(2002) Any 2002 babies?

Hi Joyeo,
If you are refering to Mindchamps program, yes they only have 1 centre at Toa Payoh Hub. Recently, they have launched Mindspace which takes care of children after school. You can pm me if you need more info. Cheers!

confirmed that there will be immunisation for P1 and P5 students. Already prepared my ds mentally for the P1 injection. His eyes rolled as i told him..but din protest..LOL

Wan Wan,
Didn't u have a 2 sided letter after the 1st day of schhol? It was given together with the immunisation consent booklet?

The spelling dates may not have been decided by ur ds's form teacher yet, so tat's y it is not on the time-table.
No homework? really>? wow...Great! hahaha..i hate homework myself too..hahaha

Ya..the lady discipliner is really good! LOL, i like her.

I tink it is good to move nearer for long term. i still have 2 more boys who be joining ATS in few years time..haiz..

caroline,
ur boy is so cute..can talk until queuing in wrong lane..LOL. luckily daddy is there.

Hi joyeo, welcome.
I din send my son to any tuition yet. Will see how he progress then decide..

luanee,
no tactics 2 share; more like tryin my luck
juz told her b4 jab dat it's not painful (like real ...). after jab did tear a bit but asked her 'not pain rite?', b4 she cld tink abt wailin. later, she can still analyse n tell me 'needle go in not pain, only medicine go in then pain' LOL
after dat, she even took over de role of askin her younger sis de same question n impartin her analysis

actually as a bb, she cried like 10 sec when jab. shd b fine dis time.

my gal's buddy fm P5 was in charged of takin care of my gal n her partner since monday. 2day, my gal got a present fm her buddy. dun noe if de sch told her do it, or it was juz a thoughtful gesture fm herself.

I'm finally back at work after taking 3 days leaves to settle my 2 gals in P1 and new childcare/studentcare. I think I am more tired than them. Elder gal still not use to pri school environment, lost her pencil box on 3rd day of school and she can't remember what her teachers told her to bring to school the next day. Then complain student care is boring, she misses her k2 friends. Younger gal still cries every morning at new childcare centre.

Elder gal will be having eng & maths tests this and next week for the school to determine the standard of each pupil. Eng spelling starts next monday .....sigh sigh, my hair is turning white ....

Went to popular bookstore to get p1 assessment books, but there are so many types around! Does anyone have eng & chinese assessment books to recommend? Thanks.

Wonder what are the words on the spelling list u ppl got? I glimpsed mine and saw 'loving', 'jumped' and 'interesting'. Date indicated on the list was 16th Jan but I am not sure whether we parents are supposed to ensure they know the words or just leave it to the teachers?

wow..timetable and even spelling list out. DD's school hasn't given anything out yet. Still doing mostly art & craft things. She had her first CCA class (ballet) on Tuesday though...more than 1/3 of the P1 cohort was there!

luanee
Spelling is never taught by teachers. Parents have to ensure child knows / well prepared for the spelling.

FYI, my girl had first spelling on 5 Jan already. Of course can't compare to P1 but on 2nd day --> so you can see the pace of elite sch vs neighbourhood sch.

yes...i was very touched by my boy's confession that he missed me. as much as i want to hug him, i didn't want him to end up crying in class. :p

School is pretty much still relaxing for him (neighbourhood school). even though parents must wait outside to fetch the kids, yesterday the teachers ensured that the kids parents/caregiver came to fetch them before releasing them from her sight. and for going to school, the school arranged for a couple of upper pri kids to wait at the gate to escort the P1s to the assembly area. his recess buddy system will last 2 weeks.

when will you mummies intend to let your kids pack their bags themselves? i have to remind my boy else he'll forget...my husband said i should let go and let him face the consequences so that he'll learn.

fz, my husband also asked me to pack the bag together with my girl so that she can learn. But everytime I told her what to bring etc, she seemed to be in a daze. So end up I did the packing for her still.

Looks like activity for this weekend is to learn spelling!

Hi wanwan, hahaa hope so but think it's partly due to expectations and he's looking for activities rather than sitdown sessions. Yesterday was worse, first thing he said BEFORE I asked how's the day - 'school is the "bori-est" thing I've ever done in my life, do nothing!' Told him it takes a week for children and teachers to settle down. sigh...

