(2002) Any 2002 babies?

joy's mum

I asked the Doc @ KKH whether my son required to do a proper assessment by a psychologist, she replied not required because based on the questionaire completed by his child care ctr teacher and myself, he has met the criteria for ADHD. Should i get KK to do a proper assessment (which means have to make appointment with KK again and appointment could be 2 to 3 mths later) or wait for the school to refer him to MOE's educational psychologist when he enters school next week?

No. I did not register my son in a resource school. He's going to a neighbour school.

Do you have any recommendation for private tutor?

happy holidays!
i had finally gotten everything done! except for the out of stock books....

will be training my boy to go to bed at 9pm and then 8.30pm from next week onwards. he had been in afternoon class for the whole of his preschool.
hope that he can adjust. :D

My eldest son is going to P1 too..
Can really feel the heat and the excitement (read anxiety)after reading the thread..My boy is more relaxed than me..
Any mummies here in Sengkang but kids in Aitong? Cos the bus driver told me that there are abt 6-7 kids from sengkang =D Heard the bus journey will only be abt half hour, less stressful for the kids (yippy!)

fz,
dun tink yr-end kids lose out. in fact, tink they benefit cos they r in de same class as de older kids so they learn de same thgs. so they r sort of pushed 'beyond their age' n since kids r like sponges, they absorb all dat's given 2 them.

yawn2,
tue - Abacus
fri - Mandarin
sat - Art, Ballet
no schedule cos she goes 2 student care. she's in afternoon session also.
where does yr child learn Art?

natellehcim,
r u back fm holidays yet? i remember we 'spoke' in another thread abt shenzhen ...

shawny17,
yr borders coupon's 4 perferred members only ... i'm not

HI Amy,
My boy is gg ATS too but I'm not staying at Sengkang. Is the bus that your boy is taking belongs to company MB? Which class is your boy gg, mine is 1B.

jh, not necessary to be Borders member, but if you are a member, you'll enjoy an additional 10% off. Very good deal indeed!

hi i finally gt my daughter SPI bag @ ctrpoint , it cost abt $110+ after 10% discount!! A bit expensive hopefully is useful for my daughter.
Wonder 1st day schooling do we need to bring all e books? i flipped my daughter's books,3main subjects has the text book + activity books.So 6 books already,plus the exercise book for each subject,already 9. Else there are social studies,music, jotter book & process record.Totally there are not more than 15 books already.
So i dun know how's abt other school , i think ard the same qty.Then may i know what will u bring for the 1st day schooling?
As my daughter's school is morning session , after that she will go to student care,will need the extra clothing , towel.So i m thinking end of the week when i pick her up in the evening , i will put the clothings & washed sleeping bag for next week in advance, then she no need to bring so many things to school.Any working moms doing so?
The days r near,quite nervous for my daughter going to P1 already.....

hi Ling,
i just packed my boy's bag last night too.
i am letting him bring along
- 2 single line exercise book
- 1 square exercise book
- 2 jotter book
- 1 report book
- 1 math, chinese, social studies workbook.

i told my boy, in case have lessons, at least he can share the textbooks with his friends or listen to the teacher, but workbooks if need to do, at least he had his to work on. :D

hi Fz ,e workbook is activity book rite? i think i will do the same as you but i will pack the textbook as well ;p thks for yr info!!
really stressed , bcos i gt one P1 gal & one N2 gal, as i m working , i put them in student care & child care respectively.Smtimes might forget to pack their items , & really i dun knoe my daugther can cope with P1 or nt, she is nt attending any preparatory class , but she will read the books borrowed frm library.reading nt a problem , but grammar & comprehension.Besides, she smtimes can't catch the maths question being asked.So i wil try to monitor her progress when she enter P1.Hopefully she no need any tuition.
Really i need all of the SMF moms same as my situation as my friends who can talk to , & seek advice frm....

Hi Wan Wan,
My boy is in 1A. i dun noe if the bus company is MB, i only noe the driver name is uncle lim,,hehe..where do u stay?

Fz, Ling,
didn't the teacher give u a list of books to bring on the 1st day? My boy just have to bring 6 books. Besides the textbook and workbook, the rest are kept by the teacher..so it won't be too heavy for him to bring around.

