(2002) Any 2002 babies?

Jh
share share your lobang for TC. Ha ha maybe I can complete my collection and loan to mummies here.

Bebe75
ha ha high hor but aiyo mummy dunno about model so difficult to cope. I din even know about 3 step model till you pointed out. Ha ha I better send email to teacher to double check.

Cookiepie
hee hee if you need chinese books I can refer you to my gal's ex enrichment chinese teacher. She can bring in books at good price.

My gal is having a chinese mock test next week before the end of term 1 (how time flies!!!)...I have focusing on her maths and english writing that I neglect revising chinese with her, except for the weekly tingxie. Now I have to dig out the chinese assessment and let her practise..

cookiepie,
My gal already receive the 1st Young scientist issue. I subscribe in Nov last year. Maybe that's why I receive it on time. Probably you will receive 2 issues at the same time. .

Is it normal that the kids will get a lot of mistakes for modeling? My dd keep making mistakes on this and the 3 - digits additions (e.g. 368 + 488). We told her this year her maths will get Band 3. But I'm still admanant to start her maths tuition. Want her to learn on her own first.

CL,
Thanks for offering. I will wait for the ch bks fm dangdang first to decide if books fm china are beta.

Jun,
Thanks for sharing the info on young scientist. I can't wait to receive the magazines, science is my favourite subject in school.

Been a long time since I last posted here. How's everyone.
So sian... so many tests and show and tell and class projects last few weeks. I think I am the one kang jeong... my boy didnt seem to be affected by the timetable. One more week to go...hopefully next week will be more relaxed.

Btw, anyone been to the new universal studio? Is it still opened?

sure CL. pls pm me your list of TC/RM titles n i'll chk wif him if he has them.

for mummies wif boys, he has Beast Quest n Gladiator Boys too. tink he used to carry bks fm de publisher, Orchard Books so some Enid Blyton n Magic School Bus titles may b available also.

my boy does not have CAs or SA1 this year. but they had Show and Tell today; teacher only told them yesterday and my son did not even told me about it until i checked his diary! he was very nervous during rehearsal at home; then today came home he said that he is nervous when doing Show and Tell in front of me but not infront of his friends. -__-!
do you mummies think it is impt to prepare for show and tell? or let it be imprompu

Whew! All the topical tests are over this week. This year, my girl's school made it compulsory to include show and tell's marks into the final term (5%, i think). Last week was her English show and tell on "My Favourite Animal" and this week was her Chinese show and tell on "My Favourite Chinese Book".

Fz, I think it is important to prepare for show and tell so that the children know what to say (or at least the rough structure). I got nervous when both the English and Chinese teachers emailed the parents, asking us to help prepare the scripts for our kids' show and tell! So, we started writing the scripts and getting my girl to rehearse it at home with the scripts.

My 2 cents worth:

This is juz so typical of our education system. Show and tell also must hv parental involvement, and graded. With so many tests n exams to be graded, why can't they let the kids have some room for creativity n fun, and let it be impromptu. Let the teacher guide them along during the session. The child shld decide what he/she wants to "show" (according to the theme, if there is one) and "tell" whatever is on his/her mind. I think show n tell shld provide a platform for public speaking (especially for the introverts) and on-the-spot thinking, where the audience can ask questions.

Having said the above, I will also prepare my kid if there is grading - being kiasu and "grade-fearing" parents. But through it all, fun and creativity is lost.

No offence to anyone who do not share the opinion.

Fz,
I didn't know some school is grading Show and Tell. I must check with the teacher. My personal opinion is the child and parent should be both involved in coming out with the speech. Admittedly, not everyone is natural born public speaker so a little preparation and practice will help boost the confidence level.
I myself definitely need a speech in front of me. Even MC on stage prepare speech and rehease beforehand, so it pays to be well prepared. Or maybe I am the timid one. I turn jelly when I need to speak up. I think this show and tell is good for the kids in long term. Our old education system is too rigid and focus too much on "sit down listen to teacher".

RE: Show and Tell

Thanks mummies for the replies.

Personally, i need preparation to public speak too; cos with preparation, i feel more confident; but husband is opposite; give him any topic and any crowd, he can just smoke his way through...:p

I asked my son to think of what he wants to say, then he gave me about 3 sentences, which is quite good in sentence structure. but i told him that content is insufficient and gave him pointers to include certain things; he came up with the speech. Husband told him to only memorise points and not the speech, eg to look at the different parts of the toy and talk from there.

During the rehearsal he is very nervous in front of me and clamp up
. Until husband told him to just keep the toy and do whatever he could the next day.

fz,
If I can avoid public speak, I will avoid at all cost. Lack of confidence lah.

