(2002) Any 2002 babies?

Carol,
I dont really like the environment at Proteach Yew Tee althou its nearer to DLS. I liked the deco at Agape. My girl prefers Proteach coz 1 of her classmates is there!*Faint*
beb75
My sincere condolences to you & yr family for the demise of yr dad. Do stay strong fr yr family. Take Care!
Any idea when is SA2?

bebe75, so sorry to hear that. Be strong dear.

As for revision, I can shake hand with you, did not do much with dd too. By the way, how to mummies here revised the text book with the kids?
So far, only get her to do assessment books/paper. Never touch on her text at all. Please share some tips ya... Thanks.

Joanne, there is a Proteach in Yishun and OMG, the place is soooo dirty and i would not want to sent my girl there.

Valerie,
I aso din do much revision wif my dd. Only 1-2days be4 Topical Test then do revision wif her. Her schl is using Shaping Maths but I bought My Pals are Here fr her revision. At times i go thru the textbk wif her but not much coz i sent her to MPM.

hi bebe, so sorry to hear that. my condolences to you & family.

Hi, yesterday receive a note and format for chinese CA2. The date stated 24 Aug, so I guess CA2 should falls in that week. My ds sch goes thru CA1 and CA2 but did not count in the marks for their results. Only consider 100% SA2. Now my ds started to become very lazy, so much different after his june holidays. Now I started to panic liao, since sch only consider SA2 100% results...

Joanne
What is it about Proteach that you don't like? I heard they have trips during the hols.

I didn't know Agape has student care. I thought it is child care.

Blk 543 has Growing Up, I find it dark.

Near Kranji Primary, there is Ace at Work, next to blk 759 that could be a student care.

Actually I prefer nanny. Can have nap.

Not many choices of student care in CCK.

Not sure if more primary sch would have student care in the compound in future.

Hi caroline, I do not know much about tonsilities until I go online to check out what it is. this is what I've found, hope can help some comments,

Surgical removal of the tonsils (tonsillectomy) is rarely needed for adults. During childhood, surgery may be recommended when a child has had:
* Seven or more serious throat infections in one year
* Five or more serious throat infections every year over a two-year period
* Three or more serious throat infections every year over a three-year period

Caroline
I agree with you on Growing Up. I cannot stand the toilet.

Did you have a second opinion ? Is his tonsilitis very bad ? My kids oso always have tonsilitis easily.

Proteach at YewTee has not so nice deco as compared to Agape. Plain no hanging of cute stuff. I find there isnt any flr mat/carpet for kids to sit down and play althou its clean. Only the soft mat (the abc kind) are placed on the flr for kids to nap fr a while. Only 2 computers and a big tv. No library. Only abt 4 air-cond classrooms!

natellecim & CL
thank you. My husband worry our son is too young to go for surgery. GP has recommended every time we see him. Usually he takes chinese medicine to make it smaller. But GP said is nothing to do with limiting heaty foods.

This time, I think is due to lack of water + weather very hot then got attacked. My husband wants to see chinese doctor again.

GP & my colleague who had gone through surgery when in 'A' levels time, said have a talk with specialist on what is the procedure, recovery period, what effects after surgery, when is ideal time etc etc.

Because my elder is having PSLE in 1.5 mths time, my colleague suggested during hols. It may be this year or could be 2 yrs' time when he is older (ie my neighbour's daughter now JC, also operated when in P3).

I just want to ask mommies here on more advice on whether to go ahead with surgery and if yes, when is ideal age.

Joanne
That's plain at Proteach. Little Professor at blk 706 also like this. I guess due to low fees per person around less than $300

Hi all mummies..thanks for the regards..it will get easier as days go by..
My kids started asking me questions about death..told them that their grandpa had gone to heaven..and they asked why they could not follow him. My P1 gal even asked if we can call him in heaven, when she saw my dad's mobile number in my phone.

Caroline
My hubby used to get to tonsilities frequently when he was young..he somehow outgrew it when he went into adulthood. But when it came back, he can be very miserable..sure to lose lots of weight as even drinking water is a painful chore.
Could it be the recent haze and heaty weather that trigger the tonsilities? My kids are having sore throat recently..heard that some of their classmates have fallen sick as well..

bebe75
sorry to hear abt your dad.

Oh dear Term 3 is coming to an end and I havent done much with my son. I noticed he's got not much homework these days..not sure why too.

bebe75
thank you. my husband consulted chinese doctor. Would 'hard work a bit' continue taking chinese medicine and cook bittergourd soup to eliminate heatiness, hence reduce size of tonsils before taking the last step of surgery.

tinklebell,
my son also dun have much homework recently. abit worry for him coz he will be having SA2.
Till date he still dun how to write composition. Have not seem him with any homework with comprehension.
How to do SA2. So no choice i gave him assessment.

BP, at least your boy is doing comprehension. Mine gives me that kind of look when I ask him to do English worksheets.

FZ, oh ya PSLE is round the corner.

