(2002) Any 2002 babies?

Natellehcim - yalor..our gals are so similar. You know during the last Teacher's Day, they have some parties in school and I gave her 2 packets of Kit-Kat to bring to school to share with her classmates. In the end, she brought everything home. She said she did not know that those 2 packets were meant to share. Okay..so for the next class party on Children's Day, I specifically reminded her again to share the chocolate with her class..and guess what...she did the same - brought the chocolate back. This time, she said she dared not bring out cos she was afraid that no one wanted to eat her chocolate. Alamak!!! Talking about getting her to go bookshop to buy things, it is like as if I am asking her to do the impossible.

Avrilf - my gal is also the soft spoken type in class. She dares not speak up when other gals "bully" her eg spoil her stationery,..only vent to us when she gets back from school. She has a classmate who will make fun of her whenever I braid her hair to school, and so now she refuses to let me braid her hair. I told her I will get her form mistress to speak to that girl and she begged me not to do so. I really cannot help her to deal with those "bullies" in school if she wants it that way..she has to learn to defend herself sometimes. I can only probe and find out to see if there are other "bully" incidents..

I suspect my gal might have mild dyslexia. I told my husband and I examined some of her works in school and enrichment class..there are some signs eg
- Often switches letters and numbers round the wrong way eg "freind" "atfer" "deicde" "thier"
- trouble with localization, such as mixing up the variables of left and right, before and after, up and down
- Has problems stating thoughts in an organised way
- Poor concentration, short term memory
- weak in arranging number in sequential order
- unable to do mental calculation - needs to use fingers to do counting
- weak in upper and lower case
- Can answer the question orally but have problem writing them down
- When come to reading, she tends to skip words like “the”, “of”, “on”, “a” and “an”. She also tends to skip lines or two when reading a passage.I have to ask her to use her finger to guide her reading.

I am thinking of speaking to her MPM teacher on Saturday and get her to comment on her observation. She was the one who pointed out that my girl has the tendency to count from right to left, even though she is a right handed.

Hi mum2zm

Hi are u staying st Punggol a you mention that ur gal is at Greendale Pri....Edgefield Primary which my gal is in also has SA 1 & 2 not necessary that only top sch will have SA1 & 2...some neighbourhood sch also conduct the SA1 &2...guess it depends on the sch.

Jxmum
Charmaine dun have SA1 , so far only topical test for Maths and Chinese. For English, they just did a revision in Sep with the exam format.

Now their teacher getting them ready for oral on 15 and 16 Oct. Hey how to coach for oral ? My gal will look blankly at the picture.

Bebe75
my gal oso abit like yours. But teacher says she ok. It is normal she says. Some of my fren's kids oso like that. Monitor and see how it goes

I am also having problem with my gal Oral..
For English, I have to remind her to note the ending sound eg "d", "s", and esp words with "th"..she tends to say it casually, and sound like "Der", "Dat", "Teh". And if she tries to pronoun the words properly, she forgot abt her tone and expression, and worse still..starts to read the wrong lines...making her reading sound so awkward and incoherent. And then she gets confused and frustrated.

As for Chinese, her chinese vocab is quite limited..eg things like "rubbish", "canteen", "recess"...she tends to use English term. I cannot imagine her having to converse in full mandarin with her teacher. There will be many "ah".."orr".."err"..as she tries to pause and think of rephrasing.

Exam is 2 weeks away..I think I am not going to push her too hard. I would be satisfied if she can stay at the upper range of band 3 (above 65 marks)。 My husband reminds me not to look at the grades. just make sure she puts in effort and tries her best and not be the last in the class. I will try to adapt 平常心观 to help her sail through this exam..crossing my fingers.

You can teach her oral by asking her to look at the picture and talk abt:
1. Where she thinks the place it? What kind of weather?
2. Zoom into 2-3 characters in the picture and describe it. What they are doing? Whether their actions is correct or wrong? etc

You can prompt her 1-2 questions abt the picture.

fz : thanks! Now I know what is meant by Band 1, 2 3...

bebe : Maybe you want to consider letting her watch English shows like 'Mind Your Language' or even variety shows like 'Britain's Got Talent' on the internet?? My hubby allows my girl to watch these shows whereby proper Queen's English is being spoken. So my girl speaks quite acceptable, pronoucing naturally and clearly the 'd' and 'l' sound. Frankly speaking, I can't even pronouced these properly myself. ha ha.. But when it comes to writing, think my girl also have abit of dyslexia as she will put b instead of d etc.