However, when I checked his bag, there was work done lah, but minimal writing like Chinese name, hanyu pinyin and self introduction. Luckily it's better paced at the studentcare to keep him interested for half the day. I will consider that as sufficient and not having additional tuition for him, at least for this year. See how..

Hi fz / luanee, I got ds to pack his bag as in me taking the required books and then going through with him the timetable then he put into the bag himself. He's quite impatient as he wants to watch tv and do other stuff. But must make it a habit. Later when he's more familiar, then would want him to pack independently.

Hi all, was busy last few days so nmo time to log in. Went for varies talk in the school and was explain about how the STELLAR prog works. We nhave to pay for printing the worksheets which will cost $8. And was given subj talk and the chinese talk provided us with a website which was recommended by the teachers and i thought should share it with you mummies... http://www1.moe.edu.sg/dir/cl/

My son say he is enjoying his school very much. I think he is making new friend and is really enjoying that... hope he won't find it stress later part when homework comes in...

As for packing of bags, i do it for him and will teach him how to pack and ask him to pack and i double check for him from next week onwards.

Wan wan, i think its normal for teachers to have different practice. For my son's teacher also the same thing, give timetable all in short form and did not indicate what subject it is... but my neighbour's form teacher indicated so she know what subj it was...

cookiepie, maybe you can get a diary for your elder gal to write down what the teacher want her to bring on next day and to record if theres any homework?? My son's school gave them a diary for them to take down notes and homework that the teacher write on the board.

Luanee, think you got to enasure your child knows all the word by the date given. For my son's school, that was what they told us.

Hi milo, yah my girl's school also had a diary (they call it pupil's handbook and I got to pay $3 for it) where she writes down what to bring to school the next day.

Wonder how long they will have the buddy system. I thought it was for 3 days but my girl said she got a new buddy yesterday (4th day).

milo,
My gal has the handbook and she copied the teacher's instructions in the book. But she "forgot" that she actually copied the instructions there.

actually i am not sure what to pack eventho i hv the timetable.
u see, they said bring all activity books, so i did then end of day i checkedthose books are still in my gal's bag. so next day i remoevd them coz no pt carry here and there.. then the teacher asked her how come she did not bring! aiyo, my poor gal.
in the end my hubb said pack all the activity books. so i did and yest, i checked finally teacher took them.
as for spelling, i dont think they'll have it for this few wks. Heard from some other parents the first few weeks will be practicing writing and some phonics.
Caroline, i think you are right neighbourhood vs elite definitely huge difference!

milo,

thanks for sharing the chinese website...Very interesting..will share with my boys tonite =D

jan,
ur boy is really advanced than most of his peers huh? Most kids are still excited abt the new school and environment, but he already feel bored..Do u have any problem getting him to school then?

Qdee
Only today I packed Chinese text in the bag, Eng & Maths texts at home. I wonder if they are necessary in sch. All activity books, exercise books and files are kept by teacher. Only when there is homework then return.

I find that in neighbourhood sch, they spend a lot of time/effort on logistics issues (to me they are not important), though these may lighten the bag.

milo
Regarding the chinese website, my colleague's son is in AIPS. According to her, the sch has CD or subscribed to E-learning where the text are read out. I like it.

fz
6 hours is really very long leh. I missed my girl. I suggested she asks teacher to release her at 3pm because her mommy missed her

My hubby advocates independence. 2nd day recess he said no need to go. I still show up lah. hehe, if the school allows, I think I will be there everyday

Packing school bag
I pack together with my girl. But she's very unfocused lor, packed half way & she started reading her story book or played with her sister, left the books scattered on the floor. Aiyo, take forever to finish a 3 minutes task so I finished up for her. Sigh...

Spelling
Her 1st spelling test will be next week. Need to learn 10 words each week

Carol, think my son's school is using the website to compliment the textbook and parent are encouraged to use the website when they got no time for the kids, at least the website can read to them and they can learn singing the songs along with the website. I don't know how useful is it but the teacher said they are using it to teach.

Hi milo, took a peek at the chinese website - it's good. Thanks!

