(2002) Any 2002 babies?

hi Pin,
ur girl is very pretty, she's a model?

Jan,
ya..he's quite fast. his 2 front teeths are growing out already. I can't even remember which are the ones that have been replaced already.

Mimosa,

Dun worry, i dun think he will missed much for 2 days..If you really worried, den can run thru a few pages in advance for him..

stella programme

My ds has completed his first series of the Stellar programme : The animal concert.

There is no need to purchase any book, He has a animal mask and they acted on farmer den and the animals in the class. He enjoyed it. The related worksheets are all put into a nice yellow file and returned to him, Teacher has commented on the need to use a good eraser. If only she is awared that my ds has lost his better erasers 4 times already! Today day i go popular to buy somemore,,Brought those pentel ones...more expensive, also afraid that he may lose again..
Any tips to remind them to safekeep their stationeries? Me and hubby already tell him to put it back into the pencil case once he finish using, but he still lost it..haiz

Hi P1 mummies, just to check whether have ur kids received any student pass? I want to apply Popular's student membership card but need a student pass. Would the school issue it automatically or we need to request for it?

Hi Linette, yes I previously haboured high hopes of packing beautiful bentos for dd when she was still in K2...however haven't really gotten ard to doing it. (Btw, the task's been delegated to my helper to handle) Wondering if you have ever visited this other forum called Moms4Moms...some of the parents shared photos of the lovely
bentos they did for their dd/ds.

Caroline, thks for sharing your thoughts. I too would prefer an arragnement like that but I guess it's up to the teacher.

Jan, I really hope that dd starts to settle down soon. Since her pre-school days, she's been know to yak-yak-yak with her buddies despite constant warnings from her teachers. Hope a few gentle reminders from her form teacher will serve to 'jolt' her out of the current dreamy state of mind.

Luanee, I applied for the student Popular card during the BookFest Fair in Dec last year. I used dd's registration slip (pink/green slip)as proof...that was as per advised when I called up their customer service hotline to enquire. To be on the safe side, you may want to call them to reconfirm. Membership Hotline : 6462 9555

luanee,
i think the student pass is the new LTA school SMART card. my boy will have his photo taken in school on 29 Jan for this card.

with the pass, go pizza hut lunch deal have discount ah! heehee

Pin,
Wow! Your princess looks so pretty, and her "jobs" seem very impressive! I also dunno what to bring to the P1 picnic. I guess we will be seated according to class? Maybe bring sushi rolls or fried bee hoon??? What CCAs is ur girl joining? My girl is joining the RAD Ballet and Tennis.

Shawny17,
Ha, same here. Today, I just tried decorating her box more by including a tray of marshmellows, putting in a mini box of raisins, a packet of "Wang Wang" crackers and a packet of small mini ball cookies...on top of a bunny and chicken moulded bread. I think that's the best I could do. Thanks for the Moms4Moms thread. Will go in and try to be inspired ;) I also have some blogging moms who blogged about their beautiful Bentos...wonder how they can create such lovely creations in the early hours of the morning!!!

How much is the Popular Student discount card? I have the regular card and it's 10%.

Thanks shawny and fz for the info, so guess I have to wait for it then...

Linette, think the discount is the same, only that subscription fee is $5 for students instead of $10 for the normal card.

sigh ... i'm also waitin 4 de student card 2 apply de popular card ... dis student card can also apply cheaper mobile phone lines

cool,
yr ds has alredi completed de 1st bk! my gal's still bringin home de worksheet she has alredi finished cos her classmates need 2 do them as homework. de teacher made her erase all de 'advanced' work she has done!

de stellar program is a little like de rigby reader program. my gal did had dis in k1 & k2 n hence, she's used 2 learin thru story bks. when she started dis program, i complained 2 de teacher dat de words in de story bks were so simple. de teacher later showed me de activity bk n other supplementary materials used tog wif de bks n then i realised de benefits of dis program. de difference wif de stellar program is - dun have 2 buy de story bks.

mimosa,
ask de sch when they start sch. my gal has cny celebrations on 28 jan so if yrs still have celebrations on 3rd day of sch, dun have 2 miss so many days

ssmummy,
have pm u.

NYPS has declared third day of CNY (28jan) as school hols. Wonder if any other school doing the same?

BTW would there be shorter school hours on 23 jan (CNY celebration day)?

Actually it's quite amazing that some of you mummies are kept so well abreast of the current schoolwork....I'm pretty much in the dark or maybe it's really that they've not started anything much.

Luanee, yes SCGS has declared 28th Jan as holiday too. My nephew's school TaoNan still have to go for 1/2 day. My sis says it's like CNY celebration for the kiddos.