Do you mums actually get your kids to practice writing?? In K1 & K2, they have all these writing practices, but doesn't seem to help much. My girl's writing is atrocious. Finger spacing only when she remembers, so teacher always comment that she has to break the letters up herself to make sense of the sentence! hiaz! But when it comes to Chinese, the spacing is too far apart for 1 single word which is made up of 2-3 simple words.

Haven't come in here for quite a while. Been squeezing time every night after work to revise with my dd. I feel that it is easier when I study for my exams...almost flare up a few times but I keep reminding myself this is only the start of a long learning journey ahead ... dun kill her interest in study....I heard that this yr's psle maths paper is a killer, many students cried after the exam ....wonder how I can cope when dd reaches p6 ...just letting off some steam...

mum2zn: I did not get him to practice much writing. Is taught by his teacher. So far hs is ok with his spacing.

I used to let him watch children programmes that are in American english or queen's english. His english has slang when he speaks. haha

mum2zm,
my boy's kindergarten did not focus on handwriting. i made a mistake of thinking that word recognition is more important and did not make him practice writing when he was younger. now his handwriting is terrible. his chinese handwriting is quite nice cos he has practices in his kindergarten enrichment classes and now his P1 chinese teacher is quite fierce, so he makes sure that he writes neatly.

I am busy for the past 2 weeks, working through the night. So a bit lost track of what's happening here. After going through, feel that every mother in this thread is very stressful.

I started revising with my son since last month after his enrichment(chinese) teacher commented that his chinese is very poor. ALmost the last few in the class.

SO left with no choice, I made him read and do the assessment book that I have bought from Popular every night from that day onwards. Every alternate days, made him read and write chinese characters. Now can see a bit of improvement. At least he don't feel stressed in his enrichment class.

Luckily for mathematics, I just ask him to do a few pages every alternate days and now I set a target for him. As long as he can complete the whole assessment book, that's means he has already finished revising his mathematics. Now he is left with 12 pages out of 130 pages.

left with 12 pages out of 130 pages?
wow! when did he start his assessment book?

for chinese, i think HIPS' standard quite high....

mum2zm - I did not let my girl watch the adult English show..as she could not follow them..I think she cannot catch their accent. However, I let them watch those BBC and Disney cartoons eg Charlie and Lola, Little Einsteins. My younger gal who watches the shows together with her sis speaks with slang...and always use expressive language eg "That is awesome!" "What a splendid idea!"..and she can imitate how those cartoon characters speak. I have got quite a number of CD stories for them..and only my younger gal is keen in playing them.

We hardly watch the local shows..and lately I saw the Court advertisments with Phua Chu Kang - the yellow boots guy..I almost wanted to faint. I got to remind the girls not to speak like him. They said he was funny (they called him the crazy MRT man)..I said he is funny and we laugh at him because he speaks the wrong kind of English...

Writing
My elder girl is very neat in writing...just that she always put the wrong upper and lower case...I corrected her countless time until I gave up..She was okay for a while in Term 2, as her Daddy scolded her badly..but yesterday when I saw some of her Term 4 work..she reverted to the old ways...Hiaz...I warned her that if I saw the same thing next time, I am going to beat her.
For my younger gal, her writing is T.E.R.R.I.B.L.E. She can write nicely if she wants to..but she will complain that it is tiring. It was a nightmare to get her to write Chinese in K1..it gets slightly better in K2 as I force her to write the strokes correctly.

YenLing - it is amazing that yr boy can almost finish the whole books. He is very disciplined!! I just counted the assessement books..for maths alone..my girl has 7 books, but I did not let her do all of them. She only does those topics that she is weak in.

