(2002) Any 2002 babies?

hahah... your son sounds like my girl too. An angel in the eyes of public. Home... *sigh*

For Just Education, I did not sign up for Advance Level, just the normal one. So far i find the questions and worksheets are quite ok, manageable. As my dd is borderline average child, the questions are already kind of challenging for her. My nephew switched to Mind Stretcher recently and had compared the questions. In fact MS is much tougher and more challenging. Lucky I did not switch my girl to MS although MS is much nearer to my place. Imagine sending kid to enrichment lessons, I have to 'coach' her for the questions myself, ironical right?

Bebe75: My son enjoys his Science class in Mindstretcher. They also do experiments once a while. The notes seems comprehensive together with exercise. I like them as they will have qtrly test which kind of ease my burden to revise with him.

Jolene: Your gal has done well

FZ: My son has chinese class at HUA on Sat from 4.30 - 6.30 pm. His English and Science enrichment classes are on weekdays.

I am worried about my son's composition writing. He is so lazy to expand the paragraph. His teacher recommends to let him read model essays as the last resort. haiz

Avrilf - thanks for sharing the feedback on Mindstretcher Science..I asked my gal if she wanna sign up for Science..she grumbled and said so many tuition ah??? I do not know if the notes I gave her is good enough or not..cos most of the time, I still need to refer to answer sheets to explain the answer to her.

Natellehcim - I agree that Mindstretcher Maths is a lot tougher than the other tuition center, esp for my gal. When she signed up for the course initially, it was quite tough and I had to go through all the questions with her. But later, she sorta gotten used to the tricky questions..and will try to attempt herself. I would say she can do reasonably well..her average score in Mindstretcher is abt 60-65..I would consider that okay for her to stay in band 2 in School. My gal needs a lot of pushing to get her to think more, otherwise she will forever think that problem sum is only 2 steps solutions. Now I do not buy Maths assessment book for her..only get her to do the worksheet from Mindstretcher..for those questions which I had guided her, I will highlight and inform her teacher.

Avrilf - for comp writing, I also get my gal to read up model comp books..to me, that is the only way to improve her writing. Otherwise, her comp has no content. But I do not expect her to memorize those phrases..find it too extreme..only ask her to note those similes, idioms and how to apply them to make her writing more interesting..

Behaviour
To the outsider, many would think that my gal has mild temper..but at home, she is very emotional. Just like this afternoon, she was so sulky when she came back from school. That really pissed me off..cos when I asked her questions, she answered me as if busy gam wan, I told her off and she started crying. In the evening, when her dad asked her why she was upset in the afternoon..she said, it had nothing to do with family..it is friendship issue...and when we asked her to share with us...she said it has nothing to do with family..*piak* head

avrilf,
my son's chinese slot at berries is from 11am-1pm. come P5, will be 3hrs from 11am to 2pm. the EL slot at Mindstretcher is at 2pm. we intend to look for one long term, so we giving Mindstretcher (clementi) a miss.

for Compo, you referring to CL or EL? for both, we resort to memorising phrases. we limit to only 2 per emotion. not the way, but it adds some colour to the compo...and word count...for last minute revision. :D

bebe75,
mindstretcher class size 10? anything bigger is a bit too big. so still have to revise at home.

ya...can see the 2002 kids having a mind of their own already. when my boy has a bad day, he also do not want to talk about it. i got him to write a journal. he finds it easier to write it out and then hide in one corner when i read.

Have not post here for a long time (again), how's everybody? it's that time of the year again, keeping all the kiddos and mummies busy. Cannot wait for year-end hols to come.

Congratulations to mummies whose kiddos clear GEP round 1. Is it clear round 2 means the kids will be offered a place, or there will be further selection rounds? kaypoh abit.

Avrilf/bebe75,
for chinese compo, can I know which model compo book you use? my dd's chinese compo also cannot make it. I will give it one last go to guide her on my own. If still no improvement, I will have to enrol her in tien xia.

Science,
mummies, I am getting stressed over my dd's science. 90% of the time, I don't know the science facts off my head when dd comes to me with a question. Any mummies who self-teach your kiddo, can share share how to go about helping your child? Again, I'm giving myself one last chance. But I can foresee me throwing in my white towel soon.

Any mummies has heard/experience with Mindstretcher Punggol or Serangoon North?

Avrilf,
would you say that Mindstretcher has helped your child?

