(2002) Any 2002 babies?

Hmm which dr did u guys go to? I am schedule to do one on 27 Jan with dr Julian theng at eagles. I also have astigmatism.

Yes yes finally I got the class allocation 1 hour ago!!!! Juz confirmed one of her best Fren in same class. Now waiting for rest of her Fren mummy to reply

Natellehchim,
In my friend & colleague's case, enhancement doesn't help. You may want to seek 2nd opinion 1st.

CL,
I had my lasik done 5yrs ago at national eye centre by dr chan wing kwong. dr julian theng was still with nec then and was already very popular.

Re: lasik
Tks for advice. I will try to tong whether can do without lasik. I reckon now my deg about 75.

CL
I did my lasik at Lasik Clinic at Paragon. It's one of the more established private clinic but that was 3 year ago. A few of my colleagues also went to that same clinic under Dr Marc Tay (I think). They allow for instalment payment.

Btw, Popular is having 20pc storewide sale till 2 Jan (sun). So if you forget to buy any books, it's the time to grab... lol

Happy new year!!

Hi maisy, i went to the same clinic as you but gotten dr jon instead. Now one eye is 125deg n astig back to origin 150
the other eye abt 50, keep it to compromise lau hua in future. Maybe ur 75 can be kept so.

My coll recently went for lasik too, his astig was super high 400-500plus but the lasik only help to reduce half of his origin. Makes me feel that it does help myipia but not astig alot.

I have been giving a thought too. So far my gfs have no issues from the lasik treatment and no enhancement required.

I am still trying to see how long I can go through the contact lenses and spec hassle

I did my lasik (wave front) more than 6 yrs ago..so far no issues..but I rem one of my eyes was undercorrected due to astig, and I did not choose to go for the free enhancement. I sort of gotten used to it..and so I declared myself as "perfect" eye sight, so long as I am "specs free"

R yr kids looking forward to sch? Mine said she misses her friends liao, but then she will miss FB too (cos I forbid them to play FB after sch holi)

I asked her to try her sch uniform this afternoon and realised that she had grown taller and fatter..ha ha..gotta adjust the buckle tomorrow.

My kids are looking forward to go back to school! My gal already know who is her form teacher already. But she has to go for her braces on the 4th @ NDC...

Hi bebe, same like u i juz live w my astig n bal degree, getting use to my eyesight. Already happy that i need not hv to carry that heavy n thick glasses on my nose

Hi Jolene, so fast ur gal going for braces, meaning all her teeth are fully grown? My kids still have quite abit of lobangs, not grown out yet. Haha....

Avrilf,
My only regret for lasik was to have done it earlier! The convenience of being specs free outweighs all the discomfort.

Jolene,
What is reverse bite? My boy has 2 gaps (1 left and 1 right side) next to his 4 front teeth. It has been 'empty' for almost a year. Wonder if we should go for X-ray. Is it a concern if there are "lobangs" for so long?
If I want to investigate further, how to get dental appointment at NDC? Do we have to go through the school dentist to get an appointment?

Mummies w kids in Am session last year,
This year onwards, my dd will be AM session. What do u give them for BF? If the schoolbus arrives at 6.50am, I thought of giving dd half hour to prepare (dress + bf), is it enough? And what time should they sleep? She is used to sleeping at 10pm and wake at 8am. Do your kids take afternoon nap after school? Sorry so many questions...

Hi maisy

Reverse bite means her lower jaw teeth cover the upper jaw teeth....the correct order shld be vice versa.

I let my kids go to bed at 9 pm.... For me 30 mins is ample to let her get dress n eat bf... But again it depends on individual child...some needs more time! As for bf I prepare bread,oats n sometimes noodles soup

Hi maisy

She was refer by the sch dentist to the NDC if you are concern you can get the sch dentist to get you a referral letter to NDC

Hi Maisy,
Even my kids when they are in PM session(My elder one will be in AM session this year), I gave them milk with brown rice(in powder form). They had been taking this since 4 months old. My mother commented that brown rice will make them full.

So I will still continued doing it this year. Kids should not go school empty stomach.

