(2002) Any 2002 babies?

Ohohjazz,
Is the Wii modified? My friend say can get from Sim Lim sq but I haven't have time to racky yet.

Yawnyawn,
Do you intend to change school for your gal?

Finally!!

Nat,
i have sent the LPS English and Chinese papers to you to convert to pdf. pls send to Chicken Little thereafter. Thanks!

Chicken Little,
i have forwarded Ling (sishu007)'s LPS Math papers to you.
Thanks for collating.

Nat,
pls let me know if you have received the emails cos i thought i saw some email that i thought i sent and then accidentally close the tab too fast when i toggle the screen tabs. eyes sleeping already... talking gibblish now...:p

Has any mummy ordered textbooks online from pacific stores before? Is their service good? Thinking of order from them instead of popular bookstore coz they are the supplier for school bookshops and have the school specific items e.g. exercise books, handbook etc which popular doesn't offer.

Fz,
I have gotten the papers. Dun worry. Now pending for CL and will send out.

Nat,
For sembawang, will I be expecting a maths paper from you

Cookiepie
yup I ordered from them last year. First delivery missed a few things but they send me another delivery.

This year I do likewise. Lazy to go lug the books back

CL, just email to you my dd's papers.

I tried my best to erase the workings and answer, however please forgive me if i miss out any.

Really feel so blessed that i have join this thread. Everyone here is so supportive.

Today my dd will bring her report book back, will have to wait till this evening to see it.

Thanks Valerie

ha ha mine got hers yday but I dunno why daddy needs to scrutinised it so long ha ha. Everything is what I know from her papers woh.

Except her conduct lah

Got my boy's result..very disappointed with his english...band2..and the rest band 1..average 87%. He got all his grammer mixed up.

CL,
Do you want RSS exam papers? I maybe able to get it. Give me some time. Need to find time to erase erase the pencil marks.

Bp,
Cheer up. I feel that boys result usually lag behind the gals. Cos they mature later. Since he got band 1 and close to band 1 consider very good already.

ohohjazz
my gal's sch is not on Wendy Koh's website

BP
Understand how you feel..I also felt the same disappointment when I first saw my gal's result. Maybe to console you..my gal got band 2 for maths and chinese, band 3 for English. I was very disappointed with her English as it has slipped, but when I saw the overall mean score for her class and the P1 cohort, I felt relieved that she is not the worst. In fact, most of her peers are in band 3, the highest score is only band 2.

It is only P1..there will be P2, P3 and many more exam to go...so take it as a learning experience..hopefully our kids will learn to tackle exam questions more effectively as they progress.

bebe75,
Maybe i have too high expectation. He made so many careless mistakes for his English...eg fullstoop, comma..and got all his grammer wrong...lucky he is still strong in his vocab...at least now i know what is his weakness...

My dd is position 3 in class. Her SA2 chinese really pulled her result down due to the comprehension. She got 279/300 down from 284.5. All band 1 though. A bit disappointed in her Chinese, thought she could do better.

hi fz,
sorry for the late reply, did not on the web yesterday. Had already done your papers (LHPS) the same night you've send me and also forwarded to Chicken Little

Hi Chicken Little, did you receive them? Ya Maths is on the way, had problem that night for the Maths. Will send you soon.

For pacific bookstore, last year had tried them and collection on my son's orientation day. Quite satisfied. But for this year, I find it not so nice to use, due to they've changed their platform for online purchase. I was trying several times for my girl's books 2 days ago and had hard time meddling wit it. Lots of unnecessary steps required. Worst is the collection did not indicate the date of orientation, unlike last year. So ended up I gave up and decided to purchase them direct this coming saturday on my girl's P1 orientation. For the other books, will get from Popular then.

Maisy Daisy,
Nope, no modification. My fren checked for me mine new verison cannot modified. Hence, might need to wait await for the modification soultion to be out. From what I gathered, there is a software modification and hardware modification available in the market. Software modification can undo and still go back to the agent for warrantly, hardware is a no-no.

Hi Bebe75,
Not to be disapoointed in your gal's result. Some school purposely set their paper standard high so as not to let the children take exam easily one. If overall the result among the whole P1 is almost/around there then should be ok. Unless there is a wide gap from the average then we should be worry lor.

Today is the prize giving day for the lower primary in my DS sch. Tomorrow is then the actual overall one for P1 - P6. Award winners and P6 students only required to attend school tomorrow.

For pacific bookstore, i tried to order my son P2 books. Give up, on the web only available for his school P1 level only. After checking the price is also more expensive than Popular as popular is giving 5% online discount. Ended up ordered from popular all the textbooks and workbooks, which will collect at the selected popular store.

