(2002) Any 2002 babies?

My ds (P2) will start maths test next week. So fast, mummies must start to work hard liao (with the kids... ) I told my friends I wasn't so hardworking when I was in school last time... LOL. Maybe now then I know the importance of studying.

Yawn,
Your dd2 so hardworking can practice piano 1 hr? I must make it compulsory then they will touch loh. How's your dd2 enjoying school? I went on 1st day during recess to see ds2. I called out his name in the canteen and he backface me. He gave me that look that says 'why malu me? I'm not a baby anymore'.

My friend's daughter took grade 5 piano and grade 4 violin last year. Super loh. She was also top 5 in school. My friend transferred her to RGPS this year. From what I hear, besides piano and violin and lots of tuition/enrichment, her daughter doesn't have other CCA or activities. So young must study so hard and take so many exams also quite poor thing...

Yawn,
wah..your DD2 is indeed motivated to play piano for such long hours. Mine ds if can sit there and play for 15mins I would be happy already.

Maisy,
My fren's gal also going for grade 5 this mar, P1 she got her grade 3 already also from the top sch and she is one of those top in class as got collect prizes one. I wonder how those kids can do so well. Mine seems to do the minimum, ask him to learn spelling and ting xing yesterday he started to cry already. Sigh..

Hey Maisy Daisy, wow, ur ds also having Maths test next week? Soo soon ah? May I know what school is that? Sounds stressful....My dd didnt mention anything abt class test leh...*scratch head*..hmmm....

mom,
my gal in NYPS.

Maisy
I was still grumbling then yours even earlier. Well at least they can enjoy CNY with no need to prepare for test

My son juz showed me his Eng/Maths remedial class form last nite. Spoke with his teacher this morning in regard to the extra clas.

According to his teacher, usually cut-off mark for remedial is for student scoring 75% and below.However due to his high ability students, their class cut-off point is at 92%, thus my son has been selected for the class. Only 15 of them need to attend. Thus I am feeling the pressure as it means 25 students in his class are scoring 93% or higher.

RE: class test.
my boy said today they will be having a surprise test. I told him that since the teacher told them about it on Friday, it is no longer a surprise. He told me that since the teacher teach all 3 subjects, it is still considered a surprise as they were not told of which subject. I told him to treat it as a revision paper and most important to focus on checking.

RE Music
I would like to start my K1 on some form of music lessons. Which is the most 'economical ones'? Is learning 'electrone' a good start? my K1 is one who can hardly sit down to do his work, so i hope that music can train him to focus. Is Christophori good? Or should i start him on drums?

piano practice

dd2 used to attend nafa and the expectation is to learn a couple of new pieces every week. Very shiong, so ended up practising at least 2 to 3 hours a day or even more. She was in preschool at that time so still quite free but I don't think this is realistic once she starts primary school. Where got time? Anyway it's a great relief to us to stop nafa. Parents can't take it, haha!

And I'm really worried about her academic. After spending so much time on music, somehow neglected her Maths. Foundation nowhere as strong as her elder sister. Very worrying

fz

Start with group lessons. Seimpi is quite good for group. Or rather it is the only school I can find that still conduct group lesson for 5yo kids. Mine also started at 5. Found out then not many music schools have group classes for 5yo. Christopori and Kawai said they have only individual classes at this age. Seem like 5 yo is kind of late to start by their standard hor

avrilf

Huh 92% still need to attend remedial ??!!
That's high band 1 leh, shocking! I've the impression remedial is for weaker studens only.
Arh, your ds school is very on

justjazz

I noticed this year spelling list is longer. Words much tougher too. I think I relied too much on spelling editor, can't spell some of the words in spelling list, my dd1 buay tahan when she found out mama couldn't spell either, paiseh paiseh

maisy

Your friend's dd is impressive! Learning 2 instruments & yet do so well in academic!

