(2002) Any 2002 babies?

Valerie,
Wow, AA at Jacob Ballas Children Garden, I am excited too! My ger also has AA for all subjects, except CL this year. The down side about AA is that it lasts for 2 to 3 wks instead of the usual 4 days for CA.

Pls help I am the class representative for my girl school. This year we are in charge of food for the Fun fair. Anyone can pls advise me Where to find cheap and nice supplier for  Prata, Crepes, Ramlee Burger, Corn Cup, Pau, Tokoyaki, Yakitori, Mee Siam, Kebabs. Tks

My son having CA2 since last week.

May I know what science textbook does your kids'school use?

My son is using i-science and I find that the information is insufficient.

CL,
Oh, I see.
How about taiwan?

hi yen Ling,
my ds started CA this week for compos, paper written will be next week. Sci textbook are My Pals, same information don't seem to be sufficient too.

hi, had bought some assessment and 1 guide book for him to revise himself. but doubt he really explore them :p His teacher also let the kids do some 'experiments'. Learning about mould, the teacher got them to try out some bread in various environment to understand the speed and conditions for moulding... and recently they were studying about cycles, the students took back mealworms and keep track of the growing stages of the worms into beetles.

yen ling
I used EPH ultimate guide. Also recommended by dd's school. I also think it is quite useful for me. The rest you have to refer to other school test papers and exam papers to build up the knowledge from there.

Pin
I think there are factories in Jurong and Woodlands supplying food that you might need.
I know QB http://www.qbfood.com.sg/path/index.php?cPath=27

My sil bought japanese ramen kind of cha siew and yakitori for me from another store before. I will ask her

Hi natellehcim,
Your son's teacher really made them do hands-on.
It's a good experience.

Hi yawn yawn (yawn2) ,
Yes, I share the same sentiments as you.
In the end, I went to buy the i-science enrichment and i-science tests for my son. I find that both are useful.

Hi CL,
Thanks for telling me the title of the guide.
I will go to popular to take a look.

hi, so far no news at all for all the ICAS tests taken.
the results send to school and the kids got to bring back?

my boy took back the paper and the 'marking sheet'. i did not go through with him cos busy with CA2.:p
a good attempt as some questions on body systems which he has not study before.

ya my ds also not taught systems yet. But i didn't ask him what questions were asked in those tests... he only mentioned tough and seems like P4 or P5 standard. anyway i also lost track what are the tests he had signed up, quite a couple of them eg writing lah, eng, maths and don't know what else... so far no news for them at all, anyway only Sci released?

yawnyawn,
he got back the science either last week or the week before. can't remember. never hear him say got distinction or what, so i guess it is average ba. hahah

jh,
your dd finishes her CA already?! she din do well is foundation weak or no keywords? from CA1 and SA1 and practises on other sch's papers, my boy on an average loses 5-8marks for section B.

jh,
i think probably 'science' is a 'boys subject', so if testing on stuff outside curriculum, girls generally at a disadvantage.

my boy got back his ICAS computing skills yesterday. he did not even told me until i spot check his bag. he said teacher told the class to focus on the CAs.
have improvement from last year.

I am new here. I would like to join this thread.
I have a P3 boy and a P6 girl.

My boy's school does not have CA2 but they have some assignments and worksheets, for science, they have practical test.

fz,
Congrats to your boy ICAS science and computing skill achievement

yawn yawn,
ICAS Science result is available online.
Did your girl take the ICAS test last year? If yes, then you can use the id and password on the last year result slip to log in into the following website:
http://www.eaa.unsw.edu.au/
If you cannot log in, it may due to misspelling of name or change of school.

ICAS results release dates:
http://www.eaa.unsw.edu.au/icas/australia

2011 Results Available

* Computer Skills: Mid July
* Science: Early August
* Spelling: Late August
* Writing: Late August
* English: Late September
* Mathematics: Mid October

my boy got back his science before his computer skills, so i think it depends on when the school receives and release the paper.

he only took science, computing skills and math. i think there is no option to take the rest. my boy got back the result slip for science and computing skills. he said teacher said those who did not receive cert is good (??).

april
thanks, this is the first year taking

fz
If didn't receive cert probably means cert will be given out during assembly, for high distinction

My son has yet to get back his ICAS results from the school. Hope the teacher will give back the results this week

Are you taking leave this sep holiday? I was on leave yesterday.