Spelling - my ds received the chinese spelling list, starting from next week. Mainly hanyu pinyin with scatter of the numeric characters. So funny to have hanyu pinyin tingxie leh. I planned to read more chinese books with him to ensure he remembers chinese characters.

Hi cool, guess he's looking for action! He's ok going to school as walk from studentcare together with friends. Today no 'bored' word, told me they did work in school. phew!

my gal came back wif forms 4 enrichment classes by outside operators - wushu, speech n drama, art enrichment, chinese calligraphy n brushin paintin. wonder if de student care will remind my gal 2 go 4 her enrichment classes if i sign her up. if not, she dun go i also dun noe.

I felt so stressed yesterday, as though I do not have enuf time for my 3 boys.
When i come home from work, it's already 7.30pm. By time i finish my dinner, it will be almost 8pm. I want to spend time with my ds to go trhu his worksheets/files but my 2 younger sons are also seeking my attention. They are al very close to me, and I know it is normal for them to want to come near me upon seeing me. As much as i do not want them to be deprived of my attentions, I felt just as suffocated.

Last nite, my boy told me his lunch buddy, a P2 boy has bought a small square book for him. I told him that is very kind of him, and asked him to return the money to the kind boy. He asked, " Why? i never take his money?" I told him, "Yes, u did not take his money. The boy has used his money to buy this book for you. So for this book, u have to give him the 50cents." . He still can say, "ok, then i give him back the book" which is not wrong either. So I told him "but he doesn't need the book." Then he say "how?" Then i say," give him back the money." and he says "but i din take his money"..haiz... We go on and on for next 15mins, but i tink he still can't really grasp the idea or returning the money for the book paid by the kind boy. haiz...

Hi cool, i share the same sentiment. Like you, i very much want to spent more time going thru with my p1 girl but my toddler gets jealous and seek for my attention immediately when she sees me talking to her sis. Sigh... Time Not Enuf.

Thanks milo for sharing the chinese website. I think the website is a good subsitute to text books. Knowing children, they would rather look at the computer than text books.

Same here, feel so guilty towards my P1 girl sometimes when she wants me to read to her but my toddler fighting for my attention.

Yest my girl came back with CCA selection form liao. Got to put 3 choices in case of over-whelming response. BTW do school buses cater for CCAs?

Caroline, no leh, the form only allows 3 choices. No separate grouping.

Yah the CCA starts from wk4 of term 1 I think..

luanee
I didn't read the form yesterday. But previous yrs experience, 6 choices. However, the online system which allows you to register, next yr & subsequent yrs, if you were to select same CCA as this yr, you don't need subsequent choices, auto in when you input first choice.

P1 you want to enrol for CCA?

Like the other mummies, my younger gal also fighting for attention. Every time, I try to coach my elder gal, the younger one will try to sit on my laps and demand for storytelling. Aiyoh, like that how to coach my elder one in her schoolwork?....Dilemma .....

cookiepie,
i am also tinking how to give them each individual time.

On tueday, i told my second son not to disturb me when I am teaching kor kor. He quite obedient and din disturb me as much yesterday. When I am tucking him to bed, I hugged him and says "reyes...." before i can really speak, he says "i know already" den i say "wat u know" den he says "Dun disturb u when u teaching nick, i want to sleep already" haha..he makes me feel like a nag!

Coolcatsg, I plan to tell my husband to pls take care of the baby becoz I need to coach the elder one! Haha... but he's useless with the toddler, sigh.. and he cant coach either.

Caroline, yah we plan to start CCA from P1 else those popular ones would not be available if we join in P3 hee... I think most popular should be ballet but my girl doesnt want that. She selected choir as 1st choice. Not too sure whether that be useful for DSA in future. Tried to entice her to choose ballet but she was worried she cannot do the split so we didn't force her :p

cool
AIPS is Ahmad Ibrahim.

luanee
during dance practise, everyone has to stretch to do split. I don't think it is 'compulsory' to be able to split. For performance, only the good ones are selected. And of course, the one that can split would take centrestage.

For ballet, usually those K1/K2 who took ballet would join as CCA. I think it is late for P1 to start. I believe, selection / priority is given to those who took ballet in K1/K2.