Hi fz, my ds is provided with a list of things to bring on each of the 1st 3 days of school. Mainly:
- communication book
- exercise and lined jotter bk for English
- Square exercise bk for chinese
- broad lined exercise bk for maths
- social studies activity bk
- subject files
- report bk

Stated that do not need to bring any textbks, which will only be required from the 4th day. And...I haven't labelled or packed his bag! help!

Hi mummies, luckily dd's school gave us a list of things to bring onthe 1st day of school, otherwise I also wouldn't know what to pack in her bag. For dd's school, they have requested for all the Chinese Textbooks, Workbooks & Character Cards (both 1A & 1B). Likewise for Maths, they asked for the Workbooks Book 1A/1B too. Hehe, maybe they don't want us to coach the kids at home.

Ling, I'm a SAHM so not exactly in the same situation as you're currently in. However, I wanted to suggest that you speak with your dd's preschool/kindy teacher to have a better understanding of your dd's weaknesses and strengths. The teachers/principal should have some constructive advice and suggestions for you. Hths.

Ling,
I did not enrol my ds in any preparation classes too. He cannot read very well and is not really interested in reading. His only interest is drawing. The fear that i have is his ability to cope with losing out. This boy has a strong desire to win others. He gets motivated when he sees himself better than others. But when he din perform as good as others, he will choose to give up. I am now more focused in training him on his resilence. Hopefully, he will not get defeated so easily just because he doen't like the idea of others being better than him...

my boy's school did not give us a list, but i vaguely recall during orientation they mentioned about bringing workbooks on the first day.

i realised that my boy can sound very sarcastic when he speaks. while he may be sufficiently prepared for P1, i am currently teaching him now that he cannot expect his peers to have the same privilege as him as his school is situated in the heartland.

another thing is that he doesn't has a sense of humor. what others may seems as a joke, he sees it as teasing...ie the other day, the class were singing 'who stole the cookie in the cookie jar' and when they mentioned his name, he said he felt offended.

Oops, I haven't pack my gal's school bag yet. Beta do so tonite, so that if I forget to buy any items, there is is 1 day or so to buy the item.

My gal is going to student care in the morning. Wonder how I should pack her school uniform so that it doesn't get crumpled. Any mummies have suggestions? Thanks.

cookiepie,

i tink no matter how u fold it..it will be crumpled.. esp if she is carrying a backpack eh....how abt carrying it in a hanger? pass it to the student care teacher upon arrival.

Just remember her water bottle, coin-purse, lunch box (if u are packing food for her), pencil case and packet of tissue/wet tissue. tat should be enuf..

My ds is used to washing his backside with water after each business...haven't teach him how to use toilet paper yet..will probably give him a packet of wet tissue =p

Hi Coolscat,
lucky for our boys they don't have to bring so many books. I think the bag I bgt for my boy is now seemed big since he doesn't need to bring that many books each day. Are u going to ats for the 1st 3 days? I will be there to just make sure everything is alright.

I am staying in the north area. may I know how much are you paying for the bus trip? Are u previously from ats too?

Hi Wan Wan,

Guess wat..i forgot to ask the bus operator how much..But during orientation day, he says should be around $120- $140. I plan to be there for the 1st 3 days too. But seems like our moves are quite restricted as we can only stay in the parent's corner..I tink i will be very bored..hahaha
How is ur boy going there? chartered a bus too? how long is the journey?

I not from ATS, my hubby is =p

Interesting article to share * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *
How To Help Your Children Pick Up From Setback
And Turn Failure Into Learning Experience?
One common reason that many children do not have
goals is because of their fear of failure. In fact, this is also the reason why many adults do not have goals too.

Majority of the people in this world are fearful of making mistakes and they often feel bad if they don't achieve the things that they have set up to achieve. Hence the easiest way to avoid such pain is not to have goals. And that is the reason why many children do not have goals
too.

We need to know it is through making mistakes that our children learn. Facing failure is inevitable and is the pre-requisite for any long-term success.

When children are younger, generally they have no fear of failure. Hence they will not hesitate to take action and to try new things. One good example is when babies learn the skill of walking - despite their continuous falling, they never give up and ultimately all physically able babies know how to walk.

However as children grow older and starts to face
failures and that they do not achieve the goals, many of them start to give up on their goals easily. They will give excuses, blame the people around them or circumstances, complain of their lacks of skills or resources and they will not dare to try anymore. If they continue to feel and behave in this way, soon they will develop the habit of negative self belief which will
guarantee them not able to achieve anything great in life and become successful individuals.

