(2002) Any 2002 babies?

Want to share some frightful experience with you all. I have engaged the school bus service to send my son to school, so one the 1st day we were allowed to travel with the kid. I went up the bus and there were no enough seat for us, my boy was asked to share with another 2 boys sitting on a 2 seater with no seat belt. I wonder could it because of 1st day, there is a mis calculation of the numbers of students taking the bus? That afternoon, we were told to wait for the bus at the nearby bus stop, so I thought all would be the same. I was wrong, after us the driver drove the bus to a carpark, a very narrow one , with such a big school bus driving into a small carpark with a lot of turns is really no joke, the driver keep steping the brake and I felt a bit giddy.In my heart I wonder how many this type of carpark will they be going to? Luckily, that carpark is the last one before the school, howvwer, I am not sure how many more to come during the return trip. Nevertheless, my boy did not complaint of the journey while going to school

School end and I was told to wait for my boy at 6.20pm, I waited and saw the school bus stop at the opposite bus stop thinking that it will make a U turn and my boy will arrived. I waited for another 10mins, where they gone? By the time my boy arrived at the bus stop it is already 6.40. My boy school is only 2 bus stops away. ;( When the bus finally arrived, my boy face was white like paper, he told he he felt giddy and wwas having headache. I asked him why it is because of the 1st day or ? He told me is the bus ride.
Anyone have the same experience?

hi all the moms , any problems with yr child's 1st day schooling?
For me , my original plan is let my gal to take the schl bus to schl, i n my husband driving follow behind , c how is the bus route , then make sure she arrive safely , come again at during the recess.After the schl take the schl bus to student care & stay there for the rest of the day. I juz want to make sure my gal arrive both the schl & student care safely.But still the plan didn't work nicely.in the morning going to schl was quite smooth , except that the bus came a bit late due to 1st day , a bit delay here & there.Then my gal went to schl & went for class.During recess she was companied by the buddy to help her 2 buy fd.As they did class by class, by the time my gal reached canteen , alredy full of q.Then my gal still think & think then decided wat to eat.the recess is 30 mins , she was unable to finish the fd.
i check the fd sold at the canteen , it's all ard 60cents , think the price still ok,but 30 mins is insufficient, so i decided to let her take hm fd.Mayb once a wk let her buy frm canteen.
Then the unpleasant part coming.after schl she was reluctant to go to the student care , she cried smore in the schl!!bohbian i bring her hm since i was nt working tat day , but i strictly told her off tat mon she definitely nid 2 go 2 student care since i n daddy working , there won't b anybody ard.She juz noddedher head... bear in mind , she already going to the student care since dec , still she behaves in tis way...sigh.....dun knoe what will happen next mon.

Anyway , the timetable already given to every students , next wk shld start all the lessons.But i think the teachers nvr explains sufficiently wat shld bring for tis & tat subject.I look thru their timetable at least 3 subjects per day , one day gt 4 subjects , schl bags definitely heavylei....

yawn yawn,

My ds is quite fussy with food. I will be preparing the sandwiches for him as well. He loves sardine sandwiches. I can't think of any things else too..

germs,

Was there a lot of parents in the school bus? may be that's the reason why there is no enuf seat for the children. My ds's bus is a mini bus with only 8 - 9 kids. The bus driver looks very decent and not the hell rider kind...so we din tag along in the mini bus and just waited in the school for his arrival. He arrived promptly. And looked quite happy. I think the ride is a breeze.

Ling,

Friday was just the 1st day. give her some time to get adjusted. It is a very big milestone for ur girl. Talk to her abt the goodness of the school but at the same time, acknowledge her anxiety and fear. It should help her cope with the anxiety and fear associate with this new chapter of her life...