I think last yr, the sch has new CCA -- contemporary dance (not sure whether it is called as such). This one, looks good (if you had seen the perforamce at 2007 P1 orientation) but so far, no sec sch has this for DSA.

luanee.
ur girl is attending am session is it? my boy is in the afternoon session, so the CCAs are on sat. Is CCA free or we have to pay?
So far, i only rec'd some enrichment classes forms, but all are chargeable..so have not sign up any yet =<

cool
generally CCA has to pay. Maybe sports like netball etc don't have to pay. For those need to pay, can use edusave. But ballet shoes / costume, need to pay cash.

your son's sch CCA on Sat? Due to the 5 day work week, many sch are not running remedial or tuition on Sat. I believe CCA also not on Sat anymore.

caroline,
I not so sure. Have not rec'd anything on CCA yet. The enrichment classes are not part of the CCA rite?

Oh, if tat's the case, it means the remedial session/CCA will be conducted in the morning for those studing afternoon session?

is it the more popular schools are more particular about ccas? my boy's neighbourhood school just had an exhibition on CCAs but only the kiddos get to attend. the one that my boy is interested in only takes in upper primary kids. then my boy said he don't want to join any others.
trying to convince him to take something up for recreation purpose....

cool
yes, those on afternoon session, CCA in the morning. CCA &amp; enrichment are 2 different issues.

fz
it is not that popular sch are more particular about cca. it is just kiasuism on the parents' part to let their child get into popular cca. the earlier you join, subsequent yr you are auto in if you choose that cca as first choice.

For eg, CCA is compulsory in P4. if you sign up in P3, you would be auto in when in P4 -- you don't need to compete with P4. If you can't get in, no matter what you have to have 1 CCA in P4 (ie allocated 2nd choice). But of course, each yrly intake has its no. of vacancies. So if sign up in P3, have 2 chance, so to speak (if fail to get in your choice, you can choose again in P4).

So find out which cca the sch is good in, then ask PIC how many vacancies each intake. Don't forget to pump up your skills (ie prior experience eg swimming level if join swimming club).

Hi Cool,
Just received the spelling list on wed. The first spelling will be on next Thurs. There are 7 words but no list on chinese spelling yet. Have you received list on chinese spelling?

I also dun recall seeing any list on CCA. Thot of getting me ds to join table tennis or athlete club (if they have) but not sure who to approach to check more.

Cool, my girl is in the afternoon session. The CCA will start from around 10am, so she has to go early. Oh dear, what about her lunch then? I havent considered that!

Caroline, my girl has in fact taking ballet classes since K2 on weekends. Thats why we tried to encourage her to join as CCA but she doesnt want. Didnt see contemporary dance on the list leh, only got cultural dance.

Milo,

Thanks for the chinese website. I think its useful.

Caroline / Jan,
My boy also have the same chinese spelling on the 5 hanyupinyin.

Hi Milo,
Thanks for the websit. Looks interesting, will get my boys to try it out. Fortunately, my ds sch keeps all the activity books and we are only left with HCL, Maths and Music so there aren't many books to pack everyday. My ds only needs to pack his favourite book for the silent reading time.

Does your child sch has CA1, CA2, SA1 &amp; SA2? My ds only has 1 yr end exam. I suppose it's SA2. Not that I like my ds to have many tests &amp; exams (bec they are stressful to the children &amp; parents) but mid-exam test/exam will give me a good gauge of how my ds is doing in class. I do not want to get a shock only at the end of the year hee hee.

caroline3sg,
oic. thanks for the explanation.
the school's niche is in Robotics, which is open to those in the upper primary and the good classes.
will take note and enquire more when my boy is in P3 as i don't think currently my boy understand the electronics aspect behind designing such stuff.

luanee
not sure if it is cultural dance. But cultural dance can be Indian dance, Chinese dance.

Personally I won't let my children join CCA at P1.

fz
My son's sch also niche in Robotics. Robotics good meh? If go into this line as career, tough life. But boys like it. I don't mind Science Club. My husband wants Wushu.

wan wan
my son's sch does not have CA1 &amp; CA2 for P1 &amp; P2.