Seem like music is on everyone's portfolio when applying for dsa. That's why I hope to add some music for my dd1. But I think I'm too late liao. Now then start, unlikely can reach grade 8 before dsa. If merely grade 2 or 3 nothing to boast about, paiseh to even include in dsa portfolio. I better hunt for another niche for her

Mom

Only attended 2 lessons so far. Too soon to pass judgement whether good or not. I'm keeping my fingers crossed. Hehe, seem like we kept changing teachers for dd2. 5th teacher !

mom,
My kids are in SAP school in the east. Their school I find qt laid back already. No remedial or extra class. Dd won't start CCA till late Feb. Homework also not a lot. So meanwhile, she relax 'kick leg' at home. I'm more kanchiong than her. I don't want to be 'last minute hugging buddha leg' in SA1 exam.

Yawn,
Precisely. All the kids now so superb. Grade 5 at 9 years old. Dd said her classmate taking grade 5 this year. I ask her to please practice more often. But she like bo chap, don't feel the pressure. Sigh....

Maisy Daisy
I let her go backnon her own! Her sch is two bus sto away from where I stay! Btw she is in neighborhood sch but she is in the best class!

Mom
Hi she is from Edgefield Pri sch! Which blk are u staying?

Forgot which mummy was asking me about the mould. Took a pics of a bear bread mould as I was making sausage bread with it.

5026017.jpg

5026018.jpg
5026019.jpg

Mind stretcher
Avril - Mindstretcher Science is also 2hrs right? Yr son is attending the classes at Bishan? Glad that yr son is enjoying himself in the class..continue to update us if there is any..Thanks

writer toolbox..I did not sign up my gal as the current English class cover a bit of writing. The toolbox class is a piece of writing per week, while the normal English class is alternate weeks, the other alternate week will be compre. So far, my gal is learning factual report writing, narrative writing. She will be given a list or rather a few pages of useful vocab and phrases that she can apply in her writing. They will also copy a model compo for their homework (using those useful phrases). Grammar wise, they are now doing transformation and synethesis. Overall, I am okay with the prog, it does provide alternate avenue for me to get my gal to do her weekly revision.

Jolene
I also sometimes find my gals ke lian..packed with classes on weekday and weekend..did yr gal make any complaints? My gal so far only complained that the higher chinese is difficult cos now she has to learn idoms and learn to write compo..dunno if all P3 has to learn or only higher chinese? My P2 gal sees her jie jie chinese spelling list..she already made up her mind NOT TO TAKE higher chinese.. @#@%$# I said I will be glad if she can do well for her normal chinese!!

I usu let them have some breather on weekend. Their enrichment classes (Mindstretcher/ballet/guitar) end by 2pm..so the rest of the day, it is leisure for them. Now I try to get them to complete their homework by Friday, so that weekend they can relax.

Transition from P2 to P3
Somehow I think P3 is a lot different from P2..no more easy peasy homework..really gotta start training my P3 gal to revise homework on her own..more independent. And now they spent longer time in school, I wonder if she will know how to utilise the longer break in between in the school, ie before she begins her school enrichment class. I suggested her to go to the library to do her homework or read her books..dunwan her to idle or fool around in the canteen for 1-2 hrs.

Yesterday my P2 gal came back and said she is being selected to join the gym class..that means another day in school..*faint* now that they are spending at least 2 days in school. I wonder if it makes more sense to pay extra for the chartered bus..need to work out my sum liao

Meals
For those kids in morning sessions, by the time they reach home, it will be 2-230pm? What do u cook for such late lunch? I usu cook simple one dish meal like noodle, pasta, sandwich (only when MIL is not around, else she will complain that I only let them eat loti), chapati, fried rice, porridge)..any other recipes/meal to share? I usu let them hv some teabreak/snacks (ie yoghurt, fruits, tidbits) around 4pm when they are usually very drowsy and tired. I tried not to let them nap else they will sleep thru until 5-6pm..dinner is usually served at 630pm..and by 9pm they shd be in bed. Dinner will be typical 3 dish 1 soup kinda. My mind is always thinking what to cook for next meal..esp when MIL is here..need to show her that I can prepare a balance diet meal for her son and grandchildren..ha ha..if she is not around, I will prob order pizza or ask my husband to pack dinner home..