30min is sufficent for my boy although i noted that generally the school dismissed the students for recess 5 min earlier so when my boy was released from his class, the crowd is generally lesser. also noted that the buddies had to ensure that the P1 eat first so the queue we witness may not be accurate. anyway, will let my boy feedback to me directly.

for those boys whose school does not require them to change out after PE, how did you intend to secure the wallets to the PE shorts?

my boy will be having mothertougue, english and maths everyday.

fz,
de sch says dis wk's wk 0, wk1's orientation n sch starts in wk 2. hence, no time-table yet. they only told us wat 2 bring 4 1st 3 days of sch - activity bks 2 keep in sch, de diff types of files etc but must bring higher chinese text bk everyday.

coolcatsg,
de wan tan mee store's de most ex store there but de q's de longest. yah i also tink dat's ex but dun tink i saw a store sellin less than 50 cents ...

jh,
wow..den how much pocket money do u have to give daily? which school is it?
My ds's form teacher is his higher chinese teacher too. She speaks mandarin to the class too.. my ds speaks english at home. i scare he will have communication problem..=<

Hi Coolscat,
Everything went smoothly for us. The sch bus was punctual &amp; reach sch ard 12nn I think. My ds reached sch b4 my hubby &amp; I bec we fetched our younger ds who is k2 &amp; class ended @11.30pm. As we were slightly late, my ds was a bit lost but fortunately he stood at the canteen near the parents corner &amp; called us when we arrived. He was alright, made new frens &amp; enjoyed his day &amp; bus trip to &amp; fro home.

I have already discussed with ds to pack food for him after wed. I will let him have some canteen experience with his buddy on thurs &amp; fri then pack food for him probaby the following wk. I m gg to ats tmr what about u. Would be great if I can say hello to u but dun kno how u look like. we may have bumped into each other while waiting with our kids since we are only 1 class away hee hee..

Yawn Yawn,
U have a gd list of snack which I have similar thots as u &amp; I will probaby do the same for my ds. To add on to your list, i've also thot of small pack of cornflakes, milk, raisins, buns, whole fruits like apples, pears, strawberries or grapes.

Nat &amp; Jan,
How's your child's 1st day of sch?

Hi wanwan, asked ds how's 1st day of school and he said no lessons, so boring! It was quite a long walk to school from studentcare bcos they walked sheltered walkway. He said so tired, bag heavy so many complaints! He wants to buy food tomorrow as he says must learn so that he can be buddy to teach p1 next yr. Hoho..

Hi jh, fz, I don't know the prices, just give him a $2, $1 coin and loose of 50cts. Thought for mix of diff denominations to pay, hope he will not spend all! Mayb i shld take away the $2 note.

hi wan wan,
I was there earlier..Tmr the parents are only allowed to wait at the canteen, may we we can meet there...will pm u my hp number for easy contact! Ur ds is quite smart to look out for u! He seemed very confident wor..good for u =D

I have packed a fillet bread for him today. Tmr, they will have their recess in the canteen..wonder if i should make a trip down to check if he's alrite.. how abt u?

Hi coolscat,

I'm not gg tmr bec hubby is not free. The payment we made is meant for food for 4 days until wed. I may go down on thurs or fri instead if hubby can spare time to fetch me.

Will sms you if I go ats.

Btw, are you in the PSG? i've signed up but not yet involved in the activities.

hi ladies.
sound interesting for all ur kids. as for sch bus thingy always got problem wan lor. imagine in a bus with kids staying in yishun,amk,toa payoh. goodness.

wanwan
how ur kids in sch. he since to handle well.heehee

Was quite surprised to see mummies are allowed to go up the school buses with ur kids and parents are allowed to go into the canteen? Won't that be rather chaotic?

For my case, my girl just went up the school bus herself. I waved bye-bye to her there. We popped over to see her during recess at the canteen but were not allowed inside it, just allowed to stand out of the canteen across some barricade. She not really interested to see us actually hee... Then she took the school bus back herself, after my various reminders for her to get up Bus 32! LOL.

hi wan wan, sorry was MIA for quite sometime. :p We are only allowed to enter the school compound on the 1st day (fri) of sch. But we can only send them to the staircase whereby the kids will climb to the 2nd floor to go to the assembly hall. After which, the parents sneak up to have a peep at the hall's side and we saw the children sitting in the hall according to their classes. Then the teachers 'chase' the parents away saying need to start the school already.

We went back to the school during their recess time but only able to stand at the canteen sides to see nia. The kids were tagged with a P2 buddy to help them with purhcase of food and bringing them around. And each student or class are allocated seats in the canteen. Lucky ds sit at the sides of the canteen whereby i can chat w him there.

