(2002) Any 2002 babies?

wan wan,
I still blur..so it is counted as as 10%? But i think only chinese has CA rite? english and maths only has SA..correct?

Btw, when is the year end examinations going to be? My maid likes to schedule her holiday on 7Nov..I hope it will not crash with the Exam period..

oh...lost track of the thread. Been bz at work, not really monitering dd's progress. She did mentioned that she had the jab and drank some yucky stuff yesterday. Luckily for us no CA nor SA for this half year so we're pretty much taking it slow. Though I must say that she's bringing back single worksheets from school almost on a daily basis since late Feb.

Thks to dd's old pre-school friend's mummies, I've already got her March hols prgm lined-up. She'll be attending 3 sessions of workshops at the CC with her old pre-school friends. Seems that while she hangs ard with friends during schooltime, there's not one special friend as yet.

Btw, ladies....Borders discount on again.

http://email.borders.com.au/shortlist/sg/2009/20090306/lm6/coupon-01-sg.asp

Bought this 3-book set by AsiaPac Books. Comic-style teaching, I find it easier to absorb.

2233242.jpg

2233243.jpg

My gal had her English CA yesterday. She's a bit sad, asking me whether she can still have $5 if she scores below 90 marks.... (Back track a bit, my gal likes to buy vitagen and handicrafts, so I promise her $5 per subject if she scores 90 to 99 marks, $10 per subject for full marks.) In response, I told her to move on once the paper is over ...next time work harder lor......dun want her to think $$$ can be easily earned ....this mummy very mean hor....

cookiepie,
my boy don't have any CAs, but i am promising him something different for his future tests/exams - for every key words circled and extra workings that he show, I give him a point. For scores above 95, he gets 5 points. He can exchange his points for his favourite snacks. as i emphasize on his checking and workings more than his marks, even without scoring above 95, he still get to receive some points for the key words and workings.

cookiepie,

Wow...gd way to make her work for it(as u say, so she know tat is nt easy to earn $$)...my son only think of toys...so no choice to make him work if he scores 90 and above will get him a Bagukan....aiyo only boys know tat silly toys... me dn't anythings on tat....

think next time will use $$ so he can keep instead of buying toys.....

another mean mummy...ha..ha...ha..

I have also started using rewards to reward good result For every full mark, i will give him $1. So far, he has been savings his $$ for his fav toy or snack =p

fz, amy, cool,
Seems like we are all practicisng the reward system in vary forms, be it $$, points, toys etc. My gal actually prefers disney princess toys but such toys are not cheap. So this mummy uses $$$ reward to limit my financial exposure, hahahaha.....

Hi Cool,
It's not stated in the handbook but i think there should be FA for all subjects. Not sure.

My ds has gone for a journal trip (it's actually excursion) today at Pasir Ris kids kampong and he was so excited this morning. I made some sushi for him to bring along and he was so happy.

My ds had 2 wrongs for his cl2 FA and we were so happy. As I did not agree on any reward system with him before the test, I did not reward him anything, just lots of encouragement. He did ask for the sweets from the sticky.com shop which our family likes very much and he seemed to be very satisfied with the 'reward'. I am still thinking of other form of reward which is more intrinsic and effective like having self-motivation to achieve better. I tried the $$ system but worried the $$ will get more and more as he moves on to higher primary. But most kids are motivated with toys and savings.

Hi wanwan, good that degree is not high. When I told my kids to take care of their eyes, ds reasoned that he can go for lasik...like mummy. oops!

Hi wan wan,

Do you have to pay for your ds's journal trip with the school? My gal's school wants parents to pay $20 for school trips .... wonder why they did not deduct it from the edusave....

hi luanee

just went on an excursion trip to the zoo yesterday as parent volunteer. now whole body ache...

my son's school charge $4.50 for entrance. as i have the zoo card so no need to pay any. maybe the amt is inclusive of tram or meals cos the child tkt is only abt $8+ before any group dis.

Hi cookiepie,
Yes we paid only $5 for the entrance, no meals. The rate is highly subsided; the sch paid $10. My ds enjoyed himself very much said they had the chance to 'interact' with chickens, ducks, rabbits, hamsters etc. My ds caught some fishes and was so excited about the new pet.

Hi Jan,
So you went for lasik? I have been thinking of these for years. Now that it's cheaper maybe I go for it. But heard so much on the side effects. Which hosp did you go?

(sorry mummy, side track a bit...)

Hi luanee,
The entrance fees for zoo is only $9...maybe the $13+ includes snack.

Hi cookiepie,
Yeah during my time i rem they were foc too...