Just Education
Advance level in Just cannot opt to enrol one. Child will start with standard class. If teacher feel that child is ready for more chim stuff, they will recommend to parents to transfer child to advance class, at the same price. The worksheet will obviously be different from standard ones. This was the case unless things has change.

bebe75,
some girls at this age majiam like having PMS like that - can be very emo one. My dd is the happy go lucky sort. But some topics will set her either into a very defensive or emotional mode, and she will end up in tears.

These days, I try to spend some 1 to 1 time with her on her bed before she goes into dreamland. Can see she enjoys that as she commented once that it feels like "pre- mei mei" days
It is also during this time that she is most receptive to any teachings, and most relaxed to tell me what bothers her.

hianz, the worries of having girls. So emotional.

Have a nice day, Ladies.

aly_nat,
RE science,
when my boy come to me with questions, i will identify which topic. then i will take out the guidebook to search. if cannot find information, then i will say i search the internet then let him know. then after i search the info, i will bookmark the site and then let him read later on.

RE justed,
the lady told me that exam results 80 and above can opt for advance level. but not all branches has that.

Re Girls at this Age
i think all kids at this age either emo or aggressive. cannot take the hard approach anymore.

Re:tuition centre - eduFarm
Have anyone tried eduFarm? I saw posters up for 2012..not sure to start sending my son for tuition or not? I do not want to end up sending there just to do worksheets. Plus he is against the idea of having tuition ever cried this year when I was asking if he wants to go for CL lessons since he does not really recognise the words and we do not have time to go through with him.

Re: justEdu
thanks for the info parents..i think i will check out the branch. Checked the website they do not have chinese class.

RE:Science
for far my son sch does not give him those tough stuffs..hence no question targeted to me. Else WWW.GOOGLE.COM would be my favourite pal site.

No to mention gals are emotional, i think my son also. He can even feel sad for a live prawn.

FZ - mind stretcher class size is 15..quite big. So I have to go through the worksheet with her to make sure that she understands the concepts.

Alynat - I bought a few model compo book for Chinese and English..not sure if they are effective. But for English Compo, my P2 gal likes Casco..she said she learns interesting phrases from there.

For Science assessment, I use janet Sim..she will explain the answers (even for MCQ) in the answer sheet. Key words will be highlighted as well. For this exam..I do not have much time to revise with my girl and so I ask her to read the answer sheet at the back.

JustJazz - if I remember correctly, edufarm will only commence class if there are enough enrollment. And the standard of teachers also varies. I remember I wanted to send my girl to their writing class..and they told me that they will call me once they have enough student to start a class..but they never call.

JustJazz

I had similar experience as bebe regarding edufarm. The one thing I like to do is always checking out tuition centers at surrounding hdb blocks & those on 2nd floor above shop houses. They do not advertsie agressively so very easy to miss them. Who knows may have good teachers teaching there.

Not only gals have mood. My ds recently complained I spent too much time with jiejie and neglected him. He said he missed me and then hug me tight and started to weep a little. I was like omg... Better sayang him more cos when he grow up next time, mummy will then demote to no2 and girlfriend/wife no1. Lol... Better treasure the moment while it last.

Can anyone help on this question

Bill has some pens for his friends. If each friend receives 3pens,there will be 6 pens left.
If each friend receives 1 more pen,there will be no pens left.
a. How many friends does bills have?
b. How many pens does Bill have at first?

Hi star,

the clue is "there will be 6 pens left. If each friend receives 1 more pen, there will be no pen left". This sentences indicate that Bill has 6 friends.

So, 6 friends x 4 pens each = 24 pens.

HTHs.

for EL, try calling Lcentral branch near your place to inquire. it is not a camp, but creative writing workshop. i have not tried it though. personally,i don't think attending short 1 week writing course is going to benefit the kid, but i sent my boy once to one to find out how they teach the kids (how they do up the materials). then i try to replicate that at home. :D
have not got anything results back and still have 3 papers left to go!

Pin,
may i know what topic is your girl's compo?

Really stressed.
Now my kids can't concentrate anymore in doing the assessment book. They have completed a few, but there are still a lot more to go.

Hope that all the examinations will be over soon.

