(2002) Any 2002 babies?

Re: Pocket Money
Was telling my dd to borrow $ from her form teacher if i forgotten to give her, but she refuse to do that. reason: worry her teacher dont have enough $ to buy her own food!!!! haha..
she rather just drink plain water..

Hanyu PinYin,
My dd tends to mixed up with phonics, any of your kid encounter same problem.
her trick: write # beside each biao hao. eg: ma (mother), 1. 'faint...'

Re: Pocket money
My son is clueless what he ate or how he spend his $$ everyday. When we asked him what he ate, he will hv to think and then, all the maths dont tally to the amount we gave him...Arraghh..are they all like this in Pri1??

Regarding the story books for Sterlla progrom, do you think we need to buy them? How do you do revision with your kid if you don't have the book? Need some advise pls...

Pin, thks for sharing the Bento sites...very interesting indeed.

Regarding Hanyu Pinyin, with the yin jie....all I can say is to practise, practise and more practise. Dd is also weak in her yin jie...always mixing up the 2nd sound with the 3rd sound. I try to get her to sound out all the 4 sounds and then decide which one is accurate cos she has the habit of simply guessing due to pure laziness.

Regarding recess/lunch money, told dd if really need be, then to borrow from friends. Did stress that she must remember to return the money back to her friends...if not they will lend her anymore. Told her to put herself in their shoes, would she continue to lend someone who keeps borrowing/taking and never returning the money or items. Hopes she gets my drift.

RE: Lending Money

I told my boy to ask the friend to approach the teacher for help if the friend is not close. After the buddy system ended, he has been lunching with the same few, so I'm ok if he lends them $ if it is not too frequent.

RE Pocket Money
My boy buys the same old stuff, so I have no problem with the accounting. :p

RE Stellar Programme Books
I will not be buying the books as my boy has already commented that lessons are boring. I want to keep that fresh for him to pay attention/look forward to in class.

I will be using usual English assessment books at home (eg grammer/vocab/cloze passage/compre).

RE HYPY
My boy usually mix up 'J' and 'Z', or 'U' for phonics. The tonation, like shawny17 mentioned, needs practices. It's his handwriting that is terrible...1st tonation can write to look like 2nd or 4th tonation!

RE: pocket money

My mil gave my girl $3 the day before and she suddenly had a feeling she is very rich and bought a dolphin water and jelly! Scolded her not to buy again! LOL.

Pin,
Yes, I was there at the CCA on Monday. She has tennis CCA today, but think I will not go as it is after lunch. Are you working or are you a SAHM? Your websites for bento making is very interesting! Will definitely try making some, but with my girl in the AM session, very difficult to wake up early and fiddle around with food!

FOr hanyu pinyin, my girl always get confused with 2nd and 3rd yin like shawny17. So I make her go through all the 4 sounds as well. But sometimes still mix up. And the worst is those words with 2 3rd intonation...cos remember the ruling where if there are 2 words with 3rd intonations, the first word is supposed to be pronounced as 2nd intonation but written as the 3rd? She got all confused when I told her that. Her school has this for spelling, which was why I tried explaining to her "da(3) gu(3)"

Cool,
Dun worry...maybe just email his teacher instead and dun let your son know? Sometimes our kids want some freedom! My girl told me last week not to ask her "How's school?" right after I am home. Instead, must wait until bedtime when she is relaxed, then only can I ask *faint* She also asked me why I want to know everything about her in school *double faint* I think they are trying hard to be independent.

Luanee,
Wow, dolphin water is ex! That day, I bought dolphin water in her school (cos I lunched there before her CCA). $1.50! More expensive than her chicken rice! I nearly fainted!

Linette, yah it is exp, I dunno how much her school sold it for but her $3 came back left 20 cents only (plus that jelly)! And told her no more dolphin water but she simply loves it. So today I am going to put $1.50 in her wallet only.

fz, jan, linette

thanks for your kind advices
I have emailed the teacher and told her since my son does not want to pursue it, i will not stir it up either. But i have asked her to observe the boy and keep me posted.

Wonder if the class will actually have a lost and found corner. Tot it will be good to have it so that any found item can be dropped there. This will teach them not to be a finder's keeper.

Jan,

ya..i tink he is confused too. May be he dun want to just condemn his friend becos he didn't see it wif his own eyes...

Fz,

No, my eldest boy is very straight and will not make up stories. If it is my second son..then may be..hahaha
I tink he may just want to rest the case, as he is quite close wif the boy..just learnt that the boy is one of his lunch buddies too.

Linette,
agreed with u...may be i have probed too much already, So I decided to give him a break and not probe on this incident again. I just asked him if he knows what to do the next time such thing happen again, and he says yes, he will inform the teacher, and i closed the case.

thank u all for your kind advices

Chicken, yah my gal not in NYPS but I got a friend and a collegue with kids in NYPS who both told me they are getting the 3rd day of CNY off .... and they also told me TCS artistes Chen Liping and Rayson Tan's son is in NYPS too, hee...