Strangely, it appears to me that the teaching pace is slower this term. For math, he's only been learning multiplication, division and shapes. Not sure what he does for Eng cos he doesnt bring any homework or worksheets back except for the weekly journal to do over the weekend.

yes..teaching pace is kinda slow..I hardly see maths and english worksheets this term. And there are a few "holidays" this term...next Thurs and Fri, no school for P1 to P5 due to PSLE Oral exam. And then one week before the term end, they only need to attend lessons for 2 days, as Monday is for teachers' day celebration, Tues is a sch holiday and Friday they have some outing or excursion activities.

bebe75,
agreed with you..the pace is slow. I wondered what is the pace for other school. A bit worried.

Recently my son started to having shopping spree in the school bookshop.so much of changes since the mid year school reopen...so angry after so many warnings given to him. So this week i cut his pocket money to $1.50..if he do it again..going to cut another $0.50.

hi mummies, so far my ds sch i did not notice any slow down of pace. As usual homework everyday. Next monday ds going to have show n tell for chinese. CA2 chinese is on 24 aug. Heard fm ds lately they did some compo in class, last night saw him brought back a topic to complete, done halfway in school. Title : My imaginary town.

I do not think there is CA2 for my gal..no news yet. Wondering if my gal can cope if jump straight to SA2? Another mummy told me that one of the gals was retained in P1, cos she did badly for her SA2 exam. I am getting worried now, especially when I do not hear any feedback from the school about my gal's progress.
About show and tell, is it compulsory for P1? For my gal, it is not compulsory but teacher does encourage them to do it. My gal is very shy, I have given her lots of practices at home, but she told me she will get tongue-tied in front of her class. I was told that in P2, show-and-tell might be graded and included in their SA results..another things to worry...hiaz

Hi bebe75, P1 will be retained? thought no more such type? Thought all P1 will be promoted???

Last semester, my ds also have chinese show n tell and both are graded in their CA1 and 2, thus is compulsory. Although graded and have CA1 and CA2, their marks won't be counted for their 'report' book. So P1 will pass or not will depend 100% on SA2.

Hi natellehcim...I also thought that all P1 will be "automatically" promoted to P2 and those weaker students will have more supplementary classes..but I was wrong leh. No wonder that time, my gal was telling me that one of the gals is P2 but joined P1..I thought she was referring to ECA groups..now then I realise she was right..

It is so stressful to pass P1 exam solely based on SA2 mark...

oh.. bebe what sch is your gal? for my ds, the P1 will auto promote to P2, same class gp, same form teacher, irregardless good grades or not leh.??? and if i remember correctly, one of the teachers did told me before, the kids will definitely go P2.. so i assume is auto deh leh.. only P2 then will be graded to go to P3 classes. then they will consider SA1 30%, SA2 70%. Think CA marks not counted too.. saw all this in their handbook.

bebe75, can understand your stress. Did your gal go thru SA1? Why is the mark only solely depend on SA2? A bit unfair leh.. Mine has no CA1 abd CA2 but went thru SA1 and SA2 should be in November.. i think. Both SAs will be taken into account although i think mine is also auto promotion.

tinklebell,
my boy have not even started on multiplication!
they are still on addition/subtraction in bigger nos!!

BP,
My dd spent her money buying snacks & secretly yakult. I don't allow her to drink yakult at home as it causes her to develop phlegm and cough. I noticed her coughing these few days, so asked what she ate in school. She confessed drinking yakult. Next week, I intend to cut her allowance from $1.20 to $1 so that she only has enough money for snacks. If thirsty, drink plain water!!

Tinklebell & fz,
dd has not started on multiplication yet. Still at bigger nos and she is alreay struggling with the 'carry over' and 'borrowing' of tens ....

i used to give my ds $1.50 as pocket money. later my MIL and hubby insisted of giving extra $1 for emergency use.
kao_angry.gif

Ds tend to eat quite alot, at times will take noodles, if my MIL do not bring him food during recess. Had advised him not to buy cold drinks but not sure whether he oblige to the rules not... at times he will buy yakult of HL milk. Lucky he did not spend that extra $1 given, only in case need to buy exercise books or stationery. If he abuse it, I will also definitely punish by minus the allowance. Recently he lost his workbook, and I 'threaten' to cut his pocket money to compensate for a new one.. Lucky he found it back.

Cookiepie & fz,
Oh that's bec his school started with numbers first. He didnt do things like graph, weight and shapes in Terms 1/2. Multiplication is still q ok but when it comes to division, it's quite a headache to make them think the opposite way.

Hi natellehcim - my gal is in CHIJ TP.
Hi Valerin lin - there is no SA1, they have a mock one though. If I recall correctly, they will take give weightage on SA2 (100%) and alternate assessments (10%). I believe alternate assessment refers to those worksheets done in class. But overall, SA2 is still the key factor in determining the final result.

My gal has not started on multiplication too..still on the addition/subtraction within 100.

