buy the psle version. It is a compilation,extract of four years work. Plus some new questions. I bought th upper block one as I have the lower block and the psle version abstract some of the same questions from the the lower block version.

Bebe
I am not buying some of the titles I bought for lower block
- conquer science
- longman process skills
- science partners guide.

I got the following at half price from some other parents
- science practice
- my pals HOTS

We did one chapter for lower block HOTS and my boylikes it. I like it that they will classify which portion of the answer will be allocated how many marks.

You can check them out.

Thanks FZ for sharing

I was at Popular yesterday while waiting for my gal's music lesson..since there is no 20% vouchers this round..must take time to choose selectively to save $$$

- yes I saw the PSLE version and the upper block version and was undecided if I shd get either or both..I was thinking to get one with topical revision and one with Exam paper revision..but the more time I spent flipping the contents, the more greedy I am..wanted to buy all..in the end, I did not get any science assessment..perhaps I will go back another day when my mind is clearer..same for Chinese..

I did not see the my pals HOTs version..but I like the conquer Science Series except that sometimes the modal answer sounds unconvincing...

For English - I bought the Just Education Compre book as well as the Grammar book for Transformation/Synthesis..these are one of her weakest link in English...thinking to use the holiday to do them

As for Maths..I got the Gradual Maths difficulty by EPH..it has basic/intermediate/challenging questions for each topics...its solution has step by step explanation..so I can get her to refer on her own if I am not able to revise with her..

I hope my gal can maintain 70 - 75 for her P5 subjects (anything above 80 will be a bonus)..was told to expect a big dip in P5 results as the subjects get more and more challenging..

bebe,
HOTS - http://edu.marshallcavendish.com/catalogue/book/id=89d07592-a338-40b3-b8f0-6fbaf8c004f2/titleCountry=/iSBNTitleAuthorTags=/levelName=/subject=/typeCategorySub=/typeCategory=/

HOTS - is mainly for higher order thinking. we will still rely on Nail MCQ and Process skills and exam papers for foundation studies.

we are not going to use Conquer science after a few wrong answers and yes you mentioned unconvincing answers. i find that Nail MCQ and Process skills plus past exam papers quite sufficient for our use this year. while i got more for next year, dunno where to find time to use them!

FZ - exactly...dunno got time to finish all the assessment books or not..the only consolation is that these books will be the investment for 2 years..so hopefully can get some worth back..

Yen Ling - I supposed 1H is the HMT? My gal's school will be giving out the letter on the coming PMT. But I doubt I will let her take HMT, as I prefer to focus more time on the other core subjects and also I do not think she will be able to make it to SAP school..

If yr kid is strong in the other core subjects and has interest in Chinese.. I would encourage you to go for it..after all there is always an option to drop the HMT at end of P5..

Yen ling
I am going for hmt.

Bebe
If student A is good in other subjects but need extra effort in mt and student B is good in mt but need extra effort in other subject, who should take hmt? Or both should try?

Hi yawn yawn,
it means 4 standard subject and 1 higher Chinese.
My son started higher Chinese since primary 1, but at the end of primary 4, they can choose either higher Chinese or just Chinese

Hi bebe,
Frankly speaking, my son hate Chinese the most, especially when there is homework. I don't want him to take higher Chinese, but he said no harm taking as it will not affect him. If by primary 5, he cannot cope, then just opt out

Are you currently subcribers of Young Scientist? I received the most recent issue and it has been renamed Young Scientist Adventure. My son commented that the magazine is not as interesting. Anyway to cut the story short, I saw Young Scientist's advertisement on newspaper last weekend and called the publisher to check on my subscription. The guy told me they are the new distributor for Young Scientist from 2013 onwards. The current distributor, English Corner is no longer authorized distributor. He claims that English Corner tries to pass off YS by renaming it to YS Adventure. YS Adventure is in fact from Indonesia. He said that YS has been transferred to them - the new distributor and the website is http://youngscientistsreader.com.sg

But when I went into English corner website, they are still selling Young Scientist. So I'm confused which is the "authorised" distributor now and who should we go to for renewal of the existing YS.

If student A is good in other subjects but need extra effort in mt and student B is good in mt but need extra effort in other subject, who should take hmt? Or both should try?

FZ
If B is good in MT and need extra help for other subjects, I will advise him to stick to only 4S.
If he is good in other subjects, and need extra effort in MT..it will depends on how much extra effort is needed. If he has been scoring in the 60s - 70s..I will prefer to stick to the 4S. If he is getting 75-80+ .I will say can try for HMT for a year and see if he can manage..cos I think taking HMT is akin to enriching MT, it will always be better to learn a higher level for a better buffer if he can manage...(being kiasu and kiasee)

Yen Ling - Yr son is very sensible..I think when a child wants to go for it..it is already half a battle won..so just try and see..