My girl having some audio test on 28 Jan (so confirm no off day liao), and immunisation on 4 Feb. Was thinking should I tell her beforehand to prepare her, or just let her go to school to get the shock herself?

Pin, for hanyu pinyu intonation, you have to teach your kid the 4 sounds first. Once they get the basics right then should be okie. My girl so far managed to get all right when I tested her hanyu pinyin spelling.

luanee
are their kids in 1L ? ha ha their son same class as my gal and the class all know daddy and mummy are actor and actresses ha h.

luanee,
she wont get de shock cos i'm sure her classmates will talk abt it. my gal's classmates even speculate who'll cry n who wont LOL

stellar program,
dun tink need 2 buy bks; wasnt told 2. in fact, glad dun need cos teachers said de bks r simple. dun tink they'll wana look at de bks again after their teachers finish teachin those bks.

unlike de longman chinese readers my gal used durin k2. de words r 'chim' n even now when my gal sees them, she'll pic them up 2 read. she can even tell me she 4got some of de words! sigh ...

anyone rec'd an invitation 2 join de free e-assessment fm popular? tink got it cos i've ordered textbks on-line.

Chicken, I dunno what classes their kids are in... but my colleague who PVed the first 3 days of school said she saw the actress there for the entire 3 days! Hee...

JH, oh so good, I can leave the mental preparation to her classmates liao, hee... I only hope she wont feign illness on the actual day to skip school! LOL.

ha ha Luanee
I was there for 2 days maybe met your colleague.Ya they were there but not too bad because they see from far far

There was once daddy wants to submit the form and went into the compound. Pple joked and ask why he so special got privilege then he very defensive and says teacher ask him to go. Then some mummies oso joke and say why mummy never do PV, she says got 100 over serial to shoot then cannot join ha ha. ex actress Chen Xiuhuan kids oso in the same school.

As per my gal, Chen Li Ping's son is a very good boy. Which means my gal more cheeky.

heard dat Xiangyun's n Quan Yifeng's kids r in tao nan. people also ask y their cars can drive into compound when others arent allowed 2 LOL

Just a simple intro.

My son was born on Aug 02. P1 this year - boy I feel stressed about it. We stay in SengKang area and I am a working mom.

Glad to have found this thread.

fz, jan, linette

The teacher just emailed me and told me she has pulled the boy one side and counselled him and he repented. She has also changed my ds's seat. **faint** tot that her action is too strong..din expect a change of seat!

bichon, chicken little, natellehcim,
my 2002 boy also born in Aug. :D

Cool,
wow! i thought the teacher will observe for a while.

fz, Cl, shawny

Yeah the yin jie really very difficult for her. Hanyu Pinyin spelling is ok is only the yin jie she alway forgot ius 2nd or 3rd sound.

CL

Most of the bento's thing i got it from Daiso or spree.

linette,

so sad next week stil got spelling for hanyu pinyin which mean this holiday my girl still need to study very hard.

Hi luanee, my ds is a big spender too! I give him $1.50 pocket money and a $2 note as extra, for emergency. He spent $1.30 on a marker pen in the 1st week but said it's for ME becos our whiteboard markers at home are out of ink. Now I think he gets the drift and spend within the daily budget of $1.50 and doesn't touch the $2. He has also agreed to pack snacks from home and buy drinks on alternate days. Today, he proudly told me he didn't spend any money so all are savings. Hope this continues..!

We used to give our son $1.50 pocket money for recess (at 9.30am). The sums didn't tally after we asked him what he had bought and spent.

Now, we pack sandwich and cookies for him so that he can save $1.50 everyday in his piggy bank.

Hi CL, yah not nice to say bad people for kids who borrow money. When I spoke to the studentcare teacher, I reminded her not to reprimand the boy. She actually thanked me for letting her know about this.

Hi cool, wow the teacher is quite firm. Since she has settled it, let her do it her way. Young boys will forget very fast, just continue talking to your ds to make sure he's ok with it.

need some tips from the experienced mommies.
looking to send my P1 boy for reading and Math classes. Anyone has recommendations? I was reading other threads and I Can Read seems not to be a choice. Thanks for sharing.

Feel better after reading all the comments and advice..thks..

Bichon: we are doing that now..cos we gave him $1.30 and sometimes,he can come home with More Money??!

I told my husband to put $1.50 in my daughter's wallet but stupid guy went to put $2.50 in! End up my dd bought her favourite dolphin water AGAIN yest and I scolded her NO MORE dolphin water!!!! Haha... hopes she gets the message today...

Cool,
It's good that the teacher is firm about such stuff. Also ensure that the boy will not do naughtier things to your boy in future!