Wow, so good, MGS did not declare any school hol on 28 Jan. But they declared 23 Jan as holiday cos their secondary school had done well for the O-levels. My mum was asking me...what has their sec sch got to do with the pri sch! Ha. But of cos, my girl is so happy to have a holiday. Their CNY celebration is for an hour this Thursday, and they have to wear traditional Chinese costumes to school! So cute...But after the celebrations, still have to study till 1.30pm, sigh.

wow...so good ah...declared sch holiday for third day of CNY..

The school my son goes to...did not mentioned anything..

Linette

hi my girl joining modern jazz and violin, might withdraw her from the violin as they change my timing to thurs, and thurs she had berries so cannot make it. Yeah so good they got extra holiday but i would prefer it to be on the 3rd day of new year haha.

Hi jh, same same! My ds also had the Rigby literacy program and I feedback to the teachers that the books are too simple. They started at Nursery, 4 years old and ok at that level. Was thrilled then that he can read. Thereafter, it seems the standard is stuck and didn't progress much for the K1 and k2 books hor.

There were similar literacy books for Chinese and they are so much better in terms of difficulty level. I just told my ds that we should revise those books since the P1 lessons are now all hanyu pinyin, incase he forgets all the good teaching soon! Such a waste...his childcare chinese teacher taught him so well in terms of recognising, reading and writing chinese characters. I'm still 'against' learning Chinese in hanyu pinyin. It's fine as a supplementary but not the full emphasis, for what - half the year, from mummies' experience.

wah, if school declares holiday on 28 jan, must apply leave liao... unless studentcare will cover for the additional halfday? FOC?

My gal will have another day of CNY holiday too and the 4th day back is for celebration. Some quite cheena school will have such practice I feel.

Luanne
your gal not in NYPS right how come you so aware of NYPS holiday hee hee

Shawny
Me too tempted to do bento for her but knowing her she hardly eat much one. Maybe should do for her and at the same time do one for myself for work

Pin:
Modern jazz is very popular. I was there in school just now during the CCA session and the Modern Jazz group is huge! Were you there as well? I believe the group for Violin today is rather small.

today my ds come back and complained that the boy sat next to him took his eraser and refused to return it. And that boy still can proudly tell him he has my ds's other 2 erasers at home! My God, all along, i thought my ds has lost his eraser. Din realise the thief is just next to him! Ask my ds if he tell the teacher, he says no, becos he dun noe how to say it in mandarin. I told him he can always tell the teacher in english. I felt my ds is being bullied. It may be a small eraser this round, but it would be more precious possession next...help! What else should i do?

shawny,

I would like to do some sushi for my boy too..Just borrowed a book from library, but need to go buy all the equipment first. i can't find the bento which u mentioned in the mom4mom website. Can post the link here for me? thanks

jh,

aiyo..y the teacher like tat? erase the advance work of ur girl. i tot compliment her for being advance and asked her to slow her pace will be better.
Got activity book and supplementary materials? i dun think my ds has any leh...

Confirm no holiday on 28 Jan becoz got notice that the MOE will be coming to take photo of child for the ezlink card. Guess that's the student pass?

Hi cool, oh dear - must let the teacher knows. Someone in authority has to tell the boy it's not right to take others' belongings. If your boy doesn't want to tell the teacher, when you pick him from school, just inform the teacher or drop her a note in the communication book.

Today my ds gave some money to a P2 boy from his studentcare because he said he didn't have money to buy fishball. The boy said that he will return the money. Then my ds in turn borrowed money from his classmate becoz he didn't have enough. What a mess..!

Hi mummies, just to share that I received the list of English titles with useful information of what they will learn in each book. They are:

The Farm concert
Mrs Wishy washy
Dan the flying Man
The red rose
Hairy Bear
Walking through the jungle
To town
Smarty Pants

At last, the 'mystery' for English is diffused.

Phew, just now I asked my boy a very negative question - 'so is school boring today?' Yea, answer is NO. I'm so delighted with the negative answer. hohohoo!

Cool,
now its eraser, who knows what it will be next time. encourage your kid to tell the teacher about it. he'll have to learn to stand up for himself, cos who knows what may happen next time *touch wood*. ya..dunno mandarin, english also acceptable. meanwhile, you may want to email the teacher to ask her to keep an eye out about such behaviour in class.

jan,
your boy is such a nice kid! but sometimes getting the kid to know that puting onself's needs first is not consider as selfish.

jh,
ya, i don't think the teacher should ask your girl to erase the work.

to my boy, school would have been boring if he doesn't have monitoring duties to keep him occupied. he told me that he'll finish his work fast and then ask the teacher whether he can do his duties already (ie go around catching people misbehaving!)! gosh!
he is a 'go-by-the-book'/'everything-follow-the-law' kind of kid, how to improve his EQ without dampening his spirits?