Do you think high achieving children are also
afraid of and dislike failure? Yes, of course! However, they tend to see failure differently from other kids. They see failure as a form of feedback to their action and a great learning opportunity to do better. They will learn
from their mistakes, change their strategies and take action again. They will not stop this cycle until they achieve their goals and objectives which they have set up to achieve.

Hence if we (i.e. parents) want our children dare to dream, set goals, take action to pursue their objectives and able to bound back from adversity, we must constantly reinforce the following facts in them:

"There is no failure, only feedback to our action."

"There is no failure, only learning experience."

"There is no failure but only people who fail to act."

"It is ok to make mistakes as long as we learn from them."

When our children believe on the above, they will have the confidence to strive for the best outcomes.

Whenever your child fails a test or does not achieve the desire goal in a competition, the best way to encourage him is to communicate to him that it is perfectly all right to fail and make mistakes as long as he has done his
best.

Inspire and empower him to learn from the experience and to do better the next time by saying "What can you learn from it?" and "What can you do differently the next time so as to achieve the desire outcome." In fact, this
is also the kind of mind set that all champions have while pursuing their bests in their own respective fields. And as parents, this is the mind set that we should help our children to develop from young........

Hi Coolcat,
Yeah my son is also taking a chartered van. The driver has also cited around this price. He said it will take around half hr but may adjust the time to pick my son after the 1st day depending on the distance & traffic when school reopens.

Ha! Maybe I will bump into you at ATS yeah.

Hi Wan Wan,
me staying in the north as well

most of u have prepared all the things ya, think i better pack my gal school bus tonite

cookiepie,
No problem =D

wan wan,
tat's what the driver says exactly..could he be the same driver, haha

I ask if i can get into the bus on the 1st day too, he says can if there's seat..so i may just tag along to have a good idea on the route it takes.

We can meet up at the parent's corner. How u intend to spend ur time there?

Hi Coolscat,
Mmm...we have different driver, he's not uncle lim. I may be there around 12pm++ hopefully to see how he enters the sch after alighting from the sch van, until his class starts and will be back again when class ends to see how he queues up & board the van again. In between I may be going to my sis house nearby the sch. What about you?

Hi Yippy,
Which school is your child attending?

Hi Wanwan, me too for first day of school! For my boy, he will be walking from studentcare with rest of the P1 and P2 kids for the pm session. I will be trailing behind to see. According to the teacher at studentcare, they will be brought to the school hall to do reading and there will be prefects to watch that there is no running around before formal assembly. Think there will be a number of stalker mummies...hehehee!

wan wan

I will go for my facial after his class starts =p and be back during recess time. Are u getting the pre-packed food from the school? I haven't decide yet...haiz

Hi coolcatsg, cool that you planned for facial! For me, will springclean at home and supermarketing nearby, then go for recess, then more packing at home. It's quite fun to be a SAHM....just for 3 days! hohoho!

Luckily just need to bring minimal ex books for the first 3 days. So most likely I will be doing labelling for the few days (when he's in school), wrap books in time for 4th day onwards. Arghh...I'm a real procrastinator - wait till the last last minute!

Hi Jan,
My boy's school is far from home, so cannot juggle the time like u do..SAHM for 3 days, no joke boy...i alwasy Salute the SAHM..they have the toughest job in the whole world.

I've bought the book cover from the school, but really regret becos it is so ex! $8 for the whole set!!i tink next time, i be more hardworking and wrap it myself...=p

yah, during my year end leave thought I have lots of time to do this and that, end up nothing much accomplished! So for these 3 days, better stay home and closeby and be more disciplined to get real work done. phew...!

Hi Coolcat,
Yes. I've gotten the $$ ready in the envelope do not want him to feel left out for the first 3 days esp when i will pack food for him for most of the days thereafter. I told my son he can save $$ for packing food for tea break so that he can save them to buy something he likes next time and he agreed

Hi Jan,
It's great for us as parents to be able to go through the 'first time' of our children life experience yeah.

Hi Mosyfish,
Which school is your ds going?

Wan Wan,
Tat's true. I tink most of the children will have the packed food..so i will get for him too. This should help to put him at ease with his peers =D

Mosyfish,
I feel the same excitment too. Suddenly realise that he is a big kid now. How fast! Hope he won't be sucked into the pressure cooker that the world is so becoming of..

mommies

Have you bought all the items in booklist?
I have one grammar book outstanding the entire school holiday. Bookshop staff said stock only arriving 1 week after school term starts!
Luckily, manged to find that book from popular yesterday.