My kids usually take sleep around 1030 to 11pm. But starting tonight, will make them sleep at 9:30pm with around half an hour bed time story.

Jolene,
I just realised from ds that the dentist cleaned his teeth twice last year. He didn't tell me about it. I was still complaining to hubby that we should bring him to dentist. Will call the school and ask about the procedures of referral.

Tonight will try to make the kids sleep early but I think they will be too excited!
so fast school reopens...

maisydaisy,
my boy's front teeth also have big gaps. hoping that when his remaining adult teeth grow out, they will auto correct.

my boy's school starts at 7.30am. we leave the house at 7am (travelling 10min plus). he woke up at 6.15am. i give him his milk and usually bread and jam/peanut butter or i buy cheesecake (eg those round ones in giant supermart) or just bread with cheese. he is a small eater.

First day of school ... sent dd to BASC this morning as she's in pm session. My new resolution for 2011-> to help dd improve her chinese ....

The p3s are supposed to help the p1s buy food during recess, hopefully dd can manage, she's very blur one...

Jolene,
my son was given a referral to attend the braces talk. The NDC dentist recommends only to start braces when all his teeth has been replaced by the audlt teeth.

Maisy Daisy,

Managed to get my son to bed by 10.30pm last nite cos he has to wake up at 6.30am this morning. Hubby drove him to school at 7.05am as they were supposed to be there by 7.15am.

I gave my son a bowl of cereals with warm milk as breakfast.

Might get some bread and butter later for tomorrow breakfast.

Hi Avrilf

Hers were quite urgent so need to be rectify immediately! She had her braces on this morning cried a little as it was painful but overall she was brave!

My girl had tuition till 9.30 pm. Dilly Dally lights out at 10 pm. Not sure what time she ko. Woke her up at 6.15 am. She took breakfast and was ready by 6.45 am. We were all waiting for her daddy and we left house at 7 am. Reached school at 7.16am just nice before 7.20 haha

I juz realised that her student care has already completed chapter 2 for chinese. And based on last year P3 , i think before end of Jan , she probably will have her first chinese test soon. sigh sigh sigh.

Wondering how is her first day with new teacher

Chicken Little,
wah. the student care so on. my nephew's student care has started them on science during the holidays.

avrilf,
i usually avoid giving butter with bread because i worry butter is too oily for 'morning stomach'. :D

Fz,
I'm avoiding butter too, to control cholesterol. My kids like nutella and peanut butter. Also equally unhealthy though. I goggled online for oat granola recipe and made some honey oat granola for my kids BF. It tasted like biscuit but are all oats, honey and some almond flakes, I only put 1 tblsp of butter and no sugar. V healthy.

This morning for BF, she only drank milk and 2 strawberries, refused to eat any solid for bf. Hope can gradually convince her eat more.

CL,
Is the tuition provided by the student care sufficient? Do they do assessments everyday? How about spelling?
My gal still holiday mood loh, ask her to read science, she read a few pages then complain sleepy. But when she plays Wii, can play for hours.

Maisy Daisy
My girl joined since jul last year at student care. So far i dun have to worry about homework not done, spelling and tingxie , the teacher would have tested her twice before the actual.

She has more confidence in class as she is more prepared for class now. They have lots of worksheets actually and they are have removed naps for P3 onwards. Each month I will receive a stack of worksheets she does in school and everyday the teacher will update the communication on what is done and highlight weaknesses. So I am fine with the student care.

Just that out of 5 days my girl will have CCA for 2 days and these 2 days she will miss english and science. Hence I decided to get the tutor back to coach her for that. And she is also doing Chinese creative writing with Busy Bee

Wow I must try your honey oat granola. share share recipe ?

BF
I usu give them bread (with butter/kaya/jam/cheese), steam buns, cereals and milk..never allow them to go sch with empty tummy.

My gals woke up at 530am..by 610am..they are ready. Sch bus will arrive at 620am. I will nag them to prepare for bed around 830pm..they will dilly dally..wear PJs, brush teeth, chat chat chat, read books before they KO around 930pm. Yesterday they had swimming lessons in the late afternoon, they were so worn out that they KO by 9pm..I wonder how we will manage when the sch works start to come in...