Time-table given on the 1st day and also given a note from teachers what to bring for the subsequent few days. Teacher also make the kids write down notes in their daily about what to bring and homework. 1st day has some homework liao, some handwriting practices. Ds enjoyed the school but complained bit too long, guess he's comparing w his kindergarten's days which is 4hrs ad day.

Yesterday, some books including maths textbk n wkbk and exercise bk, told to bring according to the notice, teacher took them and kept in the lockers allocated for the kids. ds also took back the spelling list for the term (wk 2-10). They will be having spellings every friday, starting next friday. Were told to pack some more books and guess the teachers will keep them in the lockers again.

hi wan wan,
The VP says that parents are not allowed to enter the school from wed onwards. Today is the last day.Luckily, the bus reaches the school earlier than expected, so me and hubby managed to teach my ds to buy food before assembly time. He was so proud as he shows me a slice of pizza he bought by himself.

I'm quite confident that he will be alrite. Just afraid that he may be starved..He's a big eater, and the 1st thing he sees me everytime when i pick him is "I'm very hungry!!" Poor boy.. he can actually eat 2 bowls of rice during dinner! What time does ur son reaches home? Is he very hungry too?

Luanee,

Good that u are letting go so well, it will help her to adjust better. Still see some parents rovering around the kids today, which is already the 3rd day..wonder if the kids can really cope when they don't see them from tmr onwards...

Mine also, yesterday came back with time table and letter on all activity books &amp; files to be submitted by this week. Have to split into today &amp; tomorrow.

Dinner time, chew faster than normal days.

Sleeping time, both hands up position -- must be very tired.

Any idea where can I make those iron-on name tags for school uniform? Ordered from Bibi Baba and they have yet to deliver to my son in school. Was told might be lost and advice by the school to make it outside as from past experience Bibi Baba won't not entertain such few missing cases.

So provide me the contacts for making the name tags. Thanks.

Coolcatsg, I have no choice but to let go becoz the principle stated clearly during orientation that no parents would be allowed near the hall or classrooms. We only can drop off the kids at the canteen and there would be teachers/helpers to bring them up to the hall for assembly. So we decided to let her go on her own in the school bus since day1 else she would not be able to learn.... I was quite worried deep in my heart actually, whether she be brought to the right class, whether she knows which school bus to take back etc...

And yeah, timetable out. But looks like not much different, everyday also got English, Mother Tongue and Maths which make up for the majority of the books..

luanee, can understand how u feel..me felt the same thing too..But got more encouraged seeing the P2 children so independent..soon our kids will be just like them =D

Our timetable also out on the 1st day of school. major subjects are EL, HCL and Maths. They going to have both El and HCL spelling from week 3 onwards already..But HCL spelling is on Han Yu Pin yin and not Han character..

Caroline..
My boy also eat so fast during dinner..haha..almost can eat up a cow already. think their stomach will get used to the rountine soon..hahaha

Hi Nothing2do,
So far so good. my ds is adjusting well &amp; he was on his own yest. The sch bus auntie is gd &amp; fetch him just from my blk very convenient.

Coolscat,
My ds reached home around 7.15pm. what about yours?

btw, How did u know before yest that the children would be gg the canteen? my ds only told me when he reached home yest. did your ds inform u on mon? my ds also didnt tell me abt the spelling. was your ds informed by his teacher? btw, do u know what is 'CT' subj?

His time table was out on fri too &amp; fortunately not many books to bring every day yeah. is your ds taking enrichment class?

Nat, Jan,
Looks like our kids are adjusting to the new environment well. perhaps we mummies have worried too much.

ya maybe we worried too much. But I've gotten back to work on Monday liao, since not able to go to sch w ds. But since 1st day, everyday go home the kid has some homework liao... hence really need to check on his diary on what to finish liao...

Hi, can I join in?

I realise that most of your kids' school very ON one. My son each day comes back with an empty school bag except for pencil case and water bottle. During day 1 there is a parent talk on the expectation, was told most of the books will be kept in the school so that the children would not need to carry a heavy school bag. Also time table would be out only in week 3, in the meantime 1st 2 weeks is like adjusting time for the kids. My in-laws each night keep asking my son if there is work to do. They seems more worry than me. :p

Oh caroline, thanks for the enlightenment! I was wondering what is CT too!