On my DS booklist, pacific bookstore actually defines compulsory items for the exercise book and stationary - stenils, color penciles, crayons etc. I find it funny lor, P1 already got stenils all these still need to buy?!? Anyway, will be asking hubby to pop by his school just to get the english books (popular do not carry) and the exercise books only.

For pacific bookstore, i tried to order my son P2 books on Monday. Give up, on the web only available for his school P1 level only. After checking the price is also more expensive than Popular as popular is giving 5% online discount. Ended up ordered from popular all the textbooks and workbooks, which will collect at the selected popular store.

On my DS booklist, pacific bookstore actually defines compulsory items for the exercise book and stationary - stenils, color penciles, crayons etc. I find it funny lor, P1 already got stenils all these still need to buy?!? Anyway, will be asking hubby to pop by his school just to get the english books (popular do not carry) and the exercise books only.

Just now went to check again, now can order P2 books already. Maybe I just order extra exercise books since I intend to have it delivered at cost.

ohohjazz

Same here, I tried to order from pacific bookstore for P2 text for the past few day..but only P1 text is avail. Now that you mentioned that P2 site is up..I will logon and check again later.
As for compulsory item - those stationery which you mentioned, those are listed as optional items in my girl's booklist.

As for my girl's result, I think the disappointment is more on myself..cos as a SAHM, ought to spend more time coaching on her weak area. Getting the kids' result is like getting my annual appraisal (minus the bonus)..ha ha..

Yesterday spoke to my hubby who is away on overseas trip again, he consoled me that the results, though not satisfactory, are considered okay. At least, her conduct assessments were excellent - my gal was awarded the pupil of the month. Her classmates voted her for the most thoughtful/helpful girl in class.

ya pacific maybe slow in putting up the booklists. I've gotten my gal's booklist weeks ago with her orientation pkg, and intend to order online so that i can collect them on orientation. But the booklist not in yet, so I've called the bookstore and they tell me, will only put up 1 wk before the orientation... then now me having problem with their online purchase. OMG!

I would get the books from Popular. Then buy exercise books & files on orientation day. Orientation day this sat is meant for P1, but would try to sneak in.

Your children have been given P2 booklist? Mine has not don't know when the sch will post it online which they did last year.

Bebe,
It will be good to teach children strategies in studying or perform well in exam so that they learn as a habit to check their work before submission. e.g. underline/circle keywords, do working for all maths sums & check answers with working etc. My ds is usually quite careless even his teacher made the comments in his report book but I made him practise my strategies for his SA2 so that he minimise errors in his exam. But language has to be built up tho. Fortunately he did well for exams overall 95% & I am v happy for that.

I have not tried Pacific before. I will be buying his books from his school cos the pricing with Popular after 5% discount is +-5cents. Since I need to get his exercise books from school, thus more convenient to buy everything from sch.

I do not know what is the mean score in his class or P1 thus not sure how my son fares as compared to the rest.

Anyway at least this school term is coming to an end, thus we can rest and work harder for next yr.

mommies

I find it very expensive leh. Weekdays 1 day pass will cost $228 assuming a typical family of 4
Not sure whether they would sell packages like family pass or annual pass. Comparatively, Genting annual pass super super cheap

<font color="119911">Ticket prices for Universal Studios theme park Channel NewsAsia - Thursday, November 19

Ticket prices for Universal Studios theme park start from S$32
SINGAPORE: Visitors are one step closer to visiting Southeast Asia’s first and only Universal Studios theme park opening at Sentosa’s Resorts World, now that ticket prices have been revealed.

Sale of tickets should not be too far on the horizon, with Resorts World Sentosa announcing on Wednesday its one—day, two—day and express pass ticket prices that range from S$32 to S$118 to access all attractions.

"We have pegged ticket prices for Universal Studios Singapore at an incredible value compared to major theme parks worldwide," said Shirly Chen, Vice President (Sales Development), Resorts World Sentosa.

The Universal Studios’ one—day pass on a weekday will cost S$66 for an adult and S$48 for a child, with seniors enjoying a special rate of S$32. The pass will cost S$72, S$52 and S$36 respectively for visits on weekends and public holidays.

And if you want to avoid the long queues, you can buy an express pass costing between S$30 and S$68 — on top of an admission pass.

The price is also attractive for tickets to visit the theme park over two consecutive days, with the highest tag being S$118 for an adult two—day pass.

"As Singapore’s IR, a place for every Singaporean, it is also our aim to reach out to everyone, not forgetting grandmas and grandpas," said Chen.

Resorts World Sentosa will open early next year, with four hotels, a casino and a host of shopping, dining and entertainment offerings, along with the Universal Studios Singapore theme park.