FZ
For electrone, I think Yamaha gives free trial at CC..maybe you can check them out. I brought my gals for their trial class when they were abt 5-6 yrs old..but they were not too keen, partly cos the trial class was packed (abt 12) and they were kinda distracted..esp when some kids played the electrone while the teacher was presenting to the parents. For kids at 4-5 yrs old, I will suggest smaller group size..as some kids tend to have shorter attention span, and some like to go around disturbing others. If yr kid is mature type..then it is shd be fine. When my P2 gal takes ballet at 4yrs old, there were some other kids who CMI, kept disrupting the classes. The instructor had to tell their parents to stop attending the classes until their kids were much older.

Piano lesson
My niece practice her piano daily for an hour..I told my P3 gal that she shd do the same for her guitar..but hor..she only played 3 times and stopped. Hiaz..kept asking her if she is really still keen..and she said yes. I told her it is good that she learnt music but if she has no interest, then she shd drop it ASAP.

Bread mould
You can find similar one at Daiso or other major Japanese departmental store like Isetan, BHG. I bought many during my last trip to Japan esp those Kitty and Disney ones..now they are like white elephant. LOL I hv no time to cut the shape in the morning..only can do the typical sandwich shapes ha ha..

Hi Chicken Little,
you actually made your own bread? wow, impressive!

Hi Jolene,
yes, Mee Toh also started to put the kids in different P3 classes based on P2 results. My dd got into the top class but I am still worried about her....hmmm, she is too lazy...

Edgefield - is it the new Pri school that was opened like 2 yrs ago? I heard that the school does not start till 8am...true?
My dd school starts at 7.20am...so everyday, got to rush like mad...

Yawn Yawn: That is what I thought so when he passed me the remedial class form.Haiz...no choice. But also good so he will not be over complacent and avoid making careless mistakes. Told him to work hard and make less careless mistakes if he does not want to attend remedial class :p

I think is the teacher. He said they are high ability students thus wanna to help them to maintain the results or score better. He hopes they can score well for PSLE.

Bebe75: yes he is attending at the Bishan branch. Will update more info
Will know in term 2 cos they will select the weak student for science remedial in term 2.

I'd like to join in as well. My ds is in P3 too. We're staying in Punggol.

Currently, looking for help in English Composition. The way my ds writes makes me confused most of the time. Appreciate any assistance.

yawnyawn
seimpi is quite far from my place. the nearest is Ossia followed by Christophori. I now think about started ds2 later at around 6 yo when he is more settled down.

bebe,
i am not musically trained, so how to reinforce at home?

RE Time management
My elder boy really needs to learn to manage his time better. Today he came home telling me that they only have one pc of homework. So i decided to bring them to the library at the mall since we have this 'spare' time. When we were about to leave the house, i casually peeped into his bag and found a class journal. then he said now he remembered need to write class journal! i told that he can do it after the library trip and after dinner. Then at the library, he suddenly remembered that tomorrow have show and tell! he panicked. i told him to prepare for show and tell first after dinner and asked if he is allowed to delay submitting the class journal for 1 day. he said can. Then while doing his show and tell script, he mentioned to me that by next week, he was supposed to learn some basic excel at home cos of some school programme that is coming up. still have 2 spelling a week (science and english) and also tingxie. I think i am more stress than him!

fz,
You may want to try getting your elder boy to write down all the homework & action items in the school handbook. Easier for you and him to track this way, rather than based on memory. My dd also has this problem ...yesterday nite at 9.30pm told me she need bring some green beans and container to school. Asked her when did her teacher inform the students. She said 2 days ago but she forgot. Told her I could only supply her container and cotton wool, rest of the items she settles herself!

CL,
You really good leh with all the breakfast items. I have some bread moulds too but lazy to take out & try.

Oh hi jolene,
10th anni? Hmm, then this sch is probably not the same one that i was referring to and could view from my unit....