Next week, I think the sch is conducting e-learning on those 2 days when the P6 are having their PSLE oral exam. I received a letter from my gal, asking if we have PC and internet access at home, if not we have to request for hardcopies of e-learning documents.

Hi bebe75, my ds sch same as your gal's 100% solely on SA2. They sit for SA1 and Ca test but not counted. They also have assessments and topcial test for each subjects every few weeks.

For my gal's sch they have taught on Multiplication and the pace of teaching quite ok as she always has homework on daily basis. As for Chinese class heard from her that they played "mahjiong" with the chinese character on the tile to form sentances which I think is very interesting & will arouse their interest in Chinese...How abt your kids sch? How do the teachers teach Chinese?

tinklebell
yeah, my son also confused multiplication with division.

bebe75
last week my son didn't attend sch due to sick. Seems the sch has started on the topic Time.

Hi Jolene,
wow it will be fun with the tiles... my ds' sch does not have such... at times they use puzzle i guess... most of the time, the teacher use powerpoint slides to teach them blending of phrases for the words they had learnt and make them write down in their 笔记本 and will 'test' them time to time... as for those 'weaker' or foreigners learning chinese, they have a separate gp, to start arousing their interest first, with songs and games.

tinklebell, caroline3sg,
i had introduced my boy to division slowly. so far so good. he just have to remember that X divide by Y is equal to what times Y = X (ie 10divide5=__x5gives10). but for that, i had to drill him on this times tables so that he is familiar with the times tables up to 5x tables.

Hi bebe75 and Natellehcim, my ds sch is also 100% solely on SA2.

I think the exam is last week of Oct.

Children will not be attending school for 1 week after Deeepavali cos PSLE marking so they will have to do E-Learning.

Mine too SA2 is 28 - 30 Oct. 1 subject each day.

This week early school ends at 1 instead of 1.30 because got teacher's day lunch then 20 - 21 Aug no school due to PSLE Oral

Cos Deepavali falls on a Sat so Monday is an off in lieu!

My ds SA2 should be 27 - 29 Oct 09. Also I sudject per day. 1st English, 2nd Maths and Finally Mother Tongue.

Am thinking whether to take leave from 26 Oct or 27 Oct onwards. Happens to be preparation for mth end closing period too...haiz

fz
my son knows x divide by y = z is the same as y times z = x.

I teach him concept by drawing. He is confused as to when to put the items into groups vs grouping them.

My girl SA2 on Mid October, so now their school dong division already. Scare SA2 too rush, dunno how to teach her. Maybe during the 1 week holiday let her study.

Finally find the time to come in here .... work in office is piling up, sianz....

Does anyone face problems washing your kids school uniforms or can share washing tips? My dd has white PE t-shirts and she always come back with dirty stains on the t-shirts. No matter how much detergent/bleach I use, the stains are still there ....fainted ....

bebe75
My condolences and please take care.

Cookiepie,
Do you use washing machine to wash your kids school unifroms?

My mother is the one washing my kids clothes. She usualy tells me do not soak the dirty uniform. Instead only use detergent to go over the dirty spots and rub it and immediately put the clothes to other clothes that need to wash.

I am not really sure how she do it, but she really makes the uniform clean.

If you really need the detail, please tell me so I will ask her again.

I thought P1 students are supposed to know multiplication and division up to 40.
My son is learning that now.

Eg.
There are 24 pears. Please ring them in groups 3.
SO the students need to draw circle with each 3 pears in each ring.
ANd they are supposed to count the number of rings and wirte down the answer.

Cookiepie
I have the same problem. That day I dunno what she did to her white skirt. And it is like calligraphy all over. I bleach oso no use and threw away the whole skirt.

Chua Yen Ling
Do share with me the details too. My gal uniform all white I want to faint.

Multiplication should be up to 5x right ?

I have reconfirmed with my mother.
This is what she did

1)Rub the spot of stain with detergent.
Do not use clean water to wash first.

2)After that the stain should be slightly removed.

3)soak the dirty clothes and other clothes to be washed.

4)ALways remember not to let clean water to run through the clothes before soaking.

5)After soaking, just use washing machine to use.

Sometimes the stain can be removed by using toothpaste.

Cookiepie,
As for calligraphy stain, she can't remember to use what to remove the stain. I am sorry about it.

Just to share another tip.
I used to iron through buttons for shirt and blouse. But even ironing, I find the spot crumble.

After watching a TV show, I will iron the reverse of the part of the clothing with buttons. Not only it is eaier to iron, and it is very straight.

fz
(A) There are 20 marbles (shown in pictures). How many bags are needed if each bag contains 4 marbles?

Statement: 20 divide by 4 = 5

Drawing: Every 4 marbles, circle them

(B)How many in each bag if the marbles are packed equally in 5 bags.

Statement: 20 divide by 5 = 4

Drawing: Draw 5 bags, put the 20 marbles one by one to each of the bags. Then count how many in each bag.

Confusion --> when to group, when to draw bags.

Note: I also ask him to draw for multiplication.