Now we even need to pay for some of the stationery used by the sch like blank papers, files, marker, writing board etc etc. Some were included in the book list while some were not. Schools should inform parents on their intent and reasons for doing so during orientation and not to ask the children to always ask for $$ from parents to purchase all these stuff.

Hi wan wan and koo, how come my dd's school charge so much leh? I think the letter says its for transport and entry. Not so sure got snacks or not. Shall ask my dd after the trip.

And yeah, talk about stationery, my dd will come home everyday asking for additional stuff like green pen, purple pen which we have to buy ourselves.

hi cool

yes, my son currently attending both eng & chinese enrichment classes on sat. guess what, he complains that he has to study for 6 days and i only work 5 days a week... hahaha

luanee
some updates from me. My son finally had his injection first Wed of this month. He didn't cry but shouted "Ooooooouch" loud & long.

This Fri is parent teacher conference, 5 min per teacher. Last min I thought of his dental needs and called up, all appt full. The nurse said he needs 2 fillings. It is too expensive (ie $50 for cleaning) at private HDB shops.

His sch would be going to Gardenia Bread Factory at term 2. RC is organising to Gardenia, Edible Oil & Police Heritage during 1 week Mar hols but within 3 days all tickets taken up.

Regarding green pens, they are for doing corrections. You don't need purple pens but red pens because the children would be asked to mark their classmates' work.

My elder is doing adaptation of animals (ie Science) and I showed them some YouTube Videos; my son is very interested so last weekend, I brought my children to Omni Theatre to watch Sea Monsters.

I have just bought some interesting Chinese readers for my P1 son from SM bulk purchase.

As I have to get the whole series (now got 25 books in total), would like to check if any mummy interested to take over some of the collections. Its fine too if you like to get loose copies.

Pls email me at [email protected] to discuss further.

1) Noddy 双语故事书(全12册) - 英汉双语加注汉语拼音 - $25 for 12 books ($12.50 for 6)

目录 Title
Noddy和彩虹
中了魔咒的出租车
大耳朵的自行车
跳跳球来到玩具城
会飞的小汽车
不爱动脑筋的Noddy
神奇的魔粉
丢三落四的Noddy
神奇的风笛
Noddy中奖了
Noddy搬家
最好的礼物
2238710.jpg
2238711.jpg

2) 卡米的故事 注音版 (5册)- $19 for 5 books ($3.80 each)

Details pls refer:
http://www.myrainbowbox.com/details/38.html

3) 小熊比尔和爸爸的故事(8册)$22 for 8 books ($2.75 each)

Details pls refer: http://www.myrainbowbox.com/details/a9.html

mm... it seem like all kids r gg to the Zoo..but my poor fellow nt going any where yet...

But koo, u mention tat u went with them as a parent volunteer..do u sign up with the sch 1st or when ur son teacher need parent to follow??

Hi wanwan, went snec and did it 2 years ago. mmmm lets put it this way, the world is brighter and clearer in the morning..!

Hi amy, same same, my ds also no excursions yet. Also waiting to volunteer myself if can apply leave. Good chance to see how the teachers are and interact with friends.

Hi wan wan, luanee,
Think excursions are a good way to mark the end of a school term and start of holiday. As long as our kids are happy, we are happy too.

Hi jan,
I also did my lasik at snec in 2005. Agree that world is now brighter & clearer in the morning....

Hi jan,
Ya lor..nows aday, dn't want they are doing in the sch...used to go excursions FOC and now hve to pay, even for the CCA... make kids to join and make us to pay & pay.....

how much u guys pay for the lasik?? tot of gg too...but my dec keep on going up & down..ha..ha... just like the stock market...so old a really the dec still can't be stable...

hi amy

i sms the teacher if i can go along and so happen that she has yet to look for any parent volunteer.

yes, its indeed a good opportunity to get to know the teacher and make friend with the classmates.

my ds having 'excursion' tomorrow but is just a neighbourhood walk for tomorrow. Their teacher asking parents to volunteer and my ds wanted me to go. However, I do not have much annual leave left, furthermore, there's nothing much about neighbourhood walk leh... hence told him I'm not going. He was so disappointed and wanted me to go... Mummies, if you were me, what would you do? Go or not go? I'm in quite a dilemma.

thanks for all responses on my earlier post regarding the chinese readers.

sorry if i didn't make myself clear, i am not letting go the whole set but only to cost-share with mummies who are also interested in getting the books.

Cookiepie, mine is on 30mar, so not really to mark end of school term.

Nat, I would go if I were u since ur ds wanted u to go so badly. Just tell him u would go this time, but not necessary in future... U do have 6 days of child care leave?