MD - I stopped subscribing to YS since last year..bought the 2nd hand or the old publication from populars..read abt the YS and SA saga in the kiasu forum..so confusing right?

fz, bebe

My view is if already good in Chinese, & taking HCL won't required substanital increase in effort, then can opt for HCL. If not, might be better off using the time to improve on CL and spend time on other subjects.

Hihi.... My ds came home with the option form for subjects. There are 2 portion , top is ticked by school or teachers on their recommendation, bottom is to be chosen and ticked by parents. Asked my ds which one he likes and chooses, he says just follow what teacher chose for him will do.

bebe,
thanks for your note. had told my son to use HMT as extra practice. we have not been informed which class he will go to next year yet. dunno if choice of course will affect class allocation.

yawn,
my boy spends most time on CL. this year the effort translates to good results. on report book, EL is now the weakest. lol.

nat,
your boy so cute....'just follow lor/law'! lol.

Opted for 4S as my DS insisted not taking higher MT. His results for languages also like see-saw. If EL goes up, CL will go down and vice-versa.

Personally, I think Chinese and Science are the two most heavy & time consuming subjects to revise during exam. So it's time allocation between these 2 subjects for my dd. Spend too much time on one will affect result of the other.

For those mummies who kids are taking higher Chinese, for the Chinese assessment, do we need to buy for normal Chinese too?

I opted 4S for my gal as her teacher did not recommend her for HCL. In fact her teacher "advised" the class not to opt for HCL if not recommended by teacher. She only scored 80 for CL.

MD,
You are lucky to receive the final issue of young scientist. I subscribed for all 4 levels this year but has yet to receive the final issues to-date. Wondering if I should call up English Corner to check. Also puzzled as to how to subscribe for it next year ....

In my gal's sch, HMT will be offered automatically if the child get Band 1..if high Band 2, they will review and recommend accordingly..

We got back report book. No info on ranking or class or cohort mean, average, standard deviation. He manages to remain in his class. Six classmates got re allocated to another class after computing EMS scores. The school has introduce new practice to have prize ceremony in middle of the year, so only those involved will be notified. Today is purely to celebrate.
My boy has been enjoying after exams period, playing math games in class and card games. Told him that the next time he gets to enjoy it will be after psle as next year, school will probably continue teaching after exams as p5 already.

Hi Jolene,
I bought just a normal Chinese assessment book yesterday at the popular fair yesterday. The rest of the Chinese assessment I choose higher Chinese.

This year booklist change for the science publisher. Mine used to be I science and now become my pals. Don't know why the school change. I find the I science enrichment good, but not sure is there any guidebook by my pals, except the psle guide

Hi fz,
My son was relocated to another class as they spilt those taking higher Chinese And chinese. We are puzzled of the school allocation of classes. It used to be the seventh class to be the best class, but next year it will be changed totally and the parents are not informed of this. It Is quite frustrating.

When I browse the normal Chinese and Higher Chinese assessment books, I notice that the topics are the same..just that Higher Chinese is more wordy and lesser MCQ. Thinking if I shd buy the higher Chinese for my gal since her problem is writing and phrasing Chinese sentence...

Next year class allocation will only be known next year..according to the teacher, they used to allocate the students using English and Maths result..but they are looking into changing the system..so they will stick back to the same class next year and reallocate subsequently when they finalise the system..

Yen Ling - there are science guidebook and enrichment by My pal..but I did not buy it..

There will be CA1 for my gal next year so I will have to get her to do revision during this holiday...this is the first time she is taking CA1..told her CA1 will come very fast around CNY..so if she wants to enjoy CNY, she has to step up on her revision earlier..

my DS maanged to get into the second class as the goal i had set for him. Currently he is in the 3rd class. He supposed to move to the second class last year but school practise black promotion every 2 years.
Next year will be very challenging for him i guess as the class become more competitive.

Any recommendation on assessments for Science?

I was at popular fair yesterday evening. I was absolutely shocked that all the Maths and science assessment books were gone! Hard to believe everyone is buying assessments by the cart loads. I feel not "kiasu" enough. Hardly any book was left. So in the end we went off to Food fair in the next hall instead. My dd was glad I didn't buy any assessment for her. This week she will shake leg at home. Next week then give her some work to do.