Do you let your kids listen to music when they do their homework or revision. The reasons why I am asking is because I notice that their Maths enrichment class play classical music when they are doing their works. I find it calm and smoothing, not sure if I should try it at home. Or maybe it will work for me, sot that I will not get work up easily every time. ;)

Hi Fz,
Actually, I made him started doing it starting from the sept school holidays.

To be exact, he already done 30 pages for SA1 and left with 100 pages for SA2.
Today, he is left with 6 pages.

Hi Bebe75,
I have only bought 1 mathematics book for him. That is mathematics Challening Problems by Andrew Er. I don't say he is disciplined. Most of the time, he ask for rewards after he finished certain pages.

Luckily for me, he is still able to cope by himself in Mathematics.

For chinese, I can only made him read from his textbook and assessment book. Hopefully, he don't have much problem coping in his oral and SA2 paper.

For English, so far for his class compositon, he is still able to manage. I also don't have a clue of how to teach him. Just tell him that must have a opening paragraph, body and ending paragraph.

Bebe75, YenLing,

For math, my boy has done about 50% of 2 assessment books; i have stopped using assessment for math eversince i found out about misskoh.com. heehee...

For english, i have another 2 assessment books that is less than 40% completed. cos i have also switch to using exam papers (even if it is as old as 2007).

although i am a sahm, my boy seldom do assessment books as he usually spent only an hour 'revising' at home; other time is spent playing with his brother or meddling with his lego city. 5 weekdays, usually one on berries revision, one on compo writing, one of each day on an exam paper; weekends are grandparent visitation and enrichment day and outing; no more other time left for assessment books. :p

HI all,

I let my gal did assessment & past year paper as well...just want her to be exposed to different types of questions especially maths...

Juz finished struggling wif Oral, next wk is English/Chinese 1 paper. Hiaaazzz...

I bght those examination papers frm Popular for my son to practice. Noticed that his comprehension needs lots of brushing up!!!

HI All

My gal will start her oral exam this tues & wed...has get her to practise the reading & picture talk...while she was reading the passage she try to change the tenses into present tense (cos form tacher told them to use present tense for picture talk) so she "act smart" And I have to remind her that she just read whatever its given in the passage and only uses present tense for picture talk. *faintz*

Has start revising with her by using past yr paper made alot of careless mistakes and worst of all never bother to thorough check her work...sigh

my son is going to have compo exam today...Did not go thru with him much last nite.
Just reminded him to use past tense and also make use of the helping words given.
Need to lower down my expectation.

Yup

Let us juz have faith in them!

加油!加油!加油!

Aiyo today took half day leave to brush up my girl's 30 spelling words of which 8 words & 2 phrases will be selected. 10 marks for spelling test. Asked her to do 1 picture compo can almost fainted..cant write good & complete sentence. Only can managed to write abt 30words or so. Told her must elaborate compo writing (which is today Eng Paper 1 10marks) so can have more words (e.g. 2 children are playing the swing. I told her you can write Mei Ling & John are playing the swing happily) Sigh...crossed my fingers...

Hi Joanne
My gal also has 30 spelling words this week..but she will be tested 10 each over 3 days. These words are repeated from the Term1 to Term4 spelling lists.

Talking abt compo writing, I have to remind her to focus and look at the pictures. She has the tendency to start every piece with "One Sunny afternoon....blah blah.." There is one which she wrote, "One sunny afternoon, the sky was cloudy." And another one, she named a girl character as Tony in the first sentence..then the subsequent lines..she began to use "I"!!! ((Faint))

This week is not an easy week, apart from the Oral, and compo writing, she has 2 Chinese TingXie and 3 spelling tests. Hiaz, I hardly have time to go thru the compo writing with her...looking at her writing works, I doubt we can do a miracle within such a short time frame, so I ask her to read those model compo books and c.h.e.c.k the most 3 important things (Punctuation, Spelling, Grammars)..

bebe,
i find that her description of 'the sky was cloudy' is pretty good! i ask my boy to start every piece as 'yesterday' or 'last sunday' and proceed to write all in past tense. he has the tendency to write 'oral' descriptions like 'there are 2 person sitting in the living room' etc.

