(2002) Any 2002 babies?

Hi luanee, wow thanks! You very super, to find that and solve the mystery. And now I know had been wrong...oops!? Worried how many 'wrongs' I'm going to impart to my kids. These books are good reference!

My ds did mention that the student card can be used to borrow library bks but he doesn't know how to do it yet. They can also use the card to pay for food but I told him use cash, then got savings for coin bank. kekeke!

Yest I was teaching my girl to write 'yang' as in 'sun'. Then I realised that the 'ear' is written as the curly part first followed by the straight line, which is correct. But then isnt it supposed to go from left to right? How come in this case it is right to left? Hee...

Just to share, my dd finished her SA1's english and chinese oral exams yest. English was ok, she said. And chinese passage reading was 'easy peasy lemon squeezy'. But the conversation part was tough, according to her. Teacher asked "do u like school?" and she said "yes"."Why?". "Becoz we get to attend hanyu pinyin lessons". Aaargh, I dunno whether that counts as part of liking school? LOL...

luanee
from what I know, conversation is not question and answer in one sentence, but rather elaborate:

I like school because I have many friends, teachers are nice and patient in imparting knowledge. Besides, I can play at the children's playground during recess. School also organises events like Chinese New Year celebration, Children's Day celebration, or any other activities (eg fun fair) and excursions (eg. heritage)

Hi luanee, your dd and my ds speak the same! 'easy...squeezy' chant. Is that in the school syllabus, why the kids of this age group 'sings' the same?! haaaha...

Caroline, oh dear, guess she is going to fare badly for her chinese oral then, sigh...

Jan, haha they have a lot of such chants. There is one popeye one that involves something like pooing in the toilet etc. Cant rem the exact wordings..

Oh today is my dd's school sports carnival day. I promised her to go there to watch her but last minute here I am back in office. She was quite sad yest when I told her that...

Sorry here i asking again as I need to have changes in child care management .

Now my girl is attending berries bukit batok.

Was thinking of changing her to another centre. Any recommendation ?

And also does anyone know of any good HYPY intensive course during holiday ?

Hi luanee,primary school kids were issued a student card.You may zap a copy of the student card for library purposes. I scanned a color copy of my girl's student card and laminated it that she could use to borrow books at library.

Anyone sending their child to attend creative writing? She had just went through SA1 for Composition.

My dd's school exams has P1 compo...they are required to look at a picture and write at least 5 sentences about the picture. Everyone's kids having P1 mid year exams here?

yawn yawn,

My dd too! Tue to Thu...so this long weekend is burnt. How did you prepare your girl for her exams?
Her SA1 has compo and compre, oral and listening compre...the works!

Today SA1 english listening comprehension + spelling. Tomorrow is MT listening comprehension. Wed is english written including one composition to consist of 5 sentences. Thur is MT written. Math is next Tue. I wonder why they dont put the Math on Fri so as to allow me to enjoy the long weekend on Vesak Day? Now i ganna quarantined at over over the 2 consecutive long weekends becoz of SA1 !! Aaarrgh.... hee

luanee
mine is spread out over 2 weeks:
Oral: Today & Tomorrow (4 & 5 May)
Eng + listening (no compo): Fri 8 May
Chinese: Wed 13 May
Maths: Fri 15 May

My girl had 3 compos today, 2 Eng & 1 HMT.
tomorrow 2 compos (MT) + HMT

Luanee, Caroline3sg:

Luckily, my girl's exams will complete by this Thu. 2 weeks ago, she had her English and MT oral exams. And today will be her English, tomorrow her Math and Thu her MT. I am looking forward to this weekend indeed! I totally understand how you felt "quarantined" during weekends! We were like that last weekend too!

All the best to our all boys and girls having exams!

Caroline, my girl had her orals on 13th Apr week. Then break for 2 weeks followed by the listening compre and written exams.

Wow ur P6 girl has so many compos to write! I guess it be all a different level once the kids reach P6. My neighbour's dd in P6 is busy cramping for PSLE now too.