Thermometer
Can I check what kinda thermometer did your kid use in sch? My gals got theirs from sch bookshop, quite cheap..I think around $6-$7 but I find the quality like no good..gotta replace 2 within a year. But I do not wanna get too ex..in case they misplace it..any recommendation?

Bebe,
My thermometers are those cheap digital ones from guardian.

CL,
The recipe is v easy (considering I don't cook also know how to make.. Hehe).
1) Turn on oven 200deg. Melt half bowl of honey + 1 tbl spoon butter in a small bowl. Put microwave 15sec. Add 1/2 tsp vanilla and stir. Put aside.
2) Put 1 1/4 bowl of quaker oat in baking tray. Sprinkle 1/2 tsp cinnamon. Mix in flaked nuts, sunflower seeds, flaxseed (optional). Ensure all are well mix.
3) Pour in the honey mixture into the oat and stir till well mix. Add some more oat or honey as deem fit (more honey will be softer less crispy).
4) Bake for about 15 - 20 min in oven till turn brown. Check and stir the mixture every 10 min.
5) Last step, add in mixed fruit (raisins, cranberries, dates) as per preference.

It's my 2nd attempt tonight and I added flaxseed for omega this time ; p

How are your p3s coping with the new school term? My dd has a strict form teacher this yr. She's a bit stress but I secretly hope that by having a fierce teacher, dd can be more meticulous in her work and overcome her carelessness ...

thanks Maisy
I will try it out

Cookiepie
mine still in bonding week so they have not have lesson at all. collecting books etc.

This round she got a male form teacher I feel not bad - teaching maths and science and he is the level driver for maths so should not be too bad.

She is ok with her english and chinese teacher too.

As for my gal she has a very strict Chinese teacher as she was in the best Chinese class. Whereas her form teacher only teaches English and science! She has ta male teacher to teach her class math. She is fine with the teachers except the Chinese teacher... Sch has start giving homework so everything is back to routine!

This week is like a bonding week as they are in new class. My gal sits right behind at a corner as she is one of the tallest in class. So far not much hm work. When she reaches home, it is just a bit of maths homework then tv and read her storybooks. I wish she could take nap. Always good for kids to sleep more. Anyone knows when Cca will resume?

CL,
My oat granola was a hit esp with my dd cos she is a biscuit queen. They both finished all in a day.

this year, my boy's form teacher is also fierce. so my boy is at bit jumpy cos a big change from his last year's very nice/softspoken teacher. they already had homework during first few days (hope my boy can better manage his time because he spent almost 30min on a simple piece of work...ie 4pc of work takes up 2 hrs!) and spelling yesterday. just like 2 days back he has 6 pcs of homework and i told him not to waste time/spend too much time on those non-academic stuff (eg like art and craft stuff) and he said all pcs of homework are important. -__-"

first week of school only and my boy has already 'identified' who and who is teacher's pet. lolz.

This week not much school work. I think teachers only started teaching yesterday. I brought my dd to watch movies & have hi-tea in the afternoon. Relax first, haha!

Uniforms still out of stock!!!

Hi mummies would like to seek your help to recommend a good english tutor for P2 in the west side. Asking for my sister
. Thanks in advance.

First week of school and my gal was sick on sat. She has fever and vommitted. Slept the whole of afternoon on sat and sun. I think the change in timing and lack of sleep has taken a toll on her.

Maisy
Be careful and do let the dr checked. Because there is a stomach flu bug going around plus mycloplasma too.

Me too suffered from stomach flu during last few days of 2010.

Maisy,
There has been a flu bug going around plus the bad weather. You take care yourself too.

The effect of fierce teachers can be seen/felt on my dd immediately ...when I returned home from work last fri at 7pm, I was surprised to see her doing her maths homework (before dinner)...last yr, she would wait till 8 plus (after the winx club cartoon) and after repeated reminders from me before doing her work reluctantly.....

