(2002) Any 2002 babies?

CL,
just writing one compo already going to kill him...next week will be the compo exam. For Chinese, i totally rely on his enrichment class from the his school and english..I nearly got heart attack everytime i went thru with him.

Maisy
Mine do not copy but was reading model essays like she is reading a book. Not sure how much she is absorbing.

She takes less than 30 mins to finish the essay but somehow they are not very well structured. She is probably just filling up the gaps like describing the pictures and not really into stories.

For me I am actually training on her speed more.

Everyone seems to be starting the exam early. Mine will only start from 10th onwards.

Starting from this week, we will be giving my son a composition each day to complete within a time frame. His enrichment class teacher said his speed too slow. Haiz...

By the way, where do you get the pictures for composition writing from? There is limited number in the assessment book. Thus cant be buying so many rite?

for my kids their SA papers starts only during the last week of Oct. Seems it will be same like previous years, i will be sitting here envying those kids and parents who completed exam by Oct

avrilf,
i use the pictures in CL compo book picture to let my boy do EL compo and vice versa.
yesterday did one picture compo and my boy same problem again. he said in the second picture the boy's shirt has no collar while the first one, has collar. it is supposed to be the same boy (same hairstyle and no reason the boy in the first pic disappear). can faint.
hope the exam picture can be clearer.

RE Oral
my boy said that someone in his class made a mistake in oral. he mistaken a scene in a train to be that in a bus. i guess that that boy probably did not take bus or mrt on a regular basis because he did not know that mrt has mainly aisle seats as compare to buses. i remembered many decades ago when i did my oral, i did not know that no eating is allowed on buses because i didn't have the opportunity to take buses too. :p

Natellehcim
I joined u, my girl's main paper also starts from 31 Oct to 3 Nov.

Fz
wah, then daily life also impt to the kids on what they are exposed to.

Natellehcim,
My kids exam also end in 1st week of Nov. U won't be the only one mugging over the weekend ; )
oral is done, 2 weeks later is composition and listening compre. I guess can't really prepare for that except to read model compo.

For me, my kids had their oral yesterday. My son commented that the teacher said that he spoke too soft and worse still, the picture is on market that he hardly went. Hopefully, he don't score badly.

By the way, may i know do any mummies here know of any good renovation company?

while u guys have oral. ha ha I will be having Paper 1 first. Next week 4 and 5 Oct.

keke lets share share on the information on what is being tested for oral and paper 1.

Update you guys next week

chicken,
it is good to do paper 1 early, so have more time to focus on paper 2. paper 1 is mid of next month for us.
for oral, my boy had pet shop for EL and school courtyard/field (recess) for CL.

mommies

ICAS Writing result is out!
My dd got a credit. Her writing really needs to improve. Her score this year worse than last year.

yawnyawn,
ICAS writing test on what?
do they need to write an essay?

RE Compo
how many words limit are your kids' sch giving them for compo? i thought i heard wrongly when my boy said that for CL compo, the word limit is 80 words. that is only about half the page of the CL writing paper. i guess should be 120 and told him to check again. for EL, i think is 120 words or 150words.

fz

suppose to write an argument. why you agree or disagree on a certain issue. only 30 minutes test so must think fast write fast, haha!

I don't know about CL. I think EL at least 150 words

hi yawn yawn, yes my ds also told me is writing about some arguement thing. But don't really understand what it is about.
he got credit also.... same to his Science and English.

oic.
P3 only, how to write argument? those who get distinction must really be very very good in EL then!

My ds's Paper 1 will be on 13 & 14 Oct. I am really worried for his Chinese compo.

Re: ICAS
Maths result is out too. My boy's Maths result is worse than that of last year. He got distinction for Maths, Eng & Sci.
My ds got high distinction for writing but I don't think he is good at writing, perhaps the marker is leniant.

just checked the ICAS online for student results.
surprisingly my boy's English result is actually better than his Math.

chickenlittle.
there is the ID and pin printed on the summary sheet of the earlier ICAS results slip. you can use that to login at the website to check the results.

ha ha i never keep the result slip. ok so will wait till she receive the result from school then

wonder what was the topic for today's Paper 1 EL

fz,
my ds attends learning lab for English.

heard that gep round 1 result is out today for nanyang. My ds's school have not out yet.

yawn yawn,
yes, nanyang is a very good sch, even for the second round, it is abt at least 30+ of students who clear round 2 each year.

ChickenLittle,
so what did your dd do for Paper 1 EL?

April,
Learning lab ah. must be really good then. :D your kid joined for how long already?

yawnyawn,
my boy is sick, so not in school today and tomorrow. so won't know the gep results until friday.