Linette
Thanks. I prefer space out days for exams so as to have more time to prepare.

luanee
Yesterday my boy had Chinese oral, he wasn't given time to mention conclusion for picture discussion (after saying about 4-5 sentences). Teacher said 'you can go back now.' It is just one more sentence only mah.... I guess he took too much time on first section (ie reading).

Today is English Oral.

Tomorrow Chinese Listening.

I am glad to have found this thread. I am a mommy of 3 and my #1 is in P1 this year at De La Salle.

I am feeling so stressed out from preparing her for her mid yr exams. For English and MT, she's got everything - Listening Compre, Compo, Oral, Spelling. Chinese got Oral, Listening Compre, Hanyu Pinyin and little bit of character recognition. Then for Maths... even got Heuristics questions.

My gal has not gone for any Enrichment classes prior to P1 except for I Can Read. Even then... her reading skills is terrible. Becos of this... she's having a tough time coping. Then me as mommy feeling sssooo stressed cos I need to push her. She's not in the least bit concern. Only keep thinking of playing. *aarrgghh*

Any mommy out there wz child at DLSS also? Do you find the pace very fast and the workload very high?

I tot of tutoring her during the June hols cos I already give up hope of her doing well for this SA. But my patience is wearing thin. I can explain today... next week everything forget. On top of this I gotta juggle wz another 5-yrs toddler and 6-mths old baby.

Any mommy going thru the same thing as me? Can advise me wat to do now? Thks thks.

Dear mummies... ha ha am glad to find this thread... i need to whine about the coming exams too. I'm quite taken aback by the P1 syllabus these days. It's really too tough for our little ones. My son is having his english compo today and it was only last week that their teacher started giving them compo practices.

Linette, we are also "quarantined" during these 2 weekends

Dymples, hee hee ur kid sounds like my boy. I also gave up on my boy doing well for his SA1. He scored an average of 90+ for term 1 and his teacher said it's below average for his class
His english basic foundation is not strong so he's got a little problem in compo, oral and answering maths problem sums too. I am thinking of sending him to creative writing class. Preparing for SA1 is so stressful for me! I've never felt so stressed for such a long time

Anyone got suggestions which creative writing class is good? there is morris allen, mind stretcher and learning ladder near my home.

Hi Drymples,

My son also from DLS. Yes, their standard rather high.... Compo has to write 60 words or more...pengz hor.

I have been telling myself dont put too much stress on my boy (he is those cannot sit still type)...so this exam i just hope for the best only.

i PM you too.

Dymples, dont be so stressed lah, she is only in P1 this year!

My dd in P1 also attended ICR at CCK as the only enrichment before she went to P1. Now I am sending her to a Math enrichment class as I find her Math really terrible. She takes so long just to figure out what's 3+4. But I'm quite satisfied with her reading skills. I guess each child is different, they may be stronger in some subjects, and weaker in some. Just give them some time to adjust.

My girl is also concerned with playing all the time only. I tried to tell her the importance of SA but she doesnt seem to grasp it. Then again, she told me one of her classmates cried during the mock exam coz she thot it was the real exam and she wasn't prepared for it! I wont want my dd to do that man! That's why I am also quite reluctant to stress her too much at this stage. Quite a dilemma..

Nowadays, even P1's homework and syllabus is a nightmare! Have to write compo already in P1. My poor boy ganna shouted at by my hubby every night while doing homework and now I'm worried for my younger gal as I think her PCF don't prepare them enough. Sigh!

mummyto2, I have already given up asking my husband to coach/supervise my girl as he always end up shouting at her. So now I get him to jaga the younger kid while I teach her instead. More peaceful this way...

mummyto2, aiyo same... every weekend, my hubby will scream at my boy for his sloppy work and not doing his homework. hiaz. Goodness no chinese compo for SA1. Any idea if there is chinese compo for SA2? aiyo hope not, i can feel my BP rising nearing exams!