Pin,
Yeah lor, they have to practise that 10 hanyu pinyin words every week. Stressful hor! But luckily, no English spelling yet, hee hee. Did your daughter wear a traditional costume to school today? I brought along the costume and only changed her in school after seeing so many girls decked out in pretty cheongsams!

Luanee,
Haha, your daughter is so cute! She really loves dolphin water so much! Can't blame la, I also like it, hee hee.

Hi Jusker, your son is so cute, managed to bring back more money.

Actually we're quite bad. Initially when we gave him pockey money, we told him not to spend on drinks since most are cordial and less healthy. Water is still the best, next comes juices.

Blurr, I sent my girl to I Can Read when she was in early K2. She went in not even knowing how to read 'the' to reading whole story books now (within a year). Not so sure whether she late bloomer or what. But fees rather exp though. U can PM me for further info.

Any oh yah, we talked about immunisation yesterday. She asked me can she skip school on that day? I told her cannot, even if she skips, she would still need to jab the next day. So she asked what if she skips until P2? I told her the government will still catch her for the jab even up till P2 because they have all the records, hee...

luanee
so fast got immunisation ? I know my gal went for her dental check in school liao.

This immunisation is booster right ?

My daughter hor let her bring her favourite biscuits. she says her friend never eat that biscuits before so she let her fren eat it and she go buy noodles.

Then today I use my HK bread cutter to cut out her bread for her. See if she will share or not

About the Bully.
Just to update. bus driver refused to tell me name right. I tell the P1 custodian so yday she waited for my gal at the bus, then ask her to tell her who the boy is. She talked to the boy and make him say sorry to my gal. So at least the school is doing something

Hi mummies, do you know if the Chinese character cards (zi baobao) need to be kept in sequence, i.e. cannot mess up the stated order?

jan,
i only know that the character cards is based on the chapters in the book. if it is messed up, you can follow its 'page no.' on the card to rearrange it. :D

jan, linette, fz

Was initially concerned that i will sow bad feelings btw the boys. But my ds do not seemed to be disturbed by it at all, and they are still having lunch together with few other boys.

Immunisation
My Ds is scheduled for immunication on 28Jan. right after the CNY. He is already mentally prepared. Still can tell me, "I know it be a little bit painful, but I'll be alrite..Dun worry mummy" =D

English
Thinkt the P1 english standard is quite high. He brought back his homework which has to write a riddle on a animal. Supposed to write at least 5 sentences..

My ds still cannot write independently yet. Dun noe if i should send him for english tuition already. Anyone has good recommendation?

Luannee,

Ur girl attended which I can read centre? Now that she can read independently, can she write the same too?

Cool, she attended the one at CCK next to Lot1, now we stopped already... Yah her writing is ok too, in fact she has no problem with all the weekly spelling lists her school gave her, which included words like 'caterpillar', 'interesting' etc. I am so glad I need not fret over that! Now I am worried about her Math though. Anyone has any enrichment recommendations?

Are all schools having CNY celebrations today? My dd school no letter about it leh, so I assume lessons as usual? But she did mention to me that there would be lion dance today.

Immunisation is on 4th Feb for my dd. I did a dry-run with her yest,with me pretending to be the nurse and jabbed her. Then she screamed, imagining the needle going into her arm, haha... so I guess now she is more prepared? :p

mommies

I'm looking for an USB cup warmer

The cup warmer looks something like this
http://www.gmarket.com.sg/challenge/neo_goods/goods.asp?goodscode=100016791

Which retail shop can I purchase this from?

Thanks in advance

My dd complained of pain in her molars last night, cried and cried. Brought her to NTUC denticare this morning, doc said nothing wrong with her molars leh! But found 2 holes behind her 2 front teeth and did fillings for her. Costs me a whooping $117 man! But I am just glad her first dental experience was quite a pleasant one...

Caroline, I dunno which one better. I just brought her there becoz that was the only one I knew near my place, hee...

Kim, this is my dd's first dental experience. And after reading some of the mummies' posts here, I was quite worried she may end up having phobia if the first experince is no good. Anyway she also refused to go to the school's one becoz she wants mummy to be next to her! Sigh....

I hope after this 'rather ok' first time, she will get the confidence to visit the school's one the next time...

Any of ur kids study morning sessions got take a nap.. Usually how long is the nap and what time they sleep in the night?

Hi hothotmum,

My girl take a nap in the after school care( about an hour) & she sleep at 10.15pm in the night. As I'm working, I only have the night time bonding with her. So, I wanted her to nap so that she can sleep later. By the way she wakeup at 6.30am in the morning.

Hothotmum,
Like Pin, my girl also never takes a nap, although sometimes she does lie down on her bed and relax a while, but she never falls asleep. She will sleep around 9.15pm and wakes at 6.30am.