So fast now 2nd week of sch. This week CCA started. My son is excited..wondering hope he can better manage his time. CCA i find started too late lor..only at 3:15pm. It is a norm?!

I am sick of giving my son bread for breakfast. Though he does not mind, but i mind lor.
Think I need to be hardworking abit to wake up abit earlier.

Dd recovered from stomach just last month. She's prone to digestive problems. This morning, I ask her whether she's well enough. She very excited want to go to school. And since she slept the whole of sunday and fever has gone, we let her go. But next few nights, must make sure she sleeps early (9am sharp!).

Justjazz,
Dd's CCA starts only in Feb. All the CCA will start at around 1.30pm and ends 3.30pm. DD request to stay back in school till 6.30pm and take school bus back. Reason is because many of her friends will also be in the library to do schoolwork. If they really stay back to do work and/or read books in the library, then fine enough. I will monitor a few weeks to see her 'performance' then decide whether to fetch her back immediately after CCA.

Maisy, that's good to have CCA starts and ends early. Mine ends too late i think. Come to think of it, it does makes sense. Cannot exercise after lunch. Also told him to do his sch work in library before his CCA. Now he wants to take sch bus back also.

Mummies, any idea how to wash muds off the sch uniform easily? I brushed like crazy last night to get rid.

Hi mummies, i happened to chance upon this thread...so happy to have mummies to talk to regarding kids of the same age group....

I have 2 kids - 8+ yrs old gal (P3 this yr) and 6+ yrs old boy (P1 this yr). It had been a hectic beginning to 2011 as my gal is in the morning session this yr....she still had not gotten the habit of waking up early...

Quesions:
1. What interesting breakfast do you prepare for your kids in the morning before they head off to school?

2. Do your sch going kids attend any addtional tuition or supplementary classes? I am looking for Eng and Science classes for my P3.

Appreciate your sharing, thanks!

Hi juz me, wow, roti prata for breakfast...then u got to go and buy in the wee hours? Possible to get? Heee...me lazi mummy....jus did some pancakes or scrambled eggs + toast...

Anyone has anything to share on tuition centres? I have been looking for some really gd centres for Eng and Science but have not managed to get anything get.....so tiring to search for the kids...

Do ur kids like math? I have problem in getting my gal to do her math homework given by her tutor! Do not know what to do with her! All she knows is to cry when she encounter more challenging sums...headache!

Jolene
Are the questions too difficult for her? Now I see that the maths questions for P3 is somehow more lengthy and trickier. The concepts are the same, but I must train my gal to read the question CAREFULLY.

This year their school started with single sessions and hence they end their school later by half an hour on Mon-Wed. So when she reached home, it is almost 215pm liao..nag her to lunch/bath..almost 330pm..She could not take nap liao..only can close eyes for 15 min..cos I need her to finish her homework/tuition work/learning spelling and tingxie before dinner at 630pm. In between I will let her have 15-20 min break. Currently, she is hving swimming lessons and chinese enrichment every Tues/Thurs..weekend she has maths/english tuition as well as music..already complained to me very tiring. I told her I will have to observe her progress for SA1 before I adjust her workload

hi bebe75,
are u a SAHM? cos i read that your gal have lessons during weekdays....my gal could only have lessons on weekend as we are working parents....so i find it tough for her....may i know what centre does ur gal attend for her eng, math and chinese lessons?

Also, for the music, currently my gal's teacher charges $130 per mth for 30 mins once weekly. Her lesson is 1:1 but i find it too costly for only 30 mins...How much does urs charge and where does she take her lesson? Could you share with me pls?

For breakfast:
- bread with jam/cheese/nutella/hotdog
- Quaker oats, the cook type (not the instant one).

My son is attending Chinese Enrichment at Han Language Centre on Sat and Creative English at British Council on Sun.
He also has Math tuition at home every Tues.

Hi Mimosa, my gal also attends Han Language Centre on sat at PP. Her class is the compo and compre one...she had been taking for the class since P2 but i somehow find that it is quite light and easy....not sure if it is my expectation is too high.... :p