SA2 is coming again... soon. Feeling the stress already. My kids oral exam is in 2 weeks time. Must to dig our my Oral notes and start practice with them this week.

maisy,
yes! Time flies so fast.
this sept holidays unable to do any revision because son has CCA Mon to Fri and sat and sunday attending birthday celebrations. for oral, intend to just focus on conversation as this is his 3rd yr doing oral, he must have know what to do for picture and reading passages. maybe go through some terms (eg supermarket, clinic etc) for CL.
probably going to spend more time on compo.

Fz
Can I ask if the conversation is for both English and Chinese oral? Are the conversation topics related to the oral topic?

Me too these 2 weekends alone have 3 parties. Almost everyday busy with "entertainment". lol

maisy,
for my boy, conversation for both subjects. so far, both are related to the oral picture.

haha...entertainment to let them relax first. then full speed on revision after that! good thing about having CA2 is that at least he had covered 3/4 of the subject revision when revising for CA2 (except for CL, as CA2 only focused on Term 3's work).

Haven't come in here for quite a while. I have to confess that I have been holidaying at home for the past 1 week. Level of revision with dd = zero. Another 2.5 months to go before the end of academic yr....SA2 accounts for 50% of overall result, so 吃饭还是喝粥就靠它了!

cookiepie

This holiday very unproductive. My kids holiday mood. Impossible to ask them to get any work done. I dug out some storybooks that they've not read for a long time & previous year haopengyou magazines (like new) for them to read. But nothing accomplished, haiz!

ha ha mine is busy playing too. 7 Sep was her swimming test, thereafter we went bowling.

9 Sep, daddy says his last day of leave and her last day of holiday so I was asked to take leave to join them - Children Little Musuem, Sentosa - Luge , Busker's festival

Ha ha , Still in holiday mood lor today excursion,Friday is no school again

Oral exam is this week. I've been 'rehearsing' with them through MConline everyday.

Sep holiday was a busy week bringing them for extra piano lessons. Both kids have their piano exam last week. Finally, it's over last week. Ds pontang school on Fri and we went to Johor for a day to play with their cousins. Will be taking 4-day leave during the PSLE marking days to do some 'intensive' revising with the kids. Stressing up again...

BP
am making my girl write compo everyday. One day English another Day Chinese. Now her speed is ok. Just need to brush up on content.

I think u can look at guide books, and look through the model composition.

Check out MConline. It will guide them.

chickenlittle,
Me too... I ask my kids to start copy 1 compo a day. Oral finally ends today for both kids. I've been 'gek sim' trying to go through oral with them.

chickenlittle,maisy
our oral starts next week. did not go through EL oral revision with son, then yesterday, impromptu asked him to try out one and i nearly fainted. because his CL enrichment had gone through oral prep with him, he was trying to use the technique to apply to EL oral and he actually went translating CL description/phrases into EL! so now rojak. his EL oral conversation no prob (as we speak EL at home), then his pic discussion problem. for CL oral, it is the reverse.

for compo, we have not started, but do you get your kids to do 2nd draft? or do corrections? if not, how they know where to improve?

CL, maisy

how much time your kids spent to write one compo?

I dare not ask my dd to write. She can easily spend 2 to 3 hours on one piece, then no need to do any other revision liao. Ask her to copy also take forever!

does your kid have problem understanding compo pictures? at times, my heart skip a beat when i listen to the outline of my boy's compo before he even started writing it. he has some issue with
1) understanding what is going on in the picture eg if the picture show a baby on all 4s on the floor beside the mother (who was busy choosing fruits), he wrote that the mommy decided to let the baby do some exercise while she shop.

2) sometimes he could not see that the person in the 2nd picture is the same person in the first picture (eg pic compo has 3pic+1?) because of a slight variation in hairstyle, clothing (eg first pic the pants reach ankle, the second pic the pants reach calf area (or hair slightly curl).

!!!!

Yawn,
I believe they spend about 20 min to 'copy' (not do) 1 compo from a compo model book. They've been complaining..... About the copying but I stood on my feet.

Fz
Boy is definitely worse in languages. I have "no eyes" to see my boy's compo. In order to restrain myself from scolding him, I've resorted to rely on his English enrichment as he does a in class every week. His compo style is like oral style. Out of 5 sentence, 4 will start with "we blah blah...." or "I blah blah....." no creativity at all.

Maisy,
I can relate to the 'compo style is like oral style'. He can write,'the police officer was busily writing down what had happened' in his compo. told him that he is not doing oral writing!

just started to get him to memorise phrases for quick fix. going to get him to read model compo too towards the date; he managed to score for his SA1 compo as a similar compo to the model essay he read, came out. but don't know how to improve compo on a long term basis as what he reads does not translate to how he writes.