Dd just rec'd her spelling list and it will only commence in Feb. Looks like they are really easing the kids in slowly. Happened to see her form teacher in school yesterday....she mentioned that they will be focusing on the basics for the whole of Jan...no STELLAR for the time-being.

CL, when you do, please share pics and ideas leh.

Cool, the Moms4Moms site is now down, I'll check again later.

shawny17, jh, cl
yesterday received the letter to subscribe hao peng you. on the 2nd letter, the press also has on line subscription for reading, exercises etc. per yr is $50. I haven't go online to see how good it is but should be captivating.

Shawny
ok now i motivated. Will ask my boss to get me books on the Bento in Japan. If I am successful, ha ha I will translate and put recipe in my blog

Carol
I receive first issue yday. I think not too bad.
is the online one www.etutoronline.net/free/

Ting Xie
My gal will have first Ting Xie in Feb too but it looks chim. ha ha

my dd also in P1 this yr.

Ting xie/Spelling
Got her 1st ting xie last thur. 1st spelling will be today.

Stellar Program
Started her 2nd book (Mrs Wishy washy) last week.

Dun know y the school is more kiasu then parents. yesterday got a list of spelling (including 1st spelling list given previously)/ vocab list / grammar list and something else (cannot remmember) for this 1 whole year teacher going to teach. My husband said good, can prepare dd way in advance.

CCA
Badminton and Gymnastic are compulsory in their sch for P1.

caroline, CL,
tried de online assessments; kicked u out after 3 pages cos we r free subscribers. need 2 pay subscriptions if wan yr kid 2 practice more assessments. wonder if 1 subscription's 4 all levels. then it's worth it 4 u gals wif more than 1 kid in pri sch.

last wk my gal brought back some heart-shaped accessory. she said her partner wans 2 lend her for 3 days. i told her 2 return immediately.

while i was tinkin of a gd explanation 4 her 2 return it, i told her de 'danger' if her friend 4got dat she has lent her de accessory n told de teacher she has lost it. if a search of bags finds it in my gal's bag, it'll look like my gal has stolen it. i told her dat she n her friends shd not lend each other home anythg (big or small) in case 1 party 4gets 2 return. i also wan her 2 tell her friend dat if her friend wans 2 give my gal anythg, dat she shd wrap it up nicely n write on de wrapper To : xxx Fm : xxx.
i'm v mean hor
later my gal has no more friends cos give her thgs also so troublesome
but really hope dis eliminates any complications later.

initially i also tink my gal so poor thg. took efforts 2 finish de work n now, take efforts 2 erase them. wonder if my gal was tellin de truth. i asked her if her teacher praised her 1st n then asked her 2 erase, she said no. teacher din even noe she finished de whole ws cos she alredi gave instructions dat whoever has finished it, erase them.

dis teacher is pretty strict. even when she writes de answer eg no 6, but accidently erased (but can still see faintly) part of de no cos she was erasin another no below it, de teacher marks her wrong. tink it's gd trainin cos in de exams, if u write illegibly n de teacher can't understand, u'll get it marked wrong. tink de erasin incident will teach my gal 2 listen 2 instructions well n follow it. i like.

Just wanna to do a quick chk, do your kids come back with little white lies?

Like my kiddo will come back with "lost" money saying he doesnt know where they gone to..

we suspect he went and get soft drinks and he will tell stuff like there is no Homework but obviously it is written in the notebook..

juzker,
my boy doesn't tell white lies.
if there is something that he needs to hide, he'll tell half the truth. he will eventually confess if i probe further enough as he knows that i can detect his body language.

perhaps letting your boy know that its ok to get soft drinks once a week? i told my boy that he can get snacks as long as he eaten something decent first. and not daily of course. soft drinks is ok for 1-2x a week.

jh, cl
I went to the online free trial. Under e-enrichment of the web, I realised I have the CD rom for P6 picture conversation/oral & good sentences. I bought them at popular fair at Suntec.

The idoms explorer is good, under e-class.

I am not sure idoms explorer and chengyu express under e-enrichment, are they the same.

The subscription is either based on level or module (ie e-enrichment, e-magazine, e-class, e-reading) because I saw the subscription fee on the 2nd page of letter, is by module, although there are boxes to tick which level.

I recalled the guy who patiently entertained me at Suntec, he speaks well, have taught at one elite sch in the east, was part time helping friend selling the CDs (so not 'sell flowers praise flowers fragrant'). This would be better than A-Star interactive (ie in terms of chinese, since it follows sch syllabus).

jh, cl
I did one e-class P6 exercise and one e-class P6 higher chinese test, challenging questions. The questions are tougher, need a little thinking, not straight forward like those assesment books from popular.