Btw for those taking school buses, is it compulsory for each bus to have a helper? My girl's mini-bus only has a driver. And yest I noticed all the girls were not in their seats at all! They were crowded sitting on the ground behind the driver playing dunno-what. So how to have mandatory seat-belts later?

And do you ppl bring extra shirts for ur kids during PE days? Else they have to sit in their smelly shirts throughout the day if PE is first lesson?

Oh and one more thing, do your kids schools all have early dismissal on first 3 days? Meaning today they would reach home later?

hi wan wan

My ds reached abt 7.20. There was a letter from the teacher. It listed the food that they are going to have on the 4 days and also said that day 1 and 2 will be served in class, day 3 and 4 will be served in the canteen. Yes, the form teacher has indicated on the time-table that the eng spelling is on every wed and HCL spelling is on every friday, but it will start from week 3 onwards. My ds was given the HCL spelling list yesterday le. Ur ds have not rec'd?

I haven't decided on the enrichment class. probably not becos of the journey. haiz..really must consider moving nearer to the school le. am tinking of buying the HDB opp the school. but really ex leh..

I dun noe what CT means, but i guess caroline is rite, should be contact time where they mingle around..

My son loves his form teacher, who is also his HCL teacher. He says she is very funny and able to make the class laugh..

ohohjazz,
Dun worry, i'm sure each school is special in its own way..i tink its better to build rapport for the 1st few weeks to let the children settle down well.

It is a start of their 6 years in school...hope the ride will not be too bumpy for our little ones

luanee
Mini bus does not have helper/auntie. I don't know if there is any rule. You have to educate your girl to sit properly on the chair and not stand or sit on the floor.

Even large bus (ie my girl's bus) has seat belts, they don't belt up coz 3 children on 1 seat.

There is no official regulation from LTA that sch bus need to install seat belts. This topic is still hanging in the air on feasibility study or arguing to leave it to bus operators &amp; parents. The complaints are still centred on increased bus fares due to oil prices (even though it came down, operating costs go up).

Even you bring extra shirt on PE days, body would still be sticky. No use to change to new shirt. Perhaps you just need to bring one small face towel to wipe the sweat.

I don't think there is early dismissal for first 3 days.

My son commented that his teachers are very fierce. I guess they are trying to set the tone because his is a boys school so teachers are trying to set the tone. But I think it is not so nice for the little ones especially first few days. Any comments or suggestions?

My girl also commented that her form teacher is very fierce eg. if someone talks in class, she would scold the whole class. My ds felt that it's not fair as the others were quietly doing their work.

my boy said that he missed me when he was in class.
in saying so, he was nearly in tears.
aw....it's nice to hear that from him, cos previously he did told me that i was naggy. :p

Wow fz it's so nice.... My girl asked me to stop asking questions when I kept probing her about what happened in school. No mention of missing me at all, sob sob...

I think being firm doesn't necessarily has to be fierce. but our children may be too young to differeniate fierce from firm..so will just tell us fierce lor..haha.

So far, my son says the HCL teacher is the funniest, and din comment much on the rest of the teachers

I have witnessed the teacher-in-charge of the assemble and dismissal of children. She sounded very firm but I have witnessed her talking to the children and her body language shows that she is not those fierce and unapproachable type as she bent herself low to talk to the kids

Coolcatsg, what is HCL?

My girl dunno heard from where that P1 needs to have injection, so came home to tell her she doesnt want to have the injection. I told her the government says so, not me, haha...

HahA luanee, I also kept asking ds what did they do in school. he said boring, never teach anything, hand in bks, sit there and wait. At nite, when get him to pack bag, he said why am I so talkative, think he meant naggy!

Full day for past 3 days, no early dismissal.

luanee,
HCL = Higher Chinese Language

my gal also came home last nite wif a bklet where i need 2 fill up some info n consent her MMR immunization n body check-up. also need 2 submit her health bklet. dun noe if my gal knew she's due 4 jabs cos she din say anythg. previously she was v scared. may b now she's ok cos she had 4 jabs over de last 2 mths cos we were travellin

since 2 jan, P1 kids din have 2 attend flag-lowerin ceremony n hence there was early dismissal. heard dat they'll only need 2 attend fm wk 3 onwards. but parents can't go in durin recess since mon. but i still stroll in every mornin cos my gal hasn't been on time 4 her student care ... sigh ...

