(2002) Any 2002 babies?

Fz,
I'm game to let my kids take mrt for a start but hearing those mrt accidents make me wary. Tink I will continue to escort them till they demand me to disappear.. Hee hee. My kid's friends do take bus and cross road on their own too at p2 but I super bu fang xing And my hubby say if anything happen to them, I have to bear responsibility so.... Kiv on independence now

Last time my kids also went ENT to flush out the ear wax but later on the ENT doc say they now use the tweezer instead of water, not sure why.

Yawn,
My boy started RG in katong this yr.

I wish my gals are indep enough to take public transport but then they are not ready yet..or rather I am not ready to let them go that far..

Starting this year, I have spent quite a fair bit on their transport..esp when they have to stay back in sch..was telling my hubby that I pay 2-way transport fee but end up I only use 1-way service 90% of the time. The sch does provide CCA transport in the afternoon..but not cheap..$5 per headcount per 1 way..so if I have 2 gals..I have to pay $10 and they took longer time to come home since there are waiting time and detours..this is more expensive and time wasting than taking taxi.

maisy,
sorry, what is RG??

for crossing the road, once, a school girl (middle primary) and his brother (k2 or P1) was crossing the road with us. they were going home after student care (maybe??). then as they were crossing, something caught the little boy's attention and he stood 3 steps away from the pavement, in the middle of the road and stare at that something. the sis walked on without noticing and the green man already started blinking. paranoid-me then had to shoo him off to the pavement for safety reasons before the cars started to horn (which may startled him). i am paranoid. 0__0

bebe75,
actually since your family is 'big', maybe more economical to drive? then you can also send your boy to enrichment and run errands. more mobile.

RG is an enrichment centre like mind stretcher. Cover both p1 and 2. No oral though so I still hv to practice oral w them before exam. So far it is satisfactory and my boy never complain about going. At first the teacher was qt 'headache' w my boy cos he is active and can't sit still to do his work. But after a few mth, they have both reached their 'equilibrium'. The tr said her son is also active so she could understand. she can bear w him for his activeness... Unlike his sch tr, I still receive notes of complaints once a mth.

fz, yes my friend told me about the flushing of the wax out from the ear, my friend had experienced it and said that it is very uncomfortable. If an adult can't take it, what more if its a 5 yo child. So GP can help as well?
For Tropex, how many drops to drip into the ear each time? Is it once a day?

Valerie,
at that time, my 5yo was 3.5yo. he was very brave. we went to the GP.
i checked. the medicine label state 3drops @2times daily.

Thanks mummies for sharing your opinions.

Bebe,
My dd only stay back once a week, $3 for the CCA bus, and yes, the bus takes a big detour to send all the girls. My girl ended up spending 1.5hours on the road. That's why I'm thinking if she should just take the public transport. Takes her less than 30 min to get home by bus/mrt.

I also pay 2 way but only take 1 way. Morning pickup is very early, so most days hb will drop her off on his way to work.

Valerie,
2-3 drops is good enough, 1-2 times per day and the ear was will dislodge to the outer ear after a day or 2.

yawn,
R your 2 girls in the same session? Wah, like that u do a lot of walking to n from school leh.

FZ - I tried driving earlier this year..but the traffic at the school during the dismissal time at 3-5pm was horrendous..imagine having 2nd and 3rd lane jamming up with vehicles..if I go earlier, I get stuck trying to move out from 1st lane..if i go later, I might hv to park further away from school and walk to the gate to pick my the kids..no joke when I have #3 to tag along, who does not have much patience to sit in the carseat for long..And these are days if only I get to use the car..if I dun hv the access to car, I will hv to hail a taxi from the MRT station (forget abt getting a taxi outside the school..nightmare) and get my gals to call me before I ask the cab driver to go over and pick them up..timing must be pick and go..cos cannot wait at the gate for too long..
This semester lagi worse cos both gals have different timing..one at 4pm and the other at 6pm (worst time to pick up cos of jam and ERP)..so I reckon it will be easier if they just use the school CCA bus..only thing is the timing and the cost...