Hi thot I share this here since some of the mummies here may not be members of the asiaparents forum. I 'cut and paste' the below courtesy of a mummy 'Shirin' from the forum. She is referring to the booklist given by her dd's sch using the Stellar prgm.
========================================

Thot I'd share the booklist that we were given. Unfortunately no
authors names so I'm having trouble finding them. If u have them &
dont mind sharing, do let me know.

and btw, cant sleep, so if u know how to solve that let me know too

;-)

term 1
Week 3: walking thru the jungle
week 4: the red rose
week 5: smarty pants
week 6: hairy bear
week 7: ants in a hurry
week 8: mrs wishy washy

term 2
week 1: lazy duck
week 2: the king's cafe
week 3: whose hooves/
week 4: shark in the park
week 5: to town
week 6: the hungry giant
week 7: the giant's ice cream

term 3
week 1: dan the flying man
week 2: mr gumpy's outing
week 3: poggy frog and the cows
week 4: the enormous watermelon
week 5: who will be my mother?
week 6: the little mouse, the red ripe strawberry and the hungry bear

term 4
week 1: there's a nightmare in my closet
week 2: there was an old lady who swallowed a fly
week 3: when my baby sister came home

my son's sch last week use 'when my baby sister came home' -- the last title from the list by Shirin.

I saw this small title at the top of my son's eng worksheets on nouns (refer to my earlier post).

Hi mimosa , juz confirmed with teacher she said need to write a letter stating the reason for the absence .Think 2 or 3 days leave is ok for my girls, no nid to worry abt catching up.But my gal is frm neighborhood schl , elite schl i m nt too sure....
Now i nid to confirm originally English Spelling fixed on 30th Jan if my girl can take replacement test ir nt.

Hi Ling

I've written the letter and my son has handed it to his Form Teacher today. My boy also goes to neighbourhood school.

fz, jan
thanks for your advice
Asked my boy if he has passed the communication book to the teacher and show her what i have written, he says he forgot. Not only that, he says the boy din take his eraser, he forgot tat he has lost it himself. I am puzzled. My boy is not the forgetful sort. He has super good memory, so i doubt he has misplaced it. I do not know y he is lying, he din wan to even look into my eyes. When i asked him gently if ther's anything that he's hiding from me..he says he dun noe. My heart really pains to see him struggle with his feelings.. a lot must be going thru his mind...what should i do? so i cont to probe him? to tell the teacher? i am at total loss

can you share with me the method u all use to teach your kid spelling hanyu pinyin. As the kindergarten my girl went to had no spelling at all so dunno how to train her. English no problem is only chinese she always forgot which piao hao.

Ling,
i was wondering...is Spelling's marks gonna be taken into the mid year report book? if not, i don't think you should be concerned with whether there is any replacement 'test'. :p

Cool,
i prefer to email the teachers instead of using communication booklet as some stuff i prefer not to let my son know (eg ask about his conduct etc).
another thing is, do you think its possible that your boy really did gave the boy the eraser and worry you may be upset?
you may want to forgo this issue, but tell him that he should take care of his stuff and give him not so fanciful stationary....

Pin,
'piao hao' you mean the tonation?
which part your kid confuse?

Hi fz, my hubby said with my ds' character, he would have either offered his pocket money or his food and we would have been disappointed if he just ignored the friend and bot his own food. This money issue is a tricky one...

Today, I had to make sure he returned money to his debtor and collected from his creditor.. hahaa! He cleared his debt but haven't got his money back. PLUS today the same P2 boy borrowed his storybook home and said that he will return tomorrow. So I reiterated same points and he wondered aloud 'why everything also cannot. He said he will return. He said he one cent also don't have.' I asked if he wants me to tell the studentcare teacher to speak to the boy to return money and book and not to 'borrow' again. My ds said ok, so that's what I'll do.

Hi cool, oh dear..sounds like he's confused. Just talk to him and hopefully he will open up. Maybe you can ask him how he would like you to help.

Pin
where else did you get your bento stuff ? Ha ha I just started baking last year, so ha ha now if I go into bento making dunno how much I might spend man.

You have very good interesting sites for the bento.

Jan
I think my gal's approach not bad. When I first gave her the pocket money, I ask if her fren did not bring what is she going to do. She says tell ask her tell teacher.

If her fren dare not tell teacher, she will help her tell teacher. I think this is quit ok.

Unlike my fren sister, told her daughter that the person who borrow money from her is bad pple. You know sometimes kids does forget or mummy too busy never check wallet mah. How can say they are bad

Hanyu Pinyin
I think it is just reading it right ? with the different yin jie. Like da. You show give her the words that correspond to that sound. From there they will remember. I think when berries taught hanyu pinyin, they do it like a song so it is easier for them to remember