<font color="ff0066"> Tinklebell</font>
Yes yes. I definately agree tat the P1 syllabus nowadays is tooo tough for our little ones. I really dunno wat MOE is thinking when they are drafting it out! The stupidest is the Heuristic Maths. I mean... they are only in P1... how to do those IQ like maths question when they dun even know the basics well? Haiz....

Eehh... you boy can score 90+ for Term 1 already super good hor. My this gal... can't even get 60+. Tat's why I'm so worried.

Currently, my gal now goes to Berries for her MT and Phonics to brush up on her reading skills. Now seriously considering maths tutoring too. But all these classes not cheap lor. I got another toddler to start sending too leh. Imgaine she's only in K1 and already her childcare is giving her P1 work to do to prepare them. *faintz faintz*

<font color="ff0066"> KC</font>
Thks... You've got mail.
2423923.gif

Yah lor... Compo already gotta write 60 words. I dun even know whether my gal can write more then 5 sentences. *faintz* Even at home already need me and hub to yell at her.

<font color="ff0066"> Luanee</font>
I also dun wanna stress my gal too much. But whenever she does not do well for her spelling, mock papers, etc... her form teacher will call me and keep telling me my gal needs to buck up. Tat she's way behind her peers, etc. Tat makes me lagi stressed out. Then I also dun want her to be so far behind least she feels tat she is 'stupid'. This can hurt her self-confidence leh. Really dilemma.

<font color="ff0066"> Mummyto2 and luanee</font>
It's not juz my hub yelling and screaming at my gal. I also end up scolding her at the top of my voice cos she juz too lazy to pay attention. Keep thinking of playing, swimming and watching TV only. Then when I try coaching her... she will start to do those 'delay tatics' like... go toilet... get drink... slowly get her school work, etc. End up I always gotta yell 'faster! faster!" Haiz... Tink my whole block can hear us screaming away everynight. Yet I really hate to do this to her. But dun scream, she dun move. Really pek chek.

SA stress erh?
I think standards defers from school-to-school. my boy's neighbourhood SA is not as scary as the more popular schools. The teacher let them do past year school's paper and I find them managable.
And also cos it's a neighbourhood schools (where they seems to focus more on the underprepared kids), we don't get as stressed out so long we do the adequate preparation.
My boy knows his work...but he is very careless and lazy. Helping words given still can spell wrongly. Gave him a big scolding yesterday. Hope he can learn from his mistake.

Drymples,

Strike lottery also not so easy!! Your gal and my boy actually same class...haha!! And we have very similar background...3 kids.

Good thing we can keep in touch!

Dymples
What is Heuristic math? Sounds scary to me :p
my son's school has their own maths materials. It's called atm ..supposed to be accelerated thinking in mathematics. It's a little tougher than the general P1 math textbook

Hiaz..ya lor 90+ and his teacher said it's below average. Disappointing.

fz,
I dont know whether it is the school or the kid himself. Mine is in a sap school and his classmates seem to be more matured in thinking than him. His form teacher commented that a lot of the kids in his class have homemaker mummies. I am wondering if that makes the diff. I've got a neighbour in the same school also a homemaker and he got into gep program.

Dymples, I guess ur stress comes from the teacher who kept calling u that ur gal needs to buck up. I think I would be too if my gal's teacher do that! (Luckily she doesn't). Know what, I used to stay within 1km of DLS but end up didnt enrol there coz I do not want to ballot.

Fz, not really true popular schools are so scary lah. My gal attends a popular school but life seem quite easy there too. Maybe it's becoz it is P1 only. A lot of my colleagues tell me the real challenge will come from P2 onwards.

KC, I also found a parent with her dd same class as mine in this forum! Hee...

I also shout at my children. Stress comes from so much to do with so little time on top of a lot of things don't know and can't seem to go into head.

My boy also plays a lot, can't sit still. Now still adjusting P1 life. There is homework everyday except during exam period. He seems better in maths than eng &amp; hanyupinyin.

