(2002) Any 2002 babies?

Maisy

Not sure leh. Compulsory in my dd's school, everyone must sit for it. Yet to receive any results

Heard from another forum mommy that her dd from another school received her ICAS cert last Tue

Sleepy,
my boy got back his ICAs (computing) results; credit nia, cos he seldom touch the computer for project work.

HI Mummies,
I heard from my son that the ICAS result is released. His classmate, a girl, who is top in school got a prize. It's a pity that I did not let him take the test as his classmates feedback that the paper is easy.

ANyone here started preparing for SA2?

Hi fz,
Your son is very clever. I think since the kids always think that we make them do a lot of assessment, they wanted us to do the same. I always ceck their answers going through the question myself and mark because my kids are watching me. In this way, I can understand more if they make careless mistake.

mommies

Did you go Popular fair at Expo?

A set of 10 EPB Chinese reader only $5. I bought 2 sets. Very old stock but doesn't matter lah

I didn't buy assessment books though. Too many at home

Hi Yawn yawn,
You are right.
Yes. The ICAS.

I just went to popular fair.
It's a good bargain for the chinese reader. Too bad I did not saw it.

I bought a few assessment books that costs between $2 to $2.90, for next year. Very kiasu, right?

Oral tomoro! and we are not well prepared....
guess not having SA1 made us complacent and now it takes more than 1 week to try to bridge this gap (we only gotten the exam schedule 2 weeks back). haiz!

HI Fz , i also be relaxing cos not hving SA1 , normally i won't prepare Oral for my gal, i more "ganjiong" her written maths & english.... do you send yr son for tuition? i think of sending smwhere nearby so need to seek your opinion..

Ling,
i have to prepare my boy for MT oral cos he does not speak mandarin at home; need to get him to memorise common terms (eg zebra! hippo! cos he doesn't speak mandarin, so he tends to forget these terms if not used frequently...haiz!) else he got nothing to say if such come up! luckily today he did not do MT oral, so at least i still have today to do some last minute brushing up...

my boy has tuition for Chinese. he is quite weak in Compre; sometimes, he told me he don't understand the questions at all!

Yawn Yawn,
ya! i feel that the sch should at least let us have the exam schedule early; 1-2 weeks notice for oral is too tight! every year at this time, i will nag at my boy for not speaking mandarin at home....

Jolene,
ya, need to get the momentum started; have to revised whole year's work....

fz,
dun 4get to tell him to tell him wat's de chinese word for foodcourt n hawker centre.

my gal's exams r next mth ... started her on exam papers durin sep hols but progress has been slow since sch re-opened ... has anyone done de St Hilda's SA2 maths paper yet? can enlighten me wif solutions of a couple of questions? heehee ...

jh,
thanks! My boy had a hard time remembering 'foodcourt' in chinese, so i told him to say 'hawker centre' instead for all public eating places.

maisy,
i think 'foodcourt' is shu2 shi2 zhong1 xing1 and hawker centre is xiao3 fan4 zhong1 xing1.

There is 4 days PSLE marking day so the kids will be lazing at home. In order to make sure they fully utilize this period, I'll be taking 4 days leave concurrently.

fz/Valerie,
Thanks for the translation. Will go home and tell my kids to remember!

I will not be taking leave this time round.

Have started preparing my kids for this coming examinations. Everyday only revise with them for 1 hour. Thr progress is still ok, but sometimes they are too lazy to do anything. My son(P2) has almost completed the 2nd mathematics assessment book. Maybe will try to get him to finsh everything by this week as I wanted to concentrate more on english and chinese.

My daughter(P1) is also on the way to complete her mathematics assessment book, but her progress is slower than her brother so need more time to coach.

For me , target this week to complete all first half of the year topics for both Maths and Chinese

English I din do much just focusing on comprehension

Oral - reading 1 passage every night before sleep

Chinese - after each chapter, will do an assessment exercise on same chapter.

Sometimes she has work from school, I just let her off for that night. Over the weekend I will catch up on what is to be done for that week.

1 Oct - she will get to enjoy 1 full day of play to relieve some stress (if she has)

I am not taking leave either.

Yen Ling: Ur son completed the 2nd book. Mine still at his 1st.

I will try to focus on his chinese and maths in the coming 2 weeks before I travel. As for English, I will leave it to my hubby.

I have yet to have time to coach on oral. I will work on the oral issues provided by his teacher's last year feedback.

Chicken little,
How do you revise the topics? Go through textbooks? Do you give her exam papers to do? My gal keeps saying she has no time. Not sure is lazy or no time.

Seems like everyone has started preparation in one way or other ...I beta buck up...I've too addicted to playing games on iphone to coach my gal. She is still thinking of watching the geronimo stilton cartoon which will be debutting on otto next wk .....

I have not start anything yet. My dd's form teacher gave the class a revision schedule. Arh, we are 2 weeks behind that schedule.

There's a drawing competition at Espande on 1st Oct. My dd wants to go. I signed her last month without realising it's so near to exam. Now don't know whether to let her go. Will take one whole morning. By the time we are home will be late afternoon. If don't go can start revision this Fri

jolene,
you girl is pretty confident! haha.
i told my boy that i have no doubt that he know his math, but he needs to be more careful in his work. 11-8 he can still give me 4!!!

yawn yawn,
i have scheduled a SG Flyer outing (cos free tickets) before getting the exam schedule...think we will go with it...one day should be ok ba. heehee

RE FTWM Taking Leave.
although a SAHM, strangely, we don't manage to do much at home. also about an hour a day. other time of the day gonna do housework and cooking. additionally, after lunch, bathe, sch work, also not much time left before dinner. have not started on exam paper 2 preparation as now preparing for compo, both MT and English on top of his weekly TingXie (my boy asked me the purpose of memorising sentences in tingxie...-__-). Son's MT compo contents are ok, but he doesn't know how to write most words; his English compo skills are pretty lacking....cos he writes boring stuff. think i gonna go to Popular to get Model compo for him to refer.
Any recommendations?

fz

Me too, SAHM but seem so little time to revise with her. My dd wakes up 9:30am, dilly dally takes her breakfast and then it's time for me to prep for lunch and get her ready to school. In the evening lagi worst, she's tired so cannot study, usually just read story books to wind down before bedtime

Re: taking leave - thanks for the replies.