Supplementary class:

My son just started his supplementary class - twice a week. It is for Pri 3 onwards.
Yesterday, he came home almost 5.00pm! *faint*....

At seven - he has to go for English enrichment class - at the end of the day - he is very exhausted.... Hence, I will be pulling him out from this English Enrichment class.

However, his languages are not very good...Haiz...

Pri 3 - seemed to have more homework. I am also don't know how to find time to revise with him.
Come home about 6.30 to 7.00pm. Dilly dally pack his school bag, bring out worksheet that require my signature, eat bread and wash up....read abit and he sleeps at 8.00-8.30pm.

Even without supplementary classes, my dd can spend whole day doing homework. 1 paragraph of writing can write for 3 hours. Actual writing time, 10 minutes. The other 2 hours 50 minutes keep wanting to chit chat with me, walk in & out of her room, get distracted by a storybook nearby, blah blah blah.

Really make me fumed!

Supplementary class:
So far, dd's school has no sup class at all. She's qt free everyday. Can go to my neighbor's house to play somemore. Hearing all these classes worried me. Not sure if her school is too 'relax'.

Btw, has CCA resumed for most school?

Homework
Before the sch holiday, I went for the PTM and my gal's teacher had warned that P3 load is very much heavier than P2 load, because the sch had to teach additional subject - Science within the same school hour. As a result, kids no longer can complete their worksheet in school has to "da pao" them home. Currently, my P3 gal is staying back in sch twice a week, while P2 gal is thrice a week. They reach home around 4-430pm, really no time to do assessment liao. Hence, I can only guide them to manage their time properly. I think as they proceed further to P4 and upper level..they will spend even lesser time at home, so I hv to trust them to be able to plan their schedule themselves.

FZ
I am also music idiot..ha ha only took up music for a year when I was P5 (kena forced by my father). Therefore, I could not coach my gals. For my P2 gal who is taking ballet, I only get a copy of the CD from her ballet teacher, then I will ask my gal to practice her dance step while I play the CD. As for my P3 gal, I will ask her to play guitar for us at least once a week. I could not tell if they did it correctly or wrongly..but so long as they "practise", I just let them be..

mommies

how many periods of science is in your kid's timetable?

my dd only has 4 periods of science, not much emphasis so far

YawnYwan, my DS also like that..talk non-stop with my MIL except doing his schwork. Sigh..

MaisyDaisy, my DS CCA started last week. See him so tired at the end of the day so heartache. Ended up next morning, his dad sent him to sch so that he can sleep 30mins more.

bebe75, me too no music sense. Hence DS cheat or not I also do not know. So for me, as long as he is willing to touch his piano I am happy already.

bebe75

RE: Homework
I agree about no time to do assessments. Unlike past 2 years, i have decided not to handhold my boy any more as it is difficult to even get him to touch the books with the increased homework load and the poor time management. I told him that I will still set a side a small home task for him to do and he needs to manage his time to be ahead of schedule - i will not bug him to complete the assignment; he is to put completed work in the outbox and i will mark whatever he has done. I will no longer remind him of the need to prepare spelling or tingxie because it is a weekly event. He will have to approach me to test him when he has done revising it. If he forgets, he bears the consequences.
I told him that i hope that he can better manage his time and that letting him be responsible for his own studying is the first step that i must make even if i am expecting a drop in his performance.

So tired of nagging already. Dont want to strain our relationship further.

fz

this year I assign dd1 more housework.She washes dishes at least 3x a week in the afternoon, help to hang socks, keep her folded clothes in wardrobe and change bedsheets

Maisy Daisy: My son's school is resuming most of the CCAs next week. Swimming is starting this Fri.

Re: Homework
My son does not have the time to touch my assessment books too. His tests will be end Feb and I am beginning to worry.

Everyday he has homework and 1 spelling and 2 tingxie (1 sch and 1 Hua) to learn. Now I dont even allow him to nap but he will be so tired by evening time.

Last night he came back with the IT learning schedule cos he is in the IT class. During his school holidays, he will need to go back for 3 days in Mar & Sept holidays and 4-5 days in Jun & Dec holidays.