Caroline, my dd is the exact opposite! She seems better in english/hypy rather than maths... Maybe that's the diff between boys and girls eh

<font color="ff0066"> tinklebell</font>
Aiyoh... this Heuristics Maths is quite tough. The child needs to have a very good command of English and basic Maths. A Question example - A Cow has 4 legs and 1 tail. If there are 4 more legs then tails, how many Cows are in the field? This question already considered very easy hor. There are much tougher ones. Some are like those shapes and patterns sequence which we find in those Mensa (IQ) tests.

huh? 90+ is disappointing? If my gal gets tat I'll be jumping up and down wz joy liaoz. Hopefully she'll imrove by leaps and bounds by yr end. Else I expect to get even more calls from the teacher.

<font color="ff0066"> luanee</font>
Yah lor. I already so stressed out coaching my gal. Then with the teacher calling me at least 1x a week... I lagi stressed. Somemore I got no outlet cos still gotta jagar 1 toddler and 1 baby at home. Haiz... really no easy bing a parent nowadays. Pity the children too... machiam no childhood.

<font color="ff0066"> caroline3</font>
*hi-5 babe* I couldn't agree more with you. I also dun understand why the teachers keep piling more and more homework. As if we parents got so much free time at home to tutor the child. *faintz*

<font color="ff0066"> KC</font>
Yah lor. Strike lottery also not so 'chun'. Somemore our family situation sama sama. Yes yes. Must keep in touch... hehehhe

Seems like everyone's very stressed out! Me too. And my girl is also much better in Chinese and English than Math. Guess that's really the difference between girls and boys.

I agree with the mummies that the P1 Maths syllabus is confusing these days. I especially hate the addition and subtraction for numbers 10-20. Must split into tens and ones. So silly and confusing. Why can't they use our old method?

Anyway, for me, the torture will end tomorrow. Thank goodness!
Am looking for a good Math tutor too. Let me know if you have good recommendations! I dun mind the centre types.

Dymples,
Are you staying near DLS ? I am but I dare not try because the balloting is very competitive.

Frankly speaking , my girl oso no sense of urgency and I feel no pressure nor does she, still only topical test and I have not see any very chim question all still look normal to me.

My girl refuse to use her brain or I should say she is lazy. Just look at me to wait for answer.

Luanne
I oso feel my girl's school should not be so relaxed because I was never so relaxed myself. I told her she got SA2 but she says aiyo newspaper bluff me, they say P1 and P2 no exam mah. Faintz

Dymples
Mine is neighbourhood sch - cckps. I didn't get balloted into DLS. At the teacher-parent conference in Mar, I told the form teacher why so much homework, usually P1/2 no homework (My girl now P6 in RGPS no homework when in P1/2 then). She said she has lots of things to cover in class, so activity books &amp; worksheets do at home. Inefficient teacher??? Something wrong with the system -- Stellar, &amp; what not programme take so much time.

By the way,
ha ha my gal oso got 90 , 90 plus for the 2 maths test. Dunno her chinese test yet but I know she not top 5 in class and should be below 47/50 ha ha. Anyway , she is with mythinktank and Linette it should be near your place at Jalan jurong kechil. I like the class size only 2 in her class so she got lots of attention.
But the teacher tells me she does not grasp concept well so she will lose out on the time taken and she reminded me " you know how difficult NYPS maths is hor"

caroline3sg,
my boy has been getting more chinese homework nowadays. seems like the teacher is having trouble finishing the syllabus on time. next Fri chinese exam, next wed's still have chinese spelling for the topic to be covered in exam (i think now they still haven't touch that topic).
then the teacher wrote in my boy's handbook to go home and search for the chinese workbook. my boy said he had handed up. his team leader said he had received. the teacher can't find. i am sure he didn't leave at home cos i checked it on monday morning the book is still in his bag and he didn't bring back on monday afternoon.
hope the teacher can find back cos still have to use it to do revision.