I finished labelling & packing my girl's schoolbag last night

Hi yawn yawn, got all the books except for this Perfect Match Art for Art & Crafts, which was out of stock nationwide.

Yea, packed bag and all set for 1st day. Without text books and water bottle, the bag already felt quite heavy for a P1, can't imagine when the actual lessons start...sigh.

All mummies, have fun!

Hi Mummies, when i was labelling & putting the plastic sheet for my ds chineses character cards, i realised that some cards are missing from the 1A box. Just to check with you whether do you have this problem?
Just send my ds to school, she seems alright but complaint of stomach pain, i guess must be butterflies in her stomach ha.. ha.. ha..
.Initially i was worried whether she is able to handle such a big school bag. But after seeing her walking off to class from the assembly, i felt that my little girl has grown-up.
Oh today is also my younger ds 1st day of school in Apple Tree.

Today must be a very busy day for all mummies. All the best to all.

had fun? i had! my boy had too..he was smiling away when he was in the canteen with his buddy. :D
it's pretty amazing how much time the kids have with the 30min recess break. my boy managed to finish eating and went back to the hall in 20min time (think i'll remind him to go for toilet break). his buddy managed to eat a cup of icecream, a plate of rice and a cup of drink!

my gal was given an hr (usual 30 mins) yesterday 4 recess n it was packed wif parents. luckily parents'll not b around durin normal days if not, dun tink de kids have space 2 carry food back 2 their seats wif out spillin ...

i only gave my gal $1 n she spent all on a bowl of wan tan mee cos she loved dis. after dat, din have $ 2 buy tidbits. so i told her if she wans 2 buy tidbits, she shdn't spend all on 1 food. she told me 'but de wan tan mee was so cheap, $1 only' LOL

lunch time @ studentcare in de canteen was equally chaotic. dun noe cos new teachers dun noe wat 2 do or not enuf teachers came down 2 help. kids din have seats 2 sit cos some occupied by parents!

generally was a pleasant experience for both of us. next wk's orientation; lessons start de wk after.

jh,
next week still orientation?
my boy was given the timetable already...so i thought next week start lessons.
despite the crowd, i am amazed at how fast the kids moved within the crowd - i had a hard time catching up with my boy and his buddy as the buddy led my boy through the crowd like a pro!
erm..i even see some parents sat beside their kids during recess and chatting away! lolz.
i dunno to be happy anot, but my boy is those type of boys who don't like their mum to 'mollycolly' them in front of their peers (but at home he likes to be cradled like a baby!). he only smiled at me and seldom engaged in talks with me during the recess and spent most time enjoying the company of his peers.

jh,

wow..one wan tan mee for $1, that's quite ex ya. my ds school sell one bowl of prawn mee for 40cts only..so i intend to give him $1 a day.
For the 1st 4days, the canteen operators will have set-menu for them. 1st 2 days, they will eat in class, next 2 in the canteen. The childresn are generally quite well behaved and settled in...only the parents seems abit kan chiong..hahaha

me and hubby sent him off the school bus and drove to the school to wait for him..Was with him until he went to his classes..There's a mixed feelings as i watch him in his P1 uniform..dun noe how to describe that feeling...like a bit loss but at the same time happy..haiz..
My

fz,
my ds also a bit like u son..

hahaha..he's abit shy infront of his peers too..but at home, he will cling to me like a koala..haha

fz, wow your son's school seems rather fast yeah? Got timetable. My gal's sch still no time table. nothing. we'll only know the curriculum next wednesday when the parents are invited to for a talk on the curriculum.

ladies, i realised that your children seems to be rather pro at buying. I dun think my girl would know what to buy at the canteen and how to buy.

Qdee,

my ds's school also given them time-table. At a glance, they are having Higher chinese everyday..the form teacher also speaks chinese..thought they should use english as the main language...

my dd1's first day still quite timid leh. She just stood down there, dare not place order during recess. Her buddy had to order food & drinks for her.

I intend to let her bring food to school. Any suggestions?
Off hand I can think of sushi (make the night before & keep in fridge), sandwiches, cereals, biscuits (biscuits heaty lor, cannot eat everyday), cakes
What else can I pack for her, that's not too time consuming to prepare?