Mummies whose kids are still having exam - (hug)..the exam will be be over soon..hang on there. My kids completed their exam on the week before the PSLE Marking days..and immediately after that, they fell sick. Weather's been erratic these few days..so take care of yourselves and yr kids..

bebe75, yenling, maisy,
my boy had flu last friday (maybe caught a cold as it was raining when i fetch him that day) and fever on saturday. we had to halt last lap of revision for english for that monday's exam. he still can joke that his brain heats up as it was re-wiring and reorganising information.

just got him to read his math files and textbook (3B only) today (Fri math paper) and just now he said he had a headache. haiz. we have not started on Chinese (next monday), but luckily his CL enrichment had mock tests and revisions carried out during enrichment lesson time. regular revision is so important. science is last paper and we left his school files, textbks and workbks to cover.

hope he doesn't burn up for the next few days.

Fz

Her topic is 4 pictures and the last picture is mysteries had to think themselves, the first 3 pictures is about 4 friends go cycling and one of them let go their hand when cycling. Then the boy hit a pebble..

BP,
pmed you.

Pin,
my boy's picture is about burglary.

RE English exam
my boy said he got zero marks for synthesis! oh man. my consolation is synthesis is 1 mark each. and also got 1 confirm wrong for compre. that is 4marks gone.

Pin - really? Mine is at TPY..is it the same as yr gal's?

FZ - hope yr boy recovers soon..this wave of flu seems non ending..hiaz.

My P3 gal told me she got 80+ for maths..I am very elated and yet doubtful..cos she has never scored >80 for her maths exam..dare not pin my hope too high..I guess the result shd be released next week as the sch term will end on 11 Nov...that will be the time when hell break loose at home..now I am trying to work out a timetable to make sure they dun rot themselves at home with computer games/TV

Fz,
Hope that your son had already recovered.

English Exam
My son just had exam yesterday. I don't dare to ask him too much as this is his weakest subject. Just hope that he don't do badly.

bebe75,
Just trust your daughter. She must have seen the paper given by teacher if not, she will not tell you the marks.

Today is my son's mathematics exam. Yesterday night, did not let him do anything. Just let him relax a bit. Told him that just take it as a normal practice paper and be relax during the examinations period. Hopefully, he don't make any careless mistake

thanks bebe75 and Yenling.

Yenling,
today is my boy's Math paper too. had already planned for yesterday to be last lap of revision to go through past careless mistakes but ended up his teachers gave them homework to complete. i think sch should ban homework on exam week. although they discourage last minute revision, but sometimes we did not plan last minute revision cos the week before exam kid fell sick, so no choice gonna push back revision to the last week.

ok i am bitting bullet now. My daughter just recovered so revision was slowed down.

Tml will be my last day of revision. She will have one final tuition on sunday before she set off in her exam adventure.

Plan to just do her own school 2008/ 2009 paper just for final revision the day before each exam and that is all.

Tml she will have her first piano theory grade 1 exam

then from Mon we will hit the exam road all the way till thur to end our agony

Hi CL,
My son also having piano theory grade 1 exam.
Are you having at relc hotel?

Hi Fz,
Sometimes, I rather the school give homework as my son and daughter will be more willing to do and I do not need to supervise them.

My gal did well for her Maths n English exam but I hv not seen the actual paper so I do not praise her much. Scully papers happened to b exceptionally easy this time.

FZ - I also do not like having homework before exam.. Really jeopardize the revision schedule. My gals had homework n really stressed me out cos we were running out of time for revision. I will prefer to stop all revision work on the week of exam.. Juz browse through worksheet to hightlight the mistakes n emphasize on weak area n a brief overview for the topics.

Chua Yen Ling
Sorry I did not see your message till today. I chose west , so location is right outside my house at St Francis Methodist school of music.

Bebe75
Great job by your girl. Your efforts pays off especially now u have a no.3 to juggle.

Give all mummies a pat on the shoulder whose kids has completed the SA2.

Other mummies like me whose kids are still having exam, let's jia you together. Counting down together !!!

Thanks YenLing/CL

I think the credit shd go to the Mindstretcher Maths teacher and her School English teacher..they have been very encouraging and patient towards my gal..And that helps to motivate her..a motivated child is already like winning half the battle liao..I told my gal..see what she reaps when she does not give up on herself and consistently does her revision.

Her chinese result has slipped a fair bit this time..from band 1 to band 2..I told her I will have to see the actual papers to find out where is her weak area..

Bebe,
Congrats on the good results.

My kids have their second paper - Maths today. Over the weekend, my gal was motivated to do the exam papers which I view as a good sign. She could understand and do the tricky questions so I'm quite glad that she's well-prepared this time. Just hope that she will be merticulous and not make any silly mistakes. Finally, I can rest today because tomorrow is Chinese (just reading up on textbook tonight) and Wed is Science (arranged for extra science revision lesson with tutor).