Re: Chinese
Dd already attending 3 hr extra chinese every Sunday so I think no need to load her with more worksheets. I will just buy chinese exam papers. Her best subjects are Chinese and English so she wanted to continue HCL. During school hol, gotta work harder on her maths and science. Somehow spend most time on these 2 subjects but the results still see-saw.

Hihi, I am back. Ds reminded me to buy Young Scientist. Normally I will buy end of year the whole set, rather than subscribe.

I also plan to get kids do some revision over the holidays to get ready for next year, believe gonna be a big gap from current. However, they had been playing games since they finish exam till now. sigh....

My kids also super holiday mood. Been chasing my dd1 to do 1 Maths assessment book since after SA2 but progress not satisfactory.
I only ask for 1 book... not entire book, only ask her to do 1 or 2 questions each section, so merely 25% of the book, like that also so uphill task.
Her Maths result slide a lot this year leh. She didn't do a single assessment book after p1, very hard to kickstart again

any good vocab or grammar book to recommend?
realised that i only have creative writing, synthesis, cloze and compre books.

and, buy P6 or P5 level? will the jump be very big?

Hi FZ - I did not buy any grammar/vocab book this time..just compre, synthesis and those CA/SA exam booklet.

Actually I look at the contents and standard of different publisher..eg EPH Synthesis and Just Compre- I bought P6 level but Casco creative writing I stick to P5.

My gal just started her science tuition last week and the topic was on cell. I read through the notes and feel like she is studying for medicine degree...arrggghhh...all those bio terms were like so alien to me as I have not taken biology before..

Bebe
Agree that is syllabus is so much different from our time.
I got my boy do some english vocabulary, grammar, cloze and comprehension last week of november. He started math late last week and the
Fraction questions he took some time to get familiar and my husband spent some time coaching him too. We hope to start science revision by next week. He is having water cycles first and then cells in term 2. Hope to get him to read up and do the mcqs first. His chinese tutor on vacation, so he is only assign ed to read a book. He did some oe comprehension two weeks back for tuition. Keep his motor going. If not, game whole day!

FZ - yes, we did some English transformation and synthesis question as warm up last week..yet to touch on Chinese..before the sch holiday, she will either idle or read story books..now sch holiday, she will only look at the ipad and play games whole day..@#$@#%@# I am going to delete the games on the ipad after the holiday...she is so addicted to it.

where is everyone? still super busy?

School reopens. And next month is CA1. This is the first time my dd having her CA. I told her this year no more R&R, must be on the ball as exams will be held every other month.

Which are the schools your kids are targeting to get in? Any idea whether IP programme or which school is good? As we live in the east, there isn't seem to have many choices other than TJC and VJC.

hihi all, I am back again. Been bz in work. School reopened and is now on the 2nd week. Oh my, mentioned earlier in Nov that will get the kids to do some work. but.... nothing happened. Been playing too much till now engine hard to start.

For CA, both my kids had them every year, just that P4's will not be counted but P5 will.

Ds is in HCL and they are only using the HCL textbook. 2 days back already given them 1 chinese compo to do. Ds was cracking how to write, can tell that his interest in Chinese already deteriorated alot. Hope he can get his engine start fast.

I have been super busy with work.

Received a letter frm his school asking us to start keeping the impt documents such as their progress report, etc for next year's DSA.

In 1yr 9months' time, our children will be taking their PSLE. Stress!!!

MD.
We want VS! But stay at west. Son doesn't want sapschool. I want boys school so looking at sji or acs. But they have IB instead of A level and fees not cheap. Another option is NJc but read that proportion of girls quite high. That is assuming he qualifies for IP. For olevel stream, he has affiliation to sji. The distance and fee is a concern and if he gets around that score,there are a few good options near my place too but mix school. Headache.

Nat,
My boy has chinese comprehension homework today. He has homework for four subjects today! Late dismissal, due next day homework, I wonder how he can cope next year now that going to bed on time is near impossible now!

Mine still very relax..I have to nag at her to get things done. I was flipping through her chinese textbook last night..begin to have doubt if she can cope without tuition or not..esp Chinese Compo...Errrggghh...suddenly feel very insecured without tuition..

For Secondary school choices..also very limited here around my neighbourhood..if her results are too poor, I will prob stick to her affiliated secondary school , otherwise I hope she can get into Anderson Sec.

Yen Ling,
I am also looking at nan chiau but it's a sap school now. Do you know if it still offers express classes? My gal's results not hopeful of getting into special stream.

Have you seen an increased in workload for the P5s yet? My colleague son's school already starting supplementary classes this week. Got to stay back after school for an extra hour everyday....lol....