Caroline
my niece P3 at same school as your boy see my daughter she felt very upset, I saw her every night non stop homework but my girl just play and play

chicken little
Make full use of the time (P1/2 - no homework) to teach yourself. Nowadays, english syllabus is not like our times where grammar was taught and reinforced. At least 2 teachers told me sch teachers never teach grammar rules and many upper primary kids still do not have strong foundation.

The time in your hands can also be used to teach Maths as this subject needs lots of practise.

Due to CCKPS (maybe that inefficient form teacher only) gives so much homework till I have no time to teach myself. As you know I am very hands on with my elder girl, I know what to teach but find no time.

<font color="ff0066"> Linette</font>
Yes yes. I agree. The Maths syllabus is very confusing. I was also really shocked when my gal first came home with problem sums to do??!! Wah pianz!! During my time... problem sums was only done at P3 level. Then the worse came... the Heuristic Maths. Tat one lagi confusing siah. Even my hub and me gotta read the question like 2-3 times before we even understood it. How to expect a P1 child to understand and do??!!

<font color="ff0066"> Chicken Little</font>
Yup yup. I'm staying near DLS. But I din need to ballot cos we're catholics. hahhahah... my gal also sama sama. She will juz read the question then look at me blankly. I ask her to explain wat the question is asking... she tells me :"I dunno." Then expect me to give her the answer. *pengz*

<font color="ff0066"> Caroline3</font>
Sigh... Maybe we should ask the teacher what they are covering in school. My gal also comes back with tons of worksheets (each set of worksheet like 10 pages) hor. And this is Maths only. Hv not added in EL and MT. But then when I ask another mommy whose boy also in P1 at DLS, apparently her boy's teacher goes thru the activity book and worksheetes in class leh. So he does not bring much homework back. Dunno why diff class got diff styles of teaching although in same school.

chicken little
ya lor, I adult also envy, not to mention your niece. CCKPS is siao. Want to catch up with DLS or South View also need strategy or systematic approach. Not throw piles of homework onto parents.

Dymples
Different teaching? That's why I mentioned inefficient mah. It makes a difference whether the teacher has children or not in order to understand parents' concerns. Also the teacher's philosophy.

Mine doesn't have chinese homework.

OMG, I do not know the answer to this question leh: A Cow has 4 legs and 1 tail. If there are 4 more legs then tails, how many Cows are in the field? Whats the answer har? Just nag at my dd last night, it seems that i am the only one stress out at home.

Hi caroline, my boy also in neighbourhood sch, SPS, also has lots of homework to do since day 1. Sometimes wondering is it inefficiency of teacher, because other classes not that much homework. Hence did voice out to the teacher about heavy homework load.

Then a friend, who had kids already in upper pri (not same school but SAP schools) changed my mindset abit He told me got homework is good! This shows that the teacher does do work... i was
. He said : you think teacher like to give homework meh? They still need to mark leh... More homework means more marking leh... They give homework shows that they really spend the time teaching in class rather than let the kids spend time in class and do the work, while she can sit down n 'relax'..... So now I just live with it loh..

Till now, my boy still have quite lot of homework, especially close to SA period, making me really no time to coach anything to him in the evening. By then he finishes already sleeping time. His subject teachers give them lots of worksheets and work in preparation for their SA1. But their SA1 is not counted in their Year end result one leh...
kao_angry.gif

natellehcim
What your friend said, I also know. But if other class/teacher can have no homework, why ours so much? Inefficiency is the reason. We know whether a teacher is inefficient or not by talking to her. My son's form teacher talks slowly, body posture backward &amp; relaxed and not forward during teacher-parent conference.

My son's qualified relief teacher in term 1 is forward sitting. No homework. I like her (so is my son, she is able to control him given his cannot sit still nature, she just need to stare at him and he would stop his fidgeting) but VP did not continue her despite my call to continue till SA1 finish.

Other teacher no homework relax meh? I don't think so. They have performance criteria as well.