My son got back all the results except for Sci Section A. I am satisfied with his results overall, only need improvement for Chi compre. Glad that he scored full marks for Maths n improved 4 mrks for Sci Section B.

All the best to all for the SA2 results.

bebe75,
congrats! seems like Mindstretcher's Math is good then! will bear that in mind. :D

April,
Full marks for math! congrats ah!
my boy's math confirm 4marks gone....1Q on units (he did not see the 'c' sign and gave as dollar equivalent in Sect B and also he said there is an ambiguious right angle question; after using his ruler to measure, he (and 1 other classmate) said the angle is slightly smaller than a right angle which the teacher disagree. we did not know can/must bring protractor!).

1 more paper tomorrow! science! not easy ah. hope he can complete paper on time.

Wah... congrats to the kids who score well in SA2.

My DS paper2 just began today... and he already 2 questions answered wrongly on his english paper today.

I wish THURS to be here ASAP. Wondering why he exam I am so busy chasing after him to study whereas his dad is relaxing?
Now he is relaxing and playing on his comp before sleep.
I am hoping he does not makes careless mistakes for tomorrow math like he did for CA2. *praying hard*

Congrats to all kiddos who has done well.

April wow your son is really good.

My girl should be having math now. So hope she clear it with minimum carelessness ha ha. Difficult to pray for zero.

Justjazz
good luck to your son too. I think we are both looking forward to thur. Well after today, half battle fought. Another 2 to conquer.

CL,
Keep finger cross for our kids. I am just so tired with nagging him to move his butt to study lor. Let JIA YOU together..2 more days to our freedom.

So much about exam. What activities have u have plan/in mind for your kids after exam & sch holiday? For me, we are sending my DS to a 3D2N camp and joining him at the last day for the camp fire event. DS is looking forward to the activities at the camp.

wanting to go to neighbourhood mall to celebrate, but heavy rain!!! argh!!
those with some papers left...jiayou!

justjazz
yes yes now I am harping on Science. Tml I will leave to her student care to do Chinese and tutor coming tomorrow for CL on thur.

Will self declare 11 Nov off and fly off to Penang with the kiddos for a break.

most of her activity will be with student care and I will look out for other interesting activities

My gal did badly for her science.. 50+ marks.. I was expecting her to get 60+.. hiaz. Her weakness is those application questions with those experiments, graphs/data n she does not know how to interpret those data.

Thank fz, CL and JustJazz.

fz,
It is really wasted that marks being deducted due to carelessness. Your boy’s sch teacher seems very strict for the angle question, at least should give 1mark.

bebe75,
You may get your dd to do Section B questions during holiday. I got my son to do some past year papers from other schools before SA2, I think it helps as I could see some improvement in the way he uses key words to answer.

CL, JustJazz and mummies whose dd/ds still have exam, Jia You.

yesterday and told us that he scored 97 for maths. i am just worried for Eng and Chinese...Hopefully he can get at least 80 and above. I do not expect Band 1.

hi mummies,congrats to those whose kids had finished exam and score well. I still have 1 more day (tomorrow) to go
and ds is unwell lately, feverish, kind of zombie these 2 days. Hope he can cope with the exam and think properly/ :p He is always 'lucky' deh, always fall sick during exam period, no matter what precautions we had taken. Notice this since he was P1

Natellehcim
me too one more day to go. But today I will leave to student care and tutor. She self arranged with student care chinese teacher to revise with her for tomorrow so I let her be.

Hope your ds will be super alert for exam and speedy recovery. Could be exam fever ? My girl gets colic. So I always prepare colicmix for her

Ganbatte all mummies!!!

natellechcim,
ooo...hope your boy will feel better to tackle this last lap before the holidays. my boy tends to fall sick before exams too. scary. i try to cook porridge 1-2 days before exams for him worrying that he may be stomach upset/indigestion too. so after yesterday's paper, he said he treat himself to a pack of tidbits during recess. and we went for western food dinner. haha

Jiayou all mummies :D

Natellehcim: Hope your son is better!

Congrats to those whose kids have finsihed the exams and got back their results

Mine juz finished his exam today. Now keeping my fingers crossed for the results. I am worried about both English and Chinese composition results.

oo..got back math. dip in marks. but mostly due to carelessness and not concept issue, so we r happy that it is still band 1.

paper 2 for EL and Cl, kid maintained his score (as per SA1). not so worried about oral and compo since we are lucky that the topics were not so tough. next up will be Science...