Ticket sales and room reservations will be launched at a later date, in conjunction with exclusive packages for a charity auction.

Universal Studios Singapore will feature 24 attractions, including the world’s biggest single collection of DreamWorks Animation attractions such as the world’s first Far Far Away Castle from the world of Shrek, Madagascar theme park ride and the world’s tallest dueling roller coaster. </font>

wan wan,

pls share wif us yr strategies. my gal's teacher told her to underline n circle keywords but she still copies helping words or numbers fm questions wrongly! she claims she checks 3 times cos her teacher told her to do so but tink she checks de answers (which could b wrong cos she copied wrongly) instead of de question!

If you intend to buy bags from kinderfun, just to let you know that from now till 30 Nov, they will be giving $40 discount, while stocks last. Note that discounted items are not refundable/exchangeable and do not have warranty.
There will other promo in Dec but not as good as the $40 discount.

cookiepie
they need 7 days to process lor and no delivery on weekend. So though I order early I am only home on 7 Dec so I chose 7 Dec for delivery

For mummies who are ordering from the Pacific bookstore, do you order the chinese character cards plastic holder ($3.90 x 2)? This is an optional item and I did not order last year..wondering if I shd order this year.

I find that the boxes containing those chinese character cards are quite tattered after using for 2 terms.

my ds sch never use the chinese word cards. This year his booklist did not call to buy for these cards. My gal P1 booklist also did not call for the cards anymore.

So sorry to interupt, any mummies can advise me what's the different between normal chinese and higher chinese? Next yr, his school is going to change their MTL from normal chinese to higher chinese. I'm so worry that he's unable to catch up... TIA

bought my boy's school books!
bought the chinese cards again although they did not use last year; for self revision.
what card plastic holder? is it something like the photo album to slot the cards? can i get it from popular?

My gal also used it for term 1 and term 2. After that they were streamed into different classes during their MT lessons and she said the new MT teacher did not use the cards anymore.

For P2, it was listed as compulsory item..so I have no choice but to buy.

I agree with Fz - it is quite good for revision at home..at least we know what are the words that they must know..

Fz - re the card plastic holder.
I dunno if popular has it or not? Also not sure how does it look like..if it is like a booklet with slots, I do not mind buying.
My gal used the cards for 2 terms - and the box become tattered. Now the cards are loosely kept in an envelope, need to resort. We had instances of duplicate cards, and I had to ask my gal to return the excess to the teacher. I do not have confidence that my younger gal will take good care of her properties like my elder gal.

Hi bebe75 &amp; Fz

I did purchase the card holder for my gal &amp; I find it quite usefula sto prevent the card getting tatter abd noe her card is still in tip top condition...

Jolene
re the card holder - are we able to get it from popular? I think I better get one for my younger girl...I don't like to see those cards like "kiam chye" before the terms end.

To all mummies,
Popular does sell the card holder. It comes with protective holder. It is actually a small box. This year when I bought in in the beginning of the year, it costs around $5.80

Fion: The students are supposingly to learn more chinese characters in Higher Chinese. He should be able to handle it.

Fion,
Higher chinese - will learn more no. Of words. The kids should be able to catch up. They can deicde to drop out if they can't cope at P5.

I am buying my books from the school bookshop. Save the trouble of making 2 trips.

My boy will be in P2 next year. he dun like to read story books, since young I hv give in too much to him, everytime i hv read to him. He score very badly on comprehension n writing, n teacher comment on report card is to hone him to read.

m wondering whether to enrol him either to I Can Read or Lorna whiston english enrichment programme.

any mummies enrol their child to I Can Read or Lorna Whiston English enrichment programme, can share?

any of mummies in this forum child studying at Roysth School?

Hi avrilf/Maisy Daisy,

Thanks for your reply &amp; advice
. May I check with you, what happen if he can't cope, can change to normal chinese when he reaches P4 instead of P5?

I'm trying to get a higher chinese tutor for him, any recommendation? TIA

Got all my son P2 stuffs already, from both Popular online and exercise books from his school during the prize award day. No crowd then. Luckily didn't get online as the school bookstore inform me there is a change in the no of exercise books required. Phew.

Popular bookstore one ready to collect on 20th Nov, I submitted the purchase online on 17th night. Quite efficient.

Now with the books lying on the floor, needs to find a temp place to store them before sch opens.

I ask my elder child to ask her classmate who has sibling P3 next yr to pass me P2 textbooks.

I have not bought activity books from Popular yet.

However, as last Sat was orientation day, I went to get exercise books &amp; student handbook. No crowd as the parents were in the classrooms filling out forms.