RE stomach ache.
what do you give your kids for stomach upset? i tried to give the bo ji wan, but he threw up.

april
ha ha then my girl probably not one of them. no news from her

fz
she says the picture compo is about birthday celebration, the boy received a pet tortoise. 3rd picture is he fell.

stomach upset?
could it be colicky ? my daughter is colicky like baby so I got a medication for colic from pharmacy same as what is prescribed by dr.

chickenlittle.
wa...birthday with a twist. not easy to write some of these compo. kids may mistakenly wrote it in 'oral' format.

we think may be because of food. because i am also having stomach upset.
gave him a charcoal tablet and he manages to swallow only half. primary school kids can still get colicky?? my kids never have colic when they were little, so this is kindof new to me. he developed fever yesterday too.
next week compo exam. hopes he gets well enough to at least attend school tomorrow before friday no school again.

fz
ya lor birthday with a twist not easy to end it well too.

colic- yup my dr check her and she is still like a baby that is colicky and they could be stress too though my girl bochup kind. But I guess when she complain stomachache , i know she could be colic or stress

I heard from my pv friend that 15% of students got through 1st round in dd's school

Aiyo, cannot compare to top schools like nanyang. Heard 80% got through 1st round

wow 50 that's alot. Nowadays kids are so smart
But believe some sent for training before GEP. My colleague is one who send the child for GEP training this yr but he is only P2.

fz,
my son join learning lab since last year July.

yawn yawn,
I'm sure your dd can clear both first n second round. The number of girl who clear second round hv increased since last year (or 2009 but definitely not 2008).

Re: Gep training
I don't think those who go for training will eventually get into gep. Those who get in through training, I believe the kids must be gifted in the first place.

April

Oh, why do you think that? Got signs?

By the way, appreciate your feedback on learning lab? Your ds is taking English? How does learning lab teach English?

Been hesitating on learning lab, very expensive leh. Mine with mindstretcher but seems not much teaching in class, always doing worksheets. Her compre & compo still no improvement. Waste money, going to withdraw.

GEP training

Heehee, confirmed I'm too stingy to part with my money for GEP training.
Learning lab fees I already think so hard

actually my close fren used to be HOD for Gifted programme in NYPS and she did tell me not to send my girl for GEP training.

And I know my girl is not one as she is super bo chup. So am sure she is one of the 20% that did not make it.

ya i also totally bo chap for GEP, not wanting to send my kids to the training. if gifted will be gifted
and i don't expect mine to be one of them. A normal education can liao.

Chicken Little,
Is your friend Mrs Loo who quit nanyang since last year?

Yawn yawn,
My dd and ds think the worksheets for TLL are good, the compositions at first (P2-4) are full of good phrases, but after there are fewer and fewer good phrases…
The kind of teachers you get depend on your luck, really. If the teacher does not teach much, I suggest you get to know some kiasu parents and get into the good classes if possible.
My ds is taking English and he thinks it’s ok. But my dd in TLL for 4 years already, still don’t see result…

My son has cleared round 1 for gep, received the letter today

Time files.. now Oct already. 1 more month to go before the end of exam for the year. My son written paper will only commence on the 1st week of Nov, by then most of the mummies you all are relaxing already.

Congrats to YawnYawn's DD and April's DS for clearing 1st round of the GEP. My DS didn't receive letter hence I suppose did not make it.

My bro brought IPAD2 and now my son is stuck with it.
Could hardly ask him handoff it..urgh.

April
nope mine is Ms Boey Lim who left in 2009. She was GEP English

Congrats to your son clearing GEP round 1.

Just to share her chinese compo yday was in classroom, then someone drew on the wall/ or is it board, then got scolded and punished. This one I feel not difficult just how interesting one can write and the ending should have things like what was learnt or what we should not do.

Now will have to drop compo and go for oral liao. Then full gear on all other main papers

thanks chickenlittle and daisy,
brought my boy to the doctor last night. he said could be viral fever. wanted to give us 3 days MC but i told him only need 2 days as Friday is non-schooling day. he could not backdate the MC to include Tues, so have to write excuse letter myself. indeed the stomach med given is for colic and smells sweet. at least don't have to force the kid to drink (unlike the bo ji wan or charcoal i tried to give earlier :p)

don't know sway or heng, this is not the first time he fall sick the week before exams. kindof disrupts any plan to do last minute revision.

fz
he is very light indeed. My son at 5 years old is above 122 cm and about 21-22 kg too

My skinny girl above 150 cm already 27 kg

fz,
Wah... ur son is indeed light, that's my son's K1/K2 weight. Mine DD today is 40kg already... overweight
Now pushing him to exercise daily, He eats alot and exercise very little.
With regards to his illness, hope that he recover soon. Maybe he got those butterflies stomach when exam comes will needs to run the loo.

CL,
Wah, ur gal is very tall. She jump alot?

CL,
thanks for sharing the compo topic. Your dd is very tall leh.
I think after your friend left, Mrs Loo became hod of gep in 2009 (who teach Sci), Mr Tan is hod now who teach English (P6). He is my dd eng teacher this year.

Fz,
hope your ds will recover soon, take care.

JustJazz,
my sister-in-law also bought ipad for my kids but I make a deal with them: they can play only after exam

April
your kid in NYPS too ? which class ?

Justjazz
my 2 kids are very tall , their daddy at 180 so should be daddy's genes as I am 162