Yah Jan, think our kids are finding us too naggy indeed! LOL.

Yest my girl left her bread and wallet behind in class during recess time so she was so hungry after school. So I nagged at her repeatedly after that to remember her wallet and bread today. Dunno how much went into her ears too, :p

Hi nat, huh got homework? Mine nothing. The studentcare more on. Got worksheets everyday and started 'formal' lessons. Some of the maths qns are quite tough! Chinese all hanyu pinyin, is that the syllabus?

hi jan, ya some handwriting word on day 1. on 3rd day (yesterday) think already teaching maths and he brought back homework on the workbook couple of pages of it. For chinese the syllabus is hanyu pinyin basically for almost first half of the year.

luanee
my girl P6 came back yesterday with health letter (ie blue colour). It says P1 &amp; P5 immunisation, P6 body check up. She wants to double cfm with me no injection for P6. She took the health booklet to sch today. Not sure if today body check up.

My boy's sch still hasn't give out the health letter. He would sure cry if injection. Wondering when is the injection day.

Oh JH, how u managed to convince your child for the travelling jabs? I wanted to bring my girl for flu jabs too b4 travelling but she rather forgo the trip! Sighz....

Hey caroline, by the time my elder one P6, my younger one also P1, same age gap as u haha...

Yah my girl already told me she will cry if got injection. I told her cry lor, just cry in front of whole class, it doesnt matter hee...

Hi luanee, sama sama! Ds left wallet in loo and told me got lost and found box inside the toilet for things. When found that he didn't keep eraser last nite, said luckily can go general office lost and found..! Must stockup these stationary or a string to keep all together. Hoho..!

luanee
my girl is not afraid of injection, as if nothing, she quite meaty.

my boy very skinny, not much flesh. He takes after me, very scared of needles, haven't poke start to cry.

Hi Coolcat,
My ds did not receive any letter on the food during recess. I saw ds time table but there is no indication on spelling. Strange, why do they have different practice. The sch should adopt the best practices across all classes to avoid confusion.

My ds also likes his form teacher who is his HCL teacher. So far i din hear from him that any of the teachers are fierce or have scolded anyone. But the teacher in charge of the assembly looks fierce; she looks like a disciplinary teacher even my hubby thinks so hee hee...

I am also thinking of shifting nearer to the sch but the flats there are so exp...my ds now don't even have time to do the assessment books I bought earlier. Morning has to rush for piano practice, lunch &amp; bathing etc and night has to rush for dinner, bath and settling down...I can't imagine when he starts to have homework, tests &amp; exams later on...any idea would they have a lot of homework? I heard ATS students don't have much I'm not sure if this is true.

Hi Caroline,
Thanks. I am not aware that the children has CT for teachers to mingle with their students. This is good.

Hi Jan,
Ha Ha your boy is looking forward to more challenging stuff yeah. My boy is so kind to me, so far no complaints from him when I asked him about sch. He seems to enjoy it and told me what happened each day in class.

Oh my girl did told me one thing though, that she lost her buddy yesterday halfway through recess. So she and another girl went to tell an 'auntie' that they have lost their buddies and the auntie brought them to the right place, LOL. That's the result of a P2 taking care of a P1!

Wow caroline, u good leh... I will look forward to that 5 years down the road!

today is last day with buddy system. My son's buddy is P5. Yesterday he told me, he saw his buddy from afar and wave to him. The sch ask P5 for volunteers to stay back till 3.30pm. On first day, the P5 take on 1 - 1 new comer, help carry the bag and bring to designated classroom.

My son makes friends easily. First 2 days, busy talking to friend and didn't queue at correct lane to take bus home. Lucky daddy brought him back to correct lane.

Hi Mummies, I'm new to the thread and was wondering if any of the mummies send their kids to tuition. My boy is in P1 this year. Fretting whether to send him to any tuition cos I do not want to put so mch stress in him. Any recommended tuition for maths near the Jurong West area?
Heard of Mindchamp but fees too expensive. does anyone knows if they have only one centre or a few locations? Thanks!