hi bebe, no worries, the sentence is ok ah... we just got to help abit on correcting their tenses or encourage them with better words. The kids are just simply putting their 'mind' into writings. My son is worse.... his structure of sentences is haywired. And he like to start with 'dialogue'... eg if talking about some kids going out to play, he would say "Let's go out to the park," said Ali... etc.. and also many dialogues in the story. I don't know how to describe but simply no squence at all. Worse is he likes to use it in both English and Chinese... *sigh*

natallehcim,
my boy likes to write dialogue too, i wonder if it is the influence of Stilton. he asked me if he can put ??? and !!! together to create ???!!!!....-__-"
tomorrow is chinese' see picture write 2 sentences i have to remind him that it is different from compo, ie do not write a story or write like in oral. just look at the picture and write 2 complete sentences about the picture; and never treat the person in the picture as himself!

ha.. your boy is so cute.
ya ya when my boy was introduced to picture compo earlier in term 2, he was given 3 pix and got to write few sentences for each pictures with helping words given. he simply like to create his own imaginative sentences without using those words at all... had a hard time 'brainwash' him to use helping words and not to 'keh kiang' to come out own horrible words... ha...ha.... luckily he is not going to be tested for compo on chinese. His SA2 will not include compreh as well.

My gal is also having the dreadful compo writing tomorrow...I m keeping fingers and toes crossing..hopefully she can deliver a proper storyline...

Hi bebe75

Pray that our gals make it thru for their compo...I have to keep remind her to use past tense & the 5"w" 1'h"....a stressful wk for us....

Jolene - Ya..I think compo is the most difficult subject to tackle. Hope the kids focus on the pics, write within the context, use proper sentence structure, check spelling, grammar and punctuation.

Hi bebe, jolene
Ya, Im also praying fr my girl for her compo writing today. I hope she can focus on the pics, write more & proper sentences.

Hi bebe & Joanne

I asked my gal how as her compo today...was given a picture of a classroom a teacher is teaching & some children are listen attentively while some are sleeping etc...she start with its a fine day in class is it rite?

hi bebe n joanne,
managed to check with her tutor on the sentence that she wrote for the compo. she said its ok but plain. hope she can at least 7/10

Hi Jolene - i also think it shd be okay. I asked my gal how did she fare for the paper today..she told me she wrote 84 words!! I said okay, but did your storyline follow the pictures. She said okay, and told me she listened to my advice..use conjunctions like "but", "Then," "because" "and"...now I worry if she used them in the right context..hiaz..Que Sera sera...cannot do much at this time except to prepare for the next paper.
She has English spelling test and Chinese Spelling tomorrow.

Hi Jolene & Bebe
I dont expect too much from my girl and if she gotten 5/10, im very happy. She said today's listening compre & compo writing ok lor some dont know how to do. I told her its ok and you've tried yr very best! Oh well....MT Paper 2 end of this month a total of 55marks.

Hi Bebe & Joanne,

How I wish that they finish their SA2 asap....so stress up & tired..another 1 more wk to go before the main paper starts...jia you..

ANyone can teach me how to encourage your kids especially when they really don't like to write chinese chararcters.

My son always grumble when he needs to do chinese worksheets. I wanted to inspire him to write chinese words, but can't think of any solutions.

yenling,
sorry i dunno how to advise.
my boy loves to write chinese characters and do chinese papers as compared to english or math although he doesnt speak mandarin, cos he likes his chinese enrichment and his chinese class in school.
i guess cos we ourselves are not passionate about chinese, the kids can't feel motivated from us.

Hi Yen Ling

Think most children encounter this problem...my gal has no problem in her speech she just hate the writing part alot of strokes & must write according to "bi shun"...

My elder gal has no problem writing chinese..it is my younger one..I shiver when I think that she has to do chinese in P1.
Currently, for her weekly K2 spelling, I "motivated" her to practice chinese writing by telling stories of those chinese characters..eg 球- the left part is the shelf to keep the balls..and the right part are the 5 balls waiting to be put on the shelf. Sound silly hor..but bo bian leh..she remembers and write better that way.