When together we first came up with the speech, my hubby kept correcting her. It ended up that she stammer and stop whenever she made a mistake. So later, I ask her to relax. Even if it differs from original 'script', it's ok too. My gal said that some of her classmates cried when they need to speak up in class. The teacher ask them why when it's not time to speak, they keep talking in class. And now it's talking time, they keep quiet.

I have been quite a while since I read the forum.

My son does not have CA 1 and I am not sure if there are surprise tests in school. Maybe I will check with his teacher next friday during the Parent-Teacher meeting.

My son also told me that there will be a show and tell but the date has not been confirmed. He is planning to bring his mobile phone or his new lego mindstorm. I am trying to ask him to change to a cheaper item cos I am scare he will lose them.

Can anyone refresh my memory on 3 step models? I doubt my son's school has taught them yet. I have been a bit slack on Mathematics. Think I better work on that during this coming 1 week break.

I am also not sure on 3 step models. Can someone enlightened me?

My son got back his term english test paper yesterday.

Overall, still ok. But I think he is poor in his grammar. I need to work on that area with him.

Alynat: I agree it is sad that the system needs to grade Show and Tell! But like you said, it is only with grading that the parents get involved and start reinforcing the kids. A lot of nurturing has to be from parents - if they reinforce positively, this exercise may well be useful.

Fz/Maisy Daisy: For me, I wrote a script for her initially, but it is tough because it was not "from her heart". So she stumbled on my script. Eventually, she decided to write her own script and she can speak so well using her own script. I guess sometimes it is giving them some guidelines and letting them fly by themselves. It is also giving ownership and accountability to the kids.

Most preschools and kindys these days have show and tell, so I guess many of the primary school kids are used to it. Unfortunately, most of the schools only enforce this activity this year, so they had a one-year break, leading to loss of confidence again!

Show and Tell can be a torture for my elder gal as she is very shy by nature. She does not like to be in the limelight. Last month, she said teacher asked if anyone wanna be the class monitress..my gal said she looked away..hoping the teacher will not see her.

For her show and tell, it will be graded at the end of the year, I think. But teacher will encourage them to do improtu..just inform the teacher before hand so that teacher can schedule the time accordingly. I thought it was good, at least, for those less prepared gals, they have more time to prepare, and for shy gals like mine, it gives them time to up. Hope that my gal will not take long to warm up.

CYL, Maisy Daisy,
To me a 2-step problem is A has xx no. of toys, B has yy more than A, how many toys do A & B have altogether? A 3-step problem adds another step by stating that C has zz less than the total of A&B. So how many toys does C have? The method for solving the question is the same, just that my gal experiences information overload with the additional informaiton.

cookiepie,
Alamak, I blur liao. Maybe we should post some problem sums here for discussion purpose. Discussion will improve our own understanding?

for mummies who have de Teachers' Production Mathematics Process Skills bklets, tink there is a bklet on detailed step-by-step strategies for handlin model problem sums n another bklet for practice.

Cookiepie: Thanks for the explanation.

But if I rmb correctly, there had been some 3-steps problem sum in some of the Pri 1 assessment books.

The child has to be very careful. Usually I ask my son to try draw each model out after reading a sentence. That is a method taught during 1 of the workshop I attend. I think it is quite useful.

avrilf,
Yah, there's 3-step problem in some p2 assessment books too. My gal is just too stubborn to draw models despite repeated reminders from me. She finds it troublesome...

Today i just bought the my home tutor primary mathematics 2 cd, as there is a cd which they will teach us step by step in solving the problem, also include model drawing. Is meant for my gitl to practice on it, not sure she will like it or not.

Pin, can share whether it is useful?

Avrilf
Yes my gal finish 1 booklet of the math teacher prod. I find it qt good. Basic but good for beginners. If start off too chim could be a turn off.

did anyone subscribe to FAN-Math's multimedia lessons "i-Model Online P2"? is it gd? cos i'm attendin their wkshop 2molo n they r sellin dis at $50/yr, more than 50% disct fm Popular's price. theire assessment bks r also on disct.

CL,
my gal's sch's parent support grp organised dis wkshop 4 us. tink anyone can arrange wif them 4 wkshops.

sure. wat wld u like to get? their assessment bks r sold @ $6.50 each. popular @ $7.30/$7.80 each. P2 n P3 have a set of 5 bks sellin @ $30/set. P1 set of 4 bks are @ $25/set. let me know by 2nite cos wkshop's 2molo mornin.

jh
thanks. maybe you can get contact then I chiong parents from this thread and start a session ourselves if they allow.

can you pm me your account. I will get the P2 n P3 set of 5 at $30 and the online course at $50 ?