Alynat - I can understand the hours spend on the bus..very tiring esp in the afternoon..my gals told me they preferred me to pick them directly..hiaz.

Bebe,
Sounds like your gal's school traffic really terok. It must really b a headache for you.

My school bus journey is only 20 min but unfortunately no transport for after CCA so my kids either wait till 6pm or my maid take bus to fetch them back. The school faces a huge HDB carpark so traffic generally ok. They've been staying back 2-3 times a week. I, the horrible mummy ask them to try to choose CCA on same days so that easier job for us.. Lol

Maisy - there are currently 3 schools along that stretch of road...and that no cars can attend in the sch compound during sch hours (except morning) ..hence traffic is bad. The sch ever engaged CISCO security to man the traffic but it was effective only for a while..soon after that..we still see cars waiting at the 2nd and even 3rd lane..and the principal has retorted to taking pics of those errant drivers..repeated offenders will be issued warning letters..but still not much improvement.

Maisy - don't yr kids feel tired having to stay back until 6pm? Sometimes I pity my children..they wake up at 530am and have to stay in sch until 6pm...even longer than some working adults..so I have to make them go to bed at 9pm to make sure they have enough sleep..

Bebe,
Out of the 3 days my gal stays back, only once a week, at her request we let her stay till 6pm. She has friends to stay back with her after dance cca. Otherwise, we always ask my maid to fetch her back. The school is 3 bus stop away from home and stop our door step, so it's qt safe. But hubby say must cross the open hdb carpark (which has few cars in the pm) and must go up the bus with heavy bag, so he rejected my proposal before we have a chance to try out. Haha...

This year semster I stopped my son sch bus services..luckily i did, if not he would be only taking 2 days bacl home from sch. Ended up I am the one who goes to sch and fetch him daily and spend lotsa of time on public transportation due to the distance. But ended up almost the same time as the sch bus journey. Luckily my son does not complain about carrying his own sch bag which is at least 5Kg.

Bebe, ur gals in which sch how come the traffic so bad when I thought my son one is bad enough.
Once my hubby went to fetch my son after CCA, his car got stuck in the middle as other parents of the afternoon sessions start to queue from 1745Hrs.. (1/2 hrs b4)ended up his car can't move until the afternoon session dismiss.

Justjazz - the traffic problem came abt cos the school switch to single session this year..and that caused the jam during dismissal time.

Bebe75,
Oh single session will bring about this type of problem.. hmm.. keeping my fingers cross for my son sch do not operate single session so fast.
I ever told my son if i am to drive to pick him up from sch be prepared to be at least 15mins after sch dismissal time as I do not want to wait in the long queue for long.

I am now a SMRT 'supporter' already.

Mummies, if u were me would u let your gal join school team basketball as she is being selected?

She is also doing guzheng as cca

chicken little,
My 2 kids also taking 2 CCA, so stay back 2 times per week. On top of that, ds also go for additional badminton practice at another pri school on Sat. The CCA teacher said so far they are not competitive so schedule wise it is fine. But if they are selected to take part SYF or join school team, then there will be more practice. I plan to play by the ear and let my kids decide which CCA they prefer or want to give up at that point in time. Perhaps after she try basketball and she prefers that to Guzheng? Or vice versa.

Yawn,
Yes dd taking Malay. I think only for 10 sessions or so. She enjoys it and told me the teacher made the lesson very fun. Anyway no exam right? So I just let her try out.

Maisy Daisy,

Yah there is no exam for Malay. Is for them to learn for fun. They might forget eventually if they do not practise.

Chicken Little,
Is your daughter interested in basketball? If yes and she can make it into the school competition team, she will have higher chances in the direct admission program rite?

Like Maisy, my son also takes 2 CCA. The timing did not clash with any of his extra classes.

Thanks Maisy and Avrilf

Already signed on the dotted line to let her try as she really begged me. We would like her to try out as we always find her too dainty and should expose to outdoor sports. Her mummy myself was a school player so I do know how time consuming it is and ha ha now I truly understand why my mum was unhappy about me joining. She was afraid of injury too.

I read the letter again that the training is done indoor only on days when it is very cloudy they will be outdoor so not too bad.

Her guzheng is on Thur and this basketball will be on friday. No clash with other course actually and since it is on Fridays she will have enuff time to catch up on her homework. So still not too bad.

Just received from school GEP screening test in end Aug. Anyone sent their kids to pre preparatory GEP course? My gal confirmed not gifted so we won't prepare her. In fact she asked me whether can opt out for the test.

Maisy Daisy,
Do you know if the GEP screening test is meant for all or just for selected students? My gal is not gifted, so sit or no sit for the test mean no difference, hahaha....

cookiepie,
i think every student will be given a chance whether to participate or not. last semester, my boy came back with the consent form and the dates.

maisydaisy,
i did not prepare my boy cos he also confirm not gifted. :p already told him to take it as a normal test and not be too concerned over the results cos both his parents also did not pass the selection test years ago. lolz.

Maisy Daisy, where to take this pre preparatory GEP course? (Just curious... is there those 10 years series for GEP screening test?) Do for fun also good mah....

Cookiepie, i think the system is just being fair. Infact, i think only those first in standard will qualify.

Anyway, like fz, have told her to take it as a normal test too.

fz,
This test has been around for more than 20 years. I still remember myself sitting for the test years ago... went for the 2nd round test but wasn't selected for the course.

Valerie,
There are preparatory classes offered by centres such as Learning Lab etc for the gep wannabes. Popular also selling books that are supposed to prepare students for the test.

cookiepie,
i don't remember sitting for this test. :p
actually i dont even remember sitting for PSLE. :p
i only vaguely remember preparing for PSLE, the teacher got us to do a vocab assessment book and i bought 1 science guidebook. but can't remember sitting for the actual exam or being stress over it. :p

Gifted test - I also did not prepare my girl..knowing her standard ha ha..I did not even tell her that there is such test..no point stressing over it..will be contended if she can do well in the normal curriculum..

FZ,
Maybe we belong to the same "era". Cos I recall GEP was implemented during my younger sis time but not my time. I wasn't very stress over PSLE too. My mum kept telling me that as long as can make it express stream will be good enough. Last time parents' standard is lower. Now express is not enough, must go to branded schools also. LOL...

I will call for celebration if she can even make it through the 1st selection. My friend said those who could go on to take the 2nd test are top 10% in the population. I told hubby we don't have gifted genes so don't expect to have gifted children.

I dont rmb how I studied for my PSLE. Definately not what I have been asking my son to do :p

Today he is having UNSW Maths paper which I have totally forgotten.

I did not prepare him for GEP too.

Valerie: Mindstretcher oso has GEP preparatory class.

Have received from his school on CA2 exam topics. Also recd the marking scheme.

I have not been practising with him due to heavy work load. WOndering how...

Thanks Cookiepie and avrilf.

I think its too late to send her to the GEP preparatory class liao...

Anyway, my dd said that even if she is being selected also don't want to change school.. Ha..ha.. she think its so easy to be selected. Whereas, i think she is just an average student leh...

Wishing you a happy national day. Let us recharge during the short break and be back to fight CA2!!

Regarding GEP screening test. I told ah ger to sit for the test, coz it's the only test that she can any how do and not worry abt the result!!

RE: GEP test
I just opt out for my son.
Confirmed that he is not gifted.

Reason for not sending him is that no results will be given, except those who had been slected.
Moreover, my son is those who are tensed when he needs to take test, so I just opt him out and he agreed too.

Cookiepie,
When is the GEP? I didn't even note down the date loh. Lol. I probably just give her a pep talk before the test

Agree this is the exam that I totally never prepare her since 100% confirm not gifted. Haha..

A few of the top students in her school already transfer to RGPS or similar school this year. For me, if she can get band 1 for all subjects it'll be a cause for celebration. As they move up the level, it's getting tougher to get band 1

maisy,
GEP test on 24th.
my kid said his teacher said last year their class has around 5 passed the first round, so she hopes that this round can have 10 (or is it 10 and she hopes 20? i can't remember). he said she said one of the kid who passed the second round chose to remain in their neighbourhood school (my boy said the name sounds non-chinese). i guess maybe distance is the parent's concern as the nearest (from bukit batok) GEP school is like...in Clementi (Nanhua?)?

fz

Oh, seem so wasted to forgo a place in Nanhua leh. Bukit Batok to Clementi not that far. Next time that boy's children can go Nanhua. Vacancies in top schools are like gold nowsaday (see how hot this year's balloting) and probably even more so by our grandchildren's era, haha!

maisy

Wow, from east to RGPS is very far leh. I thought of transferring my dd to better school too but my dh said no way he's going to brave the traffic to bukit timah every morning

RE: P1 registration 2011
SO sad that my cousin and my colleague can't get into their choice of school for their kids.

I am very stressed that when I see them rushing to different schools to get to know about the schools.

Even when they are in Phase 2 c sup, I think they still need to ballot.

Oh dear. What happened to singapore school system. Even singaporean find it hard to find their choice of school.

Yen Ling,
Yes many of my friends also struggling and going for 2nd ballot at 2C Sup today. I'm glad that mine is over... phew. It wasn't that tough 4 years ago.

Yesterday, dd's friend called to ask about a party at my house this coming week. The best part is I didn't know there is a party. She told me she is inviting friends to our house for gathering. It is only her class group (~6-7 kids). I need not do anything or be around as they will plan their own activities and games. Kids are getting so independent...

wow surprise party for you then Maisy

Anyone planning trip for Sep holiday ? Doing a last min planning to see if can squeeze a holiday, any suggestion ?

Hi Maisy,
My cousin and my colleague need not go for ballot as it just fits the number of seat.
Phew. Really a load off their mind.

Your dd is really independent.
That's great. Moreover, you need not worry anything about organising it. She can be a team leader next time.

CL,
I am also hoping to go for a short trip, but my husband says no since we just went last June.
Maybe you can try to drive up malaysia/Malacca as I also see my colleague doing that. He really enjoys the trip as he told me that he can go to those places that normally tour group will not go.

I asked dd last night who she is inviting. Luckily all girls no boy. If not I will have to take leave and plant myself at home. haha... I ask her why she didn't include the boys. She said they are going swimming and the girls didn't want to see the boys barechested. At this age, they have started to feel shy.

I'm planning to go TW this Dec. Sep no plans yet.

Yen Ling
ha ha I only drove in to Malacca in June and booked next trip to Perth is March 2012.

Now I am thinking where to go in Sep as hb's leave freeze in Dec again.

Maisy
My girl usually dun invite boys too because her class will tease boy and girl together so usually they dun. last year one boy asked her to invite him to her bday because he was her neighbour in class so she invited his best friend too.

You can see the girls try not to get close to the boys

My dd's school has no CA, however they have it as Alternative Assessment and they were having their science AA in Jacob Ballas Children's Garden this morning. They will be tested on their observing, comparing and communicating skill to encourage the application of process skills and independent learning. My dd was so excited about the trip that she woke up early and rushed me to bring her to school...

Luckily, today's weather is good.

No Sept holidays for us cos my son has CCA & school commitments.

My son will be having his CA2 next week.Trying to bring him up to speed with his revision.

My dd will be doing volunteer work during Sep holiday plus her on going tuition classes so probably not travelling.