I am really hoping he can learn to manage his time and start to plan.

Yawn2: Tried getting my 2 sons folding their clothes on weekend - complained = why must fold clothes.... so many clothes to fold... lazy bums....

FZ: My older son - still have to constantly remind him - tomorrow got spelling/ting xie - pls remember to learn - Haiz... still not auto pilot yet...

Younger son - Pri 1 - don't have school homework, I give him my own homework - assessment book for him to do (don't want him to have too much idle time - otherwise - watch lots of cartoon or whatever show MIL is watching and playing...). Reach home - some of the given homework - not done.... I have caned him before for not doing his homework. I was thinking cannot be keeping canning him... got to think of something to motivate him to do the work....
Any advise? Thanks

Test
I think my older son will have topical test next week. I thot is kinda of early....

juz me,
For me, it's another set of problem. Hub very sim tia his kids do homework. To him, the kids are always 'baby' cannot be independent. So if I ask them to fold clothes or wash dish, hub will say I ill-treat the kids. Aiyoh....

Incomplete homework:
Sometimes my kids will claim that they "forget". I will scold, nag and scream at them. Then make them do extras (as punishment) on weekends. Didn't cane them though.

housework

I hv not officially assigned the kids to do housework. Sometime I will ask them to put the laundry back to their own wardrobe, wash their own cups. However, certain chores are standard one which they shd do ie. make their own bed, pack their rooms, clear the table/eraser dusts.

Juz me
I came up with a reward system ie reward chart to motivate my kids. There will be a list of tasks/goals for them to complete/achieve, I will reward them points accordingly. And they can choose to accumulate/redeem the points to claim their rewards which incl play Ipad, facebook game, ice-cream treat, sticker collection etc. However, if they misbehave, misplace their things or forget to do homework. I will deduct points. So far, the gals are very motivated and I nag lesser too.

re: housewok

No maid leh, have to involve my kids asap otherwise I have to do everything by myself. Picking up after their mess already drove me up the wall. I told them repeatedly I'm not their maid. I'm only doing them a favour in the past few years since they were too young to handle all these tasks. So it's about time to return to them their rightful tasks. haha, mean mom hor. But I do praise them profusely for doing housework well lah

Hi Mummies ... my gal is also in P3 this yr ... she need to wear glasses now and i would like to know where is the best place to go for children.
Hers is 6/36 very bad

Hi CM,
welcome. Not sure where u stay, but I got my son's glasses made in Woodland Vista Point Level 1. So far the pricing is ok. Before that I go to AMK central most of the specs shops for qoutation, they quoted me min $120 for the glasses alone as my son is long-sighted quite high, hence need to have the glasses made in the lab. *faint* But at the Woodland there, I managed to have the glasses done at $60 exclude the frame.

My collegue recommended the following in AMK, which i have yet to try out:
Eye & I Optical Centre
410 Ang Mo Kio Avenue 10, 560410 Tel:6452 9353

Yawn yawn, my son started to help in the mopping and vaccum of the house on weekends (alternate) too.

Ok, can mummies advice me on the following if I am doing it correct or wrong:
I place $2 extra in DS wallet in case we forgot to give his reccee $$. And this morning, I found out that he had spent it despite I gave him $ daily since sch reopen. He told me he spent on reccess food on fri. Asked what he ate - Omettle rice, gluntious rice and also waffer. I find it is too much for reccess, hence I now not going to give him extra $2 in the wallet anymore. Do you all give ur kid extra money for emergency use?

justjazz,
I give extra money but in a separate purse in the bag. I told them cannot touch the purse unless emergency. Since it's not accessible, they have not used it since.

Over the weekend, there was an article on Tiger Mum. What kind of mums do you think you are?

I think I gear towards the 'tiger mum' category. Haha... I believe kids should be pushed (provided it's within their ability) because without some form of stress, they will just laze around and not perform to their full potential. But sometimes, it's me who is too lazy to push them. haha...