Hi jh,

Thanks for offering.

Dont think I want cos I am afraid history to repeat like last yr where I have a number of unfinished or untouched books :p

Let us know if the workshop is good.

Hi Jh...thanks for the offer..but I will give it a miss..like avrilf , scared that I may not have enough time to go thru all the assessments. As of now, I am not covering all the questions in the assessments..mainly focus on weak areas.

Finally, we have stopped MPM last saturday..so my gals shd have more time doing up the assessment books.

Term 1 break is coming..anyone sent their kids to holiday prog? I will be sending ng my gals to Ben&Jerry workshop at United square next tues. Hope they can have some fun time there..

Hi Bebe,

I have signed my son up for National Museum of Singapore's workshop on 19 March 10.

For 7 to 9 years (Primary 1 to 3)
Through stories and role-play, children are introduced to the culture, beliefs, symbols and writing system of ancient Egypt. They get to dress up as ancient Egyptians, and learn how to create craft mummies. This fun workshop ends on a high note with a tour of the Quest for Immortality – The World of Ancient Egypt exhibition.

bebe75,
Any reason why you stop MPM? I thought it's quite good. I'm trying not to overload the kids so decide to self-teach until I cannot cope &/or their exam results is not good. Besides, sending to enrichment also take up time.

I'm signing up my kids for 2-days Chinese camp at Buona Vista, Confucius Institute. Not sure good or not but want them to be exposed to Chinese culture in a fun way.

I have attended Lorna's Workshop: Getting Results in Phonics and Reading (Part 1 & 2). I think part 2 is better than 1 due to the presenter.

I have asked if they could introduce a crash course in June for lower primary students on phonics blending, decoding, etc. The presenter is the Director of Studies said they can consider if there is a demand.

Now looking forward to Getting Results in Oral Exams Workshop on 9 April 2010.

Caroline3sg

The workshop is held on 15 and 16 Mar, 1-3pm and 5-7pm. Cost is $20 per pax (10 - 15 pax per session) and include
- baking the cones/waffles bowl
- scooping the ice cream
- mould and bake chocolate chips

I know the sessions on 15 Mar have been fully booked..not sure if there are still vacancies for 16 Mar. However, I was told that they will open up more sessions if there is demand.
If you are keen, you can visit the outlet or call 6732 6996 to check out.

MaisyDaisy

I have stopped MPiM as I find it not suitable for my gal. My gal needs training on exam tecniques and also to focus on certain weak area. Most importantly, we are not comfortable with their English language usage which is confusing her unnecessarily.

I intend to give her chance (and myself) to do without maths enrichment..will be relying mainly on maths assessment and past year papers. If result does not improve by June..I will consider engaging a private tutor.

I think the main problem with my gal is that she needs constant practice to get the concept drilled inside her brain, and her mind is always drifting to her own la-la land. I was told Kumon might be suitable for her..but frankly speaking, I am already running out of time getting coaching her schoolwork, and kumon needs a lot of time and self discipline.

Hi Bebe,
Thanks for sharing on MPM. My girl is also the same. All her teachers comment she is always 'dreaming'. Recently, another teacher commented that she looks untidy. Even if send to enrichment I doubt will improve much. Looking at the bright side, by coaching her ourselves, we know her strengthes and weaknesses. We learn together bond together.

fz,
The website on the chinese camp. I signed up with my friends so can get 30% discount. If you keen, can add on and get the discount.
http://ci-ntu.com/english/programmes/student-programmes/3112-7th-Young-Confucius-Cultural-Camp.html?print

maisy daisy
the chinese camp is very expensive.

my son's sch got 3 days chinese camp (9am to 12pm) about $40 (can deduct edusave) after subsidy. I didn't sign up coz nobody fetch.

bebe75
that's interesting but it's weekday.

caroline,
I agree it's expensive. My friend wanted her son to join and she agreed to fetch my kids to and from my place. So since got company, I thought of trying it out. Better than stay at home and laze around.

Maybe we should start sniffing out for good value camps in June holiday. Last year, did anyone join the Dr. Seet Science Camp. Would be keen to join this year. Also expensive. Around $500.

I just wonder whether it's possible to see any result in camp? The duration is afterall very short. Weekly classes seems better, at least there's consistent immersion of some sort.

By the way, sakamoto has maths workshop during March holiday. Can call up any branch to enquire.

Yawn yawn
Agree with you. For me, the main attraction of camps are that it's longer hours so in a way help "babysit" while mummy takes breather. Also logistically less time consuming. Usually camps are also less academic and includes some outdoor activity. I will still continue look for camps since my kids also enjoy them.