Caroline, my dd said the teacher asked for either purple, brown or orange pen. I dunno for what purpose. But we only managed to find purple ones. And yes, green ones are for corrections.

And btw I re-read the zoo letter, it does not cover snacks as we were asked to bring along water and some food for our kids. Then why $13++ for a trip leh?

Hi luanee, thanks for your advice. My CC leaves all eaten up by company's shutdowns. And now eating into annual leaves for 4-day working week loh...

I've signed up for PV for other events, hence had reserved my leaves for these days.

Hi Nat,
If you do not have alternative perhaps explaining to him your intention of joining him for the subsequent activities will help to ease his disappointment. If you can afford the time of preparing food, can discuss with him what he would like you to prepare in the next event. I am sure he will brighten up

ya, called him and told him this afternoon before he went to sch. He was so sad and keep pestering me to go... haiz.. what else for me to do? Just give in loh, and promised him to go tomorrow loh...

So many of you went to SNEC for lasik. Any reasons why you choose this place over the other lasik centres? My friends recom the one at Paragon & I can't make up my mind

ya loh... he's always so enthusiastic over his school requests... kids always listen more to their teachers/schools than listening to we parents.

natellehcim
If I were you, I won't give in. Leave are precious. For own outing/holidays, errands, study for exams (2 per yr) etc etc, not enough to use. Neighbourhood walk is nothing.

oh, caroline, my promise comes before your advice leh... You have a point there also. Lucky my ds SA1 is not counted in final year's results. If i were to back out now, seems mummy breaking promises leh... think he muz have happily inform his form teacher about my participation liao.

Nat, u are right that the kids listen to teachers/schools more than parents. I have been teaching my dd to brush her teeth properly for the past few years with no results. After just one session of teeth-brushing practice in the school, she comes home to brush her teeth jurisdically everyday now. Even spend a longer time brushing her teeth than I do! LOL.

ya, me having the same prob with my kids also. they are lazy to brush their teeth. My ds jus went for dental checkup yesterday, hopefully he will take up that habit soon. But surprise is that the dental checkups are unlike last time our days whereby cards will be given to the classes to call out the kids. My ds was spotted by the 'nurse' when she came out to look for kids during recess, and she asked my ds to go in for checks. I was surprise to hear such kind of arrangement. Then the kids will come out and call any of their friends to go... that's funny? He was given a tube of colgate toothpaste and a toothbrush (doreamon, his favourite!) after the checks, and also a form for parents to acknowledge the conditions of the checks.

Like that surely some kids would be left out? Or maybe they 'catch' the kids this way first, then after striking out the names of all those 'caught' this way, they will go 'catch' the rest in their classes later? Mmmmm.... funny indeed...

ah?? if wat tat kids happen to be there and get 'caught' again how?? Go dental again???

my boy just told me tat he hve to wait for his dental checkups till his name called...they should be gg by classes...now only till 1C..tat means he hve to wait untill around may???
he just can't wait to see the nurse...everyday telling me tat he want to go dental...aiyo siao ah boy....

Does any of ur kid takes up Higher CL2?? Any diff frm the normal CL2??

Pls advice....

tks

Hi nat, my dd also got a tube of colgate toothpaste and a toothbrush after the dental check and a form for parent to acknowledge the conditions of the check. My dd must go for 1 filling in due course. But she still any how brush her teeth leh. She spent less than 1 min and she out of the wash room. But to tell the truth, i don't even brush my teeth regularly when i was young.. hee..hee.

in the form, my ds' teeth was rated fair nia, no filling required. he had 1 loose tooth and the nurse ask him if he want it to be extracted, he say no need. But who knows after he came out, he ran about the school and it came out on its own. so funny! So far it's the third tooth changed. The earlier 2 didn't grow out to be straight, both slanted parallely to one another.

Hi cookiepie, yah felt blind as a bat without glasses then suddenly vision good enough to be pilot!

Hi amy, wanwan, I went snec bcos the place did the most number of lasik and dr was recommended from friend. You should just go for assessment to check if you are suitable and how comfy you are to proceed. But from personal experience...it's one of the best gifts to yourself! hehee I'm bad trying to be neutral hor...

Hi nat, your ds so cute! The nurse asked my ds if he wanted his shaky tooth to be extracted and he said ok.

There was an acknowledgement slip attached to the form which I signed but it was not collected from ds since January. So I threw it away, all crumpled in this bag liao.

My ds is sooo looking forward to the one week break! Has been counting down since MOnday, asked me to bring him here and there, then was disappointed when he realised it's school holidays but he has to go studentcare still.