Most likely - I will take pm leave on the PSLE marking days. Need to save my leave as I will be taking more leave - MIL (caregiver) will be travelling.

Working mums -
How do you revise with your kids? Daily after work?
My kid needs to sleep at 8.30pm as he has to wake up at 5.45am to catch the school bus that leaves at 6.05am. Hence, it does not give me much time to revise with him when I reach home.

My SIL said - Pri 3 is a big jump and that will be lots of homework to do.....

Revision - Mummies can share how do you revise with your kids - Revise the school homework? assessment books? Exam papers?

gift vouchers

mommies

I want to buy gift vouchers as house warming gift. Do you have any idea which store gives a discount for purchase of gift vouchers?

Like maybe 5% or 10% off? Or something like Delifrance - pay $100 get $120 worth of voucher value.
Of couse cannot buy Delifrance vouchers as house warming gifts.

I'm thinking perhaps electronics store like harvey, denki or maybe malls gift vouchers would be appropriate. I don't have a specific preference so going with whichever offer a better deal

thanks in advance for sharing

Yawn

If you use Robinson card to buy the Robinson vouchers. There is a 5% rebate reflected on the bill - However, you may wish to re-confirm this with Robinson.

Maisy
I go topic by topic according to text n use assessment topic by topic too as revision

Will be doing past year exam papers by mid oct. Her student care has started revision using past year papers too.

Just did a run through with her on passage reading n picture conversation in preparation for tomorrow 's oral. Since her index number is 3, I think she would complete both by tomorrow

We just finished semester 1 revision. Coming week we will do semester 2 n prepare last few topics for Maths 11 oct, el compo sa2 on 14 oct n Chinese test on 15 oct

Chicken little,
Tks for sharing. My kids are having listening compre and english compo today. Keep fingers crossed... Not sure what can I do to revise compo. So merely ask them to read up on the Model composition books at home.

Can know if you intend to send your kids for science enrichment next year? I'm resistant to send them for more enrichment unless really can't cope.

maisy

I plan to send both to English enrichments next year. Not sure about Science yet. Will monitor her progress for term 1 before deciding. Meantime probably let her read some guide books during Dec school holiday and see how it goes

Yawn yawn,
Have u decided where to send them for English? I was considering Mind Stretcher English class. My friend told me it's good but she's is at Bishan. My nearest branch is east coast which is new so the quality of the teacher is not proven. And the class is quite big. The last time I enquired, it was ~10-20 kids per class. Not sure if it's still the same.

maisy

You live in the East too?

My dd went for placement test at learning lab. They're opening a new center at Mountbattan Square. Was offered a vacancy but decided not to take it up. Based on feedback gathered, seem to be all hype no substance, over-rated and thus not worth the exorbitant fees

I like Mind Stretcher too but I heard the better centers are at Bishan and Serangoon. Both too far for me leh. Tampines branch has been around longer than East Coast branch. Plan to check it out

Have you heard of RG Channel? I've not visited that center and so far not much feedback gathered. It's at East Coast.

The other alternative is Growan at Parkway but recently a mommy said don't bother because she's withdrawing her dd after 1 year, see no improvement.

So I'm still searching lor. Hope to conclude my search soon.

Hi Yawn yawn,
Yes I live in the east. I didn't like the Tampines branch. Firstly, the location is a bit out of the way for me. Car park space is impossible on weekends because it's at Tampines swimming complex. I didn't like the idea that the kids have to use the toilet in the swimming complex (safety issue). On weekends, the classroom looks small and crowded with many students. I'm not sure about east coast branch. Location wise is better, I can drop off the kids without getting out of the car. Yes, I visited about RG, it's near to Mo Lin, the chinese enrichment centre. My friend's son has been attending there for past 2 years. She say so far so good. Another of my friend whose daughter is there said that it's average. I'm considering that too because they have concurrent classes (so that my 2 kids can be together). I know a enrichment centre can't work work miracles. Ultimately also depends on the teacher and the child's desire to learn.

I have been thinking of signing my son up for Mind Stretcher's Science class.

Their class will be starting in Dec 10. Most pro I will register him for it since he has requested.

I am so worried if my son will be overloaded cos he will be IT class next yr and will have an extra 2hr class once a week.

Haiz...SA2 has not finished, we are already worrying for next yr

if to choose between English, Math or MT enrichment, which of the above will you mummies most likely go for?

For me I am leaving it to the student care. If she cannot manage science for the first term I will look for help.

I am switching Chinese Language class to writing class at busy bee.

And thinking if I should go for a creative writing class. I was recommended by a fellow parent at busy bee to go for Oak Tree which covers comprehension and writing so I am still thinking how I can make the arrangement yet not loading her with lots of enrichment

CL,
how much is busy bee charging for Writing class? what is the duration per lesson?

i am thinking of dropping chinese enrichment for english; but thinking whether to go for english enrichment or creative writing; on one hand, it is difficult to teach creative writing, but on the other hand, to spend the similar amount of money on an english component which only stands say 15% of the overall english paper...like that like not worth it leh. lolz.

Fz $449.40 for a term 2 hours lesson each week

I also think hard about English so was hoping to find one on covering comprehension too