CM
my 5 year old son just diagnosed with astig 175 and 200. I just made a pair from him at kwong shin bras basah complex all in $105.

I also have spare money for my girl. She actually call me if she getting for snack. Otherwise she will use the coin meant for recess and lunch for stay back.

justjazz,
i give my boy $2 emergency money in his wallet too. if he had spent it, i will get him to replace the money with his own savings. he is pretty sensible with money. once, he borrowed money from his friend for an adhoc purchase instead of digging into his emergency money because he said i said cannot touch that money!

maisydaisy,
i believe that kids will tend to take the easy way out. unless i can sense the effort put in as well as the appropriate reaction to mistakes, i will tend to push my boy. now he wants to give up swimming lessons(i think he is preparing for silver) because he said it is extremely tiring. i refused because he mentioned the same a few years ago when he just started swimming. the easiest way is to give up. when he just started preschool, he said he does not want to go to school too!

Hi Maisy Daisy,

RE: Tiger mum
The book by the author was much debated worldwide. I think I am both tiger mom & western mom. To DD1, I'm a tiger mom. She is pretty slack in everything, leave her to herself, she will sit/lie on the same spot watching cartoons/reading books for the whole day. So I have to push her to go for tuitions, do assessment etc. To DD2, I'm a western mom. She is self motivated and thrives on compliments. Push her too much, she rebels.

justjazz

I placed $2 emergency money in my dd's school bag, separate from her purse. In case she forgot to bring purse to school, can use her emergency money

She used her emergency money once recently, to make a donation. As she's only left with $1 after recess, she top up her donation to $3 with the emergency money

maisy

I think I'm more of a western mom, hubby always say I 慈母多败儿, can tolerate their nonsense. I know it's not good because my dd1 climbed over my head liao. But when pushed to my limit, I will transform into a tiger mom & discipline her. But that kind of moment cannot substain for long leh. After I 消气, I forgot all about being a tigress.

And I don't push them to go or enrichment or learn piano, art etc etc. I always ask them you very sure you want to attend? Think first hor, don't wait till I paid fees then change your mind. If you don't like, please tell me earlier, we stop the classes & I keep my money in the bank, haha! I told my kids to send them for classes means parents more tired leh, must gong gong wait down there, drive to & fro

Alamak, I think I'm the one being pushed

Maisy/Bebe: Thanks for your replies. I will probably try out the reward system

Glasses: Haiz... both wear glasses. Bought 1 for my Pri 1 boy - S$95.00 - 100 myopia.
My elder boy - S$120.00 - 300 myopia, 50 asti.

CNY
Have you bought CNY clothes? I bought a few T shirts for the kiddos.

CNY cookies
What is a must CNY cookies for you?
Its a must-love letters and pineapple tarts for me - as these are my favourites.

Spare $$
Both have "emergency" money - S$2.50.
Their daily allowance - $1.50
Friday - $2.50 as the school ends late.

I gave $2 as emergency money. So far he has only used it once last yr when he forgot to bring his stationery to school.

Daily allowance: $2 (Complusory savings of 60cents)
Extra class or CCA day: $3

Juz me,
40% of my dd's classmates wear glasses. It seems like a norm now.

My soft spot is bak kua and pineapple tart but this year seem too busy to buy.

I only give my gal $1.50 for daily allowance if she has to stay back then it will be $3 so far i did not prepare any extra cash for emergency! I really pity her! She has so much HW to be done on daily basis.... Heartache!

Jolene

Can feedback to teacher? You will be surprised, teacher does listen

Last year dd's chinese teacher assigned an impossible amount of homework to the class. Her Chinese teacher is good, just abit too on, haha! During meet teacher session, quite a number of parents feedback too much homework and her Chinese teacher reduced their workload by 40%

For eg. not all Chinese homework are 'necessary'. Some are like art & craft which is time consuming, need to search for materials, cut & paste. Good to have since the kids learn more about a festival but it shouldn't take too much time to do. And some worksheets need to draw a lot of things. Creative teaching I guess? But I'm old school, aiya